You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jimmy Stewart's heartbreaking poem is the best 'dog is for life' reminder you'll ever see

If you can get through this without shedding a tear … you’re probably a cat person.

s2 It's a Wonderful Life It's a Wonderful Life

JAMES STEWART HAS long been synonymous with Christmas: chances are you’ll catch at least a few minutes of his best-known film ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’ at some stage over the next few weeks – either online, on DVD, or (the proper way) gathered around the TV with family members, devouring ham sandwiches and attempting to hold back those salty, salty tears.

The run-up to the festive period is also, typically, a time when the country’s animal charities and groups issue their annual reminder - that a dog is for life, not just for Christmas.

Think before buying

It may seem, to most of us, more than a little astounding that some parents still see nothing wrong with buying a puppy for their offspring around Christmastime – only to realise, just a few days later, that their family is ill-equipped to deal with the responsibilities of keeping a pet. Dogs Trust, for instance, received 51 calls from members of the public requesting to surrender their dog or puppy in the first few weeks of January 2014.

Bearing all of the above in mind, we challenge you to get through this famous vintage clip of Jimmy Stewart reading a poem about his dog on Terry Wogan’s chat-show in the late 1980s without shedding a tear or two.

There wasn’t a dry eye in the studio – or, we’re guessing, among viewers – by the time the star was finished eulogising ‘Beau’ (Wogan aside… the stone-hearted swine).

jim1 BBC / Wogan BBC / Wogan / Wogan

You can read the full poem here, and the final few stanzas are published below – but you really need to watch the man himself read the lines to get the full effect… 

And there were nights when I’d feel him
Climb upon our bed
And lie between us, And I’d pat his head.

And there were nights when I’d feel this stare
And I’d wake up and he’d be sitting there
And I reach out my hand and stroke his hair.
And sometimes I’d feel him sigh
and I think I know the reason why.

He would wake up at night
And he would have this fear
Of the dark, of life, of lots of things,
And he’d be glad to have me near.

And now he’s dead.
And there are nights when I think I feel him
Climb upon our bed and lie between us,
And I pat his head.

And there are nights when I think
I feel that stare
And I reach out my hand to stroke his hair,
But he’s not there.

Oh, how I wish that wasn’t so,
I’ll always love a dog named Beau.

jeffcher10 / YouTube

“Jimmy Stewart’s touching tribute to his companion dog Beau brought a tear to my eye and yet warmth to my heart,” John Carmody of animal rights group ARAN told us.

“His tribute is a heartwarming and yet sorrowful reminisce that shows what groups like ARAN have been saying about dogs for years; that they very much have intricate and individual personalities.

Animal advocacy groups like ARAN have spent years trying to help people to join the dots that whilst animals may look different, they have virtually the same emotions, feelings and temperament as us humans at the very best of times. We think Jimmy sums up the long held belief that ‘a dog truly is for life, and not just for Christmas’.

shutterstock_137913404 Shutterstock / Mary Rice Shutterstock / Mary Rice / Mary Rice

Meanwhile, the ISPCA has recommended people wait until after the festivities before buying a new pet.

“Taking on a pet is a long-term commitment that can affect your life for the next 15 years so it is important to ensure you have adequate time and financial resources to care for your pet responsibly,” the ISPCA’s Andrew Kelly said.

The charity added:

If you really want to get a new pet and it is a well thought out decision …. we recommend that you wait until after the festivities and visit your local rescue centre for advice or the ISPCA, where expert staff will ensure that you and your new pet are a suitable match.

Read: Can you help? This cat was shot with a pellet gun and is up for adoption

Read: This fox was spotted trapped and scared in a Dublin 8 basement this morning 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:46 PM

I will watch the washing machine instead at least the result will be clean and won’t deceive me

Mar 1st 2017, 7:59 AM

Be nice to watch a potential leader of Fine Geal do some actual debating after all these years of not having a leader who will go on live TV. Can’t stand either one but would like them to put their case forward even if it’s just so we can point them to it when they deviate from what they say. As they surely will.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:59 PM

If it ended with a duel with pistols then I’d tune in for the last few minutes!

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:52 PM

I could go for that!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:58 PM

@Setrakian: What about a UFC match, or a head to head and would Leo prefer that?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:09 PM

@Setrakian: Swords?

