You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Riot police in Paris had their hands full with a school demonstration today. SIPA USA/PA Images

Irish in Paris urged to take caution and avoid certain areas as city braced for further protests

The Department of Foreign Affairs has issued an advisory to citizens in France.

THE DEPARTMENT OF Foreign Affairs has urged Irish citizens in Paris to “exercise a high degree of caution” and avoid areas where protests are taking place as France braces for another day of major demonstrations tomorrow.

French officials have already announced the closure of major tourist sites in Paris including museums and art galleries such as the Eiffel Tower and the Louvre- and told shopkeepers on and around the Champs-Elysees to stay shut tomorrow.

Around 8,000 police officers will be on duty in Paris – 5,000 more than last weekend when rioters caused extensive damage at the Arc de Triomphe and around the Champs-Elysees.

A dozen armoured vehicles will also be deployed in the capital for the first time.

Irish authorities are among dozens of other countries that are warning its citizens to take care this weekend.

A travel alert on the DFA website said: “We recommend you:

- Avoid areas where protests are taking place;- Check for transport disruptions and closures before setting out;

- Exercise a high degree of caution and stay informed of what is happening around you by monitoring local media, as protests may move quickly;

- Follow the advice of local authorities.

This was echoed by the US embassy, which issued a detailed travel alert.

“Demonstrations may become violent, resulting in damage to property, including overturning vehicles and setting them on fire,” said the embassy statement.

“Police responses may include water cannons and/or tear gas.”

The alert counselled Americans to keep a low profile, avoid crowds and to move vehicles away from places where demonstrations were expected.

A statement from Britain’s Foreign Office also warned that Saturday’s demonstrations could turn violent.

“Motorists travelling through France may also experience delays or blockages caused by demonstrators at motorway toll booths,” it added.

“In all cases, you should avoid any demonstrations if at all possible and follow the advice of the local authorities.” It gave similar advice for expected demonstrations in Brussels.

Belgium meanwhile advised its nationals to postpone any trips to Paris if at all possible.

The Dutch, German, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish and Turkish authorities all warned of possible violence, particularly in Paris, and advised their nationals to stay away from any demonstrations.

The embassies of Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain also warned their nationals to be extra cautious and avoid protests.

Some embassies spelled out which parts of Paris to avoid. The Danish embassy advised its nationals to avoid the Champs-Elysees area – the scene of violent clashes last weekend – and other areas.

With reporting from AFP

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute John brett
    Favourite John brett
    Aug 20th 2020, 6:51 PM

Keep the schools closed.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 20th 2020, 6:52 PM

@John brett: no

Mute Donna Branigan
    Favourite Donna Branigan

@John brett: numbers need to be in the single digits before they even consider opening the schools

See 47 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Aug 20th 2020, 6:53 PM

@John brett: close everything so.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith

@Jonny: Yes

Mute Colonel Buckshot
    Favourite Colonel Buckshot
    Aug 20th 2020, 6:54 PM

@John brett: Schools can’t be kept closed for years. The effect of that would be worse than covid.

Mute Donna Branigan
    Favourite Donna Branigan
    Aug 20th 2020, 6:56 PM

@Colonel Buckshot: no one is saying that but we need to be in a better position before they do open

Mute Ths Fer
    Favourite Ths Fer

@John brett: Evidence from Iceland among other places seems to show very little if any transmission from children to adults so no, keeping the schools shut is not a good idea.

Mute Pat Andrews
    Favourite Pat Andrews
    Aug 20th 2020, 6:57 PM

@Colonel Buckshot: like more people dead?

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke

@Donna Branigan: we might not be for s very long time
    The evidence says schools don’t contribute towards the spread
    We aren’t new Zealand
    We can’t eliminate this without catastrophic economic permutations

Mute Colonel Buckshot
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:00 PM

@Donna Branigan: There’s no guarantee we will be in a better position any time soon. If they hold off reopening the schools for better numbers they could well stayed closed for the next school year.

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:01 PM

@Ths Fer: u pick Iceland or Denmark and someone else with pick the USA or Israel. We did this ourselves, no self control, no understanding of science. Actually blatant denying of science. The same parents moaning for the schools to be opened will be the first to complain when the cases start appearing in the schols.

Mute Donna Branigan
    Favourite Donna Branigan

@Luke: I get that I really do but I’d still rather see us being able to handle the testing and the trace and contact before you send thousands back to school.. another month or so to get on top of things would suffice

Mute Donna Branigan
    Favourite Donna Branigan
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:03 PM

@Colonel Buckshot: we could be in a better position though if our government etc didn’t make such bad decisions

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@Olivia Smith: absolutely not open absolutely everything of watch society crumble and we’ll all die is that what you’d prefer

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

@Donna Branigan: oh really? And if on a Monday there’s 9 cases then 10 on the Tuesday do we close for the Wednesday. Then there’s 8 on the Wednesday do they reopen Thursday?

