You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tánaiste Leo Varadkar PA Images

Leo Varadkar on the green list: 'It may not be simple but it is very straightforward'

The Tánaiste said that people can now travel to the green list countries for non-essential reasons.

TÁNAISE LEO VARADKAR has said that people are allowed to travel to green list countries for non-essential reasons.

The Fine Gael leader and Business Minister was speaking on RTÉ’s Today with Sarah McInerney after the government published the much-awaited list late on Tuesday night.

People travelling from the 15 countries and territories on the list do not need to restrict their movements when they come back to Ireland, as is the case with everywhere else abroad.

The government is still advising people against non-essential foreign travel and some insurers had expressed confusion over whether this advice still applied to green-list countries. 

Varadkar today said that it does not.

“The Department of Foreign Affairs website says that no non-essential travel is the general advice, but there are exemptions and the exemptions are the green list,” the Tánaiste said. 

The government is saying to you that the safest thing to do is to stay at home, to not travel and holiday at home in Ireland this year. But if you are travelling there are two sets of countries. For those on the green list, we’re saying to you take normal precautions. And that means you don’t need to restrict your movements for 14 days when you come back. And for those countries not on the green list, the no non-essential travel advice still applies.

Asked directly does this mean people can holiday in green list countries, Varadkar said:

“The virus does not know whether you’re on essential or non-essential business or what passport you have. What we’re saying to people is that the safest thing is not to travel for any reason, to stay at home in Ireland and holiday at home. But there is a difference between countries that have a very low level of the virus, like Norway, for example, or Italy or Greece, as opposed to countries that are hotspots.” 

Asked whether the advice remained confusing, Varadkar said the government did not want to treat people “like a child” and ignore the fact that some countries have higher instances of Covid-19 than others. 

“The Department of Foreign Affairs website has the advice for every country and it is there in black and white. It may not be simple but it is very straightforward,” Varadkar said. 

Speaking earlier this week ahead of the publication of the green list, Varadkar raised eyebrows when he suggested that unless there was different advice for different countries “we would be better off not having a green list at all.”

Asked what his intention was in making those comments, the Tánaiste said that “different messages” had been coming from “different ministers”. 

“What I felt was that in the days preceding that there were a number of different ministers going on the radio and TV, giving different messages, so I felt it was really important that at Cabinet meeting on Monday (sic) night we made a decision, and that we all communicated it,” Varadkar said. 

Asked who were the ministers he was talking about, Varadkar said it was “different people from different parties”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

105 Comments
    Mute deisecelt
    Favourite deisecelt
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:18 AM

It may not be simple but it is very straightforward…..pretty much sums it up all right.

Mute Alan McArdle
    Favourite Alan McArdle
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:25 AM

@deisecelt: it may not be compulsory but it is mandatory

Mute Seán O'Loughlin
    Favourite Seán O'Loughlin
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:35 AM

It may definitely be a hames of a handling by this government.

Mute Marcus Kittel
    Favourite Marcus Kittel
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:42 AM

@deisecelt: was wondering when this would be picked up … hilarious! Can’t make this sort of stuff up even if you tried.

Mute Gene O'Keeffe
    Favourite Gene O'Keeffe
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:13 PM

@Marcus Kittel: the nearest you would get to it is the script from Fr Ted. Hilarious.

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:16 PM

@Alan McArdle: haha first thing I thought of.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:59 PM

@deisecelt: I may not have had a sandwich for lunch, but I did have tuna in two slices of bread.

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Jul 24th 2020, 6:15 PM

@deisecelt:
    You might expect something like this from Trump – or maybe a Healey Rae!

Mute Kevin Farrell
    Favourite Kevin Farrell
    Jul 24th 2020, 7:29 PM

@deisecelt: Probably definitely I’d say…Well, maybe, or maybe not. I used to be indecisive…but, but, now I’m not so sure!

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jul 24th 2020, 9:45 PM

@deisecelt: it is straightforward and simple. You don’t have to quarantine after coming back from these countries if necessary travel ie business or returning, but don’t consider it a free pass to go on holiday to them. Simples.