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Feb 28th 2017, 11:23 PM

I’d watch it if i had a vote but no i don’t.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Feb 28th 2017, 11:29 PM

Why would FG agree to doing it? They’ve enough problems without airing their dirty laundry like that. Anything could come out if it got contentious.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:40 PM

no, lifes is too short.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:43 PM

Think I’ll just comment on The Journal about them instead….

Mute JFN
    Favourite JFN
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:45 PM

I will follow the journals live updates

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:52 PM

A resounding no.

Mute FifiJamming
    Favourite FifiJamming
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:31 PM

Ask him you’re. Simon.coveney@oir.ie

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:33 PM

I’ll be far too busy watching my toe nails growing…more productive too

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:14 PM

@Colm Moran: Like the echo from a toilet bowl…

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:50 PM

How is it relevant when we don’t have a say? Get on with choosing a leader, and whomever it is can state your case at the next General election

Mute A.M
    Favourite A.M
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:28 PM

If your a member of Fine Gael you get a vote.

Mute Bennythekid
    Favourite Bennythekid
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:51 PM

Get lost Leo -Get lost Simon-Get lost Fine Gael.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:00 PM

One of these guys is going to be our next taoiseach. It’s very relevant to our lives. I’m interested in what they have to say. I’ll definitely watch a debate if it happens.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:14 PM

@Bennythekid: Bilderberg will slap you on the wrists for that lol.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:25 PM

@Bennythekid: What the fcuk would they debating about? at the end of the day blueshirt policy will still be the same. Save all the trouble and just toss for it. Ye 2 tossers tossing.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:48 PM

@Rónán O’Suilleabháin: Leader fight off last about 6 weeks and nothing will be done, both of those wannabe curates will be getting their lies prepared for them by now. And the “winner” will be left in charge. Kenny is such a lame duck and these two are hopeless.

Mute John Weldon
    Favourite John Weldon
    Mar 1st 2017, 9:16 AM

@Jack Bowden: Health is our priority, we are going to make reforms to give Ireland a world class health service.

Housing is our priority, we are going to bring in new legislation to alleviate the housing situation in Ireland.

Old people are our priority, we will work hard to ensure that those who have worked hard all of their lives can grow old in comfort.

Young people are our priority, we will invent in our youth because an educated workforce is best for Ireland in the long term.

The sqeezed middle are our priority, we will put measures in place to ensure that the tax take is fair and that all citizens get a decent living wage.

etc, etc, etc, etc,

And once they get in they’ll suddenly forget all of the above. Now you don’t have to watch.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:44 PM

I never thought I’d ever say I would rather watch The Ray D’Arcy Show.

Mute FifiJamming
    Favourite FifiJamming

That’s a tough one…

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:46 PM

@Beachmaster: Take that back

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:29 PM

@Beachmaster: If it clashes with the late late then I guess it will be tg4 that night and even though I dont speak Irish it will make more sense than the other 2.

Mute David Mac Shite
    Favourite David Mac Shite
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:50 PM

Its like trying to decide between two equally priced brands of bottled water.

Mute Seymour business
    Favourite Seymour business
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:42 PM

Simon Varadkar, Leo coveney can’t see the difference myself.

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer

Id rather wash my hair and get an early nite thanks.

Feb 28th 2017, 8:49 PM

” Would you watch Simon Coveney and Leo Varadkar going toe-to-toe in a live debate?” No seriously watching 2 privileged politicians telling us how their going to make things better for the citizens of Ireland. No chance my priority would be cutting my toe nails….

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:41 PM

Not really interested on who is the best performer, it’s about who can get something done…….

Mute Linda Nolan
    Favourite Linda Nolan
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:02 PM

37% said yes? Can we get a fact check on that please?

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:09 PM

Fake news

Mute Linda Nolan
    Favourite Linda Nolan
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:24 PM

@alan: Lol,

Mute Daisy Daisy
    Favourite Daisy Daisy
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:50 PM

Frape news!!

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:49 PM

Why no option for: I’d rather stick nails in my eyes?

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly

I would rather watch paint dry.

Mute John Cummins
    Favourite John Cummins
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:42 PM

It’s finally happened. The first to take a poll. Can you tell me why I picked NO yet 100% of 1 vote are for yes?? Something fishy here!

Mute Eamonn Magrath
    Favourite Eamonn Magrath
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:48 PM

TV3 can’t be serious? Who gives a damn!

Mute JFN
    Favourite JFN
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:44 PM

Can we just have Fianna Fail back in power already? Like the prodigal son, they will return to the top of Irish politics.

