Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Same Sex Marriage Cake via Shutterstock

Kerry County Council to vote on same-sex marriage

The vote will be taken on Monday afternoon.

COUNCILLORS IN KERRY will be asked to back a motion supporting marriage equality at its next monthly meeting.

The motion was tabled by Labour Councillor Gillian Wharton-Slattery following approaches from people in the local gay community.

“They talked to me about how other councils had tabled and passed similar motions,” she told TheJournal.ie. “And they asked why it hadn’t been done here too.”

Cork City Council were the first to carry the landmark motion in July 2012. It was soon followed by Dublin City Council, Fingal County Council and Waterford City Council. A number of senior politicians, including Leo Varadkar, Alan Shatter and several Labour TDs, have all said they are in favour of the introduction of same-sex marriage.

Despite support from the majority of political parties, Wharton-Slattery is fearful that people will break from the party line.

“It is an individual choice at the end of the day. I haven’t lobbied fellow councillors as I will let the democratic process exist in the chamber. People will make up their own minds. I have a sneaky feeling it could be in trouble getting through.”

However, she remains “cautiously hopeful”.

“I would be delighted for the 5.5 per cent of the population of Kerry that are gay for the motion to go through. We will have marriage equality eventually in this country. It would be nice to see what different councillors have to say on the matter.”

The vote will be taken late on Monday afternoon.

Last year, some 965 civil partnerships were registered in Ireland but any legislation to provide for same-sex marriage will require a referendum of the Irish people. The issue is due to be discussed during by the Constitutional Convention this year. The Taoiseach has previously declined to express a solid view on the matter.

Earlier this month, British politicians approved a draft law allowing same-sex couples to marry in England and Wales.

Poll: Should Ireland legalise same-sex marriage?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute Rob Queen
    Favourite Rob Queen
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:29 AM

Why do they bother voting on things they don’t actually have the power to change? Are they short of things to do? They can no more change the marriage laws than they can change the drink driving laws. Stick to voting on whether to put more bins in Tralee, lads!

Mute funkyjoy77
    Favourite funkyjoy77
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:38 AM

If they vote for Marriage Equality it may reflect how the county might vote if there is a referendum! If nothing else raising awareness for marriage equality is a positive step in the right direction!

Mute Shit you not
    Favourite Shit you not
    Feb 14th 2013, 9:03 AM

There is no way the members of the Kerry council voting reflects on how anyone might vote. Idiots.

Mute Ellen Gough
    Favourite Ellen Gough
    Feb 14th 2013, 11:55 AM

It reflects the views of the people, in a way that a poll or survey would but with a bit more clout behind it. the only thing that can change the law in this country on same sex marriage is a referendum

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Feb 14th 2013, 1:42 PM

Distraction from the drudgery of being a local authority, I suppose.

Mute chair man
    Favourite chair man
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:59 AM

Can’t see our liberal friends in Kerry voting against the motion, after all they voted in support of drink driving …..just fearful of the conditions they may attach to the proposal …. (all joking aside, same sex marriage is a basic human right)

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Feb 14th 2013, 1:43 PM

There will be a special Wedding Drinking Permit. A licence to drive home drunk from any wedding. Now expanded to include same sex weddings.

Mute DeniseFriary
    Favourite DeniseFriary
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:23 AM

The Kerry people are very nice people,I go there for a week every summer and its a great place.

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Feb 14th 2013, 6:57 AM

What’s going on with the journal’s fascination with Kerry these days, it hasn’t broken away from the republic has it?

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:21 AM

We’re they ever in it

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:41 AM

So Kerry County Council are putting all their Gathering efforts into attracting Gay Alcoholics!

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:04 AM

A referendum is needed to allow people of the same sex to marry, but it seems a government can make a whole population responsible for wealthy criminals gambling debts, ( debts that will cause serious hardship for generations) by a stroke of a pen. When are people gonna put a stop to this madness? If that’s democracy, then you may keep it!

Mute John O'Sullivan
    Favourite John O'Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:13 AM

An opportunity to shoehorn an anti-Government/anti-austerity/anti-bailout statement into an article on a completely unrelated topic should never be missed. Now go comment on the Valentine’s cards from sports stars article.

Anyway, well done to Gillian, I hope the motion passes. It’s only a matter of time now before all the dominos fall!

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:52 AM

Rodrigo, do you wake up ranting?
    I suspect the Kerry chamber will be a lonely place on Monday afternoon…

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:00 AM

My point is that why do we need to hold a referendum to allow two people to marry, but we have no say when it comes to paying for other people’s debts. How can that be democratic? What’s more important? If two people want to get married, that’s none of my business, but getting myself and my children into serious debt is definitely my business.

Mute Tom Finnerty
    Favourite Tom Finnerty
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:47 AM

*yawn*

Mute funkyjoy77
    Favourite funkyjoy77
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:53 AM

Well said!

