You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny is travelling to Canada to meet Justin Trudeau and discuss 'middle-class jobs'

Trudeau said that Ireland is a ‘close friend’ to Canada.

pjimage The two prime ministers will meet next Thursday. PA images PA images

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY is to travel to Canada next week for a three-day visit where he will meet his Canadian counterpart Justin Trudeau.

Kenny will be in Canada from 3-5 May and will meet Trudeau in the city of Montréal next Thursday.

The office of the Canadian prime minister confirmed the visit yesterday and said that the pair would discuss areas of common interest including the CETA trade agreement between the EU and Canada.

“Ireland is a close friend, and I look forward to meeting with Taoiseach Kenny to further deepen this relationship,” Trudeau said in a statement.

Our two countries enjoy strong family ties, a shared history, and a common purpose. Now, we are collaborating again to ensure that CETA creates good, well-paying middle-class jobs on both sides of the Atlantic.

An Taoiseach’s schedule for the Canadian trip sees him meet with Trudeau on the morning of 4 May before he attends a lunch with the Chamber of Commerce of Metropolitan Montreal.

That evening he will travel to Toronto where he will be a guest at a dinner hosted by Enterprise Ireland.

The following day the Taoiseach will stay in Toronto and will attend business and tourism functions before an evening dinner hosted by the Ireland Fund.

The Canadian prime minister’s office notes that the Irish-Canadian community is one of the country’s largest ethnic groups in the country with more than 4.5 million Canadians claiming Irish ancestry.

Merchandise trade between the two nations was €1.62 billion last year with Canadian foreign direct investment in Ireland estimated at €9.43 billion in 2015.

In that same year, Irish FDI in Canada was estimated at €4.24 billion.

Read: Canadian province makes it illegal to force women to wear high heels at work >

Read: Pilot in Canada jailed for showing up to work drunk and passing out in cockpit >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Charles Mcdonald
    Favourite Charles Mcdonald
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:22 AM

Poor lady but the officer must not blame himself. Things like this can always happen during a rescue when bullets fly

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:26 AM

A ricochet, rather than a direct shot caused her wounds. I think you would have to be a seriously twisted individual to blame the officer in question.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:03 AM

Agreed.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:17 PM

What the Journal has chosen not to report on is the picture emerging from the inquiry is one of ineptitude by the Police command, from the negotiations, there where none, to the type of weapon and ammunition used. The Army’s elite anti terrorist unit 4RAR made a submission stating that for close quarter combat and hostage retrieval use of a large Assault rifle using 5.62 ammunition was totally inappropriate, as demonstrated by the outcome, had they been called in they would have used the smaller MP5′s using 9mm which are specifically designed for the purpose.

Mute Bertrand Dierckens
    Favourite Bertrand Dierckens
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:43 AM

The surprising thing is that they decided on and held an inquest the month after this tragedy. How long would it take here?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:01 AM

Here it also happens immediately because these incidences are so rare. The ombudsman has already begun an investigation into the death of a man shot by armed Guards a few days ago.

Mute Kevin Lennon
    Favourite Kevin Lennon
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:05 AM

He actually shot himself

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Rian Lynch
    Favourite Rian Lynch
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:06 AM

Didn’t that guy shoot himself in the head?

Mute The Peasant™
    Favourite The Peasant™
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:08 AM

@ Jason

He shot himself, in his own head.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:21 AM

Ok I wasn’t keeping up-to-date on those events so thanks for clearing that up.

It still doesn’t change the fact that he died while involved in a Garda pursuit and that the ombudsman began their investigation immediately.

Mute The Peasant™
    Favourite The Peasant™
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:30 AM

Jason, are you saying, the guards actions somehow contributed to this sc*umbags death.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:18 AM

He was involved in an incident with the Guards and died in said incident. Of course the involvement of the Guards contributed to his death but the investigation will show to what extent.

Mute The Peasant™
    Favourite The Peasant™
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:22 AM

He made a conscious decision to kill himself to avoid capture.
    The end.

