You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Irish Ferries cancels 6,000 summer bookings as new ship is delayed again

Irish Ferries was previously forced to cancel July sailings for the W.B. Yeats.

IRISH FERRIES HAS cancelled 6,000 summer bookings due to a delay of the delivery of its new ship.

The company made the announcement this afternoon, citing “extraordinary circumstances beyond its control”. It says that shipbuilder Flensburger Schiffbau-Gesellschaft & Co.KG (FSG) has delayed the delivery of the ship.

“Because of the uncertainty caused by this additional delay, Irish Ferries has no option but to cancel all the planned sailings to France for W.B. Yeats this Summer, with the ship now likely to commence sailing with Irish Ferries on Dublin / Holyhead as scheduled in September. Irish Ferries is contacting affected customers this afternoon to inform them of the cancellations, offer them alternative travel options, and apologise for the disruption to their travel arrangements.”

The cancellations will hit 6,000 bookings, with Irish Ferries advising customers of the alternative options, including direct sailings on its Oscar Wilde ship or sailing to the UK and then to France.

Customers who choose the latter option will be reimbursed the cost of their fuel requirements from the port of arrival in the UK to the port of arrival in France.

For customers who choose neither option, a full refund is available.

Irish Ferries was previously forced to cancel July sailings for the W.B. Yeats when they were informed in April by FSG, of the initial delay. Around 2,500 bookings were impacted by the earlier cancellation.

A statement said:

“Irish Ferries very much regrets the inconvenience these cancellations cause our customers and hopes that as many as possible will choose to be accommodated via the company’s alternative arrangements and continue with their holiday plans. As valued customers of Irish Ferries, we are offering each affected customer a €150 voucher which can be used on any of our Ireland-France routes next year.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Anthony newey
    Favourite Anthony newey
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:24 PM

So much for German efficiency

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:13 PM

Horrendous company. Always was & will be.

Mute David Edwards
    Favourite David Edwards
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:19 PM

@Mjhint: In the interest of fairness I have to sailed with them regularly and have never had cause for complaint……. wait that was Stena

Mute Pjaysus Hobanus
    Favourite Pjaysus Hobanus
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:22 PM

@Mjhint: How are they? They have done the only thing they could do given that the circumstances of the delay are beyond their control. I frequently travel with them and have had no issues.

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:24 PM

@Mjhint: Are you saying Irish Ferries are at fault? They simply ordered a new ship & expect to deliver it in time as promised unfortunately it didn’t. Irish Ferries should sue the Ship builder for breaching the contract…..

Mute Philip Murphy
    Favourite Philip Murphy
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:36 PM

@Mjhint: What a stupid comment. How are they to blame for delays in the construction of the vessel

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:11 PM

@Philip Murphy: maybe he means to work for. There’s no Irish crew on their ships anymore there hasn’t been in years since they were all made redundant. Irish Ferries sail under a foreign flag so Irish employment law dose not apply to them. They pay their workers onboard a pittance like cruise ships in the US and they work months without a break.

Mute The Quare Fella
    Favourite The Quare Fella
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:57 PM

@Jonathan Power:
    true, and slap a load of green paint and a shamrock on the side and everyone’s a winner.

Mute Pjaysus Hobanus
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:12 PM

@Jonathan Power: There are Irish and UK crew on all the vessels. The majority however are Eastern European who choose to work the long periods without returning home. When you choose to work at sea you accept that you will be away from home for long periods but this has some benefits e.g. tax exemption. You should refrain from passing judgement unless you know the facts.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:13 PM

@Mjhint: well lovies if like me you get to sail with this lot as a truck driver weekly for 25 years you get to have an informed decision. The delays on this ship are not extraordinary & IF know there was issues but still took a gamble. Im inclined to wait for my products arrive & are tested before i commit to using them. As i said horrible company. The food is crap & over priced & the cabins are a disgrace. Was on the ferry to Cherbourg Saturday. 3 drivers to a cabin. Regularly fighting drunken toerags on it & nothing done about it. By the way Stena is worse than IF. So for the person saying i nade a stupid comment. A bit advice. Listen to those who know. I know through experience & thats something you cant buy not even in a sale.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:26 PM

@Jonathan Power: they trear their people terribly. The boss and management are deluded.

Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:33 PM

@Thosj Carroll: now now, mj drives a lorry so he’s an expert on everything, ferries, roads, police and anything else he may interact with while driving his lorry. Him and other lorry drivers are also the best drivers on the road

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:44 PM

@Jonathan Power: flying under a foreign flag certainly isn’t rare in shipping it’s pretty much the norm.

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Jun 12th 2018, 6:33 PM

@Pjaysus Hobanus: know the facts LoL I used to work on it. When it was under an Irish flag the workers were paid a proper wage and worked time for time. On the French run they did two weeks on two weeks off.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jun 12th 2018, 6:38 PM

@Ohhh_reeally: yes we are. We are the highest trained drivers on the road & i commend your acknowledgement of this.

Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    Jun 12th 2018, 8:06 PM

@Mjhint: some truck drivers are among the most dangerous on the road. And apart from been generally fat and surviving of fast food they’re experts at nothing

Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    Jun 12th 2018, 8:11 PM
    Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    Jun 12th 2018, 8:14 PM
    Mute Jason Healy
    Favourite Jason Healy
    Jun 12th 2018, 8:26 PM

@Ohhh_reeally: ah little primrose still thinks the stork delivers everything, just another flute with a hatred for truck drivers blocking his path. Might be more in your line to go educate yourself on the finer points of logistics or maybe just maybe you might stop hiding behind a false facade

Mute Pjaysus Hobanus
    Jun 12th 2018, 8:27 PM

@Jonathan Power: yes you used to work on it and therefore are not an authority on the current facts. Lots of changes since you were there.

Mute Pjaysus Hobanus
    Jun 12th 2018, 8:29 PM

@Mjhint: you need to speak to whoever books you on and puts you sharing a cabin. There are single cabins too. Not the ferries fault of you work for a tight arse

Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    Jun 12th 2018, 8:31 PM

@Jason Healy: ya I hate truck drivers. I’ve family that drive trucks. It’s mj constantly rabbiting on about how great he is and how he’s an expert at everything because he drives a truck. Anyone that constantly pontificates to others about how great he is is generally a bellend

Mute Jason Healy
    Favourite Jason Healy
    Jun 12th 2018, 8:59 PM

@Ohhh_reeally: but you were the one who decided to bring up the facts, I’m all upset now, I’m going to go and cry into my appletini. Maybe you should go and ask your family how badly truck drivers are treated on a daily basis. And yes ferry companies are the same treating drivers like second class citizens, not singling out Irish ferries but all of them

Mute sean conway
    Favourite sean conway
    Jun 12th 2018, 9:03 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: I’d reckon flying is pretty rare in the shipping industry!

Mute Jason Healy
    Favourite Jason Healy
    Jun 12th 2018, 9:04 PM

@Pjaysus Hobanus: there are not enough cabins to give every driver a single cabin, also haulers pay an average of €450+ to put a truck on a ferry to holyhead when normally a car and driver are only 99 on off peak

Mute Peter Connolly
    Favourite Peter Connolly
    Jun 12th 2018, 9:09 PM

@Mjhint: your spot on mate they took the money off people quickly enough. Of course loads of flag wavers ready to stick up for them.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jun 12th 2018, 9:32 PM

@Ohhh_reeally: one disqualified driver as example & one fatal accident. You need to do better. I stand by my previous comment which you yourself acknowledged. We are the most highly trained drivers on the road & clearly as its been pointed out by my colleage you have a poor attitude towards drivers like IF & other ferry companies. Remember if ypu bought it one of us brought it.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jun 12th 2018, 9:37 PM

@Pjaysus Hobanus: im inclined to agree but it appears that all the drivers are working for to use your words tight asses as we were all 3 to a cabin. Clearly you also have no understanding how this works. Nothing to do with with haulier as the ferry companies give out the cabins. So please try harder.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jun 12th 2018, 9:41 PM

@Jason Healy: he said i keep going on & im a bellend! He has no idea does he. If only he really knew.

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Jun 12th 2018, 10:12 PM

@Jonathan Power: cheap fags n booze.. happy days…

Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    Jun 12th 2018, 10:50 PM

@Mjhint: I do know. I know all about you which is why I’m replying to you.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jun 12th 2018, 10:57 PM

@Ohhh_reeally: ok hun.

Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    Jun 12th 2018, 11:27 PM

@Mjhint: ah thats nice. Pontificate like a bellend and the call me hun. Your in a rotten industry that been abused by drivers and owners on a daily basis putting people at risk. No level of education or intelligence required and it shows

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jun 12th 2018, 11:54 PM

@Ohhh_reeally: wow my colleague is correct ypu have a hatred of truck drivers & our industry. Im unaware of the abuse you claim within my environment including the company i work for but as you are so aggrieved by our important industry why dont you boycott it & bring it to the attention of the authorities. Just remember its unlikely you can live without us although we definitely will manage without you. So are you going to be a real revolutionary or a telephone tough guy.

Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    Jun 13th 2018, 12:07 AM

No hatred of truck drivers but ya you can use that to mask the fact that it’s you I’ve issue with. You can drive better than everyone, do the NRAs job better that them, you know the RSAs job better than them, you know the guards job better than them, you could run Irish ferries better and yet your employed in a job that requires no education or intelligence. Let me go out on a limb here, you hate cyclists too don’t ya. Idiot

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jun 13th 2018, 3:25 PM

@Ohhh_reeally: clearly a hatred of truck drivers with those presuppositions. If you’re so aggrieved by our industry have some self respect & stop using if you can. We’ll manage fine without you thanks.

Mute Ohhh_reeally
    Favourite Ohhh_reeally
    Jun 13th 2018, 8:21 PM

@Mjhint: told ya, nothing to do with your industry. Stop trying to deflect from the fact that although you’re uneducated, working 25 years in an industry that requires no education that you may be called out when pontificating on a public forum. You can’t run Irish ferries any better, you can’t run the NRA, RSA, Garda or County Councils any better. The stop using our industry comment highlights the level of your intelligence considering you’re on here condemning Irish Ferries while admitting to personally using them for 25 years. If brains were dynamite you wouldn’t have enough to blow the wax out of your ears.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:30 PM

Brittney Ferries out of Cork there lads. Sure it’s only down the road

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:47 PM

@Tommy C: and brittany always cost loads more whenever I went.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:24 PM

@ed w: Irish Ferries are not allowed come into Cork Ed. The lack of competition stemming from that protectionism of Rosslare is your reason for the price. Much higher class service though

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Jun 12th 2018, 9:13 PM

@Tommy C: you can sail from Cork to Bilbao Spain now. Nice

Mute Aibrean Aine
    Favourite Aibrean Aine
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:33 PM

Funny that the EU force airlines to pay compensation for cancellations and delays but don’t force ferry companies to do the same.

Mute León O'Keeffe
    Favourite León O'Keeffe
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:10 PM

@Aibrean Aine: airlines don’t have to pay compensation if there are “extraordinary circumstances” outside of their control or if they give 2 weeks or over notice of cancellation and it’s the same here. This is outside of the company’s control and over 2 weeks away and that’s why they don’t have to offer compo.

Mute Scott Crossfield
    Favourite Scott Crossfield
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:23 PM

@León O’Keeffe: act of Nature (or someone’s god) & strikes are the ones that get airlines off the hook. But usually cancellation issue is at the terminal and pending your carrier they either re book you or Ryanair refund and that’s it.

Mute Peter Connolly
    Favourite Peter Connolly
    Jun 12th 2018, 9:00 PM

@León O’Keeffe: you must be on their pay role sticking up for Irish ferry’s. what about the loss of money for campsites for family holidays. Suppose that’s their hard luck, is it?

Mute Steven Tarbox
    Favourite Steven Tarbox
    Jul 22nd 2018, 4:28 PM

@Aibrean Aine: The EU does require compensation to be paid, its just not very well publicised. I have a bit of a overview/guide here: https://www.niferry.co.uk/ferry-delay-cancellation-compensation/
    Much of this is buried in Irish Ferries terms and conditions of course!

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:28 PM

what s going on with the boat?

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:56 PM

@steve white: nothing by the sounds of it

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:08 PM

@steve white: Seems to be some sort of problem on the fit-out front; wiring, furniture etc. because the ship has been structurally completed for months now.

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:12 PM

@steve white: Yes, as a correction to my above, the statement from the shipbuilders states “Due to delays in the delivery of interior components for public areas and on the electrical system installation in the hull and deckhouse”. So they seem to be passing on the blame to the suppliers of various components like furniture, signage, cladding etc.

Mute Ollie Conroy
    Favourite Ollie Conroy
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:10 PM

@Shane Corry: I believe they had to provide social housing and the kennels are a bit tight….

