You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

New jobs on the way at pharma firm's brand-new 'Global HQ'

Horizon Pharma markets a range of products to combat arthritis, inflammation and rare or ‘orphan’ diseases.

Updated at 4pm

SIXTY NEW JOBS are on the way in Dublin over the next three years at Horizon Pharma — a specialist biopharmaceutical company.

The Taoiseach opened the firm’s new ‘Global Corporate Headquarters’ in the Baggot Street area of Dublin this afternoon.

The new jobs will be in areas like research and development, supply chain and finance.

“Ireland’s reputation as a leading location for business and investment in the life sciences sector is further boosted by this announcement of 60 new highly-skilled jobs for Horizon Pharma in Dublin,” Enda Kenny said in a statement

“Attracting companies like Horizon Pharma to establish and create jobs in Ireland is one of the Government’s key missions as we work to secure the recovery and ensure that more people begin to feel the benefits in their daily lives.“

Horizon Pharma plc markets a portfolio of products to combat arthritis, inflammation and rare or ‘orphan’ diseases.

Read: Apple is building an €850 million data centre in Athenry

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Shane Hartnett
    Favourite Shane Hartnett
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:03 PM

“tribute’s were paid to the Irish people”……………The Irish people who have been bullied into paying bankers and bondholders debts stood over and supervised by you Noonan…you have watched over a generation of youth leave the country,a country where the old and the disabled are paying the price for others folly.With your soundbites and glib remarks you should be proud of what you and your cronies have done..jackass!!

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:16 PM

The old are paying?

Are they indeed???

Dec 9th 2013, 9:41 PM

There was a story here in the last day or two which said that in Dublin alone, a family is being made homeless every two days. So austerity is delivering results? Depends what you consider a result..

Mute Patrick Gallagher
    Favourite Patrick Gallagher
    Dec 9th 2013, 11:00 PM

Due to illness I have time on my hands, if there is one thing I notice lately is the deep simmering anger amongst commentators on this site and others. People give out about how the Irish are not reacting to austerity, however there is a growing anger in this country in relation to the ruling elite and the disparity between them and the people they serve. A word of warning, do not misjudge apparent apathy to real anger that has been proved in the past. I for one am so angry with these self served politicians that cannot walk the streets with their false smiles and promises because the electorate do not believe them anymore.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 10th 2013, 8:15 AM

I wouldn’t take the comments on this site as representative of anything. The hard right and the hard left with hardly anyone in between. Good for a bit of comedy but you couldn’t claim it represents any bit of reality.

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Dec 10th 2013, 4:53 PM

Are u real , am I , why are we here .?

Mute Gerry McNally
    Favourite Gerry McNally
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:08 PM

How many people are still out of work? How many more people are homeless? How many are currently defaulting on their mortgages? Does this mean we can stop paying our Universal Social Charge. Boom, Boom, Boom my arse.

Mute Kevin Gibb
    Favourite Kevin Gibb
    Dec 9th 2013, 8:44 PM

Now there’s an understatement !

Mute Lloyd Christmas
    Favourite Lloyd Christmas

I could have came out with that statement and I ain’t no politician

Mute Antonov Merinov
    Favourite Antonov Merinov
    Dec 9th 2013, 11:07 PM

Of course property prices are on the increase.
    It’s a simple law of demand and supply scenario.
    The supply is there and foreign investors are buying Irish property by the dozen.

Mute Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Favourite Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh

Please someone explain how this useless fat baldy b@$t@rd got into office. From his McCarthyite behaviour of phone tapping of journalists, his bullish stance in the hepatitis C scandal not to mention his bully behavior to Bridget McCole and her family. This man is some piece of work. Do the Irish have short memories?. Wtf.?

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Dec 9th 2013, 10:02 PM

I thought he revealed the wire tapping by the previous Fianna Fail government, not carried it out.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Dec 10th 2013, 10:34 AM

I think Tristan needs to brush up on his facts…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_phone_tapping_scandal_(1983)

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Dec 10th 2013, 8:32 PM

Tristan he is an establishment goon……he was chosen for the job a year or so beforehand, he even was out and about TV shows and radio shows to gather some public support…..a fair snake alright !!

