You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A FORMER SOLDIER who suffered alleged abuse throughout her 30-year career has launched a stinging criticism of Government ministers, including Tánaiste Micheál Martin, and a senior civil servant for how they handed complaints.
She has also rounded on senior military leadership going back to the 1980s for what she said were repeated failings to deal with her, and other women’s, complaints of abuse.
Karina Molloy, who served for three decades in the Irish Defence Forces, has released a new book which catalogues a series of alleged sexual assaults during her service but it also tells the stories of her wider experiences of military life.
Titled A Woman In Defence, it documents her journey from the early days of her career in the 1980s, her tryout for the elite Army Ranger Wing, her rise to Non Commissioned Officer rank and her many foreign trips abroad to warzones on peacekeeping missions.
The book is a poignant telling of the highs of proud service, her close bonds with the men and women she served with but also the gut wrenching alleged abuse she suffered on a number of occasions.
The book tells how the Women of Honour process began following a Facebook post by a retired soldier Anthony O’Brien which asked victims of abuse to come forward.
Molloy said in an interview with The Journal that she believes that Government officials and political figures sought to avoid a statutory inquiry to prevent a flood of litigation from victims of the abuse.
The former Irish army quartermaster and sergeant is a member of the Women of Honour – a group of ex-service women who have made allegations of sexual assault, sexual harassment and bullying.
An Independent Review Group is due to present its findings to Cabinet in the coming weeks on the group’s claims. Sources have said they are anticipated to contain serious findings of abuse, and raise concerns that allegations were mishandled.
Meetings
Molloy’s book lays out how the Women of Honour women joined together and began the campaign to shine a light on the culture of omerta around abuse inside the Irish Defence Forces.
Both in our interview and in her book, Molloy documents a traumatic series of meetings with a senior civil servant and Government ministers Simon Coveney and then Taoiseach Micheál Martin over the issues.
Molloy said she and her colleagues had begun the meetings on a positive note, with Coveney, Martin and the senior Department of Defence manager committing to undertaking a full and open process of investigation.
But Molloy said that changed rapidly, and that when the Government refused their request for a full statutory inquiry that it devastated the women.
Lack of respect
The book is a difficult read, with descriptions of a number of sexual assaults. Molloy constantly spoke of upset at the abuse, but said that the ultimate insult was a “lack of respect” for her.
One of the most serious alleged incidents was an assault at a swimming pool, where she was allegedly groped by a sergeant who was acting as an instructor on a course.
There was another incident where she said an officer attacked her and attempted to undress her while she was preparing for bed.
The book also documents allegations of a number of incidents of sexual harassment which alleged perpetrators claimed were ‘banter’, including a gift of red lace underwear for her birthday with the slogan “I wish I was here” written in marker on the gusset.
Following this incident, an officer brought her to his room and allegedly attempted to force himself on her and kiss her before she ran out. That officer later apologised for his behaviour.
Karina Molloy, front row middle, and the first female recruit platoon at her passing out parade in 1981. Karina Molloy
Karina Molloy
On each occasion, Molloy states that when she complained about the various incidents, the military swept the incident under the carpet.
The book documents how the Women of Honour, following the RTE documentary, were invited to meet with officials, senior officers in the Defence Forces and senior politicians to discuss their allegations.
She said that initial meetings with a senior civil servant and Simon Coveney, then Minister for Defence, had mooted the possibility of an inquiry.
In her book she strongly criticises Coveney, and said that in a meeting with the then Taoiseach Micheál Martin that he appeared uninterested – she claimed his eyes “glazed over” as they spoke.
“I think when the ministers sat back with the senior civil servant, they realised why they couldn’t do that inquiry: because it means everyone’s exposed, and the last two previous chiefs of staff may have faced action to have their Distinguished Service Medals taken off them because all these rapes and assaults happened on their watch.
“The penny finally dropped with them and they decided these girls got too big for their boots. They decided to have a whitewash inquiry here. And they’ll plámás us a bit and say ‘this is what we’re doing now and that’s it’.
“And as the Taoiseach said, you’ll get your statutory inquiry, if the IRG [Independent Review Group] report comes with that recommendation in the final report,” she said.
Molloy said that she was the only member of the Women of Honour to participate in the IRG process.
In a previous article, The Journal interviewed Christine Whitecross, a senior Canadian military officer who was tasked with probing the sexual abuse in those forces.
Whitecross said that the fact that complaints were investigated by senior officers in the armed forces meant that they were not being dealt with correctly.
Molloy believes that the Canadian model of an independent grievance procedure is critical to solving the problem in the Irish Defence Forces.
“The Canadian model is the one to follow – it has taken the complaints mechanism away from the military command and has put it into the hands of the civilian police.
“That is a critical solution – give the powers to investigate these complaints to the gardaí,” she said.
Women of Honour members Honor Murphy and Karina Molloy ahead of a meeting with Dáil members. Sasko Lazarov
Sasko Lazarov
She said that during the process she was asked by the IRG investigators to give her take on how the alleged toxic culture towards women in the Defence Forces could be solved.
Solutions
She said that she had come up with a number of recommendations, which includes the removal of responsibility for the grievance process from the officer ranks.
Throughout the interview, and across all chapters of her book, Molloy claims that military officers and non-commissioned officers refused to deal with the alleged perpetrators.
She said at times they told her to drop her grievances and allegations and at other times threatened her with negative career outcomes if she continued with the complaint.
