You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

John Connors in Cardboard Gangsters WildCard Distribution/YouTube

Poll: Have you watched an Irish-produced film in the last year?

Gabriel Byrne has said people making films cheaply here doesn’t actually constitute an industry.

IRISH FILM AND television was celebrated at the Ifta awards last night.

There have been a number of recent notable films that were made by Irish people or starred Irish actors.

Saoirse Ronan, who took home the award for Actress in a Leading Role at the Iftas, is in the running for an Oscar next month for her role in Lady Bird (which was made in the US).

Meanwhile, John Connors took home the top actor gong at the Iftas for Cardboard Gangsters – the biggest Irish-made box-office success of 2017.

However, speaking to TheJournal.ie, actor Gabriel Byrne said people making films cheaply here doesn’t actually constitute an industry, and more investment is needed.

We want to know: Have you watched an Irish-produced film in the last year?

Poll Results:

Yes (5882)
No (2013)
 I'm not sure (1024)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

89 Comments
    Mute Shannon Mcg
    Favourite Shannon Mcg
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:40 AM

No, because they are generally all the same – depressive, about some form of feud or crime, and contains a lot of shouting and swearing. Not my cup of tea.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:58 AM

@Shannon Mcg:
    ya, The Young Offenders is very depressive……………

Mute Shannon Mcg
    Favourite Shannon Mcg
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:00 AM

@Stephen Coveney: the young offenders falls into my 2nd category – about a feud or a crime.

Mute Johnny Bellew
    Favourite Johnny Bellew
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:05 AM

@Shannon Mcg: I tend to agree, they all fall into the same genre. Nothing original.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:19 AM

@Shannon Mcg: can you name some movies that aren’t like that?

Mute Shannon Mcg
    Favourite Shannon Mcg
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:58 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: Cool Runnings, Amelie, Napoleon Dynamite, Little Miss Sunshine, Grand Budapest Hotel, most musicals, Night at The Roxbury, Blades of Glory, Uncle Buck, Planes Trains and Automobiles, every Studio Ghibli film, The Theory of Everything, The Little Hours, almost every Pixar movie… shall I continue?

Mute George Oscar Bluth
    Favourite George Oscar Bluth
    Feb 16th 2018, 12:06 PM

@Shannon Mcg: Cool Runnings, Planes trains and Automobiles, Uncle Buck….so you like John Candy, musicals and cartoons? The young offenders is hardly a serious crime film…teenage bike thieves cycle to the beach to try and find cocaine washed up on the shore….it’s not exactly the departed or scarface.

Mute Eugene Tyson
    Favourite Eugene Tyson
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:17 PM

@George Oscar Bluth: What about Brooklyn…Sing Street…Handsome Devil…The Lobster…Kissing Candice… Maudie…Drummer and Keeper…Songs of Granite… to name a few…

Mute Daithi De Roiste
    Favourite Daithi De Roiste
    Feb 16th 2018, 3:41 PM

@Shannon Mcg: your dead right. But Irish and Brits love a drama. Sure somebody always dies for xmas or new years in the soaps.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 16th 2018, 4:10 PM

@Shannon Mcg: yeah you know the bit in Intermission where Colin Farrell reaches in and punches the shop assistant in the face. I thought that was a bit sick and not humorous at all but it seems it was included for its comic effect.

Mute Chris McNamara
    Favourite Chris McNamara
    Feb 16th 2018, 4:52 PM

@Shannonmc : Imagine to love Drama and suspense and to be intrigued by darmatisation of the criminal underworld . whats wrong with people. I can tell you im waiting for “song of praise” the movie. There will be prayers , songs …….. maybe some gang stuff …. the “old testaments ultras” against the Newbie testaments in turf war over jesus pushing !

Mute Patrick Kearns
    Favourite Patrick Kearns
    Feb 16th 2018, 8:16 PM

@Shannon Mcg: Jayzus Shannon, you’ve just described the Journal’s comments section perfectly!

Mute David Craven
    Favourite David Craven
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:58 AM

Young offenders, best Irish movie in a long time. We should be making more like this. Absolutely hilarious.

