You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

TD claims use of pre-paid Oireachtas envelopes for campaign launch wasn't deliberate

John Halligan said if he made a mistake he will repay the money.

19/1/2016. Independent Alliance Motions John Halligan Leah Farrell Leah Farrell

AN INDEPENDENT TD has claimed his use of pre-paid Oireachtas envelopes to send out invitations to his election campaign launch later this week was not deliberate.

TDs and Senators have repeatedly been advised not to use Oireachtas stationery for election purposes prior to the campaign officially getting underway.

John Halligan, who is aligned with the Independent Alliance, has admitted that around 30 invitations to his general election campaign launch in Waterford’s Granville Hotel this Friday were sent to constituents in pre-paid Oireachtas envelopes.

However, he also revealed that some invitations were included with responses to constituents’ queries which were also sent in the pre-paid envelopes.

Halligan’s campaign will be launched by his fellow independent TD Shane Ross and the broadcaster Eamon Dunphy, who has been involved with the Independent Alliance.

IMG_3518

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, Halligan said that he had run out of a box of normal envelopes to send the invitations out in and so used around 30 of the Oireachtas ones.

TDs receive around 250 pre-paid envelopes from Leinster House authorities every month. Halligan said:

It was an invite to a public meeting so I didn’t see the issue. I don’t use anything from the Oireachtas once the election is called, but if I have broken any rules then I will pay the money back. It was not deliberate.

Halligan said he was checking with authorities to establish whether any rules had been broken.

In guidance issued last November, the Standards in Public Office Commission said clearly:

The Standards Commission has advised that, in advance of the dissolution of the Dáíl, TDs and Senators should not use Oireachtas envelopes (or other facilities) for electoral purposes in connection with the forthcoming general elections for Dail Éireann and Seanad Éireann, in respect of their own candidature, as these facilities have been provided to them arising out of their duties as public representatives. Neither should they provide these facilities to other candidates for electoral or any other purpose.

Similar guidance was issued in May 2014 during the local and European elections.

This was after it emerged that independent TD Clare Daly had used pre-paid envelopes to canvass for votes. Her officials later admitted the error and repaid the money.

The use of Oireachtas facilities, including envelopes, during the election period is allowed, but TDs and Senators are required to repay the cost of what they use to the Houses of the Oireachtas Commission.

Read: Fine Gael councillor’s posters defaced with swastikas

McGrath vs. McGrath: These lads had a lively (and hilarious) row in our office

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

77 Comments
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:16 PM

Why the hell should they use ‘Oireachtas envelopes’ for electioneering at any time??

FFS if they want to get re-elected use their own money NOT mine and that applies to all of the scrounging B*st*rds

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:13 PM

Who does he think he is..? A Fine Gael TD..?

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:22 PM

I don’t see him offering to reimburse the cost of the envelopes, if it was a genuine mistake.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:35 PM

Well at least it’s not party policy

Mute danielplainview
    Favourite danielplainview
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:08 PM

We’re reporting on election stationary now!! Really scraping the bottom of the barrel. Wouldnt mind hearing candidates or partys realistic policies instead of this rubbish

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:08 PM

He owes us back the 20 euros. Let’s make a huge thing of this. It distracts from the hospital report.

Mute TeaRex
    Favourite TeaRex
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:13 PM

Jesus 30 envelopes!!………..Non story.

Mute KM TON
    Favourite KM TON
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:09 PM

Seems to be a bit of a non story here. No doubt people will get into fits and call it disgusting as they tend to do!

Mute offtheball
    Favourite offtheball
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:22 PM

If he was a Gov. TD people on here would be going ape over it.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:30 PM

KM, only if it’s FG.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:32 PM

FG and Labour Gov TDs are c###s whereas Gilligan is a decent human being and doesn’t ask ” what’s in it for me ? ” Hope this helps offtheball

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:32 PM

*Halligan

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:39 PM

Tom the difference is he admitted that he had done it and it wasn’t deliberate and he would pay the €20 back. A certain fg td spent thousands on phone calls to Kenya and denied it numerous times , when eventually they quietly paid back the thousands.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:11 PM

Littleone, one word “ink”. For god sake All politicians are the same at the end of the day. And all the commenters coming on here thinking the SF are any better is laughable. I will spread my vote and hope we get a good mix (the best possible).

