You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Varadkar at the Gay Pride parade in 2017. Laura Hutton

Varadkar says he is 'thankful' he hasn't had much experiences of homophobia or racism

He said he has been subjected to name-calling but never anything violent.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR said he considers himself fortunate that he has had few experiences of racism or homophobia.

Leo Varadkar, speaking at his winter briefing with the media in Dublin, was asked to detail some of his experiences as a person of colour.

His father Ashok was born in Mumbai, India, and moved to Ireland in the 1970s.

Varadkar, who is notably private about his personal and family life, refused to be drawn about his own experiences of racism.

“If you’re mixed race and if you’re a person of colour, you do experience a degree of racism and discrimination,” he said.

He disclosed his sexual orientation on national radio during Ireland’s equal marriage referendum in 2015, and now lives with his partner Matt Barrett.

“If you’re a gay man or a gay woman you do experience a degree of homophobia. It’s just the way it is,” he added.

“I never experienced any violence, thankfully, but it can certainly range from name-calling and things like that as you walk down the street, or it can be the kind of stuff you can see for yourself online, or it can be just the fact that people treat you differently – little things.

“You’d be surprised the amount of people in the last couple of days who’ve heard I’m visiting India with my family, and have asked me when am I going back to India.

“They don’t mean it that way but it is a way of thinking. I was born in the Rotunda, I’m not from India.

“People don’t hear what they’re saying sometimes but I’ve also never been somebody who goes on about it. I’ve a good life. I’ve done well. I’ve very little to complain about, much less so than other people.

“I’ve never had or have experienced that kind of homophobia. I’ve managed to avoid it so I don’t like to engage in complaining about it or any self-pity because I think that’s disrespectful to those who’ve experienced the kind of racism that I could never imagine.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 69 comments
69 Comments
    Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Dec 22nd 2019, 10:45 AM

…or homelessness…or hunger…or poverty…or being stuck on a trolley on A&E for 2 days….

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Dec 22nd 2019, 10:52 AM

@The Risen: all same things SF have inflicted on the north through their continued absence from stormont

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Dec 22nd 2019, 10:59 AM

@Gordon Hughes: Clever. You must be really clever

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter O Donnell
    Favourite Peter O Donnell
    Dec 22nd 2019, 10:59 AM

@The Risen: or hard honest work.

Mute Brin
    Favourite Brin
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:01 AM

@The Risen: he worked as a junior doctor for years! And why would he experience homelessness or poverty, as like the 99% he worked hard. Whether or not you like the man, or his party, this is just nonsense shouting “homeless”! It’s an article about racism and homophobia – we don’t ask people in hostels how much homophobia they have experienced, and turn them away. Jesus!

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:16 AM

@Gordon Hughes: Pitiful.

Mute herp
    Favourite herp
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:26 AM

@Brin: Brin it’s all spin….

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:30 AM

@The Risen: Interesting how Gemma O’dohertys most vocal supporter here would deflect from an important message on this topic. Whats the story with that? He was asked about his experiences as a person of colour. You have literally dozens of articles to comment on homelessness etc. Poor effort.

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:38 AM

@Gordon Hughes: can you not get it into that thick skull of yours that SF run canadites in the occupied six counties, on the pre-text that they will abstain from taking their seats if elected… it is really a silly point you are making. The people know what they are getting when they elect a SF candidate… unlike our own in the 26 counties that are frequently absent from the Dail or away on a junket at our expense.

Mute Red Pirate 71
    Favourite Red Pirate 71
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:52 AM

@JusticeForJoe: he’s right. How’s that mr clever.

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:58 AM

@Gordon Hughes: I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, it will be a cold day in hell before SF get my vote,, but what the hell has SF got to do with this Gordon??

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:14 PM

Fair enough Leo although your party have been embroiled in controversy recently by putting forward a candidate who was not properly vetted resulting in embarrassment for Fine Gael due to her raising her racist views which go against everything you appear to aspire to in your comments above. Don’t just talk the talk to deflect from that despicable episode, we’re all veronly human beings at the end of the day.

Mute Seamus Murphy
    Favourite Seamus Murphy
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:32 PM

@Brin: well said! Some people aren’t happy unless they’re whinging.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:03 PM

@Clifford Brennan: LOL! Clifford, Gemma O’doherty lost my support at around the same time she lost her marbles. I’ve mentioned that here before. Do try to keep up, good chap!

