You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
Those were the words that US President Joe Biden chose to round out his four-day trip to Ireland.
The Mayo team has not won the coveted Sam MacGuire cup in more than 70 years, despite reaching the final – and losing – 11 times since 1989.
Playing to the Ballina 27,000 strong crowd, Biden knew well such a line would go down well. And he was right.
The crowds went wild as U2′s It’s a Beautiful Day played out.
Anticipation of the president’s visit to the town built up throughout the day, with crowds queueing for several hours down towards the Moy riverfront and St Muredach’s Cathedral that framed the US President’s speech.
“Welcome home Joe” signs dotted the roadside on the way into the town, with US flag bunting flying outside many a business establishment.
Excited crowds gathered in Ballina. Sasko Lazarov
Sasko Lazarov
US flags and bunting
Those waiting waved their Irish and US miniature flags and the rain didn’t seem to dampen the spirits.
Around 10,000 tickets were allocated for the public event in Ballina, but the numbers far exceeded that. A VIP area, to the left of the bullet proof glass, had seating for distinguished guests such as former Taoiseach Leo Varadkar, former Taoiseach Enda Kenny and his wife, Transport Minister Eamon Ryan and Business Minister Simon Coveney to name but a few.
In just a short space of time, three people including a young child and an older lady, had to be lifted over the barricades at the front of the stage where Biden was to appear.
While the schedule was running behind, the public got to enjoy music from The Academic, The Coronas and The Chieftains, with Irish dancing breaking out in the crowds, to keep the spirits up in the dropping temperatures.
In dramatic style, the president’s Marine One helicopter swept over the heads of the crowd.
After Taoiseach Leo Varadkar hailed Biden as the “most Irish of all American presidents”, a silence swept across the crowd before the announcement of the US president.
Dropkick Murphy’s
He walked onto the stage to the sound of Dropkick Murphy’s I’m Shipping Up From Boston.
Opening his speech outside Saint Muredach’s Cathedral Biden tonight, he said: “It feels like coming home.”
The US president hasn’t been shy to voice his love of Ireland on this trip.
Throughout this trip, he’s been criticised for not showing as much love for his English side, though he has made reference to it at times throughout the week.
Probably not doing himself many favours in that regard, Biden referenced his father, and how it was a “saving grace” in the eyes of the Finnegans on his mother’s side, there was a Hanafees from Galway on his mother’s side.
He said it rescued the fact “Biden is an English name”.
He also made such a reference in Dundalk earlier in the week, when he said “you know, Biden is English. I hate to tell you that”. He laughed before adding: “I don’t hate to — I’m joking, but it’s true.”
He told those that had gathered along the River Foy tonight that there are many other Irish-Americans that would only love to return home to the old sod.
Meeting the chaplain
The president also referenced one of the most poignant moments in today’s events, when he unexpectedly met the priest who gave the last rites to his son.
The Parish priest of Knock, Fr Richard Gibbons, told the BBC today the chaplain, Fr O’Grady, who performed the last rites sacrament to Beau Biden now works at the Knock shrine in Co Mayo where the president paid a visit today.
Biden told the crowd this evening that “out of the blue” he met the former military chaplain who worked at Walter Reed Medical Hospital of Washington.
“It was incredible to see him, it seemed like a sign,” he said.
The president also referenced a visit he made earlier in the day to the Mayo Roscommon Hospice, where there is a plaque in memory of his son Beau.
Biden turned the first sod on the Mayo Roscommon Hospice Foundation project in 2017.
He said: “I can tell you how special it is that a piece of his legacy lives here among his ancestors.
Third trip to Ballina
This is the third trip to Ballina by Biden, but his first as president of America.
Standing on the podium this evening, where the rain thankfully stayed away, it was clear that this was a personal moment for the president.
“Everything between Ireland and America runs deep; our history, our heritage, our sorrows, our future, our friendship. But more than anything, hope is what beats in the hearts of all our people.
Sasko Lazarov
“For centuries during times of darkness and despair, hope has kept us marching forward toward a better future, one of greater liberty, greater dignity and greater possibilities.”
He said: “My friends, people of Mayo, this is a moment to recommit our hearts, our minds, our ardent souls to the march of progress.
“To lay the foundation brick by brick by brick, for a better future for our kids and our grandkids, one of greater liberty, opportunity and dignity just like our ancient ancestors did for us.
“I’ve never been more optimistic and I’ve been doing this a long time.”
Telling the crowd visiting Ballina felt like going home, he continued: “Over the years, stories of this place have become part of my soul, part of my family lore.”
