You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Joe Duffy Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Fewer people are tuning into Joe Duffy - but Morning Ireland has added listeners

It’s JNLR day.

RTÉ RADIO ONE’S flagship news programme Morning Ireland has added listeners in the latest radio listenership figures.

Morning Ireland, which had seen a fall of 25,000 listeners year-on-year in the last JNLR figures, is up 8,000 to 431,000 in the latest figures, released today.

However, the figures show a slip of 3,000 listeners for the country’s second-most popular show – Joe Duffy’s Liveline and of 1,000 for Drivetime.

The RTÉ News at One programme has risen 5,000 listeners to 332,000, making it the third-most listened to show in the country.

Over on 2FM, the station has gained 41,000 listeners since this time last year, with The Nicky Byrne Show with Jenny Greene up 9,000 listeners to 148,000 and Breakfast Republic up 18,000 to 185,000.

Tracy Clifford and Eoghan McDermott have both risen 23,000 and 10,000 listeners, respectively, while The Louise McSharry Show is up 3,000.

Dan Healy, head of radio strategy and RTÉ 2FM said:

“2FM continues to grow year on year, particularly within 15 to 34 year olds, gaining 41,000 listeners. Our share of this age group has grown from 11.2% to 13.6%. This latest survey shows that we are consolidating that position and that our key weekday programmes are the most listened to for this hard fought and hard to win age group.”

Over on Today FM, the station says it too is celebrating an increase in listeners, up 10,000 daily.

The Last Word with Matt Cooper now reaches an audience of 138,000 (+4,000 on the last quarter of 2017 and +8,000 on last year). Ian Dempsey’s show is up 3,000 listeners on last quarter, while Dermot and Dave’s mid-morning slot is up 1,000 to 162,000. Newest presenter Muireann O’Connell is up 3,000 to 101,000, with Fergal D’Arcy up 2,000 to 104,000.

On Newstalk, The Pat Kenny Show is up 5,000 to 148,000 while Newstalk Breakfast is up 7,000 to 126,000. Ivan Yates’ show The Hard Shoulder is up 6,000 to 145,000, while Off The Ball is down 1,000 to 54,000 on the end of 2017, but the sports show is up 4,000 year-on-year.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

67 Comments
    Mute Richard Cronin
    Favourite Richard Cronin
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:47 PM

What’s the difference between Bono & Jesus?
    Jesus doesn’t think he is Bono

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:03 PM

Who is Jesus

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:06 PM

@winston smith: There’s always one!

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:11 PM

@winston smith: Jesus is a pox

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:25 PM

@winston smith: Bono…apparently

Mute j4VEpUO8
    Favourite j4VEpUO8
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:16 PM

@winston smith: cousin of Jebus

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:57 PM

@winston smith: Jewish Rabbi who rose from the dead….Founder of Christianity

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:28 PM

@winston smith: bono

Mute Trevor croft
    Favourite Trevor croft
    Jul 13th 2017, 4:07 PM

@winston smith: plays for Man City

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Jul 13th 2017, 5:46 PM

@John003: he was a Jewish rabbi. All the rest is pure conjecture.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jul 16th 2017, 2:32 AM

@winston smith: He plays for Ardee… lol.

Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:48 PM

Textbook begrudgery

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:51 PM

@A2 Poster: Not at all. He preaches at people and is a hypocrite. Don’t begrudge his fame or money but don’t like his music.

Mute Brendan Gordon
    Favourite Brendan Gordon
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:58 PM

@A2 Poster: not admiring someone isn’t begrudgery, you can respect him and his achievements but not admire him.

Mute Conor Lynch 林诺
    Favourite Conor Lynch 林诺
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:02 PM

@A2 Poster: totally agree… the guy is not ‘decent fella’ or ‘down-to-earth’ and he has the chutzpah to carry it off. Good luck to him!

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:00 PM

I admire him in some ways , but he throws it away with his tax evasion and preaching

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:39 PM

@Ken Hayden: __ Tax evasion is illegal, tax avoidance isn’t.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:52 PM

@Ted Murray: Who do you imagine writes the loopholes making tax avoidance possible in the first place?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:21 PM

@Ken Hayden: So much innorance on tax. U2 is a global business. A part of the business was moved to Holland (I think) to benefit from better tax treatment for music problishing. Bono is a tax resident here as far as I know and probably pays more tax than all the begrudgers put together! There is a big difference between personal and corporate taxation…go educate yourselves a little.

