You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
But he wasn’t just there as part of the welcoming committee, as last night a few of those taking part in the ceremony were his guests on The Late Late Show.
New Irish citizen Aksana Sidarchuk told Tubridy her story of arriving in Two-Mile Borris at the age of nine from Chernobyl.
Mary and Eddie Clancy took her in when she first arrived temporarily, and were in the audience to celebrate with her last night.
“I was a little bit unwell at the time and I spent a few days in Limerick Hospital and Mary and Eddie were very generous and kind to me over the years – they brought me back every summer for treatments and I’m in Ireland since I’m 19,” she said.
RTE
RTE
Given Tubridy was there for the ceremony, he had his own take on proceedings: ”That ceremony had a great effect on me – I thought it was positive and emotional and warm … I’d love to know what it meant to you.”
RTE
RTE
“It was the proudest day of my life. Honestly. I actually cried when I had to declare my fidelity and loyalty to the nation,” Sidarchuk said.
RTE
RTE
And she finished on the most enthusiastic note:
If I – touch wood – die in Ireland, don’t fundraise money, I will be happy buried in Irish soil. Wrap this flag around me, I’m home!
Lola Ayetigbo also gained her citizenship last week – and told the story of her late son Shetemi, who tragically died at just 16 years old.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@Jack Cassady: Depends how you define Irish jack. If they move here, embrace the culture and live happy and productive lives alongside their neighbors, then they’re Irish as far as I’m concerned. Try be a bit more open minded.
@Matty kinevan: Why would a 9 month pregnant woman come from Africa to Ireland? Is it because she heard of the National Maternity Hospital?
And less of the hate speech, please.
Ah poor G, I understand your concerns.
We give away citizenship like Americans, Australian give to the Irish. Imagine if we weren’t members of the EU how many European countries would have to issue passports to the Irish.
God love ya G, I hope you can get a night’s sleep with all the worries you.
How long before there are more immigrant Irish citizens, than the indigenous native population? Will it be spot the Paddy in 50 years time say? Will our culture, tradition’s and way of life suffer as a result of mass migration into the country?
@James Doyle: In 50 years time, these people’s kids will be paddys, just like JFK was American, Ned Kelly was an Aussie, Ché Guevara was Argentine and the Beatles were scousers
@James Doyle: Hopefully, we need to replace the current indigenous bigots, they have regressed mentally over the past few decades, time for the gene pool to be broadened.
@Matty kinevan: People with intelligence, and skills that are required in the economy. I wouldn’t expect you to understand, stick to trying to be funny.
@Grainne Abdulaziz: I understand that you’re actually a bloke pretending to be a woman, using a phony account. What kind of maniac does that? Seriously, you must have absolutely no life whatsoever.
@James Doyle: What “mass migration”? The numbers coming to Ireland over the last 10 years are tiny compared to other countries. And I don’t know what you mean by “indigenous native” Irish. Do you mean people born and raised here because in 50 years time these peoples kids and grandkids will be Irish. They’ll drink just as much Guinness, eat just as much Tayto crisps and moan just as much about foreigners coming here as any other Irish person.
@James Doyle: in case you wondering foreign-born citizens including those that have attained citizenship brings the number close to between 17%-20%, but roughly speaking 860,000 people living here out of 4600000, in the early 90′s is was 1% it wasn’t until 2002 that this started to big change to the countries demographics
@ÉireBarbarian: You don’t sound like a native yourself with such appalling grammar; ‘that this started to bi g change’? What does that even mean!! Mo náire thú!
@Emeralds: Yes but their genetic make up will not be Irish. I am aware of the saying that the Scandinavian invader’s who came here in 10 th century became more than the Irish themselves. Time will tell, I will not be around to tell one way or the other. The globalist’s agenda is to remove national border’s destroy native cultures, and create one mass consumer market where the rich get richer and the poor poorer, allow mass migration drive down wages, and working condition’s. That is my concern on the whole mass migration issue.
