You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Should the Leaving Cert have fewer traditional written exams?

According to the current Senior Cycle redevelopment, English-language oral assessments could be implemented for students who are completing fifth year in 2027.

LEAVING CERT STUDENTS could soon have to take an English-language oral examination, new proposals say.

The exam, taken at the end of fifth year, will largely focus on existing course material such as plays, novels and poems. It will be worth 20% of students’ overall grade and held at a common level.

Creative writing assessments will be worth another 20% of students’ final grade while a final, written exam will be worth 60%.  

Examiners hope that the development of effective communication and meaningful conversation skills among students can be encouraged through oral examinations.

So today, we’re asking: Should the Leaving Cert have fewer traditional written exams?

Poll Results:

Yes (2911)
No  (2686)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:50 AM

IQ tests would make more sense. A fool in a suit is still a fool!

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Oct 2nd 2015, 3:22 PM

bright orange onsies!, for all established “party” members

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Oct 2nd 2015, 3:51 PM

IQ tests for the voters might make more sense!

Mute Ck2
    Favourite Ck2
    Oct 2nd 2015, 7:02 PM

here here!!! and imagine the clothing allowances they would be claiming then

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung

Much better to have an ‘Address Code’.
    Address the bloody question you’ve just been asked.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:38 AM

Much better to have a “no wild accusations that you can’t back up with real evidence, Mick Wallace” code.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:42 AM

Journal you are wrong, Jeremy Corbyn was wearing a tie at the Labour Conference

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:55 AM

Call it: Eircode??

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:56 AM

How about stab vests I hear it can be rough around Monaghan area !!!

Mute IRONY MAN
    Favourite IRONY MAN
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:21 PM

says the Dubliner, oh the Irony!

Mute IRONY MAN
    Favourite IRONY MAN
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:22 PM

@john g mcgrath’s comment

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Favourite Vote Left Ireland
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:08 PM

mick Wallace made claims in July 30k was given to a dodgy developer. guess who the gardai started investigating yesterday? The developer. These “wild claims” are more real than your profile. jeremy corbyn wore a tie, a red tie. like anyone cares when he gave such an inspiring speech.

Mute Vincent S. Coster
    Favourite Vincent S. Coster
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:29 PM

Corbyn’s speech was the worst load of rubbish, rehashed nonsense from the 60s that has the left like an out of date out of touch joke. There was nothing new in that speech but the same stuff that has failed all over the world. The left needs to come up with better ideas. As a former Marxist I am sick of hearing the same old codswallop that never helps the working class masses.
    The Labour party and trades unions only care about their members. Groups like Class War who attacked an independent shop in Shoreditch owned by two working class Irish lads trying to make a living, claiming to attack gentrification while ignoring the Versace chain store down the street are just the same bourgeois groups of pseudo intellectuals who go into working class areas, stir up a load of trouble and leave the working class people to clean up the mess while they go back to their middle class lives. I saw them all the time causing trouble in my council estate in Bray growing up. But hey at least they all got their pictures for twitter so they look hardcore.
    The left are out of ideas. They only have tacky shrill shouting matches and the like. In the mean time the proletariat are still getting screwed. The left need new ideas or they are irrelevant. Still at least the Labour party are not as bad over here in England as they are in Ireland, who have made forming governments with the Blue Shirts so much a regular habit I think they forgot they are meant to be the party of the people.

Mute Brendan Oconnor
    Favourite Brendan Oconnor
    Oct 3rd 2015, 4:17 AM

do you have an option on every article. ? seriously

Mute Timmay Timeo
    Favourite Timmay Timeo
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:29 AM

lets have a no b*llocks code first and then move on to the wardrobes

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:13 AM

A “not done what they promised to do to get elected code” should be in place more so, place be pretty empty most days the bar be flat out

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:19 AM

Many of us have a dress code in our workplaces, most I would suggest. It sends out a bad image of our national parliament to see a fella in there looking like he was dragged through a bush backwards.