Jul 13th 2017, 2:43 PM

@Reg: correct Bono pays all his taxes.

Mute Michael O'Donovan
    Favourite Michael O'Donovan
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:13 PM

@Reg: you had me at innorance

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:29 PM

@Ken Hayden: thats why i admire him. Its not like anyone else wouldb’t do the same.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:47 PM

@Lizzy Hennessy: __ No it’s not, and anyone doing the same kind of work that I do knows the difference.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:56 PM

@Harry Whitehead: __ The loopholes are more likely to be unwritten, because those putting the legislation together didn’t cover every possible situation, possibly because they hadn’t thought of them.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jul 13th 2017, 7:50 PM

@Lizzy Hennessy: __ You haven’t a clue.

Mute Ed Dunne
    Favourite Ed Dunne
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:12 AM

@Ken Hayden: tax evasion?

Mute Robespierre
    Favourite Robespierre
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:53 PM

You do not have to like somebody to admire them. He has far more to be admired for than to be knocked for. It’s easy to comment from the cheap seats.

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:57 PM

@Robespierre:
    Exactly. The poll asks ‘Do you admire Bono?’ not like him.
    Is it possible to like someone without ever meeting them personally? Don’t think so.
    In terms of musical achievement whether one likes him or not one has to have a certain admiration for his achievements in making U2 the biggest band in the world on occasion and remaining true to his principles in the process.

Mute Robespierre
    Favourite Robespierre
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:00 PM

@Mark DeFriest: Well I am in a funny situation so. I am from Dalkey and frequently served him in the pub growing up (casual job as a teenager). He is an absolute gentleman. I am not a fan of rock / pop music and never bought their albums. Jazz is my scene & always has been.

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:15 PM

@Robespierre: I think sometimes people who don’t like him but admire him are annoyed with themselves for feeling that way which can drive them to jealously and onto begrudgery.

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:17 PM

@Robespierre: at long last we have heard from someone who has met him.

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:24 PM

@Robespierre:
    Jesus, such a namedropper…hate that :-)

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:38 PM

@Dilly Dong: He’s one of the biggest rock stars in the world. You don’t get there without one.

Mute Carm(Orange Vampire)
    Favourite Carm(Orange Vampire)
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:56 PM

@Robespierre: So you know Bono to serve in a shop. Good for you

Mute j4VEpUO8
    Favourite j4VEpUO8
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:21 PM

@Robespierre: agree with you on that one. Met him on two occasions & he was a proper gentleman.

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:18 PM

He’s a langer

Mute Gary Mason
    Favourite Gary Mason
    Jul 13th 2017, 4:33 PM

@billy Dorney: I wish he was, then he’d be Corks problem.

Mute j4VEpUO8
    Favourite j4VEpUO8
    Jul 13th 2017, 8:34 PM

@Gary Mason: hahahaha love it!

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:12 PM

Bono is a pri(k

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings

I think he is great.

Mute Dazz
    Favourite Dazz
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:58 PM

I actually like a lot of U2 music but I can’t listen to it because of Bono.

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:19 PM

@Dazz: how can you like it if you can’t listen to it??

Mute Minom Pnom
    Favourite Minom Pnom
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:55 PM

Make Bono history.

Mute Maria Coleman
    Favourite Maria Coleman
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:02 PM

Wonderful on debt forgiveness in Africa but totally silent on Ireland’s situation as far as i am aware

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:51 AM

@Maria Coleman: not to great at forgiving debt owed to him though is he?

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw

Taxdodging, preachy, hypocritical pox

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S

@DaisyChainsaw: His actions speak louder than his words.

Mute The Magnificent Hog
    Favourite The Magnificent Hog
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:45 PM

@DaisyChainsaw: Tax dodging? How? Because he pays income tax in Ireland like everybody else? Part of the U2 business are based on the Netherlands for tax purposes, yes, but just like Facebook, Microsoft and Google have operations in Ireland. That’s not tax dodging, it’s savvy business. Bono pays all taxes due to him in Ireland. And I’ll bet he pays more than you do. But don’t let facts get in the way of a good old begrudge.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:31 PM

Magnificent Hog : Thanks for clearing that up. It was only the publishing income that was moved to NL and that’s only a small part of the overall income of U2. All income from U2 is split five ways and includes McGuinness. We don’t hear people bleating about the rest. Anyway, their income comes from all over the world and they pay tax in Ireland as well as the countries they sell and perform in. If it’s tax dodging people are looking for they should try somewhere else.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:36 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: It’s a pathetic arguement from the ignorant Patrick.