@Grainne Abdulaziz: From the Sahih Collection of al-Bukhari, Hadith Number 2442
Chapter 54. The Book of Gifts and their Excellence, VII: The one who gave a gift to his friend aiming for a time when he was with one of his wives rather than another——- He said to her, “Do not injure me regarding ‘A’isha. The revelation does not come to me when I am in the garment of any woman except ‘A’isha.” —- Seriously what’s the about?
@gregory: the same way a Nigerian can be Irish, my parent moved there before I was born and I lived there most of my life, your double-think is unbelievable
@gregory: and incase your wondering I wasn’t considered Nigerian in Nigeria, us white kids were called “oyinbo”, it’s not considered racist, but in the context it’s used it usually is
@Ricky Spanish: In 50 years nobody will be drinking Guinness nor eating pork products if we keep selling off our identity to anyone who can afford a passport. € 1,000 once down payment and years of € 12,000 a year in pension for a single person at today’s rates. This country and it’s people are being totally broke and still thousands came here because there were freebies, many of them hadn’t heard of Ireland before they Googled Social Welfare. I wish those who live with out culture to the fore but the scammers should never be allowed to land here in the first place. These people who bought their citizenship yesterday will cost us € 360 million every year in pension payment and goodness knows how many will be back living in leisure back home and our country will still be broken
@James Doyle: for the most part I think if a child spends a majority of their life here and goes through the system they are very much Irish , can’t say the same for the parents they don’t have the same shared experience as someone born here
Just look to the UK, France , Holland and Sweden to see if the children will become ‘Tayto’ Irish.
These countries, especially the UK is having to deal with cultural ghettos, where English is not spoken even by second, third and subsequent generations. The ghettos are expanding and there is native flight from the cities, it is self perpetuating.
@Jho Harris: the system will collapse soon in most western countries, as social welfare is like a pyramid scheme, it only works if more people are paying in more than is been taken out
@Joe: this is why I’m for one-for-one quotas, it’s a fair system that helps avoid this, for every Irish person that goes to Poland we except one Polish person.
@Grainne Abdulaziz: I agree there is a lot of bigot’s North and South in the Island of Ireland and some broadening of the gene pool is not a bad thing but it is the amount of broadening that concern’s me. How many cultures, and way’s of life have been wiped out by imperialism and greed in the name of progress? The Globalist’s agenda is to remove National border’s create one mass consumer market, encourage mass migration, drive down wage’s and working condition’s, result the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.
@James Doyle: actually we seem very capable as a race to be able to lose touch with our culture traditions and way of life on our own …..without needing to pass the blame onto immigrants as you suggest
@DaisyChainsaw: I married one of the gingers with coeliac disease (no cystic fibrosis, thankfully) and we produced two beautifull muts! I should be congratulated on improving the gene pool ;)
@Dave Hammond: If you paid a bit of attention to Irish culture you would realise how stupid and uninformed your comment is, I assume you live in Dublin where nobody knows or cares whatever the rest of the country is doing. Added to that we have politicians who recently launched a a festival of Irish culture which including Chinese, African etc dancers. This people well very well have fine cultures but their culture is not Irish heritage. This time last year they made a complete celebrations of The 100 celebrations of The Rising.
@James Doyle:
It shall be easy to spot you James as your tone explains your mind-set.
Please explain what exactly is Irish culture, is it learning Irish dancing, playing the banjo, supporting Gaelic games, speaking the Irish language and going to Mass on Sundays or perhaps it’s going to the pub and shouting “Man U” and demonstrating what a wonderful Xenophobic you are.
By the way I have no interest in any of the above and my great great grandparents were Irish.
What exactly does Irish culture qualify an Irish person for. What is the difference between an Irish person who immerses them selves in Irish culture and one that has no interest
RTE and Tubridy are fascinated by the idea of people from overseas coming to Ireland.
` Your from Venezuela, and your an Irish citizen, do you like it here?? isn`t it great, aren`t the Irish great craic, isn`t it the best country in the world ?
@Suzie Sunshine: Can you advise us all of the rules? What high standard of reverence that we Irish have always demonstrated, has she broken? What punishment would be be appropriate?