Mute Martin McGowan
    Favourite Martin McGowan
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:23 AM

What is the media obsession with Leo? I’ve heard and read more from the Tanaiste in the last 3 weeks than I’ve heard from one in the last 15yrs.

Mute buaman
    Favourite buaman

@Martin McGowan: #cannonbot

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:49 AM

@Martin McGowan: The media’s obsession with Leo, or Leo’s obsession with the media perhaps?

Mute King B
    Favourite King B
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:58 AM

@Martin McGowan: I think it might be because we’ve a coalition again.
    Different voices from different parties. Ryan is another who’ll will get loads of column inches. Burton was vocal as leader of labour and now leo is because he’s the leader of fg. Mary Harney was another who got loads of media time I can’t remember any more except for Coveney who had brexit to talk about.

Mute Gene O'Keeffe
    Favourite Gene O'Keeffe
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:14 PM

@Martin McGowan: he’s the REAL Taoiseach!

Mute James Reilly
    Favourite James Reilly
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:24 PM

@Martin McGowan: 1.7 million€ p.r

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:34 AM

@Martin McGowan: The Great Covid PR Campaign 2020.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:31 AM

NPHET just wanted to guilt trip everyone into staying at home. It’s pretty clear now that there is no problem traveling to a country on the green list as long as you follows all precautions.

Mute MsDaisyDoll
    Favourite MsDaisyDoll
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:29 AM

The problem with the Green List starts with it’s name – for most people green means “Go”!

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:44 AM

@MsDaisyDoll: too much Paw Patrol

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:05 PM

@MsDaisyDoll: Ryanair are advertising it as GO!

Mute MsDaisyDoll
    Favourite MsDaisyDoll
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:37 PM

@Daniel Kelly: exactly!

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney

So, I read the entire article.

It’s explained well. If everyone read it and ignored the it was ‘big bad horrible Leo’ that said it then we’d be fine.

Green list countries – go there, no need for 14 day self isolation when you come back
    Non Green list – don’t go. If you do it must be essential travel and you do 14 days self-isolation when you come back.

But, if you want to protect yourself and everyone else, stay at home and holiday in Ireland to be on the safe side until we get a vaccine etc.

If you’ve booked a holiday already (I can’t imagine the numbers that have done this are that high really) and it’s a non-green list country (bound to be) then you’ve lost what you’ve paid it seems.

But, forget the ‘big bad government’ for a minute here, the reason people are going to lose their deposits etc if they don’t go to a non-green list country is because it’d be their choice to not go, the government won’t ban foreign travel because they’d have to compensate everyone (the bill for this whole pandemic is big enough as it is). But the real shysters are the airlines, flying ghost flights to all these non-green list countries, that’s to keep the timetable intact and screw the traveler because the flights were never grounded.

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:54 AM

@Bernard Sweeney: see if this media loving Prince vanity socks stopped trying to stay relevant and let an actual expert explain the list, people wouldn’t be so quick to attack it. But Leo vanity socks can’t help himself

Mute Dr Pablo Rojas Coppari
    Favourite Dr Pablo Rojas Coppari
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:09 PM

@Bernard Sweeney: the airlines are flying these flights because there are people who still need or want to go irrespective of the color of the list. They will decide on what risks to take as with any other activities and will decide on how to proceed with government advice to ‘restrict your movements as much as possible’ when they retur n. Thank god for these airlines. They are keeping family and friends united in these difficult times.

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:13 PM

@Dr Pablo Rojas Coppari: “Thank god for these airlines. They are keeping family and friends united in these difficult times”

In a way, yes, I agree with you. But mostly not. Ask anyone who’s been screwed by them this last 4 months especially (not me, I’ve no axe to grind)

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:26 PM

@Michael Patrick Newell:

Well done, you’ve just proved my point.

Relevant? He’s FG leader and Tánaiste ffs. He’s a lot more relevant than you or I.

