You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Labour TD Ivana Bacik Brian Lawless via PA Images

Labour TD Ivana Bacik apologises for attending Merrion Hotel party

In a statement, Bacik said that Labour leader Alan Kelly had accepted her apology.

LABOUR TD IVANA Bacik has apologised for attending a controversial party at the Merrion Hotel in Dublin last month. 

The party, hosted by former minister Katherine Zappone, took place in an outdoor area of the hotel and was attended by 50 people.

The event was also attended by Tánaiste Leo Varadkar, who last week apologised for his actions.

The event attracted considerable criticism and the controversy led to a clarification of the rules around outdoor hospitality on Friday, with 200 now allowed gather at an event, with live music.

In a statement this evening, the newly elected TD said: “I confirmed last week that I was briefly in attendance for approx. 15/20 minutes at an outdoor event organised by Katherine Zappone on 21st July.”

“I understood the event was within the regulations but regret my brief attendance in the circumstances, and apologised for being there.”

In the statement, Bacik said that Labour leader Alan Kelly had accepted her apology.

She was elected to the Dáil after a by-election last month.

The event at the Merrion Hotel was held by Zappone six days before she was appointed by the Government as a UN special envoy, a role she stepped back from following the controversy.

Earlier today, Green Party leader Eamon Ryan said that Varadkar’s attendance at the event has “undermined public confidence”.

“I actually think this whole controversy has undermined public confidence and it’s our job then to try and restore that, by making sure we get the further reopening of the country right, and I think we can and will do that,” he told RTÉ radio.

Chief whip and Fianna Fáil TD Jack Chambers also admitted that the Merrion Hotel controversy was “not good for the Government”.

He told Newstalk Breakfast: “I acknowledge and appreciate the huge frustration and anger that the last number of days have caused.

“I welcome the fact that the Tánaiste has apologised directly to the industry, and expressed his regret about the controversy.”

100 Comments
    Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:35 PM

Alan Kelly accepted Bacik’s apology? This is what Kelly had to say about Golfgate

“Labour leader Alan Kelly said those who organised and attended the golfing dinner “have let Ireland down in one of the toughest periods in our history”. Another spoofer.

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:50 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: surely you can understand the difference between the two events.

Mute Gerard Hanley
    Favourite Gerard Hanley
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:07 PM

@james comiskey: there is no difference. Politician’s should know better

Mute Ian O Hara
    Favourite Ian O Hara
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:16 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: there all spoofers

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:39 PM

@Ian O Hara: not one of the main parties, in government or opposition, has completely abided by the guidelines. It’s one set of guidelines for politicians, the ruling classes and Jackie Healey-Rae. It’s another for the rest of us.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:46 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Don’t know about you but I’m totally discombobulated by this risible behaviour, in fact it’s so bumfuzzling I think I’ll contact citizens advise.

Mute Nigel o'Neill
    Favourite Nigel o'Neill
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:15 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Mr ‘you will all pay the new water charges or get behind bars’ himself

Mute James Browne
    Favourite James Browne
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:15 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Jackie Healey-Rae died in December 2014, not sure what this has to do with him!!

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:01 PM

@Gerard Hanley: golfgate was an indoor event of 81 people. The Merrion was an outdoor event of 50 where everyone was vaccinated. There were more people in my local beer garden the other night

Mute Alan McArdle
    Favourite Alan McArdle
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:42 PM

@james comiskey: the outraged like to be outraged.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Aug 10th 2021, 11:01 AM

@james comiskey: But it didn’t take the Attorney General to clarify guidelines concerning the people in your local. How could the ordinary folk be aware of the guidelines when Varadkar as a member of Government decided these guidelines which he didn’t understand himself. They were not long in putting Eamon Ryan back in his box, when it was discovered he also attend a little party.

Mute James Quinn
    Favourite James Quinn
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:44 PM

Golfgate: Ministers broke rules.

Response: The Ministers were wrong and had to go.

Merriongate: Leo broke rules.

Response: The rules were wrong and had to go.

It all makes perfect sense!

Mute Clubhouse Barman.
    Favourite Clubhouse Barman.
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:17 PM

@James Quinn: what were the covid restrictions at the time of the event?

