You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Could Fianna Fáil do a deal with Sinn Féin? John McGuinness thinks so...

The chair of the Public Accounts Committee has been talking coalitions with TheJournal.ie this week.

FIANNA FÁIL TD John McGuinness does not believe his party should rule out a possible coalition with Fine Gael after the next election.

Despite his party leader ruling it out, McGuinness reiterated his view that a historic coalition between the two parties should not be taken off the table in a wide-ranging interview with TheJournal.ie this week.

In a week when possible coalition arrangements have been much-discussed, we also asked the Carlow-Kilkenny deputy whether Sinn Féin could be a possible government partner for Fianna Fáil:

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Watch: He’s ruled out Fine Gael and Sinn Féin, so could Micheál Martin do a deal with anyone?

Read: ‘I find it a bit disloyal’: A Labour minister is NOT happy with Simon Coveney

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:49 AM

In my local council Fianna Fail and Fine Gael worked together to carve up the best (most financial rewarding ) positions between them .As we have found out politicians will sell their principles and their souls to get their snouts into the trough of taxpayers money ,Image the super quangos, God help us ,

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:10 AM

Same in my county council, then they hacked 100k+ out of the road maintenance fund and grants for disabled people needing to adapt their homes.
    Dont be fooled, follow the money. FG replaced the galway tent with golf classics!

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:44 AM

“Dont be fooled, follow the money. FG replaced the galway tent with golf classics!”
    Too true.!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 22nd 2015, 9:20 AM

John McGuinness must resign as Chair of P.A.C. now – He seems too close to the government and Rehab by extension now !
    I am sure he will do it of his own volition now anyway – just to prove that there is no conflict if interest – that is what the honest broker would do in any case – Like Patrick McNulty resigning after the scandal – Party politicians seem to be protected from that by their leaders …
    What did Enda really say to Tom Barry ?

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Jan 22nd 2015, 10:11 AM

People should be aware that if they vote for FG next time out they’re voting for FF as well , no difference between them anyway …

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Jan 22nd 2015, 1:46 PM

Never it would be the end of SF

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Jan 22nd 2015, 5:39 PM

Not necessarily – the junior partner in a coalition comes off worst and as things stand SF would have more seats than FF at the next election.

Mute trickytrixster
    Favourite trickytrixster
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:33 AM

Never ever let that skum back in,set the country back 30 years and made a nice living out of it,Micheal martin made a complete hash of the health service

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:53 AM

Micheal Martin displayed his caring nature and admirable leadership credentials by introducing public-place smoking ban into Ireland in 2004 when Minister for Health.

Ireland has lead the world implementing this initiative, which has saved and will continue to save countless lives.

Not alone does smoking clog up the lungs and arteries of the smoker, it also places an immense burden on Health Services budgets through its damaging long-term affects.

Let’s be fair to Mr Martin and give credit where credit is due!

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:04 AM

What about the rest of the hse??? 18 months for a child to see an ENT consultant in the midlands then a further 2.5 years to have anything done! Your mentality is the same as sure charlie wasnt that bad, he gave us the bus pass. Measure the whole not just a single part. FF are a gang of criminals in suits, just last week another 1 was up in court for fraud

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:10 AM

Don’t be so silly.

Mute trickytrixster
    Favourite trickytrixster
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:27 AM

Nonsense, he stole the idea from Canada,all it did was put the final nail in the pub trade,if he was serious he would ban cigarettes outright,surely that’s for the benefit of all,but to much taxes would be lost,a parasite looking to weasel a way in to power

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:36 AM

He had bugger all to do with smoking ban, it was in california since 1998. Rip off merchant.

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:38 AM

Hopefully the electorate come to their senses and vote for Sinn Féin. They deserve a chance. If they fail, then knock them. But until then, dún do bhéal.

