You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Hundreds queued from before dawn to get into Dublin's newest doughnut shop. Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Hundreds of people in Blanchardstown have queued for doughnuts over the last two days

Hundreds of people have queued up outside Dublin’s newest Doughnut offering.

DUBLIN HAS DEVELOPED a fondness for doughnuts over the past few years, but the opening of few outlets has matched the Krispy Kreme madness of the last 24 hours. 

The outlet in Blanchardstown shopping centre opened its doors at 7am on Wednesday to a queue of several hundred people. 

Doughnut enthusiasts took to social media to document the experience, with several parents it seems, roped in to get there before school began. 

Local Fine Gael councillor Ted Leddy was one of the first inside the doors and said he wasn’t prepared for all the fuss. 

I wasn’t quite prepared for what a big deal it was. There were about 300 people queuing at 7am, some had been there since 4am.

Leddy says he’s not a “doughnut man himself” but is happy about the store’s opening: 

I was happy to be there because it’s 120 jobs and a lot of them are local jobs.

The craze shows no sign of dying down just yet, with queues reported from early once again this morning. 

Martha Martha's mixed box of doughnuts. Courtesy of Martha Dowling Courtesy of Martha Dowling

Martha Dowling from Clonee said her children bribed her to pick some of the sugary treats up on her way home from work yesterday. 

My kids made a deal with me, they would clean downstairs in my house if I got them a box of Krispy Kremes on the way home. 

The new outlet has a drive-thru facility and Dowling said when she arrived at about 7pm yesterday evening, she was warned she may have to queue for up to an hour. However she got through the queue within 20 minutes and secured a mixed box for her entrepreneurial children. 

Dowling says the house was “lovely and clean” by the time she got home. 

Despite the queues, a spokesperson for AA Roadwatch says there hasn’t been any noticeable traffic disruption as a result of the opening. The AA’s Barry Aldworth said: “We’re aware of the long queues, but it doesn’t seem to be having any actual impact on traffic.”

In a statement, Krispy Kreme said it was ”overjoyed to have people from all around Ireland share the excitement of opening day”.  

Leddy said he wouldn’t judge anyone for their enthusiasm about the opening: “It seems to be a bit of a phenomenon, it was a bit odd, will it last or not I don’t know.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

122 Comments
    Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:30 PM

What is the human race coming to,we are slowly becoming Americanized

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:32 PM

@dick dastardly: A touch overdramatic, no?

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:34 PM

@dick dastardly: I was just thinking the same. You’d wanna be some sad case to queue for a donut opening so you can brag about it on Instagram or whatever.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:39 PM

@Clifford Brennan: No

Mute A Sharks Tempo
    Favourite A Sharks Tempo
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:43 PM

@Jonathan Power: pffft. it’s called ‘insta’ now. where have you been?!

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:50 PM

@dick dastardly: are you Dick Dastardly the American cartoon villain. Are you sure you are not being Americanized yourself there Dicky ?

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:59 PM

@A Sharks Tempo: was reading a great book recently called ‘Hooked, how to build habit forming products’. Very interesting the techniques the ‘hooks’ these companies use to get people addicted to their products, fascinating stuff really makes you look at the whole thing from a different angle.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hooked-How-Build-Habit-Forming-Products/dp/0241184835/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1538052959&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=hooked+how+to+build+habit-forming+products&dpPl=1&dpID=41CLybict0L&ref=plSrch

Mute deisecelt
    Favourite deisecelt
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:34 PM

@Jonathan Power: each to their own dick.

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:35 PM

Doughnuts have been native to Ireland since the 80′s at least. Quinnsworth did a lovely (looking back now, brutal) doughnut…

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:44 PM

@Clifford Brennan: Have you listened to kids talking lately?? Full American accents on a lot of them.

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:48 PM

@dick dastardly: Well were already Asianised with the obsession with Asian based cars, tvs, cameras, computers, phones, fridges etc. While every kind of food ingredient and material for the above mentioned things can be sourced in the eu.

