You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Joan Collins cleared of public order charge over water protest

The TD has been found not guilty of failing to comply with direction given by a garda.

INDEPENDENT TD JOAN COLLINS has been cleared of a public order charge arising from her involvement in an anti-water charges protest last year.

The District Court dismissed the case following a request from the Dublin South-Central TD’s lawyers.

Judge Aeneas McCarthy ruled that the state had not provided sufficient evidence to support the charge.

Collins was arrested last April during a demonstration at the site of a water meter installation on Parnell Road in Dublin 8.

She was accused of having failed to leave the area in a peaceful and orderly manner when directed to do so by a garda.

Collins previously criticised the state’s case as “a waste of taxpayers’ money”.

RTÉ reported that charges against another co-defendant, United Left Alliance councillor Patrick Dunne, were dismissed yesterday.

Read: Court orders CCTV footage be handed over to water protesters

Read: Elderly woman too afraid to leave her home after carjacking, court hears

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

125 Comments
    Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:12 PM

Delighted for her, it was all yet again a waste of time & money!

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:20 PM

She had a nice day out, got dolled up and also and got to wear her favourite nose ring. A good day was had by all

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:22 PM

This was all about Moany letting people know she’s in charge….

See 34 more replies ▾
    Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:44 PM

AAA, “do we agree to let her go”???

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite

Jeasuz…… Joan ain’t wearing well. Far removed from her Dynasty days. No wonder Dex left.

Mute Hólec Alfield
    Favourite Hólec Alfield
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:51 PM

Beanie, rings are round, that’s a stud.

Mute P-Anti Matter
    Favourite P-Anti Matter
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:55 PM

@Wally. How many have already been successfully prosecuted ?

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:57 PM

AAA, ignoring the facts again. And seriously what’s with calling me a blue shirt? Are you that stupid that you think because I disagree with you I must be a FGer.

Also the clip shows it wasn’t a peaceful protest. And they were there to rile the gardai so they could film it and spin it.

Now back to bed with you Mr copy and paste.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:58 PM

I think you’ve mistaken this for a Q&A session Pantiman.

Feb 17th 2016, 3:03 PM

Yep I recall those words being said too . a certain person was just getting carried away with himself and acting the big guy .

Feb 17th 2016, 3:07 PM

All I see from that video clip is people resisting arrest ..

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:21 PM

Good to see justice done which unfortunately is not always the case. For example, we saw recently Judge Michael Coughlan a former election agent for Labour denying the AAA a collection permit in Dublin South West.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/five-out-of-six-judges-appointed-have-connections-to-fine-gael-or-labour-1.11321

A Labour party insider should not be the Judge in a case refusing a collection permit for a rival political party and where the justification for the refusal is the alleged false imprisonment of the Labour party leader.

Mute P-Anti Matter
    Favourite P-Anti Matter
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:22 PM

@Wally. I did sorry, forgot this was just the wally show. It was a genuine question, but your not really into genuineness I take it.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:30 PM

Wally. It is amazing that you and your party are at 1% in the polls , people just dont appreciate the time effort and intellect that you put into you posts here and elsewhere .

Keep posting those big long winded posts about neo-liberals and you will be able to form a government soon !

Good luck with the protest on Saturday

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:38 PM

Jimmy,

I think you’ll find that the AAA-PBP always poll higher than 1% and that we’re not losing support on a daily basis like your own beloved blueshirts.
    Good luck forming the next government with the remnants of the Labour Party.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:45 PM

Will FG’s Claire Loftus director of DPP, or maybe Liebours AG Maire Whelan be summoned now by the government to be ordered to lodge immediate appeals to overturn this further embarrassment for them.
    Seperation of judicary and excutive my arse!!!

Mute P-Anti Matter
    Favourite P-Anti Matter
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:45 PM

Any chance of an idea there wally, can’t find it on Google. I believe there were some guilty plee’s. Is that true ?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:50 PM

So basically there has to be evidence of an offence before a directive from a Garda to move along has any standing in law. Someone should inform Gardi of this ruling.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:52 PM

You might have better luck with that Google search Pantiman if you try “plea” instead of “plee”.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:58 PM

Wally still doing the “You must be a blueshirt ” to anyone who disagrees with you , while your party goes down the toilet bowl with labour.

You talk of the 1% and now you are the 1% …….

