You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
We cannot take enforcement action on every single bank breach.
THOSE WERE THE words of Ed Sibley, deputy governor of the Central Bank last week.
Since then, the full extent of the tracker mortgage scandal has been revealed, the Finance Minister Paschal Donohoe as “admonished” the bankers, CEOs of the financial institutions eventually apologised and they now have a deadline to give back the money wrongly taken from their customers.
So, is that it? No punishment? No sanctions? Two reports on the scandal and the culture within the banking sector and we’ll call it a day? Surely not?
Those are just some of the questions which are circulating since the revelations that this mess could impact well over 20,000 customers and could end up costing over €1 billion.
Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said the government is not acting on the basis of trust with the banks. He also acknowledged that it will take a very long time before the public trusts the banks again, pointing out that the tracker mortgage issue following on from the banking crisis was not exactly helping the bank’s public persona.
What do people want then?
Accountability, for one. For those that moved people off their tracker mortgage, who denied them the option of one, and who took the money from the people to be held accountable – by both the Central Bank and the gardaí, if necessary.
Is there a track record of this being done in the past? Not so much, it would appear.
While the tracker mortgage issue was the talking point of the Central Bank’s appearance last week, there was another case mentioned that might have been missed by most.
Towards the end of the day-long grilling at the Oireachtas Finance Committee, the chairperson, Fianna Fáil’s John McGuinness, raised the case of Jonathan Sugarman.
You have probably heard of Sugarman – the bank executive-turned-whistleblower.
He was the risk manager at Unicredit Bank Ireland in 2007. This was the Irish arm of Italian firm Unicredit, one of the largest banking and financial services companies in the world.
Sugarman, an Israeli citizen, worked for the Dutch Ministry for Economic Affairs and a bank in Israel before moving to Ireland in 1999.
He worked for Microsoft Finance before taking up roles at the risk departments in several banks and finally joining Unicredit in May 2007. It was Sugarman’s job to make sure that the company’s Irish arm was sticking to the rules.
However, only a few weeks after joining Unicredit, Sugarman said that he started noticing liquidity breaches. He has since given evidence to the Oireachtas Finance Committee about the incident.
What are liquidity breaches?
Liquidity is how much money a bank has available. When banks lend money out, they have to hold a certain amount of cash or assets so that they can give people their money back if debts are called in.
In Unicredit Ireland’s case, Sugarman said that the bank was required to hold assets and cash in reserve equivalent to 90% of its liabilities. This was due to liquidity regulations that came into force on 1 July 2007.
The lender was allowed to drop below this by about a percentage point, but any breach in excess of this was meant to be reported to the banking regulator, the Central Bank.
Sugarman said that Unicredit Ireland was involved in deals in the hundreds of millions – and in some cases, billions – of euro. Accounts for Unicredit Bank Ireland show that it had assets of €32 billion as of the end of 2007.
He said that, when the new rules came into force in July, Unicredit Ireland was frequently breaching its liquidity requirements, and on occasion would only be holding enough cash and assets to meet 70% of its debts.
What did he do about it?
Sugarman said that he was told not to be concerned after he raised the issue with his former bosses, and that the liquidity figures were inaccurate due to technical glitches.
Still uneasy with what he had found, he resigned from Unicredit after notifying the Central Bank of the issue. He also turned himself in to Rathmines Garda Station in 2009 but alleges nothing was done.
Seeing a correlation between the Unicredit issue and the tracker mortgage scandal, McGuinness said the lack of action by both the Central Bank and the gardaí when the banks do wrong is sending a terrible message to the people of Ireland.
In the Unicredit case, McGuinness asked why the gardaí and the Central Bank did not step in after Sugarman reported himself to the gardaí.
“I believe it was brought to the attention of the Governor – from the Garda Commissioner’s office which dealt with queries raised during the hearing the committee had with Jonathan Sugarman.
“The letter from the Commissioner’s office stated that liquidity ratios are set by the Central Bank in its role of economic governance. It continued that in 2012 and 2013 the Central Bank notified An Garda Síochána, in accordance with its statutory function, that it intended to deal with these breaches of liquidity ratios with the bank in question, Unicredit Bank Ireland plc, through administrative sanction procedures. What happened? What were those sanctions?” he asked.
Deputy Governer of the Central Bank Ed Sibly said they did take enforcement actions against Unicredit Bank.
