You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Image:Andrew Harnik/AP/Press Association Andrew Harnik

Joe Biden casts his US election ballot in Delaware

The US Presidential nominee and his wife joined 74 million Americans in voting early in the election.

US PRESIDENTIAL NOMINEE Joe Biden cast his ballot in the US presidential race today in Delaware, six days before the end of a turbulent campaign pitting him against incumbent Donald Trump.

The former vice president entered the Delaware State Building in Wilmington where he joined the record number of Americans who have voted early or by mail  – 74 million as of today  – as people seek to avoid crowded polling stations during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Shortly before voting Biden said he hoped he and other Democrats on the ballot would get elected so that they can “change things” and “make it better” for everyday Americans.

Tweet by @Joe Biden Joe Biden / Twitter Joe Biden / Twitter / Twitter

Former president Barack Obama will join Biden on the campaign trail on Saturday in Michigan, the Democratic candidate’s team said, as Biden deploys his top surrogate in the closing days of the election.

In their first in-person campaign appearance together since Biden won the Democratic nomination, the popular Obama will join his former vice president in the critical swing state “to discuss bringing Americans together to address the crises facing the country,” the campaign said in a statement.

Obama in the past week has appeared solo for Biden at drive-in rallies in Pennsylvania and Florida  – two states that President Donald Trump won in 2016 but are up for grabs this year  -  warning Biden supporters against complacency and urging them to vote early.

View 75 comments
75 Comments
    Mute colm mc sweeney
    Favourite colm mc sweeney
    Oct 28th 2020, 8:44 PM

What’s the betting he voted TRUMP!

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Oct 28th 2020, 8:45 PM

@colm mc sweeney: He voted for George

Mute Teddy Bear
    Favourite Teddy Bear
    Oct 28th 2020, 8:57 PM

@colm mc sweeney: one of the dum-best comments of the day. Go you

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Oct 28th 2020, 11:13 PM

@D H: he voted for kanye…..

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    Oct 28th 2020, 11:37 PM

@colm mc sweeney: if Trump had any sense of decency he would have voted Biden but probably didn’t happen.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Oct 28th 2020, 11:41 PM

@Will: Not even Kanye will vote for Kanye

Mute Rocky
    Favourite Rocky
    Oct 28th 2020, 8:46 PM

With some people afraid to voice their opinions over there, for fear of being labelled racist among other things, don’t be surprised to see Trump win. That’s when the Civil War starts!

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Favourite Maurice O Neill
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:06 PM

@Cupid Stunt: Your comment will be taking down shortly

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:49 PM

@Maurice O Neill: *taken. Learn to spell. You even got your own surname wrong.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute The Guy is Here
    Favourite The Guy is Here
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:53 PM

@Rocky: what’s the notion of the silent majority behind trump? They’re literally the loudest most ostentatious and bad mannered beings out there.

Mute Keith Richardson
    Favourite Keith Richardson
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:55 PM

@The Guy is Here: soy much?

Mute Rocky
    Favourite Rocky
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:57 PM

@The Guy is Here: as in, I think for all the obvious and loud trump fans, there are a lot that either support him or equally, disagree with a lot of what Biden has said. The BLM movement is part of that. I think people will vote for trump but not admit it

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:04 PM

@Keith Richardson: poor spelling is an indicator of poor education and a lack of reading. I don’t really trust the opinion of those who don’t educate themselves. In the context of someone who is trying to sway people’s opinion on who should be the next POTUS, I do believe educating yourself is critical.

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:08 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: it’s a cheap shot and it shows your ignorance

Mute Alan Gee
    Favourite Alan Gee
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:17 PM

@Rocky: Polls show Biden gonna win by a landslide…. he gonna turn USA a sea of Blue and undo the damage by Trumpy.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:20 PM

@Keith Richardson: just like you, he only ever comments on Trump or Catholicism articles, usually in a manner designed to be provocative. This leads me to believe he isn’t who he says he is. I don’t consider such comments against trolls as cheap shots.

Mute Alan Gee
    Favourite Alan Gee
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:22 PM

@Rocky: they will but Biden has it in the bag. All the polls have him wayy ahead.

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:32 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: take your tin foil hat off ye sil ly sausage

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:46 PM

@Keith Richardson: tin foil hats are reserved for those who believe in conspiracy theories, as you would know if you did even the slightest bit of reading. My opinion on the above commenter is simply a best guess based on his interactions with others and not some unfounded belief. Unlike those who wear tin foil hats, I am open to being corrected. However, since he never answers those who question him, I doubt that such would be forthcoming. If asked the colour of the sky, I am quite sure, based on his previous interactions, that he would respond with “Trump is great.”

