You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

YouTube

7 iconic moments in history of Ireland’s favourite - the humble jambon

Today marks National Jambon Day.

WHEN LIFE SEEMS a little harder than usual, there’s nothing more dependable than hot, golden, flaky puff pastry to warm your heart. Even better yet is Ireland’s very own brand of delicious, savoury bites filled with melted cheese and ham – the jambon.

Today, as we chill out after giving thanks to our precious St Patrick, comes a brand new holiday – National Jambon Day. So, it’s about time that we truly appreciated the pure, unfiltered joy that the humble jambon have brought us as a nation.

Here’s just a taste of the massive impact a tiny pastry has had on our country.

1. The time when it inspired an absolute belter by Fupin Eejits 

Fupin Eejits / YouTube

Last year marked 40 years since the release of Bob Marley’s Jammin and in 2017, it was high time for a pastry-inspired tribute. Luckily, video comedy act Fupin Eejits stepped up to the plate. Just in case it was unclear how beloved the jambon is in Ireland, the 19,000 views this video has gathered can give us a clue.

The song describes the highs and lows of our love of this extremely tasty pastry. The video also shows how the jambon rises above chicken fillets rolls, breakfast rolls and sausage rolls to emerge as the true king of the deli aisle. Too right.

2. The time when it became the birthday breakfast of kings

jambon Philip Lipton Schrute / Reddit Philip Lipton Schrute / Reddit / Reddit

It’s not just the Irish who dabble in the occasional jambon. When Reddit user Brian visited Ireland last year for the first time, he said he didn’t shut up about jambons for two months. Fast forward to his birthday, he “woke up the to the smell of my GF making these” (the beauts seen above). 

Posted in r/Ireland, 97% upvoted the photo, so you could say it was well-received. Other Reddit users were delighted by the birthday snap, saying “Fair play to her, she knows her ratios anyway” and “Well done her. She has to be a pro.” Brian agreed: “She really nailed them”. He even kindly included the recipe that she used.

3. The time it became the ultimate sandwich filling

When you’re bleary-eyed at the deli counter and you can’t decide whether you’d like a breakfast roll or a jambon, why not combine both, like Twitter user Aindriú did? However, other Twitter users like Spochadóir aren’t so sure. Could jambon rolls be the country’s next biggest food craze? You heard it here first.

4. The time we discovered we could make them at home

Only a few years ago, 2FM DJ (and DailyEdge beauty columnist) Louise McSharry told her 20,000+ Twitter followers that she had only eaten “two or three jambons in my time”, something that she viewed as “a serious error in judgement.” Fast forward to last December when she discovered you could cook them at home. 

Others delighted in her tweet, replying with messages like “Life changing” and “J’adore Jambons”, and “I’d kill for one rn”. The jambon-loving community in Ireland on Twitter (and off) is a particularly passionate one.

5. The time the love it inspired conquered all

When your day has gone a bit to pot, there’s no easier way to instantly save it than to hunt down a hot, crispy jambon for your sins. It’s something that Twitter user Shóna sums up perfectly in her emotional tweet seen above. Jambons will never let you down the way people do.

6. The time a man and his jambon ended up in court

download TheJournal.ie TheJournal.ie

In what became one of our most-read court stories that year, a Dublin man claimed he was falsely accused of not paying for a €2 jambon pastry in Centra Corduff in August 2014. Following the trial, he was rewarded €20,000 damages in the Circuit Civil Court for defamation. The nation’s favourite pastry sure caused a lot of controversy.

7. The time it featured in the ultimate stride of pride

It might seem crazy, but some people seem a little ashamed of eating a jambon – not the case for Twitter user Laura Meade. This month, she shared how strolling through the city eating a jambon alone was “PEAK confidence”, joking that she hoped a puppy would follow the trail of crumbs she was leaving. Work it, girl.

Craving one of our finest Irish delicacies right now? The good news is that you can bake crispy Golden Bake Ham & Cheese Jambons at home in your own oven in just a few minutes. You can find them in the freezer section of the likes of Aldi, Lidl, SuperValu, Dunnes and Tesco. Find out more about their full range and where they’re stocked here.

7 Comments
    Mute Daryl Walsh
    Favourite Daryl Walsh
    Jul 25th 2021, 8:41 AM

When it comes to those in powerful positions, Ireland doesn’t do accountability.

