You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kinahan vs Hutch: The latest chapters in a bloody feud

Another killing in a deadly feud. Is there an end in sight?

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

TO SOME PEOPLE, the Hutch-Kinahan feud is a game, where human lives lost are interchangeable with points.

By that token, it’s 4-1 to the Kinahans.

Of course, that view not only reduces the death of Martin O’Rourke – an innocent man not involved in the ‘gangland scene’ shot dead in broad daylight – to a numbers game, but also ignores the many terrified witnesses to the Regency Hotel shooting (one journalist had a gun pointed in his face).

Make no mistake, this latest chapter in Dublin’s criminal story is no trivial matter to be decided amongst ‘themselves’.

The story so far

5/2/2016. Regency Hotel Shootings Crime Scenes Sasko Lazarov Sasko Lazarov

Back in 2014, a member of the Kinahan crime gang Gerard ‘Hatchet’ Kavanagh was killed in Spain because senior members of the gang believed he had been stealing from them.

The same fate awaited his brother, Paul Kavanagh, who was shot in broad daylight in Drumcondra last March.

In September last year, Gary Hutch was shot dead at an apartment complex in Miraflores, Spain. It is believed he too was suspected of pocketing money from the Kinahans.

What seemed like the isolated murder of a known criminal figure on foreign soil was actually the precursor of violence on the streets of Dublin.

In February, a gang of six men, some dressed as armed gardaí, entered a boxing weigh-in at the Regency Hotel in Drumcondra and opened fire. Their target was Daniel Kinahan who escaped. His associate David Byrne did not. He was shot and killed.

Three days later and not ten minutes’ drive away from The Regency, Eddie Hutch was gunned down at his home in Ballybough.

Hutch was the brother of Gerry ‘The Monk’ Hutch, once one of the most infamous names in Irish crime.

Who’s who

19/2/2016 Gangland Funerals Gerry Hutch

The Kinahan cartel is considered the most powerful drug gang in the history of the State, headed by 57-year-old Christy Kinahan, dubbed ‘The Dapper Don’.

The Hutch family name is a staple of serious crime in Ireland.

This is down mainly to the activities of Gerry ‘The Monk’ Hutch who was the prime suspect, but always denied any involvement, in two of Ireland’s most notorious armed robberies – a IR£1.7 million Securicor robbery in 1987 and a £3 million Brinks depot robbery in 1995.

He has denied involvement in both. His settlement with the Criminal Assets Bureau was about tax, not crime, he says.

The latest chapter

26/4/2016. Gangland Shootings Murders RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Last night at around 9.30pm, two gunmen entered The Sunset House in Summerhill in Dublin.

Within minutes, 34-year-old Michael Barr was dead.

A silver Audi A6,  with a 04 C 17738 reg, sped from the scene along the Ballybough Road, passing Croke Park on its left, turning onto Richmond Road and across onto Walsh Road.

PastedImage-52704

The car was found burned out later and it is believed those inside left Walsh Road in the direction of Home Farm Road in another silver-coloured saloon car.

Immediately, gardaí knew it had some link to the Kinahan-Hutch feud.

As it transpired, the victim was Michael Barr, a man gardaí believe was behind the logistics and planning of the Regency Hotel shooting, which claimed the life of David Byrne, a Kinahan gang member.

Just last week, gardaí from Ballymun had raided his home.

Barr, 34, was due in court this Thursday to face sentencing after admitting to charges of handling stolen goods at the Special Criminal Court. He was arrested in July 2014 at Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan and charged with membership of the IRA.

Gang Map

Despite that charge being dropped, it was known that Barr was a leading figure in the dissident Republican movement and an associate of the Hutch gang.

Garda sources say that the Kinahan cartel have vowed revenge on everyone involved in the hotel shooting. With six gunmen and at least as many involved in the planning, the prospect of a halt to the bloodshed is not close.

Last night’s shooting comes just a month after Noel Duggan, a close friend of The Monk’s, was shot dead in his driveway in Ratoath in Meath.

Nicknamed ‘Mr Kingsize’, Duggan was heavily involved in cigarette smuggling. In the past, he made a significant settlement with the Criminal Assets Bureau (CAB). The agency confiscated a Dublin city centre premises as part-payment for the €4 million bill.

However, like Eddie Hutch, he was seen as a “soft target” as the Kinahans attempt to lure Gerry Hutch into retaliation.

Less than two weeks ago, Martin O’Rourke, a 24-year-old father of one was shot on Dublin’s Sheriff Street. He had no links to Dublin’s criminal underworld and was shot by a gunman believed to be targeting one of those involved in the Regency Hotel shooting.

The next step

19/2/2016 Eddie Hutch Funeral

Many observers have questioned why the Hutch gang have not hit back for the most recent killings.

