You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The zebra crossing on Abbey Road is turned green for St Patrick's Day. PA Wire/Press Association Images

Open Thread: Are you Irish and living abroad? What would you like the government to do for you?

Give us your wishlist.

GETTING THE VOTE? Sorting out documentation in the US? Getting Tayto into more corners of the world?

The government is continuing to receive submissions for its formally titled, Review of Ireland’s Engagement with the Diaspora.

“We want to hear from all of the Irish overseas,” Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore said, in a statement launching the initiative.

As we celebrate a long weekend, many families are missing their loved ones who have emigrated to the UK, Canada, Australia and other far-off lands.

If you are Irish but living abroad, we’d like to know what is on your wishlist.

Let us know in the comments below and if you want to formalise your suggestions, make them here.

Irish? Living abroad? Eamon Gilmore wants to hear from you

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

106 Comments
    Mute Gerarda Cronin
    Favourite Gerarda Cronin
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:07 PM

Greetings from western Canada! My wish for Ireland is good governance, strong financial regulation and an end to the culture of corruption and “pull”. Seriously.

Mute Sean Beep
    Favourite Sean Beep
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:09 PM

You might as well add the invention of a perpetual motion machine on to that list

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:51 PM

I would like no job, less money in my pocket, a crap healthcare system. I’d also like to see the bankers get off scot free for all their misdeeds. I’d also like to pay watercharges and any other rates or taxes they concoct.

Might as well ask them for something they can deliver on.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:07 PM

Best of luck with that.

Mute MarMacRua
    Favourite MarMacRua
    Apr 20th 2014, 10:24 PM

Please give me a vote so I can vote you out!;) pretty please

Mute Gerarda Cronin
    Favourite Gerarda Cronin
    Apr 20th 2014, 10:30 PM

No worries. I left Ireland a long time ago.

Mute Jorge Thompson
    Favourite Jorge Thompson
    Apr 21st 2014, 10:31 AM

So did I, but then I came back to a shambles of corruption, deceit, lies and nothing

Mute Damien Kelly
    Favourite Damien Kelly
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:21 PM

Hello from London.

As an emigrant I would like the government to do absolutely nothing for me. But, they could do something for those who actually live there: grow a backbone, start running the country with honesty and integrity, and finally, stop being a bunch of slimy corrupt tricksters.

Mute PerkyBeans
    Favourite PerkyBeans
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:32 PM

Hello from Melbourne

I would like an end to constant tiring cronyism and farcical running of the country.

I would like to know there is a dependable ambulance service and a very much improved health service to come back to

I would like to not be constantly abused and held financially hostage for having a job and a house and car, with your USC’s and house charges, inflated car taxes and vrts and this universal health insurance at 1k a year… No thanks

Somebody needs to go through the whole public service sector with a giant leafblower, get rid of all the dead wood and top heavy, selfish, resource swallowing layabouts,

Also

A F#%King cable car along the Liffey?!??
    SERIOUSLY!!
    Build a cable car to he nearest hospital for the people in Mayo with no ambulance!!

Rant over

Mute Darren Burke
    Favourite Darren Burke
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:16 PM

Sort all out so we can come home!!!..absolute disasters

Mute joe power
    Favourite joe power
    Apr 20th 2014, 7:39 PM

G’day from Moscow. I would kill for a tall dark guinness from murphys bar in bantry.mmmmmmmmmm yum yum

Mute Thors Big Hammer
    Favourite Thors Big Hammer
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:53 PM

My wish list….

1 for the government to collapse
    2 for bankers to do jail time
    3 for Enda Kenny, Gilmore , Ahern , Cowen to do jail for treachery and lies.
    4 The political elite to apologise for the disaster they brought upon this country.
    5 All currenglt TD’s to be banned from relection.
    6 To stop paying Europe for debt that isnt irish peoples debt.

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:13 PM

Oh grow up ffs

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:39 PM

How has Enda Kenny lied?

We have another ten years of hardship ahead of us in Ireland because of our massive deficit.
    Politicians do tend to tell you things “will be better” with them but they are talking relatively. Things will get worse no matter who’s in power over the next ten years.

Mute brian forde
    Favourite brian forde
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:44 PM

All I want is black and white pudding and Denny sausages
    From canada

Mute Sean Beep
    Favourite Sean Beep
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:06 PM

Is this some sort of joke ? The government can’t even look after the people here, never mind those who emigrated. Why should they even get any of the government’s already meek influence.

