You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Stonegate Road, Leeds Google Maps

Three children and two men killed as stolen car crashes into tree in Leeds

The incident happened in the Meanwood area of Leeds shortly before 10pm last night.

THREE CHILDREN ARE among five people who have died in a crash involving a stolen car in Leeds, England.

The incident happened in the Meanwood area of Leeds shortly before 10pm last night.

West Yorkshire Police have confirmed a stolen Renault Clio collided with a tree.

A 12-year-old boy, two 15-year-old boys, a 24-year-old man and a 28-year-old were involved in the incident. Two were pronounced dead at the scene and three died a short time later at hospital.

Two 15-year-old boys have been arrested on suspicion of causing death by dangerous driving and remain in police custody.

The families of all who died have been informed, the police said.

The road remains closed while West Yorkshire Police conduct an investigation into the exact cause of the collision.

Witnesses to the accident are being asked to contact police on 101 quoting log 1859.

Read: Disruptions to international flights after Bali volcano erupts for second time this week

More: Gardaí seek help finding missing 15-year-old from Tipperary

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

21 Comments
    Mute Kathleen Henderson
    Favourite Kathleen Henderson
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:37 AM

Low fat,low carb, low calorie????madness. …Eat in a balanced way….watching your portions….bingo. Dieting isn’t about food it’s about mental health…..Eat to support good mental outcome….eating in a balanced way gives wonderful physical and mental outcomes…..it’s as simple and as difficult as that.

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:52 AM

Kathleen, you stand accused of over-punctuation. How do you plead?

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:16 AM

Dot Guilty!

Mute Kathleen Henderson
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:43 AM

Ahhh sure I’m dotttty. …must be all the low fat…….

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:38 AM

I looked at all these so called diets and low fat foods and what came out of it for me was eat what you want less and more often, so I did, and found over the day I consumed more food while eating what I liked and lost 3 1/2 stone in about a year and a half, and have maintained that weight lose, the only thing I done differently really was grill food instead of frying it, so did I go in a diet?? don’t feel like I went on a diet, just changed how I eat and when I eat, but didn’t have to change what I eat really,

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Favourite Chris O Neill Cabra
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:56 AM

Gimmick, most ow fat grub is full of crap, artificial sweetners, chemicals etc and it has only marginally less calories.

Mute Bobby Fox
    Favourite Bobby Fox
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:57 PM
    Mute M
    Favourite M
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:21 AM

Calorie surplus = weight gain.

Calorie deficit = weight loss

/thread.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:04 AM

Alas it’s not as straight forward as that. Your body recognizes a reduced calorie intake as famine and its metabolism slows down, reducing calorie consumption. You get sluggish and tired but no weight loss :(

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:22 AM

So if somebody eats 15% below maintenance level calories consistently, you dont think they will lose weight? They will by definition, thats what maintenence level means. What you seem to be suggesting is a calorie buffer zone of sorts, within which you will stay the same weight. Which is plausible.

Mute LesEnfant Perdu
    Favourite LesEnfant Perdu
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:44 AM

The often quoted slow down in metabolism only happens in famine like conditions. If you wanted to slow your metabolism right now it would takes 72 hours of fasting before any drop in your metabolism occurs and then it’s only slightly. Oddly enough being overweight also reduces metabolism.

Mute Kathleen Henderson
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:51 AM

John I think your response illustrates a little negativity.The lees we eat the skinnier we will be….also we’ll be depressed tired sad and mentally low.

Mute Owen Slattery
    Favourite Owen Slattery
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:26 AM

Combine the deficit with enough protein up preserve lean body mass, and you’ll reduce your body fat %. crash diets don’t improve body composition due to the deficit bl being too high and protein intake being too low.

Mute Marie Berrill
    Favourite Marie Berrill
    Oct 30th 2015, 10:04 AM

Not true, lots of research that has been around for decades say otherwise.

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Oct 30th 2015, 10:44 AM

Otherwise than what?

