You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'The priests are all old men now, and so are we': Heartbreak at Limerick's last male-only Mass

Members are disappointed that there was no vote before the decision was made to end the 150-year-old service.

Last Male Only Mass 1 The attendees of the last male-only Mass in Limerick city. Liam Burke via Press22 Liam Burke via Press22

THE LAST MASS solely for men has been heard in Limerick city, with a group of men claiming that they have been “relegated to the second division” and will now have to join the regular Mass with women.

For 150 years, men in Limerick enjoyed their own exclusive Mass, from which women have in the past been turned away.

Now due to falling congregations, members of the Archconfraternity of the Redemptorist Order in Limerick city have been requested to attend the earlier 7.15pm Mass with all parishioners, instead of having their own 8pm Mass.

Tim McGrath, from Corbally, said they feel as if “we’ve been relegated to the second division, to shared Mass status”.

“Our Mass has been taken away from us. Our Monday evening Mass was our space and we wanted the status quo to remain. It’s a sad situation and very disappointing,” McGrath said.

We were not given an opportunity to discuss this – there was no debate, no vote, nothing. The majority of the people don’t want any change. What a lovely present for our 150th anniversary.

Up to 60 men have regularly attended the 8pm Monday mass in recent times – down from thousands each night at its religious zenith.

Father Seamus Enright, rector of the Redemptorists – one of the few religious orders to have survived in Limerick following the closure of the Dominicans, the Franciscans and the Jesuits – said the move is “sad, but we have to be realistic.”

While having a Mass just for men “could be viewed as a bit anachronistic in this modern age,” he said, he also acknowledged that “for many people it has proved to be a big break with tradition and a disruption in their lives.

“Others knew it was inevitable,” he continued. “It is the end of an era because they won’t exclusively have their own Mass, but it is the next natural step as our own numbers are down as well, and we have to adopt a policy of rationalisation.”

“Having two Masses on a Monday night just did not make sense. The Archconfraternity is directed by the Redemptorists. There is no distinction between us – we are one and the same,” he said.

Ger O’Brien, who attended the men’s Mass for 63 years, said their Mass was also a social outlet for many.

“It was a lovely men’s club. Everyone would congregate in the church yard afterwards and talk about sport. Men like to meet on their own and have their own discussions, the same as women like to meet on their own, but we don’t talk about crochet or knitting,” he said.

Sean O’Lochrain, aged 90 and a minister of the Eucharist, said he has been left “heartbroken” by the move.

“It’s very sad. I’ve been coming here all my life, with my father and nine brothers. I’m heartbroken, really. There was a time when 10,000 men would attend the Archconfraternity Masses – thousands each night. But the priests are all old men now and so are we.”

Joe Kelly, from Richmond Park in Corbally, said he felt “rather nostalgic and a bit lonesome, because this is the end of a wonderful era.

It was like an institution really; we’ll never see the likes of it again.

Tony Fitzsimons, from Ballinacurra Gardens, said they were “reared with the Archconfraternity” as young boys in Limerick city.

“It was either the Confraternity or the back of the brush, if we didn’t go. Now, we’ll greatly miss it and are sad to see it go,” he said.

Church-goer Richard O’Connor said he would have preferred if it were “just left to die out, because there’s only a handful of us left. The youngest [man] here has to be 65.”

However, not everyone was opposed to the move.

“Mass is Mass,” said Rosaleen Collins who attended the earlier Mass this Monday evening.

“Before you couldn’t get in the door with the queues of people coming here. But Mass is Mass regardless what date or time it’s held. With everything in life, there’s only a certain time-span in it, the same as with ourselves.”

William Dillon who also attended the earlier Mass, said: “It’s not a good sign of the times that the numbers have gone down, but I don’t think there should be a Mass just for men. I don’t think it’s right. It’s totally ridiculous, in my eyes.

Do they not want to see progress in the Church? There should be women priests – they have to do something to reinvigorate the Church.

“I think the number of young priests joining has fallen because priests aren’t allowed to get married and I don’t see any reason why they shouldn’t be allowed to get married. It’s not a sin – definitely not.”

Once hailed as the largest “Archconfraternity in the world”, the Limerick group was described in the past as being “a splendid bulwark against the inroads of evil literature, and bad plays and pictures” and a “moderating influence in preventing unwise actions and dangerous trends and excesses.”

The Confraternity was founded by the Redemptorist Fathers soon after their development as a community in Limerick city in 1867.

By 1880, they counted 4,200 members and this grew to 7,000 members by 1918.

Read: Dublin man charged over last night’s stand-off at St Agnes’ Church

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 82 comments
82 Comments
    Mute Trevor croft
    Favourite Trevor croft
    Jul 28th 2017, 6:38 AM

Is this a real story?? It’s like a script from Fr Ted

Mute Michele Tobin
    Favourite Michele Tobin
    Jul 28th 2017, 6:49 AM

@Trevor croft: Well they have been relegated to the second division of mass!

Mute skeyes
    Favourite skeyes
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:56 AM

@Michele Tobin: and that’s nowhere near as good as a class 2 relic…

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:00 PM

@skeyes: THey had to move the mass to another parish because it wasn’t doing enough business.

Mute p kilgannon
    Favourite p kilgannon
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:46 AM

They lost something that was important to them. Something that was doing no harm to anyone else. Something that they were proud of and something that they looked forward to every week. Easy slag them and make fun cause we are all so young and modern on this news site. I for one feel sorry for these ageing men and i feel sorry when any tradition falls.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:01 AM

@p kilgannon: agreed! It served its purpose well and we can only feel a level of sympathy for the men. However the Mens’ Shed idea is up and running and very successful in many counties.

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:37 AM

@John Campbell: this was to these men a type of men’s shed that had survived 150 years.

Mute Paddy Downey
    Favourite Paddy Downey
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:38 AM

@p kilgannon: I agree to an extent, but bear in mind that these same old men are the ones feeling that the main thing they’ve lost is that they now have to join the rest of us mere mortals an women at our own mass.
    There’s a pretty big dose of superiority complex going on here. More akin to golf-club sexism

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:49 AM

@p kilgannon: You could say the same about slave owners back in the day.

Mute p kilgannon
    Favourite p kilgannon
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:51 AM

@Paddy Downey: Maybe some have a superiority complex but most are just sad because it is the end of a long tradition which they were probably introduced to by their own fathers. I doubt you would find one female of that generation who is opposed to the male mass.

Mute p kilgannon
    Favourite p kilgannon
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:59 AM

@Rob Cahill: No I wouldn’t say that about slave owners at all at all. Iv no idea why you are comparing slave owners to these men. Very strange thing to say.

Jul 28th 2017, 9:35 AM

@p kilgannon: what I don’t understand is why a priest can’t just say a second mass! It’s not like you would have to pay them overtime! I mean it sounds like a ridiculous thing to me but putting that aside what are the reasons behind not just saying a separate mass for these few men? Surely it wouldn’t be monetary?

Mute Dave Fleming
    Favourite Dave Fleming
    Jul 28th 2017, 9:40 AM

@p kilgannon: tradition: some terrible practices have hidden behind “tradition”. It’s the worst reason of all to keep doing anything!

Mute p kilgannon
    Favourite p kilgannon
    Jul 28th 2017, 9:47 AM

@Deborah Behan: Try reading the article again. Its fairly clear to be honest. Masses have been declining in every rural parish for years. 20 years ago there was four masses in my parish every week and three priests. Two masses and one priest now.

Mute p kilgannon
    Favourite p kilgannon
    Jul 28th 2017, 9:49 AM

@Dave Fleming: Yes Dave some traditions are awful and disgusting. Others such as the one we are discussing here are not.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jul 28th 2017, 10:09 AM

@p kilgannon: I tend to agree. Nothing wrong with it up to a point. Definitely time to move on and if the mass hasn’t given them the grace to do so, it hasn’t served them well… No place in today’s society I’m afraid.

Mute p kilgannon
    Favourite p kilgannon
    Jul 28th 2017, 10:13 AM

@Louis Jacob: Ah ya, look it, it was always going to die out sooner rather than later as will so many other traditions. Still its sad for these men though and change isn’t easy when you are 80 years of age plus.

Mute Buzz Cauldron
    Favourite Buzz Cauldron
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:53 PM

@p kilgannon: “Easy slag them and make fun” – isn’t it? I’m having a great time with this!

Mute Paddy Downey
    Favourite Paddy Downey
    Jul 28th 2017, 6:46 PM

@p kilgannon: I fail to see the difference between this and, say, a male-only golf club, or the 40-foot swimming area being male only 40 years ago and so on.
    Stopping women from attending simply because they are women is the definition of sexism, intentional or otherwise.
    I was more amazed to hear that something like this still existed TBH

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:04 AM

Going to mass with women is being stomped on and being relegated to the “second division”. My heart bleeds.

Mute Anto McGovern
    Favourite Anto McGovern
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:38 AM

Waterford whispers!

Jul 28th 2017, 9:30 AM

@Veronica: they needn’t be worried I doubt any women are going to be troubling them!

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Jul 28th 2017, 10:30 AM

@Deborah Behan: what’s the big deal? there are plenty of womens groups where I would be turned away from.

Mute Rob Gleeson™
    Favourite Rob Gleeson™
    Jul 28th 2017, 6:57 AM

Is there anything to be said for saying another mass?

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:07 AM

Mass Extinction!

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:49 AM

@Ted Logan: Solid.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:06 AM

sometimes i think I’m actually living through an episode of Fr Ted

Mute dorothy giselsson
    Favourite dorothy giselsson
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:48 AM

I don’t know, it’ll be letting women into bars next. Down with this sort of thing!

Jul 28th 2017, 9:30 AM

@dorothy giselsson: do they let women drive unsupervised in Limerick too?

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Jul 28th 2017, 6:19 AM

Political Correctness strikes once again.

Mute domas1507
    Favourite domas1507
    Jul 28th 2017, 6:36 AM

@winston smith: read the article. It is simple logistics and nothing to do with political correctness

Mute Fergal O' Reilly
    Favourite Fergal O' Reilly
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:31 AM

@domas1507: Hmmm, I think that might’ve been a joke.

Mute Mike Keane
    Favourite Mike Keane
    Jul 28th 2017, 9:13 AM

@Fergal O’ Reilly: First our golf clubs, and now this.

Mute Dave Fleming
    Favourite Dave Fleming
    Jul 28th 2017, 9:41 AM

@winston smith: it used to be “politically incorrect” to question the authority of the church. That turns out well…

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:12 AM

Looks like they’ll have to spend big to get out of division 2 but at the same time be wary of the financial fair play regulations.

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Jul 28th 2017, 6:48 AM

Redemptorists ..They give good Mass

Mute Mairtín
    Favourite Mairtín
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:31 AM

@DeFonz: ‘ Mass’ where that word come from anyway.!! Mass murder, mass exodus, mass extinction, massive, mass hysteria, etc,etc,.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:21 AM

Dinosaurs! They’ll be lucky to get a one mass once a month in every county in about 20 years time. County themselves lucky if that’s the right word now.

Mute Johnny Giles
    Favourite Johnny Giles
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:33 AM

@mickmc: I don’t think these lads will have much concerns about what’s happening in 20 years time

Mute Brian Jones
    Favourite Brian Jones
    Jul 28th 2017, 6:49 AM

Those darn women again. You just can’t get away from them. They invade every part of your space. But this story is the last straw. It’s time for us men to take a stand against these folks of the ‘opposite’ sex

Mute Porterkev
    Favourite Porterkev
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:54 AM

@Brian Jones: careful now with the mention of the ‘sex’ word…

Mute Dave Fleming
    Favourite Dave Fleming
    Jul 28th 2017, 9:43 AM

@Brian Jones: as long as the women stay on their side and wear a veil, these lads’ll be grand

Mute Steve McMahon
    Favourite Steve McMahon
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:05 AM

All male mass .. that doesn’t sound a bit creepy ..

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:59 AM

According to an interview given by a Fr Enright on Newstalk, the men can still go to the earlier. mass at 7.15pm and meet up afterwards as usual. Of the 14 priests left there only five are under 70 and many of over 80.

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:05 AM

@Aine O Connor: And in Dublin, there was only one ordination last year – I’m told!

Mute Dave Fleming
    Favourite Dave Fleming
    Jul 28th 2017, 9:44 AM

@Aine O Connor: quite the cross section of modern life, eh?

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jul 28th 2017, 1:40 PM

@Aine O Connor: They could start a football league!

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:36 AM

Was it a gay thing?

Mute robert lester
    Favourite robert lester
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:29 AM

Mass in general will probably go that way on mass within the next 15 years.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:28 AM

It reminds me of Umm el-Qaab, an ancient religious site in ancient Egyptian city of Abydos, where pilgrims left of millions of religious offerings, pots of fruit and incense left as an offering to Osiris over the course of 100s of years. Then one day it stopped.

I’ve often wondered who was the last person to place an offering on that mound of clay pots.

http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/ngm/0504/feature7/gallery4.html

Jul 28th 2017, 9:25 AM

Bloody great news! Welcome to the 21st century lads!

Mute Life in no motion
    Favourite Life in no motion
    Jul 28th 2017, 10:38 AM

“It was a lovely men’s club. Everyone would congregate in the church yard afterwards and talk about sport. Men like to meet on their own and have their own discussions, the same as women like to meet on their own, but we don’t talk about crochet or knitting,” he said.

Well show’s you what these fossils know because women don’t talk about that either!! …. And can they not talk shite outside after a regular “second division” mass???

150 years? This reads like a parody, i’m shocked such backwards thinking pockets of society exists the last 150 years

Their o

Mute p kilgannon
    Favourite p kilgannon
    Jul 28th 2017, 10:48 AM

@Life in no motion: Don’t be so shocked. Women of that generation are far more likely to talk about knitting than about sport.

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Jul 28th 2017, 9:24 AM

God love them. The shame of now having to attend Mass with women.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jul 28th 2017, 4:47 PM

@Cindy Crawford: Wait until they have to import a priest from somewhere in Africa!

Mute willow moon
    Favourite willow moon
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:13 AM

@Michele Tobin: Yeah. The one with with…boo…hiss…wimmin. What is the world coming to. Fossils.

Mute Tom Reilly
    Favourite Tom Reilly
    Jul 28th 2017, 11:24 AM

I have been on this planet for quite a while now and this is the first time I have heard of an all male mass.It certainly was a surprise at first but then after a few seconds reflection I wasn’t surprised at all. 150 yrs ago the Irish Catholic church dominated society and a bit like ISIS men held complete power over women. At mass men had the right hand side of the church to themselves with women and children to the left. Women had to dress as the church decreed ,no skirts and heads covered preferably with a mundane large headscarf. Men could have sex every night with their wives if they wanted without any efforts of contraception;just look at the enormous families of that time,up to the 1970s indeed. Church and state looked down on women as second class citizens and so it is no real surprise that men got their own mass and who knows what type of anti women indoctrination went on at the homilies.

Mute p kilgannon
    Favourite p kilgannon
    Jul 28th 2017, 11:38 AM

@Tom Reilly: Tom 150 years ago men held power over women in every organisation and in every country not just the catholic church.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:02 PM

@p kilgannon: Yes but because of the catholic church they held it here for an extra century.

Mute Tom Reilly
    Favourite Tom Reilly
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:31 PM

@p kilgannon: Surely as followers of Jesus the church should have stood up for women. But then again thousands of indoctrinated youths flocked to join the priesthood just like German youths like Pope Benedict flocked to join Hitler’s youth army. No need to elabourate on the outcome of such fascist ideology.

Mute p kilgannon
    Favourite p kilgannon
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:41 PM

@Tom Reilly: The church should have done a lot of things differently, of course. I still feel sad for these men who have lost something important to them. The church plays a very important role in the lives of many men and women. That role is declining now and rightly so

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 29th 2017, 12:14 AM

@p kilgannon: Obviously the old church had no important role for women, unless you mean that they were allowed to clean the damp church floors while they were on their arthritic knees doing nothing anyway except thinking about crocheting some tripe for dinner.

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:35 AM

I grew up in Co Limerick and I remember my father going to the Confraternity, when i was a child. Hes dead 30 years now.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Jul 28th 2017, 7:56 AM

And to everyone else this is progress. Feminists should be protesting outside Mass and Friday Prayers as you’d be hard pushed to find more blatant sexism than in Catholicism or Islam. Particularly the latter. At least Catholicism is slowly modernising

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:21 AM

@Awkward Seal: Would you not protest them yourself?

Most feminists (well, not ‘liberal feminists’ I guess, in their desperation to be liked) have nothing but contempt for any Abrahamic religion. They are all outrageously sexist.

>At least Catholicism is slowly modernising

Well, I’m not hearing the Catholic church complaining after El Salvadore has imprisoned a young woman for having a miscarriage (pregnancy was the result of rapes), all because of their “strict” abortion laws.

Mute p kilgannon
    Favourite p kilgannon
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:32 AM

@Awkward Seal: Progress but at what cost miss?

Jul 28th 2017, 9:31 AM

@Awkward Seal: slowly expiring….

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:18 PM

Delighted. It was this same Redemptorist order that was responsible for the Limerick Jewish Pogrom at the start of the 20th Century. Between this Order’s racist past and sexist present, all based upon superstition and a book “written” by people who really didn’t understand the world at the time, I’m delighted to hear about another little crack in the Church.

Mute Dave Fleming
    Favourite Dave Fleming
    Jul 28th 2017, 9:50 AM

“A splendid bulwark against the inroads of evil literature and bad plays”

Mute Steph Duffy
    Favourite Steph Duffy
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:50 AM

Pity fuppin’ bout them. My heart bleeds

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Jul 28th 2017, 1:48 PM

Wow! Never even new this sort of thing could happen let alone still went on. Down with this sort of thing!

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:36 PM

A sad day for Limerick and wider Christian civilization in general.

Mute Cathal Keeshan
    Favourite Cathal Keeshan
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:08 PM

Is there anything to be said for saying another mass ?

Mute Fiona K
    Favourite Fiona K
    Jul 28th 2017, 5:51 PM

“But we don’t talk about crochet or knitting”… Ah lads!

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Jul 28th 2017, 1:34 PM

They could become priests themselves. I believe there is a shortage.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 28th 2017, 1:40 PM

@Con Murphy: For the same reason no one trains to be a steam train driver.

Mute Mrs parrott
    Favourite Mrs parrott
    Jul 28th 2017, 12:46 PM

Lads. Set up a men’s shed and get over it!

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jul 29th 2017, 3:55 PM

There is no necessity to have Mass every day at all. Sunday Mass should suffice. Church of Ireland or Presbyterians do not have that and they get on the best. Once a week and leave it at that.

Mute Aideen Stanley
    Favourite Aideen Stanley
    Jul 28th 2017, 4:35 PM

Of its time “Confraternity or the back of a brush if you didn’t go”…. wouldn’t happen today. Good luck lads. You can now have a new adventure!

Mute Mike Watters
    Favourite Mike Watters
    Aug 1st 2017, 8:15 AM

Dont worry lads. It will soin be a mosque and u can go there 4 times a day

Mute Shane O'Neill
    Favourite Shane O'Neill
    Jul 28th 2017, 9:23 AM

I do like a good long mass.

Mute Tony Connell
    Favourite Tony Connell
    Jul 28th 2017, 8:50 AM

A degree of sympathy for these men it also appears to have been a social outlet..nothing wrong been in the co of men who want to practice their faith and have a. Chat after words instead of socialising in a pub..
    I agree with the political correctness comment