Also it’s 4/20. Why isn’t there an article?

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:23 PM

Because the people living away have the finances and experience on a global scale to get the country back on its feet!

Mute Sean Beep
    Favourite Sean Beep
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:28 PM

What are you on about? The people living abroad have the money and experience? Most of those abroad are working class and don’t have the money, experience or inclination to fix anything

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:49 PM

Tell that to the fella I sat beside on an Aer Lingus flight coming home for Christmas who had a master degree and worked managing oil platforms for a living.

The diaspora deserve a lot more respect than what you’re willing to give. I wonder why that is.

Mute Enda McCabe
    Favourite Enda McCabe
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:51 PM

And how many oil platforms are there for him to manage in Ireland?

Mute Sean Linda Conlon
    Favourite Sean Linda Conlon
    Apr 21st 2014, 12:42 AM

There would be if we had anyone to manage them

Mute Alan Faherty
    Favourite Alan Faherty
    Apr 21st 2014, 8:35 AM

There would be plenty if our greedy politicians didn’t give away our oil rights

Mute Crm Surveyor
    Favourite Crm Surveyor
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:26 PM

I.D cards please! could be voluntary . Many EU countries require you carry identification. At the moment I need to carry my passport everywhere.After a decade away it is pain in the a**.Other EU nationalities just carry around a credit card size ID in their wallet – no hassle.

Mute Ronan Hourican
    Favourite Ronan Hourican
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:38 PM

Can’t you use a Garda age card?

Mute Laura Marie Gilbert
    Favourite Laura Marie Gilbert
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:47 PM

Because most countries do not accept the Garda age card as formal ID, I’ve lived in London for 2 years and most people here think they’re fake!

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:51 PM

A Garda age card is not official ID, even the Guards openly state that you should never use it as ID. That’s important as in some countries, like Holland, you can be fined for not having ID on you.

Mute Shanners
    Favourite Shanners
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:25 PM

New drivers licence?

Mute Crm Surveyor
    Favourite Crm Surveyor
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:52 PM

garda age card isn’t recognised abroad.needs to be a national identity card unfortunatly

Mute Crm Surveyor
    Favourite Crm Surveyor
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:54 PM

in spain you can’t use the licence as id .only passport or national id card

Mute Raina May Ní Riocáird
    Favourite Raina May Ní Riocáird
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:03 PM

I left Ireland to Australia when I was 19. Although I have a great life and lots if new friends there’s nothing I want more than to live with my own culture again and with my family. Hopefully the economy will level out soon.

Mute TOP CAT
    Favourite TOP CAT
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:26 PM

Hi Eamon,
    Just wondering how many coalition members in FG/LAB have being left heartbroken,
    because their kids were forced to emigrate since 2008???

Mute Gar O'Toole
    Favourite Gar O'Toole
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:57 PM

Greetings from Bristol.

What do I want? I want nothing. I am no longer living in Ireland. I have no right to vote. Perfectly logical.

Giving the vote to we diaspora is nonsensical.

I don’t get to vote in Botswana either. Same thing.

Mute Malachy Mc Carron
    Favourite Malachy Mc Carron
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:59 PM

Not that it will ever happen but cap state salaries and pensions, it disgusting that the morons running the country can justify getting paid what they do. I read on here everyday about inadequate departments being run by inadequate people. AND PEOPLE IN POWER TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE WHEN WASTING TAXPAYERS MONEY. More transparency with all of the countries finances. There’s more criminals in the dail than in prison

Mute Malachy Mc Carron
    Favourite Malachy Mc Carron
    Apr 20th 2014, 10:28 PM

Red thumbs obviously people in the government gravy train !!!!!

Mute R Neuville
    Favourite R Neuville
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:36 PM

Hi from France with NO CAR TAX.
    I would like the Irish Government to reform the corrupt daft Irish Car Tax System so that an Irish person does not have to be exported for every new 141 & 142 car purchased.(€1.5 Billion p.a would support 20,000 IRish jobs) Artificial promotion of purchase of new cars by Irish politicians is odious and disgusting. Even the UK Car Tax system is fair.

Mute Karl Nicholson
    Favourite Karl Nicholson
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:18 PM

I have been working in Spain for the past 13 years, and these are little things that would make a difference to me at least.

As a Spanish resident, I am not allowed vote in Irish general elections. As a foreign citizen I am not allowed vote in Spanish general elections. While I may vote in local and European elections, I would like to vote in general elections as well. many people choose not to vote, I respect that. I want to vote, I wish my vote could be counted.