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:54 PM

@Clifford Brennan: I think queuing for a donut is a tad over dramatic, yes?

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:00 PM

@A Sharks Tempo: Living life & not constantly documenting it.

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:10 PM

@Jimmy jones: I think he was pointing to the fact that the Krispy Kreme brand(I’ve never heard of it) was already very popular here even though they’ve only just opened their first doughnut shop(or if you like, ‘donut store’). The reason for this is likely due to American pop culture, or, the Americanisation of Dublin and to a lesser extent, Ireland.

Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:15 PM

@Don Juan: Native since at least the sixties. I can remember freshly made, sugar coated doughnuts, still warm, in Butlins Holiday Camp in Mosney, washed down with a small bottle (glass) of Coca Cola. At that stage, food of the gods for a small child.

Mute Roger Wynne
    Favourite Roger Wynne
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:51 PM

That has to be the saddest queue ever.

Mute Cheapy Ryan
    Favourite Cheapy Ryan
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:31 PM

How very pathetic.

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:48 PM

@Cheapy Ryan: yeah true … still wouldn’t say no if somebody brought one home to me though

Mute Sean Leonard
    Favourite Sean Leonard
    Sep 27th 2018, 8:23 PM

@Cheapy Ryan: totally agree, we( as a nation)are sad if its come to this

Mute A Sharks Tempo
    Favourite A Sharks Tempo

We’re doomed as a speices…

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:40 PM

@A Sharks Tempo: Yeah even our spellcheckers are letting us down.

Mute A Sharks Tempo
    Favourite A Sharks Tempo
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:41 PM

@A Sharks Tempo: I deliberately spelled ‘species’ incorrectly as furthur proof of our cultural decline by the way, so no need to point that out…

Mute A Sharks Tempo
    Favourite A Sharks Tempo
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:42 PM

@A Sharks Tempo: In the interest of honesty, I accidentally spelled ‘further’ incorrectly in my reply. Onwards and upwards!

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:14 PM

@A Sharks Tempo: You may have initiated Skynet’s takeover. Oh well, I suppose our robot overlords will feed us plenty doughnuts, or will it be ‘donuts’ shortly?

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons
    Sep 28th 2018, 1:58 AM

@A Sharks Tempo: as a speices???

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill

Sad. Really sad.

Mute Mickey Finn
    Favourite Mickey Finn

Shocking scenes in the middle of an obesity crisis. A minute on the lips , a lifetime on the lips

Mute Mickey Finn
    Favourite Mickey Finn
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:32 PM

@Mickey Finn: hips. Fat fingers syndrome

Mute dstaffx
    Favourite dstaffx
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:36 PM

@Mickey Finn: most ironic typo yet.

Mute Jodi
    Favourite Jodi
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:36 PM

@Mickey Finn: Fat fingers? Too many donuts?

Mute Red4fred
    Favourite Red4fred
    Sep 27th 2018, 5:51 PM

@Mickey Finn: is that Mickey Finn? Or Mickey Phat?

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie
    Sep 27th 2018, 7:53 PM

@Mickey Finn: at least standing balancing their bodyweight in that queue will burn a few calories

Mute Colm Vambeck
    Favourite Colm Vambeck
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:24 PM

I was in the petrol station this morning a a father was buying his 6 or 7 your old girl a can of coke a pack of crisps and a bar for her school lunch. So sad

Mute Patrick Mulligan
    Favourite Patrick Mulligan
    Sep 27th 2018, 5:52 PM

@Colm Vambeck: Worst thing is im not shocked, my 7 year old has only this year had his first taste of a fizzy drink and only 7-up if we go cinema water is his favourite drink ive seen coke in toddlers bottles before

Mute ✨Barbara Christopher
    Favourite ✨Barbara Christopher
    Sep 27th 2018, 7:13 PM

@Colm Vambeck: Shame in the school
    for Not having a healthy eating
    Policy!! And shame on the parent for same!!