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:04 PM

Tell that to the dead ,the distraught ,the future nervous wrecks, and remind the bankers that are terrorising people at the mouth of Christmas with demand,s and threat,s

Mute Robbie Smith
    Favourite Robbie Smith
    Dec 9th 2013, 8:59 PM

What idiot said there is a property boom anyway

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Favourite Jean Paul Valley
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:18 PM

Property prices have increased about 20% this year in Dublin.

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:26 PM

Hmmm. Dunno why I got the red thumb. I just stated a verifiable fact.

I know commenting on here I shouldn’t rely on facts. Or knowledge. But hey. I’m a maverick.

Mute Duncan
    Favourite Duncan
    Dec 9th 2013, 10:37 PM

Facts can hinder moaning !!

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:20 PM

Same crap as the 80′s….’careful now’…’we have to tighten our belts’….’steady as she goes’ etc. All the while the Michael Noonans of our land and their ilk capitalise on our nations misery by snapping up properties at bargain basement prices.

Mute Sean Costello
    Favourite Sean Costello
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:32 PM

I don’t understand how anyone ever voted this evil fool back into the Dail. What he did to Bridget McCole and her family was nothing short of disgusting. Anyone who voted for this man should be ashamed of themselves. I realise that’s quite a lot of shame for quite a lot of voters. What punishment did this disgusting piece of work get for his actions once back in power? Ministry for finance. Go figure.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Dec 9th 2013, 8:47 PM

But but buy..you mean you lied?..where’s the 1500 jobs a week

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:41 PM

The Minister for Finance is in Brussels for a Eurogroup meeting, who said Ireland is “proof” that austerity packages ‘deliver results’.”
    – yes – it delivers results alright – unemployment , Emigration , low wages , workers rights erodes , zero hour contracts- but he is getting away with it . there is no point bin name calling him here – tho it is tempting to call him a blatant liar and a##licker to his bosses in EU – who have used Ireland to prove that a failed policy ” works ” – well it does – for the bankers’.
    Surely it is time to physically throw these people out

Mute Dabucktoothfrog
    Favourite Dabucktoothfrog
    Dec 9th 2013, 10:24 PM

And put in who ?? FF who fcuked us or SF who haven’t got a clue ??

Dec 9th 2013, 11:33 PM

SF haven’t had a chance. Can they do any worse? Only one way to find out..

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Dec 10th 2013, 8:29 AM

what proof is that that sinn fein havent got a clue Dab….
    surely they could nt do any worse for a start and i would safely say pearse doherty has forgotten more about finance than anyone in fg or lab ever knew

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Dec 10th 2013, 1:10 PM

Are we not capable of forming a party – is it necessary to accept thes e crooks as being all that is available ??.

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:05 PM

I have by no means bought into the governments bs in general, but I think the point made about crediting the hard work and determination of the general public has some merit.
    I also get no small bit of satisfaction when I see these positive figures and think back to the placards of the Greek protesters in Athens, knocking the “weak” Irish public, when it is we who have survived this catastrophe, and the so called birth place of democracy is only plunging towards something which is far from that.

Mute BMJF
    Favourite BMJF
    Dec 10th 2013, 8:11 AM

You make a good point but unfortunately you can’t equate the two and Greeks problems were very different – you see they actually had a very serious current budget deficit which we didnt really in grand scheme of things. We just decided to take one on by bailing out banks with taxpayers money. Accepting for a moment that maybe we’d no choice (I don’t) then yes we’ve managed to survive this disaster reasonably well, especially if you’re relatively well off. Unfortunately this govt had choices about cuts & taxes and they chose to hit the most vulnerable and ignored any suggestions to take a bit more from those that could most afford to assist in the crisis, even temporarily. I do think sections of society are angry and rightly so!

Mute Gerry McNally
    Favourite Gerry McNally
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:22 PM

It’s great to see how upbeat Noonan is. He thinks he’s fecking Santa Claus with his spreading of hope to all in the season that it is. Don’t be fooled into breaking bad on the old credit card. January will soon be upon us as will the statement on account. Normal service will resume.

Mute Dabucktoothfrog
    Favourite Dabucktoothfrog
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:34 PM

The Irish must be the gloomiest, prophets of doom in the entire world! Everything is wrong with the gov. The last crowd fcuked us and this crowd reneged on promises yet we are exiting the troika and the country is improving slowly but improving. Some of the posters here would need to lighten up and get a grip on themselves!!