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:27 PM

@The Risen: You were advised of those lost marbles at the time, by myself & others, when you were canvassing here for her free of charge but you wouldn’t listen. Congratulations on eventually catching up with the rest of us. You took your time!

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Dec 22nd 2019, 4:30 PM

@Gordon Hughes: Have you not been following the news this past week ? Or are you just ignoring it because to admit the truth would expose your views for what they really are. An agenda driven distortion of reality.

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Dec 22nd 2019, 5:08 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: good lad Paul, you’re clearly ad bright as me so, I clearly mentioned stormont not Westminster, don’t let the facts stop you putting 2 + 2 together and coming up with 34,972. Jump to the wrong conclusion there Einstein, everybody knows what you get you elect a SF candidate…. Absolutely nothing worthwhile

Mute JKtucker
    Favourite JKtucker
    Dec 22nd 2019, 6:36 PM

@Brin: who’s side are you on Brin, the people or them doesn’t matter what the article is about, he’s a smug arse hole that needs to be made out to be the smug arse hole he is…

Mute JKtucker
    Favourite JKtucker
    Dec 22nd 2019, 6:42 PM

@Brin: who’s side are you on Brin, he’s a cock and needs to treated as such, he does the country no favours… Don’t do him any.

Mute Bill ORourke
    Favourite Bill ORourke
    Dec 22nd 2019, 9:50 PM

@The Risen: winner of post of the year – well done you!

Mute James Dooley
    Favourite James Dooley
    Dec 22nd 2019, 10:46 AM

He is in Leo land. Where all media for him is vetted and filtered as I have seen it on social media as I’m sure others have also

Mute Still-Not-News
    Favourite Still-Not-News
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:48 PM

@James Dooley: Time to drain the FG swamp.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Dec 22nd 2019, 10:46 AM

Yeah but what about the general animosity felt towards you by large swathes of the population on account of your ‘I hate poor people because they make me look bad’ policies?

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Dec 22nd 2019, 10:49 AM

That’s because he has swarmed himself around both brown nosing politicians and media,come out onto the streets of us normal people.he won’t be long told this country is in dire straits that’s been led by a very poor leader in government

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:09 AM

@dick dastardly: Dire straights? Really? We are doing very well as a country and economy. There are big issues with homelessness, but that is just about policy. It could and should be resolvable.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:00 PM

@dick dastardly: we’re a wealthy country dick

Mute Beer Wolf
    Favourite Beer Wolf
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:08 PM

@john:

As one that lives out in the country I take offence to you referring to me as a dick!

Mute PJ Higgins
    Favourite PJ Higgins
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:29 PM

@Paul Whitehead: the country is on the brink of collapse. Hello wake up little man. The government will be disbanded very soon and there will be yet another crash. Can you guess where? Can you guess who caused it and can you guess who will pay for it. Ireland on the up and up hey everyone is on 55k minimum a year sure leo said so hahaha.

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Dec 22nd 2019, 1:01 PM

@Paul Whitehead: take a drive outside the M50 some day.its a complete different economy to Dublin

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Dec 22nd 2019, 1:38 PM

@Paul Whitehead: absolute rubbish. Worst government in terms of health, housing, education and climate

Mute Billy Nomates
    Favourite Billy Nomates
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:40 PM

@john: We’re only a ‘wealthy country’ because of corporate tax take from multinationals. The ERSI has pointed this out. Those multinationals won’t be around forever. The day that those companies leave, I dread to see the state of the country then.

Mute r-k
    Favourite r-k
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:52 AM

If he was brought up in the estate I was from and went to the primary school I was in he would’ve been destroyed. He’s part of the elite and therefore detached from reality. His hero is bizarrely Churchill, a man who’s responsible for the deaths of millions of Indians, a country in which his family is from and that he’s visiting now. It’s this lack of understanding of what the majority of people have to go through in this country is why he should never be leader again. He has nothing in common with us

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:00 PM

@r-k: Your estate sounds lovely.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:47 PM

@r-k: but isn’t that what he said. he was lucky in that he didn’t receive much hate and he has no reason to claim otherwise? maybe your experience is a reflection of the people who inhabit your estate and maybe they’re the ones that need to be a bit more tolerant.

Mute Francis Sally
    Favourite Francis Sally
    Dec 22nd 2019, 1:42 PM

@J: The hate he receives is for the disastrous policie not of who he is.

Mute Paddy J
    Favourite Paddy J
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:08 PM

@r-k: Your estate and primary school were racist and homophobic when you were growing up? Wow. Have things changed at all or is it still as bad as ever?