Biden said he and his siblings were raised with “a fierce pride in our Irish ancestry”.
“A pride that spoke to both the history that binds us but more importantly the values that unite us,” he said.
“To this day I can still remember hearing my dad say at the dinner table, ‘Joey, everyone is entitled to be treated with dignity and respect’, I can still hear my mom tell me, ‘Joey, nobody is better than you but everybody is your equal’.”
Criticisms about Irish ‘malarky’
There is no doubt that this trip has had a shovel-load of paddywhackery and ‘malarky’, as the US president put it yesterday, and some are not too pleased about it.
Climate activist group Young Friends of the Earth Ireland held a protest outside the Department of Foreign Affairs in Dublin today, condemning Biden’s approval of the Willow Project, an oil drilling project in Alaska.
Speaking in the Dáil yesterday, Biden said Ireland and the US both have a “commitment to fight climate crisis to preserve our planet for future generations”.
“The single existential threat to the world is climate change,” he said, however, there’s no doubt that once he departs Ireland tonight, the carbon emissions from his flights from Belfast to Dublin to Knock will be totted up.
Criticism has also been levelled from People Before Profit TD Paul Murphy and his party colleagues, who have hit out at the president using the Oireachtas as his own personal “soapbox” with no opportunity for critical questions from themselves or the media.
Four more years?
No opportunity has been afforded to put the hard questions to the US president on this trip, but such a thing did not appear to bother crowds in Ballina this evening – the excitement that the spotlight and all eyes were on their small town tonight.
Hard questions will be asked of Biden though in the weeks and months ahead.
Before boarding Air Force One this evening, Biden said that he has decided to run for a second term and will announce his campaign “relatively soon”.
His trip to Ireland has reinforced his sense of optimism about what can be done. Four more years of the Joe Show? Stranger things have happened.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
23 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Last time I was in Lisbon (circa 6 months ago) the hotels were astronomically priced (due to local football match!) and weren’t a touch on the standard of hotels here!
I don’t know what they’re talking about wifi – good luck in Lisbon, you have to pay for wifi EVERYWHERE! Hotels charge a separate rate, airports have a charge, half decent cafe’s do to and their internet is slower than anything I’ve ever experienced, more timeouts than the superbowl trying to login to gmail!
And I wouldn’t go around waving my laptop, cell phone, new technology out there, I know people who’ve had their faces slashed by pick pockets –
Frommer’s: “Lisbon used to be one of the safest capitals of Europe, but that hasn’t been true for a long time. It’s now quite dangerous to walk around at night. Many travelers report being held up at knifepoint. Some bandits operate in pairs or in trios. Not only do they take your money but they demand your ATM code. One of the robbers holds a victim captive while another withdraws money. (If the number proves to be fake, the robber might return and harm the victim.) During the day, pickpockets galore prey on tourists, aiming for wallets, purses, and cameras. Congested areas are particularly hazardous. Avoid walking at night, especially if you’re alone.”
Giving out about our traffic!! Wait until you experience Lisbons!
Travel guide: Driving in Lisbon is challenging, as it is possibly one of Europe’s most difficult cities to drive in. The roads are narrow and old, drivers are inpatient and erratic, signage is almost non-existent and parking is notorious. Driving in Lisbon is not a fun or enjoyable experience and visitors should really consider if they want to drive in the capital.
Three of the four main demands PC had were for issues the government had no control over – Wifi, hotel prices and (short term) public transport. It beggars belief that he would look for the Gov to impose state controls on the hotel industry.
And how can he possible claim he “wasn’t looking for a penny” when everything he asked for cost money?
This was a private businessman trying to screw out the best deal for his company and fair play to him, he did.
RDS wanted 1 Million to use their wifi for a few days and would let them use their own – that’s just outrageous.
They wanted the same level of traffic management a football match would get – reasonable request – should have been easy to lay on a few more darts for the days of something.
They wanted some assurances the hotels couldn’t scalp visitors with a 600% premium – thats unfair but doubt any thing could be done on that.
Are ppl just going to roll out the cliches here and not even look at his list of demands? I’m all for kicking the govt but they did the right thing here. He wanted free public transport for all the millionaires that would be at it. Meanwhile he’s employing people via job-bridge and charging extortionate ticket prices. He wanted Dublin shut down essentially and wanted govt to intervene and control things they simply couldn’t. As is the norm with these tech entrepreneurs he wanted to be treated like some sort of royalty. I say well done govt for not being taken for mugs. Enjoy Lisbon Paddy.
