You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Chinnapong

Explainer: When will IVF treatment be provided through the Irish public health service?

New fertility hubs will be open next year, with IVF available in 2021.

AFTER THE INITIAL government announcement two years ago that plans were afoot to provide public money for IVF treatment, Health Minister Simon Harris set out the details of his plans today.

Cabinet today approved €2 million in funding for IVF and fertility treatment and committed to funding a model of care for infertility as part of the public health system.

Ireland and Lithuania remain the only two EU countries not to offer state funding for assisted reproduction even though the World Health Organisation recognises infertility as a medical condition. 

What was announced today?

The Cabinet made a number of decisions today in terms of supporting people with fertility issues. 

It agreed that IVF will be publicly funded going into the future, and set out three models of care that will be funded through the initial €2 million fund. 

Under the new plan, couples will first go to their GP about their fertility issues, where an initial assessment and consultation will take place. 

Patients can also be referred on to one of six new fertility hubs which will be developed. There will be one fertility hub in each of Ireland’s maternity networks, with the first one being established in 2020 in Dublin and Cork.

Finally, the minister said two tertiary facilities will be identified where access to IVF through the public system will be made available.

Harris said that 50%-70% of people who present with fertility issues have their problems resolved in a hospital setting, without the need for IVF.

What about IVF, what did the government decide to do?

The Cabinet agreed to make IVF part of the public health service. The minister said the government will not be giving out a voucher or payment for patients to go to one of the private clinics that currently offers IVF.

Instead, the treatment will be made available in public hospitals.  

When can people start signing up for IVF through the public health system?

Here’s where the problem kicks in.

IVF is not actually regulated in Ireland. It is available privately, but not in any of the public hospitals at the moment.

This means that anyone that has wanted to get IVF in Ireland has had to go private and oftentimes had to pay at least between €4,000 and €4,500 for one course of IVF treatment. 

Harris said in order to offer IVF to patients, the government first needs to regulate it and set out who will be eligible and the criteria that will need to be met before someone can get the treatment through the public health system.

All this needs to be done through the Assisted Human Reproduction Bill, which was approved by Cabinet two years ago.

Pre-legislative scrutiny of the scheme, which covers areas including sperm, egg and embryo donation, surrogacy, pre-implantation genetic diagnosis of embryos, posthumous assisted reproduction as well as embryo and stem cell research, has taken place this year. 

However, a timeline for the passage of the Bill through the Houses of the Oireachtas is not certain.

The minister said today that he expects to publish the Bill at the start of 2020, and hopes to get the legislation passed by the end of the year.

He said the setting up of hubs will help people with fertility issues in the interim.

When will a couple realistically be able to get IVF through the new public system?

2021, if all goes to plan. 

Harris told TheJournal.ie today that he is “very conscious” that there are people waiting and wanting to know how all this will affect their life, and might be contemplating IVF and wondering what to do.

“If we’re being completely honest and frank here and I think we should, I think by any objective measure particularly with the stage we are with in the electoral cycle, I think it’s likely to take most of 2020 to pass and commence the legislation.

“So realistically I think you’re looking at 2021, in terms of IVF being available through the public health service and being publicly funded.

“But I would say to people today is there are obviously measures in the interim, seeing your GP, taking the advice from your GP being referred to regional fertility hubs, getting that advice, that access to diagnostics, and then either knowing from that perhaps, ‘may I need IVF now or in the future’, or indeed are there other options, so I’m hoping that these interim steps will provide some clarity and some assistance to people who are waiting while we pass the legislation,” he said.

Harris said the first of the regional fertility hubs should be up and running early in 2020.

What is the €2 million being spent on?

The funding will go towards hiring gynaecologists and diagnostic equipment for the regional fertility hubs, so that the infertility challenges can be determined, and how to resolve them.

One in seven have their fertility issues fully resolved without the need for IVF, and this can be done with the supports and diagnostics provided for through the new hubs.

The HSE will meet in the coming days to map out the resources needed for the new hubs.

“I think for far too long issues that have particularly pertained to pregnancy and the likes, we haven’t faced up to in this country, we haven’t provided for as part of the public health service and we’ve travelled a long road in that regard.

“I think dealing with fertility issues is really important. I think it should be a core component of our women and infants health program and indeed in our maternity services in general. So I think making that decision was important and also getting on with it now, establishing and expanding regional fertility hubs will provide a system for lots of people,” he said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

16 Comments
    Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:03 AM

Say nothing or the Government will impose an early switch on tax.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:14 PM

Sh!t, I knew I forgot to turn something off a few months back.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:20 AM

Has the comments of the week article been disposed of lads? It had become a bit of a Saturday morning tradition tbh

Mute Anon Ymous
    Favourite Anon Ymous
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:28 PM

I’ve noticed that too. There’s been no ‘Top Comments…’ article for the last couple of weeks.

Mute Geraldine O'Riordan
    Favourite Geraldine O'Riordan
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:33 PM

mcgoo. 3 weeks now. Yes it’s missed. Bit of light hearted banter it was..

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Oct 8th 2016, 1:42 PM

@mcgoo:

Brinster must have most comments. Trouble is, he said nothing.

Mute RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Favourite RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Oct 8th 2016, 2:23 PM

Nevermind comment of the Week. — Where is Quinton gone with them Techie articles?

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Oct 8th 2016, 2:33 PM

And that fella who called himself a businessman and came out with utter claptrap. He was entertaining

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Oct 8th 2016, 7:48 PM

Why worry about what the great unwashed vote for, let them eat cake!

