You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ukrainian armed forces said they are handling the repatriation process. Mason family

Family 'deeply saddened' as Irishman Rory Mason, 23, killed while fighting for Ukraine

Rory Mason died while fighting in the International Legion for the Defence of Ukraine.

LAST UPDATE | 5 Oct 2022

AN IRISHMAN has been killed while fighting in Ukraine, his family has confirmed.

Rory Mason, 23, died as a Ukrainian armed forces serviceman while fighting in the International Legion for the Defence of Ukraine near the Russian border.

The Mason family learnt of Rory’s death from the Department of Foreign Affairs, which is providing consular assistance.

His father Rob said: “Rory was a private young man of drive, purpose and conviction.

“Though we are deeply saddened at his death, we are enormously proud of his courage and determination and his selflessness in immediately enlisting to support Ukraine.

Rory was never political but he had a deep sense of right and wrong and an inability to turn the other way in the face of injustice.

“He had a long-standing interest in eastern Europe, in travel and in learning new languages, including Russian. Those who fought alongside Rory speak of ‘a truly brave and courageous man who could have left at any time but chose not to’.

“Rory was our son and we will miss him enormously. As our family is still trying to come to terms with Rory’s death, we would appeal for privacy at this difficult time”.

The Department of Foreign Affairs issued a statement following the Irishman’s death in Ukraine.

“The Department of Foreign Affairs is aware of a case and is providing consular assistance,” a spokesman said.

“As with all consular cases, the department does not comment on the details of any individual case.”

Speaking to reporters this afternoon, Foreign Affairs Minister Simon Coveney expressed his “condolences sympathies” to the family. 

“I spoke to Rory’s father this morning. The family have asked for privacy and I hope people will respect that,” Coveney said.

“This is a tragic loss of a son, an extraordinarily brave and principled young man, but nevertheless, this is a tragic death,” he said. 

St Peter’s College in Dunboyne, of which Rory Mason was a past pupil, issued a statement today offering its condolences. 

“St Peter’s College is shocked to hear the news of the untimely death of Rory Mason who we understand was fighting for the International Legion For The Defence Of Ukraine,” the school said. 

“The entire St Peter’s College community, students, past pupils, teachers and the board of management offer their condolences and deepest sympathies to Rory’s family at this very difficult time.” 

Foreign fighters

The International Legion For The Defence Of Ukraine said Rory Mason’s memory will live on.

“Our brother in arms, Rory Mason has taken part in the Kharkiv counteroffensive with his unit and was killed in action,” a spokesman said in a statement.

“While conducting operations, the unit came under attack.

We are in contact with the family and in co-ordination with them, following their wishes and instructions, the International Legion and the armed forces of Ukraine are handling the repatriation process.

“At this time, to protect operational security and the family’s privacy we cannot release more information Rory’s memory will live on in his unit, in the legion and the armed forces of Ukraine.”

“We would ask for the family’s privacy to be respected at this difficult time.”

A number of Irish citizens have travelled to Ukraine to take part in the fighting in the Foreign Legion. 

Numbers vary but sources have said it could be in the region of 20 or so fighters – most of whom have military experience. 

There are also a number of Irish citizens, mostly former members of the Irish Defence Forces, engaged in private security work in the area. 

Pierre Zakrzewski, a Dublin native and cameraman for Fox News, was killed while covering fighting in Ukraine in April.

Another Irishman – former Defence Forces member Brian Meagher – was injured fighting with the Ukrainian forces last month.  

Includes reporting by Press Association, Rónan Duffy, Niall O’Connor and Hayley Halpin

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

108 Comments
    Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:34 AM

Takes some courage to risk and subsequently lay down one’s life for the greater good. RIP chap.

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:36 AM

May he Rest in Peace. A very brave young man who clearly put the side of righteousness before his own safety. We all should be proud of Rory’s selflessness and his fight against wrong doing. Condolences to his family and friends.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:58 PM

@JG: “We all should be proud of Rory’s selflessness ” Yes… we should encourage our children to do the same….