Mar 1st 2017, 1:16 AM

No.

Mute Each Way Thief
    Favourite Each Way Thief
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:56 PM

Coveney,Varadkar and Bruton appear to be the three front runners.
    Well, what have they got in common?
    All were privately educated.
    None of them ever did a real days work in their life.
    They don’t mix with the ordinary man in the street.
    They are so far removed from the realities of life. None of them could empathise with the those who have to lie on a hospital trolley, those who are waiting to be housed or anyone who has has fallen on hard times. They are all silver spoon merchants who have never experienced any hardships.
    What the country needs is a man or woman of the people.

Mute FifiJamming
    Favourite FifiJamming
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:02 PM

Who do you suggest? Boysd Barrett? Paul Murphy?

Mute Each Way Thief
    Favourite Each Way Thief
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:45 PM

I suggest you should familiarise yourself wit the topic?

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:46 PM

This idea is intuitively appealing but then what exactly do you want? These people do have jobs: their job is to represent us.

There is indeed a debate these days that politicians are not representative of the society they are supposed to represent, but you’d have to admit there is a conundrum here.

We offload the difficult decisions to them. This is their job. We expect them to be trained to know the dossiers, because they’re meant to act as our delegates. A carpenter may know the hardships of carpentry, and plausibly the accompanying hardships of holding on to the job and the mortgage or rent, but you would not honestly expect them to be able to make complex calculated decisions on the economy, right?

So the problem is to find those politicians who have an intuitive feel for the man in the street, and yet also possess the intellect so that we can trust them on the complex stuff.

Let them fight it out on this very issue. They need to be close to ordinary people on the one hand, but on the other hand they have to be capable of understanding a shitload of issues that most of us would either be incapable of grasping or simply not want to be bothered with.

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:13 PM

No.
    I’d rather drive a bus blindfolded up the Karnali highway while tripping on magic mushrooms.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:00 PM

@Emmet O’Keeffe: Well, you have the trip sorted already.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:28 PM

Sorry but I have a pair of socks I’d rather wash, than waste time watching two neutered, toothless sheep circle each other aimlessly, while the rest of their flock follow their current gormless leadership over the cliff, clearly marked Irish Water Danger Stay Away!

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Feb 28th 2017, 11:11 PM

@Jarlath so funny but true

Mute kevin murphy
    Favourite kevin murphy

No. Politicians should run the country correctly not just stand on live TV and share insults

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 1st 2017, 4:43 AM

@kevin murphy:if it got personal I think we d all watch

Mute Séadhna Logan
    Favourite Séadhna Logan
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:00 PM

If there was an interactive fact check and an option for questions from the public

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:05 PM

I’m right wing. I’m more right wing than you.

I’m a true blue FG. I’m a new FG and more FG than you.

I believe in neo-liberal free market economics. I believe in neo-liberal free market economics even more than you.

At least we both believe in Boston more than Berlin.

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone

Find it hard to see photo here of them 2…

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch

Bring back repeats of The Paul Hogan Show from ’80s co-starring Leo W@nker.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:09 PM

Waste of time. The 25000+ ordinary members of the party are only getting 25% of the vote, whereas around 70 FG politicians are neing given 65% of the say. The contest will be decided long before any telivised debate.

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn

There isn’t a vacancy yet. For either one of them to agree to a leadership debate before Kenny fires the starting gun would be political suicide.

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:00 PM

“Varadkar told the Irish Examiner that he would be ‘happy’ to take part in a live debate with his rivals for the leadership.” (http://www.thejournal.ie/tv3-fine-gael-debate-3263637-Feb2017/)

I might be mistaken but this seems pretty close to creating a vacancy.

Mute Elaynehb
    Favourite Elaynehb
    Feb 28th 2017, 8:58 PM

What would be the point !

Mute TTIP McGowan
    Favourite TTIP McGowan
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:22 PM

Both are as FG as the other. A debate of personalities is pointless if they both follow the same party policies.

Mute Al S Macthomais
    Favourite Al S Macthomais
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:44 PM

This is a joke by TV3. Only person worth watching in such a scenario would be Vinny Browne as the compare.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:06 PM

Who cares about two dopes.

Mute Andi Black
    Favourite Andi Black
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:40 PM

Vera and Ava: Both of you should be the leading story today. I wish you and your daughter the very best of luck. Andi

Mute Tom the Bomb
    Favourite Tom the Bomb
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:27 PM

Where’s the “I would rather gouge out my own eyeballs” option?

