You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE NEW FINE Gael leader has said he won’t be “best friends” with Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin, but is confident they can have a good working relationship.
“We have a confidence and supply agreement. We are both professional, large political parties – we both know how to do business. It is going to be possible to have a good working relationship. We are not going to be best friends, but we are certainly not going to be in coalition, but we are going to have good working relationship,” Varadkar told reporters this afternoon.
Previously, Varadkar said he did not trust the Fianna Fáil party.
Commenting yesterday, Martin said he is sure the new Fine Gael leader has said a few things in the past that he now regrets.
Eamonn Farrell
When asked by TheJournal.ie if he does regret any utterances he has made in the past, he replied:
What we have now is a new start and I am taking on a new role – assuming the vote goes okay next Wednesday… and when you start a new role I think it is an opportunity to start afresh and the meeting went very well. I am absolutely confident we can have a good working relationship, reflecting the fact that we are the party in government and they are the main party in opposition.
Varadkar’s new Cabinet
Vardakar said he has been mulling over who should be in his new Cabinet, but said no decisions have been made.
However, he did state there will be more disappointments than appointments for his colleagues.
Varadkar made the point in his first press conference as leader last week that there would not be enough seats around the Cabinet table for his supporters, but the point was hammered home today.
He told reporters today at Government Buildings that he has yet to select his new Cabinet, but did say the make up of it would be based on regionality, gender and trust.
“Anyone who heads up a government, heads up a football team needs to know that everyone on that team is going to be fully behind your programme,” Varadkar said.
I’ll take into account… the need for a degree of regional balance, a degree of gender balance and of course the core issue of trust…
Simon Harris’ future
Housing Minister Simon Coveney, who failed in his bid for the leadership, said on radio this week that he “hopes and expects” Health Minister Simon Harris to be in the new Cabinet, adding that he didn’t want any of his supporters’ careers to be damaged just because they supported him in the race.
Varadkar said he would make his selection on the “basis of my assessment of what’s best for the country and the best people who should be in that”.
RollingNews.ie
He said he will make his choice based on people’s’ “ability” and “capability” to do the job.
However, he was quick to point out that his supporters who might have been banking on a promotion should not be disheartened. There could be another opportunity around the corner.
“There will be a reshuffle in 2019 after the local and European elections, so I hope that anyone that is disappointed doesn’t think they have lost out forever,” said Varadkar. He might be a little optimistic, as some are speculating there could be another election next year and another party in power.
A place for Lucinda in the fold?
Varadkar laughed off suggestions that he might like to see his friend and former Fine Gael colleague, Lucinda Creighton rejoin the party, replacing Dublin Bay South’s Kate O’Connell (who was a vocal Simon Coveney supporter during the contest).
“Kate is a fine TD and I wouldn’t like to see her replaced under any circumstances,” he said heartily.
The new leader has had a busy week of meetings with independents and Fianna Fáil in a bid to shore up their support ahead of the vote to be Taoiseach next week.
The Social Protection Minister said he had yet to meet independent TD Michael Lowry, and said there has been no arrangement to meet yet. Last year, the former Fine Gael TD voted for Enda Kenny to be An Taoiseach.
Leo Varadkar at Government Buildings, talking to the media following discussions held yesterday with Independent members of Government and with Fianna Fáil. RollingNews.ie
RollingNews.ie
Kenny denied there was any special deal or promises given to Lowry in return for his support.
Varadkar said today that he was unaware of any deal in place with Lowry.
What do the independents want?
In terms of the wants of independents and Fianna Fáil, he said they want some commitments in the programme for government expedited, while members of the Independent Alliance are seeking to avoid Cabinet collective decision-making on some issues, asking for a free vote on some matters.
Varadkar said this can happen on occasion and will be decided upon on a case-by-case basis.
Rural Independent TD Dr Michael Harty (who was a member of the Oireachtas Committee on Healthcare Reform) said he wants Varadkar to commit to implementing their ten-year plan for the health system.
He said he was surprised to hear Varadkar had yet to read the report, but Varadkar told reporters today that he had read the executive summary and planned to read the full report this weekend.
Because the proposed plan wants health spending to increase by €6 billion, Varadkar said he does not want to make commitments that he can’t deliver on.
