You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

James Reilly "honoured" to join Seanad he once called "very undemocratic" and with "no power"

In a 2013 statement calling for the Seanad to be abolished, Reilly labelled it “very undemocratic” and said it had “no power.”

1/7/2010 Fine Gael's New Front Bench Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Updated: 2.35 pm Saturday

FORMER MINISTER JAMES Reilly has told TheJournal.ie he is “honoured” to be appointed to the Seanad by Taoiseach Enda Kenny, despite his fierce criticism of the institution during the campaign to abolish it.

In 2013 Reilly, who lost his Dáil seat in February’s general election, called the Seanad “very undemocratic”, and criticised the fact that “90% of Senators are elected by existing politicians.”

The former Minister for Health, and later for Children, also said “the Seanad has very little power.”

TheJournal.ie asked Reilly how he reconciled those attacks with joining the Seanad now, and whether he viewed the manner his appointment as democratic. In response, Reilly said in a statement:

I am honoured to be appointed to the Seanad by An Taoiseach Enda Kenny and look forward to continuing my work as a legislator in the new Seanad.
The people had their say in the Seanad referendum of 2013 and chose to maintain the Seanad – that’s democracy.
Fine Gael is wholly supportive of Seanad reform which is long overdue. The Programme for Government has a specific section on Seanad reform and commits to the implementation of the Manning report as a matter of priority.
It is also worth noting that under the new strengthened Oireachtas Committee system, Senators will play a very significant role in the legislative process through Committee work, as well as through their work in the Seanad itself.

In September 2013, a few weeks before the unsuccessful campaign to abolish the Seanad, Reilly strongly criticised the institution on Facebook, saying:

The reality is the Seanad is very undemocratic; just 1% of the population elected the current Seanad, and only 3% of the population is entitled to vote in Seanad elections in the first place. 90% of Senators are elected by existing politicians.
Furthermore, the Seanad has very little power. It can only delay, not overturn, legislation, and the last time it actually did so was in 1964. This rubbishes any suggestion that abolishing the Seanad is a power grab; the Seanad has no power to grab.
Most of the time, the Seanad rubberstamps legislation that has already been approved by the Dáil. We don’t need a second chamber that simply replicates the work of the Dáil.

He also emphasised the difficulty of reforming the body, rather than scrapping it:

Some of the debate on the Seanad has centred around the suggestion that it should be reformed. But ten reports have been published on Seanad reform in its 75 years of existence, and nothing has changed.

You can read James Reilly’s September 2013 statement in full, here.

Of the Taoiseach’s 11 nominees, six supported the referendum on the abolition of the Seanad in 2013.

They are all Fine Gael TDs who lost their seats at February’s general election: James Reilly, Michelle Mulherin, Frank Feighan, John O’Mahony, Ray Butler and Paudie Coffey, a former Minister of State.

Three other nominees were put forward at the instigation of Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin: Joan Freeman, Colette Kelleher and Pádraig O’Céidigh.

Businessman O’Céidigh in 2013 expressed his support for the retention and reform of the Seanad, but we could find no record of the other two nominees articulating any previous position on it.

As he did in 2011, Kenny also nominated outgoing Independent Senator Marie-Louise O’Donnell, who has supported reforming the Seanad.

The remaining nominee, Billy Lawless, is not known to have taken any position during the referendum campaign in 2013.

We sent the Taoiseach’s office several questions for this article, but his spokespersons were not in a position to respond by publication time.

Originally published: 8.08 pm Friday

Read: Here’s who the Taoiseach has chosen to fill the remaining Seanad seats>

Read: Here’s how the country voted in the Seanad Referendum>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

145 Comments
    Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:09 AM

Just leave the children alone FFS. They’ve been through enough already. Close the pubs, work from home, do whatever. I don’t care.

Children are extremely low risk. This is common knowledge. Let them live their lives

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:35 AM

@Jim Smith: Exactly kids are low risk so leave everything open and just get on with it, cases steady, hospital icu falling over the last 10 days

Mute Michael Cunningham
    Favourite Michael Cunningham
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:46 PM

@Jim Smith: So we punish the kids (who don’t get sick from COVID), to protect the adults who couldn’t give a $hite??

Whomever is running this gong show needs a slap.

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:33 PM

@Jim Smith: Look at it another way, kids are low risk if they get it but they are high risk for spreading the virus as they don’t wear masks or social distance. I personally know parents who’s jobs are impacted due to their kids bringing it home to the household from school and having to isolate. The stats show that school aged children are making up a lot of cases, you can argue with stats.

Mute James Bishop
    Favourite James Bishop
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:38 PM

@Jim Smith: Wont someone please think of the kids.

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:50 PM

@Jim Smith: why would you close the pubs again?

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:11 PM

@Jason Walsh: Look at whatever way you want. The adults are the ones who should be protecting the kids, not the other way around

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:14 PM

@Jim Smith: Easy for you to say close down hospitality, I take it you don’t work in that area then?? As regards children, what have they been through? Most kids these days do nothing anyway bar watching telly or sitting on their phones, so nothing has really changed for them!!

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:16 PM

@Paul Doyle: Personally I wouldn’t close anything down. As I said, I don’t care. Just leave the kids out of it.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:19 PM

@The Firestarter: Easy for you to say nothing has changed for kids. I take it you’re not a parent of small children?

Mute Paul Hedderman
    Favourite Paul Hedderman
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:34 PM

@Jim Smith: Kids are spreading it and bringing it home to infect their families. 19% of cases are 5 – 12 year olds. You want them to be left alone so this continues? The virus mightn’t effect them much but its what the spread in schools is doing to the rest of society is the problem. The more infection in society the more hospitalisations and deaths.

Mute Ger O'Reilly
    Favourite Ger O'Reilly
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:46 PM

@Jim Smith: sounds like the anti vaxers anti maskers have hijacked the Journal.

https://www.thejournal.ie/5-12-year-olds-covid-incidence-5585444-Oct2021/

Mute Cowboy Paddy
    Favourite Cowboy Paddy
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:56 PM

@Jim Smith:
    I have a school going child and they like nothing more than a few weeks off…
    It is the childcare that is the real problem… We would have nurses and doctors having to stay at home to mind there children…

I think until Christmas I would take the approach: All non essential Parents children to stay at home (this allows for a far less crowed situations in school) & all children over 6 to be told to mask.
    Hopefully we drive the virus low enough in a month and vaccines for Primary can kick in…
    Vaccines for Primary children should be done like TB shot initially… Consent form sent home, sign and sent back, shot given…

Any parent who is hesitant of their children getting the shot, please get properly educated on it… It is alright to be hesitant but this virus thrives on ignorance… Do not get your information from friend, what I heard, Facebook, Twitter, or even some of the commenters on the journal… They are dangerous and will put your children and family at risk. Listen to actual health professionals. If a friend tells you something, be polite but firm, ask them where they got their information from, ask them to show you the link on line.. Then read the underlying information, is it peer reviewed, etc…

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:04 PM

@Michael Cunningham: kids do get covid.
    Of the 61,659 Covid-19 cases notified in last 2 weeks, 4.9% were aged 0 to 4, 19% aged 5 to 12 and 5.7% aged 13 to 18

Of the 557 hospitalised 4% were aged 0 to 4, 3.3% aged 5 to 12 and 1.9% aged 13 to 18

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:18 PM

@Paul Hedderman: Yes I think I said it a few times now. Maybe I wasn’t clear enough.

