You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A DÁIL VOTE to end the referrals of jobseekers to the JobPath scheme has passed this afternoon by 81 votes to 42.
Opposition parties united to slam the government’s job activation programme, with a debate on the issue during the week hearing the scheme being dubbed “coercive” and “ruthless” by politicians.
Sinn Féin spokesperson for Employment Affairs and Social Protection, John Brady, who moved the motion, welcomed today’s vote stating that the onus was on the government to respect the will of the Dáil.
“Today the majority of the Dáil voted in support of the Sinn Féin motion to immediately stop referrals to Jobpath and to invest in schemes that work.
“It has cost the taxpayer millions and it has caused untold damage to existing community based schemes, including the Adult Guidance Service, the Local Employment Service, Community Employment and Job Clubs,” he said.
JobPath is an employment activation service provided to people who have been on the live register for more than 12 months and are trying to secure and sustain full-time paid employment or self-employment.
Private companies
The two private companies employed by the State, Turas Nua and Seetec, to operate the scheme have received €75.7 million and €73.3 million respectively to carry out its work.
The two contractors are paid to work with both the jobseeker and employers to identify employment opportunities.
They receive payments when someone who has taken part in the scheme gains proven employment.
Sustainment payments are also to be made to the companies over the course of a year in respect of each person who secures employment having engaged in the JobPath process.
Whoops!
We couldn't find this Tweet
TheJournal.ie revealed last year that the private companies contracted by the State to run the scheme are entitled to €3,718 for every jobseeker that gains sustained employment for one year through the JobPath scheme.
Those that refuse to engage with the scheme can have their social welfare reduced or cut off. In the last number of months, criticism has been levelled at the private companies that operate the scheme, with politicians highlighting a number of issues.
Unsuitable
Related Reads
'Explosion in social welfare sanctions': SF and FF team up to slam government's JobPath scheme
Committee told man on JobPath scheme had his CV amended against his wishes to conceal his ethnicity
Speaking tonight in the #Dáil on Sinn Féins motion to abolish the #Jobpath scheme . This scheme has failed at a huge cost to the taxpayer. It should be abolished . pic.twitter.com/j0WZRuVAi4
Many personal testimonies of those on the scheme have been highlighted during debates and committee hearings on the scheme – with criticisms being levelled at programme for attempting to place people in unsuitable work placements.
Defending the government’s scheme this week, the Minister for Employment Affairs and Social Protection Regina Doherty said approximately 41,000 individuals have found full-time jobs while engaged with the JobPath service – with a further 5,000 finding part-time jobs.
However, Fianna Fáil’s Lisa Chambers accused the minister of giving one angle, highlighting that only 9% have actually held a job for longer than 12 months.
Politicians have called for money to be invested in State schemes, that do not rely on the private sector.
https://www.facebook.com/MattieMcGrathTD/videos/2402066426494459/
Catherine Greene of the Kildare and Wicklow Education Training Board said organisations such as the one she works for, should have been tasked with the job that JobPath have been doing for the last number of years.
She told the committee it was “poor practice” to lift the JobPath model from the UK without making any changes or adaptations for working with the Irish public”.
She said the Job Path model was based on the model being used by the G4S recruitment company in the UK, which was criticised by the UK Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills.
“We have no difficulty with recruitment agencies as a model of accessing employment, but to use these services people must be highly skilled, workplace ready,” she said.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
66 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
This was truly an awfull scheme. I work with unemployed people who are with us on our Tidy Towns scheme. After a year working for their dole in the Community they were put in front of a computer all day looking at jobs. Jobs that they have no chance in getting as most of them has no skills and are too old to get employment.
It was a disgrace it was like that film, I am Daniel Blake,
That turas nua company have got 75 million and most of the guys came back to us after they were finished with them. We got them more jobs with our recommendations and contacts than turas nua ever did and we gave them skills too.
I would be glad to see the back of them
@bill clear: Another massive problem is a lot of people just could not survive on minimum wage. The government should put in place a work incentive programme for long term unemployed which gives them a percentage of the Employment Benefit payment tax free for at least two years to allow the ordinary person to get a couple of years experience and get back into the swing of working, it’s a big black rut being stuck on the dole, it’s very hard to have the wherewithal to pull yourself out of it!
@Shawn O’Ceallaghan:
Many people on Schemes are in their sixties and would find it difficult to get full time work especially in rural areas. Many work on Schemes to alleviate loneliness and isolation.
