You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A tent is placed in front of the burnt out car in Ballybough, where remains were discovered yesterday. PA Wire/PA Images

Keane Mulready-Woods murder: Unverified images on social media causing 'distress' for his family

Gardaí issued a notice asking people not to share the images, as it provides “false support” to the perpetrators.

GARDAÍ INVESTIGATING THE murder of 17-year-old Keane Mulready-Woods are investigating reports of images and videos circulating on social messaging apps.

These images are unverified at this time, Gardaí said, and asked people not to share them.

“They are distressing to Keane’s family and, if verified, are disrespectful images of the deceased,” Gardaí said in a statement.

They also said that they “provide false support to the perpetrators of this brutal crime”.

The Dublin teenager’s remains were first discovered in the Moatview area of Coolock on Monday night. More of his remains were subsequently discovered in a burnt-out car at Trinity Terrace, near Croke Park, in the early hours of yesterday morning.

Gardaí are continuing to carry out forensic tests on a home in Rathmullen Park in Drogheda, which they believe might have been used to house the teenage victim.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar called the teenager’s murder “gruesome and macabre”, and says he will try to go to Drogheda in the coming days.

Anyone with information as to the origin of such material is asked to contact Gardaí at Drogheda Garda Station on 041 9874200, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111, Crime Stoppers on 1800 250 025 or any Garda station.

- with reporting from Garreth MacNamee

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute Íosa
    Favourite Íosa
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:44 AM

A crackdown similar to that which followed the murder of Veronica Guerin is required in Ireland .
    Swift, ruthless, heavy handed and effective. Perhaps a new government will deliver – the current one has let the country go to hell.

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:01 PM

@Íosa: the drug pushers are supplying an insatiable demand for cocaine. Every user is a customer of the gangs and every user funds the pushers lavish lifestyle, funds their fueds and enables them to buy weapons needed to do so.

Mute Sean Davies
    Favourite Sean Davies
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:28 PM

@Conoroconnor: that’s true, but doesn’t mean there shouldn’t be a ruthless crackdown on the dealers.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:57 PM

@Sean Davies: and users

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Jan 16th 2020, 7:00 PM

@John Mulligan: lads, the desire to experience sensory euphoria and altered States of mind is an integral part of the human psyche, as old as the hills. The root of the problems we have with drugs in our society is the policies pursued by governments. Criminal violence and gangs existed and flourished long before the prohibition of drugs.
    Are you really so thick as to put responsibility for the lawlessness and brutality of modern gangland down to drug users? Really? That’s beyond thick..

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:51 AM

2 stories on journal about this thug and no further mention of the homeless incident.journal just as good engaging in media censorship as RTÉ if it reflects badly on FG….Leo been put through wringer by other media outlets regarding his politicising of the incident but nope no mention by the journal typical nothing to see here no criticism of FG or Leo…..

Mute JDel
    Favourite JDel
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:56 AM

@Martin Smith: yeah, because this all reflects well on FG…..LOL IT’S A CONSPIRACY!!11!

Mute Lar
    Favourite Lar
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:03 PM

@Martin Smith: 0.002% of the Irish population are homeless. Get a grip!!

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:08 PM

@Martin Smith: There was a story on the Journal yesterday and on TV news.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:10 PM

@Martin Smith: The decimation of the Gardai budget, closing down of stations, etc. could all be contributing factors to the increase in gang crime. This started with FF as part of the austerity measures and has continued with FG (with FFs support).

This does not reflect very well on anyone.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:14 PM

@Chris Judge: And, let’s not forget the effect austerity has had on younger working class peoples prospects for employment, affordable housing, education, health, etc. If people like him do not see hope in their futures, they are easy targets for gangsters.

This is not excusing whatever this guy did at all, but it is something worth thinking about.

Mute Dave.
    Favourite Dave.
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:23 PM

@Martin Smith: What are you on about? ‘Censorship’, sure it’s in the top 5 stories on the RTE News homepage. RTE updated us, he is still in a critical condition.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:36 PM

@Chris Judge: austerity measures had to be introduced as our tax take had fallen off a cliff, I think last year was the first year we didn’t have to borrow to pay for the day to day running of the country. So we either cut expenditure or raise taxes so the government done a bit of both. The real problem was done in the noughties with a massive increase in expenditure in public sector pay, social programmes etc and a reduction in tax rates, all backed by unsustainable tax receipts from selling property.
    As for blaming austerity on this lads life choices, that’s pushing it a bit far. He should have been in school getting a good education at a relatively low cost and then the world would have been his oyster.

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:46 PM

@Martin Smith: idiotic comment. All that was well reported yesterday, including Leo being slated for politicising it.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:47 PM

@The next small thing: Yes, I understand what happened 10 years ago, thanks.

I’m not blaming austerity 100% for this lads crimes, I said it was a contributing factor, along with a cut to Gardai numbers, to the increase in gang crime.

