You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Reilly apologises for 'stick to the day job' remark to singing nurse

It’s not been the best week for the Minister for Health…

HEALTH MINISTER JAMES Reilly was forced to apologise to a nurse who sang as he left the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation (INMO) conference yesterday when he remarked “stick to the day job”.

After arriving to the silent treatment, the Minister’s speech to the conference had been relatively well received having joked about his fall earlier in the week and announced the appointment of a chief nursing officer, drawing applause from delegates.

But the mood changed as Reilly concluded his speech and departed the conference hall in Letterkenny with nurse Bolatito Aderemi, 61, singing “all we are saying, is enough is enough” which prompted Reilly to quip: “Stick to the day job”.

The incident can be seen here from 6 minutes and 15 seconds in.

The remark drew criticism from nurses and Reilly later revealed how he defused the matter by meeting privately with Aderemi and apologising to her:

YouTube: IRLINMO

INMO president: Reilly “has shown little or no regard” for nurses, midwives

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

78 Comments
    Mute Peter Sullivan
    Favourite Peter Sullivan
    May 11th 2013, 12:46 PM

Was that really such an offensive comment?

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    May 11th 2013, 12:50 PM

Agreed. It’s one of those throwaway comments Irish people make without even realising it.

Mute Big Pat
    Favourite Big Pat
    May 11th 2013, 12:51 PM

When it is anyone else, no.

When it’s the Minister for Health, How dare he?!

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute CD
    Favourite CD

None of the coverage of this incident has assessed whether it was sound advise or not…

Mute Liam Kennedy
    Favourite Liam Kennedy

Maybe she really has a poor singing voice ;-)

Mute mark mccormack
    Favourite mark mccormack
    May 11th 2013, 12:56 PM

When the line is delivered by a pompous baffon , that has an utter contempt for everyone, then its a problem.He should stick to the day job.And thats not ministering. Investing in property or is he out of stubbs yet

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle

I heard her singing on radio 1 news, first time I agree with him, she should stick to day job – no big deal as a comment. A few anal retentive hyper sensitive eejits complaining.

Mute Rick MacRory
    Favourite Rick MacRory
    May 11th 2013, 12:57 PM

No it was a humorous comment and the lady concerned was being seriously rude. But of course that’s par for the course with PS employees and their Unions. Serious bad manners to invite a guest and then treat him in that fashion . The Caring Profession my ass.

Mute Peter Sullivan
    Favourite Peter Sullivan
    May 11th 2013, 12:59 PM

100% agree. SPOT ON RICK MACRORY

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    May 11th 2013, 1:00 PM

You can’t call all public sector workers rude based on your interpretation of one persons actions. Frankly I don’t think there’s any story here, in her actions or his.

Mute Sharon Kelly
    Favourite Sharon Kelly
    May 11th 2013, 1:09 PM

It’s not really fair to generalise about the whole public sector, slightly unfair no? Having worked in public sector for 12 years I have encountered a few rude people yes but I have also have had the pleasure of working with some fantastic staff too!

Mute Ollie O Sullivan
    Favourite Ollie O Sullivan
    May 11th 2013, 1:18 PM

Obviously you love this government and have a disliking to the PS , ignorance is bliss

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    May 11th 2013, 1:29 PM

Have the Journal.ie, anything better to report on?

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    May 11th 2013, 2:17 PM

This should be in The Daily Edge!

Fair play to her for singing her protest , good on her, and she accepted O’Reilly’s apology so no big deal one way or the other.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    May 11th 2013, 2:31 PM

That nurse, and whoever is winding her up should take a chill pill , if she was smart enough to sing her protest she should be able for his response which was well timed witty and so Irish . We all want give and take , so don’t give it if you can’t take it, and in my opinion and I’m no fan if calamity James. No apology was necessary.

Mute Niall Boylan @ Night
    Favourite Niall Boylan @ Night
    May 11th 2013, 4:02 PM

Whatever about his suitability for the job, this is nit picking at best. It’s a common inoffensive cliche. The people who complained need to get over themselves.

Mute Georgie Burgess
    Favourite Georgie Burgess
    May 11th 2013, 10:48 PM

A1 Sharon.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    May 12th 2013, 4:27 AM

Well it’s another example of arrogance from a man who is supposed to be serving our nation.

Mute Dylan Ryan
    Favourite Dylan Ryan

She should be apologizing to him…..this whole heckling business is immature and not remotely constructive!

Mute Genius
    Favourite Genius
    May 11th 2013, 1:07 PM

Your FG membership renewal notice is in the post Dylan. Imagine Heckling the poor guy, he must be devastated.

