You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Moscow, Kremlin and Moscva River by night Alamy Stock Photo

Two diplomats at Ireland's embassy in Moscow are to be expelled by Russia

The Department of Foreign Affairs has said that there is “no justification for the taking of this measure”.

LAST UPDATE | 7 Apr 2022

TWO IRISH DIPLOMATS have been asked to leave Russia by the Russian Foreign Ministry.

The Department of Foreign Affairs has said that the Irish ambassador to the Russian Federation, Ambassador Brian McAlduff, was summoned to the Moscow Foreign Ministry earlier today.

He was informed that two Irish diplomats from the Irish Embassy in Moscow were asked to leave Russia.

In a statement this evening, Foreign Affairs Minister Simon Coveney has said that there is “no justification for the taking of this measure”.

“The staff at the Embassy of Ireland in Moscow do not have, nor are engaged in, any duties or functions which are incompatible with their diplomatic status,” said Coveney.

He added that reducing the size of the Irish embassy in the Russian capital would “significantly reduce” their abilities to provide services to Irish citizens in Russia and make it more difficult to maintain diplomatic channels with Russia.

In a statement this evening, the Foreign Affairs Ministry in Russia said that the move was in response to the “unfriendly and groundless steps” taken by Ireland to expel Russian embassy staff.

Last week, the Department of Foreign Affairs expelled four Russian Embassy staff after saying that their actions were not in line with diplomatic standards.

“It was emphasized that in the event that the government of Ireland continues its destructive line in the Russian direction, Dublin should not have the slightest doubt about Moscow’s determination to respond proportionately to any hostile steps,” said the Russian Foreign Ministry.

The Foreign Ministry also called on the Irish Government to “remove the obstacles to the work of the Russian Embassy in Dublin and ensure normal conditions for the functioning of our diplomatic mission”.

Last week, Taoiseach Micheál Martin told the Dáil that the decision was made to expel the Russian staff due to briefings from Irish security officials.

After the expulsion of the embassy staff, the Russian Embassy in Ireland said that the decision would “not go unanswered”.

Ambassador McAlduff was previously summoned to the Foreign Affairs Ministry in Moscow in early March, after a truck was crashed through the gates of the Russian Embassy on Orwell Road.

When asked by The Journal about further detail on the expansions, the Department of Foreign Affairs said:

The Department will not be commenting on details of the expulsions.

Additional reporting by Gráinne Ní Aodha

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute HarveyLemonade
    Favourite HarveyLemonade
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:13 PM

If you are Irish, residing in Russia and have the means to leave…..do so now.

Mute E.J. Murray
    Favourite E.J. Murray
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:09 PM

@HarveyLemonade: — All of Putin’s Irish supporters can replace them, and get in the queue for homoerotic wrestling bouts with him. They’ll love that.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:32 PM

@HarveyLemonade: glad you’re not a military leader with those over reactions! Diplomatic mission representing Larry Goodmans interests is about all the need there, so leave but not quite Saigon ‘75!

Mute Phil Quinn
    Favourite Phil Quinn
    Apr 8th 2022, 12:13 AM

@HarveyLemonade: yes…..come home and let us withdraw our officials. and send the mustache home with his entourage equipment

Mute Gary Carr
    Favourite Gary Carr
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:12 PM

There’s no justification for them invading Ukraine but here we are unfortunately

Mute Fallout Life
    Favourite Fallout Life
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:15 PM

@Gary Carr: In before someone tries to justify it while pretending they’re not trying to justify it

Mute SomeoneSomewhere
    Favourite SomeoneSomewhere
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:31 PM

@Fallout Life: Good ol Seany below just had a go at it though ^^

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:36 PM

@Sean Murphy: Fug! Is this one of those aptitude tests where I have to figure out what you wrote. Honestly (and no joke) I’m not able to follow what you’re saying. It’s like you were using nested double-negatives, or something.

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Favourite Jonathan O'Riordan
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:38 PM

@David A. Murray: bots are not that clever

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:45 PM

@Sean Murphy: fug off you mod pollix .

Mute E.J. Murray
    Favourite E.J. Murray
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:00 PM

@Sean Murphy: Anyone who thinks that there was justification for the invasion of Ukraine has the intellect of a lettuce leaf.

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:11 PM

@E.J. Murray: that is not fair to the lettuce

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:15 PM

@David A. Murray: there’s a meme circulating online that most normie westerners are NPC’s(Non-Player Characters) that just mindlessly consume whatever the mainstream media pump at them. And when you say something to them that’s outside of that mainstream programming they just stare back at you angrily and don’t know what to say. I wonder where that meme came from haha.

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:19 PM

@E.J. Murray: launching a coup d’état that results in a democratically elected President to flee the country and installing a bunch of western puppets in his place is justification enough for invasion. Add on top of that the arming and training of Neo-Nazis to fight on Russias borders and that’s further justification. Western Libs stay mad.

