You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tetchy exchange as Taoiseach told he should be 'ashamed' only 8 affordable homes ready

The Sinn Féin leader said it was “scandalous” that such a low number will be delivered in 2021.

THERE WERE TETCHY exchanges between Mary Lou McDonald and Micheál Martin today in the Dáil with the Sinn Féin leader accusing the Taoiseach of “spoofing” about the housing crisis. 

In turn, the Taoiseach accused Sinn Féin of hypocrisy when it came to housing, insisting the party was exploiting the housing crisis for its own political gains.

During Leaders’ Questions, McDonald raised an answer to a recent parliamentary question asked by Sinn Féin housing spokesperson Eoin Ó Broin. The deputy was told that only eight affordable homes will be delivered by the end of the year. 

The Sinn Féin leader said it was “scandalous” that such a low number will be delivered in 2021. 

“Is it any wonder we are in a housing crisis,” she told the Taoiseach.

The Taoiseach should be “ashamed”, she said, adding:

You’re big on numbers, big on targets but low on delivery. You can’t spoof your way out of this one.

Martin hit out against Sinn Féin claiming that the party has been opposing local housing developments that contain affordable units in many areas.

“It has voted against every affordability measure at every turn. In particular, it opposed the help-to-buy scheme that has helped 22,000 people to get onto the property market.

It opposed more than 6,000 homes in Dublin City Council and Fingal County Council. Right across the board, it has opposed projects that had significant affordable components in those particular schemes.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

McDonald said:

“For the Taoiseach, it seems housing is all about the profits of the private sector and Government initiatives that are really about lining the pockets of developers. He continues down that road relentlessly.

He knows full well that so many people are stuck paying massive rents, forking out as much as €2,000 a month. I do not know how a person can put together a deposit for a house while paying that kind of rent.

She said that having just eight affordable houses being delivered this year is “a slap in the face to every person who is in housing need across the State”.

Martin also accused McDonald of “feigning” surprise over the figure, saying that she already knew that there would be a low output of affordable homes this year.

He also blamed the Covid-19 pandemic for the low rate at which homes are being built.

Defending the Housing Minister Darragh O’Brien, he said while construction was stalled, the minister had passed legislation that underpins affordability measures. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute Mr Bordello
    Favourite Mr Bordello
    Sep 29th 2021, 1:43 PM

Martin must go down as one of the worst leaders of this country.
    Constantly letting even his own party down.
    Failing on the big fundamentals of society.
    Housing,health etc

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Sep 29th 2021, 1:44 PM

@Mr Bordello: Don’t forget the CUH Maternity hospital scandal.

Mute Eoin
    Favourite Eoin
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:00 PM

@Mr Bordello: Yep. You’d wonder how the grass roots FF feel about him too. They can’t be happy, and if they are they are as lost as he is.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:07 PM

@Mr Bordello: his party. The party of developers, the galway races tent, brown envelopes and ministers for finance without a bank account. “Keep the boom going lads”.
    Martin has not let his party down but he and FF have repeatedly let the people of Ireland down.
    Only a fool or a builder would vote for them. And only a tool or a rich man would vote for FG.
    Wake up people.

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:46 PM

@Mr Bordello: exactly true micheal Martin w#rst in government. Will vote out FFFGGP OUT AND VOTE WIN Sein FINN in election

Mute Matt Joe Caulfield
    Favourite Matt Joe Caulfield
    Sep 29th 2021, 1:54 PM

I think a National Emergency should be declared with regards to housing. Bring all empty properties into public ownership. All current rents should be reviewed downwards. Those found to be excessive should result in refunds. All national resources to be prioritized in faviour of a building program. Review and urgently update the planning laws to stop the NIMBY attitudes. Finally! Stop adhering to the ‘Margaret Thatcher’ philosophy of the ‘Right To Buy’

Mute Local Ore
    Favourite Local Ore
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:50 PM

@Matt Joe Caulfield: All rents should be reviewed downwards? How do you suppose that happens? Will the government (tax payer!) pay the mortgage of every landlord? Or, because they are breaking contracts, can landlords evict every single tenant in Ireland?