I’m not suggesting he need wear a suit and tie but at least a smarter casual look could be achieved, rather than the vagrant drunk style he achieves so well.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:04 AM

I’d rather 158 drunk vagrants that do something and make change as opposed to the cabinet and it’s blue and red well dressed back bench support chorus. or ff.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:53 PM

b*llocks codes are incompatible with gender quotas

Mute dj
    Favourite dj
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:24 AM

I’d prefer a no bullshit code.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:23 AM

The people that destroyed this country wore suits.Jist saying.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:26 AM

So did the 1916 Martyrs. What’s your point?

Mute Timmay Timeo
    Favourite Timmay Timeo
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:27 AM

some of them wore skirts

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:31 AM

OTV what’s the relevance of the clothes in the Dail? I’m more concerned at how they do the job we pay them to do.

Mute Pat Snack
    Favourite Pat Snack
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:33 AM

I hear Mick Wallace once shafted Revenue by a million or so euro.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:35 AM

Pat would that be when Revenue entered into an agreement with Wallace to repay them?

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:42 AM

it’ll take 70-80 years to repay as per their agreement. garlic man got stuck in jail and that’s after he paid everything back including fines. odd.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:43 AM

Clifford I didn’t say it was right, just mentioning the fact there’s an agreement in place.

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:51 AM

Id rather they had a no alcohol code

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:32 AM

Dress code?

No

Answer questions at leaders questions code?

Yes

Mute Greg Power
    Favourite Greg Power
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:24 AM

Maybe it should have legislation to counteract ineptitude and corruption in political office, then we can worry about the trivial matter of a dress code.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes

You can dress a monkey in a suit but it’s still a monkey.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:21 AM

A funny looking monkey though!! He he!! Dance monkey, dance!!

Mute Maria
    Favourite Maria
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:12 PM

Yes but at least (please don’t degrade the poor monkeys

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:28 AM

The fact that this should even be a thing is ridiculous – that a national parliament would have to go about telling its members to be respectful to it says it (obviously dressing well isn’t the only prerequisite to be being respectful) . A law so Mick Wallace would not dress like a lager lout on a stag visit to Dublin.

I’m not saying suited and booted necessarily but at the very least smart casual.

Mute Ted Nugent
    Favourite Ted Nugent
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:36 AM

I agree, it’s all about respect, of which Mick Wallace has zero, for the office, or the people who put him there.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:40 AM

Respect? every member of the government parties wear suits/or fashionable clothing (women) these same people lied to get elected.But hey a liar in a suit shows respect.lol

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:43 AM

‘Dressing well’ is entirely subjective.
    Doing the job we vote them in to do is what matters, not fashion.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:46 AM

Wasn’t Michael Noonan wearing a nice suit as he hounded a dying woman, Brigid McCole, through the courts in the full knowledge that the state was responsible for her hepatitis infection?

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:48 AM

Mick Wallace could be instrumental in opening up one of the biggest can of worms in the history of the state, Tales of skullduggery swirl around people in suits.
    some of them, possibly politicians, who have Zero respect for our institutions, laws and sense of fair play.

But don`t listen to Mick, Sure he wears pink shirts to work, huh? Ted?

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:51 AM

Well said Ted, Wallace the tax dodger and law breaker (illegally climbing a fence to “inspect” a US aircraft) has showed contempt to the people who elected him. He should have more respect for the house. He gives independent candidates a bad name.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:58 AM

And the FG party of which you are a member are the shining lights of virtue Dane?
    He has in no way shown contempt to the people who put him there, he is doing the opposite,
    but the entrenched parties at the top of the gravy chain don`t like him shining his light into dark corners.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:02 AM

Dane will you be spoofing on behalf of FG again today? Still waiting for you to back up your claim ‘FG ended unemployment’.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:04 AM

‘He gives independent candidates a bad name’ he has done more along with other independents to hold this government to account and the constant attack form FG mouthpieces proves this.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:08 AM

Mick Wallace is doing great work at the moment in the Dail but he did file false returns to revenue. Is it not the case that any opposition TD that was handed this info would have done exactly what he is doing? Also there is no need for a suit and tie but a football jersey? Come on lads that’s just not good enough.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy

Well,Norman,they ended unemployment for Dara Murphy’s chauffeur .

