You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

JCB prevents roof blowing off building in Galway

Gusts of up to 147km/h battered parts of the country today.

A JCB PREVENTED the roof of a building blowing off in Co Galway today.

Gusts of up to 147km/h battered parts of the country, with Galway being one of the counties most affected by Storm Ali. 

Locals Liam Diamond and Graham Heanue prevented the roof from being blown off the house in Renvyle after enlisting a JCB to keep it in place.

Dramatic footage of the incident was captured by Priscilla Diamond.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Two people have died as a result of the storm, in Galway and Newry, and the second day of the National Ploughing Championships had to be cancelled. 

Some 67,000 ESB customers are without power. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:09 PM

Bertie Ahern is iffy.

That would have been enough.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:23 PM

If gardai are so different. They shouldn’t be included in the LRA. They have wanted to be a stand alone. The government can’t keep saying they are the same as every other public service

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:10 PM

Berty would have just got out his blankety blank cheque book and pen!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:12 PM

Bertie should be in jail end of.it just shows how much of a failed country ireland is when the man that caused the most severe economic collapse in the country is still getting his opinions published on media well done journal you keep out doing yourselves all the time.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:17 PM

Bertie had his day look at the mess of our country because of ff policy snakes is what they are.they should be stripped of their pensions not on here giving their irrelevant opinions.Bertie the dinosaur that sold his country down the tube with the help of his fg and liebour buddies.never forget about these three most corrupt partys this country has ever seen.gombeen politicians is what they are.

Nov 6th 2016, 2:24 PM

I didn’t read this article because I could care less about what Bertie Aherne thinks. He’s still robbing us by accepting his huge pension. You can bet he has a bank account for that!

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:44 PM

Berty Ahearn is iffy in every way. He knows all about screwing up a country !

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:50 PM

Pensions ( about 6) not pension

Mute Garbhán Ó Ruis
    Favourite Garbhán Ó Ruis
    Nov 6th 2016, 4:07 PM

Here here!

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Nov 6th 2016, 5:39 PM

Always be weary of a man who pronounces there as “dare” and three as”tree”

Mute Con OL
    Favourite Con OL
    Nov 6th 2016, 6:04 PM

would he suggest the imf to sort it out shut up

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Nov 6th 2016, 7:25 PM

He just can’t slip away into the sunset he has an opinion on everything.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:20 PM

We pay Bertie about eight times the average wage as a thank you for his years of making a hames of running the country. Is it too much to ask for him just to fukc off and stop bothering us?

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:23 PM

Lol. Brilliant.

Mute yildun
    Favourite yildun
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:16 PM

More BS from the this over pensioned spoofer

Mute GCLPhD
    Favourite GCLPhD
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:12 PM

Why is this toerag popping up in the press allot lately.

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:27 PM

Exactly this piece of corrupt sh*t shouldn’t be anywhere near the airwaves. That’s this yokes in RTE for ou, why would anyone pay those leeches a tv licence?

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:45 PM

@PaulJ: I managed not to for years, but I was caught a couple of years ago and received a court summons where I was told Id be fined 1000s if I didn’t pay up.
    I now pay the f**kers €13 a month for not ever tuning in to RTE, ever.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:54 PM

Irish president job nearing

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Nov 6th 2016, 3:11 PM

I completely agree. This f***er has had his eye on the Park for years.

Mute GCLPhD
    Favourite GCLPhD
    Nov 6th 2016, 3:25 PM

He wouldn’t have a hope. I know we’re pretty brain dead judging on who we continually elect but no way this lying conman would get elected president.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:12 PM

Typical Bertie speak
    “I’m iffy”
    “I’m not sure”

The man can never talk straight.
    The man of the unfinished sentence.

“I don’t really think, you see the point is, sure look it, ”

He waffles and waffles and waffles without ever really saying anything.

I guess that’s how he survived in politics.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:41 PM

‘Sure look it’ is a phrase when used by Irish politicians makes my blood boil. It means ‘I don’t really mean what I say and sure, ye all know the craic wink wink’

Mute SEAN LYNCH
    Favourite SEAN LYNCH
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:13 PM

Gas, Bertie would know all about “iffyness”,he’s been the master of it

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:10 PM

No shocks there. All he ever done was chat out ten sides of his mouth

Mute Peggy Gordon
    Favourite Peggy Gordon
    Nov 6th 2016, 4:11 PM

@Stephen Todd: Does that mean he spoke with a forked tongue??? lmao !!

Mute Alan Flood
    Favourite Alan Flood
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:16 PM

Jesus wept . This gobsheen gangster back in the news

Mute Adam Kelly
    Favourite Adam Kelly

who actually cares about what this fat miserable old creep has to say abt the economy/industrial relations. lord knows he didnt do a great job himself

Mute Séa Graham
    Favourite Séa Graham
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:44 PM

Why is something that the fool said even deemed newsworthy?