LEAVE THE CHILDREN ALONE

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:19 PM

@Cowboy Paddy: Vaccines for Primary?? You are joking right?

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:23 PM

@Cowboy Paddy: The virus does not thrive on ignorance the virus thrives in warm human bodies regardless of vaccination status and the fact that the vaccination does not stop infection or transmission it is most definitely not worth the risk giving it to children. The vaccine protects you and you only there is no ambiguity it only lessens severe symptoms and in a cohort where those symptoms are almost 100% very mild there is no need to vaccinate. The only selfish people on here re. Covid are the people looking to force vaccination onto young children who place their trust in us to do the right thing by them and I cannot in good conscience put that vaccine into my child’s body without at least 4 or 5 years data on the long term effects of it

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:31 PM

@Jim Smith: oh fk off Jim

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:39 PM

@James Bishop: they ARE thinking of the kids. Sooner or later this will mutate into something that attacks children and the idea would be to get rid of it before that happens. The more people try to buck the system, the longer this will be with us.

Mute Paul Hedderman
    Favourite Paul Hedderman
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:50 PM

@Jim Smith: Grow up. Whether you like it or not they’re part of the problem and something needs to be done to stop it. Crying on here isnt going to do anything to change what govt decide. Its actually shocking that they havent acted before now. Shouldn’t have let them back to the classroom after the summer to keep cases on that downward trajectory in August. Its a shame that theres many like you that dont understand/dont want to know the effects kids and schools are having on keeping the virus spreading at such high rates.

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:13 PM

@Jim Smith: I’m just looking at the facts, it’s faily obvious that schools are having a big impact on cases so do we just ignore that so little Tommy and little Mary don’t feel upset about wearing a mask. I know many kids who refused to wear seatbelts over the years, car didn’t move until they did. Wearing masks won’t fn hurt them, plámásing kids will do a lot more damage.

Mute Declan O'Farrell
    Favourite Declan O'Farrell
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:39 PM

@Jim Smith: Low risk of getting very, but they can easily pass the virus on to others

Mute Declan O'Farrell
    Favourite Declan O'Farrell
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:48 PM

@Declan O’Farrell: very sick

Mute Richarddoherty
    Favourite Richarddoherty
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:51 PM

@Jim Smith: not true certain primary school have loads of cases where is the stats and information for you to make an assumption that children are low risk

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:45 PM

@Michael Cunningham: But they can still spread it to people who can get sick from Covid, my god when will ye start to realize this…

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:48 PM

@Stephen Kearon: Stop pointing out facts now Stephen because soon enough our Chief Scientific Expert Tracy from Facebook will be along to provide an update that Kids cannot get sick or spread it or anything of the sort…

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:50 PM

@Declan O’Farrell: They are not at low risk of getting it, they are now the highest age groups with it ffs.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:52 PM

@Jim Smith: You make absolutely no sense, if the majority of cases were between 18 – 25 year olds, would be saying juts leave them out of it…. There is no leaving anybody out of it regardless of age.. It does not work like that if a virus is spreading.

Mute Michael Cunningham
    Dec 1st 2021, 5:12 AM

@Dave: and the people who get sick and are in the ICU are… (cue drumroll)

Anti vaxxers!! For the zillionth time. Nobody. Nobody cares if eejits get sick. I mean NOBODY. We are better off without them. (See books written by Charles Darwin). We must move on with our lives and let people have the ability to make their own health decisions and live (or die) by them.

Without the anti vaxxers in the hospital/ICU this is influenza numbers. Of course it will kill some of the older/vulnerable vaccinated but so will any of a million other infections, and we have to figure a way to live with it. COVID is going nowhere!

Now when will you get this in your head??

Mute Michael Cunningham
    Dec 1st 2021, 5:17 AM

@Paul Hedderman: 19% are young but under 1% make the ICU.

So who the eff cares is 50% of cases are young and the vast majority are fine. I never heard this outcry when we had 50 kids a year dead from asthma attacks. Why didn’t we mask them all up and stop socializing??

We need to learn to live with it. If it means we thin the herd and lose a few selfish møronic anti-vaxxers, I mean aren’t we are better off??

Mute This time its personable!
    Favourite This time its personable!
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:26 AM

Them kids, always at it like, wanting to play and meet up and things. They should be knuckling down now boy and doing some work sewing up trainer and working in mines and things.too good they have it, no wonder the politicians are jealous, if they have to do a right job and can’t go to parties in the Merrion then no one else should, kids included.

Mute Mr_Bumkee
    Favourite Mr_Bumkee
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:28 AM

@This time its personable!: Good to see you kept yourself reasonable and in perspective there champ.

Mute Lorcan Barron
    Favourite Lorcan Barron
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:56 AM

they should be at home, till at least Feb, one parent or guardian should receive special payment from government to make up for any loss of income incurred till then

Mute The Interloper (what/why)
    Favourite The Interloper (what/why)
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:01 AM

@Mr_Bumkee: perspective might be recognising the absurdity of recommending kids avoid parties and playdates at Christmas while adults are free to mix socially and without masks in pubs and nightclubs..

Mute This time its personable!
    Favourite This time its personable!
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:07 AM

@Mr_Bumkee: true, and there might be a bit of truth in it there somewhere, but then what’s perspective only to the individual really

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:44 AM

@Mrumkee: 9

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:28 PM

@This time its personable!: nah shur they’ll be grand freezing in their classrooms & told if they wear a scarf or gloves to take them off as they are not school issue!

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:54 PM

@Lorcan Barron: can the govt also provide for any lost mental health that kids may suffer if kept at home every time there is an uptick in case numbers?

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:41 PM

@Lorcan Barron: or at the very least bring Christmas holidats forward by a few weeks. Schoolwork can be done at home if need be.

Mute Lorcan Barron
    Favourite Lorcan Barron
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:02 PM

@Squarepeg01: who will provide for them when and if their parents contact covid cause their children became “carriers ” from mixing with a classroom full of other children from various different backrounds and obviously many different households as well ?

Mute Lorcan Barron
    Favourite Lorcan Barron
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:11 PM

@Squarepeg01: who will provide for them when and if their parents contact covid cause their children became “carriers ” because of mixing in classrooms full of other children from other backrounds and obviously many different households as well ?

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:26 PM

@Lorcan Barron: we will probably all end up catching covid at some point in our lives. Covid is NEVER going away – or at least we have to live with the prospect it will never go away. If parents are worried about catching covid from their kids, well isn’t that what the vaccines are for?