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Oct 28th 2020, 11:21 PM

@Alan Gee: Like you I don’t want the Orange fella to win but unlike you I don’t blindly trust the polls.

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 28th 2020, 11:23 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: and he would be right

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    Oct 28th 2020, 11:40 PM

@Rocky: Yes! Worst case scenario, Trump could win, its very close,
    Let’s make America Great Again.
    Get out and vote!

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Oct 29th 2020, 1:06 AM

@The Guy is Here: and yet they aren’t the ones tearing cities up over the last few months.

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Oct 29th 2020, 1:28 AM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: How many times did you spellcheck your comment before hitting send?

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:04 PM

Donald all the way. Just watched Fox News and they are predicting The President will win Georgia by 9 points

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:11 PM

@Maurice O Neill: from Fox News

“A recent Georgia poll shows the candidates are essentially tied.

A Monday Atlanta Journal-Constitution poll of likely voters found Biden at 47% and Trump at 46%, within the poll’s margin of error. The Real Clear Politics average for the state also shows the candidates neck and neck, with less than half a point separating them.”

https://www.foxnews.com/politics/georgia-texas-polls-biden-presidential-trump

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:23 PM

@Diaspora’d: Trump all the way

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:40 PM

@Maurice O Neill: As soon as you mentioned Fox News your comment was invalid

Mute The Guy is Here
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:54 PM

@Maurice O Neill: from Fox News

Fox News

Fox News

And the bible said Jesus was amazing. Same energy

Mute Brian #WearADamnMask
    Favourite Brian #WearADamnMask
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:04 PM

@Cupid Stunt: More like “as soon as Fox News was mentioned your comment was clearly a poor attempt at trolling…”

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:05 PM

@Maurice O Neill: All the way to court.

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:10 PM

@Diaspora’d: anymore of them articles dude I must say I’m loving the first 500 of them keep them coming lol

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:12 PM

@The Guy is Here: And he was amazing

Mute Alan Gee
    Favourite Alan Gee
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:18 PM

@Maurice O Neill: totally bias. Polls all showing Biden way ahead.

Mute Alan Gee
    Favourite Alan Gee
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:26 PM

@Keith Richardson: no need for name-calling. Thats what the polls say.

Mute ahhhhh its
    Favourite ahhhhh its
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:28 PM

@Keith Richardson: why does anyone bother reply to the trolls here anymore ?

Mute Alan Gee
    Favourite Alan Gee
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:33 PM

@ahhhhh its: ya. Trumpy is finished.

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:33 PM

@ahhhhh its: I hear ye brother Alan Gee is something else

Mute Gareth Miskelly
    Favourite Gareth Miskelly
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:38 PM

@Diaspora’d: he also doesn’t need to win Georgia most likely…https://projects.fivethirtyeight.com/2020-election-forecast/ this site is excellent

Mute Alan Gee
    Favourite Alan Gee
    Oct 29th 2020, 12:22 AM

@Keith Richardson: but everyone says he is done for. so it must surely be so.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Oct 29th 2020, 1:21 AM

@Diaspora’d: seems they may have a solution for tightening polls
    https://youtu.be/yM3TO6OkPws

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Oct 29th 2020, 1:23 AM

@Cupid Stunt: and that is the left’s problem. Anything they dont agree with and they block it out then wonder why they cant figure out what went wrong.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Oct 29th 2020, 8:57 AM

@Diaspora’d: Fox news is hardly an unbiased poll. lol … seriously?? Did Sean H conduct it?

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:19 PM

Trump will be the one term president, what a foot note in history.

What’s funny is the Simpson did predict Trumps presidency but also the fact that when he left the role he left the economy in tatters.

He’s done exactly that.
    Mass unemployment
    Massive amounts of deaths
    More national debt

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:22 PM

@Barry: Fake news merchant

Mute Jim Beatty
    Favourite Jim Beatty
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:29 PM

@Maurice O Neill: Point out what is fake about Barry’s comment

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:47 PM

@Jim Beatty: poor Mo is suffering crom Trump Deluded Supporter, his fake account will disappear next week.

Mute WreckDefier
    Favourite WreckDefier
    Oct 28th 2020, 8:48 PM

At least he will get one vote

Mute Teddy Bear
    Favourite Teddy Bear
    Oct 28th 2020, 8:58 PM

@WreckDefier: painfully stooopid

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:58 PM

But who built the cages Joe??

