You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jesuits Ireland

Ireland's first ever beatification to take place in Dublin this morning

The ceremony will make a formal request for the beatification of Dublin man Fr John Sullivan, who died in 1933.

THE FIRST EVER beatification ceremony in Ireland will take place in Dublin this morning.

Father John Sullivan, who was born to a wealthy Dublin family in 1861, will be beatified at 11am in Gardiner Street Church. The mass consists of a mass during which a formal request for beatification is formally made. Sullivan, who died in 1933, converted to Catholicisim in 1896, having been born Protestant and the request will be made by the Church of Ireland and the Catholic Archbishops together.

The priest is described as someone who was deeply spiritual and entirely selfless, best known for his work with the sick. There are stories from all across the country of Sullivan travelling – sometimes very long distances either on foot or by bicycle – to visit and pray with a person in hospital.

One patient, he visited was the cousin on Michael Collins in 1928. The three-year-old boy, also called Michael, appeared to have infantile paralysis in his leg and was in severe pain. The priest prayed for a long time over the child in hospital and touched his leg and when he was taken for a bath shortly afterwards, he moved it as normal with no pain. A number of similar stories detail patients whose symptoms eased or disappeared after a visit from Sullivan.

Most of his time as a priest was spent in Clongowes Wood College, Co. Kildare and he passed away in February 1933.

During his time as a priest he had carried a brass crucifix which had been his mother’s with him and used it in blessings when he visited people. The cross was stolen in 1970, making front page news in the Irish Press, but was recovered a number of months later undamaged.  The Jesuits in Gardiner St still use the cross when they visit the sick.

After beatification, Sullivan sill be considered ‘Blessed’, which means that he is considered truly holy and worthy of veneration at a local level. After this step comes canonisation, sainthood, which is a recognition of this holiness by the universal Church. For this process to take place, a further miracle is required after the beatification.

Jesuits Ireland said a large crowd is expected to attend the ceremony today including sick and elderly people.

“It should be noted that the capacity of Gardiner St Church is quite limited. Unfortunately, there can be no guarantee that everyone who comes to the church will gain entrance,” they said. “For this reason, the Jesuits have set up two marquees in the church’s back garden, where a live broadcast of the event will be on display.”

This broadcast will also be viewable in Belvedere College, in nearby Great Denmark Street. And the ceremony will be livestreamed on the Irish Jesuit website.

Read: Vatican celebrates big bang theory to dispel ‘science conflict’>

Read: Vatican confirms Pope Francis to visit Ireland, almost 40 years after John Paul II>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

89 Comments
    Mute Matt Shallow
    Favourite Matt Shallow
    May 13th 2017, 6:58 AM

We live in a strange world. A priest that touches a paralyzed boys leg in a hospital and then it magically becomes better and the priest gets the credit not the medical staff or doctors.

Mute Joe O'riordan
    Favourite Joe O'riordan
    May 13th 2017, 7:18 AM

@Matt Shallow: shallow by name and nature

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    May 13th 2017, 8:28 AM

@Joe O’riordan: but he’s correct.

Mute Charles Alexander
    Favourite Charles Alexander
    May 13th 2017, 10:01 AM

@Matt Shallow: think you need to read the definition of a miracle.

Mute Charles Alexander
    May 13th 2017, 10:03 AM

@Paul Furey: by definition of a miracle, he’s not!

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    May 13th 2017, 11:53 AM

By that criteria, anyone who ever visited anyone in hospital and said a prayer with or for them, and then responded well to standard hospital treatment should be beatified.

May 13th 2017, 1:44 PM

@Joe O’riordan: Your comment just shows you are happy to judge a person you don’t know as shallow by nature over religion. Religion just gives human nature extra stuff to hate and bully over as if we don’t have enough excuses.