Mute longstrides
    Favourite longstrides
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:04 PM

@Donna Branigan: Varadkar said they would get 1m students back to school/college.
    they’ve only undertaken to open schools/colleges, not to keep them open. Semantics.

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley

@Ths Fer: Scottish schools back one week. Cases are rising at both primary and secondary level according to the BBC

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:06 PM

@Donna Branigan: you have no idea what’s going on with testing or how different it will be in another month…. goms thought they could eliminate this a month ago! It’s here. We have to live with it. And kids can’t suffer any more…

Mute Donna Branigan
    Favourite Donna Branigan

@David Clements: thats not what i said or insinuated I stated that I’d rather see us in single figures before they reopened the schools

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:08 PM

@Luke: Other evidence shows schools add 0.3 to the R0.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:09 PM

@John brett: For how long,months or years? Children not just need to be educated but need social interaction also as an essential part of development.So the rest of society need to behave reasonably re Covid-19 guidelines and those that act irresponsibly need to copy on.
    But a bit of common sense needed re eg 1) if a child has a cough.A child may have a history of asthma and may have a chronic cough at times so how can they be kept out of school and miss their education.That type of medical history should be taken into account re the schools Covid-19 guidelines.2)If one child has a cough,(maybe common cold,etc)i presume her siblings at school also need to be isolated.Parents missing work as a result.What are the Government plans re same?

Mute Ths Fer
    Favourite Ths Fer

@Diarmuid Hehir: No evidence from the US shows schools being a problem. The Israel case seems to have been due to teachers passing it on to each other rather than the kids passing it among themselves. Use your own common sense. Have you not seen the youths hanging around in groups in every village around the country? I don’t disapprove of it. But keeping schools closed when young healthy people aren’t at risk and don’t seem to pass on the virus is nonsensical.

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke

@Donna Branigan: They’ve been out of school long enough
    The system won’t be fixed in a month
    We just have to accept like many countries this won’t go away and will peak and trough until a vaccine or treatment
    We just need to accept that instead of pandering to the paranoia

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:10 PM

@John brett: need immediately lockdown both airports & Ferries and need stop spread

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:10 PM

@NotMyIreland: The R number is about as reliable as David Luiz in your back line

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:11 PM

@Donna Branigan: Once we open anything we will have cases. There is no way around.

It would have helped if they would have worked and tested some models and not swapping ministers shortly before.

30 children in small rooms without solutions on how to manage the travel to/from school is probably a bad idea (yes, I know, I should listen to the experts but it still sounfs like a bad idea)

A plan b for the next couple of years to guarantee the children’s right for education (and socialisation) is also not there…

Well, if nothing was prepared in the last 6 months, there won’t be anything prepared in the next 6 months

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:15 PM

@Ths Fer: they’ve shut schools down in And they were the first to open in the US. Fact check that ya dope.

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:16 PM

@Diarmuid Hehir: Georgia

Mute Ths Fer
    Favourite Ths Fer
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:19 PM

@Sinead Foley: That is blatantly untrue. The one “cluster” that was identified in Bannerman HS was related to senior management in a local business and predated the kids going back to school. That’s from a very left leaning source. Enough with the hysteria and histrionics. Bit of backbone is severely needed from a large segment of our population.

Mute Philip Keenan
    Favourite Philip Keenan
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:27 PM

@John brett: you obviously don’t have kids

Mute Ths Fer
    Favourite Ths Fer

@Diarmuid Hehir: Keep being a hysterical buffoon or read this excerpt. Your choice.

https://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/146/2/e2020004879

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:29 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: Meant to say cop on not copy!

Mute Conor Noonan
    Favourite Conor Noonan
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:30 PM

@John brett: lock down Dublin.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons

@Donna Branigan: why

Mute Michael Waldron
    Favourite Michael Waldron
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:32 PM

@Donna Branigan: some day hopefully before long the penny will drop that this is probably as good as it gets for the next few years .. there is no knight in shining armour coming .
    If you don’t face reality and open the schools now you aren’t going to have different circumstances to open them for years to come

Mute Kelley Simpson
    Favourite Kelley Simpson
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:38 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: agreed completely, my son is 9 and has asthma, he also is diagnosed with hayfever, but I think its more of an allergy beacuse he sneezes, coughs and is itchy all year long . He won’t allowed to school anyday at this rate.

RJ
    Mute RJ
    Favourite RJ
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:54 PM

@John brett: all I can say is that we closed the schools when it reached 27 cases in a day back in March, now we have 130+ cases in a day and we are opening them. We got it wrong or getting it wrong

Togs
    Mute Togs
    Favourite Togs
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:56 PM

@Jonny: now that’s the doomiest and gloomiest statement any merchant has written on this topic..

