You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A RESTAURATEUR WHO is involved with the Dublin pub Berlin D2 has said he was “appalled”, “very unhappy” and “embarassed” by the scenes in the venue at the weekend.
Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Jay Bourke said he had reviewed CCTV from the bar during the brunch event and was satisfied that the videos shared on social media showed “20 seconds of madness” and that the event was “well controlled” aside from this incident.
On the same programme, Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly said the videos were a “slap in the face” to all those following the guidelines and working hard to stem the spread of Covid-19. He also said it would be up to the gardaí on whether to prepare a file on the matter for the DPP.
The footage uploaded to social media showed customers at the Dublin city centre venue who were not social distancing and a barman pouring drinks into people’s mouths.
Customers were asked to stay in assigned areas which were marked by tape on the floor, but people could be seen dancing close together in the videos.
The videos provoked strong criticism, with acting chief medical officer Dr Ronan Glynn describing them as “reckless” and a spokesperson for the Licenced Vintners Association calling them “outrageous and appalling”.
Bourke told RTÉ that he had reviewed CCTV footage, spoken to staff and also spoke to gardaí in relation to the incident.
“I’m satisfied I’ve got to the bottom of it all,” he said, and described how the venue was at about 20% capacity with staff wearing appropriate PPE and adhering to the public health guidelines.
“The 20-second clip was taken at ten to four,” Bourke said. “One of my barman jumped on the bar. It looked horrific. It looked like it had gone bananas… the footage doesn’t reflect what went on that day at all.”
He said people had been kept socially distant prior to this and – while young people have to “have fun”, he would ensure “it will never happen again”.
“It wasn’t a free for all, he said. “Up until that moment, it was a professionally-run establishment.”
Bourke said that the venue enjoys a good relationship with the gardaí, and he’d turned over the footage to them.
In the wake of the heavy criticism, he said that judgement should not be cast on the basis of the clips being shared online.
“I don’t think we broke the law, it was 20 seconds of madness,” he added.
Speaking generally, Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said behaviour like that seen in the footage from Berlin D2 was “reckless” and “poses a threat to public health”.
“We’re not messing around here,” he said. “We’re in the midst of a global pandemic.”
Donnelly said that the vast majority of businesses have been compliant with the public health regulations but added that places found to be in breach of these regulations should be shut down.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
TheJournal.ie's Coronavirus Newsletter
TheJournal.ie's coronavirus newsletter cuts through the misinformation and noise with the clear facts you need to make informed choices. Sign up here
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
177 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Keith Wizzy: Please do expand Keith. Not sure how €500M in fraud isn’t a “real issue”, but I’m sure you aren’t just using shallow rhetoric as thumb-bait.
@Misanthrope: rubbish. The €500 million is way too low. This country is a welfare magnet for every chancer and his family in the EU. And every bogus asylum seeker in the world.
We are the easiest country to enter and the hardest country to be deported from. Thanks to the soft liberal underbelly.
@Tom Molloy: how do you think the health system would benefit from that phantom figure? Even if it was real, throwing money at the health system is useless when nobody in power has a clue what to do with it.
@Joe Phillips: all pales into significance when considering the discounts taxpayers sponsored for vulture funds. How about that for housing n health.. There are those that bleat on about welfare and miss the bigger gamers who are a far bigger drain on their pockets, who have this government in their pocket.
@Martin Critten: exactly, Martin, and that’s their sole objective. The disgusting people point their fingers at the poorest and clap the backs of the real criminals
@Father Hody Commody: Around 41 million was saved. But that just doesn’t work for the idiots like Harry Roberts above. I’ve never seen so much hyperbole in one comment. Take a bow there you clapping Thatcherite sheep.
@TheHeathen: clapping sheep? That’s some imagination you have there lad.
Go down to the local welfare office and educate yourself. Or maybe you’d prefer to stew in your own ignorance.
@Aine O Connor: €66 billion plus interest. And we still use the exact same reset Ponzi fractional reserve no accountability scheme today. Ministers with no idea of what they were signing (no financial instrument training in St Patricks teaching school or the Kings Inn solicitor training unfortunately) commited treason due to ignorance and intentional misguidance by the ECB.
I think the majority of the nations citiznes would really like all fraud to be tackled and punished whether it is banking, political, welfare payments.
Accountability will not be tolerated by our national politics and civil service.
@Chris Finn:
Big difference between 500 million and 60 Billion. Bankers who lent money recklessly were rewarded with big fat pensions and lump sums. It’s up to the Dept. also to put systems in place to minimize the opportunities for people to commit fraud. People who are caught pay the penalty. Bankers got away with bringing the country to its knees and our grandchildren will still be paying for it in years to come.