Mute william looby
    Favourite william looby
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:24 AM

Absolute ring. unless your body defies the laws of thermodynamics, you obey this rule. Fact.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:42 AM

Eat less, exercise more

Mute Kathleen Henderson
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:51 AM

Eat less rubbish food….exercise in a balanced manner…..be kind and gentle to ourselves in our eating and exercising.

Mute It's all good
    Favourite It's all good
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:12 AM

Eat less, exercise more is a myth. It’s not about the quantity of food you eat but the quality of food eaten. The more nutrient dense foods consumed lead to better health and weight loss. Eating veg, particularly green veg, lean proteins, citrus fruits and nuts and seeds in that order will give drastically better results than choosing to have one packet of crisps rather than two. Sugar and not fat is the enemy, practically all low fat foods have had the fat removed and replaced with sugar. When consumed they spike your insulin levels and cause cravings. Sugar also causes inflammation, which leads to many illnesses we see today. Eat as much nutrient dense food as you like, do high intensity exercise for shorter periods and the weight will come off.

Mute LesEnfant Perdu
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:37 AM

I’m sorry the only proven way of loosing weight is calorie deficate. If you eat “enough” nutrient dense foods you will get fatter. You can lose weight and improve your blood pressure and other key health measures even on a “diet” of fast food: http://www.niashanks.com/teacher-lost-weight-eating-mcdonalds/

Don’t underestimate what your body is capable of. It is ruthless at extracting every nutrient from food, even crap food.

Mute It's all good
    Favourite It's all good
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:59 AM

Yes I’m aware of the guy who lost weight eating purely Mc Donalds. This can be done and yes the body will extract every nutrient from that French fry of which there are so few. The impact of barely having enough nutrients will almost immediately show though. The guy who eats mc Donald’s will catch a cold or flu more quickly than than one who eats an abundance of nutrient dense food as he’ll lack vitamin c. If you choose to eat nutrient dense food but only eat nuts and seeds, then yes, you will likely gain weight, that’s why I stated above that you need to choose foods in order of veg, lean protein, citrus fruits and then nuts and seeds. When making a meal, the first decision should be, what veg am I having, then what meat, and what healthy fat (coconut oil etc) will I use to cook with. If after, you’re still hungry, then have a piece of fruit. If you must snack in between meals have some nuts. The simplicity of it really works.

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:56 AM

If you’re talking about weight, allthay matters is calories. If you are talking about health, calories AND quality of nutrition. Its really not that complicated guys.

Just fat people making excuses. If you just say, I cant lose weight because I’m not diciplines enough thats fine. Nobody is saying its easy. But it sure is simple.

Mute LesEnfant Perdu
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:06 AM

Your diet would work and I have previously lost 2 stone from a similar programme. Although your diet is simple it’s also very anti-social, do you have a slice of cake when it’s a work colleagues birthday? Do you have dessert when you eat out? How about having a few beers with your mates? The lack of carbs creates cravings and I don’t think it’s sustainable for more than a year. The guy who did the “McDonald’s diet” had a salad every day so he was eating some nutrient dense foods. The main point of his diet is that he made the right choices even though he had poor options (McDonalds food only). I think a diet that can fit into everyday modern life is the simplest option and one most likely to work. Personally I fast for 16 hours twice a week. It means I can still have a slice of birthday cake, stop and grab a burger if I’m on the road and enjoy a bottle of wine with my wife or a few beers with my mates on the weekend. I can do all this and still keep my body-fat at 10% (previous being 25%). I do eat plenty if veg and exercise regularly.

Mute It's all good
    Favourite It's all good
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:46 AM

That’s great that you’ve found intermittent fasting works for you. Many people find it gives them brilliant results. My point is all things being equal, it’s best to choose high quality nutrient dense food over fast food, but if I could only choose mc Donald’s I’d choose the salad option too. Now, is it possible to eat exactly as I suggested 7 days a week? no, modern society doesn’t allow it. Once a week, I’ll have wine, eat out at a restaurant. As for a colleagues birthday, if you work in a big company these can be nearly daily events. Many people would rather not eat cake everyday but it’s a social norm now. As an obese society we should be okay with someone not wanting to have a piece of cake. We’re fine with an ex smoker refusing a cigarette, but if the cake is refused, you’re a health freak – sure don’t you only live once.