Mute len len
    Favourite len len
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:05 PM

@John brett: open the pubs

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:50 PM

@Kelley Simpson: Maybe talk to the headmaster/headmistress and ask what advice the school were given re children with asthma with symptoms like your son.
    If you suspect your son has allergies then you could ask your doctor re referral re allergy tests and knowing what he’s allergic to means you can do things to limit his exposure to these allergens and therefore limit the symptoms of cough,etc.

Mute Aimee Nagle
    Favourite Aimee Nagle
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:01 PM

@John brett: why?

Mute John Keane
    Favourite John Keane
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:27 PM

@John brett: Ye dont have any children do ye, and I bet ye have been to the odd house party here and there!!!!

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:53 PM

@Colonel Buckshot: Who said anything about “years”? It has been shown that kids / teenagers can carry the virus… What is wrong with ye people that ye want to potentially put your kids through that?

Mute Bee Bonthuys
    Favourite Bee Bonthuys
    Aug 20th 2020, 10:33 PM

@Luke: Not proven – newest study suggests children might be better at transmitting the virus compared to adults.

Currently, research is still ongoing into how the virus and children interact. No proof that schools are somehow magically immune.

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley
    Aug 20th 2020, 11:03 PM

@Ths Fer: check this out Tha Fer

www. Scotsman.com

Schools in Aberdeenshire, Glasgow, Lanarkshire, Perth and Kinross, Inverness and Renfrewshire have all confirmed coronavirus cases

By Finlay Greig

You should ring them and the BBC to tell them of your ‘blatant’ findings.

Mute Niamh Hayes
    Favourite Niamh Hayes
    Aug 20th 2020, 11:24 PM

@Donna Branigan: that will be in a couple of years .you want kids not learning for 2 years with gangs of teenagers rooming the streets with nothing to do but cause trouble.

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Aug 20th 2020, 11:37 PM

@Ths Fer: you seem to believe things you read but not actual facts. Schools in the states have shut because of covid outbreaks. That’s a fact. You reading an article saying transmission in children is low doesn’t change FACTS . Things that actually happen are FACTS. Opinion pieces are opinions.

Mute Ths Fer
    Favourite Ths Fer
    Aug 22nd 2020, 2:21 AM

@Sinead Foley: So, I went and found the article you mentioned. FYI, 1) the NHS says there’s no evidence of transmission in the schools. Instead they blame house parties and holiday abroad with no proper quarantine on return. 2) The figures per school are of 1 or 2 cases usually (out of a grand total of 18 across Scotland) with Bannerman standing out as the sole “cluster” with 8 cases.

Here’s the link to your article. https://www.scotsman.com/education/coronavirus-scottish-schools-primary-and-secondary-schools-scotland-where-there-are-confirmed-cases-covid-19-2945549

Mute Ths Fer
    Favourite Ths Fer
    Aug 22nd 2020, 2:23 AM

@Diarmuid Hehir: I guess we know which option you picked.

Mute Seamus Hughes
    Favourite Seamus Hughes

On average 90 odd people sadly pass away every day in ireland. Covid in that context is a non problem.
    Our hospitals have only 17 covid patients, it’s a non problem
    600,000 people waiting for hospital consultation – major problem
    Young people in particular denied a social outlet – major problem
    Many people in a constant state of fear with persistent scaremongering – major problem

It seems you can be miserable and die of anything as long as it’s not Covid

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 20th 2020, 6:58 PM

@Seamus Hughes: https://youtu.be/SwlkumcRf6w

We’re all being lied to

Mute Beer Belly 0476
    Favourite Beer Belly 0476

@Seamus Hughes: come on now Seamus have some common sense. Once this thing gets out of control again like it did a few months ago thousands will die. Got to plan long term

Mute Colonel Buckshot

@Seamus Hughes: Didn’t you know only covid deaths matter?

Mute Seamus Hughes
    Favourite Seamus Hughes

@Beer Belly 0476: Common sense is clearly not very common I’d prefer to rely on the data.
    We’re effectively out of lock down for 8 weeks and we’ve a mere 17 people is hospital with Covid and more importantly the death rate is almost zero.
    Testing is multiple times what it was back in the spring so it easy to find new cases, most of which have no symptoms which
    There’s clearly much bigger issues than Covid but hysteria blinds even the best of us

Mute Bartek Widurek
    Favourite Bartek Widurek
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:28 PM

@Seamus Hughes: Well said and totally agree with you.