@Suzie Sunshine: we don’t have rules on respect for objects, like in the UK and the US. They can wipe their arse on tricolour flags stitched together and no laws will be broken. Apart from some chaffing.
While I wouldn’t agree with all that Suzie says (and on this occasion it just seems a silly comment) I’m certain that she doesn’t deserve the labelling of “alt-right”.
It’s getting very boring all this labelling that goes on here. Mostly just designed as sneering comments in themselves. That goes for whether it’s alt-right, liberal, racist, lefty, whatever.
I’d love it if the journal just auto replaced a list of those words to “a person with a certain point of view” – nicely non-descript.
@Suzie Sunshine: You’re full of it, there is a protocol for the flag but it’s only enforceable for the military and government property. If you were to apply the protocol to everyone in the country all the pubs and hotels that fly flags would be in breach for not taking it down on the day’s it’s not to be flown. 1000s of Irish sports fans would be in breach for wearing the flag as a cape or writing slogans on it. Your real gripe is – how dare a Ukranian be granted Irish citizenship?, and the flag is just a petty excuse to hide the real reason
@Darren Tully: see that’s where you’re wrong .. way off course . I have no issues with this lady at all and if I did then I would just say so . It was a tongue in cheek remark . That is all .
Really, well just have a look at all the Irish soccer fans at international games, the Irish
Olympic teams, the fans at Cardiff Arms Park etc.
The Sunshine comments are rather dull, to say the least.
When it suits< Suzie , When it suits.
And how would that be? Statistically, what are the odds that a culture of several million individuals would have to rely on familial interbreeding to maintain a distinct population?
@Joe: Ok, Joe, I’ll bait. As a foreigner married to an Irishman I don’t have your approval. I suppose you wouldn’t approve of us moving to my country, since a proper Irishman will be lost? We could of course divorce but being a good Catholic that won’t make you happy either. Any suggestions?
I could live in the US or UK for a hundred years, but I would not renounce my nationality, where it is not necessary, to become a citizen of that country. My point was nothing about living in the country.
I am always disappointed when someone turns their back on the country of their birth for short term gain, like Barry McGuigan, or as an exercise in ingratiation. That’s carpetbagging, like .
In your case for instance, I’ll risk making the assumption that you are East European, possibly Bulgarian, as you would have a right of residence in Ireland as an EU citizen, why would you reject your heritage?
@Joe: I am Bulgarian, but I am also Irish, in the sense that I have lived here for almost 19 years and have internalised a lot of Irishess. I admit a lot of these people come as overly keen, but that is perhaps because they want to convince the “locals” that they are not “in it for the benefits”. As for rejecting one’s heritage (and I presonally have a dual citizenship), maybe some of these people were running away from something? Personally I know recent arrivals who left because they were tired of the corruption at home and percieve Ireland as a more just society (and my, are they in for a rude awakening!)
Good Man Joe, The only rejection is of you Joe. You are so well informed. The obvious correlation is the return of millions of Irish scattered around the globe, to Ireland.
Joe, you wouldn’t get out your front door. You wouldn’t be able to get your fingers up to the keyboard to type this gush.
Perhaps the ‘runners away’ are doing a disservice, should they not stay and create change. Or are some societies culturally corrupt?
I spent 35 years in England but I would not describe myself as English as well as Irish
In a situation where citizenship is not a prerequisite for residence, dual citizenship, is no citizenship. It is unnecessary and as you have said yourself, in other words, it amounts to ingratiation and that is carpetbagging, as I said originally.
On a broader point, the first duty of government is to protect its citizens. Part of that must involve the protection of its citizens culture. Allowing immigration to reach the level of almost 20% is an abject failure of that duty.
Because of the ease of achieving citizenship in Ireland, with passport handed out to pretty much all comers, it is providing a route into the UK for non EU nationals. There is an upsurge in non EU nationals turning up in the UK with Irish passports. This is likely to increase when the UK leaves the EU.
I suppose you missed the point that I made, that I was not commenting on immigrants living in Ireland per se, it was about carpetbaggery.
Of course I could suggest that your opinion may be skewed because you have a vested interest in immigration. But then, that would be jumping to a conclusion, which you have just done.