Mute Darren Tully
    Favourite Darren Tully
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:37 PM

@DaisyChainsaw: The irony of your post is that the analogy of the pot and kettle applies to two of those terms you used to describe him.

Mute aleeto45
    Favourite aleeto45
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:19 PM

…. And thanks to the English for looking after us……

Bono = C U Next Tuesday

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:37 PM

Many years ago I was a member of a local musical society where Bono’s dad was also a member. I remember two occasions where he came to see our shows. I have never been to a U2 concert. So, whenever I get annoyed by him, I always think that at least I’ve never paid to see him perform, but he has paid to see me LOL!

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent

Pay your taxes, simple

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:41 PM

@Vincent: He does, And a lot more than you do too.

Mute j4VEpUO8
    Favourite j4VEpUO8
    Jul 13th 2017, 8:39 PM

@Vincent: he does, hence why would he live in Ireland along with his wife & kids.

Mute Padraig Maloney
    Favourite Padraig Maloney
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:22 PM

Classic Irish begrudgers, yes he’s pious, and hangs out with some questionable world leaders, but you can’t deny what he and his band have achieved globally.

Mute David Stapleton
    Favourite David Stapleton
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:28 PM

@Padraig Maloney: it was about Bono, not his music, which, I personally, quite enjoy, at least some of it.

Mute Living The Laws
    Favourite Living The Laws

i judge people like bono on their music

first two albums were excellent. then the decline started although the joshua tree provides part of the soundtrack for my time in london in mid to late 80s. and did a lot for Irish people living there in terms of moving on from the BS of Cricklewod and Kilburn.

adam clayton acts like a bigger dick than bono. the edge and the bloke who can’t play drums are cool.

Mute Atheos Euripides
    Favourite Atheos Euripides
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:17 PM

@Living The Laws: Achtung Baby is one of the greatest rock albums ever written, far better than U2′s first two albums.

Mute Paul J. Redmond
    Favourite Paul J. Redmond

@Atheos Euripides: Just off the top of my head, Actung Baby was their sixth or seventh album but you’re correct that it is their best by a mile

Mute Minom Pnom
    Favourite Minom Pnom
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:45 PM

@Paul J. Redmond: exactly. Since 1991 their output has been medicore or worse

Mute Atheos Euripides
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:45 PM

@Paul J. Redmond: I know, referring to previous comment that there first two were their best.

Mute Living The Laws
    Jul 13th 2017, 4:14 PM

@Atheos Euripides:

i’d argue that with you every day of the week.

big difference between having a following and giving them what they want by producing it to death, and producing a stunning first album and following up with an off the cuff record because the label people wanted one done.

like i said, first two albums are great. after that its pop

Mute Living The Laws
    Jul 13th 2017, 4:20 PM

@Atheos Euripides:

i assume you were listening to the the music scene when the first two came out. after that it was just indulgence and programmatic.

like do not have a better line up of songs on an album than this

Will Follow
    Twilight
    An Cat Dubh
    Into The Heart
    Out Of Control
    Stories For Boys
    The Ocean
    A Day Without Me
    Another Time, Another Place
    The Electric Co.
    Shadows and Tall Trees

and the singles leading up to that were stunning

Mute Atheos Euripides
    Jul 13th 2017, 5:45 PM

@Living The Laws: Have them all on vinyl LTL, great albums.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Jul 13th 2017, 6:41 PM

@Atheos Euripides: great albums. Unforgettable Fire produced a great title track, Pride, Bad, A sort of homecoming – a giant of an album by any measure. Sandwiched in-between was one of the greatest live releases of all time Under a Blood Red Sky. Then came the Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby while Rattle&Hum produced their first no. 1 single? Desire. No matter what people say their output has been incredible. Distil it down and you have some of the best music ever committed to vinyl.

Mute Living The Laws
    Jul 13th 2017, 8:10 PM

@Atheos Euripides: what age are you? have you had them from new?

