You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leo Varadkar Leah Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Varadkar says children need to be protected from predators online

The digital age of consent in Ireland is 13.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has defended the government’s decision to set the digital age of consent at 13, saying it was based on advice from children’s charities and the Children’s Ombudsman.

However, he said he understands that the issue is a cause of concern for parents.

The digital age of consent, which was agreed by the Cabinet last summer, refers to the age from which it is legal for data controllers to hold data gathered on children and teenagers. For children under the age of 13, parental consent will be required.

It could be argued that 13 has been the de facto age of digital consent for some time in Ireland – it’s the minimum age for setting up a Facebook account, for example. However, the age had to be officially set before the EU General Data Protection Regulation comes into effect on 25 May 2018.

Keeping children safe online has been in the spotlight recently after a number of high profile cases, and Communications Minister Denis Naughten recently said the government is moving towards appointing a Digital Safety Commissioner.

Speaking today, Varadkar said: “We need to protect our children, that is always the most important thing, and protect them from predators who can now use the internet to get access to children.”

Summit

The Taoiseach said Naughten is organising a summit that will be held in March and bring together stakeholders such as the gardaí, education providers and tech companies to “put together a package of measures and make sure that our children are kept safe from people who use the internet to harm them”.

We have to be open to any proposal that is made but, as is always the case, when you consider making something illegal you have to consider the penalties and I can’t imagine prosecuting an 11-year-old for having a phone.

“The the question is then, do you prosecute their parents? So it’s the type of thing we have to think through and I can understand the need for action in this area, but we need to ensure it is proportionate.”

Last week, a Dublin man who possessed thousands of images of child sex abuse and coerced young girls to send him sexually graphic pictures and videos of themselves was jailed for seven-and-a-half years.

Matthew Horan, 26, used Skype, Snapchat, Instagram and Kik, an anonymous instant messaging application, to send and receive the images from six identified child users in Ireland and nine unknown users around the world.

With reporting by Christina Finn

Read: Irresponsible or realistic: Is 13 too young for the digital age of consent?

Read: Denis Naughten says banning children from the internet ‘isn’t practical’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute Locojoe
    Favourite Locojoe
    Jan 31st 2018, 10:54 PM

The kids should be safe enough in rural Ireland. No broadband.

Mute Mark Johnson
    Favourite Mark Johnson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:24 PM

It is the responsibility of the parent / parents of THEIR OWN children.
    As I said before here, nobody Under 18 years requires a Smartphone.
    Do you remember growing up in the 70s/80s?…
    …When your parents said NO, it really meant …NO!!

Let’s stop leaving it up to the Government to fix

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:39 PM

@Mark Johnson: it’s also up to the social media platforms to do more to protect users. They need to do more as they have a responsibity too. They don’t get off Scot free either.

Mute Mark Johnson
    Favourite Mark Johnson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:46 PM

If you mean the ‘users’ as the ‘children’… sure the children shouldnt be nowhere near on-line for starters!!

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Feb 1st 2018, 12:01 AM

@Mark Johnson: There are platforms aimed at young teenagers and tweens. There is no need for a total ban. You didn’t grow up with the internet and were happy playing with twigs and mud . Time moves on and the internet is here to stay. It’s a useful tool and schools have Facebook pages for classes or WhatsApp groups. It’s a good way of getting out messages. Homework in the US is submitted online in some schools . It’s like that in Universities here so it’s only a matter of time before that filters down to secondary and primary schools. We need to raise our kids to be aware and smart and use this wonderful tool widely. We need to hold Facebook and Kik and all the rest of the responsible too. We need to educate parents on how to protect their kids online. Most parents didn’t grow up with broadband. Dial up maybe with MySpace it bebo for younger parents. Being old and shouting ” in my day” doesn’t get us anywhere . We need to move with the technology and banning actually isn’t the answer to everything. In fact banning usually has the opposite effect. The internet can be a safe useful learning and entertainment.space with the right oversight and education.

