You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

John Gilligan has lost his appeal to hold onto properties seized by CAB

He must now vacate the three properties, including Jessbrook – his beloved equestrian centre in Kildare.

JOHN GILLIGAN HAS lost his Supreme Court appeal to hold onto assets seized by the Criminal Assets Bureau.

The convicted drug dealer had taken his case to the top court, arguing against the freeze on his assets by the State back in 1996.

Today, five Supreme Court justices unanimously agreed to strike out the appeal. He has lost the three properties in question, including Jessbrook equestrian centre in Kildare.

Gilligan – who claimed the properties were acquired with legitimate funds – has no further appeal options.

More to follow…

Read: John Gilligan’s prized Jessbrook estate sold by CAB

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

50 Comments
    Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Nov 30th 2019, 9:33 AM

Looking forward to seeing the far right, she who sues, candidate getting the thrashing she deserves

Mute Mary's Abbey
    Favourite Mary's Abbey
    Nov 30th 2019, 10:05 AM

@DJ François: She hung in despite the imitation and constant harassment — even the organised pile-on by the tax-payer funded politically correct censors disguised as non-government organisations did not put a halt to her gallop.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Nov 30th 2019, 10:23 AM

@Mary’s Abbey: ***canned laughter***

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 30th 2019, 10:29 AM

@DJ François: You’d hope she’d get the message that she is hated but she’ll never stop trying to get on that gravy train.

Mute Pseudonym
    Favourite Pseudonym
    Nov 30th 2019, 10:37 AM

@Mary’s Abbey: hehehehehhe

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:49 PM

@Mary’s Abbey: so r u saying her constantly intimidating and harassing people didn’t help her Mary ?

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:27 PM

@richard fennessy: Definitely, her going into shops and harassing the staff and filming it doesn’t seem to help. @Mary’s Abbey, that “candidate” is a pathetic example of an Irish person.

Mute Mary's Abbey
    Favourite Mary's Abbey
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:59 PM

@DJ François: Over one thousand Irish Patriots think you are talking through your bonnet!

Mute richard fennessy
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:05 PM

@Mary’s Abbey: never heard a real patriot referring to themselves as a patriot.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:39 PM

@DJ François: Lost deposit and made a show of herself at the count-what a loser, and a green probably going to win, bloody hilarious. I’m waiting for her latest Facebook meltdown, blaming everything but her nonsense policies for her loss

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:41 PM

@DJ François: These “patriots” aren’t fit to lick the boots of my grandfather, QM for D company, 4th Batt. 1916.
    He hated racists.

Mute Damien Hawe
    Favourite Damien Hawe
    Dec 1st 2019, 2:38 AM

@Mary’s Abbey: over 24 thousand others thought otherwise

Mute Damien Hawe
    Favourite Damien Hawe
    Dec 1st 2019, 2:39 AM

@DJ François: she’s already started. A van with an out of date tax cert is to blame.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Nov 30th 2019, 12:29 PM

Its not looking good for the old doctor who owns most of North County Dublin.

Mute JustJack
    Favourite JustJack
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:38 PM

So FF to get 2 seats. The message is, it doesn’t matter how criminally corrupt or incompetent you are, keep your head down for a while they’ll soon forget.

Mute Misty Eyed Mutton
    Favourite Misty Eyed Mutton
    Nov 30th 2019, 2:29 PM

@JustJack: I have noted the Fianna Fail supporting constituencies and making a mental note to check my change twice when I am passing through them. They are still Ireland’s wrecking ball.

Mute KJmadra.
    Favourite KJmadra.
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:12 PM

@JustJack: and even so people still vote FF/FG/LAB. I guess you could be right.

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B
    Nov 30th 2019, 9:14 PM

@JustJack: move on man

Mute Pete Gilmartin
    Favourite Pete Gilmartin
    Nov 30th 2019, 9:21 AM

They’ll have the seats for 6 months max before next year’s GE. Almost seems like a waste of money running these bye elections.