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:10 AM

“When Mick Wallace was enmeshed in his Vat problems, I believed he should resign. I thought that was the best thing to do – but I’m very glad he didn’t. On a range of issues, he’s spoken with clarity and insight despite lacking the fluency of the professional politician.
    Last week, he raised the Nama scandal – and he’s been making knowledgeable and intriguing speeches on Nama for some time. In a parliament so laden with time servers and seat warmers, such work – which should be the norm – stands out” -Gene Kerrigan

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:11 AM

Define well dressed. Would togas be appropriate, they were all the rage in parliaments past

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:15 AM

Michael Lowry will be disgusted ,alright

Mute Gill B
    Favourite Gill B
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:16 AM

Always amazes how conformed people are to believe that ones clothing is indication of respect & wealth.

Spawns from royalty, Lord, aristocrats, peasants day, where ones clothing places you within your social status.

Yet in 2015, most general population still conform to this ideology.

Crimeline 2014 displayed CCTV of guy wearing suit walking into 5 government buildings & removing laptops, phones, wallets & purses while the staff were sitting at their desk. No one questioned what he was doing, because he was wearing a suit. Think conmen, fraudsters etc

Ones clothing is most defiantly not representation of their honesty, humanity, respectability.

In fact throughout history, most horrific atrocities took place because the general population of the world conformed to ideology that clothing indicated ones respect, wealth & power, Hitler, Priests, Bankers, Nuns, etc

Mick Wallace can wear what he wants, in fact I love it that he does not conform to this bullshit idea, that the clothes you wear indicate your level professionalism & integrity..

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:20 AM

“He gives independent candidates a bad name.” – I am laughing out so loud at this little nugget of wisdom from Dane :)

That’s like saying that you’re giving a bad name to every independent learning instructor because of your undying love for FG .

Mute Jimmy Riddler
    Favourite Jimmy Riddler
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:23 AM

It’s great I can now put a face to patjoejoe123, billywhizz and other idiots who have spammed this forum with bs posts. Welcome back patjoejoe, we missed your’fastest growing economy’ comments in every thread!!

Mute Jimmy Riddler
    Favourite Jimmy Riddler
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:25 AM

@Dane Tyghe

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:26 AM

That’s an irony Ted, respect has different manifestations. Respect for the office and those who put you there is not dependent on your appearance; do you think someone who lies, cheats and manipulates is being respectful of the office or of those who elected them, just because they dress in Armani?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:41 AM

If he dresses like a tramp, walks like a tramp, acts like a tramp and talks like a tramp then he is a tramp.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:48 AM

Chris define ‘tramp’. Some of the most evil b@stards in history were well dressed.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:09 AM

Enda Kenny ,walks like a dope,talks like a dope and definitely acts the dope -does this mean that he is a dope ? Ok,he’s a dope!

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:59 PM

What a load of nonsense Gill B………

Mute Gill B
    Favourite Gill B
    Oct 2nd 2015, 3:27 PM

Robert, I know it can be quite difficult to open up to possibility that you been believing a lie for most your life, your not alone..

Thousands of evidence based research which validates my opinion on this, go google it.

If you chose not to, next time guy suit tells you best car, mortgage, life insurance deal you get, go a head and believe them, as a man in suit never lies :)

Mute G-Star Bareback
    Favourite G-Star Bareback
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:27 AM

don’t care if Mick Wallace wears a mankini as long as he does his job. over the years I’ve become less trusting of people in suits…

Mute Toddimus Maximus
    Favourite Toddimus Maximus
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:30 AM

Although I get your sentiment, as Dail staff, I’d rather he didn’t

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:41 AM

G-Star so you think Mick Wallace was wearing a suit when he was unable to pay Revenue the money he was owed or do you think he was dressed like he is today? Wearing or not wearing a suit has little tondo with your moral choices. But dressing appropriately for your job should not even require a discussion. Should civil servants be allowed to dress as they wish when meeting the public? And what about business? Should dressing as you want extend to there as well? I’d be happy with smart casual. But I doubt Muck Wallace knows what that even means. I detest seeing someone dressed in a football shirt talking in the national parliament. I think it shows scant respect for either himself or the institution.