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    Favourite Ian Phillip Creaner
    May 13th 2017, 3:54 PM

@Joe O’riordan: Joe Riordan. An religious eejit by name and by nature.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    May 13th 2017, 6:30 AM

Good news for change

Mute Yap McGregor
    Favourite Yap McGregor
    May 13th 2017, 7:24 AM

Formal request to who? The all loving lad in the sky? FFS

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 8:11 AM

@pat seery: cant figure out any good side to people insulting their own intelligence with this snake oil nonsense

Mute Charles Alexander
    May 13th 2017, 9:59 AM

@Yap McGregor: grow up for once!

Mute Noirin Kavanagh
    Favourite Noirin Kavanagh
    May 13th 2017, 9:22 AM

Lot of negative comments here, not a believer but the world is a hard place and if faith helps get you through then good for you, as long as you don’t impose it on society at large through education, health care etc. If people derive comfort from praying to this man, or better yet emulating his kindness, no harm done.

Mute arlene
    Favourite arlene
    May 13th 2017, 9:26 AM

@Noirin Kavanagh: well said

Mute Aoife Dooley
    Favourite Aoife Dooley
    May 13th 2017, 10:53 AM

@Noirin Kavanagh: That’s a lovely comment and while I completely agree with you, this only works in theory. People have always tried to push their beliefs onto others. Religion causes so many wars so yes harm is done.

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    May 13th 2017, 7:53 AM

A lot of mumbo jumbo! You cannot heal anybody by praying!
    Beatification is a lot of bollix for the brainwashed!

Mute Tricia Lowry
    Favourite Tricia Lowry
    May 13th 2017, 8:02 AM

@Matt Beaumont: In your opinion

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 8:08 AM

@Tricia Lowry:
    Can you or anyone else on this Planet prove praying works? Actual proof?
    If you believe it so strongly why dont you chop one of your fingers off and pray it back together.
    There has never been ANY proof that praying to an imaginary man in the sky works and there never will be because its complete and utter rubbish.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 13th 2017, 8:23 AM

@Boycott Topaz: do you believe in History??

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 8:27 AM

@Nucky:
    History actually exists
    We can easily prove this
    Miracles and stupid Gods don’t

Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    May 13th 2017, 8:30 AM

@Boycott Topaz: history is writing from one point of view, usually the dominant society of that generation so what happened as recorded and what actually happened may differ a lot.

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 8:37 AM

@Anto Curran:
    Yes but we can prove and disprove a lot of historical claims.
    There is not one single shred of evidence for the existence of any gods.
    Nor has there ever been….because there is none
    Not all history is opinion either, now we can back it up with verified footage etc

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 13th 2017, 8:41 AM

@Boycott Topaz: why causes it’s written down and recorded ?? Whether you believe it or not the Bible is the oldest history book in the world

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    May 13th 2017, 8:52 AM

@Nucky: you should be embarrassed by that argument, history is supported in part by public records such as birth and death certs, marriage certificates newspaper writings, photographs etc etc etc etc….and then of course physical evidence such as the bodies etc etc etc etc….. but there is of course none of that for God.

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 13th 2017, 8:59 AM

@Paul Fahey: oh oh thousand apologies I didn’t realise history only started when public records and photographs etc were possible

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 9:09 AM

@Nucky: from your logic I can see how you would believe in a god, that bit makes sense

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 13th 2017, 9:31 AM

@Boycott Topaz: I have never once said I believe or that I don’t believe. I have questioned your opinion that’s there is no God etc and how you choose to push aside and forget this when it suits.

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 13th 2017, 9:41 AM

@Matt Beaumont: so you have never gone out and got drunk or gone to the parade or dressed in Green on St Patrick’s Day then

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    May 13th 2017, 9:56 AM

@Boycott Topaz: Perhaps it’s the placebo effect of some kind. Thinking positively helps in all situations so perhaps belief facilitates positive thinking and a better frame of mind. It’s also the notion that the person is not alone in their illness or strife. The belief in some sort of a back up can help no end.