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:59 AM

Rodrigo, a referendum is not required to allow same sex marriage, as the sex of the couple is not mentioned in the constitution. The recent cases to set a precedence against gay marriage were based on common interpretation of marriage. If a progressive judge rules that Irish people acknowledge that sex does not come into it, I.e. local councils stating that they support it, then it will be recognisable.

But seriously, is it open mic night every night in Kerry county council?

Mute Michael Stamp
    Favourite Michael Stamp
    Feb 14th 2013, 10:06 AM

@rodrigo Once again, someone makes a reasonable comment on the Journal and gets lots of red thumbs.

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford
    Feb 14th 2013, 12:19 PM

Biffo’s law Rodrigo , you broke Biffo’s law ……

Mute Richard Deane
    Favourite Richard Deane
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:20 AM

Come on Kerry -do the right thing and support the motion! No cowardly abstentions! The Council needs to get back some civic authority given its last ridiculous recommendation on drink driving permits!

Mute Conor Buggy
    Favourite Conor Buggy
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:07 AM

Cant wait to see how they vote on this. Plenty of abstentions I bet.

Mute Alan Tully
    Favourite Alan Tully
    Feb 14th 2013, 9:48 AM

the ring of Kerry will become even bigger !

Mute Brian Guilfoyle
    Favourite Brian Guilfoyle
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:07 AM

Is Kerry going to declare Independence?

Mute Con O' Rourke
    Favourite Con O' Rourke
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:27 AM

Well done Kerry you got something right!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Feb 14th 2013, 7:59 AM

Kerry is the new Rebel County, they are the caretaker Government and the Heal-Raes are attempting a Coup!

Mute Ciaran Dillon
    Favourite Ciaran Dillon
    Feb 14th 2013, 9:17 AM

So in Kerry from Tuesday you’ll be able to marry your gay lover and drive home drunk from the reception.

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:20 AM

They do love a bit of publicity.

Mute gerard carey
    Favourite gerard carey
    Feb 14th 2013, 10:27 AM

The pink dollar is not a swipe at gay people. It is a fact that a lot of gay people have very well paid jobs, And are high spenders when on holiday. All the cruise operators cashed in years ago on this fact. And if kerry can do it to. Fair play to them. best of luck.

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:08 AM

Whatever the outcome it’ll probably be worth a chuckle.

Mute Colin Kavanagh
    Favourite Colin Kavanagh
    Feb 14th 2013, 1:34 PM

I really hope I’m proven wrong but I don’t think this will pass despite the fact that every other local authority who have voted on this measure have voted in favour. Several things strike me about Kerry – the Haely-Rae’s, support for driving drunk & that Come Dine With Me episode were the “most fashionable man in Kerry” painted his face black and pretended to be Phil Lynott.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Feb 14th 2013, 1:46 PM

Perhaps the Journal can get a list of the yes voters, the no voters, the abstainers and those who legged it out of the chamber to avoid voting.

Let’s hope they aren’t using telephone voting – we don’t want the Dail phone bill going through the roof.

Mute Mark Clarke
    Favourite Mark Clarke
    Feb 14th 2013, 10:17 AM

I hear their next meeting is on proposals to build a rocket so they can fly to the Moon and get free cheese for all Kerry people, he he

Mute gerard carey
    Favourite gerard carey
    Feb 14th 2013, 8:52 AM

They will vote for it. They know the value of the pink dollar. and the pink dollar is worth millions.

Mute Dennis Collins
    Favourite Dennis Collins
    Feb 14th 2013, 9:55 AM

Last time I checked, a dollar in my pocket (or as you call it, a pink dollar) was worth exactly $1.00. Should I go back to the USA and claim the millions they owe me for not giving me the gay exchange rate?

Mute Pat McTernan
    Favourite Pat McTernan
    Feb 14th 2013, 2:47 PM

Same sex marriage and drink driving , have they nothing else to waste there time on , is this another Kerryman joke

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Feb 14th 2013, 11:51 AM

There was a bit in The Anglo Celt before Christmas. Apparently when the motion came up before Cavan county council a certain councillors used the leaflet he got at mass to oppose it.

Mute John Mullen
    Favourite John Mullen
    Feb 14th 2013, 12:13 PM

According to Councillor Slattery she’d be delighted for the 5.5% of Kerry people who are gay if the bill passed. I was always led to believe that 1 in 10 is gay so are the kerry boys not coming out or are they just naturally more macho in kerry. ? And out if interest, if 2 guys get married do they argue over who gets to wear the dress.? Only joking. No offence intended.

Mute Kitty Con Carne Burnell
    Favourite Kitty Con Carne Burnell
    Feb 14th 2013, 3:42 PM

Eh, 5% is one in twenty, and you’re forgetting the female population there. So if it was split evenly, a little over one in forty Kerry men are gay. Not that it matters what their orientation is either way.

Mute Kitty Con Carne Burnell
    Favourite Kitty Con Carne Burnell
    Feb 14th 2013, 3:44 PM

Oh wait, I took you up wrong! Sorry! Carry on, nothing to see here.