“I want to make commitments I know I can honour and deliver on. I don’t want to say to people that I can promise you something now and then turn around in six weeks time, after I have considered it in full, and say that I can’t commit to it. I don’t think that is a good way to do business.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is going g to be a massive problem. More than brexit even. Weather creches remain open or not it’s about if families can afford them. Our creche is charging 1700 PM for our 2 kids and now we are looking at one of us giving up work.
Imagine if thousands are thinking the same, the country.will come to a standstill. The Gov needs to step up here now. Maybe kicking insurance companies out of the country is an option and creating a gov based insurance scheme. Something has to be done, and done now
@Lar Meyler: we have a very low level (.2 of oecd average) of government investment in early years education- that means low wages for staff with resulting high turnover – and parents unable to afford to attend work – raise the level to the oecd average and provide a National insurance scheme – problem solved
@Lar Meyler: you’re assuming that CA is just covering childcare.. what about the other expenses? And it’s not just insurance hikes for child care facilities it’s happening across the board.
@Lar Meyler: do you work for an insurance company or something. You seem to be fighting their corner. Look at it this way. My misses gets paid 2200 after tax. Childcare is 1700. That’s 500 balance on. Or 125 pw to live on. Car insurance and diesel soon takes the rest. It’s not worth her while to work. Simple isn’t it
@Lar Meyler: I’m assuming at some point you may want to claim a state pension, or avail of some other social supports in your later years? These aren’t funded out of some big state investment pot, they are funded out of current expenditure, or in other words, the taxes a societies children will pay in later years.
It’s called the social contract, and the reason why child care supports are important now, alongside education, etc, its securing future state expenditure to look at it purely financially
@Joe Mc: Kicking insurance companies out of the country is nonsense. A government that underwrites these crèches means that tax payer money that could be used for something else like health or housing will instead be diverted into paying for government run insurance. Absolutely luscious idea
@Joe Mc: all abroad the government insurance profiteer gouging families train hit us where it hurts most our kids thanks fine geal finna fail, feeling broke with fine geal
@Joe Mc: The solution is for her to give up work. In reality it probably cost her more to work than just the car. Plus if she gave up work you can claim Home Carer Tax Credit, which is worth an extra €1600.
@Towger: ha fat chance to one wants to mind their own kids nowadays that’s why people pay most of their salary on childcare .. oh and ‘make sure they have had their dinner and homework done before I collect them so I can put them straight to bed ‘
@Joe Mc: the govt cannot ‘kick’ any company out of the country, it is illegal and contrary to international trade rules.
What the Childcare providers need to do is to carry out an audit of all claims, and their outcomes, taken by parents on behalf of their children, against the ‘providers. Too many parents have become too litigious. Settlements are too high. Court awards are way too much.
Add up the total cost of these insurance claims paid out by insurance companies. In addition, the RTE Primetine Investigates programme highlighted huge issues and discrepancies within the childcare industry.
Many childcare providers saw their service as a ‘gravy train’ model.
It would be interesting to hear why the insurance provider is pulling out of Ireland.
Between the insurance industry gouging us for every penny they can and the compo culture we will have hardly any services left before long as people can’t afford insurance policies!
@Cork Truck Driver: recently released figures clearly show that ‘ compo culture’ is a myth manufactured by the insurance companies to ‘ justify their gouging. Stop helping them peddle that false story.
@Cork Truck Driver: If you watch SFs Pearse Doherty quizzing the insurance companies, they acknowledge there is very little scamming being reported to the Gardai. Less than 50 cases across the entire insured population over the last 12 months. The insurance companies enjoy the scammers (We all know a few politicians between the 2 big parties that had spurious claims submitted)
@M Bowe: Ah would you stop, it’s not a myth. Just because insurance companies are gouging us does not mean we don’t have a ‘compo culture’, we can have both! Look at all the crazy claims that have been before the courts lately. Insurance and claims industry needs a complete overhaul and quickly.
@DK: you mean just because a report that clearly
Indicates there is little to no compo culture has been published doesn’t mean there is no compo culture, you understand how statistics differ from your anecdotes right?
Because one is the facts and the other is pure speculation
@M Bowe: Yet, it is inescapable that few busiesses will avoid a market where they can make a profit similar to.other markets. That is how capitalism works.
@Cian Rynne: Cian you need to scratch below the surface of what SF are peddling. We have always had a compo culture just because numbers have stayed same doesn’t mean no culture. Awards are too high way above European norms which is why insurance companies don’t want to insure creches, if it was profitable they would.
