You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The flag Naomilong.com

Condemnation after KKK flag erected by protesters in Belfast

One MP said it added an “even more sinister edge” to recent race-related incidents in the city.

THERE HAS BEEN widespread condemnation after a Ku Klux Klan flag was erected by protesters in Belfast.

The flag appeared on a lamppost in east Belfast on Monday before being removed the following day after complaints were made to the PSNI about it.

One MP said that it added “an even more sinister edge” to recent race-related incidents in the city.

First Minister Peter Robinson said the flag was “grossly offensive” and said the person who put it up was an “idiot”.

The blue flag shows a silver eagle, almost identical to the heraldic eagle used in Nazi Germany, with a red KKK symbol and  the words ‘New Order Knights’ above and ‘Ku Klux Klan’ below.

The New Order Knights are a small splinter group of the KKK who claim that their mission is to “preserve the white heritage, so future generations will know and learn from their history”.

MP for East Belfast Naomi Long of the Alliance Party said she had passed on a number of complaints from constituents to the PSNI.

“Yet again we see those who wish to bully anyone different from them use flags and emblems to assert dominance and control over a community,” she said.

“To do so at all is to be condemned but to put up these flags in broad daylight shows just how brazen the culprits are”.

Read: How white supremacists nearly took over a tiny town > 

Read: Asda defends selling wearable flag likened to a KKK hood > 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

101 Comments
    Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:33 PM

165 previous convictions and people think the sentence is harsh? FML

Mute Teddington
    Favourite Teddington
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:49 PM

We need a harsh rule to stop career criminals, to be honest we could start at 100 strikes and you get a life sentence and it woujd still improve things!

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 18th 2015, 8:23 PM

Sounds like a plan – when interviewing Anglo bankers, slip some laxative in their coffee. When the mess ensues, the judge will go to town on them later. Their barrister may be able to bamboozle the court on corruption and fraud charges, but try weasel out of the defecation charge.
    Sean Fitzpatrick: 10 years
    Fingers Fingleton: 15 years
    Matt Moran : 50 years
    I am not saying any of these individuals are guilty of any financial wrongdoing , but we could fit them up for a defecation offense

Mute david murphy
    Favourite david murphy
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:29 PM

So many convictions…so many bleeding hearts out there too. Another toerag thinking he can just do what he wants.

Mute Keith Healy
    Favourite Keith Healy
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:20 PM

Justice system in ireland is all over the place!! People get less for losing the country billions!

Mute Tim Outrage
    Favourite Tim Outrage
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:43 PM

Any names?

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Nov 18th 2015, 8:47 PM

Brian lenihan, Michael noonan… That’s a start.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:19 PM

God what an hourly rate 131 for cleaning a room – where do I sign.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:22 PM

and we struggle with budgets to keep Garda stations opened, so for stealing 16 euro’s of Fairy Liquid, pooping – we spend a further 121,333 euro keeping him in Mount Joy – great lads !

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:28 PM

Back in my day a cop would have put on rubber gloves and cleaned it up. Nowadays, they outsource it. Poor Gardai, they don’t like the rain or cleaning up a bit of shit.

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Proinsias O Foghlù
    Favourite Proinsias O Foghlù
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:30 PM

Idiot do you think they went in with a wet wipe and picked it up. It is unknown what diseases that scuumbag is harbouring I would think that room was given a deep clean.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:30 PM

Back in my day the cops would have force fed it to him……

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:32 PM

Martin you are not looking at the bigger picture. He got caught 165 times stealing so how many times didn’t he get caught? Multiply that by the amount of goods he stole each time and I’m fairly sure it would add up to much more than €16 and that’s why he is locked up.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:32 PM

Maybe he had the scutters. Pebble dashed the whole wall.

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:33 PM

Proinsias if that was the case dipstick, the most dangerous job in the world is that of a toilet cleaner.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:37 PM

Even with a deep clean by someone with the HACCP courses done (like me) a rate of 131 euro for half an hours work done is pretty good going – don’t assume were all idiots – Alesis

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:42 PM

I didn’t assume it, Martin. I’m simply pointing out how ludicrous is it that a Garda can;t clean a room or cell in 2015. What would happen if it happened in a station in a small town in the middle of the country? Would the Gardai call someone in from the city to clean it? If so, that’s outrageous and a shcoking waste of money.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:45 PM

True Alesis, when you add that, it is a shocking waste of money, and I wonder after 165 previous convictions what’s not working in the system.

