You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The topless activist was removed from the press event by security. Screengrab

Topless protester disrupts Marine Le Pen speech

Three security guards carried the woman out of the Paris venue.

A TOPLESS PROTESTER burst into a hall where French far-right leader Marine Le Pen had just begun delivering a foreign policy speech this evening shouting “Marine, Pretend Feminist”.

Three security guards carried the woman from the Femen group, who had the same slogan daubed on her chest and back, out of the Paris venue.

Le Pen, the only woman standing in France’s presidential election, has styled herself as a feminist.

Femen said on Facebook that “nothing in Marine Le Pen’s programme promotes the emancipation of women. No proposal is made to further the equality of the sexes”.

Le Pen’s refusal to wear a headscarf to meet Lebanon’s top Sunni Muslim cleric on Tuesday during a visit to Lebanon was no more than a “media stunt”, Femen said.

The 48-year-old head of the anti-EU, anti-immigrant National Front (FN) party, is tipped to win the first round of the two-stage presidential polls on 23 April, scoring 25-27.5% in the latest voter surveys.

While she is currently forecast to lose in the second round on 7 May, she appears to be closing the gap.

Femen activists also disrupted a speech by Le Pen in May 2015.

© AFP 2017.

Read: Le Pen sparks controversy by refusing to wear veil in Lebanon

Read: Le Pen’s personal assistant charged in ‘fake jobs’ scandal

View 54 comments
54 Comments
    Mute Daniel O'Connor
    Favourite Daniel O'Connor
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:15 PM

Any frontal picture…..for identification purposes of course

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:27 PM

Glad to be of assistance. https://youtu.be/dQw4w9WgXcQ

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:37 PM

@Uncle Monty: But do you have one of the left tit?

Mute MARCUS BALE
    Favourite MARCUS BALE
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:46 PM

Uncle Monty: Thanks for the link to Rick Astley.

Feb 23rd 2017, 8:59 PM

Marcus … spoilsport!

Mute David Mac Shite
    Favourite David Mac Shite
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:30 PM

Well that was a first, standing there with me pants down and Rick Ashley arrives, still, I played the whole video.

Feb 23rd 2017, 9:38 PM

Ah but did you still keep your pants down ?

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:17 PM

@Uncle Monty:
    Cheers. Actually I enjoyed that, Rick had a great voice, underrated.

Mute MARCUS BALE
    Favourite MARCUS BALE
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:30 PM

Hahaahahahahh

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Feb 23rd 2017, 11:19 PM

boobs against isis ha

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Feb 23rd 2017, 11:27 PM

would she enjoy Sharia law?

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Feb 24th 2017, 10:25 AM

That security guard in really getting down into them there — the things we do for our country

Mute Dermot Mc Carthy
    Favourite Dermot Mc Carthy
    Feb 24th 2017, 2:24 PM

https://www.youtube.com/shared?ci=qUlDAfxNGBc Here’s a video of a FEMEN protest at an Islamic conference. You can see the cowardly muslim men rush in and kick the girls once the security takes them to the ground. Yet sadly it is extremely rare for feminists to protest Islam, a culture that is actually barbaric and oppressive to women.

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:17 PM

Hilarious really that there are women who still think a pair of breasts are ‘Shocking’.

Feb 23rd 2017, 8:41 PM

So Catholics don’t have breasts? .. interesting ..

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:16 PM

Come on Liam Egan you knew what they were when you were Catholic and now with your latest religion you have them covered by nuns habits

Mute William Kavanagh
    Favourite William Kavanagh
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:28 PM

@OpenBorders: they definitely believe dicks exist though, your an obvious example.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Feb 23rd 2017, 11:23 PM

shocking is a video of a woman de-capitated in Saudi-link available

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Feb 24th 2017, 12:48 AM

Why would you want to make that available?

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster

Out of interest, what rights do men in France have that women don’t?

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:34 PM

She was having a go at another woman. For once it wasn’t us.

Mute John Henry
    Favourite John Henry
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:41 PM

She’d of been stoned to death in an Islamic country for that. Le Pen is right, we need to stand up to the spread of the evil of Islam. I hope she becomes French president and the tide begins to turn because if not Europe is in big big trouble.

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:16 PM

Will they protest the pretend feminists in the Swedish government?

Mute Cillian McCormick
    Favourite Cillian McCormick
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:16 PM

Have a look at your man’s hands. He knew full well what he was doing when he “apprehended” her. The filthy beggar!

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex

motorboatin’

Mute Mark Sheridan
    Favourite Mark Sheridan
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:24 PM

It’s where his face is !

Mute Andy Wallace
    Favourite Andy Wallace
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:31 PM

@Cillian McCormick: Haha the poor lad was probably professional family man who tried to do he right thing but ended up looking like a pervert.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:34 PM

Niall, you do know why they call the area between the breasts and belly button the waist? It’s a waist because they could easily have fit a second pair of breasts there.

Feb 23rd 2017, 9:01 PM

Null .. with no bra on they could very easily have been down to her waist ..

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:03 PM

@Cillian McCormick: The filthy beggar indeed !

Feb 23rd 2017, 9:40 PM

* Niall

Mute Keiko
    Favourite Keiko

More ‘free speech is hate speech’ crusties?

Mute Gerry Purcell
    Favourite Gerry Purcell
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:22 PM

Looks decent from behind

Mute MARCUS BALE
    Favourite MARCUS BALE
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:43 PM

Whoever is holding her looks like he is doing the motor boat with her.

Mute Mrs M
    Favourite Mrs M
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:57 PM

Paid protesters !

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:34 PM

Another failed college student

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:10 PM

Marine’s father and Donald Trump believe in the efficacy of torture. Donald in water boarding; , her father killed and tortured Algerians. So actual and possible leaders of two of the most powerful countries are committed to using torture. And we speak of civilisation !

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:24 PM

Sins of the father? You’re not exactly an intellectual giant are you?

Mute Tbones
    Favourite Tbones
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:30 PM

@ Peter Martin the torture saved lives and the terrorist felt some pain, sounds like a win win to me.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Feb 23rd 2017, 11:21 PM

want me to post video of a woman de-capitated on the road in saudi by a man with a big sword?

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Feb 24th 2017, 12:50 AM

Torture saved lives? How so?

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Feb 24th 2017, 12:52 AM

@gregory As above. Why would we want to see that. And the fact you’re hawking it means you’re sick individual

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Feb 23rd 2017, 8:29 PM

When asked to comment the man apprehending the women said. Num num num mmmm num num nipple.

Mute Marion Murphy
    Favourite Marion Murphy
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:01 PM

Time to bring back the straight jackets

Mute Early Cuyler
    Favourite Early Cuyler
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:30 PM

Funny how we only ever hear about the populist candidates in foreign elections.

Mute Andrew Matheson
    Favourite Andrew Matheson
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:36 PM

Looks like the security guard is motarboating her…

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 23rd 2017, 11:40 PM

Do they do it because they get excited that security men grab them while naked?

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:24 PM

Another reason why Leo should be Taoiseach…

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Feb 23rd 2017, 11:19 PM

coveney will be

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Feb 23rd 2017, 11:40 PM

@gregory: Bilderberg said so lol.