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:40 AM

A real Irish hero and should be remembered as one. Standing up for the freedom of others in the face of true evil.

Mute Gary Power
    Favourite Gary Power
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:31 AM

Rip

Mute Charles Mander
    Favourite Charles Mander

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam

Mute Allora
    Favourite Allora
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:35 AM

A person of deep integrity clearly. RIP. Slava Ukraine.

Mute Seamus Mc Hugh
    Favourite Seamus Mc Hugh
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:14 AM

Courage is a thing we all like to think we have but this young man picked up a weapon to defend strangers who could not defend themselves. A rare breed and a credit to his family.

Mute Claire King
    Favourite Claire King
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:33 AM

I’m so sorry to hear this. R.I.P to this young man.

Mute Brendan Odonnell
    Favourite Brendan Odonnell
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:42 AM

A brave young man who believed in right from wrong and was willing to pay the ultimate price. May he rest in peace..

Mute Ronan O'Keeffe
    Favourite Ronan O'Keeffe
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:32 AM

Rest in peace.

Mute Richard Ryan
    Favourite Richard Ryan
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:38 AM

Rest in Peace brave hero

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Favourite Jacqui Curtis-owens

Brave soldier…R.I.P

Mute Laura Grimes
    Favourite Laura Grimes
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:02 AM

Rest in peace Rory, your family are justifiably very proud of you. May your sacrifice not be in vain

Mute Muriel Ryan
    Favourite Muriel Ryan
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:42 AM

R.I.P young man, Condolences to your parents family and friends

Mute Phil Quinn
    Favourite Phil Quinn
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:51 AM

Hero

Mute Jimmy Pea
    Favourite Jimmy Pea
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:32 AM

Sad, R.I.P

Mute Ashling Kehoe
    Favourite Ashling Kehoe
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:41 AM

Rip :(

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:31 AM

A courageous man. More brave than I could ever be. May he RIP.

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:24 AM

R. I. P. and deepest condolences to his family. So young and so brave.

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:48 AM

Brave young man RIP

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:04 AM

Rest In Peace young man

Mute Mick Thornton
    Favourite Mick Thornton
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:35 AM

Condolence to all his family,
    What a brave man he was,
    May he rest in peace.

Mute Luke Ronan
    Favourite Luke Ronan
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:29 AM

A real hero RiP
    Condolences to the family

Mute Seamus O'Corcorain
    Favourite Seamus O'Corcorain
    Oct 5th 2022, 10:00 AM

Glory to Ukraine.
    Glory to the Heroes.
    May he rest in peace.

Mute Kevin Mac Eoin
    Favourite Kevin Mac Eoin
    Oct 5th 2022, 11:13 AM

“And from the plains of Royal Meath, strong men came hurrying through…for slavery fled, Oh our glorious dead, when they fell in the Foggy Dew”

Mute Thomas Claffey
    Favourite Thomas Claffey
    Oct 5th 2022, 10:21 AM

My deepest sympathy to the family on the loss of you boy.

Mute TheKloppKop
    Favourite TheKloppKop
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:07 AM

RIP Young Man.

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Favourite Michael O'Neill
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:51 AM

R. I. P.

Mute Alan Foy
    Favourite Alan Foy
    Oct 5th 2022, 11:10 AM

More brave than I could ever be, rest easy Rory.

Mute Epgenetics29 Declan Christy
    Favourite Epgenetics29 Declan Christy
    Oct 5th 2022, 11:23 AM

A selfless act and a hero to so many, consoling to his family and friends. Hopefully Ukraine and Ireland can honour their heroes when all this madness is over.

Mute A$AP Ragnick
    Favourite A$AP Ragnick
    Oct 5th 2022, 11:06 AM

RIP. Showed great bravery to fight the way he did.

Mute ProtectKyiv
    Favourite ProtectKyiv
    Oct 5th 2022, 12:11 PM

Deepest condolences to his family. He brings hope, humanity and integrity to this world. Please set up a Gofundme page so we can assist with his repatriation. R.I.P. Hero

Mute Steveopines✌️☮️
    Favourite Steveopines✌️☮️
    Oct 5th 2022, 1:44 PM

Such a waste. The likes of Tom Clonan and the propaganda style media are to blame for radicalising impressionable people like Rory. His blood is on their hands.