Mute Irving Chubbie
    Favourite Irving Chubbie
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:21 PM

This is probably all for the best. Irish people should holiday at home more anyway. Who needs to go out foreign where they have the nude bathing and spaghetti bolognese and condoms. Thank God people are beginning to see sense!

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:35 PM

@Irving Chubbie: Jaysus, the narrow-mindedness of some people. The ferry runs both ways you know. Thousands from mainland Europe travel here on the ferry every year.

Mute Frank Dubogovik
    Favourite Frank Dubogovik
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:36 PM

@Irving Chubbie: I was in one place and they didn’t have rte, spoke gobbedegook and used different money??NEVER AGAIN

Mute Irving Chubbie
    Favourite Irving Chubbie
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:40 PM

@Frank Dubogovik:

I even heard they had women loving women over there. And men wearing bikinis!

Mute Irving Chubbie
    Favourite Irving Chubbie
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:42 PM

@Reuben Gray:

They do not. That’s just the Irish coming home again. Hanging their heads in shamefullness,

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Jun 12th 2018, 3:55 PM

@Irving Chubbie: yep, six weeks of sun, sand, sea, spaghetti…and sex… without consequences – really?

Mute Anthony newey
    Favourite Anthony newey
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:07 PM

@Frank Dubogovik: not getting rte must be great .To pay a licence fee AND have to sit through adverts is taking the proverbial.

Mute Shougeki
    Favourite Shougeki
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:12 PM

@Frank Dubogovik: Closest country within easy driving distance with different money is england. They sure speak gobbedegook! :P

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:07 PM

Checked with Irish Ferries on May 28th to see when sailings would commence with W B Yeats after earlier cancellations and was reassured to be be informed that August 1st was definite……….!

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Jun 12th 2018, 6:19 PM

@John Walsh: what does “……….!” mean?

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:26 PM

6000 bookings doesn’t sound like alot of sailings if the ship takes 1,800 passengers?

Mute Hank Schrader
    Favourite Hank Schrader
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:36 PM

@Bilbo Baggins: Ye think all those 6000 bookings are 1 person families away for their summer holidays..

Mute Ollie Conroy
    Favourite Ollie Conroy
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:13 PM

@Bilbo Baggins: average booking is for 4 people . So 24,000 actual bodies affected

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:46 PM

@Bilbo Baggins: Irish Times quoting that 19,000 people are affected. Normally this would not include any freight etc. as that tends to be booked in much closer to the sailing date.

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Jun 12th 2018, 5:50 PM

@Ollie Conroy: Yeh that’s a much more sobering number alright.

Mute Krystian Brzezowski
    Favourite Krystian Brzezowski
    Jun 12th 2018, 6:32 PM

Can’t get it, can they not lease some ship?

Jun 12th 2018, 5:53 PM

Thats what you get for giving the job to Germany, should have bern built in the UK or the Far East, German “efficiency” is not what it used to be.

Mute Róisín McGrath
    Favourite Róisín McGrath
    Jun 12th 2018, 4:17 PM

Offer alternatives is absolute bullshit. All they’ve offered is €150 voucher for next summer which is hardly useful considering I’ve already booked, paid and planned for a 2 week journey down the coast of France for this year.

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Jun 12th 2018, 10:14 PM

@Róisín McGrath: will they cover the cost if you went with Brittany ferries through Cork…

Mute Steven Tarbox
    Favourite Steven Tarbox
    Jul 22nd 2018, 4:26 PM

@Róisín McGrath: No harm in trying to claim some compensation under EU rules. I have a bit of a overview/guide here: https://www.niferry.co.uk/ferry-delay-cancellation-compensation/
    Much of this is buried in Irish Ferries terms and conditions of course!

Mute Stephen Hyland
    Favourite Stephen Hyland
    Jun 13th 2018, 12:40 AM

That is why I fly. Why would you spend 18 hours on a ship when you can spend less than 2 on a plane to go to France

Mute Patrick Kenealy
    Favourite Patrick Kenealy
    Jun 13th 2018, 3:10 AM

Because you can take as much luggage as you want including kids bikes, toys etc. And you have a car for the duration of your holiday!

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Jun 12th 2018, 9:15 PM

German cars mehh German ships meh

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Jun 13th 2018, 6:07 PM

Hope that shipbuilder has good insurance