He wanted a Leap Card for all the attendees who were staying in Dublin. He wanted complimentary rental of Dublin City Hall and Wood Quay. Garda escorts for VIP’s. City centre branding for 2 week run up. Roads closed with parking permission suspended. And he wanted it all for free of course. This guy thinks he is Barack Obama or something. Off to Lisbon with his oversized ego.
Went to the Web Summit last year, thankfully via work, it actually is one of the most overpriced load of pap going. It makes money via these extortionate ticket prices. I work in the web industry, and most of the people there were salespeople. They only wanted to know/speak to you if they could sell to you, or in some way make money from you.
Many of the exhibitors were offering the same stuff, Social Media analytics tools… great.
I like going to conferences where I actually take something positive away from it. Web Summit for me personally was not something I enjoyed.
I’m in Portugal as we speak using unlimited FREE WiFi and there’s plenty of great public transport and private run companies that can easily manage to provide top class transport to and from the summit. well done Lisbon on securing the contract. at least you have an efficient public service that can provide a plan and get back to you in a timely manner.
Linda, is the free wi-fi preventing you from reading? We have plenty public transport too, just not all that gone on giving it for FREE to people who can afford €5k for a platinum ticket.
This is a little unfair. Yes, Lisbon has chronic traffic problems (mostly because the Portuguese are lunatic drivers rather than the quality of the roads) and a visiting tourist would be crazy to rent a car and drive in the city. However, it does have an infinitely better public transport system than Dublin. Its subway system is clean, efficient, and inexpensive. In addition, taxis are numerous and cost a fraction of what their counterparts charge in Dublin. I have visited Lisbon on numerous occasions and have never experienced the internet problems that you refer to. On the question of crime, it may be a problem and I certainly hear complaints that the police do not do enough to safeguard tourists in the city. Like all big cities, there are common-sense precautions that you need to take when you are out and about: certain areas to avoid, not have valuables on display, etc. I’m sure the same applies in Dublin. Pick-pocking on trams in Lisbon is notorious.
He confirmed yesterday on the Last Word that he didn’t get any funding, all that spend was for stands at the events or for dinners/speakers to promote Ireland and the IDA itself.
But why shouldn’t he expect support? How much did we pay to attract College Football to Croke Park? How much do we subsidise pay for multinationals to set up business here?
“Enda, I’m not looking for a penny, just need you to illegally put pressure on Dublin’s oldest philanthropic society, suspend free market economics for the hotel industry and provide a fleet of winged unicorns to fly me and my 50,000 friends home every night. WHY WON’T YOU JUST CAVE INTO MY DEMANDS IMMEDIATELY????”
Some of the comment about Cardiff and the rugby below are rather ironic in light of this. The organiser is on with Mary Wilson now and one of the three major problems he says that they faced was price gouging by hotels!
He claims the hotels were gouging???? The ticket prices started at 675 and went up to 4500……. yeah the hotels were the only ones gouging. Also its not like hotels in every other city in the world don’t take part in this for large events. Just look at the price of a room in cardiff on a match night. The hotel thing is a white elephant and theres nothing the government could have done on it
This has all the hallmarks of a choreographed set-up by Cosgrove to mitigate the negative publicity of an intended move anyway. Good few commentators here seeing through it though and the usual whine bags buying it.
Is this another case of the taxpayers money been provided to get this off the ground in the early years, once established they then fly off to the highest bidder? Something not just right about this, we need to hear the other side of the story. How much money did the govt pump in over the years etc etc
James I was listening to The Last Word with Matt Cooper today. Paddy was on. This was a question Matt asked and Paddy said they were offered just 1 package only.
Paddy Cosgrave’s sole purpose is to make a profit, he a businessman, an entrepreneur. In 3 years time he may well move the Web Summit to London or Paris if he’s offered favourable deals there, the thing is wherever it’s hosted and whatever deals are done they will be designed to be favourable to him and his company, not the start ups.
Young and hopeful startups are sold a dream that they need, indeed they absolutely must attend the Web Summit, failing to attend will very likely sentence their company to a swift death before it’s even gotten off the ground. Those who do attend can expect to meet, mingle and mix with the people they could previously only dream of meeting, the rich, the famous the powerful. We’re talking CEO’s, VP’s, VIP’s, Presidents, Producers, Partners, Managers, Founders, Journalists, Directors, Editors, the rich, the famous and lots and lots of potential investors for their start up. All they need do is come up with the fee. What, a few grand for a golden ticket, this is business, you have a once in a lifetime opportunity to play with the big boys. Don’t forget the VAT on that, you wouldn’t want us to get in trouble with the government would you?
