You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

BigAl 81 via Flickr/Creative Commons

Huge increase in jetskiers "tormenting" beachgoers - Coastguard

The coastguard service is warning jetskiers to stay out of designated swimming areas, amid a rise of around 40 per cent in such complaints.

THE IRISH COASTGUARD says there’s been an increase of around 40 per cent in call-outs relating to leisure activities in the last three weeks, compared to the same period last year.

Amongst the categories showing a rise: broken down sail- and motor-craft; parents reporting missing children; swimmers in difficulty and, notably, nuisance jetskiers.

Operations manager with the Coastguard Declan Geoghegan says they’ve had “around half a dozen cases” of jetskiers causing problems and “tormenting” beachgoers. Speaking to TheJournal.ie, he said that some of the cases related to people using the watercraft too close to swimmers, noting it was likely that in some instances this was accidental. He warned:

The message we need to get out to jetskiers is that you need to stay away from designated swimming areas – the areas between the yellow and red flags that are supervised at beaches. Anyone on a jetski needs to keep a close eye for swimmers at all times.

Most cases of nuisance jetski use were recorded along the South Dublin coastline, although Geoghegan said there was also a case in recent days of a group of young men steering too close to the beach at Achill in Mayo.

Meanwhile, Irish Water Safety’s re-iterating its warning to anyone planning on taking a dip during the warm spell. CEO John Leech says three to six people lose their lives in drownings during each ‘heatwave’ we experience in Ireland.

“Teenagers and people in their early twenties are amongst the groups most at risk,” he told TheJournal.ie:

The big thing that happens is that you have groups of young people going off to find a secluded spot that won’t be supervised, at rivers or lakes or whatever. The fact that they may not be used to swimming in the area, combined with the likelihood that they may have had a few beers means they often get in trouble and can’t make it back to shore.

According to Leech, most drownings that occur in Ireland happen in freshwater – 62 per cent of the total. 37 per cent of all drownings happen in rivers.

Swimmers jumping from the Bull Bridge into the Lagoon at Dollymount in Dublin (Image: Photocall Ireland)

“The big message we want to get across to young people is to find a spot that’s safe for swimming, where there’s a ring-buoy in place and where there’s safe access and egress from the water,” Leech added.

Irish Water Safety’s also warning sea swimmers of the increased risk from rip currents this week. The currents will be stronger than normal for the next few days, due to a new moon last Monday.

Read: Met Éireann has issued a weather warning in Ireland…

Read: So it was 30 degrees in Laois this afternoon…

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute Peter Gavin
    Favourite Peter Gavin
    Jul 10th 2013, 7:54 AM

Jet skis are a huge pain in the ass. You can have hundreds of people enjoying the beach and they all have their peace shattered by some tool zooming up and down all day on his little toy

Mute Daniel Ryan
    Favourite Daniel Ryan
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:54 AM

That ‘ass’ is fully entitled to zoom up and down on that toy! Do you know how much they cost to buy and maintain? obviously not! If u want a quiet beach then find a secluded beach where nobody else goes. All water activities add to the atmosphere and excitement of the beaches. Do you moan like a bitch when your on holidays abroad and there’s speedboats and jet skis? Fcuking unreal you complainers!

Mute Misty Pixie
    Favourite Misty Pixie
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:09 AM

Jet skiing has to be the most selfish sport on earth, especially on inland waters where one person on a jet ski can completely disturb and ruin the peace and tranquility associated with these areas. The impact on wildlife, especially water fowl is significant. Ireland’s tourism business thrives because of the low number of jetskis, fast motor boats and water skiers on our waters, not due to it. Go to Ibiza if you banana boats and the roar of these annoying boats and ” water motorbikes”.
    How can an individual be allowed to create such noise and disturbance? I reckon over 90% of people would support a country-wide ban on this so-called “sport”. Unfortunately it seems to attract a certain type of person also, one with no knowledge of or care for water etiquette . Being an angler who doesn’t actually care whether I catch fish or not, I find that the ever increasing number of these machines appearing on our waters totally spoils the real reason why I fish…peace and tranquility.

Mute Fagan Fagan
    Favourite Fagan Fagan
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:12 AM

@ Daniel
    Simple solution ban jet skies from within a mile of the beach , reinforced by mcgoo’s idea

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:25 AM

@Daniel. Ideally Irish Beaches should be somewhere to escape f****n boy racers. If you read article it says these aqua-boy-racers are intruding on designated swimming areas thats the same as randomly speeding your car in a pedestrianized area.

Mute Fiona Ní HAnrachtaigh
    Favourite Fiona Ní HAnrachtaigh
    Jul 11th 2013, 3:36 AM

Oi gobby…..everywhere else there are rules and regulations…..and they’re obeyed. Otherwise going scuba diving wouldnt b possible!!! Learn respect ya bleedin’ ejit!

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Jul 10th 2013, 7:51 AM

40% rise in Jet Ski’s…. Oh but we’re all so… so… poor we haven’t a pot to piss in and can’t pay our taxes.

Mute Steven Madden
    Favourite Steven Madden
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:05 AM

Readimg comprehension obviously lacking as well as our ability to pay taxes eh Andrew.

Mute andrew burger
    Favourite andrew burger
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:13 AM

The beech is shite. Water meeting sand. Wow its amazein . Jet ski be the only thing thats not boreing at the beech. Please man. I got these cheese burgers man.

Mute Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Favourite Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:29 AM

I don’t know which is worse, people who post a comment after clearly misreading the article, or applaingling bad spelling from smart arses pointing out the fact!

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:52 AM

I’m sorry but if a jet ski isn’t a Celtic tiger, boys toy purchase of those with more credit than sense I don’t know what is…

Mute andrew burger
    Favourite andrew burger
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:55 AM

Pick one up in done deal cheap enough. Few lads go in on it. Then get the cheese burgers safe,we outflank them.