Mute Sean Finnegan
    Favourite Sean Finnegan

@James Quinn: You’re forgetting another high profile breach that occurred last year

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella

@James Quinn: what about Funeralgate???

Mute Gordon Larney
    Favourite Gordon Larney
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:12 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: it will be a cold day in hell before I ever vote for SF, just wanted to make that clear. But if you think people attending a funeral to pay last respects and people going partying with their pal to celebrate their “new job” are comparable it speaks volumes about you. Neither event should have had ministers and elected TDs in attendence as they should be leading by example. But I know which one I can have a bit of respect and show some leeway for. Maybe its just me, but scoring political points against people going to somones funeral (although wrong) is classless at best.

Mute Alan Peters
    Favourite Alan Peters
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:41 PM

@Gordon Larney: what was up with updating the guidelines after this event was public knowledge?

Mute Alan Peters
    Favourite Alan Peters
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:21 PM

@Sean Finnegan: is that a labour deflection because a newly elected Labour official is already a crony?? Your twitter seems u were really happy when she was elected

Mute Alan Peters
    Favourite Alan Peters
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:22 PM

@Sean Finnegan: Labour lost all credibility in 2011 can’t believe I voted for them f00ls

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Aug 10th 2021, 12:10 AM

@James Quinn: we’ve come a long way from the corruption of GUBU if this is the most pressing topic of the day

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Aug 10th 2021, 11:31 AM

@Clubhouse Barman.: It took the Attorney General to give his opinion on what the guidelines entailed. The guidelines sanctioned by the government, yet it Seems Varadkar who had imput into the decision of the rules of the guidelines didn’t understand them . When it doubt blame the hotel and fall back on the Attorney General, whose conveniently was appointed by F.G. Bit of controversy attached to that appointed also.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:46 PM

And I thought she was a paragon of virtue! Then again I forgot that despite all the virtue signalling she’s basically just another ‘do as I say not as I do’ politician…

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:43 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: for breaking guidelines that the rest of us have been glued to for the past 18 months. Remember, Ivana is now a member of the House of Parliament, the body of elected representatives tasked with introducing and passing legislation, from which regulations are drafted and guidelines informed. If our rulers don’t adhere to guidelines then why should anyone else?

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:57 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: Whether she did anything wrong or not is irrelevant as is her apology. The optics of the situation are what’s important and clearly weren’t the best especially given her party leader’s statements about ‘Golfgate’. As a public representative how she is perceived by the public is paramount. The majority of the public definitely don’t view anyone who attended this ‘do’ in a good light as they feel the whole thing smacked of an attitude of privilege and was essentially a display of contempt towards the rest of us. Perception is all that matters…

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:39 PM

This explains Kelly’s relative silence

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:42 PM

We’re all in this together, especially if you’re FG, FF or Labour. Not a discernible difference between them.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:21 PM

@Bingobango: And SF. You seem to forget Mary Lou broke covied restrictions to leave the country and attend a funeral.

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:30 PM

@Bingobango: don’t forget the vast majority of indo’s from the Healy Rae’s to the anti migrants one in Wexford. Waste of a vote. The country needs a change.

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:55 PM

@Roy Dowling: Ah yes, all this is obviously the fault of Sinn Fein, having a great ould time with their mate in the Merrion. How did I miss that whopper?

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:06 PM

@Bingobango: who Said it was SF fault. But tell me whats the difference between a labour TD breaking covid restrictions to go to the event at the merrion and a Sinn Fein TD breaking covid regulations to leave the country and attend a funeral.

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:18 PM

@Roy Dowling: Absolutely zero difference. I was merely pointing out that this newly elected TD has shown herself to be just another friend of the establishment when she’s actually supposed to be, at the very least, giving the impression that she is in the opposition. I hope you’re happy with my explanation because I have a funny feeling you know exactly what I meant but had to shoehorn SF in there somehow. It’s a skill in itself I must admit.

Mute Eadaoin Cummings
    Favourite Eadaoin Cummings
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:25 PM

@Roy Dowling: the difference is an event and a funeral. While neither are right I would have a tiny bit more tolerance for the funeral, but saying that, the amount of people who couldn’t go to their own families funeral was horrible. We need a complete overhaul of our so called leaders!!