Come on before you go will you cut and paste some old rubbish about neo-liberals and the “banksters”

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:59 PM

I’m afraid if you think the fault lies with her youve been misled. We have seen a systematic shutting down of dissent since many of the Irish decided to fight against austerity. That is not democractic. and must be responded to with critique, contempt.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:09 PM

Stop whinging Jimmy. Every regular reader knows what you are.

Mute P-Anti Matter
    Favourite P-Anti Matter
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:16 PM

@Wally. Stop concentrating on my spell checker for two seconds and answer the question will ya. Its a genuine question. Why you so defensive brah ?

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:19 PM

Wally – you are in for some shock at election time if you think that it is only blueshirts that hate AAA. Even SF have turned on you . There is some amount of SF anger against AAA( for the record I dont support SF or FG )

This article wasnt even about AAA and here you are spouting rubbish . ” look over here , its me Wally again “

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:28 PM

Pantiman,

Do you agree Judge Coughlan should have stepped aside in the AAA collection permit case due to a clear conflict of interest?
    Is this an example of the judiciary being used to try and crush political dissent?

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:37 PM

Jimmy,

But you do vote FG and some conveniently anonymous independents?

http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/varoufakis-currency-treason-2243733-Jul2015/

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:43 PM

ARE YOU A BARRISTER with a mission on money and how to destroy peoples good name

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:45 PM

Wally -as the post shows I dont give FG first preference – In fact I might not vote for them at all this time . Social Democrats look like a good bet this time

Calling people blueshirts just because they offend your megaphone is a bit juvenile.

But – carry on .

( by the way were the AAA Limerick accounts published yet ?)

Mute P-Anti Matter
    Favourite P-Anti Matter
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:48 PM

You see the problem here wally is that you’re getting it left right and centre on here and clearly you think every question is an attack. I attended protests locally and twice in town. Peacefully I might add. Now I was wondering, hence my question, if all these cases are being thrown out of court or just some. I genuinely remember hearing of guilty ‘plea’s’ and I wondered at the time why. Why did they not fight these political arrests. I wouldn’t be aware of Judge Coughlans political views but im aware that it was chief superintendent mc Partlin from Crumlin who objected to granting the permit as she stated she feared the money raised would be used to promote further protests. So maybe, it could be an example of the government using the Gardai to try crush political dissent. Either way, I would still like to know how many people have been prosecuted and I still wonder why some plead guilty.

Mute Philip Grant
    Favourite Philip Grant
    Feb 17th 2016, 5:59 PM

Yeah the should have a massive 2% come polling day ..big voice in Irish politics ..the AAA..

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:08 PM

FG troll.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:17 PM

We’ve a big voice in the magnificent water charges boycott which is sinking the government’s latest banker tax program.

Mute P-Anti Matter
    Favourite P-Anti Matter
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:23 PM

@Wally. You know I’m an open minded voter who has not made up his mind yet. But you’ve done AAA no favours today imo. I wont be voting for that crowd if you are the typical voice. An answer to a genuine question was all I needed. Good luck in the elections.

Mute Tom McDonnell
    Favourite Tom McDonnell
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:30 PM

She does not,and never has worn shoulder pads!

Mute Philip Grant
    Favourite Philip Grant
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:57 PM

50% boycott is hardly a victory ?

Feb 17th 2016, 7:13 PM

Hey Beano you muppet, its a nose stud not a ring.I guess you cant take anyone seriously hiding their identity behind a childrens comic, wise up buddy!

Mute A Guy
    Favourite A Guy
    Feb 17th 2016, 8:09 PM

It’s me the 1%, not that 1%, the other 1%, that hates that 1%

Mute Rt Hon Kevin Ward
    Favourite Rt Hon Kevin Ward
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:48 PM

The government seem hell bent on wasting, time money and resources, including that of the Gardai and courts all over water meters and the Irish water quango. All of this waste is against the will of the people. The Government need to be held accountable to their waste and of the treatment of the citizens

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:19 PM

this government has lost control of their common weal and respect for people

Mute Philip Grant
    Favourite Philip Grant
    Feb 17th 2016, 5:57 PM

The will of 50% anyway !

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:06 PM

65%.Don’t believe everything Alan Kelly tells you.

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:31 PM

The people wasting the Gards and courts time are the useless feckers who seem to have all the time in the world going around the place confronting people who are trying to make a living doing there work maybe if they spent the same effort looking for a job they could pay there bills like hundreds of thousands paying for water for thirty years

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:47 PM

So Adolf do you want to get rid of the constutional clause of fair trial?