Jul 24th 2020, 1:42 PM

@Bernard Sweeney: Maybe if he had a good track record as a leader or in a roll as minister, he would be relevant, but lets be frank he has never excelled at anything including being re-elected which took a couple of recounts, which should tell ya people have no faith in him, hence why so many don’t take him seriously

Mute Denis White
    Favourite Denis White
    Jul 24th 2020, 2:12 PM

@Bernard Sweeney:
    TUI cancelled our holiday to Greece on the 20th July

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:34 PM

@Michael Patrick Newell:

“including being re-elected which took a couple of recounts”

There were no recounts. PRSTV, he got elected. Doesn’t matter what count he got elected on. So many shinners romping home 1st didn’t really achieve much did it?

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:35 PM

@Dr Pablo Rojas Coppari: Also, ask the industry commentators, they’re saying the exact same thing.

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:36 PM

@Denis White: Refund?

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:36 AM

Leo is in the media more than the new Taoiseach.

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:43 AM

Does the virus know if u have food worth 9 euro

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:53 AM

@Tony Mcgrath: why do people post such things? You know exactly why and what the rule as do other people liking your comment. It’s like hearing “That’s what she said” over and over again. Are people really that numb to intelligence

Jul 24th 2020, 11:56 AM

@Craic_a_tower: we most people understand why but still think it’s daft and clueless all the same, and people know also those who wanna get drunk are finding ways around this idea, so why don’t they just go right lads go the pub, social distance etc and out by 105 mins cos adding a 9 euro meal wouldn’t save ya either way

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:06 PM

@Michael Patrick Newell: so they repeat the same low brow joke?

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:24 PM

@Michael Patrick Newell:

“and people know also those who wanna get drunk are finding ways around this idea” – yes, they are, they’re drinking at home, parties, parks etc.

They aren’t finding ways around it in restaurants or hotels because they’re being strict as hell for the most part. We know this now. The gardai lit a fire under them.

“9 euro meal wouldn’t save ya either way” Obviously, but, again, you know the point of this. You can’t book a table for 1h:45m in a restaurant and go in, order a 5 euro desert and beer. Substantial meal is required, it also helps the restaurant too, people going in spending money on a 2 or 3 course meal.

“so why don’t they just go right lads go the pub, social distance etc and out by 105 mins”

Funniest thing I’ve read yet. Gang of likely lads go into a pub, stay 2 meters apart at all times and throw as much beer into themselves as they can (unless they’re limited by the barman, which makes opening not worthwhile) for 1h:45m and still maintain social distancing the whole time and voluntarily leave at the allotted time!? No, won’t happen. And yes, I know, not everyone would be like this but there’d be enough to ruin it for everyone else. Also, who is going to chuck them out if they won’t leave? Every pub needs a bouncer or two then? The Gardai have enough to be doing.

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:11 PM

@Bernard Sweeney: every pub? where are these pubs that all you types go too where every is peed out of their minds falling all over the place ? I certainly have not seen that. In our small town would be lucky to see 5 people in the pub pre covid. Mostly this is pure snobbery, As if no one ever saw a person drunk in a restaurant after a few bottles of vino. Would have been better to let restaurants open but not serve alcohol. Have you noticed the drop in reports of Garda catching actual criminals now they all being pup spies ?

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:40 PM

@Da_Dell:

“As if no one ever saw a person drunk in a restaurant after a few bottles of vino”

Rare – certainly rarer than most pubs around the country.

“Have you noticed the drop in reports of Garda catching actual criminals now they all being pup spies”

No, because you’re talking dogs danglies. Are you cataloging reports of crime all day every day? Can you show me results of your extensive research? I bet you cant. It’s conjecture and anecdotal evidence isn’t really evidence of anything.

The Gardai are still doing the job they always did.

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:55 PM

@Bernard Sweeney: have done about as much research as you.

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 5:00 PM

@Da_Dell: why is your anecdotal evidence any more valid than anyone’s else’s? Was multiple articles daily in the journal alone about drug seizures, dont see to many if any these days

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 5:03 PM

@Da_Dell: while your at it show your evidence about the pubs country wise ? You don’t have to bodder with the ones closed since march, that should make it easy for ya

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Jul 24th 2020, 5:32 PM

@Da_Dell: are you deliberately being thick?

“…..evidence about the pubs country wise ? You don’t have to bodder (LOL) with the ones closed since march, that should make it easy for ya”

You know very well the point being made, look at the state of the pubs before lockdown, they couldn’t enforce social distancing. That’s why they were closed before the rest of the country.