@Aine O Connor: We live in the age of liars Aine.
Liars are not punished by the population.
Indeed in the old days there would have been riots and collapsed governments but today we are sedated with unlimited media entertainment and alcohol.
@Aine O Connor: Divide and Conquer politics, get the middle classes to despise the working and lower classes and vice versa. Its Fine Gael policy. Ask Fred Flotsom if you don’t believe me ;-)
You can be sure the screaming opinions of the minority entitlement socialism crowd will drown out the majority working tax payers disgust at this waste and theft of their tax payments and social service reduction.
@Ranty McCrank: are you suggesting that all claimants caught for fraud are lefties and that the innocent right wingers are not. I think you should widen your horizons and get a life.
@Stephen murphy: he’s not blaming all. He’s blaming the ones that legitimately are fraudulent – i think we can all at least agree that legitimately cheating welfare is a sc”mbag lowest of the low activity when that money could be put into homelessness or health.
@Stephen murphy: Can you quote me where I “blamed all SW recipients for incompletence”? When school yard name calling and animal metaphors are the response it is obvious expressing a frustrated defense against what you know is true is what’s going on.
@Fred Croydon: Funny, it’s the hard right that’s been in power since the inception of the state. The corruption and fraud overseen by the hard right makes SW fraud nothing in comparison.
@Ranty McCrank… ah you poor martyr.. my heart bleeds for you carrying the needs of all of us on your shoulder. And yes I’m being sarcastic as i can’t take your holier then tho attitude seriously
“I don’t know that I won’t be running a similar campaign next year”
Don’t be getting any big ideas about yourself there Regina. You’ll do exactly as Leo’s multi-million Euro marketing gurus tell you to do. The Aardvark has your back pet.
We don’t see any publicised campaigned to cut out the larger €70+ million lost through complete continuous cock-ups made by the Department of Social protection do we?
No. Why?
Our glorious dear leader was the head of that department for the years preceding when the amounts lost, for each year, actually rose and continue to rise under the new lying replacement.
No. None of their far large financial costing cock- up are publicised or media mentioned.
That would be an admittance to the nation that that bigger costly mistakes have been made and they are failing to address the larger problem, successfully.
…So the Fine Gael state propaganda continues for our glorious leader and his elite.
@Unitedpeople: Or NAMA whose loses amount to 18 BIllion and counting. The fraud and corruption surrounding NAMA and the well connected is never brought up or accounted for.
Pot calling Kettle black here. I regard the USC as legalised theft of my income. As is the property tax. To shore up thieving lying bankers who destroyed our economy and are still deceiving and lying to our public accounts committee. How can this government take the moral high ground, when all they have done lumped the responsibility on us. You lead by example. We have no leadership, just a cosy consensus. Nama was a holding ground for developers, who were paid during the downturn. This is just a diversion. The reality is far more was stolen from our economy through the actions of an unaccountable elite. So carry on arguing here lads that is what they want, as they plan a nice holiday somewhere exclusive with your money.
@Denis Crowley: thankfully we don’t need developers anymore. Your view on USC as legalised theft is wrong – much as it annoys me. Banks have paid back some debt already. Anglo we have borrowed most of it yet. AIB still owe a fortune whilst handing out big redundancies. But most of borrowed money was to pay to keep the lights on. The amount of tax collected increased each year even as more lost jobs. We will have a chance to vote the non permanent government out shortly enough
@lavbeer: I can see your viewpoint and like most people I am willing to pay my way for a better society. However the failing was not the working people, but the system we pay into. The regulator failed along with the parties in power. We just picked up the bill as they gave themselves pensions and pay rises. So it is a reward for incompetent stewardship of our economy and therefore theft. Why should we pay those who failed us ? I want justice and good governance, all we are getting is socks and self righteous consensus. So I will be voting for change and I want to see jail terms. The problem is all the evidence has probably disappeared. They had enough time to do it.
@MK76: if he’s so anti fraud, why was one of the first things leo did as taoiseach was to bring the corrupt Michael Lowry back to the government power table, with a secret Deal? #moriartytribunal #denisobrien
Rampant corruption going on amongst the top echelons of society going unpunished is hardly setting a good example to those struggling due to austerity measures.Whats your opinion on this?
The way the dept calculates the fraud figure is a farce. No wonder they came up with 500 million if a person was caught in January and the dept inflates the figure by saying if they were not caught in jan, they’d have got away with it in Feb, mar, etc for the next six months, and that’s their official calculated fraud figure.