Mute Brin
    Favourite Brin
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:32 PM

@Pete Gilmartin: it’s easier to stay elected than get elected.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:52 PM

If we vote for FFFG we deserve everything we get.

Mute Everyone'sgonecrazy
    Favourite Everyone'sgonecrazy
    Nov 30th 2019, 4:58 PM

@Shazam37: you’re so right. I’m getting seriously frustrated with the people in this country who either don’t get out to vote (unless legitimate reasons) and/or vote FFG, Lab, Greens. The same people will wail about the state of the country but will STILL vote these parties in! The country is getting worse, not better guys!!!!

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:35 PM

@Everyone’sgonecrazy: well the country has been driven by FFFG – I know Lab Green have been in office recently enough to have helped destroy the country but they’ve never led a government. i won’t vote Lab (I’m against trade unions) but I’ll give greens a preference after SD, independent maybe SF depending on the candidate. But I won’t vote for the leading three under any circumstances

Mute Everyone'sgonecrazy
    Nov 30th 2019, 7:25 PM

@Shazam37: Yes, FFG are the main culprits of misery. While I sometimes admire the idealistic views of the greens, they aren’t realistic for a lot of people in Ireland. Environmental taxes etc are great in theory but doesn’t prevent me from needing a lot of petrol per week to drive into work. I grew up in a city but house prices were crazy and unattainable so I moved to rural Ireland. I have no choice but to drive. I work hard, pay my taxes, have a mortgage, myself and people like me shouldn’t be punished with the taxes the Greens advocate for

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Dec 1st 2019, 1:08 AM

@Everyone’sgonecrazy: it’s just me feminism. You shouldn’t be punished? Equally children shouldn’t be punished by inheriting a world we’ve basically destroyed because you need to drive a car.

The greens policies are realistic – you just don’t want them.

Policies like that change behaviour. You’d have to move. Or change jobs. Or find all ger stove means of transport . Which is the point. Everyone who uses an environmentally damaging vehicle gets punished it for it.

Mute Everyone'sgonecrazy
    Dec 1st 2019, 8:40 AM

@Shazam37: I get what you’re saying and I agree to a point, but what did their policies on diesel vs petrol cars actually achieve for example except for making things harder for some people? Has it contributed positively and significantly to climate change? I don’t believe so. It’s easy to say I’d have to move or change jobs but seriously, everyone can’t live close to their jobs/cities, rural Ireland, in many cases, doesn’t have anywhere close to a regular and fit-for-purpose public transport system.

Mute Everyone'sgonecrazy
    Dec 1st 2019, 8:44 AM

@Shazam37: and I’m not saying nothing should be done, I want to leave my future children a better world, but come on, we’re an insignificant blip on world carbon emissions, I’d respect and buy into green-type policies a lot more if the politicians/the world stood up to the main culprits of pollution. Our crowd won’t and I don’t see the Greens doing it either if they got into power.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:14 PM

Looks like the Shinner is doing well in Dublin Mid-West.

God help us all.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:34 PM

@Chin Feeyin: No surprise. You see SF Councillors between elections actively helping the community, while you only really see the FFG Councillors at photo ops.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:35 PM

@Chin Feeyin: pffft. Maybe people with more sympathy toward the less well off.

God help you you mean.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute richard fennessy
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:50 PM

@Chin Feeyin: yep it’s what u get for actively helping people and not just popping up at election time

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:50 PM

@Chin Feeyin: I just want to ask you some questions and Ihope you are no offended in any way. Do you ever feel violated after listening to your parties lies and nonsense? Do you really believe everything they tell you about how great they are?

Mute ChuckE
    Favourite ChuckE
    Nov 30th 2019, 2:06 PM

@The Risen: nonsense. While i would never vote FG I know emir Higgins has dine more work for that community in the last ten years than the likes of Mark ward or SF will ever do. If he does top the vote which I expect him to the community will suffer as a result. A populist vote and certainly not a that will serve the people.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 2:29 PM

@The Risen: “FFG”?

