You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

ISPCA

ISPCA rescue pony left tied to electricity pole and 'eating mud to survive'

The animal rescue is trying to trace the owner.

THE ISPCA IS trying to trace the owner of a pony found tied to an electricity pole without food, water or shelter in Clonmel, Co Tipperary.

ISPCA Inspector Alice Lacey recently found the young pony in a poor condition with an infected scar on her back leg. 

“The young filly was in such a sad state, barely a year old and far too young to be shod. The ground was completely bare, she had no food, shelter or water and was eating mud to survive,” Lacey said. 

“Her movement was so restricted, that she could only move a couple of feet either side of the lamppost. That’s no life for any animal and not completely unacceptable.”

The pony was seized and transported to a veterinary practitioner for treatment after Lacey found she was not microchipped. 

She is currently being treated for her injuries and is expected to make a full recovery.

The ISPCA said its investigations are ongoing in tracing an owner.

20200221_154547 LR ISPCA ISPCA

Lacey explained that in some cases the animal rescue sees ponies that are “broken and shod far too young only to be tacked up to a sulky which I suspect is what happened to this poor pony”. 

As yearlings, their joints and ligaments are not fully developed and driving any young pony on a hard surface is putting them at risk of a serious injury. We commonly see injuries such as swollen joints and open wounds, often caused by badly fitted tack.

Lacey added that owners have a legal duty to provide a basic level of care when they take on the responsibility of any animal. 

The ISPCA has asked that if anyone suspects a case of abuse or neglect to an animal, to contact the ISPCA National Animal Cruelty Helpline on 1890 515 515 or to report it online here. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

57 Comments
    Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:55 PM

We continue to allow the mistreatment of horses/ponies by a particular section of society engaged in sulky racing, shame on us that we have no moral courage to stop this inhumane treatment of animals and tell those who continue this abuse enough and take their animals away from them.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:17 PM

@Honeybee: if your dog licence expires then you will see the bravery of our enforcers. Anyone arrested over the N7 sulky race yet?

Mute Dublin Wings
    Favourite Dublin Wings
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:27 PM

@Seamus Mac: Totally agree – I get harassed by the dog warden regularly whilst walking my dog in St Anne’s Park. Very brave warden from Ashton dog pound who knows me well by now and also knows that my dog has a lifetime licence but will still harass me because my dog is a ‘dangerous breed’ and not allowed in the dog run on a leash.

Mute Denise Gerrard
    Favourite Denise Gerrard
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:58 PM

@Honeybee: you mean travellers ,why are they not named for who does this cruelty to horses ,dogs etc it’s disgraceful but then cruel sports are allowed by the Irish government so they are no example it’s all about money ,l lived in rural Ireland for 14 years and was so shocked and saddened by animals treatment ,every country has animal cruelty but Ireland takes the biscuit .these people seem to be allowed to do what they want ,keep children out of school .rob and steal with impunity it seems ,and when they go abroad and do these things it give Irish a bad name ,people think we are all the same .

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Feb 27th 2020, 2:04 PM

@Honeybee: Many of these owners declare their love of horses, their attachment to a particular way of life,their children, family and culture. But will spend vast amounts of their financial resources on ludicrously large schmaltzy graveyard monuments ..If only they would invest more in the welfare and education of the living.Of course the cruel and disgusting treatment of horses: lashing them in public view to gain speed in traffic, racing sulkies on thoroughfares for betting purposes reveal the hypocritical nature of some of these so called animal lovers.Many are genuine and responsible owners and ensure good feeding and care and medical attention but it is obvious as with the settled community that there are too many people who are guilty of treating animals with woeful neglect.

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Feb 27th 2020, 2:12 PM

@Seamus Mac: Paramedics on an emergency call won’t even go in to certain areas until the Gardaí arrive so what hope have the ISPCA.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Feb 27th 2020, 2:29 PM

@Dublin Wings: They do love to pick on the ‘dangerous breed’ alright.

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Feb 27th 2020, 2:43 PM

@dominic: The trouble is too few are genuine and responsible owners, if I am honest, I have yet to meet even one.