@bill clear:
Desperate waste of money. I worked for 15 years as a CE Supervisor and placed many people in full time good jobs by finding out what they wanted to work at and providing training that was relevant. All some of them needed was a bit of encouragement . Needless to say the Supervisors were paid no fee , it was just part of the job. I do not understand why these private companies were hired in the first place.
@Shawn O’Ceallaghan: Too old to reskill for the types of jobs they were being “encouraged” to apply for more like – just for the sake of ticking a few boxes and with no consideration for anything or anyone else.
@Shawn O’Ceallaghan: you seem somewhat puzzled at the notion that age isn’t a factor in obtaining employment. The truth is that individuals who are over the age of 55 have very little chance of gaining employment and those over 60 have a snowball’s chance in hell of obtaining employment.
If your life long occupation is construction based and there are no relevant jobs available, they push you to apply for low paying, no contract dead end jobs. There are no career development choices, no training, nothing.
@Shawn O’Ceallaghan:If you are a worker by nature, you want to work, however, Job Path push low level jobs in retail, hospitality, cleaning and customer service. ‘Fact’
@Shawn O’Ceallaghan: What a Tool u are .. Was it bulders fault that Bankers runined the country, most of my friends who worked in Construction left the country, soem could not for various reasons, is that good enough for you. You will change your tune when yor job is replaced by AI or a robot
That was sum rip off for FGs friends working in Tusa nua – they literally chased down people a year or two from retirement. People who had worked all their lives and terrorized them.
Like all the schemes in this country they don’t work and don’t benefit anyone. Ce schemes for example take real jobs away. Why not bring back jobs like caretakers , handy people , receptionists , administration support etc these jobs are now usually ce schemes or Tus schemes , instead of this being an actual full-time fully paid role ,
@Lynn:
Many of the jobs you describe are carried out by people on CE Schemes. Funding should be provided to the voluntary organizations who sponsor these schemes to progress these jobs to become part time or permanent . Instead when a person has been trained they have to leave as their time is up and another person has to be trained in their place.
@Regina Farrell: how much money do you think the government pays out to people in social welfare payments who are employed by companies on zero hour contracts or 2 days work a week? We are subsidising the proitability of companies and keeping people in poverty traps while doing so. Our government does not care about actually solving unemployment in a meaningful way and helping people find sustainable employment that pays enough to actually live on. It only cares about the optics of it. Your commentary is ignorant of the facts and ignorant of the challenges that most people face when they become unemployed. It would be interesting to understand if, by using private companies the government can circumvent closer public scrutiny of the spend and the services received for the spend.
@Regina Farrell: Suppose the billions of taxpayers money that was used to bail out the banks, Pay the bondholders with interest , Pay two companies millions to oversee the scam called job bridge .The recorded abuse of this system is yet to be published. Yes their will always be people who will abuse the system, but not a blip on the abuse by the banks, the government, heaped on the ordinary people of Ireland .
@Regina Farrell: Some people take advantage of the state true but most dot. How high and mighty you are but in the blink of an eye you might need that support.
Have the people running these so called companies made personal millions out of the misery of unemployed people and the taxpayer.
Gombeen nation in full motion.
after years in the retail sector at 50 I returned to education and completed a degree found a job which but for a few hours a month was full time.. da da.! guess what I was sent on job reach who could offer me nothing I hadn’t done myself. I was assigned a mentor who said they would help me find my hidden talents after explaining my circumstances the numpty still asked had i considered further education to help me. and then it appeared like a blinding light my hidden talent i could see a bunch of clowns no matter how they disguised them selves so thank you Tuas nua im in your debt ( I never went back ) my mentor is probably up the walls with worry…
UnitedPeople on the 17th of January in the Oireachats, gave its third annual report (after a thee year investigation) on the JobPath scheme. It presented sample 103 victim statements also in a single document alone. The gave in three. All specific detailed.
Short version: JobPath has been an utter expensive, abusive disaster from start to finish.
No amount of FG spinning will hide this.
It says it all when this week, Labour during a dail debate which we attended, also said the failed “experiment” must go as it was an utter disaster. Their words are important – as is was their very own previous party leader that rammed it down the throats of a nation.
For Labour then to call for it to go (maybe even criticising Mrs Burton for introducing it with FG), is a clear indication how really a disaster it was – and they could not but fail to recognise this too. It was so obvious.
€170+ Million for a success rate that is actually less than 7%.
People double and triple sent through it.
Attempted suicides on JobPath properties (we have the photos)
Assaults (we have the recordings)
People treated like dirt country-wide.
Alleged mass bullying/coercion.
The exporting of people’s data to a private company without their wishes.
The Dept’ of S.P. illegal stealing people’s money.