Mute Mark Johnson
    Favourite Mark Johnson
    Feb 1st 2018, 12:09 AM

But my point is parenting values should stay the same no matter what decade we are in or changes in trends and technology…Otherwise just dont be a parent!!!

Mute Niccolo Saccho
    Favourite Niccolo Saccho
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:00 PM

Window dressing.
    Establishing digital age of consent for children won’t protect them. They’ll learn to bypass it and find a way to access it anyway. Telling kids not to cross a road is a negative approach. Teaching them the safe cross code is more effective.
    Education is the key.

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:36 PM

@Niccolo Saccho: bigtime, its a paper exercise.

Mute Celtic_Horizon
    Favourite Celtic_Horizon
    Feb 1st 2018, 7:07 AM

@Niccolo Saccho: Education is best way forward except one thing stupidity. Not every child will have a parent that cares what they are doing

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:00 PM

Children need protection, a home would be therefore very beneficial!

How is that homeless crisis going?

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:04 PM

@Jarlath Murphy:

I doubt that a child in poverty would have an iPhone, to be honest.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:10 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: So why are homeless people giving “helpline” numbers to ring in looking for accommodation?
    Or do you subscribe to the apparent Joan Burton philosophy, that the less fortunate should surrender their phones to be seen as more deserving of pity?

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:14 PM

@Jarlath Murphy:

You don’t need an iPhone to dial a “helpline” number. An basic Nokia phone would do.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:18 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: So could a grand parent not purchase a smartphone for 50 euro as a xmas present?

Or should we just exclude people from the housing list if they have possession of a smartphone Joan?

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:20 PM

@Jarlath Murphy:

If they have grandparents who can afford to buy a smartphone for them then they can’t be in poverty.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy

@Ciarán Masterson: So what level of impoverishment is required for a person to be considered in poverty?

Mute Ciarán Masterson

@thewolf:

If the children and their parents are in poverty then so must be the grandparents.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:30 PM

@thewolf:

Because poverty is a generational issue.

Mute Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Favourite Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:34 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: Actually , you’d be surprised at the children who have smart phones but not lunch .

Mute Milginte Mikalauskaite
    Favourite Milginte Mikalauskaite
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:30 PM

How come Leo wasn’t too worried about Ava Twomey or other children suffering from diseases that could be treated with medicinal cannabis? Does he double speak much?

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:39 PM

@Milginte Mikalauskaite:

Some doctors were concerned about the safety of the drug. However, that issue has been dealt with – CBD oil has since been made available for medical use in this country.

Mute Kerrie Roche
    Favourite Kerrie Roche
    Feb 1st 2018, 1:39 AM

@Ciarán Masterson: cpd oil was always available here, but not the good stuff with thc

Mute Dan Cahill
    Favourite Dan Cahill
    Jan 31st 2018, 10:56 PM

That headline is magnificent …. thanks to the Leader of the country for letting us know this ….

Mute Bull Spite
    Favourite Bull Spite
    Jan 31st 2018, 10:57 PM

@Dan Cahill: Jasus – does he write the headlines?

Mute Niccolo Saccho
    Favourite Niccolo Saccho
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:01 PM

@Bull Spite:
    No. His propaganda department does that.
    100 grand a week.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:16 PM

The onus is on the parents to make sure they are safe and to teach them to be safe. My 10 yr old daughter downloaded an app recommeded by her friends called Musicallys where she mimes to a video and posts it and her school friends “like” it. That evening i asked her to let me see the video. Her 20 second video had 300+ likes and comments. Dozens from middle aged men profiles. Loads from teenagers and kids she doesnt know. We deleted the profile obviously and set up a new one where her vids are private, family only. You’d hope that these app developers would keep in mind safety of kids but we have to assume they worst.