Mute JOSE
    Favourite JOSE
    May 11th 2013, 1:35 PM

If politicians don’t want to be heckled then they should start with themselves, have you ever seen the carry on in the Dail?

Mute Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh
    May 11th 2013, 5:13 PM

Constructive criticism: Yes. Heckling: No. There is never an excuse for rudeness – even Hitler would have deserved to be treated with appropriate respect before being shot in the head.

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power

The nurse in question is going the wrong way if she takes ‘serious’ offence to the comment in the belief that it will serve their cause. O Reilly is an ass clown but the nurses will come off worse if they try to capitalise on this off-hand remark.

Mute nocturnal paramedic
    Favourite nocturnal paramedic

Lets face it, he was right!! She couldn’t sing…

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    May 11th 2013, 1:23 PM

Clearly she likes to dish it out but cant take it.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    May 11th 2013, 2:19 PM

What are you talking about? He apologised and she accepted it.

Mute Galwaybay
    Favourite Galwaybay
    May 11th 2013, 1:00 PM

He was dead right to tell her stick to the day job. If I was to heckle and be that down right mannered to my boss I’d soon be picking up my p45

Mute Eamonn Hammond
    Favourite Eamonn Hammond
    May 11th 2013, 2:16 PM

I am by no means a fan of his, but seriously, that is not an offensive comment, it is a quip used in everyday life in this country to lighten the mood, the idea that he had to apologise is even ridiculous… Just saying.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    May 11th 2013, 12:52 PM

I wish he’d stuck to the day job. Bottler is notorious for his brusqueness, procrastination, and inactivity.

On the contrary, his medical practise was highly successful.

Mute Peter Sullivan
    Favourite Peter Sullivan
    May 11th 2013, 1:06 PM

Inactivity is very accurate. I sent a detailed cost saving measure that would save conservatively 180 million if applied. Just a generic reply. Never considered. It was simply introducing a 10 euros charge per physio visit in public system for those who could pay

Mute Gary Curran Himself
    Favourite Gary Curran Himself

Sadly Peter your suggestion was inappropriately logical and far too pragmatic for a governmental department to consider . Anyway no idea is worth anything unless the egomaniacs have thunk it up themselves or more importantly if it is politically expedient

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock

If he didn’t keep Enda in his job, he’d have been gone a long time ago.

Mute Pharmyco
    Favourite Pharmyco
    May 11th 2013, 12:53 PM

Won’t help the nurse get a recording contract either way.

Mute Brian O'Grady
    Favourite Brian O'Grady
    May 11th 2013, 2:48 PM

Jes give the guy a break how times a week do we say that to some, he was obviously just trying to have a bit of craic, where is the sense of humor gone.

Mute Conor McGuinness
    Favourite Conor McGuinness
    May 11th 2013, 1:50 PM

Another non-story by RTÉ, picked up by The Journal. The magnification of this story above actual news and analysis from the INMO conference offers a nice smokescreen to hide the nurses’ and midwives’ legitimate criticisms of the health service, the Government, the cuts and Reilly.
    As someone who has worked as a news cameraman I know how theses ‘stories’ are crafted and facilitated by reporters ‘in the moment’. The narratives are contrived and fueled by reporters, and without their manipulation wouldn’t be stories at all. We all know there are more important issues relating to our health system, and that the INMO have been to the fore in addressing them, but this non-story obscures those, solicits some kind of sympathy for Reilly, and portrays nurses not as medical professionals with important insights into the workings, and non-workings of the health service, but as haughty and overly sensitive spoilsports.
    Was Reilly’s comment offensive? Well that is subjective. Is it important that his comment may or may not have been offensive, or that it was even uttered? Not really. Of far more salience, and a much better sign of his disrespect and indifference to nurses and midwives and the people they care for, is his mismanagement of the health service, his skewed priorities in terms of health planning and spending, his government’s cuts to vital health supports, and his government’s attacks on wages, conditions and recruitment.

Mute Elizabeth Gibson
    Favourite Elizabeth Gibson
    May 11th 2013, 12:53 PM

Might I suggestion O’Reilly that he go back to his day job because he just seems to be making an absolute Haimes of his current one.

Mute Gary Curran Himself
    May 11th 2013, 1:09 PM

Elizabeth he wouldn’t be welcome back into a profession he has destroyed since taking office- he would be run out of it and I would be leading the charge . There are plenty examples of his porcine ways , this is probably not one of them even if it was a flippant comment . Ironically he is probably hoping that she does stick to her day job because nobody would take any of the new jobs they are offering in nursing anyways .