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 5th 2022, 2:25 PM

@Steveopines✌️☮️: “impressionable people line Rory”. Is that an assumption or did you actually know the young man?

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 5th 2022, 2:26 PM

@OConnelj: *like

Mute Davey Ohanlon
    Favourite Davey Ohanlon
    Oct 5th 2022, 5:04 PM

@Steveopines✌️☮️:
    Radicalised?

Think before you type.

Mute Steveopines✌️☮️
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:38 PM

@Davey Ohanlon: You seem angry. Did it take you long to think about how to put me in my place? You understand that not everyone has the same opinion, that’s what makes the world a wonderful place. When you meet someone with a different opinion maybe have some respect?

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:50 PM

@Steveopines✌️☮️: so what is the answer to my question?

Mute Donnie Brasco
    Favourite Donnie Brasco
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:26 PM

@Steveopines✌️☮️:

You’re free to have an opinion, but nobody has the obligation to respect you or your opinion.

If you’re so keen for peace, you can head off to Moscow yourself and try protesting there. Otherwise, you should stay quiet and show some respect to a brave man who gave his life defending Ukraine from a genocide.

Mute Steveopines✌️☮️
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:14 PM

@Donnie Brasco: Yes I am for peace. We’ve limited time on this planet and limited resources. Instead we’re blowing up the place. You are clearly not for peace then why don’t you go off fight the Russian boogeyman or are you a Fugazi

Mute Jonathan McCoy
    Favourite Jonathan McCoy
    Oct 5th 2022, 11:49 AM

Rest in peace young man, and well done for courageously standing up for what’s right. Legend.

Mute Ciaran McQuaid
    Favourite Ciaran McQuaid
    Oct 5th 2022, 5:03 PM

Threw his life away for something that had nothing to do with him.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Oct 5th 2022, 5:47 PM

@Ciaran McQuaid: if our grandparents generation had taken that attitude, we’d all be speaking German now assuming of course they deemed us fit to continue living.

Mute Celtic Eagle
    Favourite Celtic Eagle
    Oct 5th 2022, 5:55 PM

@Paul Shepherd: Irish people were neutral during WW2. English people faught the Germans.

Mute Steveopines✌️☮️
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:40 PM

@Paul Shepherd: just to point out that the Russians were to be thanked for that, since they sacrificed 8. 6 million soldiers and possibly the same number of civilians to defeat the German army

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:41 PM

@Paul Shepherd: Neutrality saved us from being bombed in WW2. Lesson that is forgotten. I miss a neutral Ireland. Martin and Varadkar had no right to declare that we were not neutral. Disaster for this country long term. Some seem to support it and want to join NATO. 10 Billion a year on weapons and the army? It cost 47m to give free schoolbooks to all primary school children. We have a hospital and housing crises. A billion a year to support a war against Russia…? A bit of cop on please.

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:17 PM

@Steveopines✌️☮️: and they are running scared now.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 6th 2022, 12:48 AM

@Celtic Eagle: actually thousands of irish fought in both world wars in the British army

Mute Aunties
    Favourite Aunties
    Oct 5th 2022, 10:22 AM

Another great Irishman killed in action fighting imperial pigs . RIP

Mute Eugene Kelly
    Favourite Eugene Kelly
    Oct 5th 2022, 2:17 PM

Very sad but where was he going??

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:36 PM

@Eugene Kelly: To Ukraine, to kill young poverty stricken young men that needed a job and joined the army.

Mute Tomás Barrett
    Favourite Tomás Barrett
    Oct 5th 2022, 11:27 PM

@Jim Smith: who were murdering, looting and destroying their neighbour, who had done nothing to them.

Mute Desmond Wisley
    Favourite Desmond Wisley
    Oct 5th 2022, 1:07 PM

Rest in Peace Rory

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Oct 5th 2022, 11:46 AM

R.I.P.