Mute Todd
    Favourite Todd
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:53 PM

@Mr_Bumkee: they’re being sarcastic pal

Mute Lorcan Barron
    Favourite Lorcan Barron
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:59 PM

@Squarepeg01: some very valid points you make there, I feel the very same way myself , we will have to learn to live with covid , we cant be restricted for the rest of our lives ! but is it a case of live and let die ? we will all need to take precautions including our school children

Mute Andy Dunn
    Favourite Andy Dunn
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:37 AM

Why are the comments turned off on the Telegram/Far right article (the main article on this site)? A lot of parents have genuine concerns and they’re considered far right now for not wanting their kids to wear masks in school?

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Favourite Lee King Buckett
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:43 AM

@Andy Dunn: That’s just your confirmation bias at work.

I suggest you re-read the acticle, especially the parts where it mentions what is being shared on far-right pages and how that is denying genuinely concerned parents the resources they are trying to access.

Then come back again and re-read your post above.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:44 AM

@Andy Dunn: If some people around here were to be believed, you’d think Ireland is awash with far right extremists. It’s laughable.

Also, with regard to the headline in that article, what does ‘Anti Covid’ mean? Are we all not anti Covid? Who is pro Covid? The Journal maybe?

See 34 more replies ▾
    Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:47 AM

@Andy Dunn: what is the issue with masks? In most other countries kids are wearing masks in schools and it’s no big deal

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:54 AM

@Elaine Phelan: What happens in a classroom where some kids are 8 and some are 9? Or in small rural schools where rooms can include children from 3rd, 4th and 5th class? Have 3 or four children masked and the rest not? Science yeah?

Mute Dearbhla O Reilly
    Favourite Dearbhla O Reilly
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:57 AM

@Andy Dunn: I agree. HATE the constant use of ‘far right’ in the journalism here.

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:05 AM

@JedBartlett: they should all wear masks. Simple

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:07 AM

@JedBartlett: or would you rather they shut schools all together?

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:14 AM

@Elaine Phelan: Oh, so you think this is about preventing the schools from being shut? That’s certainly onepossibility. However, I think it’s more about offering a comfort blanket to already vaccinated adults who will shortly be receiving a booster.
    They’ve pulled another number from nowhere, this time it’s 9. 9 years and up should now wear masks. When did we stop being ‘led by the science’ as we were told we would be at the beginning. Seems we’ve moved on to knee-jerk reactions based on completely arbitrary numbers which only add to the contradictory nature of the restrictions.

Masks for 9 year olds but not 8 year olds in the same room. Pubs and full stadiums for adults but no playing with peers for children. I give up.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:24 AM

@Andy Dunn: The way they refer to these so called far right bogeymen hassling the NPC. ‘Anti-Covid groups yada, yada, yada’? Which begs the question, who the hell is pro-covid?
    When this pandemic ends what will the lazy, click bait media hyperventilate about?

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:31 AM

@JedBartlett: i’ve seen loads of comments on here the last month, saying schools are the problem and what is the government doing about it? They’re damned if they do, damned if they don’t. Masks are a very small inconvenience. My primary aged niece in New Zealand has been wearing masks to school the whole way through and it’s been zero issue. Kids accept whatever their parents tell them is normal. It’s the people filling their kids heads with the idea that masks are awful to wear that is the problem

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:56 AM

@Elaine Phelan: “ Kids accept whatever their parents tell them is normal.” If parents are telling their children that wearing masks is normal then they’re quite simply wrong. Wearing masks is not normal for either adults or children.
    It’s a measure we’re using to combat this virus but it’s certainly not normal.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:06 AM

@JedBartlett: it has been normal for the past 2 years, a high percentage of a young child’s life. It will be normal next year and if we insist upon not protecting people, it will be normal after that. Washing your hands in alcohol isn’t normal either. Should we teach our kids not to do that too?

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:09 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: You keep thinking it’s normal if it makes you feel comfortable or safe.

I don’t think it’s normal to wear a mask. I do it as it’s currently a regulation but I will never be of the opinion that it’s normal.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:19 AM

@JedBartlett: you’re entitled to what is your opinion. You have the benefit of history and have formed your opinion of what’s normal based on that. Kids, now, are more likely to adhere to common sense health precautions like mask wearing if they are told that it is normal, for now at least. It’s just common sense isn’t it. You tell them that it’s not normal then they’re less likely to protect themselves and others.

Mute Michael Bodycoach
    Favourite Michael Bodycoach
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:27 PM

@JedBartlett: go to Japan if you think its not normal. They consider it a courtesy to others as do their children

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:41 PM

@Elaine Phelan: You obviously don’t have your own children so please keep your parenting tips to yourself. You have no idea what you’re talking about

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:52 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: during the spate of Islamist bombings a few years ago, we were all talking about how Muslim women who wear the veil in public were violating the Western tradition where the full face is exposed in social situations. How things have changed! Covering the face is not ‘normal’ and we will have lost something very important when it comes to interacting with other people if it ever becomes ‘normal’.

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:56 PM

@Lee King Buckett: the article said there was ‘evidence’ that far-right anti-covid groups were involved, but didn’t bother to give any details. Assertions made without evidence can be denied without evidence.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:58 PM

@Squarepeg01: first world problem though. We’re in the midst of a global health emergency. If kids have to be told that wearing masks is normal in order to protect the health of others then they should be told that it’s normal. As soon as this thing is under control then they can lift the mask. We’re not talking about gas masks here, it’s just a light material covering the mouth and nose.

Mute john smith iv
    Favourite john smith iv
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:15 PM

@Dearbhla O Reilly: the whole far right thing is a moral panic. When historically have the far right opposed authoritarianism? Opposition to masks, restrictions and lockdowns is petty individualism, sometimes anti corporatism, sometimes it’s just loss of income. By and large I supported all measures, although the vaccines are a disappointment, but the people who protest don’t really strike me as very radical. Just fed up.

Mute john smith iv
    Favourite john smith iv
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:22 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: the problem is that covid isn’t going away. It’s endemic now and subject to a lot of variants. There will never be a time where it’s not killing people though (unless we get a miracle anti viral) as that’s what endemic viruses do. So if we normalise mask wearing then it’s never going away.

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:26 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: as soon as this thing is under control… Haven’t you been paying attention? The vaccines were supposed to mark the end of the global health crisis, but they don’t work anywhere near as effectively as hoped – and neither do the masks unless they’re the N95 models. So we currently have NO official policy that will see us through to the end of the pandemic. It’s just ‘try this, try that, let’s see if this works’. But these ad hoc measures have only worked temporarily in the past. Can we not just deal with the fact that covid is going to be with us permanently and will ebb and flow and mutate like other established respiratory diseases. There is no point continuing a cure that at this point is likely worse than the disease.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:31 PM

@Michael Bodycoach: They also consider bowing to be a courtesy when greeting somebody. Should we adopt that too just because they do it in Japan?