Mute Owen.K74
    Favourite Owen.K74
    Feb 17th 2016, 7:19 PM

Totally agree with you Rent a mob mentality Same people would pay for nothing, water or waste , household .But you and me with jobs have to pay for them ROLL ON THE RED THUMBS

Mute Philip Grant
    Favourite Philip Grant
    Feb 17th 2016, 7:21 PM

Billy ,check out Paul murphys Facebook page
    The message is really simple:

Boycott – keep it up, 50% aren’t paying.

Protest – join the national Right2Water protest this Saturday 2pm at Parnell Square.

Vote – for anti-water charges and pro-boycott campaigners including all the AAA-PBP candidates.

So he agrees that it’s 50-50

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    Feb 17th 2016, 7:30 PM

Michael don’t think you are to familiar with hitters work .i still think people who are on job seekers should be required to seek jobs .i know your not allowed to say things like that on here because the extreme left dominate the comment section on the journal . No regard for all the people who had to thousands to get connected to group water . Socialism at its best

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 17th 2016, 7:32 PM

Great stuff, the government’s witch hunt failed. What a waste of taxpayers money

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 17th 2016, 7:35 PM

If it’s 50 50 then half of one 50 at least are on wells so it’s on 25% of those who have to pay are

Mute Michael Collins
    Feb 17th 2016, 7:40 PM

Well declan I bet your claiming some sort of benifits too. I’m a constitutionalist and I’m an ardent supporter of the rights. I wouldn’t be a supporter of collins but i will stand by my constitution.

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    Feb 17th 2016, 8:25 PM

Well your wrong on that one have never claimed benefits in my life .the people installing meters have a right to do there work without been abused by a bunch of yobs pretending to be democrats

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Feb 17th 2016, 8:36 PM

Philip,
    Paul Murphy is a hypocrite.
    The man paid his property tax and his water charges when he sold his abode in Churchtown.
    Tearing up his bill yesterday outside Irish water HQ as a protest? An election stunt if ever I saw one.
    It was probably his receipt!

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Feb 17th 2016, 9:09 PM

Enough of the empty spin please Alan. Murphy sold his house in order to buy an apartment in Tallaght to better represent the constituency having won the Dublin SW by- election last year. He had the property tax deducted as part of the sale process and had precisely no choice in that. Neither is Murphy paying the LPT on his new apartment.

The Reveune are deducting the home (banker tax) directly from thousands of peoples’ wages. Like Murphy, those people are not willingly handing over the LPT, it’s being forcibly taken from them by the state.

While in utter contrast we have the revealing farce of an Irish government fighting tooth and nail through the European courts to prevent Apple Inc from having to hand over the billions in tax that they avoided paying the Irish state due to the sweetheart tax deal signed in 1991. Interesting

http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/apple-tax-avoidance-ireland-2076792-Apr2015/

Mute Michael Collins
    Feb 17th 2016, 9:20 PM

Children’s allowance?? Yes people have the right to work. Also people have the right to protest. What is the problem? People are protesting and working so where is the problem??

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Feb 17th 2016, 9:21 PM

Thanks very much for the detail Wally.
    Its so hard to get things like Paul Murphy paying his property and water charges confirmed by a comrade on journal.ie

At least you have admitted he did so.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Feb 17th 2016, 9:46 PM

Dismissal means that the case was dismissed by the District Judge, without hearing the evidence for the Defence. It means that there was no case to answer and the District Court Judge was obliged to throw out the case having heard the initial prosecution “evidence” or lack of it.

When the prosecution has no evidence and cannot prove its case, it usually seeks a strike out according to a solicitor I know,. In this case the prosecution proceeded but there was no evidence to support the charge.

It’s ironic that we prosecute obviously innocent and princilled politicians in Ireland but we avoid prosecuting those who have a strong whiff of sulphur off them and tend to surface in most situations of suspected chicanery.

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Feb 18th 2016, 12:43 AM

What Government? There is no Government.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:08 PM

Good. Spurious charges, and clearly political policing, are far more concerning to me.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:15 PM

Anyone else think the cops’ top brass in this country are getting well above their station? I couldn’t believe it last year when the cops came out and said it’ll be “business as usual and we’ll prosecute anyone found with drugs” when a clear loophole had been exposed and the legal advice was, for a 24 hour period, that the law was baseless.