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:27 PM

@Bingobango: Reason I shoehorned SF into this “somehow” is clear. You first lines ‘we’re all in this together’. Mary Lou attending a funeral in the North showed she didn’t the rules applied to her and she wasn’t in it with with. But somehow you ignore that because she not FF, FG or labour.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:28 PM

@Eadaoin Cummings: My thoughts exactly on your last sentence.

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:33 PM

@Roy Dowling: Is it possible that I was using the phrase “we’re all in this together” to show that FG, FF and Labour are one and the same, socially, economically and politically?

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:40 PM

@Roy Dowling: Its all SF fault, will ya stop for god sake

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:58 PM

@Dave: Again point out where I said it’s all SF fault. I’m simply asking a question. Why is a labour TD breaking covid restrictions different to a Sinn Fein TD breaking coivd restrictions?

Mute Noel Doherty
    Favourite Noel Doherty
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:26 PM

@Roy Dowling: Bingo has already answered that Roy in an above reply. Zero difference

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran

Didn’t take her long to confirm she’s just like all the rest. Has a great set of principles. Not one of them give a damn about the ordinary person

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:56 PM

@Declan Moran: If you don’t like her current principles she has others.

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:56 PM

If anything, it shows us who she rubs shoulders with.

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:18 PM

I really don’t think any of them actually get just how much this has annoyed people, we have made huge sacrifices to try and tackle Covid 19, many have lost their livelihoods, some even their lives, but our Political leaders can get ambiguous rules “updated,” or “clarified,” to suit themselves.
    They also don’t seem to get that we all know that this little get together was to celebrate an appointment for a made up job that stunk to high heaven of the worst of cronyism.
    As for undermining confidence, sorry there Ivana, but I had next to none in any of ye to begin with.

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:17 PM

@Brian McDonnell: the meriongate was July 21st and the rules are changed a few days later something fishy in Leo’s socks

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan

Is Leo still there?
    Lads he’s having his fingers prized off the trappings of power as we speak.
    Not our tanaiste.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:10 PM

@Declan: Who is your Tanaiste then?

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:13 PM

@Roy Dowling: Let’s start with cleaning house. ‘Dead man’ walking. Only question is which senior fine Gael minister is going to pull the trigger. They’re all looking at each other…

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:19 PM

@Declan: what has any of that got to do with who your tanaiste is?

Mute Barrycelona
    Favourite Barrycelona
    Aug 10th 2021, 1:15 AM

@Roy Dowling: The person with the biggest brown envelope which move’s all the strings and it ain’t Leo

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Aug 10th 2021, 11:33 AM

@Roy Dowling: Part time Tanaiste…Will he make Part time Taoiseach?

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:02 PM

Didn’t take her long to get her snout in the trough. Another smoked salmon socialist preaching to the unwashed.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:23 PM

@Paul Shepherd: what is she apologising for? This has gone beyond farce.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:45 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: the same thing that the Tanaiste has apologised for.

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:06 PM

Ivana bacik your apology is not good enough

Mute Waylanderj
    Favourite Waylanderj
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:14 PM

As a newly elected member of the Dail you would think she would know better
    Getting tired of the elites doing what they like
    Roll on Election ’22

Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:09 PM

She’s in the big leagues now and she’ll do as she pleases.

Mute Louis O'Dwyer
    Favourite Louis O'Dwyer
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:52 PM

On and on and on it goes.

Mute Richard Cronin
    Favourite Richard Cronin
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:10 PM

@Louis O’Dwyer: said it earlier, it’s the gift that keeps on giving

Mute Gavin Tobin
    Favourite Gavin Tobin
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:47 PM

Jasus only in the Oireachtas a wet week and apologising already.

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:36 PM

Is everyone forgetting that the event she attended was for a failed TD that tried to defraud the state by claiming she drove 25km to the dail when she was only 22km away – she is not a moral person and proved this by organising a event whilst the country is in pandemic mode – Shane on her and all that attended – a apology is not enough

Mute James Browne
    Favourite James Browne
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:21 PM

What gets me about all of this is all through the pandemic we have had Taoiseach, Tánaiste and other ministers standing at podiums announcing all the restrictions and especially for the lifting of any restrictions except for, funny enough, the change to the rules regarding outdoor gatherings, that had to be done by the Attorney General AFTER they were found out.