While the signs of a retaliation have been minimal as yet, gardaí are preparing for the Hutch gang to make their next move. They are worried that the feud will escalate, and that the Hutch gang will attempt another large-scale attack on the Kinahans.

Garda sources say that immediate retaliation is “not (Gerry) Hutch’s style”. They maintain that Hutch will bide his time to strike against the Kinahans, but are adamant that retaliation is coming.

“There’s no way he’s letting all of this slide without doing something,” a garda source said.

“The worry is what he’ll do.”

Read: Two men killed in separate shootings in Dublin

Read: Gardaí say ‘perpetrators will be brought to justice’ after two men shot dead in Dublin last night

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute Max Maxwell
    Favourite Max Maxwell
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:01 PM

Awh no. Someone should really invent hundreds of websites and programs that allow you to download and/or stream media without paying for it. Or even something that lets you pretend to be from any country you like on the internet, some kind of crazy magical browser extension. What a world that would be.

Mute Seamus Coffey
    Favourite Seamus Coffey
    Jul 30th 2015, 2:36 PM

Ssssssshhhhhhhh . . . . . . . .

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Jul 30th 2015, 3:52 PM

But where would you get one of those vpn / torrent yoke

Mute Declan Bowe
    Favourite Declan Bowe
    Jul 30th 2015, 4:53 PM

take it you’re been sarcastic yes?

Mute Alan White
    Favourite Alan White
    Jul 30th 2015, 6:59 PM

You’re a smart lad Declan, gold star for you

Mute Horgan Tim
    Favourite Horgan Tim
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:44 AM

Well Amazon’s On Demand service isnt available in Ireland is this isnt much use to us. Unless you use a VPN.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:47 AM

Wouldn’t worry Tim. Given the poplarity of Top Gear, I’d imagine this will be available a few hours after broadcast from the usual places

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:55 AM

Connolly is correct if Amazon don’t launch their prime video service in Ireland soon they’ll lose out big time!

Is it still the case in the UK that watching prime instant video, even on a telly, doesn’t require a TV licence, big middle finger there to the BBC if that is the case

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:01 PM

It will be available to torrent within hours of bradcast. Thats the route I shall take.

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:42 AM

Did he ever apologise to the lad he attacked? I know it’s all about the money but no pompous racist should be encouraged with a pat on the back, even if it’s from another company..shame on you Amazon Video.

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:43 AM

Several times he has apologised. He’s not a pompous racist either. So settle down there, love.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:48 AM

he did. several times.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:03 PM

If you dont like him, dont watch him, and move right along. Simple.

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:08 PM

As much as I don’t like him, he did apologise several times

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:56 PM

he also sounded like he meant it

Mute Middle Class Cork
    Favourite Middle Class Cork
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:59 PM

@The Girl. As men we generally don’t look for apologies if we’re attacked. Then again, a real man would hit back!! Maybe I’m a ‘neanderthal’ but anyone who ever hit me, didn’t do it a second time.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:25 PM

Stephen, if you think he is not a british supremacist and believes the races are inferior you probably have not been paying attention

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:38 PM

Wayne, for someone who doesn’t watch the show you seem to know a lot about it.

See what you are trying to do (rather pathetically) is equate his on camera character and media persona to that of an actual racist. He obviously exaggerates the plucky proud Brit stereotype to an extreme and it is hilarious most of the time.

I would say he is proud of British history and its industrial pedigree. Is there something wrong with that? I don’t think so. Last time I checked contemporary use of the term “British” didn’t correspond with any skin colour or ethnic group. So if he believes that British culture and identity is the best, then more power to him.

Mute Kevin Mc Quillan
    Favourite Kevin Mc Quillan
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:55 AM

Obnoxious, egotistical Clarkson. I would rather watch paint dry.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:04 PM

And yet here you are commenting on an artlicle about him.

Mute Very fond of
    Favourite Very fond of
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:11 PM

Is there are a law against that Karol ?! You’re 100% right Kevin.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:16 PM

Did I mention that I felt he was breaking the law?

Mute Very fond of
    Favourite Very fond of
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:29 PM

No Karol – but I reckon u know what I meant. Semantics at play methinks

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:41 AM

Same tired format they were stringing along for the last few years no doubt

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:46 AM

Yes that tired format that made it the most watched television show in the world with over 350 million viewers.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:22 PM

Stephen viewer figures for the last 3 series were in decline from its peak.

Mute TheDoctor
    Favourite TheDoctor
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:41 PM

maybe,but it’s still the most watched tv show in the world.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Jul 30th 2015, 2:32 PM

NCIS is the most watched tv show in the world not Top Gear.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 30th 2015, 2:46 PM

depends, are we talking viewing numbers or number of countries in which it’s watched?

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Jul 30th 2015, 2:58 PM

Viewing figures

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Jul 30th 2015, 3:28 PM

What are the viewing figures? All I’ve found is that it had 58 million viewers in 2014, which awarded it the most watched drama series in the world.