No matter how good the economy is there will always be toerags ready to join gangs, but when the poor are hit harder they are easier to recruit.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:56 PM

@Lar: There we go, homelessness is not an issue its all fine, why didn’t you tell people this earlier Lar…

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:15 PM

@Chris Judge: hmmm , there was a lot more poverty in Dublin in the 70s and 80′s that during the more recent ‘austerity’ – we didn’t have 17 year olds getting heads cut off and innocent members of the public getting caught in day -light shootings opposite Garda stations ….it is the billion euro drugs market is what is attracting these youngsters into gangland crime – all that other stuff is just blaming the system or other nonsense. Next Govt needs to overhaul our criminal justice system , build more prisons and get tougher on law and order

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:22 PM

@The next small thing: shouldn’t have bailed out banks & we wouldn’t have need for cuts!

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:35 PM

@Lar: sure that makes everything OK so.

Jan 16th 2020, 1:43 PM

@eileen boles: yes we would, I agree that certain banks should have been let fail (Anglo, Irish Nationwide) but we borrowed the money to bail out the banks, there is an interest payment each year that is related to the banks but the vast majority of the national debt is due to the day to day running costs of the country. If we had let the banks fail then all mortgages would have been sold to vulture funds and the economy would have ground to a halt with no functioning banking system. The cuts were needed as we ( the government) were spending way more than we were taking in in tax.

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:47 PM

@Lar: The Michael O’Leary approach- refer to humans as percentages to make a problem seem insignificant.

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:50 PM

@Dave Hammond: Fair enough, I wasn’t alive then so I don’t know the full extent of it. Let’s just say it is a combination of many factors that is leading to this increase in gang crime.

But I still believe it all boils down to kids like this seeing they can be more “successful” and make more money dealing, joining gangs than staying in school and working.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:53 PM

@Martin Smith: so you want them to post an article every so often saying “No new information” or would like them to repeat the same story or perhaps make up some stuff?

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:54 PM

@The next small thing: easy for u to say that cuts weren’t needed we just politicians with balls

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:06 PM

@Martin Smith: Show some decorum to his family, will you. Don’t be so quick to label someone who suffered a death like that.

Jan 16th 2020, 2:06 PM

@eileen boles: you can have politicians with the biggest balls ever but if you’re spending 70 billion and only taking in 40 billion and the market has been closed to borrowing then you need to cut your cloth. I took a large pay cut and the increased taxes, I wasn’t happy about it but I understand the need for it whereas you seem to live in lala land with an endless supply of money.

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:41 PM

@Lar: it’s about .2% and its gone up 300% since 2014.

Mute kcrespo9
    Favourite kcrespo9
    Jan 16th 2020, 6:50 PM

you’re right, also with multi media , kids are looking at the Best bits of peoples lives and then setting the bar high for themselves, you add dysfunction in the family, trauma, drugs ,false role models and its a recipe for disaster.If we dont look after these kids, their kids will be tomorrow’s problems.

“You think we are bad, wait til you see whats coming after us” mr dunne (smackland) 17 yr old ffs

Mute Tjamr
    Favourite Tjamr
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:12 PM

He was last seen wearing around €1800 worth of clothing and is known to the Gardaí for his involvement in gangs, intimidating a family and arson.
    Did his family, who are now so upset ever try and get him out of his criminal lifestyle.
    How many other peoples lives did he ruin.

Mute JDel
    Favourite JDel
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:39 PM

@Tjamr: Owen Maguire was his godfather at his christening, the family knew what they were getting him into.

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Jan 16th 2020, 5:36 PM

@Tjamr: he was apparently Owen Maguire,s godson!

Mute kcrespo9
    Favourite kcrespo9
    Jan 16th 2020, 6:25 PM

@Tjamr: Where did you grow up? dysfunction is rife in marginalised areas, false street role models pick these youngfellas off.They all just kill themselves is a good attitude.17 yr old ffs

Mute Anthony Connor
    Favourite Anthony Connor
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:32 PM

Gardai in Drogheda are looking for people to contact them with any information they may have, Maybe the Garda who stole the €12k a few weeks back from Drogheda Garda Station will take the call and NOT pass it onto the Gangs involved at a price.

The trust is just not there for the people to get involved and put their own lives and families at risk

I would urge people to send any information anonymously via post.

Mute Dizzy
    Favourite Dizzy
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:40 PM

@Anthony Connor: 100% I for1 would not volunteer information, I know it’s a sad state of affairs.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:59 PM

@Anthony Connor: That was just one one many large sums that have vanished in different Garda stations over the last few years…. Still lots of cleaning up to be done in the force..

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:16 PM

@Anthony Connor:
    Spot on Anthony, you’re 100% right, they’re all rotten.
    Lets all just sit here and do nothing, seems to be working just fine.