Mute G-Star Bareback
    Favourite G-Star Bareback
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:59 AM

tax payers money on flashy suits, no thanks! where does BS come from that you have to wear a suit to do your job. Your mind is warped! people like firemen need to wear special suits, politicians do not.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:27 PM

Who said he has to wear a suit? He’d get a trousers and shirt cheap in any dunnes or m&s. They’d probably cost less that the football jersey.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:38 PM

Jane why is his attire so important? he is representing the people that voted for him quiet well .He is nearly guaranteed to be reelected.Can’t say the same about the ‘suited’ guys and girls.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:51 PM

Because he doesn’t just represent those who voted for him, he represents all of us on an international level. Images of him standing up making very important statements about the goings on in Nama are being seen around the world and they lose some of their impact when people see him as someone who doesn’t take the roll seriously.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:52 PM

If you look at images from any other parliament around the world there is a standard adhered to.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:55 PM

The last image I saw of the Japanese parliament was a mass brawl, is that the standard you’d like to adhere too?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:58 PM

Well Jane, unlike you I only speak for myself. Despite the fact he represents a constituency I don’t live in I’m quiet happy who he represents my country.It speaks volumes about the trust our government TD’s exude when whistle blowers won’t go within a mile of them to express concerns about potential corruption.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 2nd 2015, 3:08 PM

Ah but you’re great Norman, that’s the difference.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 3:10 PM

Jane, no just not arrogant enough to assume I can speak for anyone but myself.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 2nd 2015, 6:52 PM

Ah no you are. And where did I say I spoke for anyone but myself?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 6:57 PM

Jane read your own comments very carefully, btw you don’t know me so accusing me of being arrogant is frankly ridiculous, but if insulting a stranger helps you get your high so be it.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 2nd 2015, 8:14 PM

You have accused me of arrogance so if you’re going to take offense have a little look at yourself first.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim

If we’re going for dress codes I want Italian suits and gold plated guns in there. May as well get robbed in style, school teacher garb isn’t good enough for me.

Mute Ger Mooney
    Favourite Ger Mooney
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:25 AM

Dress code my bollocks, if you do your job, you can dress like the pope for all I care. If you were doing your job you’d have no time to worry about such dark age BSology.

Mute Bobby Neary
    Favourite Bobby Neary
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:34 AM

And is a suit supposed to make them look trustworthy to us

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:35 AM

Yes.
    Orange jumpsuit.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:26 AM

It shouldn’t matter but Joan Burton should be made cut her hair. Does that woman have no mirrors in her gaff?

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:32 AM

Relax. It’s only Haley Joel Osment in drag.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:37 AM

It’s gets like that after she arrives in the morning on her broom.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:38 AM

She has Tweed Cap but she’s spent so much time sucking blood out of the people, she can’t see her reflection.

Mute Cosmological
    Favourite Cosmological

70% yes is a surprise, thought this country cherished individualism.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:38 AM

That’s just the Yfg clicker, it’s being calibrated for next month’s election.

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:40 AM

It’s not even 10am yet… It’s catching those up and on their way to work.

Watch that decline as people roll of bed and choose the least soiled T-shirt from their bedroom floor.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:45 AM

Drew, non judgemental as always.What a breath of fresh air you are.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:44 AM

Up and on the way to work at 10 am? I’m so embarrassed for you right now, just roll over and hide.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe

And legislate via referendum if necessary to tackle the obscene multiple political pensions,politicians should be entitled to one from the public purse..if they want more take them out themselves
    Did anyone notice VB last night and his comments about the labour party being fans of QE..he said it after the report about money laundering..wonder did Gilmore blush?

Mute Paddythewatersprite
    Favourite Paddythewatersprite
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:29 AM

So wearing a suit will do what? Look good on camera?!
    Dress code is absolute nonsense in light of the actual incompetence, inaptitude and ineptitude displayed by those who actually wear the suits!
    Yes to a dress code! Get a grip on reality.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R

Paddy a dress code has nothing to do with competence. That’s a straw man argument. It has everything to do with respect for the institution and the people you are serving. Would you apply the same logic to attending a wedding for example? If you dress as if you are lounging around at home then I think that influences your attitude to your work. I find it hard to believe that so many people here think that an individual should dress how bet they want when doing their job. I doubt most businesses agree. Is this attitude only to apply to public service then ? How revealing.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

John pretty sure the people that voted for the various TD’s that decline to wear a suit knew what they were voting for.