God we are a great little country…we will always welcome people from foreign lands and try make them feel at home……but why do we go along and make 3000 of them citizens now having to care for them and allowing them now be eligible for social welfare and so on when we cant do so for those born and raised here already??? To me that just doesnt make sense. If we had a lot of natural riches and were a very well off country i’d say something ..but we’re not!
We ARE a well-off country. Most countries are poorer than us. We weren’t always, but for the last twenty years or so, we have been, the recession notwithstanding.
And why do we commit to caring for those who work in our country and pay taxes to contribute? I would say because they are as entitled to the benefits their taxes pay for as any of us. Using their taxes just to benefit the rest of us would basically mean we were sponging on them. “It’s OK for them to contribute to the country, but not for those contributions to be used for their benefit.”
@Joe: Thats something else that we should be asking after giving out passports to 3000 “foreigner”and making the citizens…it may give them entry (freely) now to the UK but because they are now hold “Irish citizenship” will that now open the doors for their relatives to come in???
@Matty kinevan: couldn’t help but wonder how irregular your house is? Designed by an architect with a skewed roof perhaps? Best of luck with your Venezualan adventures :)
@James Doyle: What? People coming over here taking your job, polluting the purity of the race and shit like that? I think it’s hilarious watching bigots having shitfits over “de furriners” getting citizenship!
@Emeralds: I think you should have to marry or have some ancestral connection to your citizenship, if you think that’s raciest then your calling Chian , Japan and many other nations racists because that’s their policies
@Emeralds: my point is that other countries do give us such liberties, I cannot go to China or Japan and demand citizenship after 5 years nor would they ever consider me a fellow country woman, so do you consider these countries policies as racist or are they jut trying to protect their culture and heritage?
@Tony Canning: My parent were Irish who moved to Nigeria, I lived there for most of my life and experienced much racism during my life there, I was glad to move to a country like Ireland in my 20′s, but I can’t consider myself Irish because I don’t have the Irish experience of growing up here going to school and living like an Irish person, I can’t relate to their experiences just like they can’t relate to mine.
@ÉireBarbarian: you can get Japanese citizenship and all of the legal rights that come with it. Chinese citizenship is impossible, even if you were working legally in China, met another western woman working legally in China and had a child born in China, that child still cannot get Chinese citizenship.
@China Photo Daily: that’s raciest, Chinese can come to western countries and avail of western citizenship but we can’t. China needs some lessons on diversity, it’s a two-way system or else it doesn’t work.
My apologies Japan does not permit dual-citizenship, which is fair enough, but how do they police that ?
Just as there wasn’t for all the Irish people who settled in America or Britain or Australia or just about everywhere. You don’t need an ancestral connection to live in a country, adopt its traditions and raise your children as citizens.
That is correct, most people don’t have an objection to immigration in itself. What is a concern is the rate of immigration, cultural and religious separation and behaviours that are changing the social fabric of the country.
From almost no immigrants to almost 20% in less than a generation is significant and disturbing. Especially when Irish natives are prevented from voicing their opinions or labelled for doing so. No society can absorb that rate of immigration without problems coming to the fore.
@Margaret Lane: You are crazy to compare a vast near empty country like Australia to a settled country with a history of millenia like Ireland.
Why did Ireland need to import vast numbers of foreigners?
It didn’t. The ruling class did it–no one ever voted for it.
@Rosa Parks: In case you haven’t noticed, having concerns about a countries ability to sustain its infrastructure and asking for immigration quotas such as a one for one policy is racist now, and tomorrow you’ll be a bigot and a xenophobe.
And since it the government’s jobs to plan our infrastructure any policy’s that would address this issue when it comes to planning are xenophobic, meaning the government don’t have to do their job
at the very least we should be able to bill other European countries for the investment needed to build up our infrastructure for their countries and they should be able to bill us too
Yes we are White, we can also be broken down into a specific group from a racial point of view, as can other peoples. Irish people have distinct characteristics, most Irish people would be able to spot another Irish person out of a group of random White people.
@Diogenes: Is that an argument against them getting citizenship or an argument for the government making an effort to sort out these long standing problems?