Mute Bob Rock
    Favourite Bob Rock
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:06 PM

@Seamus Hughes: being over 65 with co risk factors (obesity, diabetes) with increased community transmission – major problem
    hospitals being overrun due to an absence of safety measures as in Italy, US – major problem

You can die of anything but Covid is extremely contagious and potentially lethal in the short term and who f**k knows in the long term. Your argument is gee eyed and selfish to all those who are at risk and their family members and friends.

Mute Bob Rock
    Favourite Bob Rock
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:09 PM

@Seamus Hughes: “Testing is multiple times what it was back in the spring so it easy to find new cases, most of which have no symptoms” can you explain how it is easy to find cases that have no symptoms absent of testing absolutely everyone? Think before you type!

Mute Kate Mchugh
    Favourite Kate Mchugh
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:58 PM

@Seamus Hughes: There is not that many in a state of fear, judging by footage of pubs and restaurants, and ones I see myself. Pubs with the loophole of getting food from the chipper up the road, so you can it with your 5 pints. No food hygiene there. We are quite aware that people die everyday, that is life. The problem is when people become complacent, and this kicks off again, then hospitals will not be able to cope. It’s just cop on, because hospitals have to look after you when you are at your worst. Qqqq

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Aug 20th 2020, 11:33 PM

@Jonny: it’s worse you are getting Jonny. When did you start wearing the tinfoil hat?

Mute Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Favourite Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Aug 20th 2020, 6:55 PM

Calm down it’s 136 not 1000 cases , it’s controlled and known, open the pubs up and the schools it’s time to stop the scaremonger

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: Well said

B
    Mute B
    Favourite B

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: good man somebody with some logic
    Scaremongering asswipes that’s all they are

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Bury
    Favourite Alan Bury

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: you’ve changed your tune!

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:07 PM

@B: You do acknowledge that for some people, “being scared” is a perfectly logical thing to be during a global pandemic, especially if you’re elderly or sick.

Mute Evan
    Favourite Evan

@B: he’ll be saying the exact opposite tommorow. Regardless of the number.

Mute Patrick Khan
    Favourite Patrick Khan

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: well said. The country has stopped over the last few months over something that wont really effect especially kill people under a certain age bracket. The world is a tough place. If it has to be dog eat dog or whatever we need to get on with things. To much time has been wasted with all this. If we all take precautions especially the old and vulnerable they will be fine , thats all we can do and move on. !!!

B
    Mute B
    Favourite B

@LangerDan: yes I totally agree with you
    But the government are doing terrible job with the miss information and freaking more people out constantly , I think that’s even worse , I work for a lot of elderly people and that’s The feedback I get from them

Mute Metaljester
    Favourite Metaljester
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:17 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: load of waabags

Mute Metaljester
    Favourite Metaljester
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:17 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: load of waahbags

Mute Metaljester
    Favourite Metaljester
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:18 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: load of hogwash

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: The coin flip must have came out heads (“open up it scaremongering “) today. Was tails (” wash hands stay at home) the last few days. I assume that’s how you choose the view of your postings anyway, nothing else makes sense!!

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:21 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: pubs and schools in the same sentence, only in Ireland

Mute denis daly
    Favourite denis daly
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:25 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: get a hobby

Mute Jerry Daly #gibo
    Favourite Jerry Daly #gibo
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:28 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: what is wrong with u pal. My parents with the virus feeling like shiiit and your saying to open pubs and schools?? How many people have to die and be sick to weirdo like you understand that pubs are the last thing to be open. Grow up

Mute Shimmy Shammy
    Favourite Shimmy Shammy
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:31 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: you change like the weather ffs

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:34 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: Schools are essential,pubs aren’t!

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:34 PM

@Patrick Khan: what about those under a certain age who are asthmatics, have COPD or some other respiratory or underlying condition? Are they all expendable? Survival of the fittest eh?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:37 PM

@Patrick Khan: So we can be sure you are not in the danger zone or are a complete narcissist or both. If we take precautions like what lock up anybody that might catch the virus, it is the younger population passing it on and the long term effects of it are not known either.

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:09 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: Well said!! Some people need to be tested for more than Covid they have lost their minds.

Mute Macca Attack
    Favourite Macca Attack
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:56 PM

@Lou: plenty of gemmas here tonight. Couple of brick short of a lorry load

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:00 PM

@Patrick Khan: Actually WE’RE ALL VUNERABLE because there’s no immunity,no vaccine and 1/4 of those who sadly died did NOT have underlying conditions!!!!
    People of all ages have been hospitalised.Also there has been many reports of people including sportspeople and previously very healthy who have had this coronavirus still experiencing certain complications!!!!

Mute Patrick Khan
    Favourite Patrick Khan
    Aug 20th 2020, 10:38 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: yes i agree we can all get it like we can get cancer or MS or any other horrible diseases. We didnt stop the world for these diseases. And we cant use the excuse of People passing the disease to others. The disease can kill a small minority of people and a specific age. These people are unfortunate and are unlucky but the rest of us have suffered enough and lost enough over all of this. Its time to move on now and open things up and get back to normal life. People can catch flus cold etc and die. We cant be afraid of every disease. I sympathise with people that have had loved ones pass away due to the virus but there is alot more peopel passing away from cancer and other sicknesses .