Mute Elizabeth Gibson
    May 11th 2013, 1:48 PM

Gary, was he not in private practice before politics. I agree with your point if he were to go to work in a hospital again, I would love to be a fly on the wall if that scenario ever presented itself. I also agree that it was a flippant remark but I don’t think he is in a position to deliver such a remark considering the piss poor job he is doing. Was the protestor right with their actions? No, but two wrongs don’t make a right and this man should just learn when to shut up.

Mute Gary Curran Himself
    May 11th 2013, 2:41 PM

He was a GP Elizabeth in a large urban practice and as a GP I wouldn’t welcome him back . I’m not going to whine about the disproportionality of his cuts etc because I think everyone has that argument nowadays though they are real , but for someone who had this grand vision for health 3 years ago , his journey to reform is full of contradictions and unrealistic promises . Both he and Harney ( O’Reilly-lite) will guarantee that the Irish Health Service will be the most understaffed medically while emigrating contemporaries will enjoy better training , working conditions and remuneration elsewhere . O Reilly is full of pomp , bombast and promise but the reality is those on the ground have to keep reminding service users to keep expectations low regarding a reform that will be meaningful to them

Mute Elizabeth Gibson
    May 11th 2013, 3:50 PM

Just to be clear here Gary, you and I are both singing off the same sheet here (day job or not;)). The only thing I am not in agreement with you on is that Reilly is Harney-lite but that he is merely the male version of the same persona.

Mute Gary Curran Himself
    May 11th 2013, 5:30 PM

Like the day or night job comment . I guess I see O Reilly and Harney as two halves of the same rotten egg . Both obviously have different identities , but both promised much reform but in dismantling the health service they forgot about building it back up stronger , more streamlined etc . O’Reilly is a poacher turned game keeper which makes him marginally the more repugnant . But Mary brought all her dubious business credentials to successive governments and finally into health and tried to operate it as a business . We all saw what low tax PD policy brought is to . Her FEMPI put us both inside and outside of Croker allowing cuts at her whim and O Reilly has pursued her agenda along with his own business type model for free Health care which like PD tax policy will be consigned to the bin in a few years .

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    May 11th 2013, 8:19 PM

Wait…Mary Harney was a woman? Since when?

As for James Reilly…I think most of us hoped, against hope, that as a Doctor, the guy would know what is best for the patient and thus provide us with a far greater health service. But no, the guy is one of the worst health ministers we have had since Micheal Martin.
    I still maintain Martin was the worst of the health ministers we have had. Harney was bad, I will not dispute that, for a minute, but alot of the crap she had to try and fix was caused by Martin.
    Reilly just seems to be compounding the entire crud, while looking out for himself and his friends.

Mute Conor Lambert
    Favourite Conor Lambert
    May 11th 2013, 12:52 PM

He’s the one who should go back to his day job.

Mute Rick MacRory
    Favourite Rick MacRory
    May 11th 2013, 12:55 PM

Conor
    You should apologise !

Mute Tom Lewis
    Favourite Tom Lewis
    May 12th 2013, 4:26 PM

Doctor, i wouldn’t let him near my dog

Mute Lucy
    Favourite Lucy
    May 11th 2013, 1:07 PM

If he’s telling her to stick to the day job then she should be relieved that her job is safe ;)

Mute everlast mccarthy
    Favourite everlast mccarthy
    May 11th 2013, 1:37 PM

‘Stick to the day job… Until of course I make sure you don’t have it anymore’

Mute Peter Sullivan
    Favourite Peter Sullivan
    May 11th 2013, 2:05 PM

@everlast Now that would have been interesting if he said that!! How about a cage fight JAMES REILLY v LIAM DORAN

Mute John Aldridge
    Favourite John Aldridge
    May 11th 2013, 2:53 PM

“It’s not been the best week for the Minister for Health”, says your sub-head.
    Can anyone remember any good week he has had?

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    May 11th 2013, 8:10 PM

@John Aldridge

The Week before he started the job.

Mute Michele Savage
    Favourite Michele Savage
    May 12th 2013, 6:52 AM

And the best week he will have is when his term is over abs that pension kicks in

Mute Ollie O Sullivan
    Favourite Ollie O Sullivan
    May 11th 2013, 1:15 PM

Jesus christ whats peoples problem generalising all pubkic sector as the same job, fair enough there is alot of 9-5 office jobs but tell thay to the gardai and nurses who work night shift bank holidays xmas day , when everyone was gettin big pay rises in the celtic tiger public sector workers got fk all , as for this government and its spin doctors they havent a fkn clus whats going on

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    May 11th 2013, 2:06 PM

Are u kidding? The PS didn’t benefit from benchmarking during the boom, ie you got a pay rise simply because you were in a role? Didnt hear much complaining out of the PS ….. Benchmarking shouldn’t be like rents…. Upward only

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    May 11th 2013, 3:35 PM

Well said, Ollie. All workers should stick together and not fall into traps designed to divide us.