Mute Anthony Connor
    Favourite Anthony Connor
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:34 PM

@Willie: I did suggest sending any information via post anonymously safer for all until we can trust thr Gardai again

Mute John Moloney
    Favourite John Moloney
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:41 AM

Disgraceful no matter what the young lad did he or his family don’t deserve this to happen to them

Mute SF Knee Knockers
    Favourite SF Knee Knockers
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:46 AM

@John Moloney: no matter what!! You sure.

Mute John Moloney
    Favourite John Moloney
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:00 PM

@SF Knee Knockers: 100% sure he was an easy target

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:32 PM

@John Moloney: live by the sword die by the sword

Mute John Moloney
    Favourite John Moloney
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:05 PM

@David: and he literally did

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:13 PM

@Jason Byrne:
    Regardless of what he done lets not forget that someone out there has dismembered a child and put his body parts in a bag. If this isn’t seen as a new low then we as a society need to look at ourselves.

Mute Jason Byrne
    Favourite Jason Byrne
    Jan 16th 2020, 3:07 PM

@Willie: I totally agree with you. This is a new low and it shows what these animals are capable of. The problem now is that unfortunately the revenge for this killing is gonna have to be a lot more gruesome to send a stronger message.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jan 16th 2020, 11:33 AM

Sick people on social media also. Cop on you lot!

Mute Sneachta O'Fuichtard
    Favourite Sneachta O'Fuichtard
    Jan 16th 2020, 12:57 PM

@Paul Furey: You tell ‘em champ.

Mute Richie
    Favourite Richie
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:51 PM

I know ppl are saying “he was no angel” etc!! But regardless this can’t be allowed to become normality.
    As Irish ppl especially in Dublin it barely flicks a taught now to hear a 20 year old has been shot in the head in the middle of the day because it has been normalised.

These ppl clearly have no regard for the state or the 99% good ppl of it! Therefore they need to be dismantled ASAP as a message even if it means temporary emergency legislation. Destroy this gang, Non stop state pressure till they are locked up or with a bit of luck pull a gun on the ERU and get taken out.

They care only for money in that game therefore other gangs will take note and say well if we do that it’s all coming to an end. As with Gilligan’s crew.

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:07 PM

@Richie: Well said, unfortunatly that will only take care of half the gangsters in our Country. We need rid of all the crooks, the ines in offices also…..

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:53 PM

Those in the legal profession who privately snort cocaine and then work in the courts enjoying fat fees to defend the drug pushers and their godfathers are hypocrites and are part of our drug problem.

Mute Rúraíocht
    Favourite Rúraíocht
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:04 PM

Anyone whom takes street drugs has had a part to play in this barbaric behaviour.

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:29 PM

@Rúraíocht: you’re talking out of your arse. People didn’t murder and dismember each other in rows over drug dealing turf when drugs weren’t illegal; just as easy to argue anyone who had a part in implementing prohibition law has this lad’s blood on their hands..

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:30 PM

@Rúraíocht: wrong

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jan 16th 2020, 3:58 PM

It was foolish not to build the new prison in Thornton. Also some hard labour jails should be built on our inhabited islands. No more softly softly,

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Jan 16th 2020, 1:16 PM

@Dave Hammond:well said if only people would display the same harshness for politicians we might not b in such a mess

Mute Giller
    Favourite Giller
    Jan 16th 2020, 5:00 PM

civil liberties activists bear some responsibility for the sick people that have the ability to stoop to such depravity. These people know that they’re capable of running rings round the Gardai because they are hamstrung by the law. Tough measures need to be taken in the fight against these oxygen wasters.

Mute Maggie May
    Favourite Maggie May
    Jan 16th 2020, 4:09 PM

Capital punishment needs to be reinforced…

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Jan 16th 2020, 2:02 PM

The uprising is coming, the revolution, where the poor, the downtrodden will fight back because they have no where else to go and no other choice. They will say enough is enough. It will be messy. The bad news is, once its over, we will just start the cycle all over again. Were doomed I tell ya…..

Mute Barney's sister
    Favourite Barney's sister
    Jan 16th 2020, 4:03 PM

While our politicians are happily selling their wares our children are being brutally murdered. What is going on in Irish society? Gangs with machetes murder innocent people in places like the Congo, for this to happen in Ireland is an outrage. We have to wake up and sort this kind of brutality for good.

Mute James O Brien
    Favourite James O Brien
    Jan 16th 2020, 7:36 PM

Let the IRA at them

Mute Kathleen O Connor
    Favourite Kathleen O Connor
    Jan 16th 2020, 6:54 PM

If you lie down with dogs you get up with fleas

Mute jim dee
    Favourite jim dee
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:19 AM

@Kathleen O Connor: your mind is littered with slimey slugs.

Mute Keith O Hanlon
    Favourite Keith O Hanlon
    Jan 16th 2020, 10:09 PM

Everyone commenting like the knew the young lad nobody on here knows what led him down the path he chose could be anything so have a but of decency 17 years old a kid.. murdered like that is shocking it’s the stuff of Mexican Cartels RIP Kid.