Firstly start-ups going through EI, Enterprise boards or SEEP programs received complementary tickets or heavily discounted tickets based on their business suitability to attend the web summit. Secondly, whilst you hear from disgruntled attendees and non attendees, there are many that benefited massively from attending. Anyone blabbering who did not attend should keep their opinion to themselves. a percentage that did attend redesigned their business models to increase their possibility of success. Setting up a profitable successful start-up is a difficult task and not something that can be easily achieved. The Web Summit assisted many who got the opportunity to talk with successful entrepreneurs. The event is what you make of it, if that means that there are sour grapes so be it.
Paddy did a tremendous job and wants to make it bigger and better, he is neither a politician nor a magician and cannot pull RABBIT from his arse. Credit where credit is due, he achieved allot for Ireland attracting multi-million dollar corporations into the country, showcasing some of the best from our country than any other event in Ireland.
I was at the WS last year and when I heard the rip off prices Paddy the victim was charging these starry eyed young people for his chip board stand and sheds I came away so sorry for these kids and I wonder how many of them today can say they got benefit from Paddy and his circus .
I am glad the govt stood up this little upstart and sent him packing to Lisbon where he can take his few super wealthy suckers to see the shanty town residents living on scraps on the edge of the city .Paddy is the one who F….ked up and now that he realises this he is trying damage limitation by mud slinging .
They wanted:
- Free use of venues including City Hall, Wood Quay venue, Herbert Park and others he didn’t name
- Garda escorts for VIPS (with normal fees waived)
- Shuttle buses to be provided by Dublin Bus, free of charge
- Closure ot three city centre streets for a party
- Leap cards for all attendees, to be provided free of charge
So no, no pennies, just a LOT of costs not borne by his company.
Think of the leap cards alone – free Leap Cards for at least four days for each attendee will run to many hundreds of thousands of value. So that he can add this boon that cost him nothing to his marketing of his very high ticket prices.
And the hotel gouging thing is a bit rich too. Bear in mind what the company Paddy runs is – a private, most definitely for profit, event management company whose ticket prices for this particular event start at almost €750. Or you can pay €625 for admission to the commercial exhibition ONLY, an exhibition where exhibitors have paid many thousands to have a presence. You have to admit that’s a kind of genius alright. Tickets then rise steeply to several thousand.
And he has the nerve to look for other private companies to have their prices controlled – and for what purpose? Why, to ensure he can sell more of those very high priced tickets.
Lisbon, frankly, is welcome to his over-priced, over-hyped event.
So happy someone of intelligence is talking here! Thank you!
Judging by the correspondence and the timeline, the deal was signed from the 21st of August.. All these replies he’s speaking about are from the 23rd on.. So why did he keep it going??
I have no doubt in my mind that judging by his outrages entry prices, vendor fees that he may have not been looking for money but instead crazy demands.
also the first one was at 9 o’clock on a Friday night, and he pinged again on Monday that he didn’t get a reply… but then mentions that he has been having lots of meetings with state bodies prior to this email tantrum? seems like a cover up… I’ll ask him at the summit next month (oh, I forgot, those guys just zip in and out, while the investor guys just laughed at the pleb startups)
At the time,I thought it was about the money..turns out it was government indifference /incompetence,take your pick..way to go Enda..knowledge economy my hole..
It seems to me that Paddy and his team decided quite some time ago to leave Dublin and were preparing the ground for it, conscious that there would be negative reaction to their decision. The e-mails to the Taoiseach’s private secretary and John Callinan are too full of sound bites that could easily be lifted by the media. Yes, the Government probably should have acted with greater urgency, but when you read the table of actions proposed by the Government (Appendix 1) and the letter from Peter Finnegan of Dublin City Council to other stakeholders (Appendix 4), you see a credible plan and a sincere desire to assist Web Summit. And one of the four issues that Paddy keeps banging on about – WiFi – is clearly a matter between Web Summit and the RDS. How on earth did he think the Government should resolve a private contractual matter of that nature? Very good PR, though, I hand it to them!
they’re not trying to impress the Irish IT crowd though, they think they’re bigger than any company in Ireland, and only want to impress the big guys in California who they think they are peers with. they’re in for a culture shock if they get all of that “mobile world congress” style services in Lisbon, and the big guys stop coming… the attraction of the founders event was the privacy of Dublin, not the thousands of startups or the WiFi for journalists in a hall.
Of course they would have gone to Lisbon anyway, you don’t arrange a move like that in a month that passed between the first letter and the announcement to move. Thery were negotiating with other cities for years and kite flying for months, and now use the correspondence to shift the blame.
