You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dr Mary Aiken speaking before the Justice Committee Oireachtas TV via PA Images

Govt making 'little or no progress' against online abuse and child exploitation, committee told

The Justice Committee is examining issues such as cyberbullying, harassment, stalking and revenge porn.

THE GOVERNMENT HAS made “little or no progress” in tackling online abuse, child sexual exploitation, harassment and intimidation despite numerous investigations, an Oireachtas committee has been told.

Cyberpsychologist Dr Mary Aiken said that Ireland should be at the forefront of cyber leadership because it is an important hub for technology companies.

The justice committee is examining the nature and extent of cyberbullying, harassment, stalking, revenge porn and as well as other harmful communications.

Dr Aiken, a professor at the Department of Law and Criminology, University of East London, said that the influence of the internet and social media is “not an abstract concept”.

“Its impact is not virtual, it impacts real lives in the real world,” she added.

She told the committee that there is a relationship between cyberbullying, self-esteem, and self-harm, as well as between sexted images, harassment, online coercion and extortion.

There are no countries in the world that have established a framework which tackles the connected range of online harms, she added.

She said that exposing Irish children to a range of online harms is a fundamental breach of their constitutional rights.

She continued: “Our challenge as policymakers is not to engage in determined myopia and deliberate fragmentation strategies, or to allow commercial stakeholders to perpetuate skilful deflection and obfuscation strategies, but to urgently develop a new system of accountability, legislative and statutory instruments and oversight, that will replace the current failed model of self-regulation.

A new Irish regulatory framework regarding online harm is urgently required, one that will make clear the technology industry’s responsibility to protect Irish users, particularly our children, online.

Garda resources

TJ McIntyre, chair of Digital Rights Ireland, accused the government failing to properly resource An Garda Síochana to deal with online harassment, as well as failure to reform the law on access to internet data.

He raised concerns over how gardai handle complaints about online harassment saying that there is an unwillingness to investigate cases of online harassment.

Victims who complain to the gardaí are being told that the conduct is not a crime or that there is nothing that can be done, the committee heard.

He added: “As long as the level of under-resourcing continues it is hard to see how any significant number of cases of online harassment can be pursued, creating the risk that any expansion of the criminal law in this area will go unenforced.

It is disappointing that the government has failed to implement any of the recommendations made by the Internet Content Advisory Group or the Law Reform Commission.

In 2014, the Internet Content Advisory Group recommended the establishment of a National Council for Child Internet Safety while in 2016 the Law Reform Commission recommended that harmful communications online be regulated by law.

Hate speech

Barrister Ronan Lupton told the committee that there are six piece of legislation that need to be examined.

Lupton, who has served on the Department of Justice Internet Advisory Board, said one of these is the Prohibition of Incitement to Hatred Act 1989.

“It is a difficult act to decipher let alone prosecute.

“It deals with actions, broadcast and materials likely to incite hatred and the levels of prosecution are minute,” he added.

“That’s the only area of hate speech legislation I can find and it is well out of date and it’s not fit for purpose when you look at the internet and pervasive access to individuals online.”

He described the Child Trafficking and Pornography Act as “stale” and “out of date”.

“The wording in is wrong. It needs a full overhaul,” he added.

“Another issue arising is the lack of a Good Samaritan clause of good actors, or certain groups, permitted to hold content blocking lists without fear of prosecution for doing so.

“Updating this legislation might also provide a logical legislative home for revenge porn offences.”

He also said that up-skirting offences have been buried in the Criminal Law Act, and called for a serious and urgent review of the legislation.

Need help? Support is available:

• Aware 1800 80 48 48 (depression, anxiety)
  • Samaritans 116 123 or email jo@samaritans.ie
  • Pieta House 1800 247 247 or email mary@pieta.ie (suicide, self-harm)
  • Teen-Line Ireland 1800 833 634 (for ages 13 to 18)
  • Childline 1800 66 66 66 (for under 18s)
8 Comments
    Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:23 PM

This man has been a scurge in the Sandyford/Dundrum area for years and was robbing and harassing people long before he had a heroin addiction so he will be absolutely no loss to society. Good riddance.

Mute Mick Kavanagh
    Favourite Mick Kavanagh
    Feb 25th 2015, 6:31 PM

I love honesty….well said.

Mute Vincent F
    Favourite Vincent F
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:08 PM

Who’s to speak for the rights if the victim whom forever will remain unheard now!

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:22 PM

If you can’t do the time……….