Mute men in black hoods
    Favourite men in black hoods
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:40 AM

Yes but the guards were still involved in the situation. Is that hard to get your head around?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:03 AM

“to avoid capture.”

You just said it yourself. No immediate threat of capture means no suicide, ergo the Guards contributed to his death.

Mute The Peasant™
    Favourite The Peasant™
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:14 AM

“No immediate threat of capture means no suicide, ergo the Guards contributed to his death.”

Can anyone decipher this utter waffle?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:20 AM

“Can anyone decipher this utter waffle?”

I’ll translate it for you. You denied that the Guards had any involvement either directly or indirectly and then said he killed himself to avoid capture by the Guards. I’m basically saying you’re contradicting yourself.

My comment was pretty easy to understand.

Mute The Peasant™
    Favourite The Peasant™
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:22 AM

Jason, only 1 hour ago you thought he was killed by armed gardai.
    You didn’t even read the story and you go as if you were an eyewitness at the scene or have inside information.
    You get 1st prize for the most patronising poster on this site.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:24 AM

“You didn’t even read the story and you go as if you were an eyewitness at the scene or have inside information.”

By your own admission, he killed himself to avoid capture even though you said his death was in no way related to the Guards.

I could admit I was wrong, it seems you on the other hand have an issue with this and resort to insults rather than admit you’re wrong on this.

Mute The Peasant™
    Favourite The Peasant™
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:27 AM

“even though you said his death was in no way related to the Guards.”

Quote the post where i said this.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:29 AM

“Jason, are you saying, the guards actions somehow contributed to this sc*umbags death.`
    `He made a conscious decision to kill himself to avoid capture.
    The end.”

What other meaning could possibly be interpreted from these two follow-on comments?

Mute The Peasant™
    Favourite The Peasant™
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:48 AM

“It’s understood that the driver pointed his gun at uniformed gardaí for them to get back when he got out of the car and that they were unarmed and RETREATED.
    He then walked over to a grass verge and a gunshot was heard.”

The Gardai retreated, he could have ran but he didn’t. He chose of his own free will to put a gun to his head and pull the trigger.
    So no, the gardai doing their job did not in fact “contribute” to his suicide.
    You make it out like the two unarmed Gardai should carry some responsibility for this mans suicide, they absolutely should not.

Mute Alison Te Hira Mee
    Favourite Alison Te Hira Mee
    Jan 29th 2015, 12:05 PM

Jason, ignore these dopes. I understand what you mean. They are only trolling

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Jan 29th 2015, 12:21 PM

@Jason, perhaps his own involvement contributed to his death. Perhaps if the woman he had taken hostage hadn’t run into two unarmed Gardaí she might not be alive. Perhaps if the two unarmed Gardaí hadn’t became suspicious of that woman’s injuries and investigated, she may in fact be no lying in a shallow grave in the Dublin mountains. Perhaps this man had already decided on his fate long before the Gardaí became involved. Perhaps you expect Gardaí not to do their jobs. Perhaps GSOC will find that the Gardaí did not contribute in any way to this man’s death as a result of a self inflicted gun shot and retreated to a safe distance when they, unarmed, were threatened with a gun. Perhaps you might keep up to speed and get your facts in order. Perhaps.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:46 AM

It is surprising and disappointing that the actions and speech by Mr. Monks did not lead to closer surveillance of him.

Sadly, once the shooting starts there is no way of preventing ricochets. That must have been part of the risk assessment.

A hostage had already been murdered. It was probably about making the least bad choice.

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:44 AM

22 shots from an automatic is a second in time. He wasn’t gung ho..!

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:55 AM

22 shots from all the officers weapons not just one

Mute The Peasant™
    Favourite The Peasant™
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:10 AM

Police use semi auto in situations like that.

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:54 AM

If this was in Ferguson there would be a mass riot

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:38 AM

The guy in Ferguson wasn’t killed by a ricochet.