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Favourite Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 22nd 2015, 10:25 AM

Totally agree : )

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:37 AM

If you were to ask me if I would prefer a FF led govt to a FG led one, it’s like being asked would you prefer a kick in the balls to a kick up the hole!

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:05 AM

Doesnt have to either and thankfully people are begining to see that

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 22nd 2015, 9:23 AM

The reason you are asked is so that you begin to accept the idea – It’s called “early softening “……
    Paddy hates Enda though and early softening doesn’t work on thick-tempered Paddies – Enda has missed that bit whiling his time away in Dublin !

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:46 AM

FF are really desperate for power and the extra €€€ that comes with it…. SF should be tested in Government as the main party .

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:55 AM

Have you been away? FG have been in power for 4 yrs as the main party

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:56 AM

Sorry, early morning, I got that wrong

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:07 AM

Jaysus kevin did you really mix up FG and SF?? Buy you a coffee mate

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32
    Jan 22nd 2015, 10:57 AM

Morning Kev -:)

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Jan 22nd 2015, 9:01 AM

When SF get into power they would be foolish to partner up with any of those lowlifes

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Jan 22nd 2015, 5:07 PM

If Sinn Fein get into power with anyone, god love us all, they will destroy this country, and bring us back to the backward desolate kip this country was up to the 90s.

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:38 PM

We’ll be going forward then as it’s like the 80′s now

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 22nd 2015, 9:17 AM

“What do you do? Go back to the public and tell them they gave us the wrong answer?”

Yeah, FF wouldn’t ever do something that ridiculous eh?

#Treaty of Nice
    #Lisbon Treaty

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 22nd 2015, 10:27 AM

The point is moot. Sinn Fein will win an overall majority #gerryfortaoiseach

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jan 22nd 2015, 1:40 PM

Prov.Shinnerbot – The FG Fake Troll , whose Blueshirt Mask is constantly slipping …the ould Eegit – Give your ould sins you useless Troll !

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Jan 22nd 2015, 1:48 PM

Kerry man, the keeper of the comments section. Here to point out who all the trolls are by trolling them himself!!

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 22nd 2015, 1:55 PM

Comrade Ciarraíoch, I use a balaclava, much harder to slip than a mask.

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jan 22nd 2015, 2:00 PM

There are some intelligent Sinn Fein supporters on the journal. Unfortunately Ciarraioch/Eddie Barrett is certainly not one of them.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 22nd 2015, 5:57 PM

Started naming each other now boys – let the fun begin ….
    I and others decided to by-pass the childishness but come on now let’s be having you …

Mute Ken Thornton
    Favourite Ken Thornton
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:53 AM

They will do anything to get back in power even sell their soul to the devil.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Jan 22nd 2015, 9:44 AM

Independent got into offices in the locals and voted with fg on everything in meath apart from one independent most of them are ex fg/ff

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:32 AM

Dear, God.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:35 AM

Why not?
    Dear Enda turned out to be worse.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 22nd 2015, 7:45 AM

Worse than FF? I think not.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 22nd 2015, 9:25 PM

Brilliant Paul !

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:26 AM

There is an article on here about white collar crime and cracking down on it put these two together and it only enhances and strengthens it

Mute Ciaran Coye
    Favourite Ciaran Coye
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:25 PM

If FF/FG form a coalition after the next election then thats it. I’m selling up and shipping out.

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Jan 22nd 2015, 1:58 PM

Worry not.

The socialist revolution is still ongoing in North Korea, Venezuela, Cuba & Angola.

Plenty of options.

Mute Ronan Flanagan
    Favourite Ronan Flanagan
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:12 AM

Vote independent, they can’t be any worse

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jan 22nd 2015, 9:00 AM

B@@@ards, will do anything to hold on to power, even though I don’t want sinn fein in power it’s just corruption following corruption.
    Independent all the way, it’s the only way they will get the hint we are finally sick of the same old s@@t.