Mute Anthony Hilton
    Favourite Anthony Hilton
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:05 AM

@Daryl Walsh: it never has and never will.

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Jul 25th 2021, 1:18 PM

@Daryl Walsh:

Can anyone explain what actual law(s) were broken ?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 25th 2021, 1:35 PM

@Daryl Walsh: it’s a pity this piece was written by a Sinn Fein TD. If it came from an organisation that wasn’t itself so weak on accountability it might be listened to.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:23 PM

@iohanx: insider trading. Look it up.

Mute Bill Spill
    Favourite Bill Spill
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:24 PM

@John Mulligan: If someone can’t hear sense due to it’s source, then they are weak minded.

Mute Seosamh Ohuaine
    Favourite Seosamh Ohuaine
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:31 PM

@John Mulligan: What difference does it make who wrote the article. Pierce Doherty wrote it not Sinn Fein. The small mindedness of people here is ridiculous.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:49 PM

@John Mulligan: That’s like saying nobody should listen to Micheal Martin because he is a habitual liar or Leo Varadker because he leaks documents. Get a grip John, read the article and respond to the points raised. It’s incredible that 16 stockbrokers from Davys tried to pull off such a stroke and will rewarded for doing so when Davys are bought by BOI. Corporate heist.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 25th 2021, 3:49 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: I agree. What I’m saying is that serious people don’t take DF seriously, except as threat to democracy.
    If this was written by somebody else, the people who might do something about it might take notice.
    The SF brand is toxic to Democrats.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jul 25th 2021, 5:27 PM

@John Mulligan: please explain how SF are a threat to democracy or democrats?

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Jul 25th 2021, 6:01 PM

@family guy: Perhaps you need to research…

It wasn’t insider trading of a public stock. They create a team to buy an asset …. my question remains?

Mute Freddie Rincon
    Favourite Freddie Rincon
    Jul 25th 2021, 11:20 PM

@iohanx: they were brazenly scamming their own clients . They would be jailed if we had any real consequences . This is what developed countries do when this stuff is caught.

Mute Brendan McCarron
    Favourite Brendan McCarron
    Jul 26th 2021, 2:40 PM

@John Mulligan: Or we could look to FF and their exemplary accountability. The 70′s Arms crisis was a good example and I don’t think anyone of my generation could forget Bertie Riding off into the sunset in 2012, a smouldering wreck of a country in his wake.

Mute Tom Halpin
    Favourite Tom Halpin
    Jul 26th 2021, 6:26 PM

@Bill Spill: calling for accountability while accepting none might be viewed as somewhat hypocritical.
    The article is excellent but he really should apply the same standards of accountability to shinners too

Mute GrumblePaddy
    Favourite GrumblePaddy
    Jul 26th 2021, 7:23 PM

@iohanx: It will come under company law and the duties of a director, one of which is around avoiding conflicts of interest.

Mute speedy
    Favourite speedy
    Jul 25th 2021, 8:46 AM

The tax payer owns bank of ireland who has now purchased Davey stockbrokers making a few sleeze bags multi millionaires overnight and then the government are selling the whole lot up for half it’s worth.this country stinks of corruption from the top down.they must all be playing golf with seanie Fitz having a right laugh at us all

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:14 AM

@speedy: the state owns a 10% share in bank of Ireland. It’s not a controlling share or a share anyway big enough to affect how it’s run

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:34 AM

@Darren Byrne: If the state is the major shareholder in Bank of Ireland, it surely must be more than 10%?

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:45 AM

@Angela McCarthy: It isn’t.

Mute Tyrone Williams
    Favourite Tyrone Williams
    Jul 25th 2021, 12:45 PM

@Eoin Roche: with 10% it could still be the biggest shareholder. There could be 10 or more other shareholders with 9% or less

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    Jul 25th 2021, 1:47 PM

@speedy: The whole thing is another disgrace, fair play Pearse Doherty, also question where these corrupt Davy employees are now working.

Mute Bill Spill
    Favourite Bill Spill
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:26 PM

@speedy: The taxpayer does not own BOI. Don’t get news from social media people.