Mute Mary McDonagh Faherty
    Favourite Mary McDonagh Faherty
    Aug 20th 2020, 11:35 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: just wondering where you got the statistic that a 1/4 who died had no underlying condition?

Mute Seán O Ciara BA/ PDE
    Favourite Seán O Ciara BA/ PDE

Shocking. Not getting a grip on this at all. I think our previous government were capable of action much quicker. Don’t trust M Martin.

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w

@Seán O Ciara BA/ PDE: easier to shut down than open up. I doubt sound bite varadkar would be any better at this point

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir

@Seán O Ciara BA/ PDE: stop blaming the government, they didn’t tell people to ignore science. Start looking in the mirror.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:05 PM

@Seán O Ciara BA/ PDE: Our previous government presided over the nursing home debacle among many mistakes. The last one been hyping people up by speeding up the reopening, talking about returning to normal, when public health experts would have been saying different, and then run off. Now as part of this government they continually undermine decisions being made in the same manner as when they were in power. Not a fan of FF, but the real failures re the pandemic since this new government have been FG. After all they could lend the experience they had built up to help the new ministers, in the public interest, but instead are playing politics. They are the ones that coined “we’re all in this together”, after all. Now they don’t even send a rep to the briefings on the tough announcements.

Mute Beer Belly 0476

Opening the schools right now is like stopping a forest fire by planting trees

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:02 PM

@Beer Belly 0476: thanks. I wasnt sure was it American Tourists in Killarney, open pubs, house parties, foreign holidays or something new to be unnecessarily panicked over. Schools it is!

Everyone, back under the bed!

Mute Beer Belly 0476
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:13 PM

@Barry: there’s a difference between 4 people going abroad than 1000 students being cramped into a school with no social distancing

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:26 PM
    Mute Dav Nagle
    Favourite Dav Nagle

I don’t have children but if I was in government I wouldn’t be reopening schools. They might be ousted physically if kids start getting sick

Mute Colonel Buckshot

@Dav Nagle: What do you suggest? The schools could be closed for years if they wait for the virus to be eliminated.

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene

@Dav Nagle: have kids got sick in other countries who have opened their schools?

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

@Sam Greene: yes and they closed those schools. The sky didn’t fall in.

Mute Ths Fer
    Favourite Ths Fer

@Sam Greene: Answer is they haven’t.

Mute mar
    Favourite mar

@Dav Nagle: They won’t get sick though. There’s absolutely no reason not to open the schools.

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:07 PM

@Sam Greene: In Scotland there have been 16 cases in schools tho I’m open to correction on the numbers

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:39 PM

@Sam Greene: Yes

Mute Bee Bonthuys
    Favourite Bee Bonthuys
    Aug 20th 2020, 10:38 PM

@mar: uhm…yes they will. Children aren’t immune – this myth is still a thing – and schools don’t magically protect them from a highly contagious disease.

Mute Bee Bonthuys
    Favourite Bee Bonthuys
    Aug 20th 2020, 10:41 PM

@Sam Greene: Yes, just look up the states and other countries opened schools and closed some again.

Why do you think children are immune somehow? Schools are a virus buffet.

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley
    Aug 20th 2020, 11:08 PM

@Sinead Foley: www. Scotsman.com

Schools in Aberdeenshire, Glasgow, Lanarkshire, Perth and Kinross, Inverness and Renfrewshire have all confirmed coronavirus cases

By Finlay Greig

Mute Zack Henderson
    Favourite Zack Henderson

As a student I’m not comfortable going back the cases are too high

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:20 PM

@Zack Henderson: dont blame you

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene

We need to sanitize, wear masks, keep ur distance , protect our vulnerable and get on with our lives.

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke

@Sam Greene: couldn’t say it any better really

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke

The WHO today said lockdowns should and can be avoided in Europe in the fight against covid
    What do NPHET know that causes them to put themselves above the advice of WHO and the ECDC
    We cannot sustain a policy of fear indefinitely

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

@Luke: WHO said full lockdowns can be avoided. We’ve tightened up some measures but most of the economy has stayed open. Like all over europe

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke

@David Clements: NPHET called for a lockdown and the government resisted according to the Times

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@Luke: we’re being lied to

https://youtu.be/SwlkumcRf6w

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:14 PM

@Luke: NPHET know the limitations of our healthcare system.

Mute Jane Touhey
    Favourite Jane Touhey
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:35 PM

@Luke: Nephet is following WHO. Or at least as much as the politicians allow.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:52 PM

@Luke: What do you suggest we do Luke?