Mute Living The Laws
    Jul 13th 2017, 8:19 PM

@Atheos Euripides: at that stage they were a pop band, spewing out stuff that americans liked. fair play to them. even title of the album Achtung Baby was taken from a conversation on a place with a bird traveling back from Geneva.

end of the day, first two albums are worthy of the status they have today, the rest is american karaoke tunes and anthems for people who feel like they want to stand up for themselves but that feeling disappears as soon as they leave the venue.

funniest thing was seeing bono getting stuck on top of the speakers in croker. think it was A sort of Homecoming” and the dope just couldn’t be one of us.

Mute Boxer Alice
    Favourite Boxer Alice
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:08 PM

I certainly don’t admire Bono but am sure that wouldn’t worry him as he has so much admiration for himself. I think he is an absolute P…k!!! . I wouldn’t go to see him if I got a free ticket!

Mute Robbie Hudson
    Favourite Robbie Hudson
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:15 PM

Yes you would. The music they have created is, well, top sellout band in the world. So you’re an idiot. And I’d love to not see you at one their gigs you sap. But you would go.

Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    Jul 15th 2017, 6:46 PM

@Robbie Hudson: Bono loves himself & that’s all that matters, Everybody knows that he’s a p&%$k so what

Mute Σ ΛΛ ΛΛ Θ
    Favourite Σ ΛΛ ΛΛ Θ
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:00 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: God no, I’d rather vote for Bertie or Dana instead of him. That’s how much I dislike him.

Mute Brian Mardle
    Favourite Brian Mardle
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:30 PM

Bono is a complete tosser. Plain and simple.
    Starting with his unidentifiable accent.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:43 PM

@Brian Mardle: Half of Dublin is talking in that faux D4 / American accent now.

Mute Brian Mardle
    Favourite Brian Mardle
    Jul 13th 2017, 5:26 PM

@Rob Cahill: Your right. And they didn’t need that dumbass bonos help.

Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:50 PM

No. I don’t trust anyone who wears sunglasses indoors. That and the fact that he’s a smug arsehole.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:54 PM

@Dj: the sunglasses are a medical issue as far as I’m aware. Second part though is spot on.

Mute Mark DeFriest
    Favourite Mark DeFriest
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:18 PM

@Dj:
    Cmon, seriously, you can’t hate Roy Orbison for wearing shades.

Mute Gary Mason
    Favourite Gary Mason
    Jul 13th 2017, 4:36 PM

@Mark DeFriest: I used to think he was blind

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald

If he paid his fair share of tax instead of pontificating about our tax should be spent people might admire him. Hypocrisy is disgusting

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:06 PM

@marg fitzgerald: have you seen his personal tax returns?

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:26 PM

@marg fitzgerald: he pays personal income tax in Ireland because he is resident in Ireland.
    On the other hand U2 & Co Ltd is a company that is registered in Holland and has different tax laws. This company collects its revenue from live performances and album sales across the world.
    Why does the Patricks always feel that they are entitled to the company’s tax money. If the company made a loss would the Patricks run to bail them out.
    I don’t think so but yet very quick to put the grubby paw out when there’s profits.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:27 PM

@Bilbo Baggins: It has been well reported that the band moved part of their business out of the country to pay less tax. That is after years of been allowed tax free income of song writing.
    All legal but a hypocritical act given he was telling countries to forgive debt to other countries and suggesting how tax money should be spent.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:41 PM

@marg fitzgerald: If we all paid as much as Bono we could be like Monaco. HE probably pays more in a year than you will in your lifetime.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Jul 13th 2017, 4:16 PM

@Rob Cahill: So does Denis O’Brien still doesn’t mean that avoiding tax is fair. The difference Denis never told countries to forgive debt or go on about charity

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Jul 13th 2017, 6:12 PM

@Kal Ipers: he pays personal tax. I think U2 limited are located offshore for tax reasons. Is it illegal though? Would anyone else not do the same? I know I would look for any legal avenue to avoid paying more tax.