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Favourite Drunk in Dublin
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:16 PM

@Local Ore: landlords need to stop complaining and get real jobs. If you can’t hack being a landlord then perhaps this scheme is not for you.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:05 PM

@Local Ore: Here’s a mad idea. Perhaps landlords should not expect their tenants to pay their full mortgage. And if not start crying they are running at a loss. Maybe they should expect to pay towards a property they will eventually fully own.

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:35 PM

@Local Ore: nationalise all domestic rented building’s until the housing crises is sorted.

Mute jeanette
    Favourite jeanette
    Sep 30th 2021, 7:29 AM

@Drunk in Dublin: no landlords, no tenants

Mute jeanette
    Favourite jeanette
    Sep 30th 2021, 7:56 AM

@Local Ore: Exactly. Being a landlord is a business and not a charity! Don’t worry tenants, landlords who provide homes for you to live in are selling up in their droves and eventually the only apartments that you will be able to rent, will be from the foreign companies building huge ugly blocks of apartments where tenants will pay huge rents from companies who are paying no tax on their income towards the upkeep of this country.

Mute Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:04 PM

MM is like the team manager blaming the supporters for the poor performance of his team. The supporters are annoyed at the poor run of performances and the manager and team are refusing to take the blame instead passing the buck on to the people watching the game and asking why the supporters are not doing more.

The sad truth is that MM will not do anything to hurt the pockets of developers and speculators. Siding with corporate landlords and their developer friends. We need radical change here. CPO of apartments and houses bought up by cuckoo funds and telling them they need to leave the market right away. Vacant houses need to be taken off developers ASAP. This is an emergency and emergency measures need to be taken and not a profit making exercise.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 29th 2021, 1:51 PM

While I have no time for SF and Martin is right to call them out over their hypocrisy and record on voting against developments, having just 8 affordable homes ready this year is an absolute disgrace. When words like crisis and emergency are used to describe such an important issues, like hospital trolley crisis and housing crisis, then the full resources of the state should be brought to bear to resolve the problem. There should be an agreed cross party strategy to resolve he housing crisis. This will get some of the hurlers off the ditch also.

Mute Fay Moynihan
    Favourite Fay Moynihan
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:08 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: My grasp on this is that they (SF) are voting for social and affordable housing to be built on public lands.

They are voting against the government gifting public lands to private developers and then the same government buying upwards of 20% of the houses built back from said private developer which is not a good deal and one which will never sort out this mess.

If someone says they’re hungry, and you try to feed them poop, you can’t criticise them for not eating it.

They basically want the government to built the housing on public land and not private developers which will in turn make the housing somewhat affordable.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:29 PM

@Fay Moynihan: I’m not sure it’s as simple as that. They objected to 1600 units on the grounds of Holy Cross on Clonliffe Road. Because this is under the SHD the only appeals process is via judicial review. So the courts are now clogging up with these objections which in turn is delaying planning and ultimately building. The SHD was supposed to effectively expedite the process by dampening the appeals process but instead we now have a queue of JRs in the courts. The SHD process needs to be reviewed.

Mute Fay Moynihan
    Favourite Fay Moynihan
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:46 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: The majority of the objections are as a result of public land being

They along with many others (Green Party councillors included) objected to the Holy Cross build to rent scheme driven by investors which they believe is to exploit the housing crisis.

I also understand that up to 70% of these are one bedroom apartments. Feel free to correct me but how will over 1000 one bedroom apartments (20% of which will be social and affordable) meet the housing needs of those in Dublin central.

It looks like a completely unsuitable solution.

Mute Fay Moynihan
    Favourite Fay Moynihan
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:48 PM

@Fay Moynihan: *The majority of the objections are as a result of public land being gifted to private developers.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:09 PM

@Fay Moynihan: well in a crisis taking at least 1600 people off housing lists or making homes available to them is the priority. I get the long term sustainability question but the reality is people are looking for homes and 1600 units in one development is a big step in the right direction. This is a 15m walk from O’Connell St in the capital. I’m not too sure how much public land is available in that area, I suspect little. We can’t keep having serial objectors blocking every development and forcing it through the courts.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:19 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Sinn Féin (and others) rightly object to public land being handed over to developers to make massive profits, while we the people receive only a pittance of the houses built for affordable and social housing.