Mute Paul O Faolain
    Favourite Paul O Faolain
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:30 PM

She should resign like Leo is going to

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:19 PM

@Paul O Faolain: You on the Smarties again hahaha you are a great comedian

Mute Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph
    Favourite Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:45 PM

I think it is fair to say they’ll were different badges but drink the same coolade. I wouldn’t trust one of them. Was it muted that Kanpur was the real opposition? Joke the lot of them.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:41 PM

Politicians who break the rules should be sacked it cannot be one rule for them and a different one for the ordinary people the Politicians of this country are shameful

Mute Barrycelona
    Favourite Barrycelona
    Aug 10th 2021, 1:24 AM

@Margaret Kane: They will always get away with it because they can depend on their followers re electing them and until that changes, nothing will change. I am surprised at Alan Kelly, will wait and see if he appoints her as spokesperson on ….. Or if he punishes her. That God there isn’t a climate crisis to take away from their ‘ freedom of expression’

Mute Paddy Gerrard
    Favourite Paddy Gerrard
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:07 PM

Too late and two faced

Mute Dennison's Waterford
    Favourite Dennison's Waterford
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:36 PM

Political apologies are a disgrace, if we all are in this #Covid together then no political person’s should be excluded, it’s simple and basic, no civil servants or Media experts in required, just be a normal law abiding citizen.

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:31 PM

Fair play for the apology. Leo too arrogant to go that far.

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:49 PM

@Munster1: a token apology without remorse is not good enough – as Alan Kelly said about golf gate – they have let the country down – yet there will be no recompense. As a new TD she has now shown that she is the same as the rest of them. At least in the UK a MP would resign

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    Aug 9th 2021, 6:54 PM

@lorcmulv: resign for what? She’s fully vaccinated at an outdoor event of 50 people

Mute Clubhouse Barman.
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:16 PM

@james comiskey: I think this needs a Journal Factcheck. As far as I can see they didn’t break any rules!

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:23 PM

@james comiskey: at the time of the event only outdoor dining in tables of 6 were allowed – no parties apart from outdoor weddings – this was only clarified and changed after merriongate – the whole country is and was in pandemic mode with family not able to visit dying relatives, attend funerals or visit friends – what gives anyone paid from the public purse the right to organise or attend events in the middle of a pandemic – knowing a tomato is a fruit does not mean it should be allowed in a fruit salad – she and the other TDS who attended golf gate and the Merioneth should be sacked never mind resign.

Mute Clubhouse Barman.
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:43 PM

So are events of up to 200 people allowed
    Under the law, yes, according to the Attorney General. However, the current Fáilte Ireland guidelines don’t clearly reflect this. For instance all three documents for hotels, restaurants and pubs respectively currently say “multiple tables cannot be booked”.
    With a limit of six adults to a table or 15 people including children this means if the existing guidelines are followed there won’t be outdoor events of up to 200 people under the current guidelines. There is also the apparent contradiction in the guidelines for restaurants and pubs which say in one breath that a maximum of 200 attendees can attend the majority of venues for organised outdoor events and in another that “organised events are currently not permitted” when talking about meetings.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:49 PM

@lorcmulv: I’m not so sure about that. I think people are confusing guidelines and regulations. I think they were compliant with the regulations, which is really all that matters, but not with the guidelines, which was the industry’s interpretation of the regulations. Hence the AG’s involvement to give a plain English view of the regulations. Something like that anyway.

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:10 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: whether they were guidelines or regulations does not give public representatives the moral right to have or attend functions whilst the country is in pandemic mode that is adversely affecting a lot of the population and going to affect us all well into the future. Again a token apology does not cover it having whether or not it was legally sound – it is not morally acceptable

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:38 PM

Politicians should know better. when the moment the average Joe sees this coming from those supposed to follow the rules without question, it gives other people not in power the green light to do what they please. those in authority left or right wing should set the example. And yet they have failed that AGAIN. We need to hold our elected officials accountable for their actions, in office and out. They are in the limelight.