Mute Peter Jennings
    Favourite Peter Jennings
    Jul 15th 2017, 12:58 AM

PATRICK HAS BAILED OUT THE MOST OF EUROPE YOU MUST HAVE YOUR HEAD IN THE SAND FOR THE LAST 7 OR 8 YEARS

Mute Eoin Perkins
    Favourite Eoin Perkins
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:33 PM

U2 ‘s achievements are global and stretch over many decades.Bono as the front man deserves more than small town begrudgery .His personal commitments to philanthropic causes through use of celebrity and public influence,his abilities to raise funds worldwide ,and put those funds to use should never be diminished nor undermined by the ignorant.

Mute Peter Jennings
    Favourite Peter Jennings
    Jul 15th 2017, 1:06 AM

DID HE PUT ANY OF HIS PERSONAL WEALTH INTO IT I DONT THINK SO WHEN HE HAS DONE A FRACTION OF WHAT OF WHAT BILL GATES HAS DONE THEN THE IRISH PEOPLE CAN START TO PRAISE HIM BUT LIKE EVERYTHING ELSE IRISH SHEEP:

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:33 PM

Bono is a showman, with an extremely large ego, who likes to think that he is an influential player in world affairs. He overestimates his significance and his contribution. His mainTED talk is cringeworthy.

He uses his platform as a talented rock vocalist with a preachy approach to preach outside his limited arena of talent.

I can’t honestly say that Bono practices what he preaches.

Bono’s current bromance is with Vice President Spence, with whom Bono shares a lot of values in common.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:24 PM

Detest the w-anchor and that’s putting it mildly

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:46 PM

I like some of his music but not his tax dodging skills

Mute Philip foster
    Favourite Philip foster
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:59 PM

He’s never done enough for his own country Americanised he and the band are

Mute The Magnificent Hog
    Favourite The Magnificent Hog
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:38 PM

Was at the show here in Berlin last night. Say what you want about him but he’s an absolute showman and fronts one of the best bands in the world, if not THE best. Knows how to hold a crowd in the palm of his hand. Despite all the hatred for him in Ireland, it was still next to impossible to get tickets for the Croke Park gig. I think a lot of the haters are closet U2 fans, bit because it’s not “cool” to like U2 anymore, you’d have hard pressed to get anyone to admit it.

Mute Jimmy Reinhardt
    Favourite Jimmy Reinhardt
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:15 PM

@Lizzy Hennessy: Ah c’mon now Lizzy, I like his music an’ all but Noel Gallagher is one to be talkin’.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jul 13th 2017, 8:43 PM

@The Magnificent Hog: Did he do any preaching there or is he sing it for the Irish?

Mute Peter Jennings
    Favourite Peter Jennings
    Jul 15th 2017, 1:07 AM

IRISH SHEEP

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:34 PM

A mere Rock Musician thinks the he is the voice of God.

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:12 PM

It’s popular to hate Bono now and look at all the sheople jump on the hate bandwagon. Fact is he is talented and has been incredibly successful, and admit it or not but some of U2′s hits still rock.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:06 AM

@Seth Cheffetz: so not liking one of the most popular bands in the world is ‘sheople’ but being in the millions that do like them? That’s individual?

Riiiight.

Only arrogant nobs say sheople’ by the way

Mute Living The Laws
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:54 PM

as a person, he’s just as messed up as the rest of us having been dragged up in a society that force fed religion down our throats and policitians who never thought of the people.

Mute Dante Marquinhos
    Favourite Dante Marquinhos
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:56 PM

@Living The Laws: He kissed the popes ring and he’s a fan of Fine Gael!

Mute Living The Laws
    Jul 13th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Lizzy Hennessy: harmonstown had its challenges back in the day. before they changed all the names of the roads, it was a real kip.

Mute Living The Laws
    Jul 13th 2017, 4:12 PM

@Dante Marquinhos: i’m not with his political affiliation to be honest. if the mans a dick then it doesn’t realy matter which party he supports.

Mute Living The Laws
    Jul 13th 2017, 8:14 PM

@Lizzy Hennessy: it was mad. people leaving their keys in the front door and kids allowed to travel in the open boot of the car. its more mature now and roads had their name changed from ones like Harmonstown Avenue to Rosemount Avenue and the whole lot of them started speaking with southside accents. thats where bono got it. then he moved there.