Mute longstrides
    Favourite longstrides
    Aug 20th 2020, 6:51 PM

If, as considered possible, extra school bus fleet will be procured from private operators for secondary student transportation, has the necessary documentation, route training, safety accreditation, garda background checks and contract negotiations even begun.

Mute Paul Rooney
    Favourite Paul Rooney
    Aug 20th 2020, 6:59 PM

@longstrides: If more buses go on the road the Green Party will walk out of government because of the increase in carbon emissions. They will want to wait for electric buses.

Mute longstrides
    Favourite longstrides

@Paul Rooney: freshest advice is to avoid public transport.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

@Paul Rooney: grow up

Mute Tina Kelly
    Favourite Tina Kelly

@longstrides: in some rural areas the same bus driver does a secondary run followed by a primary run in the same bus. Are they now proposing a second bus and bus driver for social distancing, and a thorough sanitisation of the bus between the runs? What time will our children be going to and coming home from school to accommodate this issue even?

Mute Enda Flaherty
    Favourite Enda Flaherty

Ramp up testing??? If only we had known that we might have more cases as the economy opened up….Must of been a nasty surprise.

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke

@Enda Flaherty: You know something’s up when people who aren’t even sick (asymptomatic cases) are being used to justify the restriction of your personal freedom
    The level of paranoia is scary

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner

Condolences to the bereaved family and friends of the deceased
    Rest in peace

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster

Full details of these outbreaks need to published when confirming these cases. 136 new cases, 2 admissions to hospital and none to ICU and so on and so on or whatever the figures.may be. Nphet and the gov are frightening the bejesus out of some people and people are getting fed up with all the.mixed messaging.
    The economy is crippled, people are afraid and fed up, we are never going to get rid of covid19 until we have a vaccine so we need to be planning full steam ahead on how we can try and live with it safely.

Mute dmcardle
    Favourite dmcardle

@Derek Lyster: https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/pages/hospitals-icu–testing 1 released from ICU, 4 released from hospital.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:24 PM

@dmcardle: thank you, i know this stuff is available and i have looked at it several times but the point i am trying to make is that all this information should be announced while informing us of the daily cases. Sometimes it feels like they’re trying to hide it in plain sight.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:31 PM

@Derek Lyster: 7 cases have been denotified, so the true figure is 129. I really don’t understand why we’re not given the number post denotifications as the worldometer website has them at the same time the journal is notified

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:36 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: because the figure is of confirmed cases within the last 24 hours. Nothing to do with denoting of old cases

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:30 PM

@NotMyIreland: both figures are released almost concurrently, yet the media make no mention of denotified cases. Exact words from worldometer
    129 new cases and 1 new death in Ireland. Validation of data at the HPSC has resulted in the denotification of 7 confirmed cases. The figure of 27676 cases reflects this

Mute Damien Mcconnell
    Favourite Damien Mcconnell

Close the churches 15 outside but 50 inside makes no sense at all

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland

@Damien Mcconnell: easier to pray at home than homeschool too! Get priorities right!

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly

Very hard decision for the government to make, everything seemed to be going to plan.. then Mehole took over and nobody has a clue what’s going on.. we start wearing masks and now its 100+ plus cases almost every day.. should coffee shops be open ? Most pubs aren’t.. little or no social distancing in most coffee shops ?!!

Mute Graham McNamara
    Favourite Graham McNamara

6 confirmed cases in hospital and 2 in ICU

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins

@Graham McNamara: RTE website says 16 confirmed in hospital and 6 in ICU.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:46 PM

Cases are rising all across Europe but here it is one persons fault. Opening up the lockdown was always going to be hit and miss. Exactly the same with putting the lockdown in place.
    They are working on a best guess scenario.
    get it badly wrong and a lot more people will be seriously ill and a lot of them will die.
    Other countries opened up to quick and then had to backtrack.
    So our lot have be extra careful and not rushed and thats why the serious ill and dying is lower than a lot of others.
    The spreading of the virus is due to people who will not follow the rules or do not understand how to wear a mask.
    Thats the most annoying thing, we would be much further along the road to opening up more if people just did what they have to do.
    Nobody wants to do them either but it is for the better of all.
    I would murder a pint but I can wait, I have to.

Mute Malachy
    Favourite Malachy

September is the normal reopening time for school. But this epidemic is far from normal. Better we adapt a more flexible approach for both schools and family

e
    Mute e
    Favourite e
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:34 PM

@Malachy: exactly I think the key here is flexibility for people. These are very stressful times for all and we need to help everyone do what they can when they can.

