You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Google Maps 'renames Kiev street' after people killed in clashes

The Institustkaya Street is now named after ‘street heroes’.

GOOGLE MAPS APPEARS to have ‘renamed’ a street in Kiev after Ukraine’s ‘heavenly hundred’, who died during recent protests.

The street known as Institutskaya Street is now called ‘Street Heroes hundred of heaven’, which is believed to be in tribute to those who were killed during clashes between opposition supporters and police officers.

The October Palace is located just off the street, and gave it its original name (it was opened as a seminary or ‘institut’ for young ladies).

The street has also been where people chose to commemorate the ‘heavenly hundred’, as Kyiv Post reported.

Interestingly, a look at the street in ‘street view’ mode shows its original name (and the streets prior to the recent clashes):

The change was picked up by RT today, and so far no explanation from Google has been forthcoming.

The Ukrainian capital has seen serious violence and protests over the past number of months, following demonstrations that were the biggest in the country since the Orange Revolution in 2004.

The focus of the protest movement is the question of whether Ukraine will forge closer ties with Russia or the EU.

The initial protests began last November after the Government decided not to sign a pact that would bring it closer to Europe and pull it further from Russia’s influence.

Our explainer details what exactly is going on in the country.

Read: Armed men seize Ukraine regional government buildings, hoist Russian flags>

Read: Before and After: Pics of Kiev’s Independence Square>

Read: Explainer: What exactly is going on in Ukraine?>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

13 Comments
    Mute Ferg Breen
    Favourite Ferg Breen
    Feb 28th 2014, 9:49 AM

TXFM sounds likes a country music station.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 28th 2014, 9:57 AM

I hope not
    Who wants to listen to songs about the wife leaving and the dog dying

Mute finners_99
    Favourite finners_99
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:04 AM

Exactly, sounds like they will play tex-mex all the time !

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:42 AM

there is a country radio station in the states with that name

Mute Briny Boy
    Favourite Briny Boy
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:05 AM

As if anyone is actually going to start calling it TXFM…what a shite name.
    Very sorry for the genuinely good presenters who are being made redundant. But going for a ‘fun’ breakfast show was when the alarm bells started ringing. RIP Phantom.

Mute Clodagh O'Donovan
    Favourite Clodagh O'Donovan
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:28 AM

Totally agree BB. That breakfast show dragged the rest of the station under. I feel sorry for Charlotte – she had a lot to put up with. Once Sinister Pete was ousted, things started to slip out of their grasp. It was like the first few rocks falling at the beginning of a landslide – you think “ah ’twill be grand” but it’s already too late to get out of the way.

I really hope they don’t muck it up more.

Mute Clodagh O'Donovan
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:33 AM

PS: The TX is industry shorthand for “transmission”, though it reminds me of the old pirate days when they used to buy in whole branding and audio station ID packages from the states and just cut the “K” or “W” off the top of the name!

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:33 AM

I’ve been a listener to Phantom for a good few years but have to agree about the breakfast show, that guy is so unfunny that my toes curl for him, used to love it when Michelle Doherty was on in the morning.

Mute Gavin Lawlor
    Favourite Gavin Lawlor
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:24 AM

Not a great start is it? Phantom is a far better name. Hopefully they won’t start dishing out the more commercial side of the scene and the music doesn’t suffer. There’s only so much kings of Leon and snow patrol I can listen to without wanting to drive into a wall!

Mute Ally
    Favourite Ally
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:28 AM

Haha or kill the crack ‘Killers’

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:34 AM

When PhantomFM went “legal” and a certain media mogul ( who owns way too many radio stations and other media outlets) got involved , that was the beginning of the end for PhantomFM and REAL music

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:57 AM

Irish radio stations (wit few progressive exceptions) have missed a huge opportunity to go digital. Phantom should have been the first to go do it but now have been left behind.

Mute Steve Bang
    Favourite Steve Bang
    Feb 28th 2014, 9:58 AM

Phantom to TXFM to 2FM to silence

Mute Barry Healy
    Favourite Barry Healy
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:03 AM

I think you have a few too many steps there. I think it’s more Phantom to TXFM to silence. How can they have a radio station with only 3 djs, one of whom is pants, one is so-so and the other one decent? The new schedule is gona look very strange. I’d say just get a Spotify account or something similar. At least then you won’t have to listen to ads.

Mute Steve Bang
    Favourite Steve Bang
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:07 AM

I have one, much better than the radio, newstalk or sunshine in the car, spotify at home

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Clodagh O'Donovan
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:22 AM

Who are the surviving DJs?

Mute Anto O Rourke
    Favourite Anto O Rourke
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:42 AM

Spotify account? How does that work in the car then? That solves nothing when driving, without a bunch of messing about with wires for 10mins before you even turn on the engine. For the car, you need a radio with a couple good stations to flick through. Done. No need for all this overreaction.