As for articles in the journal….is that really the best you’ve got? That’s hardly a barometer of the work the Gardai are doing jesus christ. Also, if it were then since Phase 1 when we started coming out of lockdown articles here should have gone up yeah? The fact is, articles here prove nothing. Just so happens the journal these days has much more to post.

As for my anecdotal evidence……I’m not basing a word of this on anecdotal evidence, I’m being told this by people who know. Figure that out yourself.

So, he’s done no research, I’m getting it from the horses mouth and the pub stuff up to the lockdown was all over the news and, as you’re so trusting on this site, this very site.

Of course I can’t tar 100% of pubs with the same brush but we know for decades the way people behave in pubs after a feed of beer, I know, I drink too, thankfully not a much and as varied as I used to.

Stop pretending we’re like the well behaved Europeans drinking quietly and home in bed by 9pm.

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 6:09 PM

@Bernard Sweeney: so what you are sayin is what you’ve heard and read is right and what anyone who disagrees with you hears or reads is wrong… ok you have your opinion and i dont agree with nor thankfully the people i know. Btw i dont talk to horses but to one brothers wife who is a garda and another a pub owner. Ive lived and worked in Spain, France and Germany so spare me your knowledge of the good europeans in bed before 9 nonsense. And I am soon off to Switzerland applied for job the day that excuse of a Gov was formed and got it. It should be a great experience to see how bad it is to live outside the EU utopia

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 6:24 PM

@Da_Dell: oh an ive lived in the US and Oz too, but that was way back. I work in IT so great opportunities out there. As for trusting the journal, not a chance, as far as i am concerned they an integral part of Leos PR machine, but you keep getting your Pub knowledge from their well oiled gov pr spun narrative. Before ya try to say something else smart, i stuck it our here through the crazy celtic tiger years with crazy house prices and rents caused by an unknown phenomenon called a housing shortage, stuck it out when FG came into power on their fairytale promises of not one more cent to anglo, political reform and responsibility, instead then had to leave Ireland due to the austerity policies they inflicted on us, came back and that unknown phenomenon was alive and well.

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 6:26 PM

@Da_Dell: iam not staying so that my income tax gets pillaged anymore to pay for their mistakes and pay rises. enough is enough

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:21 AM

International travel spreads the virus. They know this. Dogs with mallets up their holes know this.

Mute Thomas Bourke
    Favourite Thomas Bourke
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:30 AM

@Dan: so do house parties… actually more likely to based on the past few weeks…

Mute Bluechip78
    Favourite Bluechip78
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:44 AM

@Dan: So does going to the shops.

Mute Seán O'Loughlin
    Favourite Seán O'Loughlin
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:14 PM

@Bluechip78: Yeah but you HAVE to go to the shops…. You don’t have to travel abroad for a holiday.

Mute Bluechip78
    Favourite Bluechip78
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:30 PM

@Seán O’Loughlin: Well you can have the shopping delivered but I do agree Sean.

I’m not planning to travel but the point is that travelling doesn’t spread the virus any more than other things.

Is international travel to the green countries any more risky than domestic travel?

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:34 PM

@Dan: 2% travel 66% close contact 32% community transmission.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jul 24th 2020, 2:17 PM

@Thomas Bourke: so do building sites and meat factories

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:20 AM

“Incidence “…it’s about time the formula is changed to the EU recommended which is death per million , testing and tracing capacity & time of lab results and health systems response as well as measures in place . Incidence on its own is irrelevant.

Jul 24th 2020, 12:04 PM

Lets hope the list will be expanded in 2 weeks time to use the ECDC low threshold of 20 cases per 100k. So that we can be in line with what other EU countries are doing. As it stand our list is unnecessarily restrictive.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:17 PM

@Dr Pablo Rojas Coppari: the advice is still clear do not travel unless essential. Seeing relatives or a holiday is not essential. A larger list won’t change that

Jul 24th 2020, 12:23 PM

@Craic_a_tower: “The Department of Foreign Affairs website says that no non-essential travel is the general advice, but there are exemptions and the exemptions are the green list”

Maybe read what he said again. And in any case, at the end of the day. Advice is just advice. Some will take it others wont. Just like the public health advice is not to drink more than 21 units of alcohol per week, some follow that advice, others do not.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:35 PM

@Craic_a_tower: seeing family is essential no matter how many times you say it isn’t .