I would be angry if Sinn Féin did not object to this crazy deal.

But you know this is a bad deal Grumpy, and it’s because of your politics that you just can’t bring yourself around to admit it.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:56 PM

@Pádraic Ó Braonáin: SF agreed to take payments from developers rather than have social housing built. This money was to build social housing yet did they build it? No they didn’t and the money is now spent. That seems like a very bad deal to me.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Sep 29th 2021, 9:55 PM

@Fay Moynihan: They vote for anything they reckon might get them a vote!!

Mute Fay Moynihan
    Favourite Fay Moynihan
    Sep 30th 2021, 12:44 AM

@Chris Gaffney: Well Chris we’ve had FG in power for over 10 years. Housing and health are at crisis levels as a direct result of their policies. They even introduced a property tax.

FF are no different which can clearly be seen by that parties policies. They caused the crisis in the first place and 13 years we are still paying for it. Check your payslip. It’s called USC.

You know the USC Enda Kenny said he would abolish before the 2011 election. Or maybe that was just to get votes.

Neither party have any desire whatsoever to fix the housing crisis.

Highest mortgage rates, some of the highest electric, gas, petrol, diesel, childcare and politician salaries in the world. We pay 40% tax at just over 35k.

Sure blame SF. It’s all their fault. “They’ll vote for anything that will get them a vote”

If it continues under the current regime we’ll be working for nothing.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Sep 30th 2021, 4:25 AM

@Fay Moynihan: And you seriously think sf can fix it??????

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Sep 30th 2021, 8:58 AM

@GrumpyAulFella: you say you’re “not sure it’s as simple as that” I can say for sure it is as simple as that.

Mute Fay Moynihan
    Favourite Fay Moynihan
    Sep 30th 2021, 9:10 AM

@Chris Gaffney: I never said that they could but would you not agree we desperately different views and ideas after 10 years of abject failure.

People have zero chance of owning a home under this regime.

If SF get in next time and it’s more of the same then we may as well shut the county down and turn off the lights.

If with their completely questionable past I am willing to give them a chance if we want this country fixed.

We are basically out of options

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Sep 30th 2021, 5:32 PM

@Fay Moynihan: Sorry but I am not arguing that things are not good but the day sf get into power I suggest we flip the light switch off as they have dhown elsewhere that they have nothing positive to bring to the table!!

Mute Patrico Floodaldinio
    Favourite Patrico Floodaldinio
    Sep 29th 2021, 1:44 PM

Two words – High Rise.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Sep 29th 2021, 1:45 PM

@Patrico Floodaldinio: =future slums

Mute Andy mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy mc Laughlin
    Sep 29th 2021, 1:47 PM

@Dave Barrett: you beat me to it… =social problems

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Sep 29th 2021, 1:49 PM

@Patrico Floodaldinio: That’s just repeating an old argument. Once you go above four stories the cost of the building increases significantly but besides that should policy not encourage people to work remotely where possible instead of living in a high rise in Dublin? Everyone doesn’t have to live in Dublin any more.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:46 PM

@Patrico Floodaldinio: That won’t work. How high do you think we can build before fire brigades can’t reach the upper floors in an emergency? Say 8 floors. People who can afford those won’t have a lot left to spend – no parking – little storage. Possibly there will be a plan for public transport in about ten years? Let’s say they’re downsizing – not in their prime. Add in power cuts. Anyone on the eighth floor will have sixteen flights to climb before they can do a weekly shop. Sixteen flights down before you can start your journey to work. It sounds bleak.