Mute E.J. Murray
    Favourite E.J. Murray
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:33 PM

@Sean Murphy: — I was pretty accurate with my comment re the lettuce leaf.

Mute John Comerford
    Favourite John Comerford
    Apr 7th 2022, 9:21 PM

@Sean Murphy: I really hope you are a Russian bot because no one with any sense of fair play can think that. If you are Irish and think the Ukrainians deserve this shame on you

Mute A Well Known Comical Stereotype AKA PRGuy
    Favourite A Well Known Comical Stereotype AKA PRGuy
    Apr 7th 2022, 9:30 PM

@Sean Murphy: I am waiting for your explanation of how bomb.img innocent people to smithere.ens is justified.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Apr 7th 2022, 9:31 PM

@Sean Murphy: how’s putin’s roubles feel Sean? I suppose you believe the atrocities are staged also? Go on debase yourself a bit more by saying it

Mute John Bathe
    Favourite John Bathe
    Apr 7th 2022, 9:35 PM

@Sean Murphy: the president and vice president of Ukraine are Jewish.. you are a bot ??

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:04 PM

@John Comerford: when did I ever say that Ukrainians ‘deserve’ this? The statement was put forward that there was no justification for invasion and I just pointed out how there clearly was, that’s not the same thing as saying the people deserve it. You lot can choose to live in a NATO propaganda bubble where all context leading up to this conflict is removed if you like. But it doesn’t change the fact that Russia had completely legitimate national security concerns in Ukraine and had it been Russia doing this in Mexico or Canada the Yanks would’ve had boots on the ground years ago.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:21 PM

@Sean Murphy: do you think Ireland has legitimate reasons to invade the North and if so (obviously our lack of a decent military aside) think we should execute that right even though Northern Ireland is as far as we’re concerned a separate nation?

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:20 PM

@Tony Stanley: You’re leaving out all the context as usual. If the UK orchestrated a coup, with loyalist gangs (see Ukrainian Nazis) providing the muscle, against an Ireland friendly NI President – forcing him to flee to Ireland after threats from loyalists. Then UK ambassadors (see Victoria Nuland & Geoffrey Pyatt) were caught on tape picking the next government, who were pro-UK and anti-ireland, after the coup. Then regions of ethnic Irish on the border wanted to break away from NI and the UK began sending weapons and training to the NI military, which had now incorporated loyalist gangs into it, to fight ethnic Irish on our own border. Then yes it would be very rational to say that Ireland had legitimate national security concerns in this situation.

Mute Fallout Life
    Favourite Fallout Life
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:25 PM

@Sean Murphy: Just to clarify, their national security concern was the risk that Ukraine would join NATO? The same NATO that was initially created to counter Russian (USSR) aggression? And to address this concern, they decided to show that Russian aggression against non-NATO countries is still a concern?

Honestly, the French and Americans were considering disbanding NATO a few years back. Now they’ve stepped up their presence in Eastern Europe, increased funding and become more united than they ever were nearly. So if you’re using those concerns as a justification for war, which is a sad excuse, then it looks like they had no idea what they were doing from the get go

Mute Rachel Downey Farrell
    Favourite Rachel Downey Farrell
    Apr 8th 2022, 1:09 AM

@E.J. Murray: Yes, lettuce leaf comparison seems very accurate here

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:26 PM

Pull the entire Irish embassy out of Russia. We’ve no reason to have any relations with Russia.

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:46 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: That would leave Irish citizens in Russia completely stranded though.

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:57 PM

@Cian Nolan: all you need is a consulate at best.

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:12 PM

@Cian Nolan: their choice the can go to one of our EU members embassy for assistance.

Mute David F. Dwyer
    Favourite David F. Dwyer
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:50 PM

@Cian Nolan: In the words of Moe Szyslak: “Ah, they shouldn’t have been there in the first place.”

Mute Karen Ní Dhochartaigh
    Favourite Karen Ní Dhochartaigh
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:39 PM

@Cian Nolan: There is no Embassy in UAE,nearest one is Saudi Arabia. I dont see anyone worrying about that…

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:16 PM

So reduce presence here now to 2

Mute Ann Morris Doolan
    Favourite Ann Morris Doolan
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:54 PM

@Jonathan O’Riordan: yes exactly, get them all out down to two, give them a bag of Ukraine coal for an open fire, as I believe nobody will deliver them oil.
    Life is a great leaner,karma and all that jazz.

Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin
    Apr 8th 2022, 1:43 AM

@Jonathan O’Riordan: Ah, the old eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth approach. If we lived by that we’d all be blind and toothless.

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Apr 8th 2022, 8:20 AM

@Rory Jennequin: no I just believe that no one country is better than another so two will do

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Apr 8th 2022, 8:21 AM

@Rory Jennequin: too many eyes and teeth in Orwell Road

Mute Mick McGuinness
    Favourite Mick McGuinness
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:21 PM

Why does Russia have such a big Embassy staff for such a small country like Ireland. The Irish government should make more enquiries about this. As we have only 6 oopps 4 then Russian Embassy should be made matched.