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    May 11th 2013, 1:05 PM

Stick to the day job haha. Legend!!

Mute Mark Smartt
    Favourite Mark Smartt
    May 11th 2013, 1:23 PM

He’s an arrogant fat man that no doubt has to resort to stupid throw away remarks to compensate for a lack in other departments more than likely south of his belt buckle..

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    May 11th 2013, 2:24 PM

I wish he stuck to his day job as a doctor.

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    May 11th 2013, 4:21 PM

What does being fat have to do with it?

Mute Get Ta France
    Favourite Get Ta France

Christ he looks unhealthy!!

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    May 11th 2013, 2:31 PM

I genuinely can’t see the big deal with this. It was a dumb comment given the setting and the nurse in question certainly made the most of it. The conference was a missed opportunity to take that stroke merchant to the woodshop, can’t believe this was the headline.

Mute Michael Brady
    Favourite Michael Brady
    May 11th 2013, 2:17 PM

How many times had an article began with…it’s not been the best week for the Minister of Health?

Mute Brian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Brian O'Sullivan

I propose a one off The Voice of Ireland special, with the nurse and the Minister. Whoever wins gets to keep their day job :)

Mute Colm M
    Favourite Colm M
    May 11th 2013, 1:21 PM

This comment from this personification of arrogance and ignorance sums up tje attitude of FG towards those of us who provide VITAL public services. Minister Shatter jokes about closing Garda stations and then..thw day after a murdered Garda was laid to rest announces closure of 90! A junior minister refers to retained firefighters as “not real” firefighters…i think two families and station parties in Limerick & Bray would have a differant viewpoint! And their pets in Labour are no differant…Howlin issues the threats for his thatcherite masters.
    I am totally demoralised and have lost all confidence in my elected reps….i dream of a dail of Donnellys…who actually know and understand the concepts of government

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    May 11th 2013, 3:02 PM

O’Reilly is tough. He takes no BS from the INMO or other vested interested in the “Health Service”. The unions have succeeded for many years in stopping the necessary change required to make the system efficient. They attack the various health ministers rather than deal with the real issues. The result of this is we have a service more focused on the benefits of nurses and doctors rather than on the health of the patients.

When change is proposed then “we will go on strike” is threatened. So much for the Florence Nightingales!

As usual the public pays!

Mute Karin Liu Ryan
    Favourite Karin Liu Ryan
    May 11th 2013, 4:55 PM

Well said

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    May 11th 2013, 1:06 PM

At least he didn’t say “stick with the kebabs”.

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    May 11th 2013, 8:37 PM

Has Conor Lenihan ever lived that one down?

And didn’t another TD claim he di a Nazi salute or similar kind of gesture towards him on another occassion?

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    May 11th 2013, 9:27 PM

I believe it was Richard Bruton.

Mute Paul k
    Favourite Paul k
    May 12th 2013, 12:16 AM

Fair point sean ,but if I woke up after a night on the batter with Mary Lou I could live with that, if I woke up beside oreilly I’d be like your man Stephen rea in the crying game ( shower scene )

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    May 12th 2013, 11:14 PM

Strangely, my comment about Mary Lou’s weight gain was deleted…yet my comment about Mary Harney possibly not being a woman is still around.

Sorry, I just noted that when your comment was responding to a different comment of mine. I thought there had been some computing or software error. Looks more like my earlier post got the kibosh.

Ah well, I’m not bitter.

Mute Catherine McMahon
    Favourite Catherine McMahon

James!

You really should go back to your day job.

That is my diagnosis.

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    May 11th 2013, 1:28 PM

He should follow his own advice considering his previous ventures as a property magnate.

Only Shatter owns more property than Really and he aas listed as a debtor in Stubbs gazette.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    May 11th 2013, 2:38 PM

outrage…outrage…blah…blah…outrage…blah..blah..outrage…

Any excuse, what?

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    May 11th 2013, 3:48 PM

Look at the big gombeen head on him.How in the hell did he ever become a medical doctor???

Mute Scobee Gough
    Favourite Scobee Gough
    May 11th 2013, 2:29 PM

This guy is some clown, what an oaf

Mute Flex
    Favourite Flex
    May 11th 2013, 9:55 PM

Chauvinist pig. He has history and wouldn’t say it to a man. Fat coward blueshirt.

Mute Tom Lewis
    Favourite Tom Lewis
    May 12th 2013, 4:24 PM

She works nights

Mute N o toole
    Favourite N o toole
    May 11th 2013, 8:44 PM

Ignorant pr**k