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:18 PM

@JedBartlett: Easy. They all should wear masks.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:36 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: Nah, no need.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:25 PM

@JedBartlett: as usual your arguments are hilariously off the mark, jumping from one sound bite to another. Primary school children are the cohort with the highest percentage of unvaccinated. They have also had the highest amount of cases recently. To reduce the risk of them spreading it amongst themselves some action needs to be taken to limit their interactions. On a priority basis school and education was left alone except for some mask wearing.
    On a short term basis pantomimes and playdates are seen as a lesser priority. There really is no drama.
    Unless you doing nothing is better…of course you do.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:33 PM

@Damo: Who said anything about drama? Oh yeah, you did.

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:34 PM

@Damo: doing nothing IS better. So what if kids pass it among themselves? They don’t get ill from it. They might pass it on to Granny later, but then Granny should be vaccinated if she’s that worried.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:22 PM

@JedBartlett: great come back. Anything substantive to add to the tripe you’re going on with?

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:25 PM

@Squarepeg01: “Granny” and all her age are all vaccinated and they are still dying along with people with underlying conditions… dying daily.
    But hey a panto is way more important…
    ….you have a fairly compelling argument there alright… genius level stuff.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:34 PM

@Elaine Phelan: Really, what about kids with asthma, sensory issues, hearing issues, ocd, or many of the various issues that could preclude them from wearing masks, what are you going to do make them stay at home because if they don’t wear a mask all the other kids won’t want to wear a mask. Will you want exclude them from an education all because of a virus that doesn’t really affect them just to protect yourself. They have given up enough of their childhood already particularly children who are an only child separated from their friends for months because of this for some it’s their only form of social interaction with people their own age

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:57 PM

@Damo: I tend not to engage with people who claim there is no such thing a rhinovirus, which you proved you had never heard of in a previous back and forth we had. I gave up on you then.

From reading your comments since it seems you haven’t increased your knowledge store so there’s no point in entering a debate with you.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:22 PM

@JedBartlett: poor Jed… still thinking (and lying) about something that happened months ago? Did it really hurt that much to be schooled? :)
    Care to add anything to your latest stellar argument?
    Just so you can remember this one too…

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:26 PM

@JedBartlett: I was actually thinking that lol. We ARE all anti covid. What dum.bass thought that one up lol.

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:13 PM

@Jim Smith: how do you have the audacity to say that to Elaine. She’s entitled to her opinion. It’s of no relevance whether she has children or not. There are no qualified scientists /virologists/doctors/immunologists here but it doesn’t stop everyone spouting out THEIR opinion. Some people should engage their brains before they start typing.

Mute Fred spins kdb
    Favourite Fred spins kdb
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:00 PM

@Anna Carr: i agree. As a parent, (i cringe when people prefix a sentence with that, but it seems apt here) it annoys me when people weaponise being a parent as if it automatically invalidates the opinion of those who may not. It does’nt, and makes us all seem insufferable.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:36 AM

Don’t mention packed south Dublin streets, bars and restaurants, revellers heaving their way toward that festive spirit. Good times.

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:56 AM

@thesaltyurchin: Why mention just South Dublin?

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:05 AM

@Mickety Dee: apologies. It’s just what I see, probs the same in every city to an extent.

Mute John brett
    Favourite John brett
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:59 AM

@thesaltyurchin: not a mention of the 40000 at the match the other night.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:02 AM

@John brett: or the Autumn rugby internationals.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:11 PM

@thesaltyurchin: Maybe go check HSE website out breaks in hospitality are way down the list. All are vaccinated or have covid free tests. So why use them as a scapegoat.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:36 PM

@Franny Ando: Thats we’re out here doing no? Scapegoating, begrudging, its the national pass-time.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:45 PM

@thesaltyurchin: Maybe for you:)

Mute Cian
    Favourite Cian
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:28 AM

I hope no parent follows this socialisation is a hugely important part of a child’s life even a few months of no interaction with piers can damage them for life.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Favourite Lee King Buckett
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:38 AM

@Cian: if the Piers to whom you refer is Piers Morgan then I respectfully disagree – everyone should limit their interaction with Piers Morgan.

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:41 PM

@Lee King Buckett: PM was spot on about Meghan Markel.

Mute billy bound
    Favourite billy bound
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:45 AM

And then there were 37k in the Aviva on Sunday. This ain’t going to work. Picking on the ones who have no say!
    Cowardly government

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:40 AM

Jesus! They will have them in cages next!

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:04 AM

@Dave Barrett: unlikely.

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:04 AM

@Dave Barrett: sure, because limiting playdates and asking them to wear masks is the same as putting kids in cages. Seriously?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:33 AM

@Elaine Phelan: Are you a parent of a child that age?

Mute SquintEastwood
    Favourite SquintEastwood
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:56 AM

@Elaine Phelan: Kids accept whatever their parents tell them is normal…put them in cages and be done with it..problem solved..it will be their NEW NORMAL

Mute Lorcan Barron
    Favourite Lorcan Barron
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:41 AM

@Dave Barrett: FAR RIGHT EXTREMISTS , cages the right place for them !!

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:33 PM

@SquintEastwood: are you honestly agreeing that asking kids to wear masks indoors is the same as putting kids in cages?

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:59 PM

@Elaine Phelan: so where would you draw the line? Mandatory vaccinations for kids before they can attend school? I never want it to get to that point.

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:03 PM

@Squarepeg01: your hyperbole does you no favours. We are only talking about wearing masks indoors, not cages or mandatory vaccines

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella

@Squarepeg01: that’s already happening with children receiving 6 in 1 vaccines between the ages of 2 months to 12 months. MMR similarly at 1 year. We can’t rule out a similar vaccine being required for Covid in the future.

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01

@GrumpyAulFella: kids need those other vaccines because they are for diseases they are actually at risk from. Covid poses no threat to them, but the vaccines may and has, so it is immoral to even consider vaccinating them just to protect others. Let those others protect themselves by taking the vaccine themselves

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:33 PM

@Elaine Phelan: GrumpyAulfella doesn’t seem to think it’s hyperbole and he’s on your side!

Mute Michael Cunningham
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:48 PM

@Lorcan Barron: Haha!

Mute xDemo17
    Favourite xDemo17
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:43 PM

@Elaine Phelan: how many kids have you got? I bet F A

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:27 PM

@Dave Barrett: lol I’ve been saying that for years hahaha!!!

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:14 PM

@Squarepeg01: didn’t see him mention cages

Mute Mark Trudgeon
    Favourite Mark Trudgeon
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:33 AM

“Hey, Taoiseach, leave them kids alone”

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:29 PM

@Mark Trudgeon: LOVE THAT SONG!!!! Except the mincing machine. Gave me nightmares for weeks lol

Mute Frainc Ó Broin
    Favourite Frainc Ó Broin
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:13 AM

No need for any changes with kids, they are together all day at school and after school play is just an extension of that. It’s winter anyway so kids are mostly at home anyway.

Mute EnKy
    Favourite EnKy
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:15 AM

https://www.thejournal.ie/telegram-parents-council-bombard-masks-covid-5615151-Nov2021/ Why are there no comments allowed on this article? I’d be interested to hear. “Anti-Covid Groups”- are we all not anti-covid?