A Spanish resident, just like a Spanish citizen is obliged to carry a DNI, or national identity card, which fits nicely into the wallet. I technically am required to carry my passport at all times. I don’t want to do that because if I loose it or if it is stolen, there is a big rigmarole to get a replacement and may take several weeks if not months. An Irish National Identity card would be convenient. Just as the Spanish can use in Ireland.

Finally, and this is a long shot, I would like more rain in summer. If you could manage that Mr Gilmore, I would be much obliged.

Mute HelaLaw
    Favourite HelaLaw
    Apr 21st 2014, 5:39 AM

You lost me at respecting people who don’t vote..

Mute Ray Kelly
    Favourite Ray Kelly
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:03 PM

Some honesty would be a nice change

Mute Jennifer McCarthy
    Favourite Jennifer McCarthy
    Apr 20th 2014, 7:00 PM

Christ, is the Táiniste for real? What he can do for me is leave me alone and sort out the shit show at home where the friends and family I left behind (nurses, social workers, teachers) have faced pay cuts or pay freezes every year since bail out, incurred new ridiculous taxes (universal social charge etc), had it become almost impossible for them to get a mortgage and afford to send their kids to college and been screwed on their pension. To use a phrase the Londoners have taught me to say ‘DO ONE EAMON’.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:22 PM

This parasitic government would be decimated if our emigrants had a vote!
    In the past year alone another 4 of my cousins have had to leave,not for sunnier climes or adventure,but purely to find decent jobs.

“its morally wrong,unjust and unfair to tax a persons home” -add water charges for good measure too.
    which we pay for already through levies.
    We need to let them know on May 23rd that the public have had enough!

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:34 PM

Servus aus Österreich!

As an Irish person abroad I find it tragic what has happened to our great country.

In the media over here Ireland is often portrayed as a good example, an obedient student who has done her homework on time before the other lazy PIGS. Just from talking to colleagues I have realised that no one here has the slightest idea of the scale to which the Irish people have been financially and politically pillaged by the EU, European banks and worst of all their lapdogs in the Dáil.

What can the Irish government do for me? Nothing, I have left Ireland and will most likely never return permanently. The best thing they can do for the people of Ireland is to realise what they are there for-to serve the best interests of our country and not line the pockets of the political and financial elite of Europe.

Mute Alan Lee-Levins
    Favourite Alan Lee-Levins
    Apr 20th 2014, 7:33 PM

Hello from Hawaii!
    ……….
    ………..
    ………

I’m thinking, I’m thinking!

Mute Brendan Boyd
    Favourite Brendan Boyd
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:17 PM

Nothing. The whole country can sink into the ocean as far as I’m concerned. Maybe transfer over my pension fund before that happens.

Mute Neal Ireland
    Favourite Neal Ireland
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:29 PM

Love you too.

Mute Jon Bon Jovi
    Favourite Jon Bon Jovi
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:37 PM

Then why do you spend your days reading Irish news??

Mute Brendan Boyd
    Favourite Brendan Boyd
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:40 PM

I spend most of my time reading international news. I enjoy sneering at the pathetic irish from time to time.

Mute Daithi
    Favourite Daithi
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:58 PM

W@nker

Mute Joe The Man
    Favourite Joe The Man
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:14 PM

You’re amazing brendan, you can type without missing a stroke!

Mute coolio
    Favourite coolio
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:19 PM

I spend most of my time reading international news
    From my monkey enclosure at one of the international zoos
    Enjoying sneering at the pathetic Irish from time to time
    As you wriggle around in your pathetic disgusting slime
    Everyday we get to enjoy Ireland whilst you can stay a pitiful recluse

Mute Jon Bon Jovi
    Favourite Jon Bon Jovi
    Apr 20th 2014, 7:32 PM

Any chance you’d love to be back here but don’t have the b@lls to give it a go so you sit in the air conditioned sun and tell yourself the country you love sucks

Mute Desmond Byrne
    Favourite Desmond Byrne
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:21 PM

Allow emigrants to vote!

Mute Neal Ireland
    Favourite Neal Ireland
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:29 PM

If you want to vote here, come back and live here and I’ll be the first to welcome you back. If you want to live somewhere else, vote there. You can’t have two governments looking after you. That’s greedy.