That’s not to say that the government did their bit, they didn’t. But the move was on regardless so it’s just spin. Perhaps as a result there will be better arrangements for other, smaller events. As for the Web Summit anyone could see that the event outgrew the RDS in previous years, I have no idea how they are going to squeeze even bigger crowds in this year, it’s going to end up in tears again. I suppose that you’re not turning people away if you’re charging several grand for a ticket and now they can try and promise that next year it will be different – until they overcrowd the venue again.
Ye, well done James, a scam that generated huge interest at home and abroad, launched companies, drove millions into the economy and was attended by top businessmen and women including Elon Musk, a billionaire genius who is at the forefront of the tech business. Ye, he falls for scams all the time James. Why dont you take a few more steps to the ‘democratic’ left there James, preferably while standing at the end of a very short pier. Id much prefer to see you and your Democratic Left Alliance head off to Portugal than lose the Web Summit. They add to the economy. you lot do not.
gastrophase…of course he was working to find alternative venues just in case the Dublin one wasn’t going to improve, he be called a bad business person to place all his eggs in one basket and the thing was cancelled altogether or ended up again like last year. Sure he looked elsewhere but no contracts were signed and the Government reps stalled and flustered, if you read the emails, he really did want it to stay in Ireland. To show how it should be done you just have to look at the response from Lisbon….professional and it shows they see the value of it. https://files.websummit.net/correspondence.pdf
Oh I agree that it was rational to look elsewhere, I just don’t believe that they would have stayed in Dublin even if they were handed the keys to the city. The venue they booked in Lisbon is ready for 80k audience, and this is how they need to grow to compete in the league they want to be at. There is no such venue in Dublin and the whole of Ireland, simple as that.
Out of last year’s experience they government could have helped with additional transport/traffic options, but they could not sort out the overcrowding, the wifi or the hotels – all private business arrangements between consenting parties. He could have blamed the Irish business culture but he won’t – this will not get him any sympathy, whereas blaming “the government” will.
On reflection, the best way to express an Irish sentiment would be to leave a smaller quirkier spin-off of the original WebSummit here in a kind of “off-Broadway” way, which really would be back to their roots for them because this is how it worked at the beginning before they scaled it up so much. Audience 10k max. This would be easily handled while the main event would be off to Lisbon to conquer the world. So perhaps we lost that.
But for their core business they were always aiming much higher so I call BS on them claiming to be forced out.
Just some selective snippets for Paddy’s PR. Let’s face facts, the reason he is going is because he got a good (probably cash) offer from a different city.
Fair enough the man is out to make money, but don’t pretend like it’s other people’s fault your moving.
Notice how he claims its not about money but at several points makes the point they want money either directly from the government or indirectly by asking for certain fees to be waived
Facebook, Google, eBay, Dropbox, Linekdin, Paypal, Twitter, Apple to name a few all have their European headquarters here……… yes the industry leaders are nowhere to be seen…….
This is garbage, just PR sping to make sure paddy keeps his good image. The summit was gonna leave dublin eventually maybe it happened a year or two earlybut it was simply up to when it became worth it for Paddy to do so ie when someone offered him enough.
Also it was becoming a bloated mess compared to its original few years and just becoming s scramble for attention with very little business actually being done compared to the earlier years.
you make sense, Ian. The RDS can host other events apart from sports throughout the year and instigate traffic management plans with the city transport, AA, and other parties. this Cosgrave guy seems to want direct access to the top of government as he let the taoiseach use his event for publicity a few times. it seems like the event grew too big, and he wasn’t able to either organise, or share management with outside bodies, so he is blaming everyone else. if WiFi and transport were so bad, why not look at alternative options to the RDS like the convention centre, the point or other smaller places. if you want a place were internet founders can meet, you don’t have to keep growing for the same of it – now it just looks like a place were internet startups are gouged for a 1sq.m stand to presumably get the attention of a silicon valley capitalist.
Precisely. Does anyone believe that rugby events or huge gigs sort this out by emailing the taoiseach’s assistant three months before the event takes place?
Actually gastrophase….the issues of transport, hotels and traffic were highlighted in 2013 with the Government but nothing was done.
Also…
“He also said that the Web Summit would be happy to give the IDA and Enterprise Ireland stands to the value of €1 million in 2016, expand its school and student summits to cater for 11,000 free places and give free tickets to 300 or more Irish start-ups.”
Yes but why the government? Do One Direction gig promoters liaise with the government? And what would they like the government to do about the hotels exactly, legislate for a price cap – just for them or for all events?