Since when have the gardai become the lawmakers in this country? The commissioner should have been immediately disciplined, sacked or even charged at that point.

Instead, no-one batted an eye-lid. Quite extraordinary arrogance and bloody dangerous too. Of all people in a society the Gardai should never, ever, be allowed to get above their station.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:17 PM

Luke. You on drugs? That rant makes no since.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:18 PM

Probably doesn’t make any sense to you, Donna. To anyone else who remembers the story, it does.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:19 PM

I remember it well Luke. You have a chip on your shoulder where AGS are concerned.

Mute Thomas O'Connor
    Favourite Thomas O'Connor
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:21 PM

If we had more elected representatives like Joan Collins the country would be a better place to live.
    She has the courage to stand up for ordinary citizens and fight against an unjust water tax so the establishment could give Ireland’s money to the champagne jet set.
    Today she has been vindicated.
    On February 26th, vote Joan Collins number 1.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:22 PM

I have a chip on my shoulder? I have a chip on my shoulder for calling out what was clearly political policing in a democratic state?

Are you for real?

Do you have a position you’d like to put forth to discuss are are you in the habit of making pointless one line posts because you have a chip on your own shoulder?

If you have something to add to the discourse, now would be a good time. If you don;t, please move along.

Mute richiecallaghan
    Favourite richiecallaghan
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:29 PM

Good man Luke you have that many chips on your shoulder in that post it’s like a small dinner

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:29 PM

Well I wouldn’t vote for her, Thomas as I don’t think she’s all that great. But she’s elected and that’s that.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:30 PM

I can see by your own pumped up shoulders you put more emphasis on brawn that brains, richie.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:33 PM

Some would like the gardaí to be disbanded and replaced by IRA thugs.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:40 PM

Leo cop yourself on ffs

Mute Lizzie Birdsworth
    Favourite Lizzie Birdsworth
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:58 PM

Some would like Leo Lowe and some other trolls to stop posting utter shite everyday.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:04 PM

Lizzie, exactly but why haven’t you taken your own advice??

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:29 PM

Luke. Go back to hugging a few trees, is there no protest on today you can attend? People like you with an enflated opinion of himself really pis! Me of. You rant on about policing etc as if your opinion counts. Enjoy the rest of your day. I know I will enjoy mine.

Mute Tom Murphy
    Favourite Tom Murphy
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:43 PM

donna learn to spell please

Mute Lizzie Birdsworth
    Favourite Lizzie Birdsworth
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:43 PM

Tom kelly because i do not comment on this site everyday.

Mute William T Smith
    Favourite William T Smith
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:48 PM

@ Luke Kelly, well said. A lot of Gardai, like a lot of our politicians seem to have forgotten that their job is to serve the people.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:52 PM

Oh Tom the irony is sweet.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:09 PM

So you don’t have a point, you only have a few childish insults. Thought so.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:18 PM

Luke there is no point in saying anything to you or your supporters on here. Ye only understand one agenda and that’s your agenda. I won’t waste my time tbh. You know you have a problem with AGS and can’t wait to have a go at every opportunity.

Mute Catherine Ryan
    Favourite Catherine Ryan
    Feb 17th 2016, 5:26 PM

Who wants the gardai disbanded? Any links to this?

Feb 17th 2016, 5:32 PM

Donna, I was just going to comment the same thing !

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:46 PM

At least the judge saw through the nonsense in the cops evidence ” conflicting evidence”.

Yet again, it was a total waste of our money!

Feb 17th 2016, 2:51 PM

Haha. “Joan vs the state”. More like joan vs a very unpopular, inept, crap gov, and Joan won. More of this next week.

Feb 17th 2016, 6:55 PM

Bit of political policing gone wrong there, must try harder to silence the opposition

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 17th 2016, 7:28 PM

Maybe the courts are biased in favour of the protestors!

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:46 PM

Surely the DPPs office would have known there wasnt enough evidence to charge instead of clogging up court time with it.

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Feb 18th 2016, 12:45 AM

But then the lawyers wouldn’t make any money !

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Favourite SickOfCorruption
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:53 PM

This, along with Irish water in general was a waste of time and resources.

Never paying into this corrupt attempt to rob the Irish people of their water supply.