Mute Karl Nicholson
    Favourite Karl Nicholson
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:36 PM

That´s my point. I don’t want two votes. Just one. Not trying to be greedy at all.

Mute Conor Foley
    Favourite Conor Foley
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:34 PM

Karl, after 13 years residence are you not entitled to Spanish citizenship ? EU nationals living in Ireland for at least 5 years can apply for citizenship, i *think* its the same in most EU countries…

Mute Karl Nicholson
    Favourite Karl Nicholson
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:56 PM

Yes Conor, I am entitled to Spanish citizenship but am loathe to give up my Irish citizenship. Having Spanish citizenship doesn’t entitle me to anything else though, all EU citizens have the same rights in theory.
    I think that it’s just a flaw in the European model that we have that could easily be sorted out. Dual nationality is not allowed within the EU, you have to be one or the other.

Mute Desmond Byrne
    Favourite Desmond Byrne
    Apr 20th 2014, 7:33 PM

I lived abroad for fifteen years and had no vote. What would you like me to have done, change nationality? Other countries allow their citizens living abroad to vote. Voting is s basic human right and nothing to do with greed. You wish to disenfranchise others? Closer to my understanding of selfishness of not greed.

Mute Paul Sheridan
    Favourite Paul Sheridan
    Apr 20th 2014, 11:31 PM

You absolutely can have dual nationality within the EU. There are a few combinations which are forbidden on so far as I remember but it IS possible.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:08 PM

Those who have to live and work away but wife children are at home should be able to vote. Although it’s c5rap access to RTE TV via the inet if you can prove your a licence payer.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:45 PM

I would like no job, less money in my wallet, pay

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:47 PM

I would like them and their corrupt greedy cronies to stay as far as possible away from me.

Mute Caillte
    Favourite Caillte
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:15 PM

Give us voting rights

Mute st.ultan
    Favourite st.ultan
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:13 PM

A Presidential vote please.

That’s about it really. Aside from the same goals they have domestically – creation of jobs, a strong economy, efficient State services – there should be no other efforts for those not paying taxes.

Harsh but true.

Mute Michael Conway
    Favourite Michael Conway
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:18 PM

A direct democracy for the Ireland would be great, have it Switzerland and most of the time works really well for small countries, don’t really want anything from The Irish government as I think what they would give with one hand they will take X2 with the other!

Mute Daithi Cribben
    Favourite Daithi Cribben
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:08 PM

Tax the exiles!!

Mute Sean Linda Conlon
    Favourite Sean Linda Conlon
    Apr 21st 2014, 12:44 AM

No taxation without representation !

Mute Darren Hughes
    Favourite Darren Hughes
    Apr 21st 2014, 9:15 AM

No thanks, I paid enough of your dole money already.

Mute Eunan Carroll
    Favourite Eunan Carroll
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:47 PM

After spending years studying I would love to be able to get a good job where I can visit my family at home. Less taxes would also allow people to spend more & boost the economy as opposed to paying for a useless public service & dole payments that don’t need/deserve it!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Apr 20th 2014, 11:13 PM

I’m cheating because I live here. What could my government do for me? Die, all of you, as horribly and painfully as possible. You have destroyed my faith in democracy, in the rule of law,and even in human nature itself – unforgivable.

Mute Sheikh Mak Dool
    Favourite Sheikh Mak Dool
    Apr 20th 2014, 11:25 PM

Here here!

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Apr 21st 2014, 2:26 PM

Err .. “Hear hear”

Mute Sadb Nic Fhionnlaoich-Fluhr
    Favourite Sadb Nic Fhionnlaoich-Fluhr
    Apr 21st 2014, 12:34 AM

I would like a country stable enough to allow me to return and raise my family the way I was.

Mute DAMC80
    Favourite DAMC80
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:46 PM

Greetings from Colorado. I would like the Government to allow me to vote in elections. For the folk living in our wonderful country I would ask you to get rid of the water charges and property tax. Even the Lannisters aren’t that cruel.
    Listen to your citizens and act on the best interest of our Island and not on the best interest of the collective nations you call the EU.
    It would be inspirational if you actually went after the banking elite in Ireland and prosecuted them.
    Look into the possibility of tax insensitive and funding for Cooperative businesses as collectives can group and start their own businesses. This encourages local and community commerce. Personally would love to see a craft brewing collective, among others.
    Legalize marijuana; no I am not stoned, but they sky didn’t fall here in Colorado. The high tax funds education.
    I would like to see Ireland being promoted as the hub of tech, not just a hub for tech companies to hide their tax. Encourage its citizens to learn code.
    I think that is all.