McGuinness asked why the gardaí were not involved if there had been a breach in the law.
“He [Sugarman] specifically said at this committee that he had reported the matter to gardaí at Rathmines. They, in turn, had noted it in the station book. Afterwards, the detective unit informed him a banking specialist would be in touch but that did not happen.
“When the committee asked the Garda Commissioner’s office to comment on this and explain at what stage the inquiry was, we were told the Central Bank had suggested it was dealing with it and that it would be dealt with through administrative sanction procedures.
“I presume from that letter that the bank was in some way sanctioned by financial penalty or whatever for this breach, which apparently was 20 times more than what was allowed. What was the sanction?” he asked again.
Governor of the Central Bank, Philip Lane. Oireachtas TV
Oireachtas TV
The Governor of the Central Bank, Philip Lane, spoke up to state there was an inspection by the Central Bank in early October 2007 and the investigation concluded that the reported breach “did not suggest a wider and more systematic erosion of overall liquidity and that the bank was back in compliance within the limits in 24 hours”.
Breaches by the banks
The governor then outlined how such breaches by banks are dealt with by the Central Bank – highlighting what is the customary approach to take with the banks over such breaches.
Additional claims were made in 2010, [in relation to Unicredit] both in the media and the Seanad, that there have been numerous breaches of liquidity by the firm in question. A further investigation was undertaken at the instruction of the Central Bank. An independent third-party firm was engaged to check compliance with the liquidity requirements. This investigation did not highlight any further breaches.
There was significant investigation of the issues raised and the matter is closed.
More generally, the overall message reflected in the letter cited by the Chairman is that if there are liquidity breaches, the correct way to deal with them is through investigation. If an investigation establishes a systematic regulatory violation, administrative sanctions procedure would be invoked. The general answer is correct. If we see systematic breaches, that is how it would be handled.
Lane said that “initial breach was closed quickly and did not suggest a wider or more systematic erosion of overall liquidity”.
Central Bank building Shutterstock / noel bennett
Shutterstock / noel bennett / noel bennett
Unhappy with his response outlining that if breaches are done just once, or are not viewed as “systemic” then little or no action is followed up on, McGuinness said the legislation is clear.
The legislation at the time referred to a breach. A breach is a breach. Every single breach on each day was a breach.
Garda investigation
He said the letter from the [Garda] commissioner’s office about the Jonathan Sugarman case specifically mentioned that he reported a breach in the law, so why was there not a garda investigation?
From the letter, it is clear to me, that this liquidity breach was to be dealt with through administrative sanctions, according to the Central Bank at the time. I find it unacceptable that a bank of that size breached the legislation and broke the law so that the individual concerned took it upon himself to report it to the Central Bank.
Despite that breach and breaking of the law no action was taken. The commissioner, however, has said that someone within the bank had to have communicated some form of message to the bank, relative to the Jonathan Sugarman issue, to say that it would be dealt with under administrative sanction procedures.
Sibly intervened to state that, in this case, the Central Bank “formed a view” on the seriousness of the allegations raised by Sugarman.
“We follow that up in a proportionate manner. There are a number of tools we can use around breaches and these relate to the proportionate approach, the seriousness of the breach, the persistence of the breach and so on. Some of those actions may be private in nature such as a supervisory warning, and some may be more public in nature, which apply in areas such as when we talked about transparency,” he explained.
Fianna Fáil John McGuinness Oireachtas TV
Oireachtas TV
No such thing as zero-tolerance when it comes to Irish banks
Derville Rowland from the Central Bank clarified the approach to such matters.
The approach to enforcement is this jurisdiction – and in other jurisdictions such as the UK – is not to have a zero-tolerance approach. Not all breaches across the regulatory spectrum will end up as an enforcement case.
One would not be able to bring that volume of cases. We have a strategy of targeted enforcement and reactive enforcement. Reactive enforcement is when the most serious cases come and we make the space to give resources to bring those cases forward. The tracker issue is a very good example of that approach.
Highlighting her point again – that a zero-tolerance approach does not exist in Ireland to such breaches – she said:
To be clear, from the very beginning of the enforcement strategy as stated in 2010 until now there is not a total zero tolerance threshold for every single breach that arises across the whole spectrum of the regulated areas. We may take one or two of a type, where we see non-compliance in an area, as the message and we may take more. There are other regulatory tools in the escalation pyramid that are also used as enforcement to complement it. That is the general approach.