Mute Scipio
    Favourite Scipio
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:09 AM

No he wasn’t. He was killed when he charged an armed police officer and tried to violently snatch his weapon.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:31 AM

Some 22 shots were fired by the officers after 11 flash bangs were thrown into the room.

Mute Kian David Griffin
    Favourite Kian David Griffin
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:43 AM

Well read…

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:57 AM

Coroner “Michael Barnes” = 110 or 11 (You drop the zero and you don’t reduce a master number)

http://www.gematrix.org/?word=Michael+Barnes

Hostage “John O’Brien” = 110 or 11

http://www.gematrix.org/?word=John+O%E2%80%99Brien

See 29 more replies ▾
    Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:04 AM

Your point being…?

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:09 AM

“Crazy “.

That’s the point I think.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:15 AM

Jeremy Gormly = 166 or 13

Katrina 74 or 11 Dawson = 76 or 13

Source of article “Rick Rycroft” = 146 or 11

http://www.gematrix.org/?word=Rick+Rycroft

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:32 AM

The Guru_ Your point being…?

The encoded occult numerology in this story makes it out to be a load of cr*p (False Flag)

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:45 AM

Frank you’re aware that the headbanger who took these people captive was a big fan of numerology.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:52 AM

Charles Rex_A high profile crisis actor would certainly know all about numerology.

# There is power in those numbers,

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:02 AM

You’d be better advised to get some sleep and eat a healthy breakfast. The world must be a cauldron of deceit and suspicion to you.

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:51 AM

I wish someone would ban Frank from the Journal. He is clearly unhinged.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:58 AM

Frank, there are five letters in your name – if we drop the even numbers that leaves three letters, the middle one of which is the third letter. Add the two threes and you have a six – the number of the beast. Spooky…
    But there’s more – F A and K are the 6th, 1st and 11th letters of the alphabet:
    6+1=7
    7×11=77, the unholy number! Alarm bells now…
    Take the letters we dropped, the R and the N: Counting backwards (Satan’s way) from the end of the alphabet they’re the 9th and 13 letters.
    9+13=22
    22+11(for the K) = 33!
    3+3=6!
    6+1=7!

Satan’s numbers are all over your name lad – that must make you the antichrist (or something like that)….

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:05 AM

Kitty, he was banned already but keeps making new accounts to come back with.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:18 AM

No point in banning him, he is entitled to his point. However he regularly resorts to hate speech, such as the accusations of actors, in tragedies, these comments should be censored due to their effect on the families of those involved

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:28 AM

To be fair, his accusations that the Sandy Hook massacre among many others were fake could get the Journal in trouble if the wrong person reads those opinions in an open public forum.

He hasn’t been banned for his unique outlook on life and mathematics, more that some of his comments have caused offence in the past especially when he’s been challenged on his points.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:29 AM

Kitty Prendergast_ Numerology can be like a red rag to a bull.

Christine Lagarde of the IMF certainly approves of it.

Did I step on your toes?

http://truthstreammedia.com/is-imf-chief-christine-lagarde-delivering-an-occult-message-in-this-speech/

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:35 AM

Although “anti-semitic” is definitely an overused phrase, I’d argue that the Iranian anti-semitic propaganda cartoons (that Frank loves to link to) and their portrayal of jews is eerily similar to 1930′s nazi propaganda and is a far more valid reason to be banned than numerology/false flags etc..
    ps. I’m waiting to be labelled as a z1onist/NWO shill for saying that!

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:42 AM

Jason Culligan_Banning individuals for questing obvious discrepancies in a mainstream media news stories would be known as CENSORSHIP.