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Jan 22nd 2015, 3:42 PM

I have always voted SF but if they go into government with FF i will not vote for them again. FF need to be far far away from power after the damage they inflicted on this country, i will be very disapointed if SF do a deal with them.

Mute R Neuville
    Favourite R Neuville
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:51 AM

All Political Parties (Whipped) are just Private Clubs looking after their own interests and those of their Lobby friends.
    Where is the Legal Services reform, Planning reform, Tax reform, Political process reform …. endless.
    - “Bring Your Brains to the Polling Booths”

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jan 22nd 2015, 10:31 AM

If they go in with either, they will be seen as totally opportunist and will have lost their opportunity to change Irish society for ever.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jan 22nd 2015, 2:29 PM

Well now Mr McGuinness, I am somewhat conflicted by your suggestion here. On the one hand, you are being honest in admitting there isn’t a fart or a fig of difference between FF and FG, which is commendable: on the other hand you show your true, cynical politician’s heart by advocating a merger, all the better to keep your – and the people dear to you – snout firmly in the trough.

On balance I commend you for your small particle of honesty, and despise you for your political opportunism. Any respect I previously may have had for you is gone. GET OUT.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 22nd 2015, 5:40 PM

Listen to what he said.

Mute martin.
    Favourite martin.
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:04 PM

They would make a deal with the devil himself desperate for power.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 22nd 2015, 10:38 AM

If FG is the husband and Lab is the wife, Lab now see her husband making eyes at FF, where does that leave her loving relationship. In the case of Burton, I suspect she does not have the cop on to realise it nor the courage to do anything about it.

In judging politicians, do not rule out the cowardice factor. A person lacking courage may know they should act, but don’t have the courage to face up to tackle it. They may be intelligent, wise, capable of giving good advice, but they are not capable of ascering their case. An “Eegeot” (Irish Slang), has loads of courage but does not hve the brains to steer it in the right direction.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Jan 22nd 2015, 2:06 PM

Any party that even dreams about going into coalition with SF/IRA must be rejected by any member of the electorate with even a modicum of intelligence.

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Jan 22nd 2015, 3:38 PM

IRA? You either missed the memo or tuned up the time machine

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:45 AM

If sinn fein go into government with FF they are finished. If they go in with FG they will hold steady with the economy recovery.

Mute James Kelly
    Favourite James Kelly
    Jan 22nd 2015, 10:03 AM

At least the voting public now know who NOT to vote for so if by some chance the same or similar losers are voted in then it’s tough cookie. I suspect there is a real , fresh but acute sense of realism afoot due to the pernicious policies introduced by the current government and the outrageous manner in which they have treated the plain people of Ireland . I anticipate a surge in independent candidates some of whom will be elected, a hardening of the true protest vote (I.e. those opposed to government who want a real change) and this will bring SF sharply into focus in terms of forming a minority government or somehow being part of a different minority government whereby SF can decide to vote for individual policies as and when the need arises . Alternatively , SF can sit on the opposition benches and be ad hoc kingmakers on a day to day basis., policy to policy basis. There is nothing in the rules or in real politik that would prevent any of these scenarios. You cannot ignore such a party with such a large part of the vote (it’s simply not cricket). Above all though, you will see FF readily do a deal with FG and if not then SF will do nicely thank you. Both main parties are in the politics business , it’s what gives them their power, their money and their influence and therefore they will do a deal with whatever party has the most influence in allowing them achieve their objective. Simples.com

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Jan 22nd 2015, 11:15 AM

Previously f*ucking up the country, repeatedly, should permanently exclude any party from be called “main”. Fur coat and no knickers

Mute Tom McBride
    Favourite Tom McBride
    Jan 22nd 2015, 4:12 PM

Sinn fein have some good young tds who talk a lot of sense, they need to get rid of the baggage that comes with the old guard

Mute John Michalski
    Favourite John Michalski
    Jan 22nd 2015, 8:20 AM

Ugh!! I tired of this already!