Mute Charles Alexander
    May 13th 2017, 10:04 AM

@Matt Beaumont: but clearly not for the thick and ignorant!

Mute Charles Alexander
    May 13th 2017, 10:08 AM

@Boycott Topaz: it’s all about faith; you either have it or you don’t.

Mute Charles Alexander
    May 13th 2017, 10:18 AM

@Paul Fahey: absolute nonsense comment.
    So what you are saying is that history can only be defined as history if it’s supported in part by documentation such as…..etc.
    So if you can’t support it by documentation then it basically never happened?
    There are events – and I’m not talking religious – that occurred where there is little or no evidence yet it still constitutes history.
    Sorry but you’re the one who should be embarrassed!

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    May 13th 2017, 11:38 AM

@Charles Alexander: “There are events – and I’m not talking religious – that occurred where there is little or no evidence yet it still constitutes history.”

That’s all well and good if the historical claim is “x person went here on y date” – you don’t need particularly strong evidence for such a claim (in most cases).

If your claim, however, is “x person was resurrected from the dead” – you’re making a supernatural claim (as the Bible does), which can’t be accepted so lightly.

Have you ever heard the saying “Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence”?

Mute SteoG
    Favourite SteoG
    May 13th 2017, 1:33 PM

@Nucky: It’s not a history book, it’s a religious book. Nothing else.

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    May 13th 2017, 1:35 PM

@Nucky: sure I did but for cultural reasons and for the craic! Nothing to do with religion for me!

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    May 13th 2017, 1:36 PM

@Charles Alexander: thick and ignorant because I don’t share your faith?

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 13th 2017, 2:18 PM

@Charles Alexander: thanks you took the words right of my mouth Charles

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    May 13th 2017, 3:14 PM

@Tricia Lowry: Try praying away appendicitis. It’s nearly as successful as praying away the Gay.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    May 13th 2017, 8:43 PM

@Matt Beaumont: very well put. I wonder if they believe in the tooth fairy and Santa Claus too?

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    May 13th 2017, 8:00 AM

There are less miracles and saints these days due to the spread of technology, mobile phone masts and fluorine in the water supply.
    Man-made electromagnetism blocks the god-waves coming from heaven, disrupting the supernatural order of things and the flourine in our blood disables the holy to receive these powers.

There were far more miracles in the distant past; but they still occur in less advanced countries due to less electromagnetism.

Mute Monty Donotno
    Favourite Monty Donotno
    May 13th 2017, 2:36 PM

@alphanautica: that’s it. Knew there was something blocking my omnipotence.

Mute why not
    Favourite why not
    May 13th 2017, 6:10 AM

Miracle man.

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 8:02 AM

Complete and utter nonsense from the flat Earther’s,
    There is no God
    There are no saints
    There is no heaven, nor is there a hell.
    Why is this voodoo cult ceremony even being reported, its has absolutely no place in modern life.

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 13th 2017, 8:13 AM

@Boycott Topaz: thanks for clearing that up for us. I’m also going to presume that you don’t go to Baptisms,Communions, Confirmations, Weddings or Funerals either

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 8:23 AM

@Nucky:
    Yes like everyone else I do, so what?
    If you choose to baptise your kid that is you and your children’s problem, not mine.
    Most weddings ive been to lately are non religious, as also will be my own fueneral (not that it will bother me too much as I will be dead.)
    I dont go to watch young girls dress in wedding dress’s either, totally weird.
    Nor do I ever bother with confirmations

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute H0tt3rBank3r
    Favourite H0tt3rBank3r
    May 13th 2017, 8:36 AM

@Boycott Topaz: why not just live and let live then. If it’s no skin of your nose why the hostility.