Mute Peter Jennings
    Favourite Peter Jennings
    Jul 15th 2017, 1:13 AM

WHAT HAS RELIGION TO DO WITH THIS LIKE ALOT PR..KS OUT THERE JUMP ON THE BAND WAGON AND TRY AND BLAME IT ON RELIGION ALL BECAUSE THE WORLD LET YOU DOWN

Mute Pat Keenan
    Favourite Pat Keenan
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:48 PM

All U2 CONCERTS are sold out, enough said

Mute Louth Noises News
    Favourite Louth Noises News
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:31 PM

@Pat Keenan: Eat shite so, 10000000000000 flies can’t be wrong.

Mute Robert Emmett Birrell
    Favourite Robert Emmett Birrell
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:33 PM

An amazing, very talented artist. A political loudmouth with too much to say about everything.

Mute Anthony McGovern
    Favourite Anthony McGovern
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:20 PM

Do you want the bitty? Does bono want the bitty? Yes he likes the bitty doesnt he?

Mute Roger Clarke
    Favourite Roger Clarke
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:28 PM

A spoilt brat who wants Irish citizenship without paying his fair share of taxes.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:43 PM

I think he’d make an excellent replacement for Michael D if he doesn’t seek second term

Mute Nigel Mcatamney
    Favourite Nigel Mcatamney
    Jul 13th 2017, 6:23 PM

He’s an outspoken Social worker, who just happens to have a sideline in the music industry. Eejit……

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:27 PM

Well being irish i couldn’t say i do!

Mute Alan O'Rourke
    Favourite Alan O'Rourke
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:39 PM

Just remember, as you poke your judgmental fingers to cast your vote, Bono is struggling to wedge his enormous wallet into his tight jeans in a room busting with his accolades! Just a thought!

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:03 PM

Great music arrogant personality

Mute marty johnbann
    Favourite marty johnbann
    Jul 13th 2017, 6:19 PM

Looking for a knighthood. need I say more

Mute John Conroy
    Favourite John Conroy
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:24 PM

Bono’s the man. Deal with it.

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:50 PM

Wow most people vote no but when tickets go on sale we can’t seem to snap them up fast enough.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:53 PM

@Donal Martin: No means no in my books and if the tickets were free I would not go Some of his music is ok it’s the person

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:08 AM

@Donal Martin: population of over 4 million. Less than 5% will attend the concert. That’s 95% that can claim not to like the band

Mute leonard byrne
    Favourite leonard byrne
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:28 PM

If he just shut up and got on with his job maybe

Mute Dance Cuts
    Favourite Dance Cuts
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:44 PM

@leonard byrne: bono is a scobe who got lucky with the right manager when joy division ended with ian curtis’ death; some parallels with mcgregor but at least the latter stays true to his roots and keeps his accent

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:30 PM

Who comes up with these polls??? Frank Feighan and Shame Ross is it???

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:02 AM

Do I admire him?

Well I like their music and I would very much like his house and cash.

I don’t recall stories of him cheating on his wife, hitting or abusing his kids so without evidence to the contrary he is a decent family man.

No stories of abusing or being a dick to fans. Sure he’s not signing autographs 24/7 but he’s entitled to his life.

The negatives? Talks about how tax should be spent but uses accountants to ensure he pays the minimal amount. Regent as an artist he can earn 1 million tax free. Wonder if he declares much more than that?

Talks about the hungry and homeless but objected to social housing being built near him.

Talks about debt forgiveness but doesn’t forgive when it’s owed to him, even when it’s just old memorabilia he didn’t even notice missing from a concert.

So overall, no I don’t really. I’m envious of his success but I don’t admire the person

Mute BurkeyActual
    Favourite BurkeyActual
    Jul 14th 2017, 8:59 AM

Bono: “Save the world” *wastes airline fuel flying hat to America*

Also Bono: “Make poverty history/Send money to the dispossessed” *moves business abroad to avoid paying tax that would go toward (amongst other things) helping the poor and dispossessed in Ireland*

And that’s why Bono’s a prik.

Mute Alex Carroll
    Favourite Alex Carroll
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:52 PM

Arch hypocrite.

Mute Dave keeley
    Favourite Dave keeley
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:10 PM

Strange ceist, I admire DJT for his brass neck; Tessa May for becoming PM with little or no apparent competence, I certainly admire Bono for keeping a band together for more than 40 years and remaining relevant and entertaining…

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Jul 13th 2017, 1:21 PM

Don’t begrudge his artistry ,just ignore his more silly antics and pronouncements!