Sep 29th 2021, 4:49 PM

@Dave Barrett: look at Vienna, they do high rise social housing there, it works beautifully. Doctors, nurses, teachers etc. Live in it.. They have a proper mixed community. Proper facilities like a development will include a pharmacy, a swimming pool, a child are facility etc. That’s proper planning and infrastructure provision.

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:44 PM

@Patrico Floodaldinio: like the ones they knocked in Baklymun….

Mute Pádraigín O'Sirideáin
    Favourite Pádraigín O'Sirideáin
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:15 PM

Dobt know why everyone is blaming just M Martin for all of this shameful mess… FG ran any social housing into the ground for YEARS, its absolutely shameful how they have purposely put private development and property developers over the peoples needs.
    MM trying to deflect onto SF is embarrassing for him, SF have objected to public lands been handed over to private developers for which there is 20% given back for social housing?? Why would we hand over public land to developers? Why not develop it ourselves… and have 100% of the housing. FFFG dont have a leg to stand on.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:26 PM

@Pádraigín O’Sirideáin: ff and FG criticising sf will get them nowhere. They should focus on presenting their own agendas. Every criticism from ff/FG is another raft of votes for sf. It also creates the impression that sf are not yet another centrist neoliberal party which they clearly are.

Mute Mike Lucey
    Favourite Mike Lucey
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:28 PM

Building Cooperatives is the obvious answer! Think about it! Take a group of 100 WORKING people in need of houses. They will have the initial buying power needed to acquire the serviced land, employ design teams and builders. It would also be a major help to give Credit Unions full banking status so that they would be in a position to back the Housing Cooperatives. Expecting governments of any colour to solve this very solvable problem is a waste of time as they simply are controlled by vested interests.

Mute Matt Joe Caulfield
    Favourite Matt Joe Caulfield
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:54 PM

@Mike Lucey: Certainly a great idea for some people in need of housing. There are I am sure a large number of people who are unable to contribute to a co op and require council accommodation. Co ops would also require Government support to overcome any local NIMBY people

Mute Margaret Deacon
    Favourite Margaret Deacon
    Sep 29th 2021, 1:57 PM

We have just come through nearly 2 years of lockdown with building sites closed down ,how can we have houses,

Mute Stephen Hamilton
    Favourite Stephen Hamilton
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:27 PM

@Margaret Deacon: irrelevant 8 houses by end of year come on

Mute Stephen Hamilton
    Favourite Stephen Hamilton
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:29 PM

@Margaret Deacon: irrelevant 8 houses bt end of year come on

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:33 PM

@Margaret Deacon: Martin will be delighted with your defence of using covid as an excuse. You conveniently fail to mention it was F.F./ Greens who were in power and facilated in the economic destruction of this country which has led to the housing crisis, Homelessness, crumbling Health service that now exists. F.G. in power only added to the mess . FF/ FG/ Greens in power, the very same parties that created this mess ..and you blame covid.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:51 PM

@Margaret Deacon: They haven’t been building public housing in over a decade. Could certainly have made an effort before now. The ghost estates they allowed are devoid of facilities. It’s a rid_culous state of affairs. It’s almost winter and so many are still homeless.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:44 PM

@Donal Desmond: I wonder what party could fix this?

Mute Brendan McCarron
    Favourite Brendan McCarron
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:52 PM

@Margaret Deacon: We’re an outlier in having closed all construction, many other countries kept public projects and house building going.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:54 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Not the crowd that have been running the show up till now, that’s for sure.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:37 PM

@Donal Desmond: Call what I’m about it defending the government if you want but here it goes. My mate was supposed to move into his house January this year house still isn’t completed. My own new build house was supposed to be ready next week wont be ready till January 2022 at the earliest. Other houses in the estate I bought in were supposed to be ready in march this year are also put back to January 2022. Between COVID and shortage of timber building has slowed down building on everything not just social housing.

Mute jp tobin
    Favourite jp tobin
    Sep 29th 2021, 6:15 PM

@Margaret Deacon: Social housing continued during pandemic and completed ,though some are finished
    But not being used for some reason..