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:01 AM

^ phone bluetooth…no wires.

Mute Anto O Rourke
    Favourite Anto O Rourke
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:07 AM

Try changing a song on a phone while driving without looking at it and taking your mind off the road. Then compare that to a simple button on the steering wheel, already in your line of sight. No debate needed. Plus with Spotify, your counting on your 3G all the time. The whole process is unnecessary when compared to changing a channel.

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:13 AM

You try 8tracks Anto? Choose play list and it’ll keep going. I find it handier than Spotify tbh.

Mute Anto O Rourke
    Favourite Anto O Rourke
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:21 AM

Just looked up 8tracks there, looks interesting. May be better than Spotify, but the fundamentals of the rigmarole before driving are the same. I’d probably listen to 8tracks in the house though.

Mute Honest Tom
    Favourite Honest Tom
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:34 AM

@anto. connect an ipod to the car radio, set up a few playlists. I hate wires all over the car myself, and agree it is much safer changing a radio station than looking though a phone. Ipod is handy

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:57 AM

Anto just get a BMW with Idrive?

Mute Anto O Rourke
    Favourite Anto O Rourke
    Feb 28th 2014, 12:04 PM

Ok. Thanks. Can I borrow a few quid off you? I promise I’ll pay you back…..

Mute Michael Donnelly
    Favourite Michael Donnelly
    Feb 28th 2014, 12:10 PM

You don’t need 3G when using your Spotify. There is a listen offline option when you’re browsing music, saved to your phone then. Any car can get a complete Bluetooth system installed to listen to all your music on your phone via your car radio, roughly 150 euro.

Mute Anto O Rourke
    Favourite Anto O Rourke
    Feb 28th 2014, 12:26 PM

€150? BMW’s? Spotify subscriptions? Just listen to the radio, it’s free! If something bad comes on, change the channel! The amount of overreacting going on here is unbelievable. You people need a smack of reality in the face.

Mute Michael Donnelly
    Favourite Michael Donnelly
    Feb 28th 2014, 12:34 PM

But radio is shite.

Mute Honest Tom
    Favourite Honest Tom
    Feb 28th 2014, 12:35 PM

I guess some people would rather pay a few quid to be able to listen to something they like when driving rather than flicking through stations and listening to what a DJ is playing. Whos right? whos wrong? do what you want. Thats the reality.

Mute Steve Bang
    Favourite Steve Bang
    Feb 28th 2014, 12:38 PM

Anto I said I listen to newstalk or sunshine in the car, spotify in the house and shed.

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Feb 28th 2014, 1:36 PM

Works for us – still not sure about Spotify but use in car all the time no inane chatter or endless ads!

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:25 AM

Been a listener since 2007, don’t like new name. Xfm is an already well known brand, txfm sounds like someone trying to copy it.

Mute Nigel Sinnott
    Favourite Nigel Sinnott
    Feb 28th 2014, 9:56 AM

One of the best stations in the country!

Mute Barry Healy
    Favourite Barry Healy
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:04 AM

It was at one point. The changes they made sent it down the tubes.

Mute Lenny Vlad Leonard
    Favourite Lenny Vlad Leonard
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:08 AM

RnaG is better

Mute lunadoran
    Favourite lunadoran
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:33 AM

My favourite station keeps me company every morning on my commute, will miss the guys…dunno if I’ll keep listening, will have to wait n see…

Mute hovismcnulty
    Favourite hovismcnulty
    Feb 28th 2014, 1:28 PM

Terrible news for old Phantom listeners- the re brand/ realignment with Today FM will mean that middle of the road, drivel merchants like the proven to be ratings toxic, Joe Donnelly will be protected so that he can carry on at the expense of talented, knowledgeable people – e.g the Richie Ryan, Wil St Ledger, Derek Byrne, Cathal Funge, Richie Mc Cormack & Nadine O Regan etc
    A Sad day.
    RIP Phantom

Mute Xfm Dublin
    Favourite Xfm Dublin
    Feb 28th 2014, 9:49 AM

Hehe

Mute Adrian Corcoran
    Favourite Adrian Corcoran
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:32 AM

Should have stayed a pirate station. Only play good music out of the core hours otherwise its the rubbish they are paid yo play. The problem is chasing the dollar … Now there is nothing to distinguish them from any other station

Mute Conor McHugh
    Favourite Conor McHugh
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:53 AM

I personally loved the morning show

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:36 AM

It’s no wonder Keith Walsh jumped ship, he knew himself he’d be the first for the dole queue !

Mute Thinkshpake
    Favourite Thinkshpake
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:51 AM

He’s one of the main reasons people started switching off from the breakfast show. I’ve heard a bit of him on 2FM since and along with Bernard O’Shea and Jennifer Maguire they are excruciating

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:53 AM

Is Communicorp the kiss of death to cool?