Mute marianne ryan
    Favourite marianne ryan
    Feb 27th 2020, 3:50 PM

@Kem Trayle: no one should be being paid for a job if they’re not doing it. If authorities are afraid to go into certain areas imagine how the animals are treated. We need to follow the Dutch animal welfare system, check out my lovely horse rescue who have been over there and have seen first hand how well it operates over there

Mute Paddy Jennings
    Favourite Paddy Jennings
    Feb 27th 2020, 7:28 PM

@Honeybee: I know a few people.. not travellers either might I add that engage in the sport of sulky racing under what il call fairly good conditions the horses are treated better than you or me. They’ve all mod “cons” for their animals as far as it goes.! Now in the next few weeks we will all see, hear or ask someone “ had you a winner at Cheltenham… any tips blah blah blah. Now this is by far a lot worse than sulky racing and who says anything let alone gives a shit about it??!!!!!

Mute Steven Moens
    Favourite Steven Moens
    Feb 27th 2020, 11:04 PM

@Paddy Jennings: Very little wrong with proper trot racing but the stuff that happens on public roads is as far removed from it as joyriding is from Formula 1.

Mute Yermanuptheroad
    Favourite Yermanuptheroad
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:47 PM

“Ah shure she’s grand boss, she’s used to eating mud so she is. I was just gone off for a minute looking for me lost dag”

Mute Sirius
    Favourite Sirius
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:03 PM

You’ll have difficulty tracing that owner as they’re probably travelling

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:20 PM

@Sirius: “that’s not me hoss oim tillin ya , look it , me hoss had brown ligs ,dinnt it lads,brown wans ,go away wit ya”

Mute monika
    Favourite monika
    Feb 27th 2020, 2:35 PM

@Sirius: you nailed it :)

Mute ianglen
    Favourite ianglen
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:54 PM

There’s a private pound not far from me, verrry busy with the “howya boss” jeeps and horse boxes constantly turning up, alot of abused horses ending up there atm.

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:10 PM

@ianglen: have you contacted the ISPCA?

Mute ianglen
    Favourite ianglen
    Feb 27th 2020, 7:12 PM

@my name: Council regularly bring impounded horses there.

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Feb 27th 2020, 7:28 PM

@ianglen: so you didn’t contact them?

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Feb 28th 2020, 11:24 AM

@my name: I’m sure the pound notify the appropriate authorities.

Mute marianne ryan
    Favourite marianne ryan
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:57 PM

This is a constant in.tipp, Kilkenny Waterford and Limerick among many other counties. Gardai and authorities don’t want to know and refuse to enforce chipping. There are horses still being left to rot in an area that rte filmed in again near clonmel after all the authorities rolled out for the camera swearing it would never be allowed happen again. The state of animal welfare in this country is so horrific its sickening. These poor horses are sadly better off dead as no one in authority gives a damn. All we want is to have our laws enforced. How many more are out there suffering never to be found

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Feb 27th 2020, 11:23 PM

@marianne ryan: The Gardai nor politicians seem to care. Not good.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:01 PM

Sick of hearing about abuse cases like this happening and going totally unpunished.

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:48 PM

Poor baby :( such a friendly face.. Evil people neglecting animals

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:34 PM

@Ross:
    I genuinely hope this little lady gets a loving home and gets to know the warmth and love of a loving owner/s.

Mute Marion Connolly
    Favourite Marion Connolly
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:19 PM

I hope they are tracing the owner with the intent of prosecuting, and not to give the horse back

Mute marianne ryan
    Favourite marianne ryan
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:28 PM

@Marion Connolly: nope as those who are meant to enforce chipping don’t bother so when any of the authorities can be bothered to attend cruelty cases they can say sorry no chip and their job is done. Its perfect for authorities as they can do nothing and no one is making them do the jobs they are paid to do and enforce our laws. Its just unbelievable. The authorities then will return or refuse to seize abused horses as “owners” turn up/won’t allow even though there’s no chip. No chip=no owner. Does anyone audit the authorities??? How are they getting away with breaking their own laws??? No one will ever suffer for the horrific cruelty seen daily but the poor horses

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Feb 27th 2020, 11:26 PM

@marianne ryan: 100% The authorities need to step up here and be accountable. Political pressure required.

Mute Maura Needham
    Favourite Maura Needham
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:45 PM

Disgusting

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:23 PM

There should be a legal and moral obligation for sterilization of the sub human filth that are responsible for acts like this.
    They don’t deserve to breathe the same air as human beings.

Mute Angry_Man41
    Favourite Angry_Man41
    Feb 27th 2020, 9:19 PM

@Justice Mickey:
    Amen to that – work or forced civilisation will make them free

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Feb 27th 2020, 11:27 PM

@Justice Mickey: Or just jail time for having a horse w/o a chip.