Mute dmcardle
    Favourite dmcardle

16 in hospital: https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/pages/hospitals-icu–testing These daily figures should really be called infections, not cases. 99+% of people currently infected are at home – not in hospital.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone

@dmcardle: exactly the lack of perspective on this is absolutely beyond ridiculous! I’m totally not triggered by these figures.

Mute Bob Rock
    Favourite Bob Rock
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:16 PM

@Joan Featherstone: well I’m sure everyone else is as relieved as I am that you’re not “triggered” by these numbers.

Mute sean bergin
    Favourite sean bergin

Good numbers today lovley increase from yesterday hopfully another lockdown on the way please god few days off work be nice

Mute Daniel Finucane
    Favourite Daniel Finucane

@sean bergin: good man Sean ,mummy wants her phone back now.

Mute Alan Bury
    Favourite Alan Bury

Poor Leo must be chained up somewhere. Release Leo, send the other fella back into the wilds of Cork.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

Brace yourself…. Here come the you know who..

Mute Beer Belly 0476

@Jonny: open the pubs

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish

@Beer Belly 0476: with all the cycling you’ve been doing during lockdown surely your beer belly is gone be now.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@Beer Belly 0476: yep open up society and get on with things as best we can or we’ll all end up dead as society will crumble

Mute Beer Belly 0476

@Ricky Spanish: that’s not how my metabolism works ricky

Mute Alan McArdle
    Favourite Alan McArdle

@Ricky Spanish: there’s booze in the water bottle. Proper order.

Mute Sharon Fitzgerald Dunne
    Favourite Sharon Fitzgerald Dunne
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:59 PM

The idea of opening schools back up was to get the economy back up and running and get parents back to work. If thats the case grandparents back to minding the kids. But these grandparents are being told to have the least amount of contact with others atm. And these are the most vulnerable people in our society. Doesn’t make sense at all!

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Aug 20th 2020, 10:02 PM

@Sharon Fitzgerald Dunne: People really should not be having Kids so their own parents can look after them…… In a situation like this the Kids parents are on their own, its not the governments fault if people rely on the kids grandparents for childminding.

Mute Wishywashy
    Favourite Wishywashy

Open the pu zzzzzzzz

Mute silentbob2012
    Favourite silentbob2012

@Wishywashy: “Classes rather than glassezzzzzzz”

Mute Ann Illing
    Favourite Ann Illing

WITH Covid.. Not FROM it…

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

Your government are lying to you

Mute dmcardle
    Favourite dmcardle

@Jonny: Spain’s answer to Piers Morgan there at the end in the top left, but, but, but, more shouting!

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@dmcardle: the Doctor made a complete fool of them both, if only we had medical experts like this who told the truth as it is instead of scaremongering

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:26 PM

@Jonny: The video is Dr in Spain asked if there been an increase in admissions to his hospital, following a sight increase in diagnosed cases beginning 5 days ago (Aug 15th). He says there hasn’t been any increase in admissions, this is as expected.

There is an average delay of 18.5 day between diagnosis and sadly some people dying, it is a lengthy illness. Often for the first week or two people have mild symptoms before some developing more severe symptoms that requires hospital admission.

Remember Boris Johnson, he had mild symptoms for nearly 2 weeks before he developed life-threatening symptoms and had to be admitted to ICU. This is typical.

So Spain is not out of the woods yet (and neither are we). They might yet see an up-tic in admissions and deaths in a few weeks time. However, we are getting better at treating people and there are drugs that increase people’s odds that we did not have last March-April.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2020/03/12/coronavirus-kills-average-185-days/

Mute dmcardle
    Favourite dmcardle
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:44 PM

@Jonny: I saw it yesterday – the anchors reactions were hilarious.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:00 PM

@David Jordan: I understand what your saying David, but the way he debunked what the TV presenters said, the woman had to get someone else on and he stood his ground

Mute Bob Rock
    Favourite Bob Rock
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:26 PM

@Jonny: the doctor questioned whether a vaccine is necessary? based on the assumption that if many people already contracted it they are immune forever…what the hell was he talking about, there is no way he could know that as the data isn’t there. And there are indications that this virus behaves in odd ways with our immune system. On this point he was talking rubbish.

Mute Bob Rock
    Favourite Bob Rock
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:40 PM

@Jonny: the doctor also claimed at the end that the media were not talking about the pandemic in the spring. When the other journalist came in and questioned him on this point and whether it was true he defended the claim by saying he was too busy in the hospital while the journalist was in the studio. Then as a further defence of this claim he asked the journalist if he signed any death certs… what has that got to do about his original claim that the media did not talk about the pandemic in the spring? He might be right about hospital numbers (right now) but in many ways he was full of the brown

Mute Frainc Ó Broin
    Favourite Frainc Ó Broin

Would be interesting to know where community transmission is happening.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin

7 cases have been denotified

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:14 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: this is becoming the biggest sh€tshow ever!!!

