You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A file photo of an ecstasy seizure. Revenue Commissioners/Photocall Ireland

Gardai raid ecstasy pill factory linked to Kinahan cartel

The raid happened at 2pm today.

GARDAÍ HAVE RAIDED a suspected ecstasy manufacturing plant in Kildare and have seized €500,000 worth of the drug.

Members of the Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau searched a house in Celbridge at around 2pm today.

Officers discovered the drugs as well as chemicals used to make it. Personal protective equipment was also seized.

Three foreign nationals have been arrested and are being questioned at a number of garda stations.

Gardaí said equipment including blenders and an industrial pill making machine along with suspected controlled drugs in powder and pill form were seized. Gardaí added that the process of making tablets had commenced when they forced entry into the premises.

Speaking after the operation, Assistant Commissioner John O’ Driscoll who has charge of Special Crime Operations said: “This operation provides further evidence of the extent of links between Irish based organised crime groups and the international drug trade.

“The Garda National Drugs & Organised Crime Bureau (GNDOCB) has today dealt another blow to those involved in organised crime. Our effort in tackling organised crime is unrelenting and will continue as long as is necessary.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

21 Comments
    Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Apr 29th 2023, 8:30 AM

As demonstrated above there is no appetite for this bans from the majority of people. The Republicans are trying to cater to a subset of their base who are absolutely anti choice.
    See this as most of the problem with American politics, the Republicans are playing to the far end of the party and ignoring the centre right. This is also preventing either side from meeting in the middle and trying to compromise

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    Apr 29th 2023, 11:23 AM

@Colm O’ Shea: Very much agree. I think there’s a significant portion of Americans who would be moderately conservative when it comes to financial and security matters but are moderately liberal on social/civil rights issues.

Mute GERARD KENNELLY
    Favourite GERARD KENNELLY
    Apr 29th 2023, 12:31 PM

the kerry babies case has been described as pure evil

meanwhile we vote in abortion ..

Mute Jo H
    Favourite Jo H
    Apr 29th 2023, 1:47 PM

@GERARD KENNELLY: you cannot seriously be trying to equate the two? A living, breathing child was actually murdered in Kerry and an innocent woman’s life was also ruined in the process.

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Apr 29th 2023, 2:21 PM

@Jo H: I’m so sorry, but have you read what you’ve just written? It’s a complete oxymoron. A living breathing human and an abortion. IT’S THE SAME THING!!!!!!!

Mute The Big Baba
    Favourite The Big Baba
    Apr 29th 2023, 8:47 AM

The Republicans were supposed to win big in the midterms. With high inflation and a sitting Democratic president, they had an open goal right in front of them. Yet they struggled to get over the line.

The Supreme Court’s decision has handed the Democrats a very simple and compelling line: “We’re pro choice..”

If the Republicans continue to embrace being anti-abortion, they will fail in all but the most conservative of states.

Mute Nicky O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicky O'Donnell
    Apr 29th 2023, 8:59 AM

@The Big Baba: No one here cares about political point scoring at the cost of human rights. This is about women’s rights to autonomy over their own bodies and access basic healthcare, not the two party psychodrama of American politics.

Mute The Big Baba
    Favourite The Big Baba
    Apr 29th 2023, 12:43 PM

@Nicky O’Donnell: I like how you pretended to misunderstand what I said just so you could jump up on your pulpit, bravely decry the human rights violations that are taking place (clap clap, very good), and then tell me what the entirety of The Journal’s readership cares about.

As the first paragraph clearly states, this article is about Republicans who are having second thoughts about their anti-abortion stance due to the impact that it might have on their political ambitions.

Maybe you should actually read the article before blindly rushing to the comment section to show everyone else how upstanding you are.

Mute Richard Ahern
    Favourite Richard Ahern
    Apr 29th 2023, 10:05 AM

Her placard reads “Keep abortion safe” but it doesn’t specify for whom it should be safe. Is it for the woman, the baby or both? It’s confusing as abortion, by its very nature, involves destruction. On the other hand, maybe destruction is the new construction? Ah yes, that must be it. Now I’ve got it.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Apr 29th 2023, 10:50 AM

@Richard Ahern: what going on with creepy men wanting to control womens’ bodies?

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Apr 29th 2023, 10:55 AM

William slevin
    “33.4% of us voted to keep the 8th”
    “We only need another 17% of voters to put a ban on abortion again…”

The problem with those statements William is the fact you used to have 66%…. In 1984
    Im not really sure you want to concentrate on where that trajectory is going.