Mute Enda O Brien
    Favourite Enda O Brien
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:39 AM

swwwweeeet

Mute OhhMeSoHorny
    Favourite OhhMeSoHorny
    Jul 30th 2015, 2:48 PM

If its on the internet you will be able to get it. VPN.

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:42 AM

Hopefully Amazon will launch prime in Ireland soon so people can have access to this. Its a bit ridiculous at this stage that we don’t have instant video and prime delivery.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:04 PM

They just bought a massive warehouse in Dublin, so maybe they will launch the service soon

Mute Seán O leprechaun
    Favourite Seán O leprechaun
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:33 PM

Fantastic! For a few months there I thought the world had lost forever the televised antics of the smuggest, most obnoxious, pompous and wearisome trio of men-children that history has ever known.

Mute Liam O'Reilly
    Favourite Liam O'Reilly
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:34 PM

They’ve bought 10+ massive warehouses and plots in Dublin over the last 5 years. They are for Amazon data centres.

Mute Neil Burke
    Favourite Neil Burke
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:54 PM

Lovely, good enough to host the content. Not good enough to view it,

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:06 PM

@Sean, I agree, three washed up has beens. Plenty of good talent out there and these old farts will not give young talent a look in. Reminds me of another TV station !!

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:13 PM

Snob

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:25 PM

I want an amazon.ie first, sick of getting shafted by currency conversion. Considering their large presence here not even having an Irish store front is a joke. They let me sign up to amazon prime even though the main benefit of amazon prime, the free next day delivery, isn’t available for here, they’ll still charge you the same amount though and wont even offer the 2 day delivery (which is available) as an alternative unless you badger 3 different customer service reps for an hour

Mute Jack DaCosta
    Favourite Jack DaCosta
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:07 PM

You can’t keep a good man down.
    Jeremy Clarkson is the Mad Max of reality TV.
    An anti hero in the barren landscape of a politically correct dystopia.

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:23 PM

Yeah. I love him because he makes liberals cry.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

YES!

Now, if news breaks that they’re doing the long overdue 918, P1 & LaFerrari shootout, that will absolutely make my day.

Mute Grey Beard
    Favourite Grey Beard
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:23 PM

I did love top gear with Hammond, Clarkson and May but I really hope the new top gear will be successful without them. Just because Clarkson is arrogant and seems to think he can do and get away with whatever he wants because the show won’t be successful without him.

But Chris Evans?? I dont see it workng

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:22 PM

The new Top Gear will be the poster child of politically correct tokenism.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:05 PM

I hope this fails, but there are enough readers of the Star out there to keep these 3 toffs in comfort for a while. What is it with people wanting to watch public school Boys driving around?

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:07 PM

Moronic comment of the week.

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:13 PM

Entitled to your opinion on them but in fairness they are hardly toffs. They’ve worked pretty hard to get where they did.

Clarkson is from Yorkshire and went to a co-ed school….so not really in line with the toff image.

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:49 AM

Forgive the idiot, give him more money because car lovers want him back on TV, even if he showed his true colours as a racist..Come on people. A bi-plane to a spaceship or whatever he said..? BBC top gear made you now you insult it? It only takes time, he’ll be racist again. Once a racist, always one

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran

I couldnt care less if he’s a racist or that he punched that guy. He’s a top notch car show presenter and that’s all that matters to me.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:26 PM

Ha! In this world you could be literally Hitler but as long as you’re good at talking about cars people will love you.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:36 PM

Joanna

I suggest you educate yourself on Aldolf Hitler.

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:48 PM

People want him back as a TV presenter, not as a bff. He’s good at what he does and enough people enjoy it by their own free will so why complain?

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:14 PM

Remember when racist meant hating or discriminating against someone because of their skin colour, nationality or religion.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:24 PM

Ah Karol, I was exaggerating for dramatic effect. Personally I find it difficult to support someone’s work after I realise they’re an awful person. A lot of people would feel the same but not everyone.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:30 PM

How do you know what sort of person he is? Do you know him personally?

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:32 PM

He punched his boss. Sounds like a stand up chap altogether.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jul 30th 2015, 6:48 PM

Well then he’s done something that we’ve all wanted to do.

Mute Nigel Carroll
    Favourite Nigel Carroll
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:58 AM

Things looking good for Hulk Hogan so.

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Jul 30th 2015, 4:49 PM

hogan is nailed on to be on UK celebrity big brother

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:08 PM

Getting a bit tiring now those trio, loved top gear, but for me it’s had its time, that’s just me of course others will not be the same

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Favourite Oliver McLoughlin
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:39 PM

some people really do not understand what racism actually is. Being from Ireland doesnt make me a seperate race of human being. For the love of fictional characters in the sky, will you please stop branding everyone racist at every turn.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:35 PM

You are dead right some people don’t get what racism is and it is you. Irish people are an ethnic group, treating an ethnic group with insults and generally badly is racism. So two ” white” groups can be racist to each other. You misunderstand racism to mean ‘race’ only and them use a narrow understanding of the term.