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Dec 6th 2015, 10:08 PM

Eat less and drink more

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:14 AM

Low-fat foods are abominable!

When I come to power, all foods that have the words “low-fat”, “sugar-free”, “light”, “reduced”, “zero” or “skimmed” in their names will be banned.

I will also reintroduce proper greasy, fatty crisps. Laden with salt and MSG.

Who’s with me?

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:27 AM

Could you please bann the use of the world “natural” in advertising too. Everything is natural if it exists. Except of course yer wan 200 years ago who got preggers without gettin the ride, the hoor.

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:36 AM

Duly noted M. It’s official. We’ll found the People for Unhealthy Food and Correct Terminology Party. I’m assigning you as chairman. We just need a military wing now to overthrow the government and crush all opposition.

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:46 AM

I agree if we also ban artificial, fairness (in politics) and democratic. Fairness is the most abused word in the English language.

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:41 AM

Qwerty, you’ve got my vote.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:31 AM

Was in a hotel in UK recently… No ordinary milk… Just umpteen low fat varieties.

Mute O'Brien Boru
    Favourite O'Brien Boru
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:35 AM

You had me at military wings, but chicken wings would be better. Call it the Organised Belly Enlargement Society Eire and I’m in.

Mute Phil Roche
    Favourite Phil Roche
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:36 AM

200 years ago? Around 1815 then? Who was it?

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:10 AM

Well I wasn’t there was I! But ah no, Philimena I think her name was, absolute weapon of a young one.

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Dec 6th 2015, 10:14 PM

I’m with you. Hurrah!!

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:43 AM

I found a great way to burn of the fat, I just up the heat on the aul frying pan a notch.

Mute JIMINYJELIKERS
    Favourite JIMINYJELIKERS
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:37 AM

I know a woman who only ate rashers and lost 10 stone in a day

Mute O'Brien Boru
    Favourite O'Brien Boru
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:40 AM

Are you sure it wasn’t £10

Mute JIMINYJELIKERS
    Favourite JIMINYJELIKERS
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:32 AM

now that I think of it yeah , that sounds right

Mute Rock Stoneballs
    Favourite Rock Stoneballs
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:07 AM

Cancer will do that alright

Mute leon James.
    Favourite leon James.
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:29 AM

I’m on a low fat diet the last 4 weeks.Leavin aside the murders…..

Mute leon James.
    Favourite leon James.
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:36 AM

The boy be doing good like.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:28 AM

If it’s packaged, it’s generally bad.
    Fresh veg, fruit and a variety of meat and fish.
    Whole meal or whole grain bread less butter.
    Cereal , porridge or wheetabix.
    Drop salt and sugars.
    No science. Lifestyle changes. Exercise a little..

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:30 AM

Include dairy in small portions, cheese, milk.
    Eggs for all..

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:29 AM

This report contains old knowledge. Not all fats are bad. Indeed fat is an essential component of our diet. The low fat recommendation is yet another indication of poor science. The real problem is that when you remove fat manufacturers replace it with salt and/or sugar The body does not treat all calories the same. It depends on the source of those calories and a host of other processes within the body. The western diet contains too many simple carbs combined with too much protein which is a recipe for disaster. The second problem is that we are too sedentary and overeat given that we do not exercise sufficiently to burn off what we eat. The low far recommendation has led to an epidemic of obesity. Fat is sweet and our bodies crave this sweetness. Take out the fat and we replace it with sugar to mimic what our bodies need or we overeat or eat the “wrong” foods in an attempt to satisfy a craving for sweetness. Our diet is skewed as are our lifestyles. Attempting to remedy these factors using fat as the “badie” is simply stupid and very poor science. It is reductionism at its worst. We need to view humans more holistically is we are to solve the crisis of obesity and ill health such as rampant diabetes.

Mute Fiona
    Favourite Fiona
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:04 AM

Any chance of a link to the actual article so we can read for ourselves?

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:24 AM

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!
    I’m crying into my muesli here for f**k sake!
    Back to bacon for me.