Mute Padraic Quinn
    Favourite Padraic Quinn
    Apr 20th 2014, 7:24 PM

Resign. Thats all

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Apr 20th 2014, 5:57 PM

Love Ireland so how about the Government makes to be also a country to be proud of.

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:32 PM

Where do I start ?
    1. Allow expats to vote abroad most other countries do this . We may have been forced out due to economic circumstances but we still love our country and want a say .
    2 ease up on the austerity taxes , you’ll find if you ease up taxation then more people will spend there extra cash and you’ll make more tax money from vat etc .
    3 water charges were added to various taxes previously and quietly forgotten about and we now need to pay again for this that’s plain greedy
    4. Remove the VRT tax from new cars , it’s illegal and doe not cost thousands to register a car on a database , I can do that for 10 euro a car if asked and more people will buy more new cars and you’ll get it back on the VAT .
    5 we have some of the highest quality food in ireland so get expats and bord bia together to push irish foods further into foreign markets . Do more foreign food shows .
    6 get the universities and colleges to do milk runs specifically in Middle East where most students are supported financially by governments and have the cash to spend .
    7 encourage more Weatherford’s oil companies to ireland , then we can all start to come back and make an impact
    8. For any more ideas then give me a job in rehab on ms keratin salary

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:36 PM

Do something about the inflated air fares to Budapest now that Aer Lingus and Ryanair have a monopoly. Ever since Malev, the Hungarian National Airline collapsed the fares are at least 50% more.
    Collusion?

Mute PicassoRepublic
    Favourite PicassoRepublic
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:28 PM

What we have now (direct flights between Dub & Bud) is still a great improvement on what we had 25 years ago when I decided to settle here.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:32 PM

I just came back from budapest today, my god the people there are so miserable and unfriendly, feckin awful place I’d never go back!!

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Apr 20th 2014, 7:40 PM

According to the OECD Hungarian people are the second most unhappy next only to South Africa.
    I have grown to hate them.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Apr 20th 2014, 7:56 PM

It only took me a weekend to hate them, truly awful rude people generally. I could barely stand 3 days in the place, can only imagine how living there would be. Should’ve booked Poland instead.

Mute Sinéad Ní Fhreaghaile
    Favourite Sinéad Ní Fhreaghaile
    Apr 20th 2014, 11:12 PM

If u return to Ireland from 2 or more years abroad u lose ur no claims bonus for car insurance and have to start from scratch. My car insurance went from under 300 to almost 1000.. just because i was uninsured for over 24 months while living abroad. If u take sick leave from a job here and try to claim illness benefit u may not be entitled to it, depending on when u last paid tax in Ireland. This happened to me recently despite the fact that I have over 13 years tax paid in Ireland. Health cover is also a problem. If u move back to Ireland and buy health insurance again, u may have problems with pre existing conditions in terms of coverage, even if u have no prior knowledge of a new condition they can tell u its pre existing…. facing all of these problems at the moment after returning from Canada. If the government want people to return home, then give them something to come home to.

Mute Maurice Quille
    Favourite Maurice Quille
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:52 PM

I would like them all to keel over, hit the ground hard and die. Then visit me in hell. Cause it’s where I feel I am right now.

Mute Anna Ruth
    Favourite Anna Ruth
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:29 PM

For friends and family still living in Ireland the government need to change the healthcare system so it’s affordable to everybody and have available facilities and support systems for mental health.
    Also- feck T.V licences! We should not have to pay for one.

Mute Marty Hayes
    Favourite Marty Hayes
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:15 PM

Jail the bankers

Mute Shane O'Seasnáin
    Favourite Shane O'Seasnáin
    Apr 20th 2014, 8:12 PM

An end to the spin that there’s something different between an Irishman living abroad and one living at home… It’d be great to be part of an outward-looking country, valuing all it’s citizens

Mute Richard Leader
    Favourite Richard Leader
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:56 PM

I would like the government to ensure long term economic stability and not show weak decision making close to election time. The government can create many jobs by investing in transport infrastructure and utility services infrastructure. Enormous scope for improvement in water, gas and sewer networks.
    Postcodes are essential, bring them in.
    Thanks for asking.

Mute Sheikh Mak Dool
    Favourite Sheikh Mak Dool
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:44 PM

Drop dead!