Mute Liam Kelly
    Favourite Liam Kelly
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:10 PM

40% up on last year. It was pissing rain most days last year!

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:37 AM

On any given year in the histroy of Ireland… it’s pissed rain on more days than it has not. It only makes a Jet-ski an even stupider purchase.

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Jul 10th 2013, 7:58 AM

Solution: mines.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:33 AM

Or give rifles to the lifeguards

Mute Sean Foley
    Favourite Sean Foley
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:46 AM

Result of: Mines (In Australia)

Mute Sean Hyland
    Favourite Sean Hyland
    Jul 10th 2013, 1:22 PM

Arklow beach was a disaster zone all weekend. There where two groups from Dublin. Group 1 was fine as they just used the beach to launch and come back in a straight line. Group 2 were full on doing 360 degree spins up to 4M from waters edge at full speed. The usual crack..bunch of young fellas trying to impress not so impressed female friends.

Got the kids out immediately. We actually had to leave the sand area near the water too as they were so close we were expecting a land crash.

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Jul 10th 2013, 2:45 PM

Damned Jacks!!

Mute Nick Hill
    Favourite Nick Hill
    Jul 10th 2013, 7:50 AM

This article just makes me want to go jet skiing. It looks like great craic.

Mute Joe Stodge
    Favourite Joe Stodge
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:16 AM

Flash bastärds.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:53 AM

Sad thing is that the few reckless gobsh1tes with no regards or respect give the responsible owners/operators a bad name.

Mute Daniel Ryan
    Favourite Daniel Ryan
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:55 AM

Well said! But unfortunately this is the case with everything in life.

Mute Iain Murray
    Favourite Iain Murray
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:36 AM

It not just the beach, Lough Ree is plagued with them aswell in family amenity areas. Zipping in and out from “beach” area alongside kids paddling. Strange considering the amenity is in a 5kph speed limit wildlife sanctuary area. Jet skiers should be registered as per other watercraft on inland waterways and the rules enforced to allow the majority enjoy the amenities in peace.

Mute Daniel Ryan
    Favourite Daniel Ryan
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:58 AM

So go and complain where it matters then! Complaining here is not going to achieve anything. If ‘individuals’ are being reckless this does not mean EVERYONE with a jet ski is reckless.

Mute everlast mccarthy
    Favourite everlast mccarthy
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:12 AM

This is why we can’t have nice things!!

Mute Aindriú de Domhain
    Favourite Aindriú de Domhain
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:37 AM

I’m presuming you don’t need a licence/training for a jet-ski, just a wad of cash?

Mute Fagan Fagan
    Favourite Fagan Fagan
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:07 AM

Jet skiers hells angels of the sea

Mute john cleary
    Favourite john cleary
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:14 AM

Jet skiers Honda civic/white van of the seas, and lakes.
    I exclude Mickey Smith from this.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:19 AM

I used to own one (in the good old days) and even I was horrified by the behaviour of other jetski owners. There is NO need to go near the beach! In Enniscrone in Sligo the locals make it very clear to these lunatics that there is a strict speed limit around the pier and that they can not go within a certain distance of the beach. Most adhered to the rules but a lot didn’t (usually the same age profile and gender as people who cause havoc on the roads). Please don’t tar us all with the same brush!

Mute Dearbhla Russell
    Favourite Dearbhla Russell
    Jul 10th 2013, 12:10 PM

Dick heads were buzzing around swimming kids here in wexford yesterday. Celtic tiger cubs and their toys. Sick of it.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Jul 10th 2013, 3:12 PM

Kirsty MacColl was taken away from us because of a spoilt yob on a jetski.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Jul 10th 2013, 7:24 PM

My bad it was actually a powerboat. Ive reported the above comment to see if it should be removed or not though her death was caused by someone using a motorized water vehicle were they weren’t supposed to

Mute Kieran Casey
    Favourite Kieran Casey
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:03 AM

Look on the bright side if people are complaining about jet skis it means the weather is good enough for them to be on the beach I hope they have this problem all summer;)

Mute Charlie Carlisle
    Favourite Charlie Carlisle
    Jul 10th 2013, 3:40 PM

This has potential to be solved quickly.

PLEASE call the Gardaí if you feel any sense of danger from a jetskier/motorboater/sailor/etc. Or if you think they’re reckless.

Gardas likely enforce bye laws and public order only if a complaint is made. If they’re a competent water user, no problem. But the Jackasses out there need to be kept in check.

Jet-skiers: if another is being an idiot afloat, tell him/her or call the Gardaí. For preservation of our equal enjoyment of the water. Otherwise more bans are incoming.

Mute Lou Brennan
    Favourite Lou Brennan
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:23 AM

It’s cheaper and safer than a motorbike Costs less than a couple of weeks on the Pi$$ and a much better buzz.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Jul 10th 2013, 1:03 PM

Not for those swimming.
    Its very difficult to spot just the top of someones head in the waves and more so when a jet ski is traveling at 30 knots plus.

Mute Tom Callaghan
    Favourite Tom Callaghan
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:37 AM

what a bunch of complainers. its only jealousey because the people who don’t have jetski’s wish they had one, and if i seen someone with one it wouldn’t bother me, it only bothers the joe duffy lovers.

Mute john cleary
    Favourite john cleary
    Jul 10th 2013, 5:01 PM

I wish I had your way with words Tom.

Mute Kate O'Connor
    Favourite Kate O'Connor
    Jul 11th 2013, 12:26 AM

I thought the headline said

“Huge increase in jetskiers “tormenting” badgers”

Which is bad form, tormenting badgers like, not cool. Plus it can’t be safe to jetski at night.