It must be worth it for them and their taxpayer is happy to fund everything WebSummit is asking for in the appendixes, which is quite a read when you get there. I’m not sure if Irish taxpayers would be happy to allocate so much funding to a premium commercial event. I admit I have no knowledge of the Portuguese financial systems!
It seems that the Irish government was indeed engaging in a number of areas but it was not enough.
This is actually good forward planning from the government. Now there will be more hotel rooms available for the families set to lose their homes in 2016 through eviction & extortionate rent rates.
I’m in 2 minds about this. Obviously the government did not act in an appropriate manner, but you can’t magic extra public transport out of thin air and having been to Lisbon, I doubt they’ll be able to do it either. From the RDS, you choices are the bus or the DART and to be honest, I can’t imagine anyone who can afford the huge price of the ticket waiting around for the 46a.
They’re heading for the nearest pub as the web summit is just a piss up. That’s why he was pulling in the crowds to Dublin. Yanks liked the idea of a pub crawl and charging it to the business account. It’s a business model with a limited shelf life as people do the Dublin thing and then see through the con.
Typical Irish government. Get the heads in for photos and a Facebook opportunity but when people do need help or guidance they are one of the first to say it’s not an issue they are able to help with…
Anyone ever do the maths on this gig? This guy Cosgrave seems like a charlatan. He has made a fortune out of cajoling people into giving FREE presenting slots while he charges a fortune for tickets.
Enda the eejit, made a crass statement in America a couple of years back stating, if anyone here wants to do business in Ireland you can call me personally. What a pile of bo!!0x. He doesn’t give 2 fux.
It’s nothing new. He only cares for large American multinationals setting up shop here (with some lovely tax breaks!), with absolutely no interest in Irish startups it seems.
It’s exposing this government for what it is. They have all the time in the world to turn up for job announcements and photo shoots but have no ability to actually get things done. They are far more interested in selling spin to the public who seem to lap it up. In this case their bluff has been called and Ireland has lost a very important event, regardless of what you may think about it.
So the next time I’m on business in Dublin and a hotel asks me for a small mortgage as the cost for their room for the night, I can email the government and they’ll sort it for me?? That’s nice to know.
I read the correspondence and, however you feel about Paddy Cosgrave, there is no other use to describe the government communications as disgraceful! No wonder they left, I urge everyone to read them and discover for yourself the frustration the Web Summit staff felt.
It just goes to show that shower could nt organise a p*ss up in a brewery Disgracefull ,and the organisers weren’t even looking for funding,for gods sake. It’s a bit of an irish joke really, those responsible should hang their heads in shame, lessons need to be learnt to avoid a repeat
They were looking for funding. Please don’t believe liar Cosgrave.
“In his correspondence, Paddy frequently says that Web Summit “aren’t looking for a penny”. In Appendix 2 of the docs (Bid Document), the first section is all about Host Contributions (while not a direct payment to Web Summit, these are still a cost to the host city/local authority), but interestingly point 5 is “Financial Contribution” – “a contribution of €100 per foreign attendee from the city”. That sure looks to me like looking for money. He might want to have read that document before assuring everyone that he wasn’t looking for any money.
In the “Asks” document (Appendix 3), Web Summit are then looking for various fees from their Asks (requests/demands) to be waived. Again, that strictly speaking isn’t asking for money, but it’s the same outcome.
Some of the Asks they wanted are very demanding; complimentary use of City Hall & Wood Quay, Garda escorts for VIP guests, closure and removal of parking from Dame Court, Fade Street & South William Street & associated fees to be waived (retailers and rates payers on these streets can’t even get that having been campaigning for years, but Web Summit thinks that they can demand that? The arrogance…)
Web Summit has just gotten too big for Dublin. Rather than simply announce that they have outgrown Dublin and move on elsewhere to chase greater profits (and so lose goodwill), this is great spin to lay the fault at everyone else (not that Nick Reddy was blameless, he should have responded to emails sooner with proper replies; however, why is the Department of the Taoiseach even being involved?), and say that they have no choice but to leave Dublin.
But anyway, point is that it’s all lies about “Not looking for a penny”.”
James the man is in business he is entitled to make a right few quid with such a successful event. Yourself and Ian sound like disgruntled ex employees? What’s with all the poison and the green eyed monster carry on?
I read all the emails today and heard Cosgrave on Matt Cooper this evening. I’m not a fan of him personally as I think he’s a smug little perrick. Regardless of that it’s worrying that the minions in Govt deem themselves too important to meet someone who brings so many influencers to the country.