I guess you approve of censorship since you openly support a government that hires terrorists to carry out its proxy wars in the middle east.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:47 AM

Avina Laaf_ Is another individual that throws in the antisemitic trump card when one addresses Israel’s war crimes.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:47 AM

Frank you are quite capable of lying to twist whatever point you are trying to prove or coming up with some new theory after your first one is proven beyond doubt

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 29th 2015, 12:05 PM

Frank, whatever way you look at it, some of the cartoons you post which portray jews as caricatured hook-nosed demons complete with horns, blood drenched fangs and claws are anti-semitic.
    As I said before, they’re remarkably similar to 1930′s nazi anti-jewish cartoons, or closer to home how the Irish were portrayed in british magazines in the 1800′s.
    For the record I am not, never have been and never will be jewish or Israeli.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 12:23 PM

Avina Laaf_The Sydney Morning Herald posted a cartoon with a hooked nosed Jew.

Would you consider its cartoonist “antisemitic”

http://s4.postimg.org/wezkz1jrh/smhhyp.jpg

Harretz published a very good article on the subject of cartoon hypocrisy.

http://www.haaretz.com/opinion/.premium-1.638243

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 29th 2015, 1:43 PM

Frank, any kind of stereotyping is wrong (as we should know only too well) but the kind of cartoons you sometimes post are distasteful and misguided at best, and hate-filled, racist and downright dangerous at worst.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 2:29 PM

Avina Laaf_All those cartoons that I post are in relation to political Zi0nism and its war crimes.

I guess you just do not want to see political satire exposing Israels war crimes. I bet you would have absolutely no problem with the media publishing Charlie Hebdo cartoons that would insult Islam.

You can’t have your cake and eat it too..

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 29th 2015, 2:42 PM

Frank I have no problem with political satire and I have no problem with Israeli war crimes being exposed.
    Some of your cartoons are verging on incitement to race hatred though, and as we saw in the 1930′s that is a very very dangerous path to go down.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 5:20 PM

Avina Laaf_ I see that from a different angle.. The former oppressed are now fast becoming the oppressors.

This was made clear after last summer with the pure unrestrained brutality that was demonstrated to the world in GAZA and no doubt we will see more of it in the coming days after what happened in Golan. There is also an election on the horizon and unfortunately usually means bloodshed.

Mute Unfortunately
    Favourite Unfortunately
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:06 PM

All I can see here is 2 cats talking to each other.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 29th 2015, 6:11 PM

That may well all be true Frank, but that’s still no excuse to portray an entire race of people as child-eating devil’s.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:30 PM

Avina Laaf_ I make it clear that it is Political Zi0nism that I point the finger at..

The same engine that caused the unrelentlessness Genocide of 2100 including 500 children in GAZA last Summer. The same engine that pulls the ropes on the US Government to carry out proxy regime changing battles in the Middle east including the attempted overthrowing of the Syrian Government. (with Iran next in the crosshairs)..

You know damn well who I am pointing the finger at and don’t try to throw the antisemitic card at me.,

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:38 PM

Well if that’s true you need to pick your cartoons more carefully Frank, as some of them have stereotyped jews as an entire race of child-eating devils – if that’s not anti-semitic you tell me what is?? That, coupled with your continued insistence that jews created and released ebola tells me all I need to know about your attitudes.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 30th 2015, 2:02 AM

Avina Laaf_I still think you are a hypocrite. You have no problems with cartoons depicting insults to Islam through Charlie Hebdo Je Suis Charlie stuff yet you deplore cartoons that hit out at political Zi0nism. If the Cartoons is offensive to Jewish people it would be removed from the forums that they are posted in. All the cartoons that I post are aimed at exposing political Zionism which is the extreme opposite poles of a magnet to Judaism

The Numbers certainly tell us quite a lot about Ebola and HIV AIDS for that matter and where it all comes from. You trip over the number 33 in all of them. 33 is written over quite a lot of other things including ALL these recent false flags.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 30th 2015, 9:21 AM

Frank, I’m not sure whether you’re deliberately trying to miss the point at this stage. I have no problem with any satirical cartoon, especially not with one that satirises mohammed, god, buddha, jesus or anybody else. Most of your linked cartoons fall into this category.