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:57 PM

The victim’a family, legal representatives and, as we can see from today’s judgment, the justice system. That’s who.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Feb 25th 2015, 6:39 PM

Murderers should die in prison, its a disgracethis vermin will b out walking around in 9 years while his victim lies in a cold box in the ground…we used to HANG sc$$ like this n when we abolished it the trade off was meant to b LIFE IMPRISONMENT…but no its Ireland where you can murder somone on camera and b walkin streets few years later…if i spot this lowlife crossin the street in 2024 im gonna have an unfortunate accident with my accelerator…sure why not theres no punishment for anything here..

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Feb 25th 2015, 7:56 PM

I believe in a legal system that balances rehabilitation and punishment. Should he be punished more because he’s deaf? A just and caring society must care about this man.

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Feb 25th 2015, 8:34 PM

Joe , why should people care about him ?

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Feb 25th 2015, 9:13 PM

Joe im all 4 rehab n diversion when its possible to make ammends to ur victims..but when uve killed somone its a horrible unspeakable crime society should lock u away forever for to defend its members n deter future attacks..this does opposite it says theres no consequences. .9 years to a professional skanger is easy

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:14 PM

Again, more concerns expressed for criminals instead of victims & their families. This criminal is described as having a primitive mindset, given his background & the relative non engagement of the travelling community with educational services then we end up in this sorry state of affairs.

His violent nature will stem from a direct inability to make himself & his needs understood so frustration will lead to violence which may shed some light on his other crimes ie using syringes in muggings. To be honest I pity the prison staff who will have to handle him.

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:13 PM

Zero pity for this man, he killed someone so deserves all he gets if you ask me!

Mute Bhiniáimin Beith
    Favourite Bhiniáimin Beith
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:03 PM

Saw this guy often even when he was in on probation awaiting sentencing he used to come in McDonald’s all the time told the security guy that the fella fell under the bus. He is a thug pure and simple, saw him dealing a few times. Walked around the streets like some kind of gangster with some fella who was always with him. Seven years is disgusting, deaf or not you are who you choose to be I think.

Mute Neil Hennessy
    Favourite Neil Hennessy
    Feb 26th 2015, 8:38 AM

He told the security guard? The article says he can’t speak.

Mute Rachel Maher
    Favourite Rachel Maher
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:26 PM

Well he should have thought about that before he pushed someone under a bus! Zero sympathy for murderers..

Mute Ann O'reilly
    Favourite Ann O'reilly
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:20 PM

More do-gooder horse crap. Everyone living around sandyford knows this individual and his carry on for years. He committed two muggings at syringe point while out on bail for this horrific crime, and all i hear about it is the lack of facilities in prison for him. What facilities does he need to sit in a cell or walk around an exercise yard ?

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:26 PM

He’s serving sentences for those mugging a concurrently as well. He won’t even get extra prison time for them on top of the manslaughter.

I sympathise with the boy he was but the man he is now is a danger to society.

Mute Ann O'reilly
    Favourite Ann O'reilly
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:42 PM

The people i feel sorry for are the victim, and the unfortunate people in the emergency services who had to respond and deal with the aftermath that night. A rough thing to have to deal with and of course the bus driver. Strangely i can’t seem to muster much sympathy for a murdering junkie.

Mute Niall O Neill
    Favourite Niall O Neill
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:18 PM

Why can’t he understand subtitles? He’s deaf, not blind!

Mute TonyD2469
    Favourite TonyD2469
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:22 PM

I assume he can’t read.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:59 PM

He’s illiterate, according to other reports.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:49 PM

Unfortunetly this is just the Irish deaf society justifying their existence and a perception that because the offender is deaf they have some sort of role to play in his sentencing. They do not.

Mute TonyD2469
    Favourite TonyD2469
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:52 PM

Jason your ignorance of the work carried out by IDS is astounding, if you know nothing of what they do try not to comment on it to prevent yourself looking like an idiot.

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:26 PM

Let him Rot.

Mute anfearbocht
    Favourite anfearbocht
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:36 PM

Will the do Gooders ever go to Syria or someplace like it. Do your bleeding heart stuff out there. ( hold onto your heads ).

Mute Shane Hartnett
    Favourite Shane Hartnett
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:12 PM

He killed a man get it KILLED a man so tough shit. Im sure there are a lot of deaf people who would prefer if the IDS spent more of their time concentrating on LAW abiding deaf people and get their situations and services sorted out then help playing victim to this fella…

Mute Damien Moran
    Favourite Damien Moran
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:24 PM

he wont have to listen to all the freaks screaming and moaning in their cells. thats a big plus

Mute Lynn Cullen
    Favourite Lynn Cullen
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:53 PM

It’s hard for people to feel sorry for those that have committed a crime, especially when one has killed another person.