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:01 PM

Paul, other people are still being charged over that aspect of this protest. She was not near those people. So the charge made against her by the Gardai were illegal. She was a distance away, and standing still on a footpath. Have a look at the video. Can we be charged now if we happen to be in a location where other people cause an incident? Maybe a new crime of “being in the vicinity when random people do stuff”???

Feb 17th 2016, 4:50 PM

The governments use of the Gardaí as their own police force has gone too far…

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:32 PM

Charges should be brought against those who tried to prosecute the peaceful protesters and wasted even more state time and money

Mute Geraldine Kelly
    Favourite Geraldine Kelly
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:23 PM

Delighted!

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:52 PM

Sue the sh*it out of them now. By any standards it was an illegal arrest. The videos are out there. She was just standing on a footpath. If that’s a crime then we are all guilty of it. Common sense won over Garda intimidation

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:08 PM

Now she can concentrate on her acting career.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:31 PM

I think FG might be difficult to joing.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:48 PM

A minor booby.

Mute North Korean General
    Favourite North Korean General
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:51 PM

Joan Collins TD would never join a right wing fascist party like FG

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:43 PM

Great news.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:42 PM

Wasting money is par for course with this government such as Irish Water in excess of €110 Million Eircodes €38 Million Banking enquiry €7 Million Advisors € unknown. And they want to continue with this carryon.

Mute Yvonne Clarke
    Favourite Yvonne Clarke
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:15 PM

Delighted for Joan and the other 12 innocent citizens illegally arrested with her by a corrupt government.
    How much has this farce cost the taxpayers ? How many people on our streets could have benefitted from this waste ? #EndaOut #Right2Change

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:46 PM

The problem is that a lot of garda don’t actually know the law as its written and apply it as such, what you’ll get is their own personal opinion and they’ll make out that that’s the law. Now not only has the judge dismissed the charges as baseless but a hell of a lot of taxpayers money and garda hours have gone into something that should never have happened.

Mute P-Anti Matter
    Favourite P-Anti Matter
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:52 PM

You know in riots and such, police forces use what they call ‘snatch squads’ that break rank and go after the antagonisors, dragging them back behind the lines of police and arresting them. I know tallaght wasn’t a riot, but my point is, was she targeted as an antagonisor ?

Mute Brendan Gordon
    Favourite Brendan Gordon
    Feb 17th 2016, 5:43 PM

Is this not more worryingly a case of political policing? A political opponent being harassed by the security sevices? Or am I being dramatic? At least the judge saw sense

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 17th 2016, 5:34 PM

Slap in the face for the government / Gardai and in particular the DPP. Shame on them.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:13 PM

Oh here we go the usual suspects with its them not us.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:28 PM

Says he/she of the made up account.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper

Loved her in Dynasty

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Feb 17th 2016, 2:37 PM

There was no result thats right here as if she was guilty it would be politicsl and when she is not guilty she thinks she did nothing wrong.

It was far from a peaceful protest on the day anybodu with any sort of brain would see that.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 17th 2016, 5:28 PM

You mustn’t have seen the incident.

Mute Toejam
    Favourite Toejam
    Feb 17th 2016, 3:41 PM

OH MY! Another fine example of Celtic humanity along with Mick Wallace & Ming Flannigan!

Mute gerard buckley
    Favourite gerard buckley
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:32 PM

What is wrong with this country of ours, throw her in jail she has a big fat salary so let her pay her way.Water is a commodity that doesn’t or shouldn’t come free.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:47 PM

*sigh, it’s not, nor has it ever been”free”

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:53 PM

If your saying that you disagree with the law of the land and disagree with the judges discision wouldn’t that make you a dissident, the judge has quite clearly stated that the people are innocent and for you to state otherwise shows your contempt for the rule of law. Can you also please show how no one pays for water cos that’s the first I’ve heard of that.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 17th 2016, 7:49 PM

Clearly political policing by Mr Kelly and government

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Feb 17th 2016, 8:04 PM

Was a garda car despatched to pick her up from her house and bring her to court or is such extravagance and expense only reserved for the pink panther and Clare Daly?

Mute bigjake
    Favourite bigjake
    Feb 17th 2016, 4:16 PM

She has changed a lot since dynasty

Mute Paul Scully
    Favourite Paul Scully
    Feb 17th 2016, 6:50 PM

Should of been sent to jail

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1
    Feb 17th 2016, 8:43 PM

Here’s how to check if you’re one of the 380,000 people with contaminated water http://jrnl.ie/2609345