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:30 PM

This is the guy who introduced bench marking of public servants against the private sector and blew most of the ‘boom’ monies on the public service wage bill, increasing it’s size by 20% and buying his way out of industrial relations problems, effectively permanently corrupting the whole system!!!

Mute Emmet Purcell
    Favourite Emmet Purcell
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:38 PM

@winston smith: Thankfully no one’s buying their way out of industrial relations problems these days…

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Nov 6th 2016, 5:36 PM

Emmet I hope that’s sarcasm because that’s what just happened with the Gardai.

Mute rsdowney
    Favourite rsdowney
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:47 PM

Why is this failure given airtime?

The only thing I want to know about this Thicko is he no longer robs the state of the pension he does not deserve.

Either that or he died roaring….

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:15 PM

It’s all smoke and daggers then along comes Bertie to upset the apple tart.

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:22 PM

Trust RTE and that overpaid Woman Finucane to give this wretched creature airtime and for the Journal to give him oxygen. That creep Ahern should be kept our of sight

Mute David Byrne
    Favourite David Byrne
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:33 PM

F#*K Bertie

Mute Martina Flynn Fitzgerald
    Favourite Martina Flynn Fitzgerald
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:35 PM

How is he even allowed to comment!

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:45 PM

Bertie you caused this iffy shiite, go back and earn your speach money.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:40 PM

Iffy Bertie ☺
    Chuckle aloud ☺

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:23 PM

Bertie Ahern Mind Your Own Business – You Helped Destroy Our Country and Have Put Our Country Back Years – Our Garda, Teachers, Doctors, Nurses, Health System, Housing and all of the Hard Working Men and Women plus all the countless most vulnerable people you brought to the brink collapse shame on you!

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:40 PM

Why does this guttersnipe have a forum to speak his mind on any subject? His naked, taxidermied vessel should be on display in a junky museum somewhere.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:09 PM

The voice of reason is Bertie.

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:13 PM

You left out the T

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:06 PM

Why do they even give Bartholomew the air time anyway? His words aren’t even worth the airwaves they’re broadcast on…

Mute moe
    Favourite moe
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:16 PM

The journal loves bertie. Slow news day , wait , we’ll stick in something about bertie. Job done .

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Nov 6th 2016, 4:33 PM

Bertie Ahern is nothing short of a national disgrace and a prime example why Fianna Fail needs to be kept out of government as they alone, still won’t hold him accountable.

Mute John Reid
    Favourite John Reid
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:10 PM

If even Bertie Ahern – the taoiseach whose capitulation to the trade unions on so many occasions ultimately led to the collapse of the public finances – is concerned about the concessions that the Government made to the Garda unions, then you know we are in trouble.

Mute Granny Diffin
    Favourite Granny Diffin
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:11 PM

I’m iffy about that journalist!

Mute Brian Hackett
    Favourite Brian Hackett
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:12 PM

Why is this douchebag even getting air time, he’ll be president before we know own it…..let him Rot In Piece

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Nov 6th 2016, 3:09 PM

Iffy rhymes with “a fee” which Bertie likes! Why is this windbag still getting air-time?

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:44 PM

That bo11ox again

Mute Daniel Patrick Carry
    Favourite Daniel Patrick Carry
    Nov 6th 2016, 4:43 PM

Please please please go back in your cupboard and shut up.

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Nov 6th 2016, 3:40 PM

Bent as an s hook,why give this rsehole airtime.

Mute Sean Farrell
    Favourite Sean Farrell
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:46 PM

He’s been in the media a lot of late,asking to give an opinion.Is this the start of a campaign to get him back in the political arena?

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Nov 6th 2016, 4:32 PM

This man should never be allowed comment on anything

Mute Gerry McCarthy
    Favourite Gerry McCarthy
    Nov 6th 2016, 5:06 PM

Coming from the biggest crook of them all!

Mute Duncan Paul
    Favourite Duncan Paul

Bertie for Taoiseach

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Nov 6th 2016, 4:08 PM

The King of iffy thinks there is something iffy. Nothing iffy about that.

Mute Eye_c_u
    Favourite Eye_c_u
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:29 PM

Extraordinary deal? Anyone want to refute it or endorse it? From what I’m hearing it will be rejected and there will be far more trouble coming

Mute Paul Corrigan
    Favourite Paul Corrigan
    Nov 6th 2016, 2:58 PM

Well would’t he be an expert on iffy

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Nov 6th 2016, 4:00 PM

Iffy was his politics

Mute ter
    Favourite ter
    Nov 6th 2016, 3:52 PM

He knows iffy the crook

Mute Kevin Moylan
    Favourite Kevin Moylan
    Nov 6th 2016, 5:26 PM

Ahearn is lucky that the FBI aren’t in Ireland.unlike gardai,the FBI go after corrupt politicians

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Nov 6th 2016, 8:18 PM

@Kevin Moylan: “— the FBI go after corrupt politicians —”

And yet they seem intent on shoehorning one of the most corrupt persons who ever ran for public office – the Orange Monster Trump – into the Oval Office.