Mute naoibh b
    Favourite naoibh b

So by ur logic nurses have to clean a hospital, teachers clean the schools etc etc. Ur just having a cut at the gardai ya ape

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:50 PM

@ Martin.
    So with that logic we will introduce a minimum cost before the guards investigate.
    Pull your head out of your hole.

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:51 PM

Oh Jesus Naoibh.

“So by ur logic nurses have to clean a hospital” – Yes. That happened up to very recently and is now yet another reason why the health service is in shit and costs a bloody fortune to run,. We know have manky hospitals and superbugs Bring back the Matron – they ran a tight ship and at least cleaned the bloody place.

“teachers clean the schools” – as a matter of fact yes. Teachers AND students used to clean the schools in days gone by. Imagine that. What depravity eh?

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:54 PM

When did teachers have to clean the toilets in schools??

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:00 PM

That’s true Martin, I reckon instead of blaming the guy who appears to have had a fairly good start in life and to end up pooping in a garda station needs to be looked at, simply rearresting him over and over again for the same crimes and it not working is like the definition of madness repeating the same mistakes over and over again and expecting different results, at least the guy can plead that he was out of his head on gear, what’s the judicial systems excuse?

Mute naoibh b
    Favourite naoibh b
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:04 PM

Would ya cop on. All public buildings have cleaning and or cleaning contractors. Please reply when u know what u are talking about. I would rather have nurses teachers etc employed to do the job they are paid to do rather than clean the building they work from. I wonder how many apple or metronic employees have to clean the building they work in? None I’d guess and rightly so.

Mute Alesis
    Favourite Alesis
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:24 PM

Jesus you’re not too bright are you. The Gardai and nurses deal with intoxicated people every night of the week. It’s part of the job description. Apple don;t and nor do public companies. There is no parallel.

Mute naoibh b
    Favourite naoibh b
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:40 PM

I’m not to bright . U can’t even answer what I have stated. There are cleaners employed to do the job of cleaning. Nurses nurse, teachers teach and gardai police. Do you get ta concept or will I have to spell it out slower for you. The point about apple etc was that public and private bodies have a similar policy when it comes to cleaning the buildings they work in. Try understand stop making a fool of your self

Mute mel
    Favourite mel
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:51 PM

Well nurses pretty much do. If it is human waste on on the ground/wall whatever a nurse has to clean it up before the cleaners will clean it.

Mute naoibh b
    Favourite naoibh b
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:07 PM

You’ll find there is a hospital orderly to do that job most of the time a nurses aid and what have you. In some cases I suppose a nurse has to deal with a person who is incontent etc. My point is that cleaners are employed to clean public buildings but for some reason alesis thinks the gardai should have to clean the garda stations. I wonder does he have an axe to grind the fool

Mute Duff
    Favourite Duff
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:16 PM

naoibh b- few would suggest that the gardai should have to clean the garda stations. However many would think that one of them could have gloved up, picked up the turd and wiped the floor with disinfectant instead of calling the cleaners in specifically to carry out that one small five minute task. If a child did it in a classroom I am pretty certain that a teacher would clean it up rather than calling in the cleaners to pick it up for them.

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:33 PM

It was a scatalogical crime scene area, so it had to cleaned forensically.

Nov 18th 2015, 7:57 PM

Why didn’t they make him clean it up himself ?

Mute naoibh b
    Favourite naoibh b
    Nov 18th 2015, 8:06 PM

I find it hard to equate the innocent mistake of a child with that of a prisoner deliberately doing that in ta corner of an interview room. Accordingly I would find it hard to think a garda should have to clean up after its just not the same. Would you do it? Even it you would I feel you shouldn’t have to. I think the gardai were fully entitled to call in the cleaners on this occasion. Not easy for them either btw

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 18th 2015, 8:12 PM

Is your day the 1800′s?!