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Favourite Chauncey Gardiner
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:36 AM

There’s never been a better time in this country to eat well! Ingredients and foodstuffs that were once elusive and unavailable are easily accessible now and there’s greater choice of ‘healthy’ restaurants to choose from. The recession also gave the opportunity for some to develop some fantastic food.
    I keenly ate high carb, low fat for many years and only after becoming very ill I reversed the process.
    I have to take steroids daily, and I soon discovered that my love of fruit and juicing had to stop as in combination with steroids I was gaining weight and I was so uncomfortable about it.
    I now follow a diet high in good fats and protein and have reduced my carbs way down, to no more than 30g a day and it works very well for me.

Mute Gary Hughes
    Favourite Gary Hughes
    Oct 30th 2015, 2:14 PM

Same here ! Great way to eat isn’t it ? Never get overly hungry and good steady energy I find.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Oct 30th 2015, 6:46 AM

The journal reported on another problem with low fat diets in 2013

http://www.thejournal.ie/low-fat-high-calorie-foods-safefood-913126-May2013/

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Oct 30th 2015, 8:06 AM

Gluttony is the number one cause of obesity.

Mute boildyeggs
    Favourite boildyeggs
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:23 AM

Get into the gym, lift weights, walk, run, swim ,play, eat balanced meals, more veg, and guess what not only will you feel better you will also look better. Forget the sham diets of shakes and low fat. That’s just a diet of high sugar and little nutrients.

Mute Paddy Whack
    Favourite Paddy Whack
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:51 AM

I use lots of butter, then half an hour later I’ve definitely lost weight

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Oct 30th 2015, 11:29 AM

Journalie states ” Low-fat diets…led to slightly less weight loss compared with low-carbohydrate diets, ”

The Lancet states “low-carbohydrate interventions led to significantly greater weight loss than did low-fat interventions” “Significantly greater” interpreted as “Slightly less” . ???

That’s why it’s not a great idea for unqualified people to take stuff from the medical journals and spread it around to the general public! Why give the impression that there is no difference between low fat and full fat?
    Is anyone arguing that a low fat diet is not better than a full fat one? The findings may show that low fat and full fat on their own may make no difference in weight loss BUT what we don’t know is if the calories were cut to compensate for the full fat diet AND low fat is better for your HEART!

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Oct 30th 2015, 12:14 PM

Read how the experts interpret the study in the irish times for instance
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/fat-fight-researchers-disagree-over-study-into-low-fat-diets-1.2411293

Mute Fiona
    Favourite Fiona
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:07 AM

D’oh! Found it

Mute Gary Hughes
    Favourite Gary Hughes
    Oct 30th 2015, 2:09 PM

Its true that all calories are not created equally. Eating low fat generally results in eating higher amounts of sugar and carbs. This can lead to energy highs and lows ie sugar crashes. Eating low fat also has a very negative effect on your moods as your brain needs healthy fats to work properly. I’ve been eating low carb and high healthy fat for over two years. I lost weight effortlessly and all my blood test health markers improved significantly. A highly recommended way to eat I think.

Mute Owen Slattery
    Favourite Owen Slattery
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:25 AM

you post this like it’s informative, this has been known for decades. Calories in vs calories out, simple.

Mute The Destroyer
    Favourite The Destroyer
    Oct 30th 2015, 9:00 PM

a new study.. what a joke. anyone that knows anything about nutrition(which sadly isn’t many people :/) knows this.. I laugh every time I see a woman buying low-fat milk.. How about read the back, see the sugar content of that against full fat mat.. Full fat milk is much better for you.. Excess fat is not bad at all.. New study, god I sill laugh at that statement

Mute leon James.
    Favourite leon James.
    Oct 30th 2015, 7:15 AM

Ger Comings.:-)

Mute Sinead Leavy
    Favourite Sinead Leavy
    Oct 30th 2015, 10:50 AM

All this study found was that diets are more effective at losing weight than not being on a diet.

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Oct 30th 2015, 1:36 PM

Hate to say, I’m underweight, no, no, no!