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:21 PM

@Francis Sally: what?

Mute Francis Sally
    Favourite Francis Sally
    Dec 22nd 2019, 9:37 PM

@J: Seriously???

Mute RobPup
    Favourite RobPup
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:19 AM

Easy to say when you are in the elite Leo. Ireland is not getting more tolerant or progressive. There are concerted efforts nationally and by foreign actors to turn Ireland in the direction UK and US have gone. And sad to say, those of conservative inclination in our country are lapping it up with gusto… need proof? See below.

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:06 PM

Leo’s La La land is become extremely tedious he hasn’t a clue how those who struggle under his political policies live

Mute John Coogan
    Favourite John Coogan
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:15 AM

Better to be hated for what you are than loved for what you are not! Thank You Kurt Cobain for the words of wisdom.
    Politician or not , he is a fantastic individual to stand up against bigots and racists that try to isolate people of LGBT nature in society the world over because of inherent fear .
    He is also living in the public eye and living a good life! Fairplay to him!

Mute PJ Higgins
    Favourite PJ Higgins
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:33 PM

@John Coogan: living in the public eye? Where? When? Proof? Go to specsavers son.

Mute Francis Sally
    Favourite Francis Sally
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:02 PM

@John Coogan: And what about standing up for the homeless, elderly, addressing rising rents, young people being trying to get on the property ladder, hospital waiting lists, the new maternity hospital the working poor etc. He’s completely out of his depth, incompetent and inept and lining his and his colleagues with tax payers money. I dont care what his orientation is I expect him to do his job.

Mute JDB
    Favourite JDB
    Dec 22nd 2019, 10:52 AM

There is only one race the human race everything else hatred and ignorance.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:00 AM

@JDB: “People aren’t born with bigotry, it’s something you have to learn and anything you can learn you can unlearn”

Mute Divad Nayr
    Favourite Divad Nayr
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:26 PM

Just wait till the election starts, you’ll have ffgphobia

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:11 PM

Does he read the comments section?

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Dec 22nd 2019, 5:21 PM

Thats because ireland is not a particularly racist or homophobic place in an international context despite what we are constantly told by the ever expanding NGO sector in Ireland.

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Dec 22nd 2019, 6:50 PM

It’s always the back door with leo

Mute paul clifford
    Favourite paul clifford
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:30 PM

Thats because your from a different world ffs

Mute Kay English Curtin
    Favourite Kay English Curtin
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:37 PM

Headline on the independent reads very differently

Mute classic
    Favourite classic
    Dec 22nd 2019, 11:16 AM

@Paul Whitehead whats racist about that comment

Mute Mark Gough
    Favourite Mark Gough
    Dec 22nd 2019, 9:52 PM

Does he ever shut up a homophobia and racists. Seems they are more important than 10500 homeless, people dying waiting for medical care, chronic rent prices and a million other things people have to live with while the ffg elite squander money with no accountability to anyone. Time for referendum on politicians.

Mute Zlim Jody
    Favourite Zlim Jody
    Dec 22nd 2019, 9:49 PM

Election time……everyone want’s to be a victim, even Leo!

Mute UCC Social Democrats Society
    Favourite UCC Social Democrats Society
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:34 PM

LGBT+ people across Ireland deserve to live happy lives free from prejudice. For that to happen, we must all step up to help bring homophobia, biphobia and transphobia to an end.

If you see it, #call #It #Out

https://callitout.ie/

Mute UCC Social Democrats Society
    Favourite UCC Social Democrats Society
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:37 PM

@UCC Social Democrats Society: further, racist discrimination is not welcome here.

Report any form of discrimination to the Gardai

And if they dont take your complaint seriously, contact GSOC.

Mute Zlim Jody
    Favourite Zlim Jody
    Dec 22nd 2019, 9:55 PM

@UCC Social Democrats Society: But is it rampant in the real world or just in your head? I’m worldly wise, been around the block a few times (quite a few), mix with people from wide and varied backgrounds and cultures and I just don’t see this discrimination on every street corner, I really don’t and my wide and mixed friends don’t either. Just push the haters to the back, ignore the rubbish and get on with your life rather than spend your life complaining about it and taring whole populations with general assumptions.

Mute Damien Barton
    Favourite Damien Barton
    Dec 23rd 2019, 12:45 AM

Here’s a name for ya Leo the liar

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Dec 22nd 2019, 5:34 PM

What an ass hole doesn’t live in the real world