You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

An Irish Conor McGregor fan serenaded Holly Holm and completely mortified her

Irish lads. They’re a romantic bunch.

THE IRISH HAVE well and truly descended on Las Vegas ahead of Conor McGregor’s bout against Jose Aldo tonight.

Australia UFC 193 AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Yesterday, a few of them stopped in at a Q&A with Holly Holm, the fighter who knocked out Ronda Rousey last month.

One Irish fan took the opportunity to serenade Holm with a rendition of Can’t Take My Eyes Off You, complete with the DUH-DUH DUH-DUH DUH DUH DUH DUH DUH bit.

MMAFightingonSBN / YouTube

Look at her. She’s mortified. In her eyes is a silent cry for help.

hollyholm YouTube YouTube

holly2

You really can’t take us anywhere.

Written by Valerie Loftus and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2015/12/img2-thejournal-140.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2498974" class="alignnone" /end]

Did you spot this legend in the audience during last night’s Late Late Show?>

16 of the most hun things that ever happened>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute The cat's well out
    Favourite The cat's well out
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:06 PM

So are we back to being lovable rogues who like a pint now?

Or are we still drunken embarrassments that can’t be taken anywhere like we were yesterday?

I can’t keep up!

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:11 PM

A little from column A, a little from column B ;D

Mute Oisin O'Riordan
    Favourite Oisin O'Riordan
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:12 PM

They’re walking talking paddy stereotypes.

Mute Teddington
    Favourite Teddington
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:44 PM

I actually thought that the singing was brilliant. As a tourist advertisement I’d say them boys just secured thousands of young visitors from the states to Ireland who must think that the place is just a mad house, it’s like a country where there’s two teenagers at home with the parents away for the holidays.

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:52 PM

Says the hipster

Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:35 PM

We’re the former until some idiot (and there’s always one) who doesn’t know when to stop and makes us the latter…

Mute Macus Mc Mahon
    Favourite Macus Mc Mahon
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:39 PM

they mortified the irish race ….cringe .

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Dec 12th 2015, 4:59 PM

The Irish – best fans in the wuuuuurdld.
    And simultaneously the most annoying.

Mute Oisin O'Riordan
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:01 PM

And cringe inducing.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:05 PM

Not as cringey as Tubridy asking about any famous celebrity’s Irish roots before they even sit down

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Oisin O'Riordan
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:09 PM

They live up to every stereotype of the drunken Paddy.

Mute Marc Walsh
    Favourite Marc Walsh
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:13 PM

Oisin fcuk off back into the womb there until you come out fully cooked as an Irish man.

Mute Thomas Mac Donagh
    Favourite Thomas Mac Donagh
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:13 PM

a sport for neanderthals

Mute Peter Moran
    Favourite Peter Moran
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:17 PM

Or d’arcy been immature wit his guest questioning

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:23 PM

Oisin, my table called. It wants its cloth back.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:41 PM

Karol, that’s not ‘oisin’, its a photo of a person stolen to set up a fake account to run propaganda for FG.

http://s3-origin-images.politico.com/2013/12/18/131218_lowry_pajamaboy.jpg

Doubtful ‘oisin’ is their real name either.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:43 PM

How pathetic.

Mute Thomas Mac Donagh
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:45 PM

FC the resident stalker

Mute John J Kelly
    Favourite John J Kelly
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:46 PM

@Oisin O’Riordan it is funny though!….ya just have to admire Marc Walsh’s creativity all the same….kudus to you Mark for your unique way with the english language!

Mute Notthatguy
    Favourite Notthatguy
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:31 PM

The Irish, best begrudgers in the world too.

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:52 PM

Massive pissheads thats about it.

Mute North Korean General
    Favourite North Korean General
    Dec 12th 2015, 7:33 PM

So if you play golf, watch rugby and bankrupt the country but get away with it that’s ok.
    UFC is a real sport. The wafflers can go to hell

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien
    Dec 12th 2015, 8:47 PM

Marks comment made my night! Funny fcuker!

Mute nf
    Favourite nf
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:01 PM

Got to love how the best of Irish abroad represent us… Well done that guy

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:09 PM

A JetBlue flight from New York to Vegas full of Irish fans had to turn back due to a brawl breaking out among Irish fans. And this was after one drunken fan was booted off on the ground as he kept singling Ole Ole when the crew was trying to give the safety announcement. I hope they behave themselves, a load of Irish lads loose in Vegas is dangerous.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:35 PM

Ah, Would ye ever feck off you begrudger, A load of Irish lads on the loose is a session- I guarantee they will do more pluses for Tourism than negatives – I think you need to go on a session with a load of Irish lads, the way we treat people and get treated back in a sporting session is second to none – live a little and try it – this is coming from a veteran of 30 years following the Irish football team

Mute Thomas Mac Donagh
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:46 PM

typical promoting loutish behavior by the shinnerbot

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:23 PM

A begrudger? A flight having to turn back delaying people and inconveniencing people because some drunk lads can’t hold their drink is just a friendly auld session?

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:50 PM

I`ve seen more idiots at an Ireland V Scotland/England/Wales Rugby game and the surrounding streets – But sure that was all in good fun too.
    Yes a guy got drunk on the plane going to Vegas, But to be fair, more than 10,000 have travelled for McGregors fight – A ratio of one bad story and one very good natured story out of 10,000 that have travelled means that 99.9% of fans are behaving themselves properly.
    Let The Irish be the Irish abroad, the vast majority of us know how to behave ourselves.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:54 PM

@Thomas Mac Donagh
    So, you have finally given me a name – “Shinnerbot”
    I`ll wear your disdain and loahting with pride.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:55 PM

Loathing*

Mute Thomas Mac Donagh
    Dec 12th 2015, 8:44 PM

disdain? haha you really have notions about yourself, best to just laugh at you :D

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Dec 13th 2015, 2:11 AM

Worse behaviour at a Rugby game? Sure you have……there’s never been a flight turned back because of loutish behaviour from rugby fans during the 6 nations.

Mute John J Kelly
    Favourite John J Kelly
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:57 PM

Mortified but delighted at the same time i would think, that guy had guts, i will give him that, its a good memory for everyone there!

Mute Ken Fallon
    Favourite Ken Fallon
    Dec 12th 2015, 5:49 PM

Awful, cringeworthy typical Paddy abroad. Idiot.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:17 PM

Agree. Total joke. Crappy tacky excuse for sport!

Mute Colleen McGovern
    Favourite Colleen McGovern
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:28 PM

Around 5am. He was better than Elvis.

Mute Graham McKibbin
    Favourite Graham McKibbin
    Dec 12th 2015, 9:20 PM

She’s trying to be polite and smile as he sings but I’m pretty sure she mouths ‘just eff off’ at the 25 second mark !!!! :)

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Dec 12th 2015, 7:54 PM

I thought it was funny

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Dec 12th 2015, 6:06 PM

Any one know what time the match starts?

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Dec 12th 2015, 10:51 PM

kick-off is at 5AM, ben.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Dec 13th 2015, 1:10 AM

I don’t like McGregor or his fans, I hope he loses.

Dec 12th 2015, 11:35 PM

Embarrassing…

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Dec 13th 2015, 4:47 PM

Serious guns on her.