Mute Paddythewatersprite
    Favourite Paddythewatersprite
    Oct 2nd 2015, 2:06 PM

@John R

I think you’ll find John that having respect for the institution and the people you are serving is not demonstrated by attire, but certainly is by actions within the institution and towards the people it serves.
    I think a persons attitude to work will be ably demonstrated by their ability to do the job and not by the attire. That’s been my experience in life.
    Don’t get me wrong, I understand fully your point. I just think it’s wrong.
    As for the wedding, say you get invited to a naturist wedding?! Conventions are conventions, not a dress code.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:18 AM

We should have a poll on “Should we stop targeting whistleblowers” at every opportunity.

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:28 AM

Neat casual clothes. It’s a proven fact people are more productive if they are comfortable. That includes clothing. Not to mention they can claim under the “special allowance” for clothing and footwear. What other jobs is there that people get a special allowance to cover the cost of their business suits? They are not specifically job related clothing like chefs or firemen. And rules where politicians are required to answer questions put to them are beyond necessary at this stage. Also rules that they get their pensions when they are 65 like the rest of us. And most pressing of all- rules on accountability and delivering on promises made during elections. After that then worry about what people are wearing. Far more urgent things need rules and controls up in that circus we call the dail. The clowns are running the show up there.

Mute Francie Coffey
    Favourite Francie Coffey
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:03 AM

An expensive suit has become virtually synonymous with lies & treachery, thanks to Edna & co.
    There is a certain ‘honesty’ in the colourful attire of Mick Wallace et al.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:49 AM

Wolf in sheeps clothing……doesn’t really matter what they wear!

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:42 AM

Who cares what they wear if they do their job? Enforcing an archaic system like a dress code which still has the same purpose now as it did hundreds of years ago, to differentiate the gentry from the plebs, is just stupid any anyone who supports such is elderly, stuck up their own hole, or afraid that if they lose their ‘posh’ look people will see them for what they are – just another lying dirtbag no different than any of the others you may encounter on the street.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:41 AM

Really don’t get why people get bothered about what people wear in work. The whole idea that clothes give a sign of respect is just odd to me. I can only assume it is because people were made wear uniforms in school.
    Worked with many people who were wearing suits and were incompetent. In saying that I draw the line at track suits in offices but that is because I dislike them.

Mute Ken Coalter
    Favourite Ken Coalter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:32 AM

What he says more important than what he wears I don’t look at what someone wears I listen to what they say.

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:09 AM

A Fred Flintstone outfit would suit most of them.
    Yaba da ba doo.

Mute Kate Kelly
    Favourite Kate Kelly
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:13 AM

I’d prefer they had a qualification for the job code.

Mute catkins407
    Favourite catkins407
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:12 AM

I think there should be a dress code but smart casual would do. You don’t want to see po,utucans personal preferences in teams bands or causes promoted by the t shirts they wear. It’s televised now after all. I think the work on the dail is a serious matter and a large section of the population would like to see that reflected in the politicans attitude and clothing. Wearing sports jerseys may be considered frivolous to some. There should be some measure of respect for our Dail. It doesn’t have to be suits and ties but smart and neutral and respectful.

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:37 AM

Sure it’s an embarrassment, but in the grand scheme of things it doesn’t matter he was elected as a Wexford novelty really by the same sort of people that dress and act just like him, doesn’t pay his tax and knocked up a football stadium.

No one of any real power or influence is going to listen to a thing that comes out of the mouth of a tramp, even the elected king of the tramps.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:07 AM

It’s great when the usual FG mouthpieces launch an attack, they just can’t hold their contempt for the public in check.Keep up the good work Mr Barry.

Mute Diarmuid O'Connell
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Connell
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:11 AM

Why should it have a dress code? Most of them behave like clowns and should dress accordingly.