Mute Gaffer
    Favourite Gaffer
    Jul 25th 2021, 7:07 PM

@Darren Byrne: that state owned share was the difference between the bank collapsing or staying a float during the financial crisis. BOI should have been cut loose rotten to the core this place

Mute Philip Duffy
    Favourite Philip Duffy
    Jul 25th 2021, 8:59 AM

There should be more accountability for T.D.’s. They are being paid massive salaries for what really is a part-time position. Even at that, we don’t have any evidence to suggest many of them are working on behalf of Ireland Inc.

Mute Waylanderj
    Favourite Waylanderj
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:03 AM

@Philip Duffy: what has this got to do with the article?
    Stop deflecting
    Maybe some banker will right an article about TDs and you can comment then?

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Jul 25th 2021, 1:31 PM

@Philip Duffy: A part time job? Do tell?

Mute Andrew Galloway
    Favourite Andrew Galloway
    Jul 25th 2021, 1:55 PM

@Philip Duffy: You run in the next election, it’s only €800, to get your name down. Personally I wouldn’t like to be a td, on call 24/7. Your personal life is non existent, people looking for a piece of you all the time. Imagine just going out for a meal with your family and you’ve people at you. No thanks. It’s not the easy job many perceive.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:51 PM

@Andrew Galloway: On call 24/7? Are you for real?

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jul 25th 2021, 3:51 PM

@Andrew Galloway: nobody is forcing them to do it. They put themselves up. So they must take the responsibility.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 25th 2021, 8:43 AM

Implementing all that’s needed would be like taking on a South American drug cartel. Banking, insurance and all other financial sectors have been getting away with this kind of thing for decades and it has become part of what this country represents.

I don’t even think a non-FG/FF government will fix this to easily at this stage.

Mute SaveTheTrees
    Favourite SaveTheTrees
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:26 AM

@David Corrigan: It’d be a start, politics needs cleaning up

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:40 AM

@David Corrigan: Well Davy, you might or might not be right, but what we do know for a fact, is that there is at least one political party who has consistently highlighted the corruption and rot in the financial industry. That in itself is surely a promising start without FFG!

Mute Tim Quigley
    Favourite Tim Quigley
    Jul 25th 2021, 12:12 PM

@Angela McCarthy: You mean a party like the one where members had Unauthorized Pandemic payments resting in their accounts. Short memory there.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 25th 2021, 1:36 PM

@Tim Quigley: or one that took millions in donations from one individual?

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Jul 25th 2021, 11:23 PM

@John Mulligan: Was that illegal?

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jul 26th 2021, 7:24 AM

@Teresa Ryan: I don’t think you’ll get an answer on that one.

Mute Fionn Darland
    Favourite Fionn Darland
    Jul 26th 2021, 9:17 AM

@Angela McCarthy: There is no such entity as FFG no matter how many times you and your sf budz regurgitate it.

Mute Peter B
    Favourite Peter B
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:11 AM

The difference between a drug cartel and an Irish bank is that a dug cartel is accountable to no one and an Irish bank is accountable to no one…oh hang on they are the same !

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:29 AM

@Peter B: needless to say they both have damaged lives as well

Mute Sean Whelan
    Favourite Sean Whelan
    Jul 25th 2021, 8:53 AM

Welcome to the banana republic!

Mute Waylanderj
    Favourite Waylanderj
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:06 AM

The opposition should have these bills ready to go when their put in power
    It’s only a matter time at this stage ..
    Imagine a month of being in power and SF launches around a dozen bill to reform the country
    Would be some sight to see

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 25th 2021, 1:37 PM

@Waylanderj: pity they’re so toxic that nobody wants to collaborate with rhem.

Mute Ilarion Cibu
    Favourite Ilarion Cibu
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:45 PM

@John Mulligan: how much is FFG troII department paying per message? I want to get some € on a side :)

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:52 PM

@Ilarion Cibu: I hope they have air conditioning in their troll department offices.

Mute Glenn Halpin
    Favourite Glenn Halpin
    Jul 25th 2021, 8:49 AM

Ugh that was a depressing read.

Mute Gregory Pym
    Favourite Gregory Pym
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:46 AM

Close ranks lads ! Nothing to see here, move along.

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:29 AM

Another populist simplistic analysis from SF, feigned indication from PD.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:56 AM

@camio55: It’s probably time you took your head out of the clouds and realized what’s going on within the financial sectors of this country. Are you stating on here that there is no bad smell off the Davy scandal?