Without taking sides as both could of did more it seem’s to me the Web Summit followed the money as I expect if the Goverment gave them the alleged four things on or before the deadline I bet it still would be in Lisbon.
They are to clever to disclose how much cash Lisbon are giving them as you don’t commit to a 3 year deal as you cannot predict any possible problems.
I think Hotels in Lisbon will be just as expensive also as they admit themselves that more people are attending every year and while Lisbon may have more hotels as soon as it reaches critical level like Dublin prices will sour.
Lets look at the pattern from the I.T article a couple of weeks ago. Paddy Cosgrave is extending his web summit activities. He has started COLLISION in New Orleans. SURGE in India and RISE in Hong Kong. Bar Hong Kong does anyone see the pattern? Low cost hi tech locations in Asia and the Americas. The plan appears to be obvious and so is the move to Lisbon. This guy is expanding his practice and is keeping his eye on the money .. That said the “i’ll get back to you” email transaction in the Taoiseachs office is not beyond reproach. .
Surprised by all the comments against the event and organiser. The same people seem to have no issue with us rolling out the red carpet for snakes like Donald Trump or the shady practices of the large pharma/IT companies that our government and people seem to think are so important to us. Seems to be a classic case of disliking something because it’s Irish. A horrible national trait.
love the complaints about hotel prices. I was in Dublin The weekend after the Web summit. hotel was 350 euro for Fri sat,sun was 35. why ire sa rugby match . kylie was playing at the 3. and a lot of people had stayed after Web summit. its not gouging it’s supply and demand still less than the rack rate. you can’t get a room in Cardiff this weekend for example
Are you strictly committed to Europe after Lisbon’s three years? If not, look at San Antonio, Texas and the growing geekdom and rackspace sites developing there. If interested would be happy to help with contacts. Not everything has to be located at the Texas state capital in Austin. In addition a rapid growth in cybersecurity is taking place in San Antonio.
It’s really strange that the emails show that the government weren’t bothering to address the 4 issues, or respond properly, and yet the vast majority of comments here are defending the government.
Date: 3 September 2015 at 14:48
Subject: Re: Web Summit Urgent
To: “Nick.Reddy@taoiseach.gov.ie”
Any sense of timing? This is the 3rd holding email? It’s been a full two weeks and still nothing. What does coming back actually mean? We need even a basic plan. We’re not looking for a penny.
I’m sorry to appear pushy, but I’ve tried every other option over 3 years. Quietly working every
avenue behind the scenes, never once publicly highlighting the situation, bar a single outburst
on stage about wifi, which in a sense is unrelated to Government.
I realise everyone across Government is very busy but we seem to be able to maintain daily
calls with other governments at a ministerial level across Europe, both from large and small
nations.
We’ve never succeeded in getting a single meeting with Dublin’s City Manager, nor been invited
to one, yet we’re invited constantly to sit down with Prime Ministers across Europe. Over five
years, we’ve been invited to more meetings in Number 10 Downing Street than to meetings in
Leinster House.
I’m about to board another flight to Lisbon to meet once again with a number of ministers, and the PM’s right hand. I will then spend Friday and Saturday in the Netherlands finalising their plan for 2016, having previously met with the Prime Minster, Minster for Finance, Minster for Economic affairs, mayor of Amsterdam and all other relevant stakeholders.
I cannot stress enough that we don’t want a penny to stay, just a plan. Far smaller cities than Dublin host far larger conferences than Web Summit. But it requires a coordinated plan for Dublin City that only Government can put in place. We know it’s possible. Even an indicative plan and we would stay. But after 3 years of asking and asking we still don’t have even one single page outlining even a basic committed plan for the city. What little is being done for this year is unfortunately disorganised, uncoordinated and in many instances not
guided by evidence. Moreover, no Minister has ever attended a meeting yet they all show up for photos at Web
Summit. Meetings for 2015 have been left to committed civil servants, who realistically without real political will are powerless to initiate significant change.
Last year, for example, the person appointed to coordinate the city, with whom I met numerous times, publicly denied he was coordinating anything a few days before Web Summit. It’s was a pretty unbelievable situation, but it clearly underlined that there was no real coordination, arguably because there was no real political buy in.
At present for whatever reason there is clearly no appetite for real political engagement, no appetite to use Web Summit as a platform for Irish companies, as every other nation we work with sees it. As an example of the lack of real political engagement and coordination, last year due to a complete lack of any plan for public transport and traffic calming measures, congestion was so significant that Gardai had to be pulled in last minute from across Dublin to try and resolve the situation. Which they did a great job doing and should be commended for. We were left with the bill, which to be honest I was happy to pay as it was not their fault in the slightest and they did a great job ameliorating the situation in some way. But they could have been doing more
important work in Dublin if there had just been even a basic traffic management plan similar football matches.