Mute LIAMO B
    Favourite LIAMO B
    Oct 5th 2022, 1:58 PM

What a Man of courage and conviction. R.I.P Rory condolences to his family and friends

Mute Pranab Vasudeva
    Favourite Pranab Vasudeva
    Oct 5th 2022, 12:55 PM

Sad. He loss life….

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:16 PM

Tragic loss of a young man and I sympathise with his family, but why was an untrained 23 year old fighting on any front line, crazy, combat is for trained soldiers I’m sorry but he had no business on the front

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:25 PM

@Mark Dawson: untrained? Tell me more Mark about Rory’s experience and training as you obviously are in the know.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:32 PM

@OConnelj: irish times article I read that he had no training

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:34 PM

@Mark Dawson: and his experience?

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:34 PM

@Mark Dawson: link that

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:36 PM
    Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:40 PM

@Mark Dawson: “The three met at a training camp in Poland after signing up for the international legion, said the photographer, who added that they reportedly underwent six weeks of training before going to Ukraine.”
    You obviously didn’t read the article. 6 weeks is ample time to train. I’ve done the training.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:42 PM

@OConnelj: 6 weeks of training, seriously, basic training is 6 months not 6 weeks that is not training by far

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:45 PM

@OConnelj: you can’t learn section and platoon tactics, the numerous drills you need in contact , proper weapons experience care and handling etc, field craft training etc etc in 6 weeks end of

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:46 PM

@Mark Dawson: i would argue that someone motivated and intelligent enough could get ample training in a couple of weeks.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:53 PM

@OConnelj: we will have to agree to disagree on this , I don’t believe that 6 weeks is near enough for front line combat

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:57 PM

@Mark Dawson: I believe it is, especially if said soldier is a volunteer. I would rather a motivated soldier with purpose over, lets say, a Russian conscript who would rather be anywhere else.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:09 PM

@OConnelj: I do agree with you there , but 6 weeks motivated or not, every man has to know everyone job in a section including the section commanders job , there is alot of skills and drills to learn and 6 weeks can only be touching on everything and experience through consistent training is required .my opinion not disputing yours your entitled to it too

Mute Sue O'Neill
    Favourite Sue O'Neill
    Oct 5th 2022, 4:38 PM

What a brave youngster, RIP young man, thoughts with his family and friends

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:54 PM

@Sue O’Neill: Would we encourage other young people to follow this behavior? ‘Be brave son’!

Mute Darren Murphy
    Favourite Darren Murphy
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:17 PM

All this sadness for someone who through the media influence lost his life in a senseless war. Fodder for a futile war, and people here want to send more sons to die needlessly, if you feel we as a country need to do this then please make sure that it’s your children first to sign up, because it’ll be a very cold day in hell before any child of mine would die for someone else’s ideaology.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 6th 2022, 12:44 AM

@Darren Murphy: absolutely, if he or others want to help they can help with logistics or casualties from the rear away from the dangers of the front line, Ukraine should not be allowing untrained young foreign people to be given 6 weeks of training and then sent to the front In my opinion your only endangering experienced professional soldiers and the individual when surely they can be utilised in a non combatant role

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 6th 2022, 10:52 AM

@Mark Dawson: and there you go with the “untrained” again after you posted a link from the Times that stated that they were trained. Jesus man have some respect.

Mute Johnny Mckee
    Favourite Johnny Mckee
    Oct 5th 2022, 6:56 PM

And you honestly think by what you have posted above merits a state funeral. ?

I can remember when others from the South of this island went to help those in the North being called different names and were not nominated for a state funeral.

But I suppose every one looks at what is happening in different ways. Good luck with the state funeral.

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Favourite Sebastian Manka
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:04 PM

@Johnny Mckee: Or maybe you should argue why not. You just don’t have to attend one if his family and Irish government agree that it’s the right thing to do.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:44 PM

@Johnny Mckee: Members of the IRA that bombed pubs of people having a pint don’t deserve a state funeral. People that go off to Ukraine to kill soldiers in Donbas don’t deserve one either. We are already spending over a billion a year to fight Russia. Leave me out this ‘whip around’.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:57 PM

@Sebastian Manka You don’t declare as an individual that a State funeral is warranted and then we need to argue why not. That’s insane.