Mute Betty Davis
    Favourite Betty Davis
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:36 PM

Why are they apologetic if no rule/guideline/law was broken ?

Mute The Logic
    Favourite The Logic
    Aug 10th 2021, 11:41 AM

@Betty Davis: to appease all the cancel culture whingebags, like the majority of journal commenters

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Aug 9th 2021, 8:25 PM

Proof, if it were needed, that they all treat the population with utter contempt

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Aug 9th 2021, 7:54 PM

I’m surprised the parties didn’t issue a set of internal covid rules which were more stringent than the public rules. It’s all about optics, they should have seen this might look bad.

Mute Maura Needham
    Favourite Maura Needham
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:08 PM

Funny how all the politicians think an apology solves everything and think we forget

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Aug 9th 2021, 10:10 PM

Some boring Party.
    Nobody stayed more than 15 minutes.

Mute Thomas Linehan
    Favourite Thomas Linehan
    Aug 9th 2021, 10:31 PM

If this was within the rules she would not be apologizing

Mute Maura Needham
    Favourite Maura Needham

Funny how all the politicians think an apology solves everything and think we forget

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Aug 10th 2021, 12:41 AM

Not five minutes in the job, and she’s already behaving like a self entitled government cronie.

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Aug 9th 2021, 11:10 PM

Can anyone give a valid reason for her to stay in her position other than a apology that if it was not legally needed then why was it offered – it is not acceptable and should not be tolerated by anyone in public office.

Mute Mary Paget
    Favourite Mary Paget
    Aug 9th 2021, 10:45 PM

Alan accepted her apology.. That’s OK so.
    Muppet

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:27 PM

Will someone please tell me what was the get together for ??

Mute Mary Paget
    Favourite Mary Paget
    Aug 9th 2021, 10:49 PM

@Karl Phillips: z week gxurxoysztyj f x fb x fb

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Aug 10th 2021, 12:44 AM

@Karl Phillips: it was a piss up.

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:47 PM

I reckon all these TDs go to a school of “How to say Sorry” after their misgivings

Mute Maura Needham
    Favourite Maura Needham

Mute Jim O'Sullivan
    Favourite Jim O'Sullivan
    Aug 10th 2021, 7:58 AM

Feel sorry for all those who fell for the spleen over the years that Bacik is “different” is “principled” etc. She is just another me feiner out to feather her own nest,

Mute Maura Needham
    Favourite Maura Needham

Mute Keith O Hanlon
    Favourite Keith O Hanlon
    Aug 9th 2021, 11:18 PM

F..k of.f

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:03 PM

Is it not hypocrisy demanding her head? If we all lost our jobs because we flouted a rule or failed to keep 2 metres away from everyone else or travelled 2.1km away from our homes lat year, there would be precious few working. People need to worry about things that actually matter. The word bandwagon comes to mind. And I’d be no great supporter of the lady, but the comments here are just typical whining and begrudgery by the usual suspects.

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:17 PM

@Paul Whitehead: this was not a house party and the event was organised by and for people that are being paid out of state funds and as such should be even more stringent in their actions

Mute Oscar Wilde
    Favourite Oscar Wilde
    Aug 9th 2021, 9:59 PM

@Paul Whitehead: yes indeed you are right we all probably sailed close to the regulations from time to time but the difference was we could be confronted by a Garda and if our excuse didn’t please the Garda we were then subject to fines/ prosecution. The ordinary joe soap doesn’t have the Attorney General on speed dial in his/ her phone. Ivanka no doubt followed golfgate closely and may have even offered an opinion or two on it but regardless knew the public outrage that followed it so an apology doesn’t cut it.

One question that also needs to be asked was when was the event booked? The updated regulations only came into effect 2 days before the event most people organising events do so well in advance especially if your travelling from America

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Aug 10th 2021, 11:39 AM

@Paul Whitehead: Unfortunately the whining and begrudgery as you put it is the anger of people who abided by the guidelines. The same guidelines that Varadkar had to get the Attorney General to decipher and get him off the hook.

Mute Terry Tibbs
    Favourite Terry Tibbs
    Aug 10th 2021, 11:56 PM

Well DBS did well for this little piggy, snout straight into the trough.