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:49 AM

@EnKy: we must presume that they mean Covid deniers. The looney tunes who hassle people at vaccination centres, walk into shops seeking confrontations with staff over mask wearing then posting their heroics on social media, the yellow vest wearers marching through town shouting Freedom, as though they have been interned in Long Kesh, the ones who preach that Covid is a cold, that vaccines are a poison then smoke and drink themselves into oblivion, the ones that refuse to protect themselves and others and so facilitate the spread and mutation. You know, those people.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:59 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: So you mean the tiny minority adults that somehow dominate the discourse as though there’s a danger of them taking over?

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:11 AM

@JedBartlett: how many do you think there are Jed? We know that 10% of adults are not taking the vaccine. Scary and all as that is, I wonder how many of them fall into the denier bracket?

Mute Andy Dunn
    Favourite Andy Dunn
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:24 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: Believe it or not, the vast majority of people who are “anti covid” believe it is a real virus but just think that the governments response is way over the top. There is only a very, very small minority (of the minority) that don’t think it’s actually a real virus.

Mute EnKy
    Favourite EnKy
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:26 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: Why must we presume? Decent journalism or decent use of English wouldn’t require us to presume.

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:31 AM

@Andy Dunn: would reword it as “the vast majority of people who are “anti covid” believe it is a real virus but don’t believe that it will affect them and are selfish in not been willing to do anything to protect the people who are vulnerable “

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:02 PM

@Andy Dunn: where are you getting those numbers from? If about 300,000 adults are still not vaccinated, so essentially don’t believe that Covid is harmful, then how many of these are not taking the vaccine because of the govt’s response? The reality is that we don’t know how many are in the Nutty Professor club but based on previous marches, social media activity etc. it seems like a sizeable enough number.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:05 PM

@EnKy: totally agree. Bad choice of words so just pointing out the obvious.

Mute The Interloper (what/why)
    Favourite The Interloper (what/why)
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:44 PM

@Colm O’ Shea: Once more for the slow kid… The injection does not prevent transmission of the virus. You protect nobody else by getting injected.

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:53 PM

@The Interloper (what/why): and for the trolls: no doesn’t prevent (never claimed it did) but does reduce the time that you are effectively able to transmit the virus by 66%, which slows the spread and hopefully stops the health system been overwhelmed.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:07 PM

@Colm O’ Shea: Not to rain on your parade here but the health service has been overrun here for decades at this time of the year and if 120 people in ICU out of a population of 5 million is going to overrun the health service then the problem isn’t peoples behaviour or beliefs it’s the health service or more pointedly the people running the health service

Mute Frank Jasper
    Favourite Frank Jasper
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:22 PM

@GrumpyAulFella:
    To abbreviate – you mean M@rons!

Mute Terry Fagan VO
    Favourite Terry Fagan VO
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:38 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Well said.

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:37 AM

Kids almost no risk from covid let them get on with it

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:13 AM

@Paul Keenan: and of course their teachers are also kids and when they go home to their families they’re all kids also, same with their friends’ families too.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:33 AM

@Rob Gale: Kids are generally asymptomatic when infected and as with any virus, the asymptomatic are not the problem spreaders.
    Blaming kids/schools and demanding they wear masks is just another example of the scapegoating we love to indulge in. Makes us feel like we’re making a difference.
    The current spread is due to worthless covid certs and the false security they provide.

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Nov 30th 2021, 12:09 PM

@Rob Gale: And they are also vaccinated, for the love of God please think about how silly this is, the risk profile of covid is now completely different, do these teacher you are talking about only go to work?? Of course not, they are out with friends at the weekend where they are just as likely to pick it up

Mute aidanshaw
    Favourite aidanshaw
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:06 PM

@Will: when 95 per cent adults were vax in ireland those certs should have went, a lot more people would step forward for the vax if certs dropped.. Just this week we had 60 people test positive of a flight to amsterdam.. All had certs, etc..

Mute Yeti
    Favourite Yeti
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:18 AM

Pity they couldn’t or can’t follow their own advice. Golfgate Zappones bash the lost goes on. Destroying the will of the people. The mind boggles at times.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:38 PM

Perhaps I am reading this incorrectly, but doesn’t this mean that all the people that got vaccinated, based on one of the big selling points, so they could be issued a covid pass and enjoy the ability to travel on holidays without inconvenience, now have to get a test just like someone that is unvaccinated and doesn’t have a covid pass?

Mute Raymond Scott
    Favourite Raymond Scott
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:48 PM

@David Van-Standen: that is what it means.

Mute Ruth Colbert
    Favourite Ruth Colbert
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:36 PM

@David Van-Standen: yep, fuming at this – well they can shove their boosters & any follow on shots up their proverbial !

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:54 PM

@David Van-Standen: The vaccinations were not brought in so people could travel, they are hear to stop people getting seriously ill form the virus.. The negative PCR test before entering a country has been here for a long time….

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Nov 30th 2021, 7:27 PM

@David Van-Standen: oh sorry to burst your anti-vax bubble but that’s been the case for a long time for certain countries…you must be fuming now.

Mute Tim Walsh
    Favourite Tim Walsh
    Dec 1st 2021, 3:33 AM

@Damo: fuming? On the basis of that?? I doubt it

Mute Dougz
    Favourite Dougz
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:09 AM

“Hi Gardai, yeh myself and my mates are having a mad house party and there seems to be a children’s birthday party going on across the street. You couldn’t come down and shut it down, good man”

Mute O'Brien
    Favourite O'Brien
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:30 AM

It’s time for less Government.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Nov 30th 2021, 7:56 PM

@O’Brien: People need to behave responsibly for that to happen & there’s absolutely no sign of that!!!!

Mute Zlim Jody
    Favourite Zlim Jody
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:35 PM

So Donnelly was delighted to see the UK Gov exempt the common travel area for the UK’s flight restrictions a couple of days ago but then went ahead and now demand PCR tests for those coming from the Common Travel Area? Still happy for the economy to implode no matter what the cost.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:39 PM

@Zlim Jody: it’s a good thing that people coming from the UK need a test. Proof of negative test should have been a requirement all along no matter which country you were coming from.

Mute Theportobello
    Favourite Theportobello
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:01 PM

@Zlim Jody: quite – case rate in Ireland is way higher than the U.K!

Mute Theportobello
    Favourite Theportobello
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:03 PM

@Sam Harms: Belfast train is going to be very busy in the next few weeks!

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:03 PM

@Sam Harms: They’ll just fly into Belfast and get the trains south… There should be checks on the trains or at stations and mandatory isolation if they don’t have a negative pcr test. Make an example of a few and set down a marker.

Mute Tim Walsh
    Favourite Tim Walsh
    Dec 1st 2021, 3:18 AM

@Sam Harms: spoken with the righteousness of someone who travels little

Mute CMT
    Favourite CMT
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:09 PM

Fair play to the Irish Government once again battering the travel and aviation sector just as it starts to get back on it’s feet again. Back to square one again, hopefully it doesn’t last too long as many airlines are on their last legs as it is.