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:37 PM

@Dr Pablo Rojas Coppari: precisely .

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:09 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: nope. No matter how people try to contort it. Being in contact with them is essential not to be physically in their presence.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:17 PM

@Craic_a_tower: that’s your perspective and your choice . If you’re happy with that go for it. Don’t impose it on others .

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:17 PM

@Craic_a_tower: A lot of people have not seen relatives since long before the pandemic. Its not your remit to decide who can or cannot travel. People are intelligent enough to make their own decisions.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 24th 2020, 2:43 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: I am not imposing anything. People are lying by saying it is essential and that is the issue. Ignore the advice all you want just don’t lie about what they are doing. They are ignoring the advice because they want to because what ever way you try to twist it is certainly is not essential. I get people like to say everyone can have an opinion but they simply aren’t all valid. Essential has a definition you don’t get to redefine it and claim that is valid. Just be honest what I think or you think about that choice is irrelevant and not what I have said.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 24th 2020, 2:47 PM

@Frances Casey: people are intelligent enough to make their own decisions? Weird how we have all these laws precisely because people aren’t. Do we trust peoples intelligence to drive at a safe speed?

Mute Kevin Lonergan
    Favourite Kevin Lonergan
    Jul 24th 2020, 3:06 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: You are the one constantly trying to impose your ideas on others. What’s essential in your mind is only so in that context. In the wider context of society as a whole you seeing your family is definitely not essential and potentially risky to others on your return. If you want to go to Portugal or wherever to visit your family then just go but in the knowledge that you are required to self-isolate or restrict your movements on your return. Your constant repetition of the same points is beyond boring at this stage.

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:03 PM

@Craic_a_tower: going to a restaurant is not essential either, nor a coffee shop

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:05 PM

@Craic_a_tower: do taoiseachs drink topless in the park. Is that essential?

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:22 PM

@Craic_a_tower: Oh please stop being so patronising its downright embarrassing. The comment was about what constitutes essential travel. Just because someone does not agree with your narrative does not make them wrong. If a person wanted to see family because it maybe the last time they ever would thats essential. Irrespective of whether you agree or not.

Jul 24th 2020, 8:42 PM

@Kevin Lonergan: you are not required to self-isolate. You are advised to ‘restrict your movements as much as possible’. It is very different.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:28 PM

@Frances Casey: don’t like liars what can I say?

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:34 PM

Ah thanks Leo very kind of you to reiterate, maybe while your at it you can tell the truth that staying in Ireland on holiday in crowded tourist towns with much more people than usual because you have constantly said stay at home poses even more a risk than half empty holiday resorts in Greece or Cyprus… Nah I didn’t think you would.

Mute John Carolan
    Favourite John Carolan
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:22 AM

Me fail English?? ….that’s unpossible!

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:45 AM

@John Carolan: is that you Ralph?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:43 PM

Varadkar contradicted Pascal O’Donough this morning on RTE…The part time Taoiseacht Michael Martin can’t wait until his tenure is over… If he lasts that long.

Mute Gerard Lord
    Favourite Gerard Lord
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:48 PM

Typical politician talk. Saying absolutely nothing

Jul 24th 2020, 11:51 AM

As oppose to the coalition government which is full of simpletons and has no chance of ever being straightforwd with the people

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jul 24th 2020, 11:21 AM

It’s just that I can’t brain today. I has the dumb.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:21 PM

@Logan Shepherd:
    Ah you poor thing…. Go for a walk in the rain and you won’t know yourself!
    Matter of fact, you might have to be introduced to yourself when you get back home.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jul 24th 2020, 3:22 PM

@Joe Toner: Wouldn’t be the first time Joe :-)

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:27 PM

Return flights to Palermo €125 sur you couldn’t say no to that lads!!! Sun sand and…

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jul 24th 2020, 2:18 PM

@Jonnie Marre: you shouldn’t have mentioned that. I’m now dreaming of an idyllic little beach just outside cefalu

Mute Leonard O'mahony
    Favourite Leonard O'mahony
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:09 PM

He’s the taoiseach in waiting. Micheàl is just a temporary little arrangement. The media seems tired of Micheál already….