Dodgy is dodgy FG, FF, labour, SF etc etc they ain’t fit to lead this nation so stop trying to big up the likes of SF.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:20 PM

Tom. Where do I big up sf. Come on show me. Talking about blowing your top. Looks like you have. You made the comment that if he was a fg td. I made the point in the difference in what John halligan did and a fg did.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone

Tom was a nerve hit. Is that the reason for your crazy rant

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:26 PM

Is that the best you can do Tom. Digging up an ink story from 10 years ago. Seriously!

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:26 PM

Littleone, no nerve was hit. And if you are honest you know my so called rant is 100% correct. Now stop making a show of yourself.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:30 PM

Ah tom enough said. Carry on with your crazy rants and make up believe world . people can read the comments and I am sure its not me that made a show.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:35 PM

Littleone. Exactly.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:39 PM

Seamus, dodgy is dodgy.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:40 PM

Thanks tom. At least you agree its you that has the crazy rants and has made a show.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:42 PM

Littleone, go on and tell people your real name?

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 26th 2016, 3:10 PM

Tom what a weird thing to ask ? Why.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 26th 2016, 3:16 PM

Says tom with the fake Facebook account. Tom no mates.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 26th 2016, 3:24 PM

So your alright tom . I will decline to give my real name to someone who sets up fake Facebook accounts . safety and all. Their is a lot of crazies on the internet .

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:13 PM

You’re the only one mentioning SF Tom.Some inner reflection , contemplation and a chat with a homeless person in a park is needed for you I think.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:29 PM

Think they may need to think about a ban on using oireachtas printing facilities and envelopes for political propaganda purposes for a six month period before a general election. Not fair on non sitting candidates.

And that includes a permanent ban on christmas cards and calenders at the tax payers expense!

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jan 26th 2016, 4:03 PM

Hear, hear, Reg. It irritates me to have to pay for someone to bombard me with junk mail. Is it too late to call yet again for a ban on the most offensive item of all – Election Posters?

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:11 PM

Blueshirts across the country are now looking for distractions. Firstly Lowry now the waiting list report. I expect Gerry Adams to be arrested again shortly before the election is announced.

Mute Sinead Dolan
    Favourite Sinead Dolan
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:33 PM

I got a leaflet this week from one of our local TD in an oireachtas prepaid envelope, telling me all his hard work since last election. It’s blatant electioneering. I’ve received nothing from said TD since the last election. Hall if an is a non story. I’m sure he’ll repay the estimated 20eur.

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:21 PM

He’s also been using 4 sheets when wiping his arse in the Dail toilets, the chancer!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:19 PM

Halligans a decent skin. I find it highly unlikely that he would intentionally risk negative headlines this close to an election for the sake of saving less change than he probably has down the back of his sofa.

Non story. Is there negative news about FG/Labour brewing by any chance??

Mute Richard boyle
    Favourite Richard boyle
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:29 PM

Video for homer simpson dateline interview▶ 0:34
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0FZ0sqGDqY
    May 31, 2014 – Uploaded by manda877
    +MadonnaSaigon No problem! I was expecting the actual interview of what Homer was going …

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran

Did your overlords in Fine Gowl order a distraction story Hugh O Connell ? #finegaelwhatsinitforme

Mute james
    Favourite james
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:19 PM

Pat Mustard.

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:54 PM

Surly you mean Fr. Stone?

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:45 PM

Good old FG propaganda manager Hugh with another Exclusive about someone from another party other than FG. Also for the unteenth time of asking can you find out from your FG masters when the findings ot the Moriarty report will be acted on by this government. Especially as your fiddling FG friend Mr Lowery is back in the news. Mr Lowery you may need reminding was involved with said enquiry along with another FG friend Mr D O B.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:23 PM

Eddie, if I had such strong views on Hugh and thejournal I wouldn’t keep reading and commenting on it. In my opinion it says as much about you.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:34 PM

Taxpayers money pissed away in the billions but this is outrageous, I’m absolutely spiting with rage here, stationary thief is no laughing matter. Those envelopes are supposed to be used for writing letters of recommendation for criminals and the like.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs

Zero tolerance guys, this is how it starts. Chas Haughey started this way.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:40 PM

One of the Kray twins put a cheap stamp on an envelope back in the 1960s.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:36 PM

30 envelopes is hardly the equivalent os stealing huge amounts of ink toner.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:40 PM

Or making phone calls to Kenya.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:20 PM

True, or using the phone to vote for oneself in a reality competition.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone

True.

Mute Paul Davis
    Favourite Paul Davis
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:13 PM

Well then it’s incompetence which is just as bad.