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:05 PM

SF cannot be trusted. They are on all local councils that squandered money paid by developer for social housing. Local councils have the ability to seize vacant property again they didn’t do it. There is currently millions unclaimed to provide housing that councils don’t take. Does it matter if it for traveller accommodation to a party working for all? Then there are all the objection. They failed with the power the do have and claim they will do amazing things with more power. Why would anybody believe them when so clear they have done so little where they could have made a difference? Easy to shout from the side lines

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:20 PM

@Craic_a_tower: some mental gymnastics there

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:34 PM

@Mike: maybe for a toddler but a grown adult can see they aren’t effective and their history on where they claim they will be brilliant.

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:20 PM

@Craic_a_tower: …as easy as it is to put the blame for the dire straits this country is in onto SF in every single one of your rants. So you’re a shill for FFFG, we get it, it’s clear. Hope they are paying you well

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:30 PM

@Drunk in Dublin: every single one of my rants? I don’t trust any politician but I trust SF less than that. Play the ball not the man. If I said anything untrue point it out. The truth is SF have done nothing with the local power they had and block housing being built. They have no idea how to fix the housing issue but have made sure less was built.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:54 PM

@Craic_a_tower: It has been well explained that Sinn Féin wish to see the state build affordable housing on public land.

Beautifully designed and maintained housing areas with all amenities properly laid out. Perhaps planed and landscaped in a village or small town style setting with the needs of people first, and a priority.

Not box like structures all crushed together and called “houses”, far from transport, shops, schools etc..all for the benefit of the developer and his bank balance…no way.

Fair-play to Sinn Féin…demand it….brake the greedy cycle.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:03 PM

@Pádraic Ó Braonáin: yeah they WISH. They don’t do anything and can’t explain how it will be paid for. That isn’t a plan it is a lie to get votes. Demanding it won’t work either. Maybe they will get into power but they will be more ineffective. If they wanted people first why didn’t they build social housing when they controlled the money? Why don’t they use the money available to house travellers? Why believe them when they did nothing?

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:28 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: I didn’t know Sinn Féin were the main and the only party in power in the north Grumpy….when did this happen?

What happened to all the other parties…and their British rulers….all gone….When Grumpy?

Mute Alan Campbell
    Favourite Alan Campbell
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:00 PM

The only place Martin gets an applause is outside the country

Mute Ronan Raftery
    Favourite Ronan Raftery
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:04 PM

We should be marching on the streets every week to get this issue sorted!! I pose a question: How many of the elected representatives in Dail Eireann are landlords, having a vested interest in not sorting the rental crisis out? Every TD who is a landlord should be audited.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:07 PM

Why is the focus not on local authorities, they are both the housing authority and planning authority and as such should be providing for the social housing needs and zoned land in their area. The government’s job is to provide the funding and ensure regulations are kept to a minimum. If they are failing in this regard fair enough but there is no shortage of money to deal with the problem from central government. If local authorities can’t do their job then the minister should step in and remove them and put an official in place to run it. Although seeing as everyone blames the central government maybe we need to remove local authorities altogether.

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:37 PM

@The next small thing: well put. The last census had 10% houses vacant with most of these houses in housing estates either owned or leased by the local authorities.

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Sep 29th 2021, 2:48 PM

Can the actual materials be got to build the houses? Supply chains are frigged.

Mute John Martin
    Favourite John Martin
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:07 PM

Its time the government looked after its people

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:28 PM
    Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:46 PM

@Stephen Kearon: Only 8 affordable houses available this year and it’s Sinn Féin’s fault…. good man Stephen.

How dare SF object to a policy of public land been given over to private developers for massive profit, at the expense of much needed affordable housing for the people of Ireland.

Poor developers need all the support we can give them, so shut up Sinn Féin.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:47 PM

@Pádraic Ó Braonáin: Google his name. He’s a FF crank with zero credibility and best ignored.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:50 PM

@Stephen Kearon: Thanks – -quite a few objected but seems its SF’s fault– I think this gut from the article you highlighted sums it up ….”Maynooth academic and housing expert Rory Hearne states that “this mega build-to-rent scheme would essentially be a private enclave set apart from the local area, owned by overseas institutional investors”.