Mute Dunn
    Favourite Dunn
    Sep 27th 2018, 10:17 PM

@Patrick Mulligan: I saw a seriously obese young mother in the local park one summers day, giving a six month old baby boy coke cola from the bottle she was drinking from. Awful to see. Talk about setting a child up for a life of obesity, bullying and ill health. Very sad.

Mute Jamie Murphy
    Favourite Jamie Murphy
    Sep 28th 2018, 9:45 AM

@Patrick Mulligan: 7up is still full of sugar. Coke zero or pepsi max is the only real sugarless option

Mute Graham McNamara
    Favourite Graham McNamara
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:49 PM

How much was this full page advert?

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:45 PM

I do fear for the future of this country at times

Mute Carl
    Favourite Carl
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:52 PM

Once the novelty wears off i cant see how a 24 hour donut place is sustainable

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:03 PM

@Carl: Garda also work night shifts

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:40 PM

@Carl: Stoners.

Mute Oonagh Brett-Francisco
    Favourite Oonagh Brett-Francisco
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:43 PM

@Carl: it will wear off, it did in the US!

Mute Aidan Rainsford
    Favourite Aidan Rainsford
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:30 PM

Whoever queued overnight is a right doughnut

Mute NEO (John)
    Favourite NEO (John)

Sad people

Mute Niall Reddan
    Favourite Niall Reddan
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:29 PM

Dafuq?

Mute Chris Hennessy
    Favourite Chris Hennessy
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:54 PM

4 articles down , the stress of trying to keep your kids fed . I guess this is just symptomatic of the division in Ireland’s society today . Very sad

Mute Niall Mac Giolla Phádraig
    Favourite Niall Mac Giolla Phádraig
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:33 PM

Great future business opportunities in treating poor diet related behaviour.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:07 PM

Sheep

Mute John McSweeney
    Favourite John McSweeney
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:56 PM

As if we werent fat enough. Honestly Ireland get a grip!

Mute Sean Leonard
    Favourite Sean Leonard
    Sep 27th 2018, 8:25 PM

@John McSweeney: bet they wouldn’t be queing if it was Slimfast

Mute Frank Emerson
    Favourite Frank Emerson
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:57 PM

So sad. Reminds me of the old joke.
    How do you fleece sheep ?
    Bring out a new IPhone.

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:51 PM

Alternative Reality ?

Is there a chemical that causes such weakness of intellect ?

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen

First world problems. They sleep on the streets while others que for doughnuts

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:35 PM

Fatness Emergency

Mute Kevin Farrell
    Favourite Kevin Farrell
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:17 PM

Are the AA taking the p*ss? I was in the Blanchardstown Centre last night to go to the cinema, and the traffic not just in the centre but the surrounding area was like Christmas rush hour traffic!

Mute Choppy Nagle
    Favourite Choppy Nagle

Had them in America recently.Nicest donuts I’ve ever had Cant even describe how tasty they are.But queuing like that for them is a bit mental.

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:42 PM

@Choppy Nagle: They taste nice because they put shocking chemicals in them, google them and you’d never touch them again.

Mute John D
    Favourite John D
    Sep 27th 2018, 5:11 PM

@Mark McDermott: not to mention loaded with sugar – nice once in a while but that’s about it,

Mute Colm Lawlor
    Favourite Colm Lawlor

Guess you need a nice treat while sitting at home watching jeremy kyle

Mute I get things wrong
    Favourite I get things wrong
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:50 PM

bit sad the first donut going to someone who isn’t a doughnut person

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:21 PM

Well you might as well enjoy them now, before they have the cancer warnings on them!

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh

That teddy whatever name needs a check up

Mute Brian Treacy
    Favourite Brian Treacy
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:59 PM

Sad!!!!!