Mute Alan Morrissey
    Favourite Alan Morrissey

Wallace is a stain… Nearly every constituency has a TD they shouldn’t have elected but this guy has to go.. LISTEN UP WEXFORD. As for the poll, of course the place should have a dress code. McDonald’s has one.. This “I don’t care what they wear as long as they are doing good work” attitude is juvenile.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:07 AM

Do you work for NAMA?

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:47 AM

the dress code should be smart casual , no need for suited and booted .

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Favourite Oliver McLoughlin
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:18 AM

What concerns me is the advertising. The Dail is no place for that.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:21 AM

Wardrobe expenses, unvouched, will dress the whole family.

Mute Gusty McBlow
    Favourite Gusty McBlow
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:47 AM

Wear what they want, but be always wearing their drinking boots!!

Especially when passing bills at 2 or 3 in the morning.

Mute chris
    Favourite chris
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:33 AM

If there’s a dress code then the members will be looking for a clothing allowance

Mute brendan mcdaid
    Favourite brendan mcdaid

No coz they will end up in uniforms that we will have to pay for

Mute Pete Watters
    Favourite Pete Watters
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:39 AM

I would get rid of the bar first! Anyway who cares what they dress like, it’s what they have to say that counts. Also they will just expense their fancy suits anyway

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:06 AM

Don’t think there is any need for shirts or ties, but really, soccer jerseys are not appropriate. Could you imagine the uproar if Mary Lou turned up in a Celtic jersey?

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:10 AM

No fan of men (or women) in suits myself.
    Football jerseys are pushing it though. Smart casual would be sufficient..
    Mick’s really stretching it at this stage.

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:11 AM

Could technically be classified as product placement also.

Mute Jason O Neill
    Favourite Jason O Neill

I think a neat dress should be in place but the main thing is that u may well look the part but you may not be playing the part correctly. prefer that that the job gets done correctly than worry too much about the dress.

Mute All Aboard To China
    Favourite All Aboard To China
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:53 AM

They shouldn’t have to wear suits but should still look tidy and have some respect for the office. Yer man Wallace looks like a right knacker

Mute Nicholas
    Favourite Nicholas
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:35 AM

Of course there should be a dress code, it’s our national parliament and should be treated with respect. Wallace in particular is a disgrace.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:44 PM

As in the people should be treated with respect? I fully agree. So much so that it irritates me when the taoiseach and tainiste disrespect us not by answering during leaders questions. They disrespect when they guillotine legislation and take 3 months holidays. expenses scandals and moriarty/fennelly reports are disrespect not what you wear. sure only a few people watch oireachtas tv everyday it’s the media who put out the clothes related headlines while the scandal headline takes a backseat

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:54 AM

It was men in expensive suits that crippled the country now its mostly men and women in expensive clothes that are still helping with crippling everyone in the country. Except the people wealthy and the suites that initially crippled the country of course.

Mute Mike Howard
    Favourite Mike Howard
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:26 AM

Roll on general election time – at least we know this TD in question who is disrespectful of his office, looks an absolute mess in general and playing games with serious issues just to bolster his ego will certainly not be put back in by the voters in Wexford.
    His days are numbered – he is an embarrassment to the entire Country.——
    AND the dress code should be common sense pertaining to the high office of the holder !

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:38 AM

Don’t you mean Mayo?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:00 AM

Mike he must really p*ss ye party supporters off, guess what all polls point to his reelection.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:52 AM

You reckon so Mike? I live in Wexford and I can tell you Mick is a shoo in at the next election, more than I can say for the representatives of the large parties.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:45 PM

Mick Wallace is not only getting reelected I can imagine he’s topping the poll.

Mute Dylan McDonald
    Favourite Dylan McDonald
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:30 AM

To be honest I don’t it matters what anyone wears in the Dail,they should be judged of there actions not there appearances

Mute Paul Mc Carney
    Favourite Paul Mc Carney
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:40 AM

No it already costs the taxpayer enough for the suits they and the hairdressers

Mute Diane Walsh
    Favourite Diane Walsh
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:36 AM

the only people who have any backbone are the ones not wearing suits….it’s the guys wearing the suits who over speak don’t answer questions waffle and avoid any sort of responsibility……worse still throw dirt at their colleagues instead of coming clean about what they are up to…..