Molloy believes this was done to protect the rank of the individuals concerned and to protect the organisation from embarrassing incidents.
The Defence Forces, like other militaries across the globe, have their own military legal system to deal with complaints – known as courts martial. Molloy believes that is a serious impediment to dealing with the issue.
She also recommended that instructors serve a short two-year stint in their roles to prevent a toxic outlook developing towards bullying and women. Molloy said this particularly is a “thorn in my side”.
The campaign by the Women of Honour has a set of five demands, known as the Five ‘As’: apology, acknowledgement, action, accountability. Molloy said if those were met then their campaign would be a success.
Molloy’s career spanned over 30 years – starting in the early 80s. While there are devastating stories of abuse, she also mentions support she received from both men and women.
Her memoir is a complex read at times, not a simple telling of life spent dealing with abuse. It is filled with nuance about military culture, the good and the bad of it, and pure honesty.
Throughout the interview, the former soldier spoke of the actions of the men who abused her, but also paid tribute to men who helped her and supported her during those difficult times.
She mentioned the men who were on the Army Ranger Wing course with her, and the male members who offered her support as she was singled out for bullying and abuse by instructors during a promotion course.
The difficulty for the military is that Molloy’s allegations are detailed and she said she has files and diaries that prove the facts.
Molloy left the Defence Forces in February 2012. Her service was 30 years and 278 days in length. She said that as she walked away from handing back her uniform she felt “nothing but relief”.
Karina Molloy from the Women of Honour group outside the Department of Foreign Affairs in Dublin following her meeting with Defence Minister Simon Coveney. Alamy Stock Photo
Alamy Stock Photo
Hope
The Donegal woman said that her hope is that publishing the book and engaging with the Women of Honour will bring about a positive from a negative.
She said the book was originally a way to document the life of the first female soldiers and give recognition to those who joined with her. She is also looking for “closure” to find a way to “move on with my life”.
And thirdly: “I never even thought of it while I was writing the book – [but] hopefully it will help other young girls and men to realise that they can stand up, and that you’re not alone, that there are solutions there and that you’re still in a fight but it is changing.”
Department of Defence
In a statement the DOD defended the handling of the abuse allegations.
“Current and former Ministers for Defence have been clear in their condemnation of unacceptable behaviour in the Defence Forces and have also been clear that criminal offences, particularly sexual offences should be investigated by those who have the statutory authority combined with resources and skills.
“This will ensure that the rights of all concerned are upheld, blame can be attributed, and sanctions can be imposed.
“The Tánaiste and Minister for Defence, Micheál Martin, wishes to commend the courage of serving members and Women of Honour, who have shared their experiences of unacceptable behaviour in the Defence Forces,” it read.
The DOD said that the “primary objective of all concerned, at the outset, was to acknowledge issues in the current workplace and to establish a course of action that would address that”.
“It was clear that there was a very critical and immediate need to address the prevailing work culture, including issues relating to the current systems, policies and procedures for dealing with unacceptable behaviour in the Defence Forces,” it added.
The DOD said that in “the duty of care obligations” to serving members, the then Minister for Defence Simon Coveney recommended to Government, the setting up of the Independent Review Group.
It said the DOD has invested significant “time and the resources” of the Department to the issue.
The Department said that the report is due shortly, and will be considered in full by the Tánaiste, in consultation with the Attorney General, before bringing it to Government and its publication.
The Defence Forces response
Recently The Journal spoke to the Chief of Staff of the Defence Forces Lt General Seán Clancy who said that he immediately engaged with the issue and that in the last twelve months more cases “unravelled”.
This weekend the Defence Forces said in a statement that he “is grateful to the Women of Honour for bringing the issues of bullying and sexual harassment to light”.
This weekend’s statement from the Irish Defence Forces said that the initial action he took was to meet serving members “to listen to their thoughts and concerns regarding issues in the Defence Forces that need to change”.
He then appointed the convening of an Immediate Actions Group (IAG) in order to coordinate the implementation of a series of measures without delay.
The measures included an Independent Confidential Contact Person for former and current members of the Defence Forces & 24/7 INSPIRE hotline.
A multi-disciplinary Response Team was established and deployed to all Defence Forces locations which were tasked “to reinforce the critical components of a positive and healthy organisational climate”.
While waiting for the lengthy IRG process to conclude they decided to “to establish more enduring structures to maintain momentum and drive positive cultural change within the organisation”.
This saw the formation of the Organisational Culture Standing Committee (OCSC) which “is driving and coordinating the process of cultural change”.
This group, chaired by a senior command staff officer, has established an anti-bullying & harassment campaign, a workshop on ethical relationships and a review of the grievance procedures.
“Defence Forces Support Team was established and tasked with communicating services available to Defence Forces members
“Óglaigh na hÉireann stands ready to implement the IRG recommendations approved by the Minister,” the statement added.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
'A road to nowhere': Parents' despair and anger at broken system for kids with additional needs
1 hr ago
Paying Tribute
'He tried': Trump softens tone as Starmer seeks to tie him down to Ukraine and tariff pledges
1 hr ago
New Mexico
Police 'keeping everything on the table' in deaths of Gene Hackman and wife Betsy Arakawa
Updated
2 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 152 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 104 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 136 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 77 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 37 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 33 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 43 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 25 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 86 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 96 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 68 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 50 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 84 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 64 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say