Mute John Peeters
    Favourite John Peeters
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:54 AM

This would be a very sad move if they decide to recommend reducing children mingling with each other outside of school. Haven’t they, as well as others endured enough? NPHET obviously don’t give a flying you know what. If the new variant is not as bad as delta, albeit more transmissible, what will the reasoning have been for this? I am vaccinated and waiting for the booster jab, but why doesn’t NPHET and the Government stop treating us like fools? They should focus on measures for those who refuse to be vaccinated. Not punish those otherwise

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:21 AM

@John Peeters: even with vaccines it’s recommended that people reduce contacts.
    Which would be preferable, reducing contacts for children or having covid rampant in schools and kids missing even more education?
    Kids don’t social distance and to expect them to is unrealistic.
    Dont disagree about additional measures on the unvaxxed but everyone has their part to play

Mute Chris Martin
    Favourite Chris Martin
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:24 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: Why just the unvaxxed though? Why not everyone who is irresponsible with their health and takes up an ICU bed because of it?

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:58 AM

@John Peeters: wow. You do realize that vaccination doesn’t prevent transmission don’t you?

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:17 AM

@Chris Martin: because in the context of this conversation, 10% of the population is taking up 60% of the icu resources.
    Never said anything about not treating them but for some people they won’t take the vaccine due to laziness and if that population were made slightly uncomfortable then it might spur them to be socially responsible and get the vaccine.
    Within a society people have rights and responsibilities

Mute Squarepeg01
    Favourite Squarepeg01
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:01 PM

@Colm O’ Shea: kids don’t get ill from covid so why should they be restricted? Especially since nobody has an endgame in mind for this pandemic, which means everybody will be ‘playing their part’ forever. At least with a war, you fight until the enemy wins or surrenders. Covid is never going to surrender. There will never be zero covid, except in some isolated corners of the world like New Zealand, and then only temporarily. It’s here to stay.

Mute Ian O Hara
    Favourite Ian O Hara
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:40 PM

Why is the headline about travel, and then waffles on about kid’s, is a pcr or antigen test needed when travelling from the UK. 90% of the article is about nothing to do with the headline.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:46 PM

@Ian O Hara: trying to find this out myself. Due to fly to Manchester tomorrow and back Friday. Want to know if i need to change my flight through Belfast or not. Joking before anyone loses their proverbial…

Mute Aileen Byrne
    Favourite Aileen Byrne
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:55 PM

@Ian O Hara: they added on the bit about travel later… it was originally about the kids..

Mute Laura Ni Hearga
    Favourite Laura Ni Hearga
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:58 PM

@Ian O Hara: PCR or professional antigen test. Most airports are doing both now.

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:20 AM

Weird that ignoring schools completely, not giving them protection, removing contact tracing and closing their eyes and saying “kids aren’t a part of this” didn’t work. Mad that it turns out kids are human too and covid is a virus that passes thru all humans. Still, a two year learning time is pretty good for our great government.

Mute Mike Quinlan
    Favourite Mike Quinlan
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:05 PM

Demonising the kids again. Was standing in a queue at Covid test centre in the bitter cold with 5 year old child (symptomatic due to tonsillitis). The lady in front kept looking back at him as the long queue inched forward (he was maintaining distance and well-behaved) and shuffling away from us as if he had the plague! I thought everyone going into Covid test centre for PCR was a probable positive case. Ironically, while my child had been isolating at home for three days awaiting the test, she was laden down with bags from nearby Dundrum Town Centre. We can’t go back to this irrational fear of kids!

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:36 PM

@Mike Quinlan: so you encountered one person at a test centre that behaved like a clown and you’ve arrived at the conclusion that we’re all in fear of kids? Get off the fkin stage..

Mute Michael Creagh
    Favourite Michael Creagh
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:16 AM

Stop with this nonsense now, innocence should be treasured not discouraged.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:40 AM

Limiting children’s interactions inside the classroom is being discussed too?

Mute Liam Mycroft
    Favourite Liam Mycroft
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:47 PM

Question. As someone who has recently recovered from Covid, and for global travel was told that a Certificate of Recovery was necessary as against a pcr, can anyone confirm if this us still the case, as pcr’s for recently recovered patients can show positive. There seems to be no mention of these in the reports….

Mute Aileen Byrne
    Favourite Aileen Byrne
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:56 PM

@Liam Mycroft: wondering the same..due to travel soon myself…

Mute Liam Mycroft
    Favourite Liam Mycroft
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:12 PM

@Aileen Byrne: can’t find any information regarding this. Due to travel next week, and was told to cancel my pcr that i had booked, which I did, and have the cert of recovery. Now, totally unclear…

Mute Aileen Byrne
    Favourite Aileen Byrne
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:06 PM

@Liam Mycroft: I’m wondering will a ‘professional’ antigen test suffice. I think that an antigen test just shows active infection.. can’t find any information either. Gov.ie just seems to have avoided the area of international travel..

Mute Aileen Byrne
    Favourite Aileen Byrne
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:10 PM
    Mute Liam Mycroft
    Favourite Liam Mycroft
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:24 PM

@Aileen Byrne: Thanks Aileen. God knows what will be happening by the time I’m coming back in January, but as it stands I have to get an antigen test done professionally, (in Argentina), and then hope my flights don’t get delayed, as my total travel time is 35 hours, including a 12 lay over in New York. Should be fun….

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:41 AM

It’s very hypocritical to ask children to attend school with up to 30+ in their class but they can’t interact with friends outside school.

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:00 AM

@Dwayne Jordan: why not open the night clubs during school hours and have the children go to classes there. Also they could ban pubs from selling booze until 4pm and use them as classrooms till then.

Mute Louise Tracey
    Favourite Louise Tracey
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:33 AM

I hope they don’t cancel visiting Santa!

Mute Frank Jasper
    Favourite Frank Jasper
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:17 PM

UK introduce restrictions earlier in the week – Leo welcomes the the fact that the CTA is excluded.
    We should be reciprocating likewise or risk looking petty
    The variant is almost certainly here already and AstraZeneca have said today that no reason to think that the vaccine inefective against the new variant

Mute James
    Favourite James

Sending your child indoors I to school is perfectly safe but sending your child outdoors is dangerous!!who makes up these rules? honestly

Mute Michael Clair
    Favourite Michael Clair
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:44 PM

We have had 3 long lockdowns, 96% vaccination, cocooning/isolation, mandatory hotel and home isolation, travel restrictions, mask wearing, hand sanitation etc. My question is ‘what makes anyone think that doing the same again is going to end any different?’

Mute Maria Clery-Breen
    Favourite Maria Clery-Breen
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:59 AM

ridiculous,,,mixing in classrooms with up to thirty other kids ,,then stay home and not mix,,,,
    Close the pubs and nightclubs , it’s not the kids it’s the 20 to 30s that are the problem.

Mute Mar Bour
    Favourite Mar Bour
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:30 PM

@Maria Clery-Breen: Jaysus luck in 31 or I’d be very pissed off with that comment. Clown.