Mute Colm O' Shea
    Favourite Colm O' Shea
    Apr 29th 2023, 8:35 AM

The Republicans are playing to the extremes of their party which in no way hold the same opinions on abortion as the general membership.
    This focus on the extremes makes it very hard for them to come together with the Dens and compromise as each see the others views as extreme.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Apr 29th 2023, 9:20 AM

The fearfulland deluded republican base waging the cowardly spineless hollow heads.

Mute William slevin
    Favourite William slevin
    Apr 29th 2023, 11:59 AM

@brain madden:”@Richard Ahern: what going on with creepy men wanting to control womens’ bodies?”

What’s going on with creepy men and women wanting to kill unborn girls and boys in their mothers womb by means of abortion? Sounds like a horror movie or autrocitys you read in history books like human sacrifice…

Mute William slevin
    Favourite William slevin
    Apr 29th 2023, 11:28 AM

@p.j. nolan:”William slevin
    “33.4% of us voted to keep the 8th”
    “We only need another 17% of voters to put a ban on abortion again…”

The problem with those statements William is the fact you used to have 66%…. In 1984
    Im not really sure you want to concentrate on where that trajectory is going.

The trajectory can always be sent back in the right direction…it may take time buy it will happen…with along and determined campaign.

Mute William slevin
    Favourite William slevin
    Apr 29th 2023, 11:56 AM

@cian nolan:”@William slevin: Where do you see this 17% coming from though? Judging by the people who “protest” outside my local GP, most retain the 8th voters appear to be older. Unless there’s a very significant young pro life vote coming through I don’t see how the numbers change so dramatically”

17% is not much to attain…Theirs many out their who regret their vote now as the death toll rises of the unborn girls and boys being killed in their mothers wombs by means of abortion…Theirs many young people who also think it’s wrong to kill defenceless unborn children in their mothers womb by means of abortion…

With the right campaign and being diligent in our efforts we will succeed and the unborn boys and girls will be protected again and abortion will be banned

Mute William slevin
    Favourite William slevin
    Apr 29th 2023, 10:23 AM

@Pat Ryan:”@William slevin: where they many down at the fairy ring last night .”

What a failure of a response lol

Mute Denis Ryan
    Favourite Denis Ryan
    Apr 29th 2023, 10:32 AM

@William slevin: Is your daily quota 100 comments? Where do find the time. Put down your device and go for a walk. The fresh air will do you good.

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 29th 2023, 1:45 PM

@Jill O’Leary:”@William slevin: ah give it a rest will ye!”

You afraid the anti killing of unborn girls and boys in their mothers womb by means of abortion…gaining traction…

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 29th 2023, 2:35 PM

@anna carr:”@William slevin: people just presume that all anti abortion folks are fire and brimstone catholics. They aren’t. Many people from all faiths, even pagans, even aethiests and agnostics just think it is wrong. The pro abortion folks bleat this same tired stuff all the time because they can’t think of any other argument. Don’t waste your energy my friend.”

Your right in what you say and the repeat the same tired argument that’s why abortion in ireland will have a fleeting existence…

So I must challenge them were I can…and on here is a good place to start…as the point of my reply isn’t to convince them but for the benefit of the reader to hopefully reach them and hopefully they change their position and vote in the next referendum or candidate to save the lives of unborn little girls and boys from being killed by their own mothers in their mothers wombs by means of abortion…

It’s a small effort but what we can learn from the pro abortionists is that a steady increasing push and diligent continuous campaign to reach the heart of good people but instead of guilt used by the pro abortionists…they must of really looked up to the Catholic Church the regard of that tactic…I think we took for granted what people would vote…and to be honest sinn feinn and Mary lou Mcdonald I think are the ones that made it possible…I never voted anyone else’s other than sinn feinn since I started voting…as a young man when Mary lou came onto the political stage I looked up to her and couldn’t wait for her to take over and gerry Adams step aside….then she and sinn feinn campaigned for abortion i never voted for then again….

The anti killing of unborn little girls and boys by means of abortion has still got a strong base to increase…

One battle ground is here on thejournal.ie comments section…

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 29th 2023, 1:52 PM

@denis ryan:”@William slevin: Too many questions, I allow you ask one. I see you finally got a profile picture, a wolf howling at the moon suits you. I’ve been here commenting for nine years, doubt you will reach a year without being banned. Nice use of lol, I imagine you typing frantically and then laughing manically. While everyone around you wonders who the weirdo is.”

You’ve a fine imagination their lol…. ; )

As for you being on here 9 years fair play to you I applaud you…

You might be right about your year thing who knows…

Yes you would see me as a weirdo…you being into the killing of unborn little girls and boys in their woman’s wombs by means of abortion xD