Mute CASO
    Favourite CASO
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:59 AM

@camio55: are you for f.. King real! Blaming the messenger! FFG are the biggest cartel in the country and have been pillaging from tax payers since the first day of office in this state.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:10 AM

@camio55: So tell us what is incorrect in his analysis of the situation.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:40 AM

@camio55: I would be very interested in your analysis concerning the article. Not a simplistic two liner.

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:48 AM

@David Corrigan: you never get solutions from SF that are coherent or practical. They moan constantly thats not the makings of a governing party.Thats my point.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:54 AM

@camio55: You should read this and then get back to me.

https://www.thejournal.ie/fiscal-space-2586172-Feb2016/

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Jul 25th 2021, 11:00 AM

@camio55: Surely the very basic ask of making these people accountable is practical? No? Am I wrong or are deliberately ignoring that essence of the article?

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Jul 25th 2021, 12:14 PM

@camio55: nonsensical deflection. Doherty has pointed out the solution. Fine Gael should pass the endlessly delayed accountability legislation and stop dragging their heels on white collar fraud. But that’s what Fine Gael do.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jul 25th 2021, 12:14 PM

@camio55: “More than three years ago the Central Bank called for a Senior Executive Accountability Regime, underpinned by law” …….. Read the article. This is not SF, this is the Central Bank. This FFG defence of its policies by pointing at SF is getting boring now. The insurance industry rip off is the same, but Sinn Fein, blah, blah, blah.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Jul 25th 2021, 1:04 PM

@camio55: very coherent to me as against your comment which is an over simplistic opinion.

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Jul 25th 2021, 6:04 PM

@David Corrigan: this piece is a blow by blow account of what has happened not an analysis. It’s a narrative based on the timeline of events that occurred in the Davy fiasco. It is like he is writing for an audience that does not read newspapers and is not up speed on the appalling behavior of Davy executives. Then he picks one Central Bank recommendation that was not enacted and that is his whole contribution. You could have written it in a paragraph but a long known narrative/facts was written for effect and posture.

Mute john smith iv
    Favourite john smith iv
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:56 PM

@camio55: apologists like you are going to end ffg.

Mute john smith iv
    Favourite john smith iv
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:58 PM

@camio55: so what is the analysis then. You think what they did was ok.

Mute Sean Marlow
    Favourite Sean Marlow
    Jul 28th 2021, 1:40 PM

@camio55: Sure, FFG corrupt cronyism is SF’s fault. Again!

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Jul 25th 2021, 11:37 AM

We would need an election to determine if holding bankers to account is really what Irish people want. We elect politicians who form governments that take the opposite approach. Selling state assets so hidden investors can profit.
    Take the IRBC commission of investigation started in 2015 to examine 38 individual IRBC transactions. starting with the siteserv transaction. It’s being 6 years and still no final report. Our Taoiseach pushed it back till oct 2021 without any media coverage in April.
    For this commission to examine the entire 38 transactions. Taking 6 years per transactions will take 228 years. Government policy from the beginning was to protect the bankers not the public. Ireland has not changed neither has our politicians.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jul 25th 2021, 12:45 PM

@leartius: we need to find out who these hidden investors are and are they the same people making the crazy policy decisions.

Mute Sonic
    Favourite Sonic
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:38 AM

Well Pearse, it certainly looks like SF will be in Govt after the next election, let’s see if you’ve got the courage of your convictions!

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:45 AM

@Sonic: I’m sure he and SF will, but I wonder will FFG, while in opposition support those bills, or refuse to on the grounds they sound too populist?

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Jul 25th 2021, 11:26 PM

@Sonic: Legislation on white collar crime has been sitting on the cabinets desk since 2915 awaiting enacting.

Brown envelopes and all that.

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:28 AM

A far more detailed article is posted here on the Journal to day “Garda fraud chief: Ireland’s ‘crazy’ system for hunting white collar criminals must change”

It is clear on what needs to be done!

Mute SaveTheTrees
    Favourite SaveTheTrees
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:37 AM

@For Goodness Sake: Tip of the iceberg, look up Roqu group who were awarded the hospital ventilation and digital green cert app contracts, the ceo has gone awol

Mute Dónal Ó Keeffe
    Favourite Dónal Ó Keeffe
    Jul 25th 2021, 10:58 AM

Money wins again.