Mute Marie Blake
    Favourite Marie Blake
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:28 AM

I think as the people who are ruling our country they should show respect and dress accordingly. Some look like they’ve just come from digging the garden.

Mute Keano
    Favourite Keano
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:23 AM

It should have an integrity code. Tax cheat? Sorry, you can’t come in. Surname is Lowry? Nope, not tonight.

Mute Barry Humphreys
    Favourite Barry Humphreys
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:45 AM

Suit, trilby, violin case.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice

I wonder will Mick wear a suit when he meets Peter Robinson in court?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Why don’t you ask him?He has an email address at the Dail.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:57 AM

All TDs should wear a dress.

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:30 PM

Personally, I think he does dress like this to make a statement: that he is not going to be a conforming TD. You just have to look at the bulk of the suit wearing ones to realise they do f*ck all in the Dail but vote yes/no on command. Just trained monkeys in suits 75% of all the whip system based politicians in political parties.

Oct 2nd 2015, 1:06 PM

Qualified politician capable of doing a job is more important. Wallace has provided more housing for people than Kenny and Joan ever will, a he’s a better politician too, no matter what clothes he wears.

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Oct 2nd 2015, 2:15 PM

Mick Wallace one of the only people in the Dail that I see actually doing a bit of work. The ones in the suits wont God forbid they get a bead of sweat on their Armani suits. You can say a lot about his past but he is making up for it now! Well done Mick keep wearing what you like you are an honour to your position. Wexford are lucky to have him. I’d vote for him any day were I lucky enough to have him in my constituency l. I was delighted when he announced he was running on VB I’d replace any one of the decker a in the suits in the Dail with people like him. Not afraid to get his hands dirty. Oh by the way we should be looking at our position in Shannon airport now that we know who runs Isis wink wink nod nod. It’s a threat to our neutrality out with the yanks go refuel over with your buddy Cameron #pigsgate

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:21 AM

Think about it, most junior and senior infants are required to wear uniforms for reasons explained elsewhere. Surely government representatives should be held to the same standards.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:40 AM

You think we should apply the same rules we do to infants to elected members of the Dail? Should they get an hour for recess as well? Nap time? Replace the Dail bar with juice boxes?

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:57 PM

Read my comment properly, “for reasons explained elsewhere”. If you don’t know the reasons and won’t look at them yourself, well then it’s not worth you commenting now, is it?

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:07 PM

“Jeremy Corbyn took criticism at the labour coference for not wearing a tie” – well he also took praise for not face F***ING a dead pigs head but sure why would the media cover that?

Mute Marian Lee Lynch
    Favourite Marian Lee Lynch
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:03 PM

They should have an ethics code

Mute Catherine Hayward
    Favourite Catherine Hayward
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:08 AM

Yesssss there should be a dress code, at least they will look the part if nothing else, they should also bring in hair codes and the odd shave would not go amiss, after all other Countries have to look at our Muppets on telly too….

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:11 PM

their actions make them muppets not their clothes. I do recall Wallace wearing a footie jersey when he called for a Ind garda authority in 2012. you’ll never guess what happened in 2014? an independent garda authority. Noel Coonan wore a suit when he called water protestors Isis and Alan shatter wore a suit when he broke the law as the justice minister. I rest my case

Mute MeanderingsNI
    Favourite MeanderingsNI
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:14 PM

Most parliamentary houses across the world wont allow access without a tie, it shows respect.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:24 PM

Even the women?

Mute Pedro II
    Favourite Pedro II
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:16 PM

Of course they should.

Would I wear a football jersey to a wedding? Of course not. It’s about respect.

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:35 PM

depends on whether it’s a football themed wedding or not.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:47 PM

How about more importantly a code of adherence to representing the people in an honest and genuine manner!!?!?!
    Wearing a suit does not and should not mean anything in terms of the standard of an elected politician.
    Ireland ,more than anywhere should know that!!

Mute Gerry O'reilly
    Favourite Gerry O'reilly
    Oct 2nd 2015, 6:28 PM

they should also have a honesty code but if they did the place would be empty

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 2nd 2015, 2:23 PM

We’ve a long standing tradition in this country of politicians who create a professional impression yet act despicably. How somebody looks is of no importance whatsoever, all politicians should be judged on their actions.