Mute Gerry McNally
    Favourite Gerry McNally
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:36 PM

Bah humbug

Mute BMJF
    Favourite BMJF
    Dec 10th 2013, 8:22 AM

May depend on whether you think we live in an economy or a society??Maybe you should “get a grip” and take a walk down Diblin, Cork, Limerick’s increasing food queues, take a look at the new homeless families seeking shelter each week … Yes some economic indicators have improved, but the Trickledown economic policy is more of a drip. This government had choices about how to make cuts/taxes and it chose methods that have contributed further to the misery of the most vulnerable in our society. They ignored any calls to ask high net worth or high earners to temporarily contribute more to help us get out of the mess. The result – improving Economy, dis-improving society!!

Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11

If we’re getting off d ground. Noonan is well up at cruising speed at a whooping 39000 ft

Mute Brehon Law
    Favourite Brehon Law
    Dec 9th 2013, 11:20 PM

You know what? I’m sick of Noonan and his mealy-mouthed mumblings. He hasn’t a clue. Or maybe he has! His presentation of the soft shoe shuffle about housing tells me he is under instruction.
    The fact is that Dublin and Ireland are two different places especially when it comes to housing. The same is true for London and England. Where there is a mass population congregated in an area that can only accommodate less than a mass population, it doesn’t matter about banks, loans, income or anything else when it comes to demand – it will always be dominant.
    For the rest of the country, it is and will continue to be painful. Wake up and smell the feckin shamrock!

Mute Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Favourite Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Dec 9th 2013, 8:58 PM

Although it may not be boom time there are possibile ways to ease the burdens on the less well off. Ireland is generating more Electricity than it needs, and is planning to export its surplus electricity. Since there is already a surplus, it would cost nothing if the government implement a scheme where low income families and individuals can get free electritcity.

Mute Robert Hayes
    Favourite Robert Hayes

And also a scheme to give low income families 50″ plasma televisions.get real !

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:17 PM

Electricity isn’t like butter. You can’t just give the surplus away for free.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:19 PM

If Ireland had a surplus of 50” plasma televisions, then yes. But Ireland does not produce surplus plasma televisions, it produces and plans to export surplus electricity; so those on low incomes will just have to settle for free electricity instead.

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:23 PM

I really don’t think you know how electricity works.

Mute Joe Reville
    Favourite Joe Reville
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:34 PM

The things you say on the journal are pure tripe, I’m beginning to think you’re the new Harry Price!

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:38 PM

How about abolishing the USC Patricia…give the ordinary PAYE worker a break for a change as opposed to “low income” people…we all know who you really mean by “low income”…

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:43 PM

the government implement a scheme where low income families and individuals can get free electritcity.”-
    —–u get nothing Free in a neoliberal /fascist country

Dec 9th 2013, 9:46 PM

Kris O Kay Kay. Yes, I am feeling quite generous this evening so I would like to abolish USC also. Right now I want to prioritise free electricity for low income people.

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:57 PM

But the USC goes towards subsidies and other social welfare benefits for low income families? If you abolish that then low income families will suffer.

You’re quite entertaining, I’ll give you that.

Dec 9th 2013, 10:29 PM

Jean Paul. Thank you for the information. On foot of what you say, I am now willing to dispose of USC entirely. Once low income families have free electricity that means less subsidies will be required. There will no longer any need for anyone to suffer once my proposals are implemented.

Mute Jean Paul Valley
    Dec 9th 2013, 11:00 PM

If it was anyone else I’d think you were messing. Unfortunately, having seen your other posts, I know you’re not.

Would an unemployed family this Christmas prefer free electricity or children’s allowance and the dole?

No food but at least we can watch tv?

I know I know. I’m worse to be engaging you.

Mute Joe Reville
    Favourite Joe Reville
    Dec 10th 2013, 1:08 AM
    Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 10th 2013, 7:37 AM

Is that so you can leave your lights on?

Your taking the piss with your free electricity, pay your own feckin bills!

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Dec 10th 2013, 9:05 AM

Jean Paul Vally, please dont be so nieve, the USC does not go towards subsidies and other social welfare benefits for low income families, it goes straight to bail out the banks and bondholders,

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Dec 10th 2013, 9:27 AM

Sure, just what a broke country needs,more jobs that is,not free handouts.