Are you aware of Prince Charles’ involvement, or No. 10 Downing Street, or the Chairman of the Conservative Party? I’ve detailed it privately over and over again, but it seems not to resonate.If it isn’t clear already , I’m now piling on the pressure because I can’t understand why even a single page plan for 2016 isn’t possible.
Without a plan for 2016, we will be forced to leave. Web Summit is larger than the RDS. It takes over the entire city. While we can control, to a point, what happens inside the RDS -bar the wifi it seems yet again this year
What happens outside is down to the city and national Government. Finally, you’re on a trade mission to France. So here’s another way of thinking about Web Summit. Almost every other Government in Europe sends trade missions to Dublin for Web Summit. Why? Because significant business is being done. Somehow, and don’t ask me how, the British government are more active at Web Summit than the Irish.
Last year a British cabin et minster, who was also chairman of the Conservative party, found two days in his busy schedule to quietly hold innumerable bilateral meetings in Dublin. In that time not a single Irish minister to our knowledge held a single bilateral meeting with a high level attendee. If that sounds a little unbelievable, it’s because it is a little unbelievable. We don’t even invite a British Minster to Web Summit. He just showed up. His team had figured out who they wanted to meet.
To make matters even more unbelievable, we organised the largest showcase of Irish food in the history of the state last year in partnership with Good Food Ireland and Darina Allen. We attracted a long list of leading companies and investors in this space from around the world. Did the Department of Agriculture engage a single person that flew to Dublin? No. Instead of the Irish Minster for Agriculture holding meetings it was left to Prince Charles to extend invitations to key delegates to fly from Dublin to Bristol to meet with him on his
country estate, Highgrove, to discuss the future of British food and agriculture over an afternoon. Some of that group also visited No. 10. The group then flew back to Cork to be hosted by Darina Allen in Ballymaloe.
In fact throughout the week of Web Summit, while no Irish minister held a single bilateral in Leinster House, the doors of No. 10 Downing Street were wide open to business. Delegations of key investors and business people flew from Dublin to London and back again.
In Dublin, while press secretaries constantly reached out to our team requesting photo and speaking opportunities for Ministers, the British government had a cabinet minister quietly getting on with business in Dublin. No photos required. He wasn’t looking for votes, he was drumming up business for British companies and the British economy at large. It all sounds a bit surreal. But it all happened, and will happen again this year and to a greater extent next year without a plan. I’ve never once knocked the Government, never once spoken out, never once committed a single word to paper. Not once. But you’re operating in a parallel universe where a jobs announcement or a photo opportunity at Web Summit is the biggest opportunity you see.
Meanwhile other governments are cleaning up under your nose. How can you be outplayed by the British government in your own back yard? Or by the Dutch, the French, the Danes. It’s surreal. We need a plan for Dublin City. We don’t want a penny. We’ll give IDA and EI their stands for free up to €1,000,000, expand our school and student summits to give free access to 20,000 young people to Web Summit each evening, and give 300/400/500 free tickets to startups across Ireland. Did we do something wrong bringing all these people to Ireland? Is there a problem bringing more than 1,000 media from the worlds leading outlets to Dublin? Is there a problem organising the largest gathering of investors anywhere in the world in Dublin? Or the largest gathering of startups? Is there a problem bringing c – level execs from leading Fortune 500 companies to
Dublin?
Why go on a trade mission to France at huge expense, when you’re not prepared to go on a trade mission down the street at no expense? Clearly, I’m despondent that we are literally being forced out of Ireland just for the lack of some very basic things like a plan for traffic management and public transport similar to sporting
events.
Rattle out of the pram – OR words of annoyance and disbelief
Summary:
I don’t want a penny
But I want a long list of expensive VIP things and services for free
I want someone to do my traffic plans for me that every other event sorts out themselves
And I want the government to sort out my wifi, even though it “in a sense is unrelated to Government”
And I want businesses to freeze their prices while I keep raising my prices
Also, Prince Charles
AND IT’S ALL YOUR FAULT
State of emergency in Myanmar following major earthquake as skyscraper collapses in Bangkok
Updated
44 mins ago
Good Morning
The 9 at 9: Friday
Updated
56 mins ago
Courts
Three men jailed for 'cruel and depraved' rape of woman they encountered in Dublin nightclub
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say