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:08 PM

@Keith Richardson: Who filled them Donny?

Mute Keith Richardson

@D H: No is the answer to your question

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Oct 28th 2020, 11:04 PM

@Keith Richardson: Donny is still filling them

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 28th 2020, 11:21 PM

@D H: wish he’d swap a few criminals out for you and your buddies because you clearly hate America noting but complaining about how bad the place is

Mute OnlyHereForTheComments
    Favourite OnlyHereForTheComments
    Oct 28th 2020, 11:39 PM

@Keith Richardson: might be something to do with…..how bad the place is?

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Oct 28th 2020, 11:49 PM

@Keith Richardson: I think America is or will be a great place again once they get rid of the Great Orange Divider….. In my lifetime every Potus, Red or Blue, who faced a national crisis tried to unite the country to rise against adversity together, then along came orange Donny, and the country is divided by hate. He fuels it. He had a chance to lead, a chance to own the crisis but he blew it and now it owns him. His one term will go down as a failure, not because of what he achieved or didnt achieve, but because he is a hapless leader, a reality show Tee shirt at best. What a waste….

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Oct 29th 2020, 9:04 AM

@Keith Richardson: Come on! America is an unruly kip. Run by a dirty fecking little get. But soon we will have Biden balance restored to the universe and we can all sleep soundly again. Till that mad daughter Ivanka one runs in 2024 and makes that gob***** Kushner first gentleman. Not a high school exam between them.

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 29th 2020, 12:11 PM

@OnlyHereForTheComments: who runs your state will be the reason your not happy and I’m sure your not going to admit it’s a Democrat

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 29th 2020, 12:14 PM

@D H: your entitled to your opinions but that’s all they are because I hate to break it to you not everyone feels the way you feel about our Great president

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 29th 2020, 12:16 PM

@Paul Whitehead: so much hate in you you’ve allowed your emotions to control you so sad how weak people are these days

Mute Crispy Brown
    Favourite Crispy Brown
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:30 PM

Senate have now said all postal votes must be in by Election Day or they won’t count. All the Dems running around screaming at their supporters to present themselves immediately at polling stations. Funny how COVID isn’t such a big threat now that their political jobs are on the line. Hypocrisy at its finest.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:43 PM

More fake news from you …comment being taken down in 3…..2…..

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul

@Crispy Brown: senate can’t do that .

Mute The Guy is Here

@Crispy Brown: you can be sure many of the blue wave voters were in early.

There is a huge assumption that trump is gonna walk this.

Mute Brian #WearADamnMask
    Favourite Brian #WearADamnMask
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:06 PM

@Crispy Brown: If you’re going to make up stuff, you could at least let it have even the semblance of reality….

The Senate has no power whatsoever to dictate how postal votes are handled – that’s up to each individual state to set the rules for themselves

Mute Keith Richardson

@Crispy Brown: I’m betting it’s Russian interference…..

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Oct 29th 2020, 8:01 AM

@Crispy Brown: Fake news. Even todays available news reports expose the Supreme Court has allowed more states to allow votes to be counted after the official election day.

Mute Conor Noonan
    Favourite Conor Noonan
    Oct 28th 2020, 9:28 PM

C’mon man.

Mute Patrick Hudi Irwin
    Favourite Patrick Hudi Irwin
    Oct 29th 2020, 12:46 AM

He probably forgot who he voted for .

Mute Jimmy Fagan
    Favourite Jimmy Fagan
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:21 PM

He voted for Kanye

Mute Jerry Jeff Gomgat
    Favourite Jerry Jeff Gomgat
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:34 PM

I hope Trump wins. Not because I like him. I think he’s an eejit. But I want everyone to go crazy and lose their minds. I wanna watch the world burn.

Mute Keith Richardson
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:41 PM

@Jerry Jeff Gomgat: me too but it won’t be the whole world just the liberals and they only exist in 1st world country’s strange one that isn’t it??

Mute Jerry Jeff Gomgat
    Favourite Jerry Jeff Gomgat
    Oct 28th 2020, 10:58 PM

@Keith Richardson: they are everywhere

Mute Eugene Foley
    Favourite Eugene Foley
    Oct 29th 2020, 6:42 AM

I think America could fall apart, which ever way it goes.

Mute hasnooneasked
    Favourite hasnooneasked
    Oct 29th 2020, 8:29 AM

How are they going to fix the postel ballots that were set on fire. What happens in that situation