I have a huge problem though with propaganda cartoons that deliberately set out to portray an entire race (whoever they are) as some kind of sub-humans. Such cartoons are a clear encitement to racial hatred and history has told us that this type of stereotyping can be very, very dangerous. Iran is currently pumping out such propaganda cartoons aimed at demonising jews in this way, and you have sometimes linked to them.

I’m not even going to enter into a discussion with you about numerology – you think its an accurate predictor of world events, I think its a load of claptrap, lets just leave it at that.

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    Jan 29th 2015, 8:53 AM

The murder was witnessed by a police sharpshooter? If he had a clear line of sight and the gun man had a hostage on his knees with a shotgun to his head then surely he should have been authorized to shoot him.
    It would have ended the siege immediately with no further bullets and loss of life.
    I know people complain about about America all the time but if it happened there I suspect that would have been the out come and the shooting justified.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:08 AM

Robert you are assuming he could see both the victim and the perpetrator! You are also assuming the marksman viewed this via a rifle scope rather than other optical devices he could have been a spotter.

Perhaps he could identify a fun barrel and a victim through his scope but not get a clean shot at the shooter.

Perhaps this was not the first time in the incident this had happened??

A lot of variables in that limited info

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:20 AM

I get what your saying but if it was a sniper team as the article suggests then there would have been both a spotter with binoculars and a marksman looking through a scope. This is how police and military sniper teams work. If he did have the shot he should have taken it.

That siege was never going to end peacefully, especially with an Islamic nut involved. Having a sniper take him out would have been the best outcome in my opinion and I’m sure the opportunity would have presented itself at some point.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:23 AM

Again, assuming the marksman had a clear line of site to the shooter!

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:24 AM

Robert, the police tried to take him out with a marksman but they couldn’t achieve this. Monis had lined up hostages in the windows and rotated them on a regular basis to make sure that snipers couldn’t take him out through a window without hitting a civilian in the process.

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:43 AM

Fair enough Jason. If it wasn’t possible then it wasn’t possible, however he did have enough of a view to see what happened despite the human shields.

Yes I am making assumptions but based on reading the article and the detail the sniper described how it transpired they are reasonable assumptions.

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    Jan 29th 2015, 12:36 PM

Thanks Lisa that’s a perfectly reasonable answer as to why a sniper couldn’t take him out. Much better than the excuses suggested by others which don’t make sense.
    Namely that they didn’t have sight of him, which would be incompotent of the sniper teams or that the human shield was a barrier even though the sniper clearly described what happened.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:25 AM

“Man Haron Monis” = 924 (28 x 33) or 7+7+7+7 x 33

http://www.gematrix.org/?word=Man+Haron+Monis

Every word in the English language has a gematria numerical value.

This story is saturated in occult numerology when you break it down

Mute Vincent O Mahony
    Favourite Vincent O Mahony
    Jan 29th 2015, 9:33 AM

Frank, what words in the english language are NOT associated with occult numerology? Can you provide some examples for reference?

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:18 AM

Its the context that these encoded words are being used and more so when you trip over them in a high profile main stream media news story.

The numbers associated with Occult Numerology are 7,11,13,17 22, etc or multiples of them

Ireland = 378 or ( 3+7+8= 18 or 1+8 = 9 when reduced to a single digit)
    Ireland in ordinal equals: 63 or 9 when reduced

Dublin in ordinal = 62 or 8 when reduced
    http://www.gematrix.org/?word=dublin

http://www.gematrix.org/?word=ireland

Mute Brian Flynn
    Favourite Brian Flynn
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:30 AM

Frank, what’s the number for tosser?

Mute men in black hoods
    Favourite men in black hoods
    Jan 29th 2015, 10:44 AM

What’s the number for loser

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 12:08 PM

Brian Flynn_ The English Gematria for Tosser is 576

http://www.gematrix.org/?word=+tosser

Now look up the value for Freemason…

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 12:31 PM

men in black hoods_ You might also find that one in a mirror.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 29th 2015, 11:49 AM

Brian Flynn _ You might find it in a mirror.