Are you Willy McBride? Thought so.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 2:34 PM

@ChuckE: Which “community”? This is an election to the Dail. His responsibility is to the nation after that. Not his constituency.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:34 PM

@David Corrigan: I have never expressed support for any political party on here. Never. Not once.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:36 PM

@Shazam37: God help me is right. If SF ever get into government (they won’t) I’ll be paying a lot more tax, and I pay enough right now thank you very much.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:52 PM

@Chin Feeyin: yes – so it’s all about you. Homelessness health – you don’t care about any of that so long as you’re alright.

Which is what makes you such a distasteful character.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:56 PM

@Shazam37: Now, now. Your Great Leader told you not to be hurling abuse at people on the Internet.

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Nov 30th 2019, 4:08 PM

@Chin Feeyin: where’s your pon pons today

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Nov 30th 2019, 4:26 PM

@Chin Feeyin: answer the question

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 4:29 PM

@Chin Feeyin: ?? Who’s my great leader? I don’t support a particular party. I am
    ardently against FFFGLab

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 4:38 PM

@Shazam37: Fair enough. I thought you were a Shinnerbot – there’s a lot of them on here.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:36 PM

@Chin Feeyin: pffft. Yea you thought that because you’re so ensconced in you own agenda. Your own self interest.

I actually think of people other than myself. That kid eating dinner off cardboard for example.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:08 PM

@The Risen: only if their on welfare ! We want everything and someone else to pay for it

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 7:19 PM

@Alan: no just those things which are fundamental to human survival. Shelter healthcare. Water.

Mute JustJack
    Favourite JustJack
    Nov 30th 2019, 7:26 PM

@ChuckE: I’d never vote FG but…..Eoin O Broin has been an excellent rep for that area and his input on solving the housing crisis has been second to none.

Mute Paul Dooley
    Favourite Paul Dooley
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:04 PM

The only parties to call to our home over the past couple of weeks were SF, PBP and SF again. Not a peek from the others. Seems to have paid off for Mark Ward

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:00 PM

@Paul Dooley: obviously very selective with the areas they canvas. One party knocked on my door and that was FF. No other candidates came the the area

Mute Velez26
    Favourite Velez26
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:45 PM

Never mind Doherty, the truly embarrassing point is that Clifford Lee still managed to get 17% of the vote..What a joke

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 4:31 PM

@Velez26: people never learn.

At least, and not in my lifetime, trends show that FFFG will be dead eventually

Mute Sean Fitzmaurice
    Favourite Sean Fitzmaurice
    Nov 30th 2019, 10:43 AM

Live blog, an hour late

Mute Mary's Abbey
    Favourite Mary's Abbey
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:55 PM

Despite all the vitriol, intimidation, harassment and the well-funded non-governmental organisations campaigning solely against Gemma, over one thousand Irish Patriots voted for freedom. From this small seed, a mighty Oak will grow.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:55 PM

@Mary’s Abbey: are these seeds from the local Head Shop?

Mute Kevin Burke
    Favourite Kevin Burke
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:01 PM

@Mary’s Abbey: hahahahahaha

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François

@Mary’s Abbey: lost deposit, meltdown at count. The Gemmaroids spinning desperately at the failure of her policies.
    partiots my hole.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:11 PM

No-one in my household even got a polling card. Not exactly promoting turnout is it?

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:13 PM

@John Considine: polling card not necessary to vote.

Mute Sandra Duffy
    Favourite Sandra Duffy
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:23 PM

@John Considine: Same here. The three of us went up and voted anyway but didnt even realise it was the date of the election until 7.30pm when I spotted a tweet about it. That’s never happened before.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:36 PM

@John Considine: Of course not and I went up and voted anyway. But polling cards are a good way to remind people there is an election upcoming and where and when specifically they should vote.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 2:31 PM

@Sandra Duffy: you didn’t realise it was the day of the election?