Mute Michael Hayden
    Favourite Michael Hayden
    Oct 8th 2016, 8:04 PM

It might be because some of the top comments have been criticising the journal over there closing comments on other articles.

Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:05 AM

No, still have the windows open.
    It’s all in the mind, if you think you’re cold you’ll feel cold, but this isn’t cold weather, it’s mild temperatures.
    Just put a fleece on at night, you’ll be grand.

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:20 PM

I would hazard a guess that the majority of women in Ireland have turned the heat on, while they have killings with their man who is trying to turn it off without getting caught. This exciting little game will now go on continuously until around next May or June.

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:49 PM

And I thought it was only me

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:18 AM

Not since they put a freeze on Irish water bills. I used to use them to light the fire.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:13 AM

Not until Christmas Eve.

Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:21 AM

@David Murphey:
    Old school.
    Respect.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:35 AM

I wear an extra Geansaí around the house.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Oct 8th 2016, 5:49 PM

@brian magee:
    What’s a geansai?

Mute Link
    Favourite Link
    Oct 8th 2016, 7:41 PM

Cod piece.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:15 AM

Along the western coast of Ireland, 2016 has been a bleak dismal summer without sun or heat

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:22 AM

Not so great in the “sunny” south east either.

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Oct 8th 2016, 3:59 PM

Just how we like it.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:18 AM

For some people, it is a choice of heat or food and medicine.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:46 AM

Or beer even.

Mute Cathal P Forde
    Favourite Cathal P Forde
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:22 AM

Everyone is different. While my sister has her heating on I find an hour or two in the evening just to warm up the house is grand.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:24 PM

Am male. Don’t need heating.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:04 PM

How about just Yes/No?

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:36 AM

There’s no on switch with solid fuel. Have I started burning the stock of wood I logged this year or the turf saved? Just in the last few days on the small stove. At least I know for certain that the fuel only has my blood on it.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:57 AM

‘A’ rated gaff so no need to yet, thankfully.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:04 PM

‘C’ rated gaff, burnt the lot in Sept and was warm for an hour!!!!

Mute TehJurolan
    Favourite TehJurolan
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:34 PM

@M Bowe: x rated gaff, always on fire.

Mute Ann Twomey
    Favourite Ann Twomey
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:33 PM

Don’t you just love the #Irish sense of humour!

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 8th 2016, 3:57 PM

Yes indeed. Lets keep it that way. Don’t overly dilute the gene pool!

Mute Robby D
    Favourite Robby D
    Oct 8th 2016, 1:01 PM

Waiting to see how much the government give us back in the budget before i make an extravagant decision about warming my house up

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:20 AM

No but we’ve turned the emmersion off!

Mute Cathal P Forde
    Favourite Cathal P Forde
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:29 AM

Turning off the emersion won’t really make any savings. If you hot water isn’t being used and the cylinder properly insulated the emersion won’t need to heat water therefore not use any substantially measurable amount of electricity. I only had two wash hand basins and a sink off the hot water so instead of heating a cylinder of water I opted for a combination boiler which heats the hot water as I need it

Mute Jim Meen.
    Favourite Jim Meen.
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:43 AM

Its spelt immersion. Ive had heating on for an hour or two here and there, but lit the first fire of the year last night. Love having a big open fire in the sitting room. #smellofturf

Mute Stephen Hayden
    Favourite Stephen Hayden
    Oct 8th 2016, 5:19 PM

Spelled is spelled spelled. Not spelt.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:16 PM

Good to see so many options but what about, ‘Yes, just for some of the colder nights/ mornings’….all depends on your heating options because as already mentioned solid fuel stoves can be turned down to a continuous warm output.

Mute Brian O'Donovan
    Favourite Brian O'Donovan
    Oct 8th 2016, 4:07 PM

Should be another option. Did the wife turn on the heating yet …

Mute Finn H. Schoyen
    Favourite Finn H. Schoyen
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:14 PM

Invest in a smart thermostat. One that learns your habits, and that you can temporarily override at the touch of a button or twist of a knob, or even from you smartphone. Forgot to change a setting when you left the gaff? No problem!

There are a number of good brands to choose from these days too, and some can do your hot water too.

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:27 PM

A++ rated so no

Mute Danny Nash
    Favourite Danny Nash
    Oct 8th 2016, 1:59 PM

@Leitrim303: Bought a timber-framed house and it has struggled to drop below 18 degrees even downstairs.

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Oct 8th 2016, 5:25 PM

@Danny Nash: ya we have no oil boiler. the house stays around 20c even in winter. Defiantly the way to go.

Mute Ian McGrath
    Favourite Ian McGrath
    Oct 8th 2016, 12:10 PM

Nah! It’s still 30C here . . .

Mute Meow
    Favourite Meow
    Oct 8th 2016, 3:01 PM

Nope. Not cold enough yet

Mute Kim Prylowski
    Favourite Kim Prylowski
    Oct 8th 2016, 10:50 PM

Me mammy leaves her bedroom window open every night of the year. And she doesnt allow the heating to be on. Its always like an igloo in our house. To me anyway

Mute Ciaran O'Malley
    Favourite Ciaran O'Malley
    Oct 8th 2016, 11:25 PM

still beautiful over here in Toronto!
    Legend summer and autumn.

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    Oct 8th 2016, 10:50 PM

Hell no, I’m sweating in this weather

Oct 8th 2016, 6:44 PM

Need to find the switch first.