Mute j4VEpUO8
    Favourite j4VEpUO8
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:43 AM

@David Craven: PJ’s ronnie is a hoot

Mute Minom Pnnomm
    Favourite Minom Pnnomm
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:16 AM

@j4VEpUO8: it’s not a movie

Mute David Craven
    Favourite David Craven
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:36 AM

@Minom Pnnomm: its a movie and a series

Mute Grumpyoldtroll
    Favourite Grumpyoldtroll
    Feb 16th 2018, 12:09 PM

@Minom Pnnomm: it is a movie

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Feb 16th 2018, 5:47 PM

@David Craven: loved young offenders!

Mute David Craven
    Favourite David Craven
    Feb 16th 2018, 7:47 PM

@Veronica: it was quality

Mute Mick12
    Favourite Mick12
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:39 AM

Yes I watched “Cardboard Gangster’s” a few weeks ago, funny, serious and horrifying at the same time

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:05 AM

@Mick12: I nearly needed sub-titles :-)

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:42 AM

@Mick12:

that was a tough watch. Knot in my stomach with tension almost the entire movie

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:05 AM

@Mick12: seriously? That film was pure muck with appalling acting.

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Feb 16th 2018, 1:19 PM

@Mick12: ’tis a very serious story, and likely one that plays out in some places around the country over and over.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Feb 16th 2018, 1:44 PM

@Mick12: it was absolute shíte….
    Young offenders is so much better.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:09 PM

@Mick12: agree. Thought it was a very good film

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:10 PM

@Paul Fahey: absolutely disagree with you

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:11 PM

@John Doe: it’s much better. Young Offenders is way overrated

Mute Tony Dowling
    Favourite Tony Dowling
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:46 AM

Spin The Bottle
    Adam And Paul
    Intermission

I just watch those three over and over

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:04 AM

@Tony Dowling: Try “Man about Dog” – great laugh.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812

@Tony Dowling:

Intermission has one of the best opening sequences I’ve seen. Not just in an Irish movie.

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:47 AM

@OU812: Adam and Paul is a brilliant movies, making the audience wish and hope they boys get their fix.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:48 AM

Well done John Connors on his success last night.

Mute darrell fahy
    Favourite darrell fahy
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:51 AM

@Mr Phil Officer: should rename it the bosscars

Mute Minom Pnnomm
    Favourite Minom Pnnomm
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:03 AM

@darrell fahy: did he have a chip on each shoulder to balance himself out?

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Feb 16th 2018, 1:04 PM

@Mr Phil Officer: it would be interesting to see him play a different type of role to see how he gets on ..

Mute Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:38 PM

@Mr Phil Officer: same character every time. Hardly constitutes talent. Yet he doesn’t like how travellers are portrayed.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:57 AM

No but I’ve been watching Vikings on telly, produced here by a production company owned by Morgan O Sullivan

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Favourite Ciarán FitzGerald
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:17 AM

Cardboard Gangsters is superb.
    I met one of the camera men at the Meath – Donegal match last year. He told me that I had to go see it as it was superb and Connors gives a masterclass performance. He told me about the scene in the bedroom – apparently it was totally unscripted – one take – the director just told Connors the mood he wanted and he let him rip. It is an incredibly moving and alarming scene. The emotional roller coaster is unbelievable. Hard hitting. Raw. Real.

I cannot praise this film enough, I couldn’t sleep after watching it, it is incredible.

Mute Mean Gene Okerlund
    Favourite Mean Gene Okerlund
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:21 AM

@Ciarán FitzGerald: behave yourself it was absolute MUCK and the fawning over Connors playing yet another barely coherent thug is extremely patronising

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:32 AM

@Mean Gene Okerlund: The bedroom scene where he has just come home to his mammy’s house after an unforgivable sin is a world class piece of unscripted acting. He burns a cigarette out on himself and puts his head through a dry wall. He cries uncontrollably. You cannot fake that. Show me an Irish actor right now who can do that scene in such a believable way?

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:32 AM

@Mean Gene Okerlund: Why all the hate ?
    He’s one of our own.