Mute Mar Bour
    Favourite Mar Bour
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:30 PM

@Maria Clery-Breen: Jaysus lucky Im 31 or I’d be very peed off with that comment. Clown.

Mute whitewater
    Favourite whitewater
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:30 PM

But I thought antigen tests were shnake oil?

Mute Mike Quinlan
    Favourite Mike Quinlan
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:04 PM

Demonising the kids again. Was standing in a queue at Covid test centre in the bitter cold with 5 year old child (symptomatic due to tonsillitis). The lady in front kept looking back at him as the long queue inched forward (he was maintaining distance and well-behaved) and shuffling away from us as if he had the plague! U though everyone going into Covid test centre for PCR was a probable positive case. Ironically, while my child had been isolating at home for three days awaiting the test, she was laden down with bags from nearby Dundrum Town Centre. We can’t go back to this irrational fear of kids!

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:04 PM

So I’ve been planning to go to the UK to visit my son shortly firstly Simon Coveney welcomed the fact that no PCR was required to travel within the cta a few days ago. Now you need a PCR test on return to Ireland. So you’d actually need to try book a test before departure in the area your staying then waste part of your break queuing and getting a test and hope you get the results in time before you depart so that you can show them on arrival in Dublin. If you take an antigen test how are the results confirmed and do you have to book at test in advance also.

Mute John Mcananey
    Favourite John Mcananey
    Nov 30th 2021, 7:44 PM

So I’m double vaxxed and have had covid and I need a test to go on holidays, complete joke

Mute molly
    Favourite molly
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:00 PM

Demonising kids for this inept governments failings AGAIN!! Absolutely sickening.
    The most recent data I can find online states that >18 year olds account for 72% of cases!!
    Are this government aware that covid certs are being abused on a grand scale, and not even checked at all in many cases!!
    Pubs are full, nightclubs are full, scenes from around the country last week of students having their Christmas jumper days, Aviva stadium at 37k attendance etc etc etc
    And then there’s the adults who are awaiting covid results, or have already been told they are positive but are not isolating!!
    But hey let’s go after the small kids who’s lives have been turned upside down by this. Most of the kids who started primary school over last 2 years have never known what ‘normal’ school life is like.

Nov 30th 2021, 2:38 PM

@molly Most of the kids who started primary school over last 2 years have never known what ‘normal’ school life is like.
    I was talking to a woman whose kid is in junior class and she came home the other day saying that she didn’t know what her teacher looks like. That’s mental.

Mute molly
    Favourite molly
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:49 PM

@John: Yes it’s absolutely insane. My eldest started Juniors in 2020. I never saw her classroom. No Christmas concert. No summer outings. Parents not allowed at sports days. No after school activities within the school. And contrary to that muppet Donnellys rubbish – no parties either. It’s actually incredibly sad.

Mute Gina Clifford
    Favourite Gina Clifford

The Government has reached a new low ( if that was possible) blaming the children due to their own incompetence. An absolute disgrace restricting young innocent children after all their sacrifices over the last 2 years. DISGUSTING. Mr Donnelly you are a absolute joke!! Cannot wait to see Mary Lous Government in the next election.

Mute Sarah Lou
    Favourite Sarah Lou
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:42 PM

@Gina Clifford: I was with you until you brought in Mary Lou, who has been exceptionally quiet on the current restrictions on children. I cant believe the government are attempting to cancel childhood while all other cohorts can roam free for want of a better wording. Why cant they just give us advise on how to do things as safely as possible and leave it up to the individual.

Mute Sean Mccabe
    Favourite Sean Mccabe
    Nov 30th 2021, 1:42 PM

@Gina Clifford: were did you see the word blame being mentioned.you have summised that in your own head.the government are trying to mitigate the risks without having to close the schools what would you have them do as of rite now.the numbers show there’s huge numbers of kids becoming infected so without closing schools this is a way of trying to reduce there mixing.yes they mix in school but would you not agree being in the classroom is essential for there development,missing playdates for a few weeks isn’t.as for Mary lou getting into power il believe it when I see it ,sinn fein promise the world without figures to back it up

Mute Gina Clifford
    Favourite Gina Clifford
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:01 PM

@Sean Mccabe: Sean yes I do agree that children need to be at school it is essential for all areas of their development but the government’s approach to restricting what they can do outside of school is not the answer. There is already almost 2 years of their young lives restricted which they will never get back . Yes children are getting the virus but thankfully based on statistics not many are getting sick or ending up in hospital.
    The Government at this stage have apportioned an element of blame on most cohorts of society at this stage re the spread of the virus, all the time deflecting away from the main issue here which is not the spread of the covid but the lack of ICU beds available this time every year covid or no covid.

Mute Gina Clifford
    Favourite Gina Clifford
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:03 PM

@Sarah Lou: I agree Sarah with proper advice we should be able to make our own informed decision on whether it is safe or not and decide accordingly. Ar this stage with over 90 % vaccinated and some with boosters we should be able to do that.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:43 PM

@Sarah Lou: but adults have also been advised to limit contacts and work from home to decrease their chance of becoming infected. And they have given plenty of advice on how to be safe, people just choose to ignore it.

Mute Sarah Lou
    Favourite Sarah Lou
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:52 PM

@Sam Harms: But Sam we are 4 weeks off 2 years of covid. If people wish to ignore the advise that is up to them. At this stage if people wish to have covid parties…. that is up to them. Much better than saying kids shouldnt have play dates or birthday parties, why not say if you are having a birthday party do a risk assessment of the invite list, look at venue options, is it possible to bring a smaller number to an outdoor venue rather than larger number to an indoor venue. Is it possible to keep the group to people you are already in daily contact with ie classmates, dont have vulnerable grandparents at the kids party, see the grandparents before the party not after. Wait x days before mixing with high risk people if you have been in a play centre, school, uncontrolled indoor environment. Why is it all or nothing, why do we have to be told what to do?? I dont understand it. People should 2 years in be able to make informed decisions and take educated risks. I also can not believe anyone is arguing that its ok to cancel childhood. Kids are kids once.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:28 PM

@Sarah Lou: it’s easy to say “it’s up them” when they aren’t the ones looking after people who end up in hospital. It’s also easy to say people should make informed decisions and take educated risks but the reality is that most people won’t do that. Nobody is cancelling childhood for god sake, we have all had to sacrifice things over the past two years.

Mute Sarah Lou
    Favourite Sarah Lou
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:35 PM

@Sam Harms: Sam it is 3 weeks before the xmas holidays for kids and they have advised aside from in school they are not to see friends, attend festivities, pantos, christmas plays, parties … need I go on. That is cancelling childhood. What can they do? Go to school and go home. What about kids who are the only children in the house, do they just sit in the corner and wait for the government to give them permission to see their friends. Socialising is a huge part of child development. Social isolation is a huge issue for a developing child. Placing restrictions on children who are at very little risk of hospitalisation, severe illness and death, while simultaneously leaving nightclubs, pubs etc open is the singly most ridiculous thing I have heard to date…..”for gods sake” to quote yourself.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:05 PM

@Sarah Lou: last time I check advising people to reduce social contacts doesn’t mean they can’t see anyone at all. It means limit the amount of people you do see. Nothing is being forced it’s advice, it’s exactly the same as the advice for adults to limit their social contacts. If you want to bring your child to a panto then bring them nobody is going to stop you, the government are advising not to because of the increase in cases in younger children.