Dec 10th 2013, 10:04 AM

Thank you John Meade. It appears that a lot of people in the country believe that low income families are too well off, and that the poor Banksters and Shareholders are more deserving of their largesse.

Mute THE VOICE
    Favourite THE VOICE
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:06 PM

You should be more worried about just staying above ground Michael……

Mute Bryan Smyth
    Favourite Bryan Smyth
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:22 PM

Great to see everybody being so upbeat, sure just keep talking good news down, that’ll help..

Mute Gerry McNally
    Favourite Gerry McNally
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:25 PM

Bryan, where exactly do you see the good news in this story apart from the fact that we the Irish people have been the persons responsible for progress so far with our acceptance to every bloody budget that has been thrown at us? Please enlighten me as this story makes me nauseous.

Mute BMJF
    Favourite BMJF
    Dec 10th 2013, 8:13 AM

…oh yeah and don’t forget if people start warning about us creating a property boom that you need to jump up quick & tell those talking it down to “commit suicide” – Bertie Ahern

Mute Procrastinator
    Favourite Procrastinator
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:01 PM

I hate his voice. Rob Kearney on the other hand makes me wet

Mute Procrastinator
    Favourite Procrastinator
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:09 PM

Dislike my comment all you want. To Kearney naked. That is all

Mute Procrastinator
    Favourite Procrastinator
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:09 PM

*Rob

Mute nf
    Favourite nf
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:10 PM

Ridiculous

Mute Emmet Boyle
    Favourite Emmet Boyle
    Dec 10th 2013, 7:59 AM

Free electricity for Patricia and anyone else who wants a State funded family.
    I’m sorry guys but if you want to have kids, you should really have your own income. The banks are not the only ones that robbed all our money. Why do some Irish people feel entitled to start a family, when they have no job and no income?

This sense of entitlement that the State should hand you everything?

You’re lucky enough to get a children’s allowance.

If you don’t have an income, don’t have kids!

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Dec 10th 2013, 1:23 AM

Oh property boom…. We need another one of those :-/

Mute BMJF
    Favourite BMJF
    Dec 10th 2013, 7:59 AM

Here we go AGAIN – Kenny, Noonan et al asleep AGAIN. This time they’re at the wheel not FF, but the pattern will be the same – over stimulate false demand with investors (aka many ordinary people who should have more sense) and have first time buyers queuing for family homes at exorbitant prices! Then…you shrug your shoulders and blame “supply & demand”. Central bank & Honohan will roll in behind the government denials of a problem and the regulator will say strong things to banks but do nothing . And the banks will lend to buy to let investors knowing that if it all goes bank, that the little old taxpayers will bail them out. …And we’ve learned what exactly???
    An 80% capital gains tax on investments in “family homes” would sort this out.

Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Dec 10th 2013, 8:57 AM

Noonan I hope you die, because you want my parents and older people in Ireland to die due to your last budget. You’re a fupping can’t of a man. Im ashamed to be irish because of you.

Mute Jose Verandah
    Favourite Jose Verandah
    Dec 9th 2013, 11:15 PM

Is the Irish Army immune to austerity, repossessions etc? If not, we might see some cojones displayed by representatives of an emasculated race, drowning in its petty squabbling.

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Dec 10th 2013, 9:17 AM

Don’t care moving in April.Vegas baby

Mute Ian McG
    Favourite Ian McG
    Dec 10th 2013, 7:51 AM

But wait Minister, last year you were predicting the economy could take off like a rocket:
    http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/our-economy-could-take-off-like-a-rocket-says-noonan-26833197.html

I’m confused(!!) – What this is really about of course is preparing us all for “Bailout 2 – More Austerity for Some, Generous Perks for Others”

He’s doing his bit too to stoke the reemerging property bubble I see – yep, buying and selling overpriced, poorly built shoe boxes will get us back on our feet alright… after all, it worked out so well last time!

The sad thing is he’s partly right – most people haven’t learned a thing!

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Dec 9th 2013, 9:10 PM
    Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Dec 10th 2013, 8:03 AM

Noonan’s quote has been taken out of context. He was actually talking about his pilates class.

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Dec 10th 2013, 6:21 PM

Noonan is a puppet……as much use as wet fart !!!