@DK: have a look at Pearse Doherty videos at PAC. Finally busted that myth. 4% and less are actually fraudulent claims. Equate that to the massive increase in premiums and profit margins in that industry!!!!
@Cian Rynne: We regularly read stories in the papers of people bringing spurious insurance claims which are thrown out by the judge for obvious fraud. It may not be endemic or part of a ‘compo culture’ but it does happen quite regularly.
The problem with these cases is that they fraudsters are never charged or even reported for fraud.
The insurance companies need reigning in as they are profiteering on a grand scale but I’d still like to see obvious fraud prosecuted in the courts.
@M Bowe: then why are there not insurance companies queuing up to come to Ireland to gouge us? The insurance companies we have are gouging but other things like the compo culture need to be fixed to encourage more insurance companies in and drive down prices
The state should insure creches, they are vital to the economy, two parents who work get very little from the government and have no option but to use creches (which are 99% excellent in this country) so give us this one government, cover the insurance and subsidise the underpaid workers in creches wages to an acceptable level…if they don’t work I can’t work
@Wheresmyjumper: Yes. Take the business out of the hands of the dishonest and greedy and you resolve the main problems. A bit like legalising drugs when you think about it.
@Wheresmyjumper: three areas where insurance companies are increasing the cost of living through anti-competitive practices: childcare, motor and health. The state should provide basic cover in all of these and have a single body responsible for managing claims, which will all be assessed by international benchmarks outside the court service. Companies who wish to provide additional insurance beyond this will be allowed, but will not have access to the courts system.
@Wheresmyjumper: well it’s vital that I get to work also so while they are at it they can Insure my car too. oh and I dont earn that much so they can subsidise my salary too. Parents these days want it all. New cars foreign holidays even expect the government to pay for their childcare! Ever hear of the saying you can’t have it all.
Could we not have uninsured Creche’s where the kids have cheaper highly inspected childcare facilities but the parents can’t sue when little Johnny falls over. Sign a disclaimer.
Kids pick up cuts and bruises all day every day. No need to sue a playground or a crèche….
Like everything, wait until it’s at breaking point before it’s even looked into. They have known for years they were one bump away from this disaster. Where is the minister for children this week? Why can’t the govt intervene in critical services in their own country? Have things ever been as nonsensical in this country as they are right now?!
@Mark Dooley: Years of voting FFG and people still vote for them…..I say suck it up we vote for corruption we have it all coming to us……booooom keep it going lol
For many families in Ireland there is a requirement for both parent to work to pay for the cost of living. The closure of child care facilities will require one parent to withdraw from the workforce, a loss that won’t be even remotely offset by not having not to pay for childcare.
This will drive families to poverty, and it starts in 2 weeks as the 1st Jan hits, we are out of time for an insurance taskforce, action is needed now
@David Memery: it’s absolutely shocking, soon nothing will be able to operate in this country if the insurance companies continue such horrendous prices.
@Ann Morris Doolan: it’s not just the insurance companies charging too much. Something is stopping other insurance companies from coming to Ireland. Only one quoting for many things. It’s a joke. This needs to be tackled ASAP. This is a bigger crisis than Brexit, society is being ripped apart, the Govt have to prioritise this!
Why do people keep voting for Fine Gael and Fianna Fail who created this problem on purpose to make money for insurance companies? They refuse to intervene in ‘the market’. They have no intention of fixing the problem. If you find yourself in this situation and cannot afford child care and you voted for those two parties then you only have yourself to blame. Until those two parties are voted out the problems with housing, healthcare, and insurance will only get worse.
@Wade Wilson: well I’m no fan of fg/ ff but as far as I can see they are all the same. This country is down the tubes they can talk it up all they like but it’s all bull
Heard the minister on radio this morning and he didn’t seem to think that there was any problem with the price alliance is quoting. There’s the real problem ministers living in a dream world
@Joe Mc: not enough off them gone down, payout still too high, kids have accidents in crèches and parents are suing for an easy few thousand euros. Kids fall and get cuts, it’s all part of growing up
@Patrick O Connell: still doesn’t justify 300% increase in premiums. Insurance companies should be kicked out of the country and replaced by a gov I insurance scheme with capped payouts for injuries
We need a change in the law that puts responsibility onto people. It would seem that there is also someone to sue if something happens. Swing gate is a perfect example, a fully grown adult decides to get a swing with drinks in each hand – falls off and who’s to blame – the hotel. Zero responsibliity to the person and their actions. Set it so that people are responsible for their own actions, that will drive down claims.