Mute Mark Scott
    Favourite Mark Scott
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:18 PM

If they had a seat reserved in the Seanad then we could raise this issue with them.

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:11 PM

Red mist

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:29 PM

Why after rescuing the pony would they look for whoever did this only to give it back to them to do again?

“The ISPCA said its investigations are ongoing in tracing an owner.”

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Feb 27th 2020, 3:10 PM

@Anthony Clark: I think that it means that they want to take an action against the owner for abuse.

Mute marianne ryan
    Favourite marianne ryan
    Feb 27th 2020, 4:12 PM

@RJ.Fallon: if they had all enforced the chipping laws we would know who owns this poor horse. The authorities are purposefully not enforcing this law do they can walk away without doing anything.

Mute Tom Harpur Photography
    Favourite Tom Harpur Photography
    Feb 27th 2020, 1:11 PM

The only words I can type in this comment section to describe how I feel is sick vile dirty p**cks
    If I say anymore my comment would be deleted because it appears these people are above the law and untouchable for fear of the racist card getting pulled.

Mute John Tierney
    Favourite John Tierney
    Feb 27th 2020, 12:57 PM

POLE. “ISPCA rescue pony left tied to electricity poll and ‘eating mud to survive’”

Mute marianne ryan
    Favourite marianne ryan
    Feb 27th 2020, 4:07 PM

Is there any CCTV in the area??we need an animal welfare police like the Dutch

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Feb 27th 2020, 6:24 PM

Make me so angry and Pave point still defending this treatment. It’s time all horses were taken from people, I don’t care what part of society they come from, who can’t provide a proper stable and food for them in bad weather and a decent field to let them out. Don’t allow them to own them. It’s animal abuse plain and simple. And these poor animal s deserve better.

Mute Mary Brennan
    Favourite Mary Brennan
    Feb 27th 2020, 4:33 PM

I’m sure the poor animal never wants to see the owner again .

Mute monika
    Favourite monika
    Feb 27th 2020, 2:34 PM

I hope that who ever did it and all who do such things will rot in hell. I also hope that before that karma will meet them halfway.

Mute Punters Pal
    Favourite Punters Pal
    Feb 27th 2020, 5:49 PM

What’s FFFG doing about this ?
    Zero as usual

Mute marianne ryan
    Favourite marianne ryan
    Feb 27th 2020, 7:06 PM

@Punters Pal: anyone who voted for them is just voting for horrific cruelty to continue. They couldn’t care less

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Feb 28th 2020, 11:45 AM

@marianne ryan: well SF is just as bad, they voted AGAINST Maureen O’Sullivan’s bill to ban hare coursing.

Mute Barry Doyle
    Favourite Barry Doyle
    Feb 27th 2020, 2:37 PM

Remember, Travellers are people too. With the same rights as the rest of us.

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Feb 27th 2020, 3:18 PM

@Barry Doyle: and the same responsibilities also .

Mute Denise Gerrard
    Favourite Denise Gerrard
    Feb 27th 2020, 5:04 PM

@Barry Doyle: yes that is so but they abuse these rights and ignore others ,such has the right for a child to have an education and a home to live in ,lve traveled the world and seen children that would give anything to have an education and a decent roof over their heads

Mute Angry_Man41
    Favourite Angry_Man41
    Feb 27th 2020, 9:22 PM

@Barry Doyle: ya their great on the oul rights bit, Barry, but they struggle big time on the responsibility bit – Forced Civilisation is needed

Mute Geraldine Glynn
    Favourite Geraldine Glynn
    Feb 27th 2020, 5:50 PM

Oh how I would love to tie the owner up and make them eat mud until they perish!

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Feb 27th 2020, 8:19 PM

Here’s more examples of certain peoples care for horses

https://connachttribune.ie/councillor-hits-out-at-travellers-over-stranded-horses-099/

Mute Alan Morrissey
    Favourite Alan Morrissey
    Feb 27th 2020, 8:15 PM

I bet travellers are immune from the corona…

Mute Russell Dalton
    Favourite Russell Dalton
    Feb 27th 2020, 6:59 PM

Shay’s grand bass……

Mute Keith O Hanlon
    Favourite Keith O Hanlon
    Feb 28th 2020, 12:27 AM

Nobody should be allowed have horses or ponies if you cant look after them they are not Fu..ing toys.