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Favourite Oliver McLoughlin
    Jul 30th 2015, 3:43 PM

Oh, erm no. You are wrong.

Mute Terri MacDonald
    Favourite Terri MacDonald
    Jul 30th 2015, 4:33 PM

can we focus on the real issue here…..who got custody of The Stig?

Mute josecafe
    Favourite josecafe
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:54 PM

It’s no problem it will ‘ve available for download free of charge on torrent websites. Perfect

Mute Adam Fox
    Favourite Adam Fox
    Jul 30th 2015, 10:06 PM

It’ll be on “DAVE” soon.

Mute Eamonn Morrissey
    Favourite Eamonn Morrissey
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:27 PM

It should be on nickelodeon.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Jul 30th 2015, 2:07 PM

G.O.B.S.H.I.T.E.S. The lot of them.

Mute Gemma Shah
    Favourite Gemma Shah
    Jul 30th 2015, 2:42 PM

It really irritates me that the BBC, ITV and Amazon penalize ROI consumers.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:31 PM

As a motoring enthusiast I wouldn’t give a stuff if this trio disappeared down a hole. Fifth gear for me!

Mute Diarmuid O Doherty
    Favourite Diarmuid O Doherty
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:59 PM

I’ll be downloading it on Showbox and watching it on my tv through my Chromecast, sorted.

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:47 PM

Ok he’s not racist… Just a xenophobic British.. Better right?

Mute Stephen M
    Favourite Stephen M
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:41 PM

You sound like an anti-British xenophobic bigot and probably a misandrist to boot also.

See its not nice when people say mean things. Isn’t that right, sweetheart?

Mute Simon Williamson
    Favourite Simon Williamson
    Jul 30th 2015, 5:54 PM

Three pathetic losers, absolutely. cants, although I will admit they were hugely popular among men with tiny mickeys

Mute Sticky Micky
    Favourite Sticky Micky
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:02 PM

Tosspots

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 30th 2015, 2:28 PM

good news they are bunch of tossers,snobs talking shite.

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:12 PM

Woo hoo!

Mute Aiden Galvin
    Favourite Aiden Galvin

Rain gear

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jul 30th 2015, 11:22 PM

More bollocks!

Mute David
    Favourite David

33-1 on engaging that anti-choice propaganda.

Mute Owen Slattery
    Favourite Owen Slattery
    Jul 30th 2015, 2:00 PM

I’ll watch it the same way as before, as will everybody else.

Mute Red Marauder
    Favourite Red Marauder
    Jul 30th 2015, 6:56 PM

The blocking system is based on the IP source. Thankfully the restriction is quite easy to bypass. You need to use a VPN service account based in the US , which you have for 5 Dollars a Month. -Select a provider with US server location -Download the software -Switch your IP -Connect to Amazon Instant Video

Mute Pharmyco
    Favourite Pharmyco
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:31 PM

As a Netflix subscriber, I’m delighted by this development.

Mute Dain Flemming
    Favourite Dain Flemming
    Jul 30th 2015, 5:38 PM

Great news I really don’t want to see it!

Mute eoin lee
    Favourite eoin lee
    Jul 30th 2015, 12:29 PM

hopefully they won’t have any of that star in a reasonably priced car bull top gear was good when it was fantasy, units obtainable cars and set up situations.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 30th 2015, 1:02 PM

the “that’s something I can afford” element is very important

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jul 30th 2015, 4:32 PM

as Amazon don’t offer Prime in Ireland. I’m sure that they’ll have no problems selling the Irish rights of it to RTE, TV3 or ITV.

Mute Jojo Low
    Favourite Jojo Low
    Feb 13th 2016, 1:55 AM

Watch prime movies, netflix, bbc iplayer and even itv player while on vacation. With VPN unlimited you get encrypted and secured connection which allows you to browse safely and discretely on the internet. Click the link below for your limited time offer of 3 months http://www.fiverr.com/s/8sz6eb?utm_source=com.google.android.apps.docs_Mobile

Mute Jojo Low
    Favourite Jojo Low
    Feb 13th 2016, 1:55 AM

Watch prime movies, netflix, bbc iplayer and even itv player while on vacation. With VPN unlimited you get encrypted and secured connection which allows you to browse safely and discretely on the internet. Click the link below for your limited time offer of 3 months http://www.fiverr.com/s/8sz6eb?utm_source=com.google.android.apps.docs_Mobile

Mute Jack DaCosta
    Favourite Jack DaCosta
    Jul 30th 2015, 6:28 PM

……..