Open up our markets to other insurance companies in the EU, right now its hard to set up in Ireland as many previous insurance companies will content to.
@Jim Buckley Barrett: bad example as this was fought, but still probably resulted in the hotel’s premiums going up to cover the solicitor, barrister and court fees.
It would be a nice circle if the judges awarding OUTRAGEOUS amounts are directly affected by this through their children or grandchildren. Maybe then they might think someone who is splattered with water through their own stupidity doesn’t need €50k
So blindingly obvious this and so many other claims prone industries. Let everyone or their carer have their own accident insurance and when you want to use a facility like a creche, you simply sign an indemnity. This is how it is done with for instance “shoots”, duck, pheasants etc.. Everyone participating must have insurance cover and sign the indemnity.
If a creche or any other organization, be it a shop or a town council, contravenes health and safety regulations, then they are brought to court. Not closed down or robbed, or rather all of us robbed by premium hikes, a product of legally promoted crazy claims, like pouring boiling water in a water jug. 55K.
How in 2019 are families not able to set up childcare with registered companies/child minders and get it taken from pre tax salary like the tax saver for transport?
The first ones to complain will be the ones who sued a creche because their kid did what kids do and fell over claim culture over here needs to emd kids gettin 20 39 and 40 thousand for a scratch in the 90s kids would be told to cop on and watch what were doing but now its straight to making a claim
So when your child is signed up the owner advises you we are not insured but we will do our utmost to mind your child. So for sure the solicitor will not be called over a trip or fall. Simple
@Mick Scanlan: Can they not self insure? I know it’s a simplistic view but if the saving was passed to parents a charter was in place for good practice and a written agreement in placed between all parents and owners. Obviously with some exceptions for blatant neglect.
@Fred the Muss: nope, the amount you’d need upfront would be staggering ,and all creches already go through the hoops with “good practice”,(even if a minority arent as good at implementing it “,if you introduce another scheme,it’ll be more box ticking for staff (and less minding)
Insurance companies do not refuse businesses unless they see it as loss making or too low a return compared to other opportunities. Same applies to all businesses.
At end of the day, no one can force anyone to insure anyone. And the tax payer should not do so either. We (the people and gov), are not insurers for high risk to claims businesses.
Of course, this could be sorted somewhat if we scrap childrens allowance and invest it all into early childcare like other countries do.
@Lar Meyler: Ok then. Say your creche insurance was 1K per year (just to use figures) for the last two years. Next year it now costs 4K. How can that increase be justified if there were no claims against the creche during the previous two years?
@Lar Meyler: What you’re leaving out there is everything has to be insured by law. The point people are making is how it’s justified that insurance is required by law and private companies are in charge of pricing. Since you have to get it whether you like it or not, and there’s virtually no competitive market for it, the few insurers that exist can charge whatever they want with no regulation. The fact that it is law makes the government line of “we can’t do anything” a gigantic load of bollocks.
@David Corrigan: Insurance costs are calculated across the full customer base, not just the individual. So when there are a lot of claims, everyone’s insurance goes up. A single claim can be 6 figures and then double that for legal costs of both sides.
I know it sucks but that is how it works for centuries.
@David Corrigan: The numbers published to date were solely for car.insurance.so not sure. But one thing is for certain, our court awards are on average 400% that of the UK and our legal.costs are a joke.
No business runs away from an opportunity to make a buck unless there are better opportunities elsewhere (uk pays higher insurance than Ireland!!) or the risk of losses is to high. That is just how things work.
Fianna Fáil (Charlie McCreevy) forced many, who want to be stay at home parents, into the workplace by making it unaffordable to stay at home. Then Fine Gael make it unaffordable to work or stay at home. When the election comes, remember these 2 are planning on ruling together again. Vote for anyone but them because regardless who else gets in, they can be no worse than these gangsters.