You should have your right to vote taken from you.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:52 PM

@Chin Feeyin: good aul fg attitude there, only certain people who we deem fit should be allowed vote

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:54 PM

@Thomas Maher: not a FG supporter.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:00 PM

@Chin Feeyin: uh uh. Well you’ve been bashing the left so who does that leave you?

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:35 PM

@Chin Feeyin: there was a big problem with the printing machine

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:46 PM

@Shazam37: it just leaves me as an opponent of the Marxists and Trotskyites. Nothing more.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 7:21 PM

@Chin Feeyin: but as I said / that’s just silly childish sloganism. That might describe the PBP but not Sinn Fein labour or Soc dems who are centre left and socially democratic mostly.

FF are campaigning left of centre which means your a blue shirt.

Me Myself I. The politics of selfishness

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 30th 2019, 7:24 PM

@Shazam37: Sinn Fein are Marxists.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin

@Shazam37: FF left of centre? First I heard of it!

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Nov 30th 2019, 9:12 PM

@Chin Feeyin: they’ve always campaigned to the left and more recently governed to the right. It was them after all that built all the social housing of the past and paid the unions through the nose. Ask them they won’t claim to be a party of the right.

As for SF being Marxist. You’re wise of the mark there. Their policies aren’t looney left – it’s just easy and lazy to tar them with that brush because you don’t like their policies. Which is obvious from your name.

Don’t know why you don’t just nail your colours to the mast. It’s make everyone’s life easier. You’re into the politics of self service. You first. Hang everyone else. It’s a legitimate (though deeply distasteful) position to hold.

The only reason you don’t admit it is because you’re worried what other people think of you. Sad really.

Mute Marc Esteve
    Favourite Marc Esteve
    Nov 30th 2019, 1:56 PM

Is Charlie Keddy in Cork North Central and Dublin Mid-West the same person?

Mute Kim Prylowski
    Favourite Kim Prylowski
    Nov 30th 2019, 2:06 PM

@Marc Esteve: Yes and he is running in Wexford. He is from Wicklow.

Mute Darren Doyle McCormack
    Favourite Darren Doyle McCormack
    Nov 30th 2019, 2:42 PM

@Marc Esteve: He ran in Wexford too. Same person.

Mute Kim Prylowski
    Favourite Kim Prylowski
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:35 PM

@Darren Doyle McCormack: and Dublin Fingal.

Mute Kim Prylowski
    Favourite Kim Prylowski
    Nov 30th 2019, 4:01 PM

@Darren Doyle McCormack: and he ran in Dublin Fingal.

Mute AJ McLaughlin
    Favourite AJ McLaughlin
    Dec 1st 2019, 8:37 AM

@Darren Doyle McCormack: he ran everywhere, must have been in training for next year’s marathon

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Nov 30th 2019, 8:12 PM

Time to get Fianna Fail back into government next May & start all the hand outs all over again. 100% mortgages massive dole hikes. Building housing estates in swamps.

Mute Miller
    Favourite Miller
    Nov 30th 2019, 9:24 PM

How people in Fingal, the commuter belt and farming voted Green is beyond me

Mute Ciaran Goggins
    Favourite Ciaran Goggins
    Nov 30th 2019, 8:11 PM

FF Broke this country and ye muppets vote them back i n

Mute Val Doyle
    Favourite Val Doyle
    Dec 1st 2019, 9:30 AM

@Ciaran Goggins: you’re a muppet

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Nov 30th 2019, 3:36 PM

The results show Verona Murphy running for FF. ?

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B
    Nov 30th 2019, 5:21 PM

However no problem with trial by Leo

Mute Duncan Paul
    Favourite Duncan Paul
    Dec 1st 2019, 12:19 AM

Fianna Fáil are easily the best party ever in the world by a mile and a half

Mute Stephen Burns
    Favourite Stephen Burns
    Nov 30th 2019, 11:24 PM

same shite different election.we deserve what we get.

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Nov 30th 2019, 6:02 PM

Karma bites the ass, come on the Greens. Way to go.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    Dec 1st 2019, 12:18 PM

The boom is back, great day for Fianna Fáil. Hail the party, hail the man