@John003: it appears the 500 million is heavily dependent on the time it takes them to catch and convict a fraudster. If it only took them a few weeks instead of a few months to go through this process, the 500 million would be drastically reduced.
Even state department official have confirmed that they are outrageously inaccurate.
They have also confirmed that the amounts lost by the departments themselves through wrong payments is actually much larger each year for the last three years in particular – but you don’t see any of this mentioned in the North Korea style, Fine Gael propaganda.
@Unitedpeople: yeah, excuse me if I don’t take United Ireland serious. One of your core issues is fluoride. You claim fluoride causes cancer on your site.
@Barry Somers: We suggest that people do their own independent research – not just accept either our view or an opposite side.
Speaking of quackery, we have a leader that says he doen’t know Scientology is a cult – despite it calling his lifestyle an abomination and it practising world recognised bogus medical quackery – and Leo fails to see this even as he’s a doctor?
Time for more to take those political blinkers off.
1. Ireland since 2015, is now the only country to mass drug with Fluoride.
2. We are being mass drugged which by even out own laws. is illegal. Check out just to begin with, the Non-Fatal Offences Against The Person Act 1979 – and that’s before we get to EU laws also on human rights.
3. Speaking of laws – maybe that’s part why Fine Gael, Labour and Fianna Fail won’t let Ireland sign the International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (ICESCR) ???
@Unitedpeople: Ireland since 2015, is now the only country to mass drug with Fluoride IN EUROPE – all the other EU states for legal reasons alone – besides also medical – have abandoned the practise.
That would tell many something. Well, at least those willing to greater see and hear, that is.
@Unitedpeople: I haven’t drank tap water here the last 35 years. I was more concerned about the lead pipes then but the fluoridation of the water keeps me off it now. Mad country poisoning people.
Of course she would have run the same campaign. Isn’t she FG. Doesn’t she espouse right wing politics. Revenue declare people and entities who have not paid taxes in full. The annual amounts here are a lot less than €500m. Release the information on the welfare cheats to show the amount is correct. Otherwise stop using amounts which cannot be other than treated as estimated
The “welfare cheats” campaign was just another example of FG’s divide and conquer tactics. They have us all moaning, bitching and fighting over scraps whilst they make off like gangsters (which they are). Shame on anyone who falls for it.
I am sick to death of all this bullshit. If you are claiming dole by fraud you are a cheat, straight up, and more than likely a bum too. There are plenty of jobs available now yet people still wanna just cheat the system and sit around and blame the government for everything. I know as much as the next person our government is shit, but I go to work every day and have a good life because I wrk hard for it. It’s really that simple. If you need change in your situation only you can do it ffs.
Reading through the comments here is it any wonder how we are the laughing stock of many other countries. Hundreds of millions has been wasted in ‘tribunals’ whose only goal was to keep the entitled classes from ever being criminally investigated for their antics. A Garda college where up to 50 bank accounts were used to siphon money to accounts in a retired Gardas name and a private boating club was funded by public monies which just happened to appear in a bank account connected to no-one in particular. A canteen in said establishment run by a private, former Garda, contractor where the staff were paid from public money. A child protection agency that conspired to label an honourable man as a paedophile so that they could shut him up from complaining about a recording database that accounted for more breath tests than there are drivers. We have a rogue banking system run by criminals, my opinion, who simply plucked figures from their collective arses and a compliant body politic who were in the pockets of the same bankers. The same banking system that has for years stolen money from its customers and driven many of them from their homes and sadly, in far too many cases, into their graves. I could go on but you know the drift.
Yes, we need to have a zero tolerance to fraud, but when the bar/restaurant of the very houses of legislature have to write off the food and alcohol bills of the people who inhabit those houses because they couldn’t be bothered to pay them, we are on a hiding to nothing.
It wasn’t any leftie or social welfare recipient or single mother that destroyed the economy of this country. It was the well connected who never had to suffer from the indignities caused by their actions. Divide and conquer has been mastered by the political parties, even those such as Labour claiming to be on the left. The Republic is dead, long live the Republic.
I don’t regret running campaign, my blood boils when the riff raff have support like this, louts don’t get up in the morning. I work hard to ensure the people of Ireland are looked after, while they lower the value of our property in their hoodies loitering!! Millennials are the worst
Disruptions in the Dáil expected as speaking time row takes centre stage again
Updated
52 mins ago
CCPC
Brian O'Driscoll served with compliance notice by consumer watchdog over social media posts
17 mins ago
trump administration
White House confirms Defence Secretary accidentally texted journalist US plans to strike Yemen
Updated
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say