Mute Ruth Corbally
    Favourite Ruth Corbally
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:37 PM

It is completely up to the parents to take responsibility here. Ive an 11 yr old who owns a smart phone. Internet safety is an open conversation in our house. She regularly asks me questions and tells me stuff that goes on in school with her peers and social media and the drama that’s attatched. She is not on any social media/unsuitable apps, she also doesn’t have any of her friends numbers and understands why. I also monitor everything.

I really think that some parents are completely ignorant to the dangers of the internet and are too trusting of their kids. You wouldn’t let your child walk down a dark alley on their own for fear of running into some creep so why would you let them loose on the internet?

Mute Ruth Corbally
    Favourite Ruth Corbally
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:42 PM

@Ruth Corbally: parents need to be proactive here. I am a young mother who grew up with the internet so I know I’m lucky that I’m more aware of the dangers but it’s not hard to educate yourself. And then talk to your child-if they are not willing to listen then maybe they aren’t mature enough to have a phone/tablet with unlimited internet access!

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:47 PM

@Ruth Corbally:
    Genuine question Ruth, I’ll be in the same boat soon. What is the thinking behind “she also doesn’t have any of her friends numbers and understands why”
    ??

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:51 PM

@Ruth Corbally: PS.. Totally agree with you. Every second friend of my kid has unrestricted internet access + Snapchat etc. Gobsh!te, irresponsible parnets.

Mute Ruth Corbally
    Favourite Ruth Corbally
    Feb 1st 2018, 12:13 AM

@paddlingAlong: believe it or not that was her idea. Texting is where bullying can start. She has what’s app and didn’t want to get dragged into groups. I have all her friends parents numbers so if she wants to contact them outside of school she can do so through me. The best thing about it though is because we talk about it then she respects where I’m coming from and doesn’t argue and she actually agrees so even though I monitor her, it doesn’t feel like I’m being super strict and unfair etc.

Mute Ruth Corbally
    Favourite Ruth Corbally
    Feb 1st 2018, 12:16 AM

@paddlingAlong: PS the understands why thing was more to do with social media.

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Feb 1st 2018, 12:19 AM

@Ruth Corbally: hmm, WhatsApp is number based and is ALL about group messages. Perhaps a case of a tech savvy kid spinning to mum ;-)

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Feb 1st 2018, 12:25 AM

@paddlingAlong: WhatsApp is relatively no harm as messages don’t automatically disappear and message senders have real world numbers. Keeping off social media is a good idea as social media promotes the need for ‘likes’.

Mute Ruth Corbally
    Favourite Ruth Corbally
    Feb 1st 2018, 12:45 AM

@paddlingAlong: no what I mean is she has whatsapp for just us, grandparents, aunts and uncles. She doesn’t want any friends numbers on her phone or for them to have her number as it would link in to whatsapp.

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:41 PM

Anybody else getting a pain in the backside with Varadkars mug constantly in the newspapers and social media. For Jasus sake give us a rest from this supercilious narcissistic unelected individual.

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Feb 1st 2018, 12:10 AM

@thewolf: grrr. Leo, when I think of the tax I pay and then think of your 5million propaganda war chest, your party will not even get a 100 preference.

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:33 PM

Every day the radio is full of endless ‘creative’ adverts about paying a TV licence. How about, instead of wasting money on these adverts, this money is instead diverted in to stings that inform/remind/shame neglectful parents into taking responsibility for their children’s internet usage (‘sponsored by your TV license’).

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:35 PM

@paddlingAlong:

The current TV licence public information film (that’s the right term for it – it’s not an advertisement) is still better than the one in which random individuals say things such as “the quality has gone through the roof”.

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:43 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: I don’t agree, I find the current adverts annoying condescending and a waste of time/money. “If you don’t pay your licence… insert ridiculous scenario”. I mute the car radio as soon as they start.