We could go on. We did on record in the Oireachtas.
JobPath is a future national inquiry in the making.
Does anyone know what this means from today for people currently, unfortunately, on one of these schemes. For example, if you were in seetec and had an appointment tomorrow or next week and didn’t turn up, would they still have your payments reduced? Will they still be working come next week? Maybe I need to read it again but all I saw was that effective immediately they cannot recruit any new clients onto scheme but nothing about current clients, will those just recruited have to complete the year?
Should be no need for them now with full employment. Jobs going a begging. Anybody not working should be cut off unless there are other reasons why not working.
@John Deed: the benefits of working should far outweigh social welfare benefits, which they don’t. You can’t take any more off the welfare so the only other option is for wages to increase to a decent level. 12.50-13euro an hour minimum should be enough to entice people back to work.
@John Deed: Those jobs are in Dublin. Half the population do not live there and couldn’t afford to anyway. Here in Donegal we want jobs but employers won’t come here.
@Hardly Normal: then we would become even more uncompetitive,and also the people who work above the lower wage will want a pay rise to make it worth there while to take on the responsibility……do you see where that idea is going.
@John: give it to them John, they’re most likely underpaid anyway! A yearly increase thereafter to keep up with inflation would be the way I’m thinking. I don’t know how they do it but Australia seem to control inflation and wages go up accordingly every year!
@John Deed: Their is work out there at minimum wage and zero hour contracts. Which pays way under the poverty line. So thats what you want people to do, is it.
No difficulty with recruitment agency’s ?? They are as bad,you don’t do the work, you get punished by not being offered anymore work,another 0 hour contract company’s ,anyway good news to see zeetec getting the boot,use the money for CE schemes to clean up the country,also get back to training our young to work.
If only 9% of 41000 people lasted more than a year in their jobs (approx 3700) and Seetec and Turas get paid €3780 for each position they fill that lasts more than one year, how did they receive €149m last year. Surely it should have been closer to approx €13m, and not over tenfold that, or am I totally missing something. Were they paid for 41,000 placements even though only 9% completed the year? Genuine question.
@Jim Byrne: Exact number was €3718 for every person.
For every PPP signature they got a 15% payment of the head price.
* For signatures alone, this meant they got over €65+ for signatures alone – not actual work done yet.
Because they needed signatures for money, alleged mass intimidation and bullying, threatening tactics ensued.
* Additionally, people have been shoved through JobPath two or three times so the companies again reaped rewards every time.
State agencies already set up, that could have been adapted, could have saved 60% to 70% of this mass money. Instead, FG saw to it, it all went to the private companies.
@Unitedpeople: Thanks for the clarification, much appreciated. The €149m still seems very high even allowing for the signing up fee of 15%. I’ll have a look at the Youtube link. There must be a call for this €149m to be audited, it should be brought up with the PAC. The logic behind using 2 UK private companies beggars belief when there are numerous existing state agencies that could take this on. Seetec UK is/was also allegedly a registered charity but does not appear on the Register of Charities. Somethings rotten here.
Jeff Rudd and others have worked tirelessly on this for the last couple of years.He spent literally hundreds of hours on it and should be credited. (He would be the last to seek said credit himself)
Fair play Jeff!!
What ever happened to the schemes were folk were out cutting back ditches and clearing roads sweeping etc. Anytime I’d pass them by they always looked content in there work
I went to FAS in the noughties, not by choice, and was told they could put me on either a computer for beginners course or a hairdressers course. My info told them that I had taught computer for beginners (even to FAS staff) and in my fifties I was unlikely to have an interest in or the ability to start a career in something I had neither the talent or desire to do
Jeff Rudd and others have worked tirelessly on this for the last couple of years, spending hundreds of hours on it and should be credited. (He’s the last person that would seek credit himself)
Fair play Jeff. Well done.
@Sam Glynn: im not sure, but i do know the contract runs out at the end of the year. Its possible they will let the contract play out until then and not renew it.
Can they cancel a contract just like that?
@Ybrik: thanks for the info. Didn’t know contract was due to run out anyway. I’d say your probably right in saying just letting contract play out till end of year. As much as I disagree with this happening. If it’s not fit for renewal and they had this motion of it today, surely, it just cease immediately. Will just have to wait and see what happens next…….
China announces countermeasures against US by raising tariffs from 84% to 125%
Updated
1 hr ago
food review
Nutrition of hot school meals to be reviewed by health officials
Updated
51 mins ago
citizenship
Law allowing naturalised Irish citizenship to be revoked in serious cases recommenced
Updated
16 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say