Typical of a govt with no strategy for childcare. There needs to be a different direction. Childcare costs for those lucky enough to find a place are astronomical. The whole industry is creaking at the seams. Not enough supply for demand, getting way too expensive. Taxing insurance company wont fix it structural issues within induatry. Offer families tax incentives through realistic tax credits for one family member to remain at home until secondary school. This should be based on tax stamps earned in past. Take kids out of system but make it financially viable for one parent to stop working. Not 1600 per year as it stands. Tax credits should bevin the region of 12,000 per year to make it viable to people.
Alan Farrell is the chair of the committee. Is this a wind-up? Am I living in an alternate universe? The same Alan Farrell who had a €15,000 personal injuries claim against Hertz? WTF. It’s like leaving a fox in charge of a hen house. This country.
Properly registered creche should be under a group insurance scheme negotiated and administered by each County Childcare Committee. This could be also in some way underwritten to a certain percentage by the relevant Department with responsiblity for children.
Insurance exploitation of the public by the insurance industry is rife in this country.
Alan Farrell is the chair of the committee. Is this a wind-up? Am I living in an alternate universe? The same Alan Farrell who had a €15,000 personal injuries claim against Hertz? WTF. It’s like leaving a fox in charge of a hen house. This country.
First they will force thousands of people out of work saying there is nothing we can do about it but when people start claiming dole suddenly they can do a lot – blame a welfare cheats!
1,500euros for each creche tax payers money str8 into insurance companies massive profits, thats money that wont be spent on public infrastructure and public services fine geal keeping the robbery going. The government should found their own insurance to put pressure on private insurance to lower it premiums not do like they did with hap paying for landlords houses and now paying for insurance companies higher profits
all abroad the government insurance profiteer gouging families train, hit us where it hurts most…. our kids, thanks fine geal fianna fail, feeling broke with fine geal
Rubbish,waste of time, will not achieve a just result for affected services.
The industry does not give a curse about the Government,is almost totally off shore,totally profit driven,& it has repeatedly run rings around any regulation.
Minister,it is not an open transparent market,it is a rigged market on some very powerful native interests have a stranglehold,& they will continue to manipulate it to their joint agendas, maximum profit & outrageous fees.
You need to establish a state 3rd party fund to allow service providers, not alone crèches, but also social & charitable organisations,to operate within the law, & with liability security.
Just stop perpetually appeasing this industry, & put our people first. If they won’t play fairly, bypass them.
You make the laws, just make them for us.
Unfortunately Irish society depends on an outsourced childcare model. This is the free market, but with a sizeable state subsidy! Huge profits are made (Hyde & Seek Childcare Ltd profits after salaries amounted to almost €2.75 million). This is a competitive business, with smiley face branding.
Look it, enough of this nonsense. Childcare facilities and all other businesses should get together and declare that they are going to operate their businesses without public liability insurance.
What exactly can the government do?
The same goes for the TV licence. Why do we pay it? A mass boycott is all that’s required.
We really are a simple minded people to obey stupid laws.
So now, not only are FFG turning a blind eye to the robbery of citizens by insurance companies, they are going to use our taxes to help PAY insurance costs!!
Our new found love of the big business and private sector killing us. They fleece us every time. Ireland is small easy to manipulate , claims of a compo culture but it’s greed culture that drives it, our soft touch, industry creating monopolies on the back of unfounded claims of a genetic genes of fraud. Prosecute fraudulent claims but stop letting these cowboys cherry pick profit margins.
As a once off emergency gesture of support, it is acceptable, but long term the only viable solution is for the state to establish a 3rd party compensation fund, so that people, crèches, & social organisations can operate within the law, & with liability security.
The market system is not functioning, competition inadequate, & manipulation evident, so it is urgently necessary to intervene directly.
There is no point in fiddling about with more investigations & reports, as the vested interests will continue to act in maximum profit & fees interests.
Just call off this perpetual poker game with our economic & social structures, & do it directly.
Leading Kinahan figure Sean McGovern charged with murder and directing organised crime group
8 hrs ago
aughinish alumina
An Bord Pleanála raised concerns over use of ChatGPT for inspector's report into Limerick plant
Eoghan Dalton
4 hrs ago
ciaran mullooly
Irish MEP used AI to write open letter about Gaza which quoted Swedish House Mafia
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 197 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 137 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 177 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 139 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 101 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 102 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 47 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 43 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 161 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 73 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 96 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 102 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 45 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 60 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 112 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 115 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 84 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 63 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 107 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say