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:12 PM

Opening of a doughnut shop? Should this article not be marked as ‘sponsored’? What eejit is going to believe it’s not!?

Mute Jimmy Timm
    Favourite Jimmy Timm
    Sep 27th 2018, 4:19 PM

How did Irish people get like this? Depressing

Mute sean farrell
    Favourite sean farrell
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:59 PM

Can someone correct me on this, Dunkin Donuts opened on Grafton street in the late 1980s but closed a year later due to lack of trade?

Mute Steven Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Steven Fitzpatrick
    Sep 27th 2018, 5:26 PM

@sean farrell: they’re mistake was to place the shop in a moderately educated environment. This store will flourish in blanch.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Sep 27th 2018, 10:52 PM

@Steven Fitzpatrick: says the man who can’t spell.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Sep 28th 2018, 11:43 AM

@sean farrell: That Dunkin Donuts was open for years mate. Didnt close till the early or mid noughties!

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:43 PM

Were they free

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:17 PM

Obesity Island here we come

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:38 PM

Why the f##k would you ? Come on people. Ffs

Mute Eamon Mcgirr
    Favourite Eamon Mcgirr
    Oct 3rd 2018, 11:21 AM

@Tony O Neill: and they all get to vote

Mute Gerry Fogarty
    Favourite Gerry Fogarty
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:06 PM

Seriously sick people

Mute the Goose
    Favourite the Goose
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:10 PM

It’s a fun story .the only thing sad is all the negatively

Mute John O'Keeffe
    Favourite John O'Keeffe
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:46 PM

Zeitgeist ….

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:12 PM

Hungry hoors.

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:14 PM

Obesity island here we come

Mute Andy mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy mc Laughlin
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:40 PM

So this is what it has come to. Is anyone else worried about the future?

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:58 PM

@Andy mc Laughlin: Yeap but I drink heavily so I don’t have to worry about it.

Mute Dave O'Looney
    Favourite Dave O'Looney

Queues are still outrageous.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Sep 27th 2018, 5:02 PM

Should be an obesity tax on them to pay for those claiming disability due to their obesity caused by eating too much and not exercising their fat a

Mute Sean Lynch
    Favourite Sean Lynch

Ted Leddy is like Fine Gael – all donut with a dirty big hole in the middle.

Mute Joe O'riordan
    Favourite Joe O'riordan
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:55 PM

Great unpaid advert !

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:31 PM

They are the nicest doughnuts I have ever tasted unlike anything else on market.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 27th 2018, 1:40 PM

Morons

Mute Mel Finn
    Favourite Mel Finn
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:53 PM

i was in blanchardstown shopping center 2 weeks ago and remarked how many people were walking around with krispy kreme boxes. if it only opened wednesday there must have been an outlet for these before that

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:59 PM

Nuts!!

Mute Cormac McCann
    Favourite Cormac McCann
    Sep 27th 2018, 9:03 PM

Would ye all dry your eyes and stop moanin! Don’t buy a donut if you don’t want one and let others do what they want….there’s bigger things to get annoyed at!

Mute Jesus Christ
    Favourite Jesus Christ
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:33 PM

Losers

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:44 PM

@Jesus Christ: I wouldn’t say losers, idiots id say.

Mute John O'Connor
    Favourite John O'Connor
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:28 PM

@Mark McDermott: Brave man contracting Jesus Christ

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Sep 27th 2018, 4:00 PM

@John O’Connor: Im hoping he sends me to hell, it would defo be better craic there than upstairs…not that I believe in that nonsense.

Mute Koen Smet
    Favourite Koen Smet
    Sep 27th 2018, 8:02 PM

Thinking about opening Broccoli Doughnuts next year, anyone up for it?

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:16 PM

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:50 PM

They are some of the best donuts on the planet but not worth queuing for on day one. They will still taste the same on day 2 or 200.