The real issue here is that Connors is clearly isolated because of his deafness and no one is able to communicate with him in his native language is very scary for his mental health. I understand where the IDS is coming from but I also understand where these people are coming from cos they are not thinking of his well being, and are not comparing him to other hearing prisoners, only of his crime so it makes it difficult for them to sympathise.

Clearly Connors deserves to be in prison, but he also deserves to get the same treatment as his fellow prisoners, and clearly this is sorely lacking. This will only affect him and the society in the long run if he is not reasonably accommodated for his specific needs as such those would have been if they were in a wheelchair, or visually impaired as such.

Mute Anne Gyna
    Favourite Anne Gyna
    Feb 25th 2015, 6:46 PM

This murdering thug will get 3 decent meals, a shower, etc etc, every day. What will his victim get, 6 foot under? The Judge said he is a very real danger to society in general, a total fruit loop. The fact that he had a “feral, primitive childhood” is sad, but where were the parents who bred him? NOT our problem, glad he’s now exactly where he should be.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Feb 25th 2015, 6:06 PM

Prison is for punishment, past victims of a criminal don’t really want to know that the person who committed the crime against them is getting taught the difference between right and wrong by the nicey nicey Crew. A victim want the criminal punished for the crimes they have committed.

Mute Lorraine Leeson
    Favourite Lorraine Leeson
    Feb 25th 2015, 9:30 PM

The point made by the IDS is well made. A study of deaf peoples’ access to justice in the UK, published in 1997 (Brennan and Brown), identified a great number of flaws with legal processes and imprisonment. This isn’t a “bleeding heart” mentality as suggested by some commentators – it is evidence based reporting on a broad range of cases and over an extended period of time. While I cannot comment on the individual situation of Mr. Connors, I can say that the situation he – and other deaf individuals here in Ireland face – include the lack of accessible education for deaf people (teachers in schools for the deaf are still not obliged to have any competence in Irish Sign Language by the Department of Education and Skills), the complete dearth of accessible, targeted mental health services for deaf children, extremely limited accessible mental health services for deaf adults, the lack of statutory provision of interpreting for deaf people in state- and non-state funded training and employment settings (non-higher educational settings such as FAS, REHAB, National Learning Network), which means that where deaf people do ‘access’ services, the reality is very much an illusion of inclusion rather than actual participation. It is no wonder the literature suggests that deaf people suffer from depression up to 4 times more than their hearing counterparts. All of this suggests to me that the Irish society needs to see not just the individuals in this case – victim and criminal – but to use this case as a mirror that allows us to see how we are wasting the potential of generations of Irish deaf people by continuing to deny true equity of access across the board, which may allow for equity of participation. Then perhaps we can truly evaluate culpability.

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 26th 2015, 1:24 AM

Is that you Coddler with such a long rambling post

Mute Anne Gyna
    Favourite Anne Gyna
    Feb 25th 2015, 7:44 PM

Ah God love him, not being able to listen to & sing along with RTE radio 2!!And, what about the never/ending sensory deprivation being endured by his victim? Can’t imagine he’s enjoying much banter & chat where he is either.

Mute James O Carroll
    Favourite James O Carroll
    Feb 25th 2015, 8:54 PM

it’s always the criminals that get the pity, not the victims…

Mute Orla King
    Favourite Orla King
    Feb 25th 2015, 5:44 PM

I think the main issue is what people view prison for- punishment or rehabilitation. While in prison a person civil liberties are taken away which I think is punishment enough. While they are there there appropriate services should be available to try and change behaviours/ put supports in place not just for Deaf prisoners but in general. Without this the rate of recidivism will not reduce

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:09 PM

Ireland ..Heaven or hell

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Feb 25th 2015, 8:43 PM

Maybe someone can come in from the ida or some organisation and teach him how to read ? He’ll then be a to read a book or read the subtitles on the TV , maybe teach some prison officers how to sign . problem solved !

Mute TonyD2469
    Favourite TonyD2469
    Feb 25th 2015, 9:02 PM

They would need to be proficient in ISL, which is the point that the IDS are making.

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 26th 2015, 1:26 AM

We should have a policy of not committing crime until the prison service is ready to accomidate ones needs

Mute Aisling Grennan-Kelly
    Favourite Aisling Grennan-Kelly
    Feb 28th 2015, 1:18 AM

Edward’s mother is my mother’s sister, my aunt passed away two Years ago, 80% illness ,20% heartbreak, I don’t condone in any way what Edward has done in this incident or any other but I remember a lovely curly haired little boy who would break dance for his aunts cos he could feel vibrations, he was a brilliant little artist, at a wedding, he was 9 or 10,tied his chair to mine at the meal With balloon ribbon so I wouldn’t leave him and kept asking me to dance even though there was no music, I know I’m probably putting my hand out for a slap here… Please don’t