Mute Lesley McKenna
    Favourite Lesley McKenna
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:00 PM

He’s the worst kind of hypocrite, driven by ego and self promotion which has been evident from day one. No one who has done their homework and researched the underbelly of the facade he weakly portrays could admire or respect this shammer. Personally, I’m ashamed he’s Irish and no…I don’t rate his music or performances either. His “showmanship” is as fake and ego driven as his public persona.

Mute Boxer Alice
    Favourite Boxer Alice
    Jul 13th 2017, 5:11 PM

Robbie Hudson…..I would not go to see Bono even with a free ticket and by the way I am not an idiot!. Just because you admire him doesn’t mean e/one does. Each to their own.

Mute John Darcy
    Favourite John Darcy
    Jul 14th 2017, 1:09 PM

My problem with bozo is he thinks he speaks for everyone he is not an ambassador for Ireland and has no empathy for id as his politics and viees have proved. ..but I do like u2 .. he should not voice his opinion as every Irish persons opinion

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Jul 13th 2017, 6:06 PM

Ask a silly question, get an overwhelming obvious poll response. Arrogant toe@$?

Mute Dick Durkin
    Favourite Dick Durkin
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:38 PM

He still is good mates with George Bush and Tony Blair so that makes him a stupid something that rhymes with runt.

Mute Eimear
    Favourite Eimear
    Jul 13th 2017, 6:29 PM

5% – never heard of him.

I love Irish people- hate my eyes for LOOKING at ya!!!!

Mute tony kennedy
    Favourite tony kennedy
    Jul 14th 2017, 10:49 AM

He’s a pompous little Git. When some of us were marching against the Iraq war he was preparing lunch for Tony Blair in Dalkey

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:23 AM

just Google Bono and Monsanto and then tell me he’s one of the good guys.That and the fake charities he ran leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

Mute Michael Bride
    Favourite Michael Bride
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:43 PM

Hypocritical, egotistical, greedy little boll*x!

Mute Robbie Hudson
    Favourite Robbie Hudson
    Jul 13th 2017, 2:46 PM

Do any of you think Bono actually cares about what any of you idiots think of him?

Including the clown from The journal who wrote the slim article? You actually couldn’t even write its stupidity to write the article and ask such a thick question but yet you have. Good work. So dumb to read every comment I feel more stupid.

Mute Robbie Hudson
    Favourite Robbie Hudson
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:50 PM

Couldn’t be more stupid. Not what you wrote.

You wrote with a comma you absolute muppet.

And that semi colon you used is only used, (to borrow a meaning), if between two independent clauses that are connected by conjunctive adverbs or transitional phrases.

You dope.

Mute Robbie Hudson
    Favourite Robbie Hudson
    Jul 13th 2017, 3:59 PM

And I forgot to mention, entirely in the wrong place. You absolute clown.

Mute Robbie Hudson
    Favourite Robbie Hudson
    Jul 13th 2017, 4:22 PM

…’You’re the one’ calling yourself stupid. I give up trying to teach you. You’re so bad at it. It’s not private school either. Don’t comment unless you know how to comment. That’s all. You can’t write a sentence. And I’m not from any private school. You’re just a thick. Having opinion on things you have absolutely no clue about. So, have a good day and stop talking useless information.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:55 AM

@Lizzy Hennessy: in all fairness, if you are the example of public school, it’s private for my kids.

Doesn’t your phone have autocorrect or your computer spellcheck?

Mute Peter Jennings
    Favourite Peter Jennings
    Jul 15th 2017, 1:24 AM

ROBBIE YOU PR..K YOU SHOULD BE A SCHOOL TEACHER WE ARE HERE DISSCUSSING BONO NOT TO GIVE OUT ON HOW WE EXPRESS OURSELFS

Mute Mártan Ó Conghaile
    Favourite Mártan Ó Conghaile
    Jul 13th 2017, 5:26 PM

Haters gonna hate!

Mute Mary Hopkins
    Favourite Mary Hopkins
    Jul 13th 2017, 9:24 PM

ass hole

Mute Ed Dunne
    Favourite Ed Dunne
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:11 AM

@Mary Hopkins: why?

Mute SYM-Metal
    Favourite SYM-Metal
    Jul 13th 2017, 12:59 PM

F*ck Bono!