Mute Lambo Moonski
    Favourite Lambo Moonski
    Sep 27th 2018, 4:01 PM

Few grenades, sorted

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:35 PM

The first 100 Customers were free I believe – probably why the first day queue.

I will try them when the queues quieten – had them in the states many years ago – and were just ok – fine but I didn’t see why the fuss – bit small I thought compared to eg. Aungier Danger.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Sep 27th 2018, 5:42 PM

I wonder how many of these comments were posted by people waiting in the queue?

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie
    Sep 27th 2018, 10:30 PM

Sugar addiction queue of shame.

Mute Matt F
    Favourite Matt F
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:25 PM

Unless a doughnut can make your you knows you know what for an hour straight, it ain’t worth queuing 2 days for

Mute Pajo Mata
    Favourite Pajo Mata
    Sep 27th 2018, 3:01 PM

Hay. Obesity is a mental illness, and those who suffer from it, are entitled to life long disability benefit

Mute sb
    Favourite sb
    Sep 27th 2018, 5:19 PM

Lol people on the journal are so full of hate. I think that is the real sadness of this article. Don’t let these spiteful people fool you into thinking their mindsets are the perception of the many when it is only the few who actually bother to comment:)

Mute RossKeogh
    Favourite RossKeogh
    Sep 27th 2018, 10:57 PM

@sb: nah it is the view of many, queuing for an overpriced hipster donut is fairly pathetic in fairness!

Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    Sep 27th 2018, 9:16 PM

Bleedin donuts standing around that long when there’s hundreds of fat sugar balls in other shops.

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:38 PM

Fools, their donuts are pure poison. 8.4/10

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne
    Sep 27th 2018, 2:16 PM

Mute RossKeogh
    Favourite RossKeogh
    Sep 27th 2018, 10:56 PM

Queuing for donuts…. A clear sign your life is empty and meaningless

Mute Evert Bopp
    Favourite Evert Bopp
    Sep 27th 2018, 4:49 PM

“Doughnuts”?!
    What is this, the 1800′s?

Mute Patrick Mccann
    Favourite Patrick Mccann
    Sep 28th 2018, 7:03 PM

There was ten Garda cars parked outside and when asked why ??…The response was if it’s good enough for the N.Y.P.D. It’s good enough for us !!…

Mute Bob Dalchan
    Favourite Bob Dalchan
    Sep 28th 2018, 8:04 AM

People do that just for a doughnut? WOW!

Mute Glangan
    Favourite Glangan
    Sep 27th 2018, 6:12 PM

Unbelievable bunch of losers.

Mute Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Favourite Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Sep 28th 2018, 4:57 AM

I can smell a rat !! I drove by the store yesterday and there was a lot of college students in the queue

Mute CtrlAltDel
    Favourite CtrlAltDel
    Sep 27th 2018, 5:28 PM

Irish people love to get their hole alright

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    Sep 27th 2018, 7:40 PM

Can you get em online?

Mute Kevin O'Connor
    Favourite Kevin O'Connor
    Sep 27th 2018, 5:24 PM

Enjoy!

Mute Thomas Malley
    Favourite Thomas Malley
    Sep 29th 2018, 7:46 AM

The old Irish sweet tooth strikes again. Diabetes in a box. Kids ate crap in the past but they walked, ran and cycled everywhere and burned it off. Today’s kids don’t. They’re not allowed run in school playgrounds now and they’re stuck in front of PlayStation and Xbox all day. A health tsunami is coming.

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Sep 28th 2018, 12:41 PM

I dough nut see any issue.

Mute Martin Hoey
    Favourite Martin Hoey
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:38 AM

reminds me of the film the commitments I just saw the quee and thought you were selling drugs

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Sep 28th 2018, 6:45 AM

Sad bast*rds

Mute Arron
    Favourite Arron
    Sep 27th 2018, 9:02 PM

Shoot me.. Christ almighty.. what a farce