Mute Mike Lawlor
    Favourite Mike Lawlor
    Jul 25th 2021, 11:30 AM

What do you expect when the Office of white collar crime is starved of resources— so unable to do its work. All parties are guilty!

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Jul 25th 2021, 1:19 PM

@Mike Lawlor:

Of what exactly?

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Jul 25th 2021, 11:29 PM

@Mike Lawlor: That’s FFG way. Set up an organisation to tackle something then starve it of funds and staff which renders the organisation useless and toothless.

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:40 PM

Financial Cheats Cheat Us All

Mute DB
    Favourite DB
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:00 PM

Pearse Doherty the mouth piece from Sinn Feinn who jumps on every thing that rises the crowd but doesn’t have answers himself . Sinn Feinn polices are tax job creators and thoese to death who are doing their best to make a good life for themselves and give to those who for most part contribute seer f all to society. Some lad .

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 25th 2021, 2:56 PM

@DB: Like I said to your colleague above, please read this and get back to us like a good man.

https://www.thejournal.ie/fiscal-space-2586172-Feb2016/

Jul 25th 2021, 5:27 PM

@DB: maybe read the article again. Doherty calls for the accountability legislation to be enacted with no more delays. He rightly points out that Fine Gael is dragging its heels when it comes to making the law stick for fraud and white collar crime. Or did you just conveniently decide to miss that bit?

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Jul 25th 2021, 11:30 PM

@DB: Could you write that again, this time in English.

Mute john smith iv
    Favourite john smith iv
    Jul 25th 2021, 9:55 PM

In the US what the Davy’s executives did. would see them in jail for years. Here they get a payout.

Mute SteveBuzzard
    Favourite SteveBuzzard
    Jul 26th 2021, 12:36 PM

A woman was jailed for 2 months for stealing a bottle of wine recently.
    These money traders dealing in millions have effectively evaded any punishment.
    This country really stinks, every day another scandal.

The Central Bank’s Foi reveals that…..
    “The Central Bank did not refer any information about Davy to the gardaí because it had carried out a long investigation. We did not form views that there were criminal reports to be made to other agencies”.

The Central Bank
    1 staff member earned between €250,000 and €300,000 with
    3 earning between €200,000 and €250,000.
    26 earned between €150,000 and €200,000,
    226 earned between €100,000 and €150,000.
    In 2020, the numbers employed by the Central Bank increased from 1,927 to 1,950.
    Source RTE news.ie

How did it take 6 years for the Davy case to come to public attention, with so many Regulation staff?
    What exact jobs are they doing to justify these massive salaries?.

Mute GrumblePaddy
    Favourite GrumblePaddy
    Jul 26th 2021, 7:31 PM

@SteveBuzzard: Unlike the US the Central Bank can not enforce cooperation, so Davy just get their solicitor friends to duck, dive and evade. In the US you go to jail until you cooperate. Imagine the the shock, no more popping down to Quita de Lago for a few rounds of golf at the weekend with one of the partners from [insert name of any big 4 law firm] to discuss tactics.

Mute anne
    Favourite anne
    Jul 25th 2021, 3:16 PM

What would Pearce Doherty actually do, ? In addition to what is being proposed! This is the usual Opposition noise for Opposition sake. The Dave Scandal is dreadful greed by a small number of individuals ! What I am interested to know is how much the sale will generate in CAT (Capital Gains Tax) and other appropriate taxes? How much will State generate in taxes? From a) sale Of Company & b) profits to individuals ?

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 25th 2021, 3:37 PM

@anne: ?????

Jul 25th 2021, 5:28 PM

@anne: he’s asking for draft legislation which has been sitting three for nearly three years to be enacted. It’s pretty simple.

Mute Ian Hester
    Favourite Ian Hester
    Jul 25th 2021, 8:31 PM

All this monetary greed and corruption translates into climate chaos and earth’s destruction… They or their descendants will pay for it in the end…..

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Jul 25th 2021, 11:32 PM

@Ian Hester: And will push the next generation who will own nothing and earn little.

Mute martin
    Favourite martin
    Jul 25th 2021, 5:44 PM

AMC to the moon

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:04 PM

The Davy spectacle was disgraceful. To then judge the whole system to be rotten to the Core is again a SF populist rant. Much has improved on the regulatory side the fact that a few leading executives in one firm acted in a totally irresponsible manner does not mean that all others in every other financial institution are equally as irresponsible.