Mute Sarah Lou
    Favourite Sarah Lou
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:30 PM

@Sam Harms: so you are advocating that I go against the advise and make decisions for myself…..while arguing my original comment that people need to make their own decisions…. interesting.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2021, 11:27 PM

@Sarah Lou: not advocating that at all, I’m merely pointing out to you that what they have said is advice and so they aren’t “cancelling childhood” as you suggested, as you are still free to do what you want with your children.

Mute Mick Dunne
    Favourite Mick Dunne
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:24 PM

Why should the children have to suffer because of the government’s imcompatance

Mute Brian Rodgers
    Favourite Brian Rodgers
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:05 PM

To try and tell people that 9,10 and 11 year old are spreading Covid more than other kids just to suit their mask wearing agenda is absolutely bonkers. They really must think we came down in the last shower. I despair

Mute Proudly Italian
    Favourite Proudly Italian
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:04 PM

Don;t they realize therer are a lot of residents here, whose family are not living in Ireland? My kids already missed last Xmas with the Grand parents, now what? I have to add my budget 200 eur for testing everyone back. I hope they get the sense of this, and leave Xmas alone for everyone

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2021, 9:02 PM

@Proudly Italian: you mean like last Christmas when we ended up with months of restrictions due to the massive increase in cases.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:35 PM

So if you leave ireland and come back within 72 hrs, your negative test from before you left is good to re enter???? Some logic in that

Mute Frank Jasper
    Favourite Frank Jasper
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:58 PM

Prefer to hearing that we were having a Booster by jan 30th as Bojo just announced in uk , instead – all we get are platitudes.

when are we going to learn to live with this?
    I work in UK a lot and this is going to hurt.

Mute Genera L Consensus
    Favourite Genera L Consensus
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:18 PM

Im flying to UK next week. Staying over night and flying back the next day, Do I need a test? fully vacc, thanks

Mute Raymond Scott
    Favourite Raymond Scott
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:47 PM

@Genera L Consensus: yes. As you must know by now, fully vacc means j*ck all transmission wise.

Mute Joe Clancy
    Favourite Joe Clancy
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:56 PM

@Genera L Consensus: im flying Thursday home Friday love to know myself cant see anything online

Mute Joe Clancy
    Favourite Joe Clancy
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:57 PM

@Genera L Consensus:

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:29 PM

@Joe Clancy: Same here can find no bloody information. Trying to book an antigen test today and everywhere booked out!!!

Mute Genera L Consensus
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:50 PM

@Franny Ando: Booked myself a private PCR test for day before I leave, will be back within 72 hours

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Nov 30th 2021, 2:44 PM

When they say Friday, does anyone know if they mean midnight Friday night / sat morning or midnight Thursday night / fri morning?

Mute MyDreamEscapade
    Favourite MyDreamEscapade
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:07 PM

Does the negative result include residents coming home from vacation?

Mute Niamh Brady
    Favourite Niamh Brady
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:20 PM

@MyDreamEscapade: Yes, anyone entering the country regardless of where or why you were away.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:52 PM

@Niamh Brady: is that not a bit presumptuous? Wait for the announcement I’d say. You could be right but then again it might not be applicable to the common travel area (the UK). You need the same to enter the UK from all other countries except Ireland. I expect that will go both ways.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:58 PM

@Eoin Jackson: RTE are reporting that the negative test requirement applies to arrivals from all countries including Britain.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:54 PM

@Sam Harms: ah balls

Mute Tim Walsh
    Favourite Tim Walsh
    Dec 1st 2021, 3:29 AM

@Eoin Jackson: the guy who supplied you that information is delighted to pass it on (based on the tone of earlier posts) fot what it’s worth I offer my commiserations

Mute PW
    Favourite PW
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:30 PM

How much is the fine?

Mute Joan Gaw
    Favourite Joan Gaw
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:22 PM

Going to London on Wednesday back late Friday..where do I get a professionally administered antigen test in London? Or can I do it myself?

Mute Genera L Consensus
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:47 PM

@Joan Gaw: there are places at Heathrow and Stansted to book online. I’m going for 1 day and doing the PCR here before I go

Mute Laura Ni Hearga
    Favourite Laura Ni Hearga
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:01 PM

@Joan Gaw: most airports are doing them now.

Mute Baile na Rí
    Favourite Baile na Rí
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:03 PM

An open border – what could possibly go wrong?

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Nov 30th 2021, 4:34 PM

Whatever the argument for masking your kids up (really don’t see the problem, no different from making them wear a seatbelt in a car or plane, washing hands after going to the loo, brushing their teeth, putting on sunscreen to prevent burning and cancer, wearing a cycling helmet etc etc etc….be a bloody parent!), just please please make sure your kids get a decent well rounded education!

Because going by the large volume of eejits commenting on here it seems your kids will need every bit of help they need to break away from the absolute ignorance and idiocy they are experiencing from their parents!

An education from Facebook, YouTube and Telegram IS NOT AN EDUCATION, ITS FEAR BASED BRAINWASHING!

Mute Philip Keaveney
    Favourite Philip Keaveney
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:28 PM

I’m here purely for the comments!

Mute Tim Walsh
    Favourite Tim Walsh
    Nov 30th 2021, 8:35 PM

What about a covid recovery pass for people who have had it recently??

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Nov 30th 2021, 5:51 PM

A full week after Boris. Micheal needs to wake up

Mute Self Employed Anarchist
    Favourite Self Employed Anarchist
    Nov 30th 2021, 3:50 PM

Read “ advisory “ as “ spineless “

Mute Mike Dunne
    Favourite Mike Dunne
    Nov 30th 2021, 10:45 PM

Oh well. I’ll just have to fly into Belfast then.

Mute Bidser
    Favourite Bidser
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:06 PM

Sad to read this.. It wouldn’t be a problem if adults behaved responsibly

Mute Bidser
    Favourite Bidser
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:07 PM

Mute Bidser
    Favourite Bidser

Mute Bidser
    Favourite Bidser

Mute Burt Macklin
    Favourite Burt Macklin
    Nov 30th 2021, 6:48 PM

The government know we all forget very quickly, hence the change in policy on a regular basis.
    If it was a case of doing what’s right (masks for all, distancing and sanitizer) we’d be back to bad habits withing a few weeks. So new directions every few weeks keeps us all on our toes.

Mute Billy Donovan
    Favourite Billy Donovan
    Dec 1st 2021, 8:30 AM

Hold on, were we not required to have this anyway? FFS
    Kids have to wear a mask in school someone can jump on a plane, without proof of being negative for COVID possibly infect all on the plane and then continue to spread it.