Mute Daithi brogan
    Favourite Daithi brogan
    Nov 6th 2016, 5:47 PM

Why is this thing allowed to have an opinion on anything he should be doing time in the joy.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Nov 6th 2016, 6:18 PM

Bertie himself is about as iffy as a three card trick man St Puck Fair.

Mute patrick gilmartin
    Favourite patrick gilmartin
    Nov 6th 2016, 6:00 PM

What the f##k why would anybody care a damn what a dud like Ahern has to say on anything

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Nov 6th 2016, 7:57 PM

“The Mahon Report found that Mr Ahern gave untrue evidence about the source of over £215,000 lodged in bank accounts connected to him.” Why is this liar given airtime by the national broadcaster?

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Nov 6th 2016, 8:18 PM

Why is he allowed to comment on anything

Mute Ian Oh
    Favourite Ian Oh
    Nov 6th 2016, 8:41 PM

Wonder if he was as “iffy” about paddy the plasterer’s monies or the sterling he had which he allegedly won on the horses??

Mute CJ Stewart
    Favourite CJ Stewart
    Nov 6th 2016, 6:37 PM

Berty Ahern & iffy..three words that fit together perfectly

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Nov 6th 2016, 6:28 PM

The gardai were forced into all this.They are different.they didn’t want all this exposure.

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Nov 6th 2016, 8:16 PM

“Iffy”?

I’d have said “dodgy”.

But maybe he did win all that money on the nags.

Mute Patrick O Shea
    Favourite Patrick O Shea
    Nov 6th 2016, 3:37 PM

Lol

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Nov 6th 2016, 8:55 PM

Oh by the way tell that harris flute that apple ran away with that magic money tree.

Mute Dermot Aughney
    Favourite Dermot Aughney
    Nov 6th 2016, 11:20 PM

Bertie is as bent as any politican currently in the Dail. Dennis O”Brien and Lowery should be still in Mountjoy with this parasite who told folks to ”Hang Themselves” for doubting the ”Celtic Tiger”.
    Well these folks have ””Real Blood” on their hands now.
    Re repossions via the Eviction Bill supported by most politicians of the main party’s.
    FF//FG//Labour are only for big business via banks,vulture funds and no longer care for the working class// middle class ordinary citizens of our Emerald Isle.
    Labour has been decimated in the last election and FG lost out big time due to the decimation of the working class.
    The only reason treasonous FF gained seats was because of a pre-election promise to abolish Irish Water.
    They are now unwilling to state where they stand now following commission started!
    Are our politicians ignorant to the hundreds of thousands who oppose these unjust charges?
    If so as the Labour party has been obliterated and FG cut down to size,, so too will any political party that ignores the people

Mute Esther O'Reilly
    Favourite Esther O'Reilly
    Nov 6th 2016, 5:06 PM

Am I missing something here? The Gardai are a domestic law agency, surely it’s not their job ensure the ‘Security of the state’ wouldn’t that be the job of the military or a National Security agency?

Mute Peggy Gordon
    Favourite Peggy Gordon
    Nov 6th 2016, 4:15 PM

Look get a hold on yourselves Bertie said he gave us the money when he had it,when he dident have it he could not give it.,don’t be like spoiled children now stamping your feet just because Bertie had not got the money to buy you an ice cream .!!!lol

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Nov 7th 2016, 5:10 PM

Bertie Aherne is iffy. Stop it right there. That is all we know and that is all we need to know. Is there no other criminal with better command of the English language than he whose opinion on the Gardai or anything else you could solicit?

Mute Benny McHale
    Favourite Benny McHale
    Nov 7th 2016, 1:51 AM

Guards aren’t any more or less important than any other front line services, but we have to use our common sense here. If we don’t give our coppers a decent wage, then they’re more vulnerable to the usual market forces of bribery, blackmail, etc. I don’t want to live in a society where the police are even more deferential to the wealthy than they are now.
    Yea you can drive home after 10 pints so long as you can drop 50euro to the young guard who needs to pay his ESB bill before thursday to avoid disconnection.

The race to the bottom is over. The big boys have won.

Mute Ian McGrath
    Favourite Ian McGrath
    Nov 7th 2016, 11:49 PM

U gotta love the teflon Taoiseach . Haha.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Nov 8th 2016, 4:39 PM

Was he in fagans half cut when he made that statement.

Mute Ciaran Kenneally
    Favourite Ciaran Kenneally
    Nov 6th 2016, 4:59 PM

Why does anyone actually give a shit what Bertie Ahern thinks! He never gave a shit about anyone only himself! Given what happened in this country under his watch and corruption scandals his opinion is irrelevant!

Mute Vincent Hughes
    Favourite Vincent Hughes
    Nov 6th 2016, 6:04 PM

I couldn’t believe when I heard him on RTE this morning. Marian had Pat Rabbit on the panel too. The electorate passed judgement on these politicians, so why is the state broadcaster still giving them a platform?

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Nov 6th 2016, 1:35 PM

Who cares what that Muppett thinks???