He said: “This is a reversion of 100 years in social progress of land ownership.”

Mr Hearne further claims that the development “is part of a race to the bottom in the Irish housing system” and if approved will give the green light to others to pursue similar type developments.”

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:51 PM

@Dan: …. *I think this guy from the article you highlighted sums it up

Mute James Beattie
    Favourite James Beattie
    Sep 29th 2021, 3:53 PM

@Stephen Kearon: 8 = the number of social housing built this year and approx the same amount of votes you got in the last election you ran for

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:22 PM

@Stephen Kearon: the constant berating of SF is monotonous and pointless. They aren’t in power. This isn’t their fault.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:31 PM

@Declan Doherty: Thanks Declan….noted.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:50 PM

@Drunk in Dublin: yeah not like they would use dirty tactics to get their way. No long history of it. Next you will be saying they have nothing to do with how organised crime was set up in this country. Seems you will defend SF no matter what they have done

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:59 PM

@Craic_a_tower: Maybe you should read a bit further into the “LONG history” of this state.

The black n white stuff was absolutely terrifying.

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:06 PM

@Stephen Kearon: you haven’t got a clue as usual. Weren’t you an advisor to no bank account Ahern?

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:08 PM

@Craic_a_tower: the blueshirts are really desperate if this is the best they can do.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:10 PM

@Pádraic Ó Braonáin: what has that got to do with how SF acted like for the last 50 years? You may have noticed the black and tans aren’t about anymore. I do know about them as they killed my great grandfather. SF don’t get a free pass because people think they were heroic in the past. They created organised crime network and then left it after standing down now we have armed gangsters. Nice legacy

Mute James Beattie
    Favourite James Beattie
    Sep 29th 2021, 6:54 PM

@Craic_a_tower: yep it was SF that created them organised crime networks. Only for SF there would be no crime networks at all. In fact SF are so good they created these crime networks in all other countries worldwide. They sure do get around

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 29th 2021, 7:10 PM

@James Beattie: they created what we have, they hold that responsibility. They profited of it because it suited their need.

Mute James Beattie
    Favourite James Beattie
    Sep 29th 2021, 8:14 PM

@Craic_a_tower: me thinks you are reading too much BS from Paul Williams.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 29th 2021, 8:57 PM

@James Beattie: no I remember the 80s and extortion rackets from SF/IRA. If you don’t think they made money from crime you are deluded

Mute James Beattie
    Favourite James Beattie
    Sep 29th 2021, 9:42 PM

@Craic_a_tower: if you think there would be no organised crime in Ireland only for the IRA, you are twice as deluded. Organised crime is part and parcel of every single country worldwide unfortunately and if you seriously think Ireland would be an exception to this only for the IRA, you really need professional help.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 29th 2021, 4:40 PM

let’s not forget about sf councillors refusing planning in dublin.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Sep 29th 2021, 5:01 PM

@ed w: give us a link to see what you are talking about – - cheers

Mute The only INFP in Ireland
    Favourite The only INFP in Ireland
    Sep 29th 2021, 7:40 PM

He seems to love deflecting when it comes to Sinn Fein and he should be ashamed of himself. I mean 8 houses is a ridiculous number and he should be man enough to stand up and admit that.

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Sep 30th 2021, 8:38 AM

Peter McVerry Trust built an apartment block down the road from me, about 16 units, finished months ago. But the Gov. can only manage 8, and they’re giving themselves til the end of the year to do it.

Mute Fay Moynihan
    Favourite Fay Moynihan
    Sep 30th 2021, 9:08 AM

@Chris Gaffney: I never said that they could but would you not agree we desperately different views and ideas after 10 years of abject failure.

People have zero chance of owning a home under this regime.

If SF get in next time and it’s more of the same then we may as well shut the county down and turn off the lights.

If with their completely questionable past I am willing to give them a chance if we want this country fixed.

We are basically out of options.

Sep 29th 2021, 8:51 PM

Some weapon Slime Feinn