Instead, a useful message, ‘sponsored by your TV license’ , wouldn’t be muted.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:02 PM

Why would a little girl agree to take her clothes off in the presence of someone she knows personally who is not a relative, much less someone on the Internet? If anyone who wasn’t a relative and had asked me to take my clothes off when I was a child would have punched them in the stomach.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:14 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: Are you really seriously suggesting it was the child’s fault for being groomed and not putting up a fight?

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:16 PM

@Jarlath Murphy:

No. I’m just asking why. I would never have even considered taking my clothes off in front of a stranger when I was a child. Why would her parents let her have an iPhone in the first place?

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:21 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: So you enjoyed good health and never attended a Dr?

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:23 PM

@Jarlath Murphy:

What has going to a doctor got to do with this?

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:26 PM

The difference is that a healthcare professional would have good reason to carry out such an intimate examination. By the way, a GP would not be a stranger.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:28 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: Ah come on. Predators prey on kids who are naive, vulnerable, innocent. I am glad to hear you would have punched em. But not all kids have that power. Though its a good idea to teach them.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:33 PM

@Sinead Hanley:

Well, I exaggerated there – I would definitely have run a mile, that’s for sure. As a child, I was very sensitive about taking off my clothes in the presence of others. I’m sure that many other people – children and adults – feel that way. As for why in my case, the answer is simple: Asperger’s.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:43 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: Phew i am so relieved you exagerrated cos i always read and like your comments. Thats amazing my 7 year old diagnosed with Aspergers recently.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jan 31st 2018, 11:50 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: Really? Locums, first visit?
    Unfortunately as a society we condition our young citizens to obey and comply with the rules!
    Unfortunately within our societies we also have aberrant individuals who believe the rules do not apply to them!
    For some it is a sick sexual kick, for others it is greed, accumulating far more than they can spend in their lifetime. For some power is their driver, while others are just sociopaths who think the population is theirs to harvest! They can abuse, power, trust and friendships while bending the law to their preference! Some like pepsi others like coke!

Others would rather discuss iphones rather than homelessness on this bitterly cold night with sleet forecast and the homeless shuffling towards whatever shelter they can find!

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Feb 1st 2018, 12:09 AM

@Ciarán Masterson: Your aspergers like mine probably means you don’t have a very well developed theory of mind. So we aren’t good at understanding the motives of others.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Feb 1st 2018, 1:18 AM

@Sinead Hanley:

Thank you.

Mute Jim Kenny
    Favourite Jim Kenny
    Feb 1st 2018, 1:02 AM

Let the goverment please make up their own minds on policy besides always outsourcing it to other bodies and comitees ie citizens assembly etc. After all that is a goverments function, but i guess it easier because you can blame others when it goes wrong

Mute Frank Lee
    Favourite Frank Lee
    Feb 1st 2018, 9:15 AM

Any chance we can protect the kids from homelessness at some point too Leo?

Mute Graham Gilligan
    Favourite Graham Gilligan
    Feb 1st 2018, 9:00 AM

Does that include FG and RTE? Don’t want them polluting our young population with their regular mix of political-speak and propaganda

Mute Patty Cullinane
    Favourite Patty Cullinane
    Feb 1st 2018, 9:22 AM

First things first Leo. How about protecting our children from poverty and homelessness.

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Feb 1st 2018, 2:19 AM

If you provide a smartphone to a child under the age of 17 without educating properly the dangers of being online and without setting parental controls on it you are asking for trouble.
    Every parent should drill this home like the dangers of talking to strangers from a young age.

Mute John's Voyage
    Favourite John's Voyage
    Feb 1st 2018, 7:27 AM

SIMPLE SOLUTION……..BAN HAVING CHILDREN!!! It’s the only way to rid the planet of the dreadful parasite called the human being.

Mute David Morris
    Favourite David Morris
    Feb 3rd 2018, 1:21 AM

‘children need to be protected from predators online’ – just not in Ireland in the womb!

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Feb 1st 2018, 7:42 AM

The real reason? ‘However, the age had to be officially set before the EU General Data Protection Regulation comes into effect on 25 May 2018.’