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:13 PM

@Mick McGuinness: because the FSB need room for their computer hacking servers and agents to spy.

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:30 PM

@Mick McGuinness: I spoke to a journalist who had a special interest in this matter. They operate a huge intelligence operation out of there. Ireland is an easy target for our lackluster security services coupled with the significant number of American multinationals here. Same for the Chinese.

Mute John Duffy
    Favourite John Duffy
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:56 PM

@Ed: TBF all embassies do the same.

Mute McCarthy John
    Favourite McCarthy John
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:53 PM

@Mick McGuinness: it’s well nigh time for an even match of embassy staff numbers. That should have happened regardless of the war. Is the DFA asleep or something?

Mute David cotter
    Favourite David cotter
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:47 PM

Bring it on…..let’s close the Russian embassy and send a message,this is an opportunity to show the world we’ve the ba//s

Mute John Moloney
    Favourite John Moloney
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:03 PM

@David cotter: 100%, Ireland can have a huge impact on this war. Wel show Russia we mean business and they will know who’s boss.

Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin
    Apr 8th 2022, 1:46 AM

@John Moloney: Yes, I’m sure the Russians are cacking themselves at the might of the Irish.

Mute Marianne Sherlock
    Favourite Marianne Sherlock
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:47 PM

Ireland need to ask the Russian ambassador to leave ASAP should have been done before now

Mute Eamonn Tierney
    Favourite Eamonn Tierney
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:19 PM

So why are there Still so many left in the Russian embassy and what are they doing here ?

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:11 PM

Close the whole embassy and send theirs packing too.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:14 PM

That’s expected to happen

Mute John Comerford
    Favourite John Comerford
    Apr 7th 2022, 9:26 PM

The dogs on the street know why the Russians have such a big embassy in ireland. Stop Facilitating them. Down to two staff tomorrow.

Mute United Ireland
    Favourite United Ireland
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:19 PM

FK Putin

Mute Juniper
    Favourite Juniper
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:59 PM

@United Ireland: I think its Vladimir

Mute Ruth Colbert
    Favourite Ruth Colbert
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:18 PM

Real schoolyard stuff, Russia really is showing itself to be a petulant child

Mute John Moloney
    Favourite John Moloney
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:18 PM

Do your but, put a Ukraine flag on your Facebook page or a rainbow flag with “No war” on it.

Mute Alan Biddulph
    Favourite Alan Biddulph
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:24 PM

@John Moloney: Yea, and you keep posting this same thing every day thinking you are clever and funny, literally Ive seen you post this three days in a row.

Mute Noel Donohue
    Favourite Noel Donohue
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:51 PM

Is Eir mobile better than Vodafone does anyone know?

Mute Muckser Maher
    Favourite Muckser Maher
    Apr 7th 2022, 9:19 PM

@Noel Donohue: what’s a tracker mortgage Noel

Mute Noel Donohue
    Favourite Noel Donohue
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:16 PM

@Muckser Maher: i haven’t a clue mine is fixed rate

Mute Dawn Harvey
    Favourite Dawn Harvey
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:33 PM

@Noel Donohue: voda is way better coverage from my experience, especially in the country

Mute Sandra Molloy
    Favourite Sandra Molloy
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:15 PM

@Noel Donohue: get gomo and be able to afford food

Mute Karen Ní Dhochartaigh
    Favourite Karen Ní Dhochartaigh
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:41 PM

@Sandra Molloy: I have it and I’m in Dublin and the amount of times my phone doesn’t ring because the coverage is bad is madness. I’m between 3 masts so no excuse yet if I’m in my bedroom (next door to the sitting room and on the same external wall) my phone doesn’t work…. Gomo’s reply, yea that can happen

Mute Larry Whelan
    Favourite Larry Whelan
    Apr 7th 2022, 11:39 PM

Chuck all the staff on russian embassy in dublin back to Moscow and put the embassy to good use ,convert it to a home for Ukrainian refugees .

Mute Genera L Consensus
    Favourite Genera L Consensus
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:47 PM

Wt f is anyone Irish doing there

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Apr 8th 2022, 1:58 AM

@Genera L Consensus: working?

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:04 PM

Can we swap them for crazy cat Clare, Moscow Mick and those other PBP goons please

Mute Bryan Mc Mahon
    Favourite Bryan Mc Mahon
    Apr 7th 2022, 7:45 PM

So are the rest of the lads in bunk beds out there?

Mute Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph
    Favourite Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph
    Apr 7th 2022, 9:08 PM

I’m sure the lads will be happy to get home, sure Russia a bit of an old s h I t h o l e all the same…

Mute Susan McGrath
    Favourite Susan McGrath
    Apr 7th 2022, 10:56 PM

They were clearly aces of spies…like the Ruskies that were deported from Ireland

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Apr 7th 2022, 8:41 PM

Wow. How rude