Mute Duff
    Favourite Duff
    Nov 18th 2015, 8:29 PM

naoibh b if the choice was clean it up in 5 minutes myself or call the cleaners specifically to do it at a cost to the taxpayer, then yes I would clean it up myself. Maybe if I worked in the public sector I’d feel differently about using resources

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Nov 18th 2015, 8:35 PM

@ Naoibh actually nurses do have to clean any and all bodily fluids up. The cleaners won’t and dont do it, fact.

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Nov 18th 2015, 8:38 PM

Naoibh we don’t have orderlies or nurses aids in Ireland. We have healthcare assistants and porters. And it stills stands, the nurses still clean up the bodily fluids.

Nov 18th 2015, 8:46 PM

We have nursing assistant/ aides .

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:07 AM

You obviously didn’t read what I said.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:31 PM

165 previous convictions, I know that most of these boyos normally say that they “couldn`t give a shit” – but this fella obviously could.
    sort of Karma that he will be slopping out his own cell for the next 16 months, ah well, they say practice makes perfect.

Mute Brian Nowlan
    Favourite Brian Nowlan

Are you serious!! 2 years for drunk driving killing 8 people and 16months for this!!!

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:55 PM

165 previous convictions to his name

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:24 PM

16 months for two boxes of Fairy Liquid tablets and having a shit?
    I don’t know anymore.
    I really don’t.
    Actually I just give up.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:35 PM

I wonder if there was any bubbles in his poo?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:47 PM

€131 euro to clean the cell and how much is it going to cost to keep this danger to society in prison?

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:20 PM

Merry Christmas, sh*tter was full.

Mute Marty Borgnine
    Favourite Marty Borgnine
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:24 PM

So we’ll all just ignore him stealing everyday of the week. The store owners won’t mind of course.

Mute Elaine mc sweeney
    Favourite Elaine mc sweeney
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:27 PM

165 previous convictions?!?!

Mute Fionn Mallon
    Favourite Fionn Mallon
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:23 PM

Sh#t and fairy tabs 16 months… DOB makes a ton of money from the corrupt dealings with lowry re telecoms license…. Gets to buy us a painting!!!

Best little country

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan

165 previous convictions

Mute Philip Grant
    Favourite Philip Grant
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:09 PM

Fionn…165 previous’s ….. He deserved a lot more,the ignorant filthy pig…. People moaning over DOB continually,is just boring at this stage … Fair play to him for making billions…we all would if we could !!!

Mute Fionn Mallon
    Favourite Fionn Mallon
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:28 PM

Bent billions!

We all would?? Maybe you! But I’m of the opinion that the inequality of wealth is at the core of humanity’s problems.

Especially wealth amassed by fraudulent and corrupt behaviour!

If the tribunals findings were followed up on then we could find a situation whereby DOBS investments since this time each amount to an illegal transaction!

One rule for the powerful, anyone espousing differently is either a fool or a knave!

Which one are you?

Mute Philip Grant
    Favourite Philip Grant
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:26 PM

I’m a realist who dosent spend his time moaning and whining at every opportunity . Life’s too short ..stop moaning and grow up..there will always be very rich, rich,middle class ,working class and poor …that’s life …communism never worked …ask half of Eastern Europe !!!

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Nov 18th 2015, 8:48 PM

give it up fionn ta f@ck of course you’d take the money.

Mute leon James.
    Favourite leon James.

Classy fella.Did they use the fairy liquid tablets to clean it up?.

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Favourite Stephen Mc Elligott

The man is obviously critically mentally unstable. I think 16 months in prison was a bit harsh. He needs rehab and counselling as prison won’t help him or us he needs someone of good influence to help him turn his life around. I’ve seen bigger criminals get away with a lot less than 16 months for bigger crimes.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:53 PM

Look at his previous convictions…

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:15 PM

What were his previous convictions for?

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:20 PM

Mainly theft according to article…

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:25 PM

Then he should have gotten help a long time ago. He is mentally unstable and Jail time will increase that instability tenfold doing both him and society no favor as he will be out robbing again in no time. He needs someone of good influence to turn his life around. He’s fallen from the ladder and just needs counselling and to be sent to a mental hospital until he gets better.