We also have supervisory warnings as an enforcement tool, which are private between the entity and the regulator. As the breaches go up the threshold the procedures become full enforcement procedures.
McGuinness said a liquidity breach that was nearly 20 times over the limit was a significant breach, pointing out that Sugarman went to the bother of walking into a Garda station to report himself and his employer of wrongdoing.
‘Nothing to see here’
“The answer from the Central Bank was that there is ‘nothing to see here, move on’,” he said.
Sibley said breaches are taken incredibly seriously, stating that since the crisis there have been more than 100 enforcement cases.
“We cannot take enforcement action on every single one. We take a proportionate approach to the breaches which are most serious and warrant public sanction and our whole supervisory framework is underpinned by that. We have teeth and we use them,” he said.
The way in which Sugarman was treated sends the “wrong signals” to those who might also want to blow the whistle on certain practices operating within the banking sector, explained McGuinness.
I do not know this individual. He had no motive other than to do the right thing. What would other whistleblowers or risk managers in the banks say when looking at the example of Mr. Sugarman who is now not employed, in extremely poor health and so on? He questions the approach of the Central Bank and cannot fathom why the issue with such a large bank that was 20 times over the limit was not addressed.
One cannot temporarily break the law
Governor Lane reiterated that it was addressed, adding that it was the bank’s conclusion that the breach was temporary and did not last longer than a day.
To that McGuinness said:
A person driving at a 100 mph, even if it was for five minutes, where the speed limit was 80 mph. That person is breaking the speed limit. If the Garda stopped him within that five minutes, he got a ticket. It goes back to the same thing as before.
In this instance, for more than five minutes, it was 20 times over the limit and nothing was done. It sends out the wrong message. It is the complete wrong message.
“Those kinds of breaches wrecked the country,” added McGuinness, adding:
If one breaks the law temporarily, one breaks the law.
“I profoundly disagree with that point,” replied the governor.
“Of course they did,” said the chairperson.
“It is not as simple as the speed limit in traffic law… Many things can happen when there is a breach but the conclusion in this case was that the breach was temporary, not systemic and not persistent, and the bank stands over that assessment,” said Lane.
McGuinness questioned Lane on why there is even banking law in the first instance. He said Sugarman read the legislation and was “so frightened” by what was happening in the bank, “not just one case one day but a number of them, that he decides to risk his job and tell the Central Bank that there is something wrong”.
He went to the Garda and said that he had broken the law and told them to arrest him. He could be imprisoned for up to five years. However, nothing happened to satisfy the fact that he had reported this wrongdoing. He lost his health and he lost his job. He did it pursuant to the obligation on him under legislation to report to the Central Bank.
If the Central Bank does not want these international banks that are here to bother looking at the law, why would we have the law?
The Governor of the Central Bank agreed that he will meet Sugarman to discuss the issue further.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
83 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Hi Niall,
If you click on the slideshow, each slide has a caption that explains a different point. Can you see the slideshow?
If not, let us know what device you are viewing it on. It’s working on desktop and I’ve just checked it on iOs
and Android and it seems fine there too?
It was an absolute SHITE film then and now!! [
Apart from Debbie Harry that is]. Its one of those films you can take whatever meanings you want to out of it or none at all.I took from it that whoever wrote it was on drugs when he wrote the script.
Very weak connections considering the movie focuses on the cathode ray tube being mystical. The addiction and effects are based on a scientist experimental beams.
Not exactly predictions to anything.
cronenberg is a body horror master, crash, the fly, rabid, scanners etc,etc.
I have loved his recent progression to more drama like material like eastern promise, history of violence & a dangerous method. didn’t like cosmopolis
Might be a Sh1t movie but a hell of a lot better then any Iris made Movie. and I wonder where internet comes into play it this story.
I will read over it and over it never know it might be in there somewhere in hidden files.
I think you’ll find Michelle he said ‘Iris made’ One can only assume he was referring to East German filmmaker Iris Gusner
Furthermore: could we all stop talking about the Snapper please? Yes, its just about better than Videodrome but then a documentary about whale sh*te would be too.
Don't forget! The clocks go forward by an hour tonight
13 mins ago
ekrem imamoglu
Thousands take to streets of Istanbul to protest over mayor’s arrest
24 mins ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say