Mute Stephen Gouldsbury
    Favourite Stephen Gouldsbury
    Apr 20th 2014, 11:16 PM

The possibility to return home and have the ability to avail of job seekers allowance while searching for work

Mute Brendan Daly
    Favourite Brendan Daly
    Apr 21st 2014, 12:39 AM

Don’t want to pay property tax and soon water rates on a house I had to leave so I could continue to pay my mortgage and feed my family

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Favourite One-Off Ireland
    Apr 20th 2014, 6:02 PM

Maybe we should be asking – what can we be doing for our government?

Mute Niamh Dolan
    Favourite Niamh Dolan
    Apr 21st 2014, 5:33 AM

Hello from Perth , WA

I think the government should work on helping the people who are actually still in ireland – I would much rather see my loved ones that I left behind with less suffering & worry !
    The people who have emigrated like myself are in the majority working & living better lives

Mute Tim Stephen Hendy
    Favourite Tim Stephen Hendy
    Apr 21st 2014, 12:29 AM

Really, nothing. I would like to be left alone, and I’m incredibly grateful that Ireland doesn’t treat its expats like some other countries do, as easy sources of income.

Sure, I would like to not have to pay the property tax on my heavily mortgages property in Ireland, in which nobody lives, it’s a bit of a kick in the teeth to be honest, but otherwise Ireland makes very few demands on me and I like it that way.

Mute Darren Hughes
    Favourite Darren Hughes
    Apr 21st 2014, 12:07 AM

Absentee voting. That is all I want.

Mute Alan Faherty
    Favourite Alan Faherty
    Apr 21st 2014, 8:42 AM

Help those who are still in Ireland trying to get it out of the mess they created. Use the bloody tax returns for something other than paying their cronies with consultancy firms to squander money on hair brained ideas which the man on the street knows will never work instead of spending millions before reaching that conclusion.

Mute Caoimhín O'Baoill
    Favourite Caoimhín O'Baoill
    Apr 21st 2014, 2:52 AM

How about giving Irish people abroad the chance to vote?

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Apr 21st 2014, 2:42 AM

Any chance someone in government could send me over a Easter egg?

Mute Caoimhghín Ó Tuama
    Favourite Caoimhghín Ó Tuama
    Apr 21st 2014, 6:14 AM

Put in place a state run student loan system for Masters students, similar to what’s available in the UK.

Mute Ruth McCann
    Favourite Ruth McCann
    Apr 21st 2014, 6:13 AM

For me as someone who has a hearing problem I’d like the government to treat us with equality, provide more resources, and help with gaining employment and tighten laws on discrimination

Mute John O'Ryan
    Favourite John O'Ryan
    Apr 21st 2014, 7:36 AM

Ferry travel way too expensive. Like most people I know, tesco vouchers subsidise our annual trip, but still the biggest expense of getting home. £99 round trip would fill more ferries and fill Ireland with tourists an lovely English ££££s

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Apr 21st 2014, 10:28 AM

Pull the country out of the EU and return Ireland to its people – London.

Mute Dearbháil Morrissey
    Favourite Dearbháil Morrissey
    Apr 21st 2014, 9:41 AM

Well I feel a bit simple now saying a few bags of chicatees to Melbourne….but really though…is it so much to ask?

Mute Dearbháil Morrissey
    Apr 21st 2014, 9:45 AM

Aaaaaand then I posted that twice..just incase I didnt seem simple enough

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Apr 21st 2014, 10:58 AM

You live abroad. You pay taxes to a different state. You don’t get a say. Sorry, but ” no taxation without representation” applies in reverse as well.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Apr 22nd 2014, 12:35 AM

They should get rid of all those extra taxes, the water charge, and all those other home taxes. If I went home I wouldn’t know where to start, trying to deal with all of that s#@t How can such a tiny country have so much tax? Ridiculous!.. Also, please please please ditch that idea for the Bus Rapid Transit system – it spells disaster and a complete waste of money. Oh, and that idea for the cable car system down the Liffey.. don’t make me laugh. “A creative idea” apparently?.. isn’t that just copying London? How is that creative?

Mute Dearbháil Morrissey
    Apr 21st 2014, 9:39 AM

Well, I feel a bit simple now saying a few bags of chicatees to Melbourne…but really though…is it so much to ask?

Mute david jordan
    Favourite david jordan
    Apr 20th 2014, 4:56 PM

id like the government to stop putting measures in place to discourage emigrants from returning