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 13th 2017, 8:42 AM

@H0tt3rBank3r: cause he’s a troll looking for attention. His name says it all really

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 8:43 AM

@H0tt3rBank3r: NMH, Industrial schools, raping children, sectarianism, women’s rights and equality, church interference in our lives, dead babies being dumped in sewers by nuns, feeding our kids lies in schools which we fund.
    This list could go on and on

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 13th 2017, 8:46 AM

@Boycott Topaz: then if you go to these events your thoughts and view are hypocritical. Or are you just afraid to say No to friends and family

Mute Ragman
    Favourite Ragman
    May 13th 2017, 8:49 AM

@Boycott Topaz: what’s that got to do with your belief that there is no God ?

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 8:51 AM

@Nucky: no I go out of respect to actual people not made beings in the sky
    I do find it hard to listen to (most not all) priests talking rubbish

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    May 13th 2017, 8:53 AM

@Boycott Topaz: You are an evangelical atheist Like an older parish priest a bit dogmatic…..

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 8:58 AM

@John003: nope, just sick of paying for religious rubbish and interference in our lives,
    On your own time and at your own expense!

Mute Ragman
    Favourite Ragman
    May 13th 2017, 9:01 AM

@Boycott Topaz: what are you paying for exactly?

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    May 13th 2017, 9:05 AM

@Ragman: he must put some money in the basket when he goes to occasions in the church out of respect for people. That must be it

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 9:12 AM

@Ragman: NMH, millions in compensation, schools, CE schemes for church upkeep, angelas on state TV, Tds praying etc etc

Mute Ragman
    Favourite Ragman
    May 13th 2017, 9:14 AM

@Boycott Topaz: kinda contradicting yourself now saying you don’t go to to these things but then say you go out of respect for people. Oh just out of curiosity can you prove that there is infact no God ??

Mute Ragman
    Favourite Ragman
    May 13th 2017, 9:20 AM

@Boycott Topaz: seems to that your gripe is more with the government and how the church is being run then your first statement about there being no God.

Mute Boycott Topaz
    Favourite Boycott Topaz
    May 13th 2017, 10:03 AM

@Ragman: the complete absence of one is proof.
    Others claim there is one, let him/it/she prove if they do exist?
    But that wont happen because there is none, pretty simple stuff really
    I believe my football team is the best in the world, facts, results, league and European finishes prove they are not.
    Its not up to the rest of the world to prove this to me, I am the one who believes so I need to prove it.
    So can anyone give me one piece of real actual scientific proof that a Gods exists?
    NO DIDNT THINK SO

Mute Ragman
    Favourite Ragman
    May 13th 2017, 10:29 AM

@Boycott Topaz: No but there this book that’s dates back over 2000 year ago thats tell us that a god does exist and that’s closer to proof then you’re argument that simply says the is no God

Mute Charles Alexander
    May 13th 2017, 10:30 AM

@Boycott Topaz: you are a plank. People should be allowed to be whatever they choose to believe without the fear of being shouted down and ridiculed by the likes of yourself.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    May 13th 2017, 11:41 AM

@Charles Alexander: No belief should be immune from ridicule – do you understand the principle of free expression?

Mute Charles Alexander
    May 13th 2017, 12:46 PM

@Malachi: I understand and respect it but people should be allowed to practice their religion without the fear of persecution. I appreciate there is a huge difference between ridicule and persecution but the principle remains the same

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 13th 2017, 9:45 PM

@Boycott Topaz: You haven’t looked into it for any evidence, you just accept what you believe to be right, am I right?

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 13th 2017, 9:49 AM

A proud day to be Irish.

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    Favourite Ian Phillip Creaner
    May 13th 2017, 3:57 PM

@Jack Cassady: The lack of pride in oneself necessitates national pride.

Mute Lord Lucan
    Favourite Lord Lucan
    May 13th 2017, 9:01 AM

More superstitious nonsense ! When are we burning Stephen fry ?!

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    May 13th 2017, 10:31 AM

@Lord Lucan: well with a name like Fry he is asking for it isn’t he lo

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 13th 2017, 1:32 PM

@Lord Lucan: Says a person who is alive and consciouss, as life is a miracle in itself?