Mute Derek Anderson
    Favourite Derek Anderson

Rip to the person. But did they pass on because of covid19 or underlying issues?
    Because they had it doesn’t mean it was a covid19 death.
    Still they pumping out nonsense information.

Mute Sarah Clifford
    Favourite Sarah Clifford

@Derek Anderson: died with covid not of covid

Mute Ian Synnott
    Favourite Ian Synnott
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:21 PM

Lock down Dublin

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@Ian Synnott: troll alert..

Mute Ian Synnott
    Favourite Ian Synnott

@Jonny:

Mute Adrian O'Donnell
    Favourite Adrian O'Donnell
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:13 PM

Shut down Dublin!

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@Adrian O’Donnell: troll alert

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75

@Adrian O’Donnell: u must be a bogger

Mute Ian Synnott
    Favourite Ian Synnott
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:24 PM

@Adrian O’Donnell: saoirse chun cill dara

Mute Ian Synnott
    Favourite Ian Synnott
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:29 PM

@BriP75: you must be a yellow belly hiding behind your pseudonym.

You might need to look that up sunshine

Mute MrJohne
    Favourite MrJohne
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:00 PM

time to get orginised for the Winter… Guinness and pot noodles

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

Open da pubs…and gaa

Mute James Hayes
    Favourite James Hayes

Oh well it was nice while it lasted…

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean

Buzzing for that vaccine at this stage. If everyone downloaded dreamlab on their phones and ran it while their phone charged overnight, it’d speed up the process. Uses mobile phones clustered as a supercomputer for processing and simulating covid treatments.

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:17 PM

@Sean: hahaha, the same people that would to this are the same people that, a. Wouldn’t install the covid app, b. Think Luke O’Neill is on the take from GSK for a vaccine conspiracy and c. Tell us a and b with a smartphone in their hands.

Mute Ryan1time
    Favourite Ryan1time

Casedemic!

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke

@Ryan1time: *asymptomatic casedemic excuse you

Mute John John
    Favourite John John
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:38 PM

They just repeat themselves with the same old scaremongering scamdemic

Mute Declan Joseph Deasy
    Favourite Declan Joseph Deasy
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:48 PM

How close is Dublin to lockdown?

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 20th 2020, 7:57 PM

@Declan Joseph Deasy: never

Mute slade
    Favourite slade
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:21 PM

Winter is coming

Mute Tom Harpur Photography
    Favourite Tom Harpur Photography
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:56 PM

Politicians are immune from rules until caught out

Calleary apologises for attending golf society function https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0820/1160399-dara-calleary/

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

Pass this video on, they are lying through their teeth to the public

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard

Open up the midlands 3 so they stay in there own counties as they will just leave anyways for a restaurant and drink in another county

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75

@Gerrard: just make Offley go away no one will notice

Mute Jimmy Murray
    Favourite Jimmy Murray
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:20 PM

If this continues the schools won’t reopen. They will being the virus and cases will rocket out of control

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:05 PM

Brilliant just brilliant, the journal or any other media source, ever report on anything in opposition to government decisions, but today they do? Then it turns out it’s a teacher saying its criminal to reopen schools. So guess they won’t reopen and MM can say it’s what the people wanted. And most on here buying into it, the government controlled media can be so psychologically manipulative.

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75

Bleach kills the virus
    And I fancy a pint

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Aug 20th 2020, 10:04 PM

@BriP75: That pint kills your liver, but enjoy it!

Mute Lorraine Mac Rory
    Favourite Lorraine Mac Rory
    Aug 20th 2020, 11:59 PM

seriously need to speed up the testing and return time for results. my son is returning to creche next week. he had a bad cough last week so I decided to be responsible and ring gp for a test. GP referred him. We’re still waiting. What are people supposed to do? stay out of work for weeks waiting for a test result for themselves or their child? losing pay, their employer losing money and most likely for a negative result. b

Mute Chukkas Blowsier
    Favourite Chukkas Blowsier
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:22 PM

Full stop

Mute Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Favourite Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Aug 20th 2020, 9:01 PM

Yer man Philip Nolan looks like he’s going to cry every time he talks

Mute Aonghus O Flaherty
    Favourite Aonghus O Flaherty
    Aug 21st 2020, 12:15 AM

Yawn

Mute Karl Mullins
    Favourite Karl Mullins
    Aug 20th 2020, 8:06 PM

Too much misinformation from the government.
    Father in law got it, survived but came out on oxygen for the rest of his life,.
    This virus destroys your lungs.
    Do whatever it takes to suppress this further.
    I don’t understand why there has been no mandatory testing in the workplace.
    This hash mash government seems to have lost its way. Too much confusion.
    If there was mandatory testing 8 weeks ago we may not have been in this position.