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:25 PM

@Leonard O’mahony: At a guess I’d say most of the public are fed up with the whole bloody lot of them at the moment.:)

Mute Leonard O'mahony
    Favourite Leonard O'mahony
    Jul 24th 2020, 2:18 PM

@Frances Casey: that’s the truth.

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:04 PM

Yet with the lowest incidence in Europe here, you can’t go to a pub, madness!!

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:02 PM

He’s not Taoiseach , he’s not Minister for foreign affairs . STFU Varadkar . Why are journalists pandering to him?

Mute Captain Hindsight
    Favourite Captain Hindsight
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:44 PM

He’s quoting Alanis Morissette now, sigh.

Mute Mark O'Riordan
    Favourite Mark O'Riordan
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:28 PM

It’s actually very simple. dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/a-z-list-of-countries tells you what the travel status is for every country. Syria is red and has a Do not travel. US is amber and has Avoid non-essential travel. Italy is green and has Normal precautions.

Mute Paul Connell
    Favourite Paul Connell
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:34 PM

Ha ha …. another gem of wisdom . What exactly is that supposed to mean ??

Mute Paul Cahoon
    Favourite Paul Cahoon
    Jul 24th 2020, 2:02 PM

A simpleton drew it up.

Mute european liberal
    Favourite european liberal
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:31 PM

How long will this go on for. Will people be allowed to fly home for Christmas? News today about trouble in aerligus will the government bail them out if needed

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Jul 24th 2020, 1:59 PM

Leo doesn’t always mean what he says.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Jul 24th 2020, 12:22 PM

What?

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Jul 24th 2020, 6:12 PM

Doubt this will silence all the crazies shouting that you’re a horrible human being if you take your holidays.

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Jul 27th 2020, 8:41 AM

@Adam Conroy: A holiday is not a basic human right. Growing up and accepting responsibility to help our tourism industry messsge does not make one a crazy.

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Jul 24th 2020, 6:30 PM

WHAT A MUPPET

Mute Tom Houlihan
    Favourite Tom Houlihan
    Jul 24th 2020, 3:09 PM

It’s simple , stay the home this year

Mute dublinguide.ie
    Favourite dublinguide.ie
    Jul 25th 2020, 12:21 AM

I don’t understand the confusion around the so called Green List.
    This was never meant to be a list of countries people are being told they should or can holiday in, or fly from Ireland to.
    It’s a list of countries that if travelling from, you are not asked to self isolate for 14 days.
    It is probably more valuable to people from Greenland and San Marino.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jul 24th 2020, 3:09 PM

It’s so simple the Media cannot figure it out They should take A crash course on The English language
    OR ARE THE media the New Opposition

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:18 PM

@pat seery: yes since MM it seems the media are trying to look like proper investigative journalists been critical of the Taoiseach as opposed to the love in with Leo over last few years. They bend over backwards trying to defend Leo no matter what the case. They also seem to have collective amnesia of all the FG debacles pre the GE from swing gate to Dara, Leo having to apologise in the Dail for the ‘sinning’ behind the altar remarks about MM etc etc

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:21 PM

@Da_Dell: How many times had Leo to apologise and correct the Dail record ? I wonder if there is a record .,,

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Jul 25th 2020, 11:01 AM

So you can’t fly back to Poland but sure you can fly to Lithuania and then drive into northern Poland or fly from Vilnius to your onward destination.

Mute Claude Saulnier
    Favourite Claude Saulnier
    Jul 25th 2020, 8:08 AM

Look at the positive: an influx of Monegasques coming to Ireland to cool off the Monaco heat wave to boost the Irish economy. One Monegasque billionaire in Ireland for a week is probably (my fun guess, not a researched fact) the equivalent of 500 ordinary tourists.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jul 24th 2020, 4:43 PM

Blimey it’s the same people on every news article.