Mute Mean Gene Okerlund
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:42 AM

@Ciarán FitzGerald: ‘he burns himself with a cigarette, puts his head through a wall and cries’…….If that’s your barometer for good acting then the jackass lads all deserve oscars. It was pure MUCK

Mute Mean Gene Okerlund
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:44 AM

@Mean Gene Okerlund: so because he’s ‘one of our own’ (recently given ethnic status makes that debatable) I’m supposed to just blindly like it?

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:59 AM

@Ciarán FitzGerald: it was so predictable , typical Irish tripe…

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:12 PM

@Mean Gene Okerlund: get off the bandwagon. It is a superb film

Mute Paul O Connor
    Favourite Paul O Connor
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:33 PM

@Mean Gene Okerlund:
    It’s a bit hard to take comments about bad acting from someone with that name in fairness Mean Gene.

Mute John Weldon
    Favourite John Weldon
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:34 PM

@Ciarán FitzGerald: Its absolute garbage. Like something a Transotion Year kid would make after watching Scarface and reading too much Paul Williams.

Mute Mean Gene Okerlund
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:58 PM

@Paul O Connor: that doesn’t make a lick of sense master O’Connor

Mute Mean Gene Okerlund
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:58 PM

@Michael Farrelly: don’t be mad at me you like pure shite

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:50 AM

Hey, don’t no how many times I watch the snapper, there just something about that film that’s so enjoyable, also paths to freedom I no it’s not a film but it’s up there with the best

Mute Ann Experiment
    Favourite Ann Experiment
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:38 AM

Em, there is nothing listed on the options?!

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:51 AM

I think movie reviewers and other writers in the newspapers could give Irish-made films more encouragement. Our film industry is chronically underfunded. Indy producers rely on British and continental sources for supplementary funding. Their films are difficult to get into the cinema complexes and producers often try the film club circuit instead. The Irish film industry is most unsatisfactory.

Mute Charlie Melia
    Favourite Charlie Melia

@Garreth Byrne: its underfunded because its crap

Mute Link
    Favourite Link
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:52 AM

@Charlie Melia: or is it crap because it’s underfunded?

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:45 AM

@Charlie Melia: Hollywood and New York crap is over-funded – and clogs cinema complexes all over Europe.

Mute Conchuir O Maolchallann
    Favourite Conchuir O Maolchallann
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:04 PM

@Garreth Byrne: I recently looked at the Irishtimes review list, unbelievable some the film’s they gave bad and good reviews to. I agree the reviewer are out of touch.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Feb 16th 2018, 4:11 PM

@Conchuir O Maolchallann: I don’t expect Irish journalists to praise every Irish-produced film. I do expect them to give prime space to analysing every new release, possibly comparing and contrasting them with other movies of a similar genre. New Irish novels generally get prime billing in the newspaper review sections, along with reviews of foreign novels. There are B novels as well as B movies. Honest criticism and continuous publicity can help the struggling Irish film industry.

Mute Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:34 PM

John Connors is always whining about how travellers are being portrayed yet he portrays them as criminals. I guess when you’re making a few bob you can leave your beliefs at the door.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:02 AM

Despite the pressures Irish film stands up well internationally I think. Young Offenders, Viva, Maudie, Cardboard Gangsters etc all current and good movies. When we get people like Lenny Abrahamson and Mark O’Halloran working together on projects the results include classics like Adam & Paul.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Feb 16th 2018, 12:22 PM

Seige of Jadotville & Young Offenders – both class!

Mute Gearoid De Burca
    Favourite Gearoid De Burca
    Feb 16th 2018, 12:26 PM

You should have to prove you shower regularly before you are in running for any award

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 16th 2018, 1:02 PM

@Gearoid De Burca: you should try that with your big mouth!

Mute Gearoid De Burca
    Feb 16th 2018, 3:13 PM

@Colette Kearns: Sorry Collette I didn’t realise regular showering offended you. U musht b wan a ugh missus?

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 16th 2018, 3:46 PM

@Gearoid De Burca: better than been a racist!

Mute Gearoid De Burca
    Feb 16th 2018, 4:01 PM

@Colette Kearns: not in this case. There is nothing worse.