Mute ManUMan
    Favourite ManUMan
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:54 PM

Agree Stephen. The dude is obviously destroyed because of his addiction & the answer is put him on a methadone programme & lock him up. There is nowhere else to put him only back into the prison system where he learns more ways to scam for his habit & has endless amounts of it. The system is stuffed full of addicts and people with mental problems that are considered criminals. They might have committed a criminal act but have serious underlying issues that can be managed & fixed with the right attitude & skills. In prisons they are used by proper criminals for holding gear, phones whatever in cells. Ireland is going the same route as the US prison system which is clogged with people that will never get out of the it because they throw them altogether & don’t deal with the core problem. We need more facility’s for the mentally challenged. More facilities for drug addicts & properly trained staff in them. Crime is not our problem,yet. Addiction is

Mute Marty Borgnine
    Favourite Marty Borgnine
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:23 PM

Stephen do you really think that the approach that you have mentioned was not tried in the past? He’s a recidivist and has to take some level of responsibility himself.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:17 PM

Lol

Mute Gracie
    Favourite Gracie
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:33 PM

A load of crap

Mute Cardio Reilly
    Favourite Cardio Reilly
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:48 PM

He should have stole immodium tablets

Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:46 PM

It just goes to show how fragile some people are. A couple of not-even-that-hard knocks in life and some people can be reduced to this…

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:11 PM

they should have mopped it up with his face dirty bastid

Mute Denis Kaye
    Favourite Denis Kaye
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:29 PM

This place is a joke

Mute Paul Friday Shannon
    Favourite Paul Friday Shannon
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:19 PM

Lol

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:53 PM

Isn’t it ironic? You can scam the nation of billions, bribe Ministers to secure a lucrative licence, Evade Tax, silence debate on important public issues, ——But, make a nuisance in a cop shop – and you’e banged up..

Mute Philip Grant
    Favourite Philip Grant
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:11 PM

Peter…yawn ,yawn and double yawn…. Change your tune …do your moaning in next years election … Run yourself for f#ck sake,see how good you are !!

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Nov 18th 2015, 9:35 PM

More Prisons Please
    The legal lobby don’t want more prisons as their customers are repeat offenders. Somebody with numerous convictions can potentially make solicitors, Junior council and Senior Council a huge amount of money. They also make money from the damage caused in insurance claims. Of course the judges and their families are all involved in the business so the status quo is maintained. It’s a huge business and if offenders were imprisoned it would seriously effect their business. People’ lives are put in danger to allow criminals continue to prosper and the legal profession to thrive. The moral in the Gardai is shot to pieces with repeat offenders constantly getting off cries. Shame on our government.

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:54 PM

He’ll definitely need his fairy godmother to get out of this mess

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Nov 18th 2015, 5:35 PM

Right so, if you are a drink driving financier that likes to take a dump in an interview room you are in for a long sentence. Fair enough so….

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:24 PM

You’d think with him stealing all those detergents down the years that he’d have a clean criminal record.

Mute dearg doom
    Favourite dearg doom

He can shit on my doorstep if he likes as long as he doesn’t take a real criminal’s place in jail.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Nov 18th 2015, 6:09 PM

now you know why they call me dirty harry.. every dirty job that comes along

Mute Mikeconnor
    Favourite Mikeconnor
    Nov 18th 2015, 11:30 PM

Should have been beaten till he sucked it all up through a straw!

Mute Oliver Cullen
    Favourite Oliver Cullen
    Nov 18th 2015, 8:29 PM

Some high to low in only a few years..

Mute Stephen Lynch
    Favourite Stephen Lynch
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:11 PM

That sentence was aload of shit

Mute Inis Stone
    Favourite Inis Stone
    Nov 18th 2015, 11:42 PM

166 convictions now

Mute Fionn Mallon
    Favourite Fionn Mallon
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:32 PM

Philip

In your little rant you managed to address none of my points!

Perhaps you could try again?

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 20th 2015, 3:30 PM

Expensive poo. I’d have picked it up with my bare hand for the €31. Actually for €2.