Mute Seamus Ryan
    Favourite Seamus Ryan
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:14 PM

If it was a government TD we would want to know about it so it should be reported when it’s the opposition. Whether it’s a big deal or not, it’s all about perception. If he was to do this what else has he done that we don’t know about.?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jan 26th 2016, 4:11 PM

Ooooooh, Seamus, let’s speculate then. Perhaps he entered the Miss World Competition fraudulently; or sucked budgies, or gave people sweeties he’d had up his bum!!! (credit: Billy Connolly). You just couldn’t be up to these fellahs.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:17 PM

Crucify him !!!!

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:38 PM

I have a Sign over my letterbox which clearly states No Junk mail yet politicians don’t believe their leaflets are junk mail and continue abusing my letterbox by posting them the recent abuser of the letterbox was joe Costello who ignored my wishes as the house holder and posted his junk mail that’s why I will not b voting for any politician who continue to abuse my letter box politicians who do respect my wishes might have a chance of getting a vote from my house

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:46 PM

Good man Liam, you vote for any old eejit as long as he doesn’t put anything in your letterbox! It probably wasn’t him anyway!

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:50 PM

If i hadnt spent weeks deciphering Molly Blooms soliloquy i would have struggled to read that thank god i learned joycean techniques before contemplating the journal it helps no end in my understanding of the topics being discussed

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:06 PM

Reg , But Joe isn’t just any old eejit.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Jan 26th 2016, 3:29 PM

I have a sign over my letterbox that clearly states This is Not a Receptacle for Used Car Parts. To date I have not found one car part in it.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:16 PM

Its not junk mail, it is important voter information.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:16 PM

Do you accept new car parts in your box ?

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:30 PM

Howya John.
    You’ll be getting my NO 1 vote again this year.
    Thanks for the great service since you were elected.

Mute DMurph
    Favourite DMurph
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:03 PM

Is there anything that these people actually pay for themselves?

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:08 PM

Was expecting something more from the headline. 30 envelopes… I am more inclined to think it was an error on his Secretary’s part with so few envelopes. The headline kind of implies he racked up something more than 20 Euro

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:14 PM

They are well learning all the same. Doesn’t seem to matter who they are its all take, take an lone there pockets great little country.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:49 PM

Politicians are scheming baastards they manage to get around everything such as this and the election posters that are NOT election posters.

Mute ballbreaker
    Favourite ballbreaker
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:33 PM

Ya gotta love these clowns they try anything and when caught they say they will pay it back ..thing is they are paying back with Your Money..so it’s a win win

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:44 PM

Another do as I say not as I do , buoyo, what a shower..

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jan 26th 2016, 3:49 PM

Call the Gardai. If he stole from a shop he would be treated like a thief.

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:28 PM

Nobody cares about this, it’s such a small amount sure it will be grand!

Mute Susan
    Favourite Susan
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:45 PM

Kevin Humphreys does it consistently. I’ve emailed him and requested he not do it, his answer is, as there are many apartments in his constituency that he cannot access…
    NO EXCUSE!!!

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:40 PM

scandalous!!! call the fraud scuad

Mute Ciaran Coye
    Favourite Ciaran Coye
    Jan 26th 2016, 4:40 PM

A labour senator in Galway East did the same last week. Public Meeting indeed.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jan 26th 2016, 4:47 PM

Have any of ye pro FG\Labour red thumbers got a call offering you a job trolling on their behalf via Jobsbridge? Expect mighty support for the government here until at least after the election. No more voluntary trolling, they will be getting an extra € 50 a week for while.

Mute Kerryblue
    Favourite Kerryblue
    Jan 26th 2016, 9:55 PM

Brendan Griffin Fg Td in Kerry sent thousands of electrical literature out in Oireachtas envelopes two weeks ago, some cheek

Mute Eoin O'Súilleabháin
    Favourite Eoin O'Súilleabháin
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:09 PM

A mistake, only because he was caught.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:30 PM

I don’t like Halligan or any of the crusties but you’d swear he killed someone.
    It was a very minor offence and he’s repaid it. Can we have some perspective please?

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:05 PM

so the invitations where not deliberately put into the envelopes and deliberately posted, they all all the same like the ink cartridge lad who didn’t deliberately take them.

Jan 26th 2016, 5:31 PM

Ooooooooooooooooooooo…. lol.

Mute john truman
    Favourite john truman
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:34 PM

F#ck me thought it was Peter Sellers

Mute Martin Woods
    Favourite Martin Woods
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:03 PM

Got one today from a sitting f/g to in the same constituce what the difference