You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Minister for Health James Reilly Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

James Reilly must go: Labour grassroots meet to call for Reilly's resignation

The members say that Reilly’s approach to healthcare is “completely incompatible” with Labour values.

GRASSROOTS MEMBERS OF Labour are to meet this week to discuss how to bring about the resignation of Health Minister James Reilly.

The Campaign for Labour Policies said today that Reilly’s approach to healthcare provision is “completely incompatible” with Labour values.

The group will launch an online petition calling on Labour leader Eamon Gilmore to take action to ensure the resignation of Reilly as Minister for Health.

The members are calling for the alcohol misuse strategies proposed by Róisín Shortall before her resignation from the party to be implemented in full.

“James Reilly has not accounted properly for his decision to interfere with the priority list for primary health care centres,” said campaign spokesperson Neil Warner. “Indeed, his ‘explanations’ have made a mockery of the Government and insulted the intelligence of the public”.  Warner added:

If he will not go, he must be forced out by the Labour Party.

The members are to meet in Dublin this Wednesday to discuss the issue.

Disaffected members of the party formed the Campaign for Labour Policies last month to promote traditional Labour Party values which it says have been neglected in the party’s coalition government with Fine Gael.

Column: We’re dedicated Labour members – but we’re not happy with the party >

Read: Quinn angry at being misled over primary care centres answer in Dáil >

Read: ‘No ministerial involvement’ in selecting primary care sites – Gilmore >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

84 Comments
    Mute Gearóid Collins
    Favourite Gearóid Collins
    May 5th 2016, 8:39 PM

Love this..the mad Bast*rd :)… Fair play and good luck to him!

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    May 5th 2016, 9:39 PM

Couldn’t agree more. Taking g a chance has also given great publicity to it all.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 5th 2016, 8:39 PM

Heard this guy talking to Anton a few weeks ago when he was trying to get some black cabs out of London. He sounds like serious craic. Hope it all works out for him. I’d go for the storytelling this man does..hilarious.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    May 5th 2016, 8:49 PM

His enthusiasm is great. He’s got real drive. I hope it goes really well for him.

Mute Kevin Maughan
    Favourite Kevin Maughan
    May 6th 2016, 9:28 AM

The cabs arrived last week! A double decker bus came two days ago.

Mute Padraig
    Favourite Padraig
    May 5th 2016, 8:57 PM

There’ll be loads of couples heading to Sligo to join the mile high club.

Mute Shaun Hogan
    Favourite Shaun Hogan
    May 5th 2016, 9:01 PM

The turbulence will be pretty bad I’d say too

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    May 6th 2016, 4:42 AM

When the plane’s a-rockin’…….

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    May 6th 2016, 7:40 AM

Pity it wasn’t a Boeing 7-69!!!!!

I’ll get my coat…. and Av geeks, I know that a 769 doesn’t exist

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 5th 2016, 10:36 PM

If he could only get his hands on a couple of unattended Luas carriages…

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    May 5th 2016, 9:16 PM

He should call it AIR B and B.

Mute Niall Martin
    Favourite Niall Martin
    May 5th 2016, 8:56 PM

Looks like plane sailing from here.

Mute dominick mitchell
    Favourite dominick mitchell
    May 5th 2016, 8:47 PM

There will be plenty of people flying in that aircraft this summer ☺

Mute Alan Rothwell
    Favourite Alan Rothwell
    May 5th 2016, 9:45 PM

Maybe not THIS summer. Won’t be ready by then.

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    May 5th 2016, 10:38 PM

The mile low club surely …… it’ll be on the ground! Mind ye, they should put this guy in charge of the modular housing!

Mute James Onedin
    Favourite James Onedin
    May 5th 2016, 10:40 PM

Good for him, this is deadly!

Mute Jackson Bollovks
    Favourite Jackson Bollovks
    May 5th 2016, 9:16 PM

Sleep in a scrapyard in Sligo for €200 a night

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 5th 2016, 9:20 PM

Yep.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    May 6th 2016, 12:33 AM

Is that the same jet in which Boris Yeltsin toured Ireland, all those years ago, searching for a hangover cure before his audience at Shannon with then Taoiseach, the late Albert Reynolds?

Good luck to Mr McGowan with his new Undertaking.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    May 5th 2016, 11:40 PM

Great idea. Hope it works out for him.

Mute Owen Kennedy
    Favourite Owen Kennedy
    May 5th 2016, 11:30 PM

Flying without wings

Mute Marshall Appleshyte
    Favourite Marshall Appleshyte
    May 5th 2016, 8:46 PM

Even on the ground a Russian airliner is a no go area for me

Mute Stoneacre Studios
    Favourite Stoneacre Studios
    May 6th 2016, 7:06 AM

Good on ya David…such a big ‘undertaking’! Hope it ‘lands safely’ in Enniscrone and that @quirkyglamping ‘takes off’!

Mute Strong silent type
    Favourite Strong silent type
    May 6th 2016, 6:07 AM

Now that’s what you call plane sailing.

Mute Strong silent type
    Favourite Strong silent type
    May 6th 2016, 6:10 AM

Sh it! Just noticed that’s in the headline…

Mute Jimmy Duffy PBP
    Favourite Jimmy Duffy PBP
    May 6th 2016, 9:29 AM

Brilliant

Mute Helena Reed
    Favourite Helena Reed
    May 7th 2016, 3:18 AM

Real spell caster revives !
    Life without my husband was a real mess for me and my children,What on Earth will i do to thank Dr BALOGUN for his help? he is wonderful and has a good heart. He is like a God on Earth and i really do not know what to do to thank him for helping me regain my husbands love back with his spell. months ago my husband told me it was over between us and he let me and our children without saying a word, i did all i could to stop him because his mind was made up. few months later my friend told me how DR BALOGUN helped her with his spell,I love my husband so much that i would give up every thing for him, so i contacted Dr BALOGUN to also help me with his spell and he responded saying that he will help me with his spell that I should clam down and i will see result within 12 to 16 hours Today, i am so glad that everything happened just as Dr BALOGUN said, my husband will came back to me within 12 to 16 hours on his knees begging me to forgive him and I accepted him back into my life. Do you need help are you worried about your ex husband or your boyfriend left you for another,here is Dr BALOGUN he is a real and genuine spell caster contact him for help via email:
    balogunsolutiontemple@gmail.com

REGARD FROM,
    Dr BALOGUN