Mute Daisy Daisy
    Favourite Daisy Daisy
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:49 PM

To use that famous Irish phrase: I will, yeah!

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:57 PM

Or as Mrs Brown says.. “That’s nice”

Mute Ian Oh
    Favourite Ian Oh
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:54 PM

Not interested in what either has to say because past experience shows that it would all be a pack of lies. Instead I can watch many other shows that have to decency to state upfront that they are fiction.

Mute Right2change Midwest
    Favourite Right2change Midwest
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:22 PM

No. They don’t represent the majority of this Country.

Mute FifiJamming
    Favourite FifiJamming
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:32 PM

And who does? There is no majority

Mute Karen Delaney
    Favourite Karen Delaney
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:31 PM

Why would I bother whoever gets in it’ll still be same old, same old. Nothing ever changes in Irish politics it just lurches from one scandal to another scandal and on and on. Feels like we’re on 0if Magic Roundabout

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:08 PM

Vatman versus Dr. Strange, what a movie that would be lol.

Mute Neil A Campbell
    Favourite Neil A Campbell
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:05 PM

I’ve always wanted to see 2 almost identically sized snakes simultaneously begin to consume the other, from the tail end at the same speed to see the confusing outcome. I can’t picture it, that would be the only fascination in watching those morons who stood by Enda for years.

Mute Sam Sinclair
    Favourite Sam Sinclair
    Mar 1st 2017, 1:05 AM

I have no interest in who leads FG
    They are pathetic in my view
    But I would like to point out that the media seem to show a bias toward L.V.
    In the photos and images put forward on all articles of this type
    Have a closer look

Mute Don O'hare
    Favourite Don O'hare
    Mar 1st 2017, 5:08 AM

Leo called to my parents door a few years back while canvassing. I answered the door and he was very charming and he quickly realised he had gone to uni with my sister. He was so nice!! Oh!!! “Tell her I said hi” bla bla bla. .. a few months later I met him on grafton st. I said hi and said well done on appointment .. he looked a little confused. I went to remind him who I was and he said he knew who I was. And quickly barked he had no time. You wouldn’t talk to a dog like he talked to me and he does a good job of hiding who he really is in front of the cameras..

Mute Jackie Fetherston
    Favourite Jackie Fetherston
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:32 PM

I’d rather watch paint dry than fg rubbish

Mute mary harris
    Favourite mary harris
    Feb 28th 2017, 11:42 PM

Its not a general election. Public don’t have vote. Too much time spent on this. Just change leader & get on with it & do job elected to do.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Mar 1st 2017, 1:35 AM

Toe to toe in a boxing ring

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:05 PM

Dumb and dumber and not an ounce of real life experience with any of them. They are only virgin blotting paper for neoliberal globalisation.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Mar 1st 2017, 6:56 AM

Well if it replaces any of the soaps dished out each night yes I’d find it more entertaining. If

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:55 PM

I’d rather watch ryan turbridy.

Mute Tadhgkelly
    Favourite Tadhgkelly
    Feb 28th 2017, 11:06 PM

Liar liar the best liar wins and the public get fooled again

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:41 PM

Yawn zzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 1st 2017, 4:37 AM

@FlopFlipU:Well said!

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Mar 1st 2017, 9:58 AM

ONLY if they fight in the style of Kirk v Spock in the original Star Trek. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Rl46Dpy-P4
    I’ll wager 400 quatloos on ……….

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Mar 1st 2017, 12:20 AM

That MS Paint job on the photo.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 28th 2017, 10:09 PM

Toe to toe, it is not celebrity dancing again yikes.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Feb 28th 2017, 9:44 PM

Cianan , have you been drinking ?

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Mar 1st 2017, 9:04 AM

No. There is only so much level of crap I can take assaulting my ears!

Mute Rory Corbett
    Favourite Rory Corbett
    Mar 1st 2017, 12:59 PM

Vote Kang… no.. wait…..vote Kodos!

Mute Josie Brennan
    Favourite Josie Brennan
    Mar 1st 2017, 1:12 AM

No thanks. I would rather be shot with balls of my own $hyte.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Mar 1st 2017, 1:52 AM

maybe

Mute Josie Brennan
    Favourite Josie Brennan
    Mar 1st 2017, 1:14 AM

No thanks. I’d rather be shot with balls of my own $hyte.