Mute everlast mccarthy
    Favourite everlast mccarthy
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:03 AM

Sounds like the baddy in a Sci-fi movie

Mute Mad Dog Digital
    Favourite Mad Dog Digital
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:52 AM

Stop the moaning, at least we’ll still have a Indie Rock station in Dublin. Music fans need to support this or we will be left with nothing good on the airwaves.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:00 AM

Sounds countryish “TeXas FM”

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:18 AM

Who uses words like ‘indie’ and ‘alternative’ these days? Very 1990s. Whole enterprise sounds dated to me. Do they not listen to BBC 6 Music? Who just listens to indie music? Peoplejust want to hear great music by people who know their music.

Mute Thinkshpake
    Favourite Thinkshpake
    Feb 28th 2014, 1:19 PM

So how would you categorise it? It does need a particular word to describe it to differentiate itself from typical chart music

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Feb 28th 2014, 9:32 PM

As someone who bought probably 70% of his albums in the 90′s I shall persist with this terminology thank you very much.

Mute Liza Riley
    Favourite Liza Riley
    Feb 28th 2014, 5:31 PM

So Joe is one of those to keep his job. There are no words. I could weep.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Feb 28th 2014, 11:15 AM

TodayXM sounds better than TXFM

Mute Neal •IntoYourHead
    Favourite Neal •IntoYourHead
    Feb 28th 2014, 1:36 PM

XM is associated with digital radio rather than FM. Hence RTE 2XM for example, which is not on FM.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Feb 28th 2014, 9:39 PM

Trying to appeal to a broader listenership is what has ruined Phantom in the first place.

Mute John Keaveney
    Favourite John Keaveney
    Feb 28th 2014, 4:30 PM

The surviving DJ’s as far as I’m aware are Joe from Phantom Breakfast, John Cadell & Clare Beck. Sad sad news. I agree the breakfast show hasn’t been the same since “Pure Morning”.

Mute The Hooded Biscuit
    Favourite The Hooded Biscuit
    Feb 28th 2014, 10:52 AM

TextFm

Mute Marie O'Donnell
    Favourite Marie O'Donnell
    Mar 1st 2014, 1:34 AM

Crap name, exactly right it sounds like a country music name.
    It was great to start off with with Sinister Pete in the mornings but slowly but surely it got worse and worse and worse again.
    Well done to all the bosses involved for running a great station into the ground. I hope someone comes up with a new one soon. Rip phantom. It was fantastic until you started acting the b*lix.

Mute John Keaveney
    Favourite John Keaveney
    Feb 28th 2014, 4:28 PM

The surviving DJ’s as far as I’m aware are Joe from Phantom Breakfast, John Cadell & Clare Beck. Sad sad news. I agree the breakfast show hadn’t been the same since “Pure Morning”.

Mute Clodagh O'Donovan
    Feb 28th 2014, 9:14 PM

John Cadell is great. I’ll miss the two Richies though – they’re great also.

Mute Rob Ryan
    Favourite Rob Ryan
    Feb 28th 2014, 12:09 PM

The name makes me want to spark up the BBQ

Mute Owen Kennedy
    Favourite Owen Kennedy
    Feb 28th 2014, 7:58 PM

No finest work songs, no doherty, no listening for me. The station is indeed now a Phantom. Game Over.

Mute suzanne kelly
    Favourite suzanne kelly
    Feb 28th 2014, 7:00 PM

RIP Phantom!

Mute Neal •IntoYourHead
    Feb 28th 2014, 1:34 PM

Well it’s a stupid name but it makes commercial since to link it to Today FM for brand power, and at least they didn’t just copy-and-paste one of Communicorp’s recently acquired conveyor-belt foreign brands like XFM, which was apparently one of the options.

Mute Neal •IntoYourHead
    Feb 28th 2014, 1:34 PM

Come to think of it, TodayFM sounded ridiculous when I first heard the name, but we’ve gotten used to it.

Mute mark o leary
    Favourite mark o leary
    Feb 28th 2014, 8:49 PM

Dave couse Sunday night today fm.

Mute Ciara Gilsenan
    Favourite Ciara Gilsenan
    Mar 14th 2014, 4:07 PM

:( Devastating. I really hope the music doesn’t suffer but to loose so many great DJs has got to have a negative effect on the output. A self-proclaimed alternative station wanting to align itself with it’s mainstream counterpart and retain it’s alternative integrity at the same time?! How does that make any sense..!

Mute Patrick Thompson
    Favourite Patrick Thompson
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:24 PM

“He added that he believes that the indie-music fan base in Dublin will welcome this latest development”
    #deluded