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:04 PM

@Jim Smith: it’s a discussion forum. In a country of free speech, unlike Russia.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:13 PM

@Sebastian Manka: True but saying that maybe someone ‘should’ argue ‘why not’ is different than inviting someone to argue why not. I appreciate that there isn’t an edit button on here to re-select words and free thought needs to roll off of the tongue (fingers?) sometimes even if it invites counterpoints. I can’t imagine that a lot people think that this guy wasn’t of ‘national significance’ and that we shouldn’t have a day of mourning for him.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:15 PM

@Jim Smith: ‘was of national significance’!!!!!! ‘Should’!!!!! dam spell correction…

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 5th 2022, 10:27 PM

@Sebastian Manka: he can’t have a state funeral it’s reserved for the president and taoiseach and former of both so its not going to happen

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:19 PM

Absolute hero

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:51 PM

@Gerard McAuliffe: Encourage your kids to be like him.

Mute Tosh Moher
    Favourite Tosh Moher
    Oct 6th 2022, 1:52 AM

@Gerard McAuliffe: he was a foolish young man Gerard fighting for people he don’t know and killing people he don’t know, he never be a hero just maybe bloodthirsty young man.

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Oct 5th 2022, 6:18 PM

I think Rory Mason deserves a state funeral if his family agrees.

Слава Україні! Героям слава!

Mute Johnny Mckee
    Favourite Johnny Mckee
    Oct 5th 2022, 6:30 PM

@Sebastian Manka: Why ?

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Oct 5th 2022, 6:34 PM
    Mute Sebastian Manka
    Oct 5th 2022, 6:35 PM

@Johnny Mckee:

First they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a socialist.

Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:47 PM

@Sebastian Manka: I have heard this quote before but are you saying that Russia is coming or would come for regular Irish people when we were a small neutral country? You are going against every expert here but share what you know. That sounds terrifying.

Mute matthew o reilly
    Favourite matthew o reilly
    Oct 5th 2022, 8:55 PM

@Sebastian Manka: He can have it Ukraine poor impressionable young lad didn’t die for Ireland.you have Coveney & varadkar talking likes hawks sending more impressionable young lads

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:01 PM

@Jim Smith: Ireland is an easy, unprotected target for Russia. They attacked and paralysed HSE only last year. They threatened Irish airspace and waters. But hey, let’s rest assured that we’re safe here and laugh at people who have cojones Big enough to go and fight with evil, whatever the price may be.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 6th 2022, 5:53 AM

@Sebastian Manka: We could be a target for every large nation. Why would Russia attack us if we stayed neutral? Why would China attack us…. or India? Should we spend 10 Billion a year on war machines? Should we wear tinfoil hats? Why didn’t our government just keep our 100 years of neutrality intact. 47m a year for schoolbooks for children. 10 billion year to join NATO. We need houses, schools and hospitals. We don’t need bombs and an air force that can fight Russia at the drop of a hat. Insane.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Oct 5th 2022, 7:18 PM

A hero

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Oct 5th 2022, 11:48 PM

Live by the sword

Mute Steveopines✌️☮️
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:13 PM

Yes I am for peace. We’ve limited time on this planet and limited resources. Instead we’re blowing up the place. You are clearly not for peace then why don’t you go off fight the Russian boogeyman or are you a Fugazi

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Oct 5th 2022, 11:14 PM

@Steveopines✌️☮️: I reckon we are all for peace and 95% of the world population are the same but unfortunately the 5 % seem to have way too much power and are causing problems for us all

Mute Ciarán Byrne
    Favourite Ciarán Byrne
    Oct 6th 2022, 9:41 AM

Rip young man , your parents can be proud of your courage and your role in stopping the Russian dictatorship. To his parents your son is a true Irish hero.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 6th 2022, 3:32 PM

RIP Rory Mason, and condolences to his family, friends and fellow soldiers.