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    May 13th 2017, 3:16 PM

@Alois Irlmaier: Life isn’t a miracle. There’s over 6 billion humans alive so it’s really rather commonplace.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 13th 2017, 9:46 PM

@DaisyChainsaw: But over 7 billion individuals and then there are then animals, is all life not sacred, precious and a miracle?

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    May 13th 2017, 9:53 PM

If all life was a sacred precious miracle, we’d all be vegans and nobody would be homeless, hungry or having bombs dropped on them.

Mute Rachel Didleu
    Favourite Rachel Didleu
    May 14th 2017, 7:22 AM

@Lord Lucan: along with Joe Jew Fry

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    May 13th 2017, 12:50 PM

So he prayed and then touched the leg of a boy with paralysis and cured him? So did “God” enable this man to cure and if so why do we need modern medicine? Can’t “god” just enable all his followers to do this. You’d want to be extremely thick to believe in any of this ability to cure by divine intervention nonsense . I admire and respect the priest for doing good charitable work and trying to ease peoples pain with his words.

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    May 13th 2017, 10:08 AM

I read the article because of it’s historical value. The part that said he converted from the Church of Ireland, but did’nt say the rest of his family did was a bit puzzling. It stated he used a brass crucifix that had belonged to his mother. I was always of the opinion protestants did not have crucifix’s but rather plain crosses. But then I could be wrong.

Mute Rachel Didleu
    Favourite Rachel Didleu
    May 13th 2017, 8:48 AM

I can state catorgically that Michael Collins had many a tryst but l absolutely refute the claim by TheJ that he screwed his cousin…..appalling journalism…..

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 13th 2017, 10:16 AM

@Rachel Didleu: It was a miracle that the lad was a cousin of Michael Collins, seeing that Collins was already dead years before the lad was even born.

Mute David Hickey
    Favourite David Hickey
    May 13th 2017, 12:07 PM

@Chris Kirk: The man died in his early thirties, its not that improbable.

Mute Rachel Didleu
    Favourite Rachel Didleu
    May 13th 2017, 12:25 PM

@Chris Kirk: Jaysus you are good…..never thought of that….and on an udder point the j is remiss in not according O Sullivan his full title witch is s.j. and an udder craaaaaazy co incidence PopeFrannie is doing more voodoo to day in Fatima beside the statue of Our Lady witch holds the bullet that was used to assassinate pope JP…..that’s taking statutory rape to a very low level indeed…(forgive me attempted assassination of the pope)

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 13th 2017, 10:01 AM

Interesting that he went to the same school in Enniskillen as Oscar Wilde & Samuel Beckett

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 13th 2017, 10:20 AM

Protestant churches don’t believe in sainthood, other than those who were already saints before the reformation. If they did then Bishop Bedell would surely be deserving for the good works he did.

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    May 13th 2017, 11:17 AM

Beatification is the Catholic equivalent of a knighthood.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 13th 2017, 10:09 AM

As far as the Catholic church is concerned a good beatification is a good cure for many ills.

May 13th 2017, 1:48 PM

Hope the research done to justify the beatification was as reliable as that done for St John Bosco http://www.romancatholicism.co.uk/johnbosco.html and the patron of Catholic schools who was a paedophile protector http://www.romancatholicism.co.uk/patronofpaedophiles.html. Both those saints need to be dropped and the people need to take action.

Mute Labor Camp
    Favourite Labor Camp
    May 13th 2017, 11:14 AM

Sweet Jesus

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 13th 2017, 1:31 PM

There is good and bad in everything but it is the bad that covers up any good but people forget that?

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    May 13th 2017, 11:15 AM

Apparently his father was the Lord Chancellor of Ireland.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    May 13th 2017, 8:41 PM

Load ofsuperstitious nonsense. Why do people still believe in this rubbish?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 13th 2017, 9:48 PM

@Marc Power: Because everyone has a right to believe what they want?