Mute Mary Maher
    Favourite Mary Maher
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:31 AM

I watched the brilliant film ‘The Farthest’. Delighted to see it won an IFTA for the best documentary.

Mute hugh sure
    Favourite hugh sure
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:16 AM

Perrier’s bounty very good film

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:53 AM

Run of the Country, Adam and Paul, Between the Canals, The Snapper, The king of the Travellers all good Irish Movies

Mute Fon Ellard
    Favourite Fon Ellard
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:03 PM

At the cinema, No, I don’t think so. The last one I saw at the cinema was probably The Young Offenders. On TV, I can’t resist watching The Snapper anytime it’s on and over Christmas saw My Left Foot again.

Mute Grumpyoldtroll
    Favourite Grumpyoldtroll
    Feb 16th 2018, 12:09 PM

Young Offenders, Sing Street, Handsome Devil all excellent. Industry in not too bad a state I’d say.

Mute Tomas Lyne
    Favourite Tomas Lyne
    Feb 16th 2018, 1:02 PM

Fatal Deviation. Check it out on YouTube

Mute Jimmy Bennett
    Favourite Jimmy Bennett
    Feb 16th 2018, 1:49 PM

@Tomas Lyne: God damn right! Best film ever made!

Mute Conchuir O Maolchallann
    Favourite Conchuir O Maolchallann
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:00 PM

Song of the Sea!

a truly beautiful movie.

Mute Osean Drive
    Favourite Osean Drive
    Feb 16th 2018, 8:40 PM

Stunning. delighted someone else mentioned it

Mute nafoits
    Favourite nafoits
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:56 AM

Can’t believe no one mentioned Bad Dad for the Cut. Great flick.

Mute Minom Pnnomm
    Favourite Minom Pnnomm
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:18 AM

@nafoits: the what?

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Feb 16th 2018, 5:39 PM

@nafoits: Can’t believe nobody mentioned “Garage”, pat shortt in the main role. Little gem of a movie.

Mute Al O'Saurus
    Favourite Al O'Saurus
    Feb 16th 2018, 1:46 PM

As another commenter alluded to, the problem with Irish cinema is that it’s so morbid.

We do produce great films in this country. It would be nice to have more films that didn’t feature gangland feuds, drugs, clerical sex abuse, family breakdown etc.

Mute 245hkJ01
    Favourite 245hkJ01
    Feb 16th 2018, 2:43 PM

I haven’t watched any film in the past year – apparently so much a minority that it isn’t even an option. #bread and circuses

Mute PDiddy
    Favourite PDiddy
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:49 AM

Gabriel Byrne is way too far up his own arse

Mute Minom Pnnomm
    Favourite Minom Pnnomm
    Feb 16th 2018, 11:22 AM

@PDiddy: the ex late late show guy yeah would agree. The actor guy talks sense sometimes

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Feb 16th 2018, 1:07 PM

@PDiddy: i don’t know about you, but Gabriel Byrne (the actor) has achieved a lot more than i have or ever will.

Mute Osean Drive
    Favourite Osean Drive
    Feb 16th 2018, 8:34 PM

@PDiddy: a sound man ,willing to call out Ireland’s binge drinking culture and came out pro choice this week. Fine actor too. Bonio could take a leaf out of Byrnes book,the gimp!

Mute name cannot be blank
    Favourite name cannot be blank
    Feb 16th 2018, 6:13 PM

I watched 15 mins of cardboard gangsters, does that count?

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Feb 16th 2018, 8:38 PM

The only one i can think of is The Guard

Mute Amanda Baker
    Favourite Amanda Baker
    Feb 16th 2018, 9:22 PM

Watched cardboard gangsters on Netflix recently and thought john Connors gave a really decent performance. Can’t recall any other Irish film of late worth watching. As for Irish TV programmes no not worth watching. Haven’t seen anything decent since love/hate .

Mute Anthony newey
    Favourite Anthony newey
    Feb 16th 2018, 10:14 PM

Anything with Brendan Gleeson- In Bruges ,The Guard etc

Mute Osean Drive
    Favourite Osean Drive
    Feb 16th 2018, 8:33 PM

I wanna see Handsome Devil so i can live out my unlived rugby crush dream .
    ☺☺