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Oct 2nd 2015, 2:31 PM

Agreed

Mute David Richard Coe
    Favourite David Richard Coe
    Oct 3rd 2015, 12:09 AM

Moral code perhaps.

Oct 3rd 2015, 4:41 AM

Can start with clean undies lol…

Mute Sean Bainbridge
    Favourite Sean Bainbridge
    Oct 2nd 2015, 7:40 PM

If they want to be more professional they should shut the Dail bar, never mind a dress code, ridiculous that many of them drink when they’re at work.

Mute Paul Connolly
    Favourite Paul Connolly

A dress code and display the EU flag like most other EU countries (UK obviously excluded)

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:49 AM

Fuçk the EU flag kid

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:12 PM

Could we get these countries named? I do recall an Austrian MP wearing a dress in parliament for charity before

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:34 AM

Yes but not as strict as the current one.

Mute Miriam Kane
    Favourite Miriam Kane
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:13 PM

I’m not sure it should have a dress code. however I do think Mick wallace really takes th piss with that ludicrous hair. i don’t listen to him because his appearance is so at odds with his office

Mute Vote Left Ireland
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:34 PM

Then stick to the radio if it makes you feel better. close your eyes and you still hear the same words !

Mute The Gaelic Hour
    Favourite The Gaelic Hour
    Oct 2nd 2015, 3:03 PM

“Please be advised, product placements appear in this broadcast.”

Mute debco
    Favourite debco
    Oct 2nd 2015, 4:05 PM

a dress code is definitely not on my list of what they should be doing

Mute Niall Dole Dosser Dawson
    Favourite Niall Dole Dosser Dawson
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:08 PM

Brilliant idea, FG can represent their true colours with clown suits.

Mute Timothy Hurley
    Favourite Timothy Hurley
    Oct 2nd 2015, 8:44 PM

I don’t want someone in there being completely disheveled, but at the same time the suit and tie look is just an illusion, a front of pretend intelligence and a “you can trust me, I’m wearing a suit” demeanor.

It’s what they say and how they act that matters most, and very few of them are good at that or at helping the people they are supposed to be representing.

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Oct 3rd 2015, 12:43 AM

why it doesnt make them any more honest or dishonest if they are dressed in a suit and tie or a tee shirt , what difference does it make

Mute Luke O
    Favourite Luke O
    Oct 2nd 2015, 3:06 PM

Who cares what they wear?

If they did a great job, then I couldn’t care less what they wear and I don’t think we should.

Mute feckthelot
    Favourite feckthelot
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:21 PM

Cowbell !

Mute John Reid
    Favourite John Reid
    Oct 2nd 2015, 4:40 PM

The Government should have pushed through the aborted dress code in 2011 when they were fresh in office, but they bottled it. The image and standards of Dail Eireann continued to decline year-on-year after that.

A dress code should most certainly be introduced now. We don’t need a debate in lieu of action on a matter as simple as this, the Government must just do it and introduce a dress code for our national parliament that must be observed. TDs will soon get used to it and appreciate it.

Mute Ken
    Favourite Ken
    Oct 2nd 2015, 7:16 PM

I still remember that scruffy knacker Ming boo-hooing about his kids being bullied at school because he turns up to the dail dressed like a scobe after crawling out of a sewer. There should be a dress code without question.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Oct 3rd 2015, 9:37 AM

The grey old men in their shiny suits ,Some of the most slimy .liars and those who brought the country to economic ruin,Bankers politicians ,senior civil servants wore suits and shiny shoes ,I dont care what you wear as long as your honest, competent and do the job you are paid to do .and be a party yes man/women

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Oct 3rd 2015, 9:38 AM

Not be a party yes man/women

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    Oct 3rd 2015, 7:21 PM

Vikings never had a dress code…. Modern dress was invented for the English parliament in the 19th century.

Mute Claire Jones
    Favourite Claire Jones
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:32 AM

Who cares what they wear, It would be better to bring in a qualification system than a dress code. Having a brain should be top of the list. A fair few of them clearly don’t.

Oct 3rd 2015, 4:40 AM

Mick in a Santa suit???