What a lovely lovely girl. I wish you all the luck of the Irish and all the luck of the world. Its people like you who make Ireland what it is today. I hope you go on to achieve great things in life. And the begrudgers let them learn to love themselves before they try and judge anyone else. God bless you and your family.
@Jack Cassady: Dan Daly didn’t have much of an ancestral connection with America, but he still won the Medal of Honour twice along with the Navy Cross she Distinguished Service Cross.
Ironic that people born in Ireland don’t have to pledge fidelity and loyalty to the nation? Presumably it’s automatically assumed even though there are those whose loyalty is dubious at best!!
Some of our famous irish citizens had to leave their country of birth in order to achieve and find their place in the world ,what would ireland be today without those immigrants and the rich legacy they have left ,as long as they come to contribute and integrate they are welcome ,but i do not believe in an open door policy ,we must always be mindful of the interest of all our citizens ,we must have transparent and fair policy
@Anthony Gallagher: for most people, it’s about the cost to the economy, when you have large scale immigration, (last year an additional 26,000 people came to live), you need to invest in the countries infrastructure in order to cater for that arriving before they come, some of the more vulnerable in society are displaced, such as the poor or undereducated who might have once been able to work their way up slowly, but today are cast aside.
And before you spot some racist rhetoric about “their doing the jobs the Irish don’t want to do” anyone in this country that earn below €35,000 can apply for social housing, and because many foreigners don’t have any family here they could live with can be pushed up the housing list before, so many of these people as “doing the jobs the Irish don’t want to do” actual cost the country money.
@ÉireBarbarian: many of the uneducated may not be able to articulate my point , and are often called racists and bigots, but their concerns are real and have an impact on their ability to improve their lives
@ÉireBarbarian: Now thats what they dont get in happy clappy d4 , the open borders has a negative impact on a significant section of the community , ie , housing , schools , doctors , hospitals , but it does not affect the happy clappy brigade in the land of the cosy people ,so keep it going ,
Most Irish people define other people’s nationality on their accent, which in reality is the height of stupidity. Accents on English are generally formed in a narrow window during school days. It does help people to use labels and boxes for their own grinder.
Ireland has the laxest naturalization regime in Europe. Show me a laxer one.
The aspiring citizen need show NO knowledge of either of the two official languages of the state.
The aspiring candidate need show NO knowledge of the history, geography, culture and constitution of Ireland.
The frightening thing is that these people get the vote, even though they may be unable to read a newspaper or understand the news on TV, and know nothing whatsoever about the country.
And just recently we had people begrudging our Irish emigrants abroad keeping their vote!
Pretty nauseating, How come the views of those who oppose Mass Immigration and wish to see the preservation of Irish Nationality are always stifled? How often have such views received an airing on Tubridy’s snorefest ? (Don’t know, never watch it).
@Matty kinevan: If there was a comment on here that linked to a drug dealing onion link then some people would still call it censorship.
There is a link at the top there that alludes to community standards on a website that is privately owned. Step outside expected respectful standards and you should expect your comment to be removed.
That doesn’t give anyone the right to come back like cry babies claiming censorship.
How sad ireland, soon paddy will be no more and youll be able to enjoy the gang rapes, terrorism and other enrichment like the rest of europe. is this really what you fought the war of independence for? handing your country over to people who will destroy your way of life.
Aksana went to school with us for a year or so during her longer stays in Tipperary before she began living here. She was a lovely girl who was excellent at math and worked hard to overcome the language barrier for her other subjects. I’m done up for her that she ended up living here and got her citizenship.
Man arrested following Stoneybatter knife attack to appear in court this morning
1 hr ago
Clare
Several schools in Co Clare closed as gardaí investigate threatening email
8 mins ago
gotta tell you
'Completely unprofessional': Donal Skehan pushes back on Samantha Mumba 'insulting' Eurosong panellists
Updated
15 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 143 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 98 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 128 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 98 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 73 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 72 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 36 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 32 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 119 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 70 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 77 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 42 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 24 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 79 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 89 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 65 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 47 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 77 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 57 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say