You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Veteran civil rights campaigner The Reverend Jesse Jackson. Yui Mok/AP

Civil rights leader Jesse Jackson says he has Parkinson's and will 'fight for a cure'

Jackson vowed to use his voice to help find a cure for the disease.

THE REVEREND JESSE Jackson disclosed publicly that he has been seeking outpatient care for two years for Parkinson’s disease and plans to “dedicate” himself to physical therapy.

In a letter to supporters, the 76-year-old civil rights icon said family and friends noticed a change in him about three years ago and he could no longer ignore symptoms of the chronic neurological disorder that causes movement difficulties.

“Recognition of the effects of this disease on me has been painful, and I have been slow to grasp the gravity of it,” he wrote. “For me, a Parkinson’s diagnosis is not a stop sign but rather a signal that I must make lifestyle changes and dedicate myself to physical therapy in hopes of slowing the disease’s progression.”

Jackson also released a Northwestern Medicine letter saying he was diagnosed in 2015 and has since sought outpatient care.

Jackson vowed to use his voice to help find a cure for the disease. He declined an interview.

About 60,000 people in the US are diagnosed with Parkinson’s annually, according to the Parkinson’s Foundation. It can start with tremors and symptoms generally worsen over time. The exact cause isn’t known and treatments include medications, surgery and physical therapy.

The disease itself isn’t fatal but people can die from complications. Jackson noted Parkinson’s “bested my father”.

Noah Lewis Robinson Sr died in 1997 at age 88 after suffering a heart attack.

It was unclear how Jackson’s diagnosis will affect his civil rights work through the Rainbow/PUSH Coalition, the Chicago-based civil rights group he founded more than two decades ago.

A protégé of the Reverend Martin Luther King, Jackson was instrumental in guiding the modern civil rights movement, from issues involving voting rights to education.

Twice a candidate for the Democratic presidential nomination in the 1980s, he’s remained a strong voice in numerous anti-discrimination efforts, including advocating for affordable housing. He’s often seen at protests nationwide.

Read: Robert Mugabe remains defiant in face of mounting pressure to step down

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Aug 4th 2017, 8:59 AM

Not stolen. Just resting in someone’s garage.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:39 AM

@Tweed Cap: Like a lot of road signs these days, ending up at auctions around the country and fetching a nice price.

Mute Bobby2001
    Favourite Bobby2001
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:07 AM

@Tweed Cap: ‘She was stolen and murdered!’…

‘Really?’…

‘well, they don’t know, they’re keeping her in for tests!’

Mute Hoomanbean
    Favourite Hoomanbean
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:47 AM

It’s a odd one and more a reflection of our society as a whole. I was in Austria recently and came across an information kiosk by the side of the road – packed with flat screen tv, stationary, guide books etc. It was completely open and unattended – it had no door!

The wife and I were amazed. Something like that would not last five minutes here before being stolen or set on fire!

There was a local community initiative launched in my own town last year. A community garden was built and set up by local volunteers. Within a week of opening the locals had laid waste to it. Completely destroyed it.

It’s quiet sad really we just cannot have nice things

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    Aug 4th 2017, 1:06 PM

@Hoomanbean: Austria and other countries in the area are a lot more sophisticated than most others…

Mute Donncha Mac Sléimhne
    Favourite Donncha Mac Sléimhne
    Aug 4th 2017, 2:59 PM

@Hoomanbean: Österreich not in EU; not bound by EU regulations!!

Mute Hoomanbean
    Favourite Hoomanbean
    Aug 4th 2017, 4:08 PM

@Donncha Mac Sléimhne: pardon my ignorance, however I must have missed the EU regulation enforcing decorum and general civility amongst the population of a nation

Mute Heidi Foley
    Favourite Heidi Foley
    Aug 4th 2017, 8:59 AM

Down with that sorta thing!

Mute Brian MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Brian MacCarthaigh
    Aug 4th 2017, 8:56 AM

Anyone interested in a Mrs Doyle sign? Send me a PM : )

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:01 AM

So where did you say the other ones were……

Mute Robert Madden
    Favourite Robert Madden

In all fairness, what else would ye expect! Daft idea.

Mute Ger Healy
    Favourite Ger Healy
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:33 AM

@Robert Madden: Why? Surely anything that raises people’s awareness about road safety is a good thing.
    The amount pathetic negative nay sayers who comment on the Journal is really sad.

Mute Thinck
    Favourite Thinck
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:44 AM

@Ger Healy:

“pathetic nay sayer”?

I think Robert was alluding the fact that it was fairly crazy to expect no one would steal something as funny as a life sized Mrs Doyle

Mute Robert Madden
    Favourite Robert Madden
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:46 AM

@Thinck: Exactly that, thanks Thinck.

Mute Robert Madden
    Favourite Robert Madden
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:49 AM

@Ger Healy: suddenly I’m anti road safety? Forgive me for thinking that life size cardboard Mrs Doyle’s dotted around Mayo wouldn’t last that long.

Mute Brown Boots
    Favourite Brown Boots
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:03 AM

@Ger Healy: your negativity towards negativity is bringing me down!

Mute Ger Healy
    Favourite Ger Healy
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:10 AM

@Robert Madden: So, there’s s fee idiots around! There will always be people like that but do we just do nothing because if them?
    You are saying it was a bad idea.
    Any initiative on road safety has to be good., don’t you think?

Mute Robert Madden
    Favourite Robert Madden
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:45 AM

@Ger Healy: This idea, was a bad idea.

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:51 AM

Looks like Pat mustard has put his big tool in her box

Mute aboutallthethings
    Favourite aboutallthethings
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:18 AM

And that’s why we can’t have nice things….

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Aug 4th 2017, 5:12 PM

@aboutallthethings: Get a life !

Mute heavyhits
    Favourite heavyhits
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:02 AM

Dear Garda – go to Adverts.ie

Mute Johnny Giles
    Favourite Johnny Giles
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:53 AM

In fairness, if i was feeling tired, and i saw a sign which suggested ‘go on go on go on’, it might give the wrong impression about what the message being made was

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:50 AM

Why did they not put up an image of enda kenny ,or phil hogan ,or even john bruton ,mrs doyle was just too popular to be left alone.next time perhaps .

Mute Mill Lane
    Favourite Mill Lane
    Aug 4th 2017, 12:07 PM

@Anthony Gallagher:

Probably because people would have ran over them :)

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:13 AM

They robbed her?
    What did they get?
    No, they stole her!

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:38 AM

@Paddy Reid: aww you got there before me :)

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Aug 5th 2017, 12:25 AM

@Paddy Reid: What did they get, someone to have sex with lol.

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Aug 4th 2017, 2:43 PM

I quite like the campaign where petrol stations give coffee for people who are tired or on a long drive that be so nice

Mute Martin Cunniffe
    Favourite Martin Cunniffe
    Aug 4th 2017, 3:05 PM

I agree, Mayo County Council you have done a great job, please create more of these signs as I would personally like one. Can I pre-order one or is on a first come first served basis like today?

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Aug 4th 2017, 1:01 PM

Why don’t they bless the roads in Mayo again? Was it not a success the last time?

Mute Aidan Conlon
    Favourite Aidan Conlon
    Aug 4th 2017, 1:02 PM

The shear fact that the signs have been stolen has raised awareness of the hazards associated with our roads and our bank holiday weekends. Great job Journal for bringing it to the fore.
    Fantastic job Mayo Co. Co. for a modern attempt to raise awareness with a household name. Hat off you you.
    Signs stolen, awareness raised nationally – everybody wins, well almost, would be nice to see the signs back up again. Maybe the thieves will return them in the middle of the night?

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Aug 4th 2017, 8:55 AM

Who she?

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Aug 4th 2017, 8:57 AM

@Fank Pulman: Who you?

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman

@Gary: My name is Ozymandias…

Mute Ger Healy
    Favourite Ger Healy
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:29 AM

@Fank Pulman: Feck off then.

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:23 AM

Was a real breakthrough in avoiding accidents

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:33 AM

“Topless Women Enforce Speed Limit In Russia” was a more glamorous attempt to kill speed but not people. Perhaps they should have sent the Mrs. Doyle cut-outs Siberia way and brought the Russian hotties over here…? …thinking about it, no, there would have been so much rubber-necking going on it would have been absolute carnage in both jurisdictions.

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:43 AM

@Paul Jennings: sorry I can’t cut, never mind paste. That story also appeared under “Breast Way To Stop Speeding.” It was a “Sun” title, surprise surprise.

Mute Frank Martin
    Favourite Frank Martin
    Aug 4th 2017, 12:54 PM

I would suggest checking on Fargo Boyle

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Aug 4th 2017, 2:42 PM

She was not stolen the cup of tea in her hand got cold and she went up make a fresh pot and a tray of sandwiches. She be back soon . Jeez

Mute Joe Duffy
    Favourite Joe Duffy
    Aug 4th 2017, 12:30 PM

She’s going in full back against the rossies on monday. Would be better than what’s there.

Mute Shane O' Looney
    Favourite Shane O' Looney
    Aug 4th 2017, 11:52 AM

I don’t think you understand father, she was robbed. They stole her!!

Mute Martin Cunniffe
    Favourite Martin Cunniffe
    Aug 4th 2017, 2:57 PM

If they can take in the roads during the bad weather and store them in a warehouse like I heard they do on the islands, they should take them in on bank holidays too.

Mute Cram Wood
    Favourite Cram Wood
    Aug 4th 2017, 1:18 PM

Lol

Mute Aurin O'Brien
    Favourite Aurin O'Brien
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:28 AM

Stupid fkn idea. Have all the idiots slowing down to take photos.

Mute Ger Healy
    Favourite Ger Healy
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:33 AM

@Aurin O’Brien: why? Is that what you would do?

Mute Aurin O'Brien
    Favourite Aurin O'Brien
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:50 AM

@Ger Healy: thats it Ger.. good man yourself.

Mute Ger Healy
    Favourite Ger Healy
    Aug 4th 2017, 10:12 AM

@Aurin O’Brien: That’s the best you can do? Pathetic.

Mute Aurin O'Brien
    Favourite Aurin O'Brien
    Aug 4th 2017, 11:17 AM

@Ger Healy: no Ger I just can’t fall low enough to deal with